RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2016 16:18:45

The game is a good game. I wanted a back up copy of the game, so I checked out the preview pages of the pdf and all looked good. Too bad the file that I downloaded didn't match the quality of the preview AT ALL. Scan lines and worse on my copy ( I tried to download more than once), but not on the preview. Questionable...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blood In, Blood Out (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #2)
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 13:48:22

Sometimes authors give writing a great story everything they got. Sometimes that takes a backseat to an agenda. I think the writer is talented and I think the story had potential but I can’t get through it. I’m just not interested in the characters. I think the author was probably guided to force diversity into the story and it just did not work. I don’t mean racial diversity BTW, I mean cultural diversity. We’re talking ghettos, gangsters, and Carthians here. The characters don’t hold my interest and half way through the book, I just give up. I make no apologies for not being genuinely interested in the story. That’s not a choice, it’s a reality. The first book in the series was great. Rather than take the first book further, this story tries to take the setting in a new direction … without me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood In, Blood Out (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #2)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 12:40:19

This is the table top Vampire game to play, hands down. This version of Vampire the Masquerade beats Vampire the Requiem 2nd Edition! Here is why.


I have played Vampire the Requiem extensively. The new second edition of Vampire the Requiem has alienated me. The art was trashy and cheap, the rules for experience and progression are stupid, rebalancing of disciplines resulted in more confusion and unbalance, and the game feels goofier and more unpolished than ever. Even though there are some positive changes to the new VtR2e, the game plays more awkward than ever. So I thought to myself, it’s time to learn about my options. And that is why VtM20th got my consideration.


My reservations have always been that the system is too old with too much baggage and outdated mechanics that won’t play as clean and smooth as first edition nWoD games did. My reservations were justified to some degree. The game still feels a little dusty. Some of the mechanics are a bit clunky feeling and could diffidently be cleaner. But the book is beautiful, the setting is ruthlessly wonderful, and the game is even better than I remember it being. I have been running a game for about 8 full nights now and I am really enjoying it. The community that supports this game is still very alive. The setting has been very well cleaned up. The rules make more sense than ever. Some of the things that initially bothered me either didnt bother me as much as I thought they would when we played or I have found a solution in the rules that I did not notice at first. The disciplines seem more balanced than I remember. Combat is a bit too cumbersome but the more I get used to it the more this is not an issue for me.


It’s not perfect and I do miss some of my favorite aspects of VtR (first edition.) But this game has not faded away at all. Its community is thriving and the game has been refined yet preserved.


In the end, games like this are about role play. This game’s role play experience is great. This feels like the quintessential vampire game that has colored our culture for the last 20+ years. That’s what VtR2e is missing. While playing this game, I keep getting this feeling that, this is it; this is what our generation's Vampire mythology is. It’s been thought out and vetted for eternity.


I think VtR has some issues it will need to work through for the next ten year cycle. While it works that out, I’ll be happily playing VtM.


As for the book, it’s big. I mean, in real life, this damn thing is HUGE. My first “premium” book had binding problems. DTRPG sent me out a new one right away. They are great to work with and I’m pleased that they handle problems quickly and kindly. But I don’t think the quality of the binding is very good for a $100 book. Other than the binding being stressed by the page count, the book is absolutely beautiful. I’m not sure that the premium version is worth the extra money though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2016 19:35:50

I was a little concerned about the binding on such a large book, but it is high quality and stands up to regular use.


I love having all of the pertinent information in one volume now, as opposed to having to search through dozens of supplements to find that one path I saw like 4 years ago.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel Saga, Volume 2: The Eye of Gehenna (Novel)
by Jamie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2016 14:32:18

This PDF book is in an Image format and thus impossible to get on to Kindle as it can't be sent by email as the file is so massive.
Instead of being about 3MB its 100MB in size.
Please resize it to something sensible. It can't be that hard for who ever has the original?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel Saga, Volume 2: The Eye of Gehenna (Novel)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Laws of the East
by Jacob V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 23:56:08

I am very pleased that I made this purchase. I am currently running a Kindred of the East Chronicle, and found that the MET sourcebook had additional information that does not show up in tabletop-only sourcebooks. As well, the pdf is crisp and clear, a very high quality and easy to navigate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laws of the East
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gilded Cage
by Sam M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2015 14:33:18

Gilded Cage, while fluff-heavy, is a solid book. It delivers exactly what it promises, that is, a guide to influencing mortal society from a vampiric perspective. It has a few broad pieces of advice - mainly that subtlety is key, that it's best to have your finger in several pies, and that the use of Disciplines is a blunt-force option and a last resort - and reinforces them in its more in-depth looks at how a smart neonate can exploit and thrive within different areas of society. The main four looked at are: the business world, in particular major corporations; the upper-crust of society; the branches of government, local and federal; and 'the streets', the domain of blue-collar workers, street gangs and the destitute. Each of these gets a chapter to itself, while a fifth chapter examines several less central ones such as academia, the media, and organized religion. Finally chapter six (barely longer than an appendix) provides advice for working the socio-political structure of a city into storytelling and character creation, as well as a section on how to flesh out Backgrounds and logically tie them together rather than leaving them as just vague and abstract numbers on a sheet.


Where the book really shines is its wide utility. It is useful to both players and storytellers, essentially giving the same advice to both - it reminds us that anything the neonates can do, the elders can often do better. Its tone, which is in-universe though not deeply so, speaks equally to a player and storyteller reader in such a way that it is cogent, useful information, but also manages captures the feel for how Kindred generally view mortals and mortal society from a political angle. As well as a broad look at how each level of urban society can be harnessed, specific examples are provided which paint how its advice would practically work within a chronicle.


The book isn't perfect, of course. It definitely has a bias - though not an overwhelming one - towards American-set, Camarilla, neonate-led chronicles. The Sabbat does get a look-in, though the Anarchs don't to any significant degree. This is not too much of a problem since its tone and mood are geared towards these sorts of chronicles, and most of the advice given is fairly general. This applies also to geographic setting - while it is American in tone, much of the content is equally applicable to most of the Western world. In games set outside of Europe or North America it might be less useful, though not useless by any means.


Being just under 15 years old, the book is understandably somewhat out of date, particularly when it comes to technology and the Internet; if Gilded Cage were published today it would likely devote a whole chapter to these. More recent V20 sourcebooks have done so however, and it's really the only area the book is lacking in from today's viewpoint - though of course it came out in 2001, so this really isn't a mark against the book itself. If you are planning to run or play in a political, city-based Vampire chronicle, this book is well worth the money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gilded Cage
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heresies of the Way
by Ken D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 19:47:16

This is an excellent book as of all of White Wolf although I would rescan it if possible for some pages have a dark background and it seems the font used doesn't show clearly as other books from the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heresies of the Way
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadow War
by Ken D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 19:46:28

This is an excellent book as of all of White Wolf although I would rescan it if possible for some pages have a dark background and it seems the font used doesn't show clearly as other books from the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of Darkness: Book of the Dead
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2015 22:04:57

A very good supplement for Geist with the addition of being useful for other lines.


This book includes a few Merits, and other Player tools, but is primarily an expansion on the deep underworld.


The storyteller hooks scattered throughout the various chapters are solid. The various samples of Deep Domains along with the "Laws" is extremely helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Book of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Orpheus: Crusade of Ashes
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2015 15:09:42

A great follow-up to the Orpheus core book. This supplement introduces the first real twist in the Orpheus metaplot, and really shakes things up.


For those not necessarily interested in the metaplot, the book also introduces rules for group merits and temporary Artifacts (the spiritual impression of items that have had been invested with human emotion).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orpheus: Crusade of Ashes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strangeness in the Proportion
by Ryan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2015 08:01:56

I didn't want to follow the crowd and give this book five stars. I wanted to be realistic. Bring a critical eye to the table. But...Mother Hubbard! This is a good story. A great one!
And, honestly, when I look at some elements of it, that sort of surprises me. Right off the bat, you see what would appear to be that overly complex Look At How Big My Vocabulary Is writing style. And references to Poe? Hot Topic left a very sour taste in my mouth in regards to such things. And yet...for these and other potential pitfalls, the author manages to justify them. Tropes that you'd assume are cliché or trite feel, much like Simon Meeks himself, entirely genuine.
I will admit that the dialogue is often too complex and witty to read like natural speech, but even that is a small criticism compared to just how clever and fun and moving that dialogue can be.
There are so many characters and concepts in this book that are so wonderful they make me mad. For, now that I've read of them, I can't think of them on my own. And oh, how I wish I had, for even a scant handful of them!
A story like this could have turned out an absolute mess. It clearly took great skill to keep a firm hold of the reins, but author and editors, somehow, manage just that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Clanbook Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Aldo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2015 13:57:51

Great sourcebooks for a excellent game!


Everything you would need or fear is in this clanbooks. They expand the lore presented in VtM corebook. Extra merits, extra info & diferents views to play the same clan, you love & care (or hate & fear). If you're a completionist this is the bundle you need. Take it & join the masquerade



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 08:27:06

Excellent update to the original Requiem. Much more flavor and enhanced rules. The change to mechanics was not so great that it's unrecognizable, but many "trouble" areas were streamlined. I especially like how most experience is earned via roleplaying your character, backed up with clear mechanics to insure that there's no arguing over when players have earned it.


I only have two knocks against this product.


One, the inclusion of Conditions. While not necessarily a bad thing, with a list of 40 unique conditions, I foresee having to create a cheat sheet or buy the card set. Anything that slows down play bothers me. Yes, conditions are an important part of earning XP, but surely the list of 40 could have been trimmed down to a dozen or so, or at least make the mechanics between conditions similar enough that we don't have to look them up every time they come into play ala Pathfinder.


Two, and the BIG one, is that the original Requiem would have been rated PG-13 in my opinion. This one is most definitely rated R. Multiple uses of the F-word in jarring ways in flavor text, as well as the two C's, which I've only until this time seen used when describing pornography. I would not have purchased this product if I had known about this ahead of time. I try to keep my RPG collection mostly family friendly, and while the original Requiem was on the edge, this version is most definitely not an RPG my children will see. When they get old enough to read and reach the top shelf, I'm selling this.


4/5 for rules update and layout. Conditions loses a star for adding a layer of complexity that didn't exist before.


Another whole star removed for the jarring language that came out of nowhere. We get it. Vampires are predators who live in a world of darkness. But surely it's possible to describe that in some way other than "F or be F-ed".



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Days of Fire
by manuel h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2015 14:52:10

First of all, a clarification. I was expecting a novel about demon, but this is not the case. Instead, this book is rather the Demon version of the Book Nod. So, after this little surprise, it was still a good book and worth reading. The first and largest part consists of the actual "days of fire" text, written in verses, describing the whole story from the creation of the world until the time of judgement.
The text is often very cryptic, I didn't understand all of it. One needs a lot of background knowledge about the whole world of darkness, not only Demon: the Fallen, but also the other game lines. So you learn also something about vampires, werewolves etc. Still, most of the times I could get an idea, what the text was about. Just to make it clear, this book is not for newbies, but interesting for people who know already a lot about world of darkness.
The second part repeats some selected verses from the first part and shows images matching to the verses. The style of these decent images supports the dark mood of this book, well done.
Finally, the last part tells a frame story about people in the world of darkness investigating about the "days of fire" verses. This section consists of mails, newspaper articles and police reports. Again, well written, however, one word of warning: Some texts are encrypted and although in the end, it is explained how to decode it, you are expected to decode it yourself. This is the most obvious example of how to read this book: You do not simply read it and know then, what it is about, this book expects the reader to puzzle and speculate. If you like this, then it is a good book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Days of Fire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 1632 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG