RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tri-Stat dX: Core System Role-Playing Game
by julien l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 14:45:28

Excellent generic system, usable for anything, plenty of options, great freedom for both GM and players. The only thing is that the character sheet is extremely sober, contrary to Cypher's one as example.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tri-Stat dX: Core System Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: the Masquerade (V5 pre-alpha playtest)
by Alan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 13:37:06

I loved it. It was a great rule set, and a great story. Full of corruption, retribution, and lots of Vampiric Flavor. The Compulsions and Hunger system were Really nice. I think I would like the mechanics altered a bit in later versions. Mostly that the only way to reduce your last hunger die is by killing to be reserved for low humanity or some other similar location. I feel like the possibility of being a benign vampire, is what creates the most potential for corruption. Otherwise I thought it was fantastic. Hunger dice are different colored dice to create complications, Compulsions help you act like a vampire when you roll ones on Hunger dice. And there are 3 compulsions specific to the clans instead of the usual clan flaws, Really nice. Makes every clan prone to acting more like their clan should. Really Really worth a try. Be warened this is a PVP module, One of the PCs is opposed to the others in secret, but the blood bond helps keep that player from being too oppositional to the group, creating a more subtile effect. A great version of the game, HUGE Improvement. And a good fun scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade (V5 pre-alpha playtest)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: the Masquerade (V5 pre-alpha playtest)
by Lothar T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2017 18:51:37

While I understand this is only a pre-alpha set, and much has yet to be developed, I love the direction White-Wolf is going with this.

I started playing Vampire back in 1991, in my early 20s, and played it as a very harsh horror game (with politics).

By about 1993-1994, it seemed that most people were playing it as Vampires are superheroes and the horror aspect became much less pronounced.

Both the rules, and the adventure, bring things back to that horror core. The Hunger mechanic, and the implications of this, force the players to face their beast in a way that hasn't been in the forefront since 1st edition (or at least some of our interpretations of that).

The adventure is filled with very hard choices which balance the political 'horror' (of hard choices that might destroy your standing... or strengthen it at a cost) with the personal horror of being a damned predator.

If you think that such horror is 'immature' (which in my opinion ignores the corpus of vampire literature and folklore in exchange for emo power fantasies) then you may not like this.

If you want a vampire game that is firmly entrenched in a harsher realm of horror, while also feeling very much like early Vampire: The Masquerade, then give this a try, give White-Wolf good feedback on the rest of the devlopment and enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade (V5 pre-alpha playtest)
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2017 16:23:30

i like the hunger dice, i can even deal with additional successes opposed to having a higher number then six that you need to get. as i have read it it seems like the whole world would not exist though. the original game is based on low generation older vamps having all the power with this new system, i feel , that a group would just take out the prince and take over, or just go on living normal lives. there is no individual need to try to lower your gen to get more powerful, you just need to be patient and role play a bunch of boring things to gain enough experience to challenge the prince. i am also against the attributes being reduced to three. one of the greatest aspects of this game is that you can literally make you as a vampire, and there are to many people who are intelligent, but nether witty or perceptive, extremely atractive but not manipulative. but dropping to just three sure you can take a specialty but you lose some customization On your character. bottom line it still needs work and i would pick the older versions over the new.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade (V5 pre-alpha playtest)
by kenneth h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2017 15:26:44

I have not played it yet,but I like the direction of the new system.It seems like a much cleanier system. Hopefuly it will mesh up good with the other WOD games.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade (V5 pre-alpha playtest)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2017 13:10:00

This is a dumbed down version of the Vampire: the Masquerade that has reduced resolution and has been touch inappropritely by a By Night Studios fan boy.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rage Warriors of the Apocalypse
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2017 16:27:11

Such a great book.

Originally all these NPCs were cards for the Rage card game. As this book was released after several expansions of that ccg, there are garou of every rank, many fera, all sorts of wyrm minions for you use.

The background on every NPC is brief (about as much as seen in any Rage Across... book) but descriptive enough to be easily slid into a campaign. Great book for needing a antagonist quick and on the fly, here you go: rank 4 Silver Fang braggert, easy; a BSD pack to harass the PCs, no problem, got enough for two packs; Pentex First Team - this book has it all.

On the downside: this is a 2nd edition book, some Gift choices were not present back then, and some skills existed that don't now (w20th edition); also sometimes the written background doesn't seem to match whatever the person giving stats had in mind - the Gifts / skills of the NPC seem to be missing essential assets (character is a healer of note, but has no healing skills/rites)(character is known for commanding the wind but no Gift to explain this power).

Great book, will always have a use for this at my table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rage Warriors of the Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tri-Stat dX: Core System Role-Playing Game
by Scott F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2017 14:48:48

I have to admit, the Tri-Stat dX system is probably one of the most complete, modularized, and modifiable generic RPGs available, since GURPS. The rules aren't difficult to pick up and there is as much meat as you need to sate your hunger - be it for high fantasy, gritty cyberpunk, soaring heavy hitting superheroics, kingly subterfuge or virtually any manga or anime setting. At the low introductory cost of free, there is no reason for you not to own it. Try it. I couldn't find anything wrong with the sytem, except yhat it's too bad Guardians of Order is not around anymore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tri-Stat dX: Core System Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mage The Awakening Tarot
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2017 12:38:55

What can I say about this? The deck is lovely at all levels. Gorgeous art, well printed, presented in a fine tuck box, a fantastic deal for a very nice tarot, whether you use it for Mage: The Awakening or not, it is worth the money.

Two criticisms: First is that the 'insert' for the rules isn't available to buy in PoD, but know that I do understand the limitations of such. Second is that the insert only covers the major arcana, which makes the fact that I already own the Keys to the Supernal Tarot (available separately from this same site) all the more important. Note that you WILL want that book, too, in order to get the most out of this deck in a game, but it's not necessary by any means.

The above notwithstanding, I cannot say enough about how great this deck is. Very pleased.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage The Awakening Tarot
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

New World of Darkness Rulebook (1st Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2017 14:24:30

I am so glad this book is still available and can't recommend this game high enough. Consider buying this book instead of Chronicles of Darkness if you like your rules simple, streamlined and if you don't want to juggle conditions, tilts and other ressources throughout your gaming session. For me this is my go-to gaming system for every need.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New World of Darkness Rulebook (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Alliance: Vancouver
by Shawn T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2017 17:59:15

This book definitely makes Vancouver into an interesting and varied place. With plenty of local hooks. And as someone who lives in Vancouver a pretty good feel for the city itself. Side note, check the publication date. If your planning to use this for a modern campaign a small amount of updating of the source material will be needed (Like the Evergreen line)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Alliance: Vancouver
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Kindred Most Wanted (WW2230)
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2017 17:16:05

Terrible scan. Many pages have streaks in them. Obviously used a sheet feed scanner and not a very good one.

Very low quality.

Would not reccomend buying this at all.

You could do better with a cell phone camera.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Kindred Most Wanted (WW2230)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Games of Divinity
by Brian P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2017 15:25:17

Much like Scavenger Sons, Games of Divinity was one of the books that really defined how Exalted was different than other games. It's not just that it had a vibrant spiritual ecology, though that was a major part of it--it's true that animism has always been missing from D&D other than incorporeal undead, but plenty of games like Glorantha or, indeed, other White Wolf games like Mage: the Ascension had a vibrant spirit world. It's that the spirit world was so petty.

Back when the Primordials ruled and dinosaurs walked the earth, Creation was run by the Celestial Bureaucracy in which everyone had their place and performed their function or else. After the Primordial War, the gods gave over rule of Creation to the Exalted and some them relaxed into playing the titular Games of Divinity, but everything still worked. Then the Solar Exalted were overthrown and things have steadily gotten worse. Many of the gods now require bribes to perform their duties, or can be bribed to favor certain groups or oppose others. The censors who used to regulate the Celestial Bureaucracy are mostly jaded and corrupt themselves, with those censors who still uphold their office thought of as naive and overly idealistic by their fellow gods. In some places like Great Forks or Whitewall, gods even openly rule over mortals in a violation of all principles of divine behavior, and yet no censure comes from the Celestial Incarna. They are too busy playing the Games of Divinity in the Jade Pleasure Dome. There's no transcendence here, only power.

This setup is a bit depressing, but it reinforces one of Exalted's central themes--power without restraint always goes wrong. Once the most powerful gods were free to control their destinies, they went into the Jade Pleasure Dome and spent all day playing the Games. Once the rest of the gods were no longer restrained by the Exalted, they abandoned every duty they could get away with. And of course, the Solar Exalted's excesses brought the First Age down in ruin. In each case, trying to solve the problem with violence just ended up making things worse in the long wrong. Violence is easy but lessens the world, so will your character try for a better solution?

Elementals are less thematic, but provide a good background to the world. They naturally arise from ambient Essence and are naturally material, so they're a great catch-all category for weird one-off monsters and inhabitants of hidden valleys that show in sword and sorcery fiction. Some of them are intelligent and some are basically supernatural animals, and some of them set up supernatural spirit courts in imitation of the gods. These courts are full of byzantine rules and elaborate pomp and ceremony, because that's what being important involves, and even in the absence of duties the courts continue because bureaucracy has its own inertia.

I was a bit surprised to see that a lot of the trends fans decried in later Exalted had their start here rather than later on. The most blatant was the unimportance of Dragon-Blooded to the spiritual order:

Today, many gods see the Dragon-Blooded as nothing more than a more dangerous and longer-lived form of mortal

which later contributed to a fan conception that only Solar-equivalents were "real" Exalts and Dragon-Blooded might as well not even be in the game, but there's also the pointless elemental spirit courts and divine disdain for elementals. With all the praise for Games of Divinity--and it is a good book--this was unexpected and a bit unwelcome.

All of that was forgotten when I got to the Demons chapter, though. I've heard Malfeas described as the best hell in gaming, and I'm willing to endorse that. The twisted body of one of the fallen Primordials, enclosed by another Primordial, and with all of his siblings entrapped within. While the gods are just people with power and tend to have mortal viewpoints, the Primordials are worlds unto themselves. Each of them has many forms, which they can adopt simultaneously, and it's possible for Malfeas the man to stand in a square of Malfeas the city and dance in the light of the mad green sun, Ligier, his fetich soul. The Primordials are too large for one soul to contain them, and each of them is its own spiritual ecology--they have multiple souls, each of which has seven souls of their own, and each of which has spawned entire races of children, creations, and servants.

The demons are more interesting than the gods, honestly. From Makarios, the Sigil's Dreamer, who turns the dreams of mortals into fine trade goods; to Zsofika, the Kite Flute, who chooses a target of her hunt after being summoned, always moving just slightly faster than them, and will only do her summoner's bidding after her prey is dead; to Gervasin, the Grieving Lord, a spear that binds to his wielder and drives them to death and beyond, but has fallen in love and now finds little joy in life. And these are just the demons of the second circle, the citizens of the Demon City, not the greater demons of whom they form the component souls. There's enough to form a game around each demon's plots all on its own.

Also, there's a mention of the Infernal Exalted who are owned "body and soul" by the yozis. If only they had stayed that way.

In several of the most popular RPGs, gods and demons are just around to worship and gain superpowers from or to fill out the higher-tier enemy rosters. In Exalted, they're people. Weird people, who have magical powers and weird quirks--but then again, that's true of the Exalted too. I wasn't a big fan of the comics in the Exalted 2e corebook, but I did love the tone set by the opening comic, where the Solars fight the local river god after he's flooding the river only to learn that the flooding is because he's sad that the maidens who traditionally came and sang to him haven't been showing up because of local bandits. That's a deity that provides immediate game possibilities, and this book is full of those kind of interactions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Games of Divinity
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Changeling: The Lost
by Katarzyna K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2017 08:46:39

I'm a little disappointed. I knew that standard hardcover isn't premium quality, but still... Pages made of the same paper I have in my printer and glued, shiny cover aren't worth 35$.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Lost
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mage The Awakening Tarot
by Kent F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2017 10:19:21

What a fantastic deck! I collect tarot decks, and this is now one of my favorites: great artwork and interesting takes on the traditional Rider-Waite illustrations (some fairly similar but with modern-day elements, and some quite different) .The companion guide book (PDF) has excellent ideas for ways to use the cards in-game - ideas that can easily be adapted to systems other than Mage: the Awakening.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage The Awakening Tarot
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 1724 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG