RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gehenna - The Final Night (Time of Judgment Act 1 of 3)
by Trevor K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2014 13:15:59

Gehenna. The end of everything for the vampires. It had been building for years in the World of Darkness game books and novels. And here we have it.


The novel mostly focuses on Beckett, the Gangrel archeologist/historian/Noddist scholar and that was a sensible choice. He is on a quest for answers and we get to tag along. Many other notable vampires come in to contact with him along the way.


The story does have the scope and feel of an end of the world situation. So that worked for me. Beckett and his search was reasonable and decently depicted. If you're wanting a decent story centered around Gehenna I'd give this a shot. It's not the best Vampire novel I've read but certainly not the worst.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gehenna - The Final Night (Time of Judgment Act 1 of 3)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Nightmare on Hill Manor
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2014 12:11:34

a great start off point for new nWOD players leaves just enough out to let story teller add their own stuff to it



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nightmare on Hill Manor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hunter: The Vigil
by Denise R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 16:43:58

I LOVE this book! It's a perfect compliment to the nWoD series!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: The Vigil
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Exalted
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 10:50:57

The Exalted game setting is a great universe for those who are fans of Anime, the Matrix Movies and other such super powered settings. I found the dice pool mechanics clunky at first--I started Role-playing with 2nd Ed. D & D in 1980--but have come to appreciate its flexibility; also I have discovered there is more suspense from rolling 20+ dice and counting my successes and a lucky roll absolutely destroying a foe--either in melee or social combat.


I got into the Exalted setting with 2nd. Ed., but decided to get the 1st. Ed. Books because I discovered that some material from the 1st. Ed. has not been converted to 2nd. Ed. stats and I want to be able to use those earlier materials.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Clanbook: Tremere - 1st Edition (WW2057)
by Simon R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 09:40:47

Like many people, I've stuck with 2nd ed WOD and this manual, as well as all the other clan manuals, is almost laughably cheap for the extra depth it can add to a personal development of a long-playing character....and I'm paying in South African rands!


The elaboration of the various clans is always helpful and I would recommend anyone looking into these, but as a storyteller first and foremost I definitely wouldn't give this, or any of the clanbooks, to new players. Let them find their feet in the game first, wade through the mysteries with that awesome first-timer wonder and then once they're comfortable and more experienced, let them get stuck into these babies. It doesn't make sense to me to "blow the load" beforehand and they'll appreciate these even more later on.


I think out of all the Camarilla clans, the Tremere guides are essential due to the clans...alternative...method of coming into being and their secretive nature.


Thanks DTRPG!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Tremere - 1st Edition (WW2057)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mage: The Ascension (Revised)
by christoffer j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2014 04:06:27

great book. i really helped me start on the end for my mages game


the artworks is surperp. i can clearly recomend this book to others



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Ages: Vampire
by Radoslaw S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2014 04:06:23

Excellent product!


The quality is amazing! About WoD it's very useful and simply "MUST-HAVE" book for every WoD fan, player or storyteller.


Great quality! THX!


Regards
SZewski from Poland



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Vampire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Ages: Vampire
by Martin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 18:32:43

Good for any fan of the old World of Darkness game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension (Revised)
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2014 13:12:28

I...love and hate this edition of Mage: The Asension. For years I would not, could not accept the Avatar Storm and the slap to the face of my prefered Mage playstyle. I think this was the straw that broke the camels back on my picking up every WW product they put out.


However that aside, some good things DID come out of this book:




  1. A revised technocrazy that honestly seemed interested in the betterment of mankind instead of a monolithic control mechnism.




  2. Nicely updated and revised paradox rules.



  3. Tighter options for what frankly is one of the best magic systems out there.


So, while I may hate the setting changes in the revised era of mage, I do appreicate the book for what remains.


Not bad, but I'm waiting for M20 with hope it is setting/timeline agnostic enough for my taste.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Doomslayers: Into the Labyrinth
by Víctor J. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2014 05:44:52

Great book, with over the top illustrations for a Wraith supplement, tasty narrative and cool concepts.


Perfect PDF edition, not a scan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doomslayers: Into the Labyrinth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guide to the Technocracy
by Stefan D. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2013 13:21:35

Second edition still my favorite. Excellent electronic edition as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to the Technocracy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heralds of the Storm (Year of the Scarab Trilogy Book 1)
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/25/2013 18:41:28

What would you do if you woke up one day and discovered that everything you thought was silly superstition and nonsense was real and you were the only thing standing between evil and the rest of Humanity?


Thea Ghandour, the unlikely pot-smoking heroine who continuously laments her lack of a sex-life, and a less-than-intrepid and equally unlikely band of fellow Hunters have been trying to answer that question since they found each other. Heralds of the Storm opens on one of their self-imposed missions, just outside the lair of a vampire, one of “the greatest predators ever to walk the earth.”


Don’t read Heralds looking for an introductory romp through the world of the Mummies, no matter what the back-cover blurb says. The story revolves around the conflict and manipulation between the Van Helsing Brigade (as Thea calls the group of Hunters), walking dead man Maxwell Carpenter and their mutual enemy, leaving the Mummy aspect largely unexplored and completely unexplained. Intentional? Probably. The story ends without closure; it was obviously written with the trilogy idea already in place.
Heralds will make more sense to readers who are already at least passingly familiar with White Wolf’s World of Darkness, especially from the Vampire angle. Some of the more noticeable leaps of logic are easily resolved by reference to the wider setting but require previous knowledge of that setting to make sense. The idea of the Masquerade from Vampire — that any notice of the supernatural by the mortals is a threat to the existence of the vampires and should therefore be concealed — is the obvious answer to Thea’s question “And why would they cover up something about us?.” Without that background, the reader is simply left with half an answer and the question never comes up again.


One of the most entertaining aspects of the Hunter group is that they could be lifted from any random gaming table. They are the epitome of the typical dysfunctional player-character gaming group; they can’t get along with each other but they still usually manage to accomplish what they set their minds to (after much arguing). While these characters are accessible to the reader precisely because of their familiarity, that same familiarity allows them to slip in and out of two dimensional predictability.
The text of Heralds stretches to be overly colloquial in an attempt to portray the Hunters as normal everyday folks, leaving awkwardly wordy spots in an otherwise well-written story. The attempt to portray the Hunters as Jane and Joe Average is admirable, but not very accurate. These are, for the most part, not just normal people. Like most player-character groups, they are normal people with funky powers pitting their funky powers against the funky powers of other supernaturals in a vain attempt to save the world. The continuous recourse to traditional methods, such as Internet searches and camera surveillance and the fact that they at times fail do far more to paint the characters in an everday light, successfully keeping the Hunters from becoming a Buffy-verse rip-off.


All in all, Heralds of the Storm is superb game fiction — and an excellent first novel for Andrew Bates. If you’ve got some background in the World of Darkness and you’re just looking to relax for a couple hours, this is one you definitely need to pick up. If you have no experience with Vampire, Hunter or Wraith, however, you should come back to this one later. The story itself is highly readable and will make perfect sense, but some of the auxiliary details will be lost if this is your introduction to the World of Darkness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heralds of the Storm (Year of the Scarab Trilogy Book 1)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 10: Gangrel
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/25/2013 18:40:01

Jürgens armies under the sign of the Black Cross march out to conquer the east. Against them stand the vile Tzimisce ruled by the Voivode of all Voivodes: Count Vladimir Rustovitch.


But not only those stand in the way of Jürgens men, between their home and the Voivodat lies Livonia, a fierce, primal territory ruled by Quarakh the Untamed and his horde of Gangrel. By his side there is Deverra, High-Priest of Telyavel and Tremere renegade.
Jürgen sends out Alexander of Paris to propose a pact or slay Quarakh. But Alexander has different plans. With Quarakhs help he is about to subdue first the Tzimisce and Jürgen, then march against Paris to claim what is rightfully his. When Quarakh declares he is not interested Alexander decides to kill the barbarian, but has no knowledge of Deverra and her liege Telyavel what will give Quarakh a great advantage.


A really interesting novel, especially the difference between the fierce and wild Gangrel and the “civilized” Ventrue conquerors. The description of Quarakh’s customs and leadership is incredible as are the conflicts between the warring parties.


A glimmer in a dark age this novel brings on the fourth storyline, the conquering of Livonia and is a great base for the following novels.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 10: Gangrel
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mummy Players Guide
by Rémi T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2013 16:28:09

A big and very good sourcebook for Mummy ; you can play other mummies and the book gives a lot of advice and new powers for the Amenti. It was very useful for my chronicle. Buy this with the corebook. A must have !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mummy Players Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forsaken Chronicler's Guide
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2013 09:32:31

If you are a storyteller for Forsaken this book is for you, absolutely indispensible and contains lots of useful info and setting hacks. Really a great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forsaken Chronicler's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 1626 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG