RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
World of Darkness: Character Pad
by Teela S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 12:57:16
Recently, there's been a lot of interest in games set in the World of Darkness and having the character sheets on hand means that we can create characters without worrying about the wifi connection on campus. So far, no games have started up, but this may change before too long. I think the character sheet pad is a good product because it includes relevant charts (weapons and armor charts, specifically) so that I don't have to pull out the core rulebook to look for those or search the internet.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Character Pad
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Changeling: The Lost Character Sheet Pad
by Teela S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 12:38:33
I am really glad that I downloaded the character sheet pad. Since there's been some interest in a Changeling game on campus, having such variable character sheets on hand to print off makes it easier (especially since our campus tends to have wifi issues frequently). It also helps to give everyone a chance to grab a character sheet for the seeming or court they're interested in.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Lost Character Sheet Pad
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Emily O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 11:11:34
If you like Vampire the Masquerade, then this book is amazing because it not only has a few things updated to be more in line with modern times, but it also gathers together a lot of different rules and information from various books within the line and puts it all within a single source. I've been running a campaign out of it for a few months now, and all of my player are really enjoying it. I'm incredibly satisfied, and even if the price is high for the physical color copy, it is DEFINITELY worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of Darkness: Inferno
by James R. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 10:19:17
This is an outstanding "Blue Book" resource for the World of Darkness. Providing an interesting framework for the inclusion of demons (the hell based as opposed to the God Machine variety) into any WoD game you may be running.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Inferno
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Promethean: The Created
by Shawn H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 10:09:35
Interesting concepts but difficult to play. The game focuses far too much on pinnochio syndrome (I want to be a real boy!) for my taste.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean: The Created
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mummy the Curse-Kickstarter Edition
by Ferdinand v. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 04:50:43
Let me start with the fact I love everything the has to do with Egypt.
I loved Mummy 1st and 2nd Ed. and Mummy: the Resurrection even more.
M:tR is a strong setting with easy to grasp character principles and very good connection points for crossovers with Vampire and Werewolf (if this is of interest for you).
So imaging my excitement when a new edition of my favorite setting was announced - for nWoD (which I prefer system-wise to the classic WoD).
But the result left me a bit sad ...

Let's start with the good stuff. The idea behind the setting is great - it delves into a time at the dawn of the civilization around 10.000 years ago.
It is all shrouded in mystery and many important facts are not known to the PC - and some are not even explained to the storyteller (which will be changed with future supplements).
The PC were all magically changed during this time and cannot really live nor completely die - so are dealing extremely ancient beings.
... that lose 99% of their memory every time they die (which is normally after a few days to max about a year)
I won't go into details here but for me this is the cool part.
Due to the memory loss the players have very little to think about their character as most of the characters history will be defined by the ST.
This is a pro or a con - depends on the mindset of the ST.

But now to the biggest pain points I have with Mummy: the curse:
- the system is to complicated, in stead of 1 energy source (blood, gnosis etc.) the Mummies have 5 - one "life meter" that depletes automatically and determines the amount of time you have in this incarnation (but can also be used for some magic effects) and 4 different flavors of magical energy that is user for "spells". So you have to micromanage the use of those 4 so you don't run out of one when you need it most

- the game strongly suggest that only one player plays a mummy and the others play it's supporting characters. You can try to work around this, but if you do you lose so of the logic of the system. But come on when I play Mummy with a group everybody will play a Mummy and not some sort of henchman

- The writer does not support crossovers on purpose. For example the obvious connection to Mage's Atlantis will not be explained and the nature and driving force of a Mummy does not work well with crossovers. (This point may be irrelevant for ST that do not like crossovers)

- The book is written using the most complicated language I ever encountered in a RPG book. English is not my native language, but I have no issue reading or hearing English. I own and read dozens of WoD books, but for me it was real work to read through M:tC. It really sours my enjoyment when I have to re-read every page before I understand the contents.

So in summary this is a book with some great ideas, but the concrete running of a chronicle will challenge the ST and the players in new ways - which might not all be pleasant.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mummy the Curse-Kickstarter Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scroll of Errata
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 01:36:18
Something every Exalted 2nd edition player should have but sadly...it didn't go far enough. Somethings still needed revision that weren't revised, and some revisons like those for Ravening Maw of (Ability) probably should have gone a different way. All in all though, a worthwhile read.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Scroll of Errata
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strangeness in the Proportion
by Josh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2014 15:21:56
I cannot quite determine how, in it's entirety, this book has so quickly taken a hold on me. During its original run on White Wolf's website, I was lucky enough to come across it, and even then, I felt there was something special about it; there was something unique to the work that just seemed to pull at my heart and soul. However, as the story goes, awaiting new chapters, I grew lax in my reading, and with the exception of the occasional mention in the back of my mind (perhaps a Corbie's whisper?), I forgot about "Strangeness in the Proportion." Jump ahead over a year, and the time came for a Christmas gift. As if on cue, the whisper came again, reminding me of the story's existence, and lo and behold, a printed copy was available in addition to the ebook. With that decided, the book soon came in and the gift was delivered with much merriment.

All I remained with was the ebook, and figuring the time was now right, I dove back into the World of Darkness. It shames me that it took me so long. Taking it in all at once, this superbly supernatural, and altogether mystifying tale drew me in, and at once I fell in love with it. With a plot as troubling to describe as it is wonderful, my friends have become sick of hearing me exclaim my own personal accolades for it. The dark, disturbing, and terrifying tale of Simon Meeks and Jane Doe is also one of classic romanticism, that will forevermore hold a place in my heart and my bookshelf.

Needless to say, I feel that the titans of modern horror could take a lesson from Mr. Joshua Alan Doetsch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inherit the Earth
by Eugene S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2014 02:10:59
Pretty interesting collection of short stories. Two of them worth reading: (1) "The Treatment of Dr. Ebrhardt" by Stefan Petrucha, (2) "Unusual Suspects" by Richard Lee Byers. The rest i just don't understand. While "The treatment" has unusual plot and characters; and "Unusual Suspects" - classical 'close room' detective puzzle in Vamps-vs-Hunter wrapping, the rest of the book has nothing entertaining.
Also .PDF file has this 'page order' issue: after 230 you have 233, then 232, then 231, and then 234. First thought - i have misprint something, but discovered it wasn't my printer's fault. Weird.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Inherit the Earth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Ages: Players Guide to the Low Clans
by Nicole T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2014 12:27:58
Pages scanned at low fidelity. At almost $20 for a PDF I was expecting actual searchable text and a working table of contents. Not worth the cost when I can get an actual copy of the book used for the same price online.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Players Guide to the Low Clans
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mokole
by Fenix P. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2014 11:27:43
The book is great, I would give it four stars if it was not for the TERRIBLE scan this book has. I payed for this product to get some page scans misplaced, blurred and defective OCR. I hope they fix this with an update.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mokole
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hunter: The Vigil
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2014 13:38:34
I too was taken aback by the print quality of the standard version. While not bad, it just seems cheap by comparison to the other copies that I own. I am also knocking the score down because Mortal Remains wasn't a full update (unlike Blood and Smoke) so I had to also grab this guy while trying to get my players into the GMC.

Overall, it is worth it, but nothing that I'm super excited about even while running a Hunter campaign.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: The Vigil
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wraith the Oblivion (1st Edition)
by jason l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2014 00:50:04
Content: 10/10, Scan Quality: 6.5/10
I can't say enough good things about this game. The scan isn't perfect, but it does a decent job (the original print book is hard to read)

Wraith is a game that perhaps challenges the players a little too much.
The setting and game constantly remind you of the ever looming approach of your own death and forces you to confront its reality.

You would think that makes the game depressing, but it's actually the opposite. The game becomes very life-affirming.

After a session of play, you will come out thinking and appreciating your own silly little life more. Your loved ones you take for granted will feel so much more precious to you. Your problems will not be so great and your existence will feel what it really is: a blessing.

Wraith, at its core, is about two major things: the things you leave behind after death and your own personal journey. What are your worst attributes? Can you feel your shadow tugging at your throughout the day? How do you confront it? If you were to leave this earth today, what would you miss the most? Do you appreciate it, or does its value get lost in the mad rush of daily life?

Wraith sometimes beautiful, sometimes sad, always challenging, and a complete home run as a medium for the art.

The writing, setting, general game mechanics are White Wolf at its best. Even if you aren't a big ghost-ish fan (I'm not), I promise you will get a lot out of this game.

Note: i originally wrote a bad review of the scan, but after looking at the original print cover, it's not so bad. The original book's first 35 pages were unreadable (who thought a grey background with black text was a good idea?).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wraith the Oblivion (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wraith the Oblivion (2nd Edition)
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2014 03:57:44
White Wolf’s biggest artistic and critical success, but also a commercial flop. The central (death) concept is very taken with thematic Jungian ideas such as archetypes, complexes and individuation, whilst being very easy to play out ghost stories where the ghosts play the antagonists (such as in The Others or The Sixth Sense).

The rules are largely the same as with previous WoD games, but the central mechanic revolves around the conflict between the persona of the PCs and their (dark side) Shadows, normally played out by other players. The impact of this is to provide a cathartic aspect to the game, which was a very original idea which influenced other games thereafter.

There is some sloppiness in editing (unbelievably Willpower is overlooked for a trait description in both first and second editions), but the interior layout, grayscale art and design are very easy on the eye. The general depth of the setting material and quality of writing are still the main reasons to buy this book. Timeless.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wraith the Oblivion (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Laws of the Night: Storytellers Guide
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2014 12:23:39
[Standard White Wolf Cross Referencing Complaint]

I feel it is unwise for the back cover to include anything about this book being suitable for players. The new toys in this book are very much antagonist focused, and really should not be let into the game unless you are truly embracing the "Superhero with Fangs" aspect of Vampire.

That said, the provides a wealth of new toys for NPCs to play with to keep your game interesting. Some of the new systems can bring some fun to the game, though I tend to feel those are best for small groups (5 players) or in groups where splitting off a small party is common.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laws of the Night: Storytellers Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1572 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG