RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 22:01:40

I'll try not to be overly redundant, but to reinforce/reiterate that already stated.

  1. Aesthetics: too cluttered. I wish they'd come out with a bare bones/no art version. It's ~uselessly pretty.
  2. Rules: Looks to be a pretty nice improvement, and this is where the scales of usefulness tips, as the rules actually seem to support the kind of game that it is; the hunger mechanic addresses a big gripe that I've had with the WoD at large, namely that it degenerated into a supers game of various stripes. Not so any longer.
  3. Setting. Silly, unbelievable in a bad way. One example is how they paint Francis and the Vatican as some stripe of secretly orthodox hammerers of haemovores. Another is where (shady grammar?) Harker seems to be talking about Vampires drowning.

TL;DR- the rules are probably a four, if not a five. The rest I'll pick through like a dumpster, hoping for some good bits that don't strain credibility to the point of snapping.

With the caveat that we keep the peas and carrots of gaming/IRL separate, I can go into more detail, but I would strongly advise that in the future someone writing about an IRL thing, do some (more?) research, or at least get some (more?) input from someone subject matter expert, or at least more familiar.

There's not much point taking from the real world, if you make it so unreal as to be laughable.

Ending on a good note: good job on the rules/integration with dramatic effect.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SotM's Guide to Storytelling
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2018 07:09:22

I found this to a be a very detailed and in depth product that can help give a perspective on storytelling. Some of the suggestions on how to improve your game go a bit deeper than I would normally go, however, as with any rpg product you can draw inspiration from the pages and leave what you feel doesn't work for you. I have a full review on my site HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's Guide to Storytelling
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Paradox: The Brainstorming
by Omar S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 04:34:02

My Narrator liked this table. There are very much flaws, some are more dramatic and another more funny but they are a useful collection of distortions of reality. In the table appear more backlashes like realms or burn but they are more flaws than another else. Well, the web text is sincere, its a table, 350+ flaws, a useful list with all paradox spirits appeared at official books, another blacklashes integrated (not refill!)... this isn´t a book for reading like a novel, its a table with 100 results in 14 pages. Nice work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paradox: The Brainstorming
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Paradox: The Brainstorming
by Jason E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 17:06:08

With no indication of how well thought out this file was I was super disappointed that I paid $12 for only 14 pages of charts with effects such as "leaves fall", "a bird poops on the mage", or "Burn of one die of aggravated damage and reroll" the last of which appears many, many times.

Many of the effects are underwhelming and not scaled to their severity IE; a "Minor flaw" of a Mage walking upside down vs a "Severe flaw" of the mages XP becoming candy that must be eaten to regain the xp........

This book would have an appropriate value if it was closer to $3 or $4. The effects are random, unorganized, filled with type-o's, and over-all feels lazy.

This was a great idea, but I feel that it should have been crowdsourced and had more input to provide more options of actual clever flaws........

Edit: Thank you for putting the price point near a more realistic point to reflect the shape of the product, please post an actual preview page of content when you host a book like this......it makes me seriously question the quality and value of ALL of your other projects.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I'm sorry you did not like the table but my players love it. I make these modules or aids to raise funds for the aid to the investigation against the E.L.A. Give me your email and I will send you a free book.
Dear Jason, i was thinking about your review and well, you are my first bad review for many years. A primitive version of this table was at the Hachaweb, a spanish web for role-playing resources with the rules of Mage first edition. many narrators downloaded and used this table. I updated the table with the Mage20 rules incorporating another backlashes like Quiet, Realms and Spirits, there are a 70% of Flaws, the rest are the options from the Paradox Table from Mage20. I had many players over the years and all players, friends or not, liked the table and they get fun. I agree with many aspects of your review like the cost, but i thought that the money is inverted in the investigation of A.L.S. and I thought that was a good idea. Another customers bought this table and no problem. Yes, only 14 pages because there is only a Wrinkle drawing, this is a table for quick reference for Narrators. I could insert more drawings and get 28 pages but i prefered to be a sincere work, the Mage20 have more than 700 pages and iI thought that is better do not put more weight at the Narrators back ;) I have reduced the cost and i was thinking how to improve the table (make different lists for sphere? make more serious flaws? not funny flaws? make flaws only for Technocracy?...), I will try improve this work... But Jason, I understand you rage but your conduct on internet also can be improved, the correct action is discuss here or email me but i have not time for explain and defend my work and the fight versus A.L.S. at all facebook groups, web forums or the deep web
Preview of War For São Paulo - Cainites And Other Sinners
by Sebastian G. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 12:52:10

This is beautiful and filled with cool ideas. Every single part of every single page shine with a cool plot hook, bit of backstory, creepy picture, nicely designed layout or something else. It is dense and it feels like it punches you in the gut with a fist of creativity wearing a velvet glove of design.

I am looking forward to reading the full book because if they can keep even half of this quality up this is better than almost all professionally published books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Preview of War For São Paulo - Cainites And Other Sinners
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Paradox: The Brainstorming
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 11:53:52

Paradox the Brainstorming is exactly what it says it is, a table listing possible pardox effects. The DSC gaming club found the table useful, for quick reference when the storyteller needs to come up with a paradox effect. There are a few minor spelling and format errors but nothing that decreases its usefulness.

The DSC Gaming Club believes this product is useful in any Mage Storyteller's library and with the proceeds going to ALS its a worthwhile investment.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Paradox: The Brainstorming
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enlightened Grimoire
by Jason E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2018 22:39:12

Bought this for my game and within a couple hours had dozens of bookmarks and notes. Super usefull and very well designed. The layout of the book is amazing, both in format, and visualy.

This book is worth every cent and I cannot stress enough how useful this has been with my group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enlightened Grimoire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Geist: The Sin-Eaters Quickstart
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2018 03:30:39

So.....I am finally getting around to reviewing my purchases on Drivethru. i ain't very long winded, nor do I mince words. Been gaming since 1978 so I've ran a lot, played a lot and seen a lot, but by no means am I anything but a novice in this grand adventure called gaming. New is interesting as well as old. I keep an open mind and open pages towards games. Geist is a World of Darkness game that doesn't really need to be integrated into the Vampire, Werewolf, Wraith or Mage biome. It ain't Wraith, but it is easily confused until you open the first page. Geist deals with a lot about life and death and what happens between and after. It is its own language, dialect, accent. It doesn't belong anywhere else in the World of Darkness. It is a world of hope and despair and the places in between, and I am ok with that. Sin Eaters are those who deal with and guide or destroy aberrance in the After. There are serious powers going on here, used by ghosts and skills kind of link you to what you were good at in the past, and this is a plot device and character hook that makes GMs squee with excitement. You give the GM power to use you and your story. Better yet, those left behind are a tool for the Gm to emply for good or ill, in your unlife. I really enjoyed this game and it got my mind to working, which is a good thing. There is a lot of potential here that I haven't found that much in the other WOrld of Darkness games, to be honest. They are great games, don't get me wrong. They are also resting in fiction and a smattering of reality used to put you where your character lives. Geist the Sin Eaters IS reality. Death comes for us all, but can we outlast it and help others find their personal triumphs or eradication from all energy? The story is open and begs to be told.

Danny



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Geist: The Sin-Eaters Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gyhominad and Glorybringer
by Aidan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2018 23:42:33

While Ghomyniad is very nice with a full set of evocations, some pretty interesting abilities, and good mechanics that make me want to bring it in as part of a game I couldn't help but feel unimpressed by Glorybringer. It had multiple mechanical oddities that I felt didn't really make sense for the weapon. Using the improvised weapon tag to try and simulate it being an akward and heavy sword allow for characters to use both melee and brawl charms. That combined with it's shorter and incomplete feeling evocations mean I can't rate it as high. If it reworked I think it could be a pretty fantastic weapon but as it stands I'm not a big fan. If Glorybringer got reworked this would easily be a 5 star supplement.

Ghomyniad is a 5/5 star weapon but Glorybringer is 3/5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gyhominad and Glorybringer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Paradox: The Brainstorming
by Esther N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2018 13:08:20

It is a very useful list to know the effects of the paradox, we will use it a lot because until now it was not possible to find a simple table to use during the game. It makes the Narrator's work easier. He is also very creative.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paradox: The Brainstorming
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
by Al F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2018 17:30:29

All in all this is geared toward VERY human players, if you really wanna act like a vampire? Pick up an earlier edition, this is all about shortcomings and flaws, balance it out with some of the previous ones. Also FAR, FAR to game mechanics heavy, there is no way someone is going to write a book about this series, you have to roll a dice to tie your shoes!!!

What I was HOPEING for, was a little bit of a transition from masquerade to reguiem. This sadly provided NONE of that. It eleminated a lot of clans which were kinda game-style, and really didin't "fit".. But all in all this seemed like a work in progress.

masquerade revised still shines as the best. I'd put this near 2nd editon NEEDS WORK.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weighing the Cost
by Thiago F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2018 08:36:27

This is a very interesting story. It focus its premise on what Mage should always be, rather than blockbuster movies wannabees: stories about people.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weighing the Cost
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! That's about the highest praose I can imagine receiving. Glad to hear you have enjoyed it. Travis
Secrets' photo pack: churches
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2018 18:41:45

We recommend the Secrets of the Masquerade Churchs photo pack for any community content creators.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets' photo pack: churches
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Secrets' photo pack: exterior (p.1)
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2018 18:40:58

We recommend the Secrets of the Masquerade Exterior photo pack for any community content creators.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets' photo pack: exterior (p.1)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SotM's Guide to Siring
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2018 18:38:07

This book is a short but interesting product. It discusses the importance of the prelude and goes through a list of reasons a vampire might embrace a person. Also included are three human characters with three different sire stories to use as examples of how this product was intended to be used.

Its a product that we recommend that all storytellers have in the library. And we also recommend that most players take the time to read the book, as it gives insight what makes a good character background.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's Guide to Siring
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1980 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG