RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Band of Zombies
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/09/2013 06:31:56

Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2013/09/09/tabletop-review-band-of-zombies-a-world-war-ii-sourcebook-all-flesh-must-be-eaten/

Man, do you know how long it has been since All Flesh Must Be Eaten received a new release? Several years! I think the last was Thar Be Zombies, and that was roughly three years ago. So it’s nice to see a new release for the line. I’ve been so desperate for new AFMBE content that I reviewed the 2011 free Quick Start Rules when they came out, and in August, I also covered the Kickstarter exclusive Zombiemaster screen that accompanied this book. Now Band of Zombies is finally out, and I’m happy to say that it is a fine addition to one of the best horror lines tabletop gaming has to offer.

Band of Zombies is a sourcebook for an alternate universe’s World War II era. Here, the Nazi’s obsession with the occult actually bears fruit, and they use it to stifle or outright squelch the successes the Allies had in our world. Imagine a world where SS troops get up and continue fighting after being shot dead. Where a Japanese kamikaze pilot has no fear or qualms about crashing his plane because he knows he will come back to fight for Emperor Hirohito afterwards. That’s a pretty scary picture. Not to be outdone, however, the Allies have found a way to harness the power of the undead without limiting the loss of humanity and subduing the earth to devour living flesh and blood. Enter the CAPTAIN PATRIOT program today soldiers! Yes, it’s a bit of a parody of the super-soldier formula from Captain America, but with more dramatic (and possibly gruesome) results.

It’s also worth noting that pieces of Bands of Zombies has been cribbed together from other All Flesh Must Be Eaten sourcebooks, like Atlas of the Walking Dead, Worlds of the Dead and more. In this respect, those that have every AFMBE release up to this point might be a bit disappointed by the repeated content, while those who only have the core rulebook and maybe a few other releases like Dungeons & Zombies or Zombie Smackdown! will be happy to have all the content they need to run this campaign setting without having to purchase multiple books, ala Shadowrun and several other games that do nickel and dime you in this fashion.

One thing I really loved about Band of Zombies was the in-depth coverage the book gives you about WWII and showing where and how the two timelines diverge. There is so much actually historically accurate (and detailed) information in this book, you could probably use it as a citation for a paper. Just make sure you use the real world stuff and not “the Auschwitz victims come back from the dead to devour their Nazi tormenters” part, or your professor will look at you funny… and fail you. It doesn’t pull any punches with the atrocities committed by the Nazis or their Japanese allies (the latter of which were often worse, which most people forget these days), but the Allies (specifically the Russians) weren’t exempt for a litany of horrors either. It’s good to see how much detail is put into the book in that regard without making readers squeamish about the events that occurred so very long ago.

Band of Zombies is divided into eight chapters, along with a ninth entitled “Shambling Commandos,” which are pregenerated characters based off some high level Kickstarter backers. Each chapter is primarily devoted to world background, setting detail and the timeline for this WWII era campaign, but there are stats and mechanics littered throughout. The Unisystem, which All Flesh Must Be Eaten uses, doesn’t really need any mechanics above and beyond what you find in the core rulebook, so what’s here are primarily WWII era vehicles, weapons, new (reprinted) zombies, pregens and some new walking dead like mummies, ghouls, vampires and the like. The extra undead were an unexpected highlight to me, as I loved the idea of Vlad Tepes returning to wage war on both sides and trying to make Romania the home for vampires, or the Ancient Egyptians rising and wanting all these crazy white people out of their country. Band of Zombies just is dripping with potential, and the book lets you set a campaign before any real zombie outbreak occurs, to after nuclear weapons have been dropped in Japan, which caused radiated zombies to shuffle across the floor of the Pacific towards the gaijin devils who slew them.

Chapter One, “Introduction” is self explanatory, as it gives an overview of the book, gives some DM hints and tips on how to use Band of Zombies, and has a list of books, movies and video games to help make the setting come alive. Chapter Two, War is Hell, is where you’ll find a lot of the new character creation bits, such as the new qualities, drawbacks, and hindrances. Want to make a Captain Patriot? You’ll find all the information on how to do so here. “Aces High” is the next chapter, and this is where you’ll find vehicle and weapon statistics along with the new sanity aspects, such as shell shock and combat fatigue. There are also rules for mass combat (slightly converted from Army of Darkness) and even a set of rules for miniatures in a tactical style game. Very nice! Chapter Four is “Altered History,” and it’s the big chapter for the alternate timeline that Band of Zombies takes place in. Chapters Five through Eight continue this trend, with each one being about a different section of the world. “Fortress Europe” is Europe, “The Eastern Front” is Russia, “Decaying of an Empire” is the Middle East and North Africa and finally, “The Heart of Darkness” is Southeast Asia. I would have liked to have seen more information on the Australia and South America of this time period, as both are so rarely and/or briefly touched on when looking at World War II, but what’s here is excellent, and this is a small quibble at best from me.

Basically Band of Zombies is a wonderful look at WWII, and there is a lot of potential for various storylines and campaigns using this book. Don’t want to use the exact alternate timeline unveiled here? You don’t have to! The sheer amount of mechanics, new creatures and items are here for you to design your own WWII era campaign. Your imagination is the only limit. I can’t emphasize enough how highly detailed and well written this book is. To be honest, I originally backed this on Kickstarter to support All Flesh Must Be Eaten. I had no real interest in the subject matter or time period. Now that I’ve read the book and spent a decent amount of time with it, I have to say I’m mightily impressed by the content, and think Band of Zombies is one of the best campaign settings of the year. With a price tag of only $12.50, this PDF is a must buy for anyone interested in AFMBE or who is just looking for a good guide to WWII. My only worry is that this will be the last All Flesh Must Be Eaten release for a while, if ever, but with enough support and attention paid to Band of Zombies, the game might have a lot of life left in it after all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Band of Zombies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Band of Zombies
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/08/2013 12:06:06

War is hell. And that's BEFORE you add zombies to the mix. So take the real history of World War 2 and stir in troops coming back after you've shot them, grey and wide-mouthed, seeking not to slay you but to eat you, and you have a potent mix indeed. One which, as a veteran myself (of more recent vintage, though my father fought in WW2), I am glad to see has been handled sensitively and with respect for the men and women who laid down their lives during the real conflict this game setting is based upon.

The book opens with some fiction mixing authenic-sounding tales of an opposed landing by US forces on a Pacific island defended by the Japanese with the first stirrings of the zombie menace. Scene set, the introduction then lays out what this setting, the most complete one yet provided for All Flesh Must Be Eaten, comprises.

Chapters 2 and 3 present a range of new rules tailored to running a game of all-out war, including aerial combat and the vast array of military weapons and equipment available to service personnel in WW2. It also looks at the personal skills military personnel need, and which zombies may (in part at least) retain...

The rest of the book builds a compelling alternate history of WW2, beginning with the facts as the war actually happened and blending in the emergence of the zombie threat (as if opposing armies, navies and air forces weren't enough to contend with!). Chapter 4 gives the overview, with following chapters exploring the different theatres of war: Europe, the Eastern Front (Germany vs. Russia), the Middle East and North Africa and finally South East Asia. Any of these would provide a good setting for a WW2 zombie game.

The first couple of chapters are useful to player and Zombie Master alike, whilst the rest are mainly for the ZM's eyes alone. Each theatre of war has its different attractions: Europe with ancient legends, likewise Russia (not to mention the cold...) and in South East Asia the jungle can prove as much an enemy as either your opponents or a bunch of zombies! Each chapter is replete with ideas for play throughout the course of the war, which raged 1939-1945 although different nations became active at different times during its course. The general emphasis of this book suggests that characters will be serving in the Allied armed forces fighting against the Axis of Germany, Italy and Japan; but there is sufficient information for those who wish to explore the effects of zombie horror from the Axis standpoint.

As time wears on, all manner of strange things happen. For example, can you imagine the effect on a Battle of Britain Spitfire pilot when a bunch of WW1 biplanes come buzzing around (piloted by zombies of course)? Warriors from even earlier conflicts may eventually be raised to join the zombie hordes too....

Overall, this is a quite spectacular concept well-handled, a considered and thoughtful setting that lets you and your players rampage through recent history, rewriting it as they splatter zombies along with live enemies... and maybe find out where all those darn zombies are coming from!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Smackdown
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2013 20:35:32

This is by far one of the best books of the "All Flesh Must Be Eaten" line. I am SO glad that I got this book. It is like opening a wrestling encyclopedia.

It lists every move that you can think of and gives you the ability to create more. It explains "American" wrestling from start to finish and then moves on to do the same thing with Mexican wrestling. It is wonderful, as this is the first time that I actually understood what it is that I see on the tv screen with Mexican Luchador wrestling.

You can use this book strictly for having fun wrestling matches, but adding in the Zombie factor takes it to a whole n'other level!

When it comes to the moves, I recommend creating a list of all of the moves or printing out the moves on cards so that the Player Characters can pick and choose moves, rather than be stuck trying to describe what it is that they want their wrestler to do. You'll find several pages of types of matches that you can have, more than you ever thought possible.

The book also has 4 pages of weapons that you can use to liven up your battles! They thought of everything with this book, including tossing in a couple of short stories about wrestling and wrestling with Zombies that are excellent reading.

The book also explains in depth Aztec wrestling and Japanese wrestling and even Immortal Kombat!

Admittedly, this isn't your typical Resident Evil concept, but man is it fun to play. Get a group of people together, hand out a bunch of pre-made characters and you got yourself a party! You'll be surprised at how much fun it will turn out to be.

Buy this book! You won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Smackdown
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Tomas T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2013 09:04:24

It has a very well founded and easy magical background. Although I haven't played it yet I have read parts and found it very well written and anyone who likes this themed Role Playing will use it. The way to create a character is very defined and what I most like of the book is that it's not complicated. I also loved the art displayed in it. A definitive must try for all magic and mystic lovers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2013 12:13:39

This book is the rosetta stone of 'getting' the unisystem. And it's free.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fields of Blood: The Book of War
by Eric H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2012 19:53:15

Fields of Blood is a book for the 'old' D&D 3.5 system, but it can work with Pathfinder very well. The book covers running a realm and fighting battles in d20, and it handles it very well. The rules for realms are clear and concise, offering a multitude of different styles of government and cultures that can be combined to produce a wide number of potential societies. You are given a number of options for things like resources (you need to stay solvent somehow, after all), guilds (thieves, wizards, etc) and the things they can do for you, temples that can bless your land in a variety of ways, and more.

The bigger part of the book is given over to mass combat. It gives you a system to raise and improve troops for yourself in a wide variety -- foot and horse and other sorts of cavalry, air troops, missile troops, specialists like combat engineers, monsters, etc. It also provides a system of mass combat that is among the better done in D&D, making combats exciting and quick and allowing for PCs to affect what happens.

The book ends with a few new prestige classes and spells, as well as guidelines on how a great many spells and magical items can be used to affect a realm's prosperity or the result of a battle.

It's an amazing value for the price, and if you want to run campaigns that involve ruling realms or warfare, you'll be happy that you got this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fields of Blood: The Book of War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2012 05:41:31

This is a Unisystem game, the same rule set that powers All Flesh Must Be Eaten. And WitchCraft is free! If you think you might run All Flesh one day, stop reading this and download WitchCraft right now. Before Eden Studios wises up and starts charging you for it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2012 02:56:22

The game mechanics are serviceable. The character generation bears great similarity to GURPS, but in a much slimmer package. It is a very traditional task resolution system that runs smoothly, but lacks pizzaz. I would rate the crunch at 3 out of 5 stars.

Everything else about the game is top-notch. The art is right on the money. The other aspects of the visual presentation (layout, graphic design) are even better. And the writing is some of the most entertaining you will find in a core rulebook. This is a fun book to read, even if you never get a chance to play. If you're planning to run anything that has a heavy dose of zombies, this is a must-buy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Waking Dead
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2012 13:58:35

An Excellent game kit for AFMBE--double specially for the price.

The only problem I had with it was the graphics. The graphics were good but printing it out will cost a lot of black ink (it was in B/W).

I would have preferred a more printable version.

But, still, I'd hghly recommend it. It'll read well on a Kindle or Nook or whatever else you might have (I don't have one).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2012 03:04:41

This game introduced me to the whole Unisystem series of which I now own quite a few products. I was never happy playing WOD games, I considered them too much like superhero games instead of gritty, dark urban fantasy. For me Witchcraft was what I was looking for. I liked the fact that I did not have to roll handfulls of dice, its a personal preference. I liked the dark grim setting, with a slight hint of Cthulhu esque horror. The fluff pieces in the book give a really nice feel for the setting.

If you are not a fan of WOD, but want something in the line of urban fantasy, you will probably be happy with Witchcraft.

After getting Witchcraft for free, I went on to buy all the expansions (starting with Mystery codex), which I consider useful additions to the main rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Book of Archetypes 2
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2012 12:04:49

Pre-generated archetypes for AFMBE, but usable in any Eden Unisystem game. Players can use these as starting points for characters. Zombie/Game Masters can use them as pre-gens, NPCs or anything they set their mind too. Over 30 archetypes in each book plus new qualities and drawbacks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Archetypes 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Book of Archetypes
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2012 12:04:36

Pre-generated archetypes for AFMBE, but usable in any Eden Unisystem game. Players can use these as starting points for characters. Zombie/Game Masters can use them as pre-gens, NPCs or anything they set their mind too. Over 30 archetypes in each book plus new qualities and drawbacks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Atlas of the Walking Dead
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2012 12:00:01

Part Monster Manual, part scholarly overview of the myths of the world. Full of creatures including some I had never heard of (and that is saying something!) A must have for any of the Dead Worlds or any of Eden's other games. If you are a Zombie Master then you need this book. If you play horror games then is one of the best works on various zombies you can buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atlas of the Walking Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Worlds of the Dead: A Collection of Deadworlds
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2012 11:53:44

a collection of smaller "Dead Worlds" that don't have enough material for their own books. Great for a starting idea, fleshing out an game of your own or adding to one of the other Dead Worlds from the other books. Since it is also 100% compatible with Eden's other games, they can be added to those as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds of the Dead: A Collection of Deadworlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One of the Living
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2012 11:49:17

One of the Living is something akin to a "Players Handbook" for AFMBE. The focus is more on new skills, qualities and drawbacks for the characters; not so much for the zombies. Though there is plenty of Zombie Master only information. In particular is how to run long campaigns instead of the one shots that AFMBE are really good at. A must have for any AFMBE fan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One of the Living
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 132 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG
Mobile version