RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Heresies of the Way
by Ken D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 19:47:16

This is an excellent book as of all of White Wolf although I would rescan it if possible for some pages have a dark background and it seems the font used doesn't show clearly as other books from the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heresies of the Way
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadow War
by Ken D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 19:46:28

This is an excellent book as of all of White Wolf although I would rescan it if possible for some pages have a dark background and it seems the font used doesn't show clearly as other books from the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of Darkness: Book of the Dead
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2015 22:04:57

A very good supplement for Geist with the addition of being useful for other lines.


This book includes a few Merits, and other Player tools, but is primarily an expansion on the deep underworld.


The storyteller hooks scattered throughout the various chapters are solid. The various samples of Deep Domains along with the "Laws" is extremely helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Book of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Orpheus: Crusade of Ashes
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2015 15:09:42

A great follow-up to the Orpheus core book. This supplement introduces the first real twist in the Orpheus metaplot, and really shakes things up.


For those not necessarily interested in the metaplot, the book also introduces rules for group merits and temporary Artifacts (the spiritual impression of items that have had been invested with human emotion).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orpheus: Crusade of Ashes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strangeness in the Proportion
by Ryan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2015 08:01:56

I didn't want to follow the crowd and give this book five stars. I wanted to be realistic. Bring a critical eye to the table. But...Mother Hubbard! This is a good story. A great one!
And, honestly, when I look at some elements of it, that sort of surprises me. Right off the bat, you see what would appear to be that overly complex Look At How Big My Vocabulary Is writing style. And references to Poe? Hot Topic left a very sour taste in my mouth in regards to such things. And yet...for these and other potential pitfalls, the author manages to justify them. Tropes that you'd assume are cliché or trite feel, much like Simon Meeks himself, entirely genuine.
I will admit that the dialogue is often too complex and witty to read like natural speech, but even that is a small criticism compared to just how clever and fun and moving that dialogue can be.
There are so many characters and concepts in this book that are so wonderful they make me mad. For, now that I've read of them, I can't think of them on my own. And oh, how I wish I had, for even a scant handful of them!
A story like this could have turned out an absolute mess. It clearly took great skill to keep a firm hold of the reins, but author and editors, somehow, manage just that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Clanbook Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Aldo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2015 13:57:51

Great sourcebooks for a excellent game!


Everything you would need or fear is in this clanbooks. They expand the lore presented in VtM corebook. Extra merits, extra info & diferents views to play the same clan, you love & care (or hate & fear). If you're a completionist this is the bundle you need. Take it & join the masquerade



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 08:27:06

Excellent update to the original Requiem. Much more flavor and enhanced rules. The change to mechanics was not so great that it's unrecognizable, but many "trouble" areas were streamlined. I especially like how most experience is earned via roleplaying your character, backed up with clear mechanics to insure that there's no arguing over when players have earned it.


I only have two knocks against this product.


One, the inclusion of Conditions. While not necessarily a bad thing, with a list of 40 unique conditions, I foresee having to create a cheat sheet or buy the card set. Anything that slows down play bothers me. Yes, conditions are an important part of earning XP, but surely the list of 40 could have been trimmed down to a dozen or so, or at least make the mechanics between conditions similar enough that we don't have to look them up every time they come into play ala Pathfinder.


Two, and the BIG one, is that the original Requiem would have been rated PG-13 in my opinion. This one is most definitely rated R. Multiple uses of the F-word in jarring ways in flavor text, as well as the two C's, which I've only until this time seen used when describing pornography. I would not have purchased this product if I had known about this ahead of time. I try to keep my RPG collection mostly family friendly, and while the original Requiem was on the edge, this version is most definitely not an RPG my children will see. When they get old enough to read and reach the top shelf, I'm selling this.


4/5 for rules update and layout. Conditions loses a star for adding a layer of complexity that didn't exist before.


Another whole star removed for the jarring language that came out of nowhere. We get it. Vampires are predators who live in a world of darkness. But surely it's possible to describe that in some way other than "F or be F-ed".



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Days of Fire
by manuel h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2015 14:52:10

First of all, a clarification. I was expecting a novel about demon, but this is not the case. Instead, this book is rather the Demon version of the Book Nod. So, after this little surprise, it was still a good book and worth reading. The first and largest part consists of the actual "days of fire" text, written in verses, describing the whole story from the creation of the world until the time of judgement.
The text is often very cryptic, I didn't understand all of it. One needs a lot of background knowledge about the whole world of darkness, not only Demon: the Fallen, but also the other game lines. So you learn also something about vampires, werewolves etc. Still, most of the times I could get an idea, what the text was about. Just to make it clear, this book is not for newbies, but interesting for people who know already a lot about world of darkness.
The second part repeats some selected verses from the first part and shows images matching to the verses. The style of these decent images supports the dark mood of this book, well done.
Finally, the last part tells a frame story about people in the world of darkness investigating about the "days of fire" verses. This section consists of mails, newspaper articles and police reports. Again, well written, however, one word of warning: Some texts are encrypted and although in the end, it is explained how to decode it, you are expected to decode it yourself. This is the most obvious example of how to read this book: You do not simply read it and know then, what it is about, this book expects the reader to puzzle and speculate. If you like this, then it is a good book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Days of Fire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of Darkness: Changing Breeds
by John P. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2015 09:30:08

All in all, I'd call this average.


Ok, more detail.


Changing Breeds is an interesting expansion for WtF (Werewolf the Forsaken) in particular and the NWoD (New World of Darkness) in general. It introduces a wide variety of alternate beast shifters, with rules and options for adding to the list as needed/desired. The morality scale (Harmony) is interesting, and not far removed from its counterpart in WtF. And despite the criticism related to the environmentalist tones, I find that it is still less heavy handed about it than WtA (Werewolf the Apocalypse).


As far as game balance goes... well, this IS part of a World of Darkness. Naturally some things tip the scales. And sometimes, the fluff doesn't quite seem to mesh with the stats...


Now, for all of the praise I would have for the mechanics and options.... I match in scorn for the fluff. In places, it wanders into 'juvenile pretending to be mature', though thankfully rarely. The "there is no community, you are likely alone" fluff from early on is rather heavily contradicted by the "here are all of these old communities and groups" section found later. The understanding of animal behavior seems to boil down to "All animals are either wolves or housecats," with a touch of "and all 'mystically inclined' breeds are matriarchal, regardless of the actual social structure of the base animal." And the stereotyping... look, I can see where they showed their work in a few areas. I will grant that on some aspects of the cultures some werecreatures originate from. But the rest is almost painful...


While I would recommend an open-minded storyteller pick this one up, I would advise keeping the mechanics and character options and ditching the fluff. Without the fluff weighing it down, Changing Breeds lends itself well to crossover games, and offers creative options for unusual allies, contacts, and adversaries.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Changing Breeds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dirty Secrets of the Black Hand
by greg m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2015 15:26:26

Intended to be a jumping board for chronicles involving a global conspiracy of elders manipulating the two major sects in order to wipe out Vicissitude; this book became a much debated topic in V:tM circles, and writers never quite seemed sure what to do with it after this book was released.
The Tal'mahe'Ra was used as a boogie-man of sorts in later books, and the Path of Biothaumaturgy was edited and brought into the Revised Camarilla Guide. The Path of Self Focus was reprinted elsewhere, and when the True Brujah were ported into revised in the Storytellers Guide, they brought the Path of the Scorched Heart with them. The Path of Lillith was made available in the Guide to the Sabbat. The fates of the revenant families were discussed in various supplements. But, I digress.
The purpose of the book was to present a new sect into the Jyhad, and it succeeded at that. As I hinted earlier, the purpose of this sect was to wipe out Vicissitude, the signature Discipline of the Tzimisce. That is because the power is not in fact a Discipline, but an insidious parasite that transmits through blood, has a mind of it's own, drives it's host insane and exists only to procreate!


To stop this insidious threat, the True Black Hand operates out of a spectral copy of the august city of Enoch, and also protects three ancient sarcophogi that house incredibly ancient Kindred! Are they the fabled second generation? Stay tuned and find out!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dirty Secrets of the Black Hand
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Crafts: Whispers of Dissent
by greg m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2015 11:33:33

This was an earlier entry into the M:tA line of CWoD books, and introduced many Crafts into the mix of the Ascension War. Crafts differ from the Traditions and Conventions in that they are geographically or culturally limited. Each Craft gets it's own chapter complete with a full page piece of art and a fluff short story to set tone. The history of each Craft is discussed, a few signature Rotes (magick spells) are given, and one or two templates for PC's are given.
The Crafts presented are an Epytian throwback; a group of Hawai'ian traditionalists; the Sisters of Hippolita, a Greek cult; the Knights Templar, who left the nascent Order of Reason, which became the Technocracy; and also a Chinese magickal society.
Artwork ranges from good to passable, and there are several typos, so grammar police may be annoyed.
The groups presented in the book all have a specific, local focus, so use in games is questionable, but still entertaining to read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Crafts: Whispers of Dissent
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Time of Tumult
by Arlan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2015 18:13:18

A fair-quality scan of one of the iconic books of Exalted 1st Edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Time of Tumult
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exalted: The Dragon-Blooded
by Arlan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2015 17:46:41

This is a pretty poor scan, especially compared to some of the other old Exalted books on drivethru. The text is, in places, blurry and difficult to read, the pages are skewed and the OCR is spotty at best.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted: The Dragon-Blooded
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exalted: The Sidereals
by Arlan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2015 17:43:32

The scan quality is absolutely abysmal. The pages are skewed, the text is blurry and low-resolution and dark blotches along the bottoms of the pages make reading difficult and the OCR only extends about halfway down each page.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted: The Sidereals
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2015 23:14:06

Masquerade is very much tied to that early 90's gen-X "fuck the man" aesthetic, an in your face punk rock version of hard driven Vampires. Anne Rice on a fifth of Jack



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 1626 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG