RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Strangeness in the Proportion
by Josh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2014 15:21:56
I cannot quite determine how, in it's entirety, this book has so quickly taken a hold on me. During its original run on White Wolf's website, I was lucky enough to come across it, and even then, I felt there was something special about it; there was something unique to the work that just seemed to pull at my heart and soul. However, as the story goes, awaiting new chapters, I grew lax in my reading, and with the exception of the occasional mention in the back of my mind (perhaps a Corbie's whisper?), I forgot about "Strangeness in the Proportion." Jump ahead over a year, and the time came for a Christmas gift. As if on cue, the whisper came again, reminding me of the story's existence, and lo and behold, a printed copy was available in addition to the ebook. With that decided, the book soon came in and the gift was delivered with much merriment.

All I remained with was the ebook, and figuring the time was now right, I dove back into the World of Darkness. It shames me that it took me so long. Taking it in all at once, this superbly supernatural, and altogether mystifying tale drew me in, and at once I fell in love with it. With a plot as troubling to describe as it is wonderful, my friends have become sick of hearing me exclaim my own personal accolades for it. The dark, disturbing, and terrifying tale of Simon Meeks and Jane Doe is also one of classic romanticism, that will forevermore hold a place in my heart and my bookshelf.

Needless to say, I feel that the titans of modern horror could take a lesson from Mr. Joshua Alan Doetsch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inherit the Earth
by Eugene S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2014 02:10:59
Pretty interesting collection of short stories. Two of them worth reading: (1) "The Treatment of Dr. Ebrhardt" by Stefan Petrucha, (2) "Unusual Suspects" by Richard Lee Byers. The rest i just don't understand. While "The treatment" has unusual plot and characters; and "Unusual Suspects" - classical 'close room' detective puzzle in Vamps-vs-Hunter wrapping, the rest of the book has nothing entertaining.
Also .PDF file has this 'page order' issue: after 230 you have 233, then 232, then 231, and then 234. First thought - i have misprint something, but discovered it wasn't my printer's fault. Weird.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Inherit the Earth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Ages: Players Guide to the Low Clans
by Nicole T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2014 12:27:58
Pages scanned at low fidelity. At almost $20 for a PDF I was expecting actual searchable text and a working table of contents. Not worth the cost when I can get an actual copy of the book used for the same price online.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Players Guide to the Low Clans
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mokole
by Fenix P. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2014 11:27:43
The book is great, I would give it four stars if it was not for the TERRIBLE scan this book has. I payed for this product to get some page scans misplaced, blurred and defective OCR. I hope they fix this with an update.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mokole
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hunter: The Vigil
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2014 13:38:34
I too was taken aback by the print quality of the standard version. While not bad, it just seems cheap by comparison to the other copies that I own. I am also knocking the score down because Mortal Remains wasn't a full update (unlike Blood and Smoke) so I had to also grab this guy while trying to get my players into the GMC.

Overall, it is worth it, but nothing that I'm super excited about even while running a Hunter campaign.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: The Vigil
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wraith the Oblivion (1st Edition)
by jason l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2014 00:50:04
Content: 10/10, Scan Quality: 6.5/10
I can't say enough good things about this game. The scan isn't perfect, but it does a decent job (the original print book is hard to read)

Wraith is a game that perhaps challenges the players a little too much.
The setting and game constantly remind you of the ever looming approach of your own death and forces you to confront its reality.

You would think that makes the game depressing, but it's actually the opposite. The game becomes very life-affirming.

After a session of play, you will come out thinking and appreciating your own silly little life more. Your loved ones you take for granted will feel so much more precious to you. Your problems will not be so great and your existence will feel what it really is: a blessing.

Wraith, at its core, is about two major things: the things you leave behind after death and your own personal journey. What are your worst attributes? Can you feel your shadow tugging at your throughout the day? How do you confront it? If you were to leave this earth today, what would you miss the most? Do you appreciate it, or does its value get lost in the mad rush of daily life?

Wraith sometimes beautiful, sometimes sad, always challenging, and a complete home run as a medium for the art.

The writing, setting, general game mechanics are White Wolf at its best. Even if you aren't a big ghost-ish fan (I'm not), I promise you will get a lot out of this game.

Note: i originally wrote a bad review of the scan, but after looking at the original print cover, it's not so bad. The original book's first 35 pages were unreadable (who thought a grey background with black text was a good idea?).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wraith the Oblivion (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wraith the Oblivion (2nd Edition)
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2014 03:57:44
White Wolf’s biggest artistic and critical success, but also a commercial flop. The central (death) concept is very taken with thematic Jungian ideas such as archetypes, complexes and individuation, whilst being very easy to play out ghost stories where the ghosts play the antagonists (such as in The Others or The Sixth Sense).

The rules are largely the same as with previous WoD games, but the central mechanic revolves around the conflict between the persona of the PCs and their (dark side) Shadows, normally played out by other players. The impact of this is to provide a cathartic aspect to the game, which was a very original idea which influenced other games thereafter.

There is some sloppiness in editing (unbelievably Willpower is overlooked for a trait description in both first and second editions), but the interior layout, grayscale art and design are very easy on the eye. The general depth of the setting material and quality of writing are still the main reasons to buy this book. Timeless.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wraith the Oblivion (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Laws of the Night: Storytellers Guide
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2014 12:23:39
[Standard White Wolf Cross Referencing Complaint]

I feel it is unwise for the back cover to include anything about this book being suitable for players. The new toys in this book are very much antagonist focused, and really should not be let into the game unless you are truly embracing the "Superhero with Fangs" aspect of Vampire.

That said, the provides a wealth of new toys for NPCs to play with to keep your game interesting. Some of the new systems can bring some fun to the game, though I tend to feel those are best for small groups (5 players) or in groups where splitting off a small party is common.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laws of the Night: Storytellers Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Laws of the Night: Camarilla Guide
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2014 12:18:54
[Standard White Wolf Cross Referencing Complaint]

Art: Oh boy. I would accuse it of being camera phone photography, but the book predates wide spread use of camera phones. Worst example is the picture they use for the Gargoyle bloodline... I will leave it as an exorcise to the reader to cringe at that.

Layout: Its sane, but with cross referencing issues common to most old White Wolf books, it could be better.

New Splat Content: It is just... more. For the most part the new Discipline content is for generations that I would never allow in a game, or have only been rarely allowed in games where I was strictly a player. The new paths for Tremere are helpful, and don't break the setting. The Gargoyles are detailed in this book, but are almost unplayable PCs in a Cam setting. They should have been in the Sabbat guide.

New Setting Content: Feels somewhat rehash-y of the core book. The Cam is the default setting for Vampire, so out of necessity, the core Laws of the Night included much of the information in this book. A good deal of it is more verbose in this book, but does not give all that much more information.

The main issue I have is, while this book felt skipable to me, it has JUST enough information in it to be required for running a Cam game. I feel it would have been better to expand the core book about 10% than to come out with this.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Laws of the Night: Camarilla Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Laws of the Night: Sabbat Guide
by Alexander W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2014 12:04:29
[Insert White Wolf Standard Cross Referencing Complaints]

There are really 2 parts of this book - the part that is the new toys for characters (disciplines, clans, bloodlines, merits, flaws, paths, etc) and the part that details the Sect.

The new toys are....new. There is some interesting things here, but it is for the most part, just more stuff. It works, and does what you would expect.

The detailing of the sect itself is well written and puts a face on the sect that previous editions of Vampire lacked. It adds some depth, and turns the Sabbat into something playable.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laws of the Night: Sabbat Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mind's Eye Theatre Dark Epics
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2014 11:53:19


This book, while it gives some decent advice, is almost entirely skipable. There are a few common sense things that it spells out (or at least they were obvious to me), and a few decent ideas on how to handle influence.

If I were to go back in time to before I bought the book, I might not have. I don't regret the purchase, but it has not made an epic difference in my games... pun intended.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre Dark Epics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Laws of the Night (Revised)
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2014 11:49:13
Lets get a few things out of the way:

This is an old White Wolf book, so the index, while being there, is not as helpful as I would like. Any 'See Page XX' references, if they give numbers, are largely wrong, or are literally "See Page XX". Cross referencing is not a strong suit of old White Wolf books.

That said, its an Old White Wolf book, and I can't really ding the book for that, as I knew that going in.

The art isn't complete crap (in fact, its just some photography for the most part, and decent photography at that).

My real criticisms of the book is the layout. If you are going through the first time to create your character, the layout is actually pretty sane, but if you just need a quick reference, its tedious to keep jumping around the character creation chapter.

If you do classic WoD larping, you can't pass this up, and at the current price, why would you?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laws of the Night (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Geist: The Sin-Eaters
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2014 14:13:43
The good, the bad, and the ugly:

Man, this was a hard review to put together. Geist: The Sin Eaters has some really outstanding elements and some absolutely embarrassingly awful elements. To be kind, I’m going to start with the good.

1. If you’re a fan of Garth Nix’ Abhorsen Trilogy, the show Dead Like Me, or horror movies about ghosts, you’ll probably dig this a lot. I like all of those things, so I was willing to tackle the massive storyteller project that came with the setting (see below).

2. The really interesting part of Geist is its Morality system, which centers around ghosts rather than the living. This lets players do some horror movie-esque things that would cause Morality rolls with a lot of the other systems. Ethically, it’s a very interesting system.


And now the bad. Note that this is a longer list.

1. Right off the bat, experienced storytellers will notice that the setting seems to be comprised of “content chunks” and that they don’t fit together really well. I think that this is the result of different people handling different parts of the development project and maybe not working together as well as they could have, but that’s just me. I’d like to say that this is just conceptual and theme-oriented, but it’s not. In some places the rules contradict one another. No, I’m not going to get into it. Look at other reviews for the details.

2. If you research Sin Eaters you’ll see that the setting only slightly touches on that concept. I think they just didn’t know what to call it, so they grabbed “sin eaters” and slapped it on the book. I also suspect that’s why this setting isn’t called Sin Eater. Oh, and “geist” isn’t the player- it’s a little like a cross between the Avatar, the Shadow, and the Po. So the setting isn’t even really titled what they players are.

3. I think that at some point someone in the development/oversight staff said “This is really creepy and gloomy, do something to liven it up (har de har har) and make it appeal to a wider audience”. Thus was born the abomination known as the “krew”. Krews are groups of Geists, and someone thought it’d be cool to basically make them hipster gangs. Yes, you read that correctly. No, I don’t know why either. It’s SO bad it derails the core feel and vibe of the whole setting. Wow it’s bad. How bad, you ask? Krews refer to Charms as “death bling”. That bad. Oh, and one of the “community hub” domains of the Underworld has a wild-west theme. Really think about that for a minute. If you’re not trying to claw your eyes out, then this game might be right for you.

4. On that note, krews have their own rules for shared abilities. That’s actually fairly impressive, but you probably already know the problem with this: all but one of your players is willing to cash in on those abilities, but that one player already has their min/max plan worked out and won’t play ball. Or worse, the krew abilities figure into their min/max plan, and they’re glaring at the other players and thumping a baseball bat against their palm every time experience is dished out. The other problem with this, obviously, is if you’re running a solo campaign. Then it’s a real mess.

5. On your end, you’re going to have some hard systems to narrate to your players. PCs that can see when people are going to die sound fun, but can be a real nightmare for you (the storyteller). It’s hard to surprise the PCs without them feeling betrayed “Hey! I should have seen that coming!” You’re also going to crash headlong into a long debate about destiny and chance at some point (Was that man destined to die of cancer? What if he hadn’t smoked a pack a day?). Also, “and that guy over there! When’s he gonna die??” gets old.

6. The setting badly needs a supplement that covers manifestations rank 6-10 and Onyx Path tells me it’s not even on the horizon yet. If your players are hungry for real power in this setting (and it’s there; Sin Eaters can have attributes/abilities/manifestations up to rank TEN with proper progression) they’re going to hit a wall at some point until this comes out. I worry that the flaws in this setting are going to make that a long time coming and I may just design it myself, which paves the way for later aggravation. Time will tell.

7. Sin Eaters, compared to the other supernaturals, are shockingly weak. Most of their abilities have to do with scaring people, penalizing dice rolls, and damaging willpower. I said most, not all, but your PCs will likely either be clones of one another “Dude, you've got a fire geist too? No way! Hey, let’s go to the saloon and I’ll show you my death bling.” …or they’ll spend their first 4 points waiting for the attack that comes with the fifth point.

8. The innate abilities of the Sin Eaters are scattered, hard for PCs to remember, and difficult to incorporate.

9. There are no projected dates for expansions. I contacted Onyx Path and asked.

I tried. I really did. I even took the time to overhaul the systems and concepts to make it have a more “Wraith” kind of feel. In the end, it was just too much work for too little reward. There are too many concepts floating around without enough common ground to glue them together. The abilities are weak, and it was a nightmare creating game scenarios that actually used their effects. I finally took a long look at the Moros of Mage and said “why am I putting myself through this? I could do all this with a Mage legacy.”

Save yourself the agony. Let them fix it. If they pull together a 2.0 maybe it’ll be worth playing, but right now not so much.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Geist: The Sin-Eaters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Jose R. G. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2014 17:14:39
Definitivamente un libro extraordinario! Compre la edicion de pasta dura a color standard, no me arrepiento, es buena. Aunque si el bolsillo te alcanza para la de color premium deberias comprar esa, dicen que tiene hojas mas gruesas y colores mas nitidos, te repito la version stantard es buena pero es un libro que quieres tener al cien. La version en blanco y negro ni lo pienses, el arte a color hace que no quieras sacrificar nada de el tomo, es 1.4 veces mas grande que el manual basico. La pasta dura esta impresa de forma magistral, la impresion es buena aunque sigue pareciendo a inyeccion de tinta, las versiones en negro parecen de tonner de baja calidad (compre otros manuales), igual la version corre a cargo de lighting source uk ltd.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Nod
by Jose R. G. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2014 16:59:52
En los detalles de la compra dice color, pero todo el libro es en blanco y negro, yo compre la edicion de portada suave a "color", nunca habia visto el libro, es divertido e interesante aunque hubiera prescindido de el por el precio, en algunas partes es mas parecido a un fanzine que a un libro, las hojas son extremadamente delgadas, el tono de la tinta es negro grisaseo sin llegar a ser un negro intenso, la impresion que me toco corre a cargo de lighting source uk ltd.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Nod
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1565 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG