RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Penny Dreadful
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2014 07:44:58
Penny Dreadful is an irreverent and untamed adventure that uses the gloomy and serious game-world to great comedic effect.
The book crosses over with several of the World of Darkness lines, but while knowledge of them might clear a few things, I don't think it is necessary. Even knowledge of Mage the Ascension isn't all that critical, since Penny makes a point of explaining her magic to herself and others.
As the humor goes, Dreadful is very reliant on references. But these are delivered through the first person account of Penny herself, who uses 90's pop-culture, Victorian goth and medieval occult together to cast her magic as well as make sense of the world around her. And it works. These references are all over the place and Sailor Moon is just as prominent as the Malleus Maleficarum and familiarity with either is not essential, but contributes to the hilarity. Symbolism is the name of the game and Penny's habit of substituting Bastet, the cat goddess of ancient Egypt for Hello Kitty and similar such juxtapositions, fuels much of the book's charm.
The book isn't dark, but it is crass. From Penny's veiled threat to curse a vampire to switch from blood to excrement to the theft of a sexual organ as one of the major plot points. Often Penny does a "sweet Victorian lady" routine and leaves the reader (and other characters) to guess her all to clear sexual allusions. But other times, and especially in the last chapter, all reigns are loose and kinky sex just oozes from the page. That last chapter as a whole is an unexpected shift in tone, but nothing that stands really at odds with the rest of the book.

While I blushed more then once at some of the more lurid descriptions, I enjoyed Penny Dreadful very much. It is funny and makes good use of the source material. The 90's saturated atmosphere defiantly played on my nostalgia and I liked the odd mix of pop-culture and historical academic trivia.
From a game perspective: Penny shows how magical paradigm can work for individuals on the edge of the Traditions' society. Penny's crafts are cobbled together from pop-spirituality, new-age mysticism and bits of more established magical traditions. The book does a good job of showing how such a paradigm works not only for magic but also for the way Penny assumes the world around her works. It's a good example of Hollow Ones' practices and how a street level Mage game might play.

It's short, fun and heartily recommended, if you don't mind a little hard kink in your comedy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Penny Dreadful
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mage: The Ascension (Second Edition)
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2014 20:12:07
A game that always garnered huge passions from it’s fans, and kept fans returning largely due to the central concept of ‘consensual reality’. It’s hard to relate to the impact that this concept would have had on it’s fans upon first reading. The post-Matrix world has this type of postmodern, New-Agey idea in mainstream abundance these days, and it seems to be nothing new. At the time, however, it felt like you had been touched by genius upon reading it.

The game itself is very messy - a few too many unnecessary skills, confusing explanations and curious rules stipulations that don’t make sense. The organisation is a bit all over the place.

It never meshed especially well with the prior WoD games either - Vampires can hardly be running the world if the Technocracy is supposedly doing so too, Werewolves have their Umbra concepts compromised by Mage’s version of the same idea and, indeed, how can Vampires and Werewolves truly exist in a world dominated by a Technocracy-dominated paradigm? Shouldn’t they have been eradicated in this modernistic worldview?

Not a classic, as such, yet the passion and concepts still shine through in the writing - and that’s what gives it value. This is not a particularly good scan, however, it must be noted.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Changeling the Dreaming 2nd Edition
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2014 05:00:57
Changeling: The Dreaming was the last of the original five World Of Darkness games, and certainly by the time of the second edition the quality of the interior design (full colour), and overall visual quality of the game was breathtakingly good. It is probably the prettiest book I saw in the 1990s.

The game suffered, unfortunately, by being significantly different in tone to the previous games, in a manner similar to Mage: The Ascension - but much more pronounced. It’s far away from being gothic, now explicitly called ‘modern fantasy’ and simply doesn’t fit in well with the rest of the games in the series.

As a standalone game it works pretty well. The gameplay is a bit like a contemporary version of Shadowrun in some ways, with various gang-like antics being undertook by characters in their crypto-magical world (that only they can see). However, the fey archetypes are a little twee, some of the 'loss of childhood’ themes are a tad heavy-handed, and the Storyteller system had a few well-acknowledged clunks in it by this stage too.

It’s certainly worth a look - especially if you like sumptuous fantasy art - and it does play well with the right group. It will always be a slightly flawed masterpiece in my thoughts though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling the Dreaming 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wraith the Oblivion (1st Edition)
by nicolas r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2014 14:15:31
Wraith the Oblivion is one of the best well structured game of the world of darkness, you play as a person who died, but it had something to do in life and try to not be forgotten. It's a dense, fascinating and kind of sad (thinking about be forgotten after death is kind of depressing) but amazing game, in my opinion, i recomend so hard this game, not just for play, but for the content.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wraith the Oblivion (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wraith the Oblivion (1st Edition)
by Juan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2014 12:22:59
Un gran libro ya en su época. Material de coleccionesta, sea en el formato que sea.

I'm sorry, I'm Spanish xD

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Character Pad
by Teela S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 12:57:16
Recently, there's been a lot of interest in games set in the World of Darkness and having the character sheets on hand means that we can create characters without worrying about the wifi connection on campus. So far, no games have started up, but this may change before too long. I think the character sheet pad is a good product because it includes relevant charts (weapons and armor charts, specifically) so that I don't have to pull out the core rulebook to look for those or search the internet.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Character Pad
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Changeling: The Lost Character Sheet Pad
by Teela S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 12:38:33
I am really glad that I downloaded the character sheet pad. Since there's been some interest in a Changeling game on campus, having such variable character sheets on hand to print off makes it easier (especially since our campus tends to have wifi issues frequently). It also helps to give everyone a chance to grab a character sheet for the seeming or court they're interested in.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Lost Character Sheet Pad
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Emily O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 11:11:34
If you like Vampire the Masquerade, then this book is amazing because it not only has a few things updated to be more in line with modern times, but it also gathers together a lot of different rules and information from various books within the line and puts it all within a single source. I've been running a campaign out of it for a few months now, and all of my player are really enjoying it. I'm incredibly satisfied, and even if the price is high for the physical color copy, it is DEFINITELY worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of Darkness: Inferno
by James R. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 10:19:17
This is an outstanding "Blue Book" resource for the World of Darkness. Providing an interesting framework for the inclusion of demons (the hell based as opposed to the God Machine variety) into any WoD game you may be running.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Inferno
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Promethean: The Created
by Shawn H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 10:09:35
Interesting concepts but difficult to play. The game focuses far too much on pinnochio syndrome (I want to be a real boy!) for my taste.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean: The Created
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mummy the Curse-Kickstarter Edition
by Ferdinand v. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 04:50:43
Let me start with the fact I love everything the has to do with Egypt.
I loved Mummy 1st and 2nd Ed. and Mummy: the Resurrection even more.
M:tR is a strong setting with easy to grasp character principles and very good connection points for crossovers with Vampire and Werewolf (if this is of interest for you).
So imaging my excitement when a new edition of my favorite setting was announced - for nWoD (which I prefer system-wise to the classic WoD).
But the result left me a bit sad ...

Let's start with the good stuff. The idea behind the setting is great - it delves into a time at the dawn of the civilization around 10.000 years ago.
It is all shrouded in mystery and many important facts are not known to the PC - and some are not even explained to the storyteller (which will be changed with future supplements).
The PC were all magically changed during this time and cannot really live nor completely die - so are dealing extremely ancient beings.
... that lose 99% of their memory every time they die (which is normally after a few days to max about a year)
I won't go into details here but for me this is the cool part.
Due to the memory loss the players have very little to think about their character as most of the characters history will be defined by the ST.
This is a pro or a con - depends on the mindset of the ST.

But now to the biggest pain points I have with Mummy: the curse:
- the system is to complicated, in stead of 1 energy source (blood, gnosis etc.) the Mummies have 5 - one "life meter" that depletes automatically and determines the amount of time you have in this incarnation (but can also be used for some magic effects) and 4 different flavors of magical energy that is user for "spells". So you have to micromanage the use of those 4 so you don't run out of one when you need it most

- the game strongly suggest that only one player plays a mummy and the others play it's supporting characters. You can try to work around this, but if you do you lose so of the logic of the system. But come on when I play Mummy with a group everybody will play a Mummy and not some sort of henchman

- The writer does not support crossovers on purpose. For example the obvious connection to Mage's Atlantis will not be explained and the nature and driving force of a Mummy does not work well with crossovers. (This point may be irrelevant for ST that do not like crossovers)

- The book is written using the most complicated language I ever encountered in a RPG book. English is not my native language, but I have no issue reading or hearing English. I own and read dozens of WoD books, but for me it was real work to read through M:tC. It really sours my enjoyment when I have to re-read every page before I understand the contents.

So in summary this is a book with some great ideas, but the concrete running of a chronicle will challenge the ST and the players in new ways - which might not all be pleasant.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mummy the Curse-Kickstarter Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scroll of Errata
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2014 01:36:18
Something every Exalted 2nd edition player should have but sadly...it didn't go far enough. Somethings still needed revision that weren't revised, and some revisons like those for Ravening Maw of (Ability) probably should have gone a different way. All in all though, a worthwhile read.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Scroll of Errata
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strangeness in the Proportion
by Josh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2014 15:21:56
I cannot quite determine how, in it's entirety, this book has so quickly taken a hold on me. During its original run on White Wolf's website, I was lucky enough to come across it, and even then, I felt there was something special about it; there was something unique to the work that just seemed to pull at my heart and soul. However, as the story goes, awaiting new chapters, I grew lax in my reading, and with the exception of the occasional mention in the back of my mind (perhaps a Corbie's whisper?), I forgot about "Strangeness in the Proportion." Jump ahead over a year, and the time came for a Christmas gift. As if on cue, the whisper came again, reminding me of the story's existence, and lo and behold, a printed copy was available in addition to the ebook. With that decided, the book soon came in and the gift was delivered with much merriment.

All I remained with was the ebook, and figuring the time was now right, I dove back into the World of Darkness. It shames me that it took me so long. Taking it in all at once, this superbly supernatural, and altogether mystifying tale drew me in, and at once I fell in love with it. With a plot as troubling to describe as it is wonderful, my friends have become sick of hearing me exclaim my own personal accolades for it. The dark, disturbing, and terrifying tale of Simon Meeks and Jane Doe is also one of classic romanticism, that will forevermore hold a place in my heart and my bookshelf.

Needless to say, I feel that the titans of modern horror could take a lesson from Mr. Joshua Alan Doetsch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inherit the Earth
by Eugene S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2014 02:10:59
Pretty interesting collection of short stories. Two of them worth reading: (1) "The Treatment of Dr. Ebrhardt" by Stefan Petrucha, (2) "Unusual Suspects" by Richard Lee Byers. The rest i just don't understand. While "The treatment" has unusual plot and characters; and "Unusual Suspects" - classical 'close room' detective puzzle in Vamps-vs-Hunter wrapping, the rest of the book has nothing entertaining.
Also .PDF file has this 'page order' issue: after 230 you have 233, then 232, then 231, and then 234. First thought - i have misprint something, but discovered it wasn't my printer's fault. Weird.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Inherit the Earth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Ages: Players Guide to the Low Clans
by Nicole T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2014 12:27:58
Pages scanned at low fidelity. At almost $20 for a PDF I was expecting actual searchable text and a working table of contents. Not worth the cost when I can get an actual copy of the book used for the same price online.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Players Guide to the Low Clans
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1577 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG