RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Enter the Zombie
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2012 11:18:46
Kung Fu action theatre at's its best. Emulate the action from Enter to Dragon to Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon to the latest John Wu film to Big Trouble in Little China. There is more though too. Expanded Chi powers, role-playing in mytho-historical Japan and China or the streets of Hong Kong and San Francisco. Plenty of options for characters, players and Zombie Masters.
Compatible with all of Eden's Classic Unisystem line.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enter the Zombie
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Conspiracy X 2.0
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/27/2012 09:57:37
One of my all time favorite shows is the X-Files. It was a fantastic myth of everything that made for good TV in the 90s. Sure it went on a little too long, but when it was good it was the best thing on TV.

So it should be no surprise that I enjoy similar themed games. I like Alternity Dark Matter and The Unexplained, but my favorite has been Eden Studios' Conspiracy X.

ConX (as it is called) comes in three different editions. There is the original rules, a GURPS version and the newest Unisystem version which makes system-wise compatible with WitchCraft RPG (but still not thematically compatible). I have all three, but I prefer this newest Unisystem version, not just for the system, but it brings ConX out of the paranoid 90s and into the post millennial, post-9/11 world.

So what is ConX about? Well the basic system is Classic Unisystem so the same as AFMBE, WitchCraft and Armageddon.
The premise is that the U.S. Government has been in contact with three different alien races over the last few decades and how they have all these various plans for the world. In addition to all of this there are rival government agencies and all sorts of unrelated (or related) weirdness going on. The focus is much more psychic powers and MKULTRA than the magic and covens of WitchCraft.

Con X 2.0 also has rules for more equipment, weapons, and governmental agencies. The coolest mechanic in the game though has to be the Pulling Strings one. Very useful when working through the myriad of governmental bodies you will need to deal with. These alone make it worth the price if you play any other Classic Unisystem game.

Ok, so my love for the WitchCraft RPG is well known and well documented. Creating a WitchCraft world of adventures, situations or even meta-plots of my own are nearly second nature to me.
But I also like Conspiracy X. A lot. The games are not really thematically compatible and both have very different points of view on magic, gods, monsters and the like.

If you like conspiracies and the X-Files, Con X is your game. If you want to run a paranormal game, but don't want to get bogged down in myths, legends and want your magic to be somewhat more controlled then Con X is your game.

Here is another way to look at it. You are a character in a Modern Paranormal game. Suddenly a glowing figure appears before you. What is this creature? If you say Alien, then play ConX. If you say Demon, then play WitchCraft. Both games can be used for horror, ConX is dark sci-fi, WitchCraft is dark fantasy.

ConX is great fun and one of the best "Conspiracy" games out there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conspiracy X 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ghosts of Albion
by Clay C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2012 01:07:51
I must first say that I was skeptical of the unisystem coming into the purchase of this game as I am a D20 enthusiast! After finishing the Ghosts Of Albion I have become a fan of the Cinematic Unisystem! Very simple but not dumb downed---very effective! What about the Ghosts of Albion itself? Information is found within the book quite easily...in essence, this book is very accessible and is a simple read. Those looking for heavy numbers crunching will be disappointed though. If your looking for a smooth and easy ride this game and system are for you!! I highly recommend it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Albion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Waking Dead
by Charles L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2012 12:56:25
It is very insiteful on the world of living and undead. The fact of two supernatural entities using us to get to thier goals is almost spooky.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pulp Zombies
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2012 14:12:48
A "Zombie world" for the All Flesh Must Be Eaten game. This one focuses on the two-fisted action adventures of the 1930s.
A special emphasis is given on the mystical side of the pulps and of course Nazi Zombies.

Even if you are not a fan of this era, there is a lot of good crunch that you can add to your AFMBE, WitchCraft, Armageddon or Conspiracy X game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Zombies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Hand Unseen: The Black Book Sourcebook
by Mark N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2012 14:39:46
A decent book but not quite what I expected.

In the world of Con X, where Aegis are the white hats, The Black Book are the Black Hats - making deals with aliens, ruthlessly covering up the Truth and probably (cf. the X files) run by a guy who smokes non-stop and who really just wants to be a writer. What is the agenda of the black hats? How do they operate?? What other secrets are they sitting on???

This book answers none of these questions.

At first I was annoyed. More money down the drain on something that isn't what it promised to be. On second thoughts I changed my opinion, as this could be taken as a whole different approach to the game where Aegis are the rebels (and not in a good way) while the Black Book are the loyalists.Yeah, that works, and for that purpose this is extremely useful. Just a shame that this isn't spelled out a bit more clearly before you put your money down...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Hand Unseen: The Black Book Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Waking Dead
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2012 14:17:15
How do you do a review? I guess you should start with an introduction. My name is Robert Burt. I have been playing Paper and pen game since I was in high school. I graduated in 1978. I believe I have played most of the games out there at one time or another. But enough about me let’s talked about the Walking dead supplement from All Flesh Must Be Eaten.

AFMBE as the call themselves is brought to us by Eden Studios. It is a free RPG Day supplement. Yes I said supplement, this is not some 5 page scenarios, catalog, tidbit of a hook to get you to buy more, ECT freebie that most companies put out. This is a full introductory kit for free. This is 34 pages of well thought out, well published free material. It is an introduction to both the AFMBE game and the “Unisystem” rules that govern this game.

The first 16 pages I like to call AFMBE lite, a fully playable set of rules for the game including six complete what they call archetypes. What we use to call pre generated player caricatures. They range from the marine down to the street thug. The templates are wonderful and add a 3D likeness to the player that they can draw from. If you like these check out their Archetype books for the game.

The game is about the same has Savage Worlds, D20, in complexity. Not too complex just enough to be fun without being to rules heavy. This lite version is even less complex than the full game.

Now we come the introductory adventure. Did I mention this is a free download? Most of the time with a free download adventure you get 5 pages maybe less of a plot with a lot of fluff, a couple of lines of adventure with a do what you would like attitude. So I usually just borrow ideas from them and go on.

This adventure starts just like the AMC show or the graphic novels. You are in a Hospital (Rick), and you must leave. Note there is no floor plan. AFMBE believes adding a floor plan would make this adventure to much like a “fantasy dungeon-crawl”. Maybe, maybe not you could always make up your own map or buy a map. After the entire down load is Free. If the adventure ended here I would say you got your monies worth, however now comes scene two: outside the hospital and in to “the real world”. The adventure takes on a Steve King’s The Stand type of adventure. Now you have to decide between good or evil. Then we have scene three and four: the climatic battle. They have enough material in the two pages devoted to this to make a full night of adventure itself.

So in conclusion dose this download give you value? I believe I mention that it is a FREE download. I myself have spent 5 to10 bucks just for a down load like this from other companies. Yes it gives you value even if you are not into Zombies. So give it a try I can honestly say this was one of the best spent zero dollars I have ever spent. OH and did I mention IT’S FREE.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Waking Dead
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 19:47:00
This unholy offspring of Romero's zombies and Stephen King's The Stand, is an adequate introduction to All Flesh Must Be Eaten (and Unisystem). I don't particularly like the brute force character introduction, but I do kind of like the random hospital navigation table. There are no floorplans or anything that can really be used for anything except the intended purpose, introducing players and GMs to All Flesh Must Eaten. That being said, the whole business of drawing people aside to give them dreams is actually extremely awkward in play even though it works OK in a novel.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
by Hunter F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 13:22:34
I could not open the file. So my review is negitive.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/30/2011 07:17:29
originally posted at http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/12/30/tabletop-review-the-wak-
ing-dead-all-flesh-must-be-eaten/

Even though I feel the whole zombie craze has been played out for several years now, All Flesh Must Be Eaten holds a special place in my heart as it’s the first system I ever wrote (and sold!) pure fiction for. Man, that was well over a decade ago. Now I feel old. Honestly, I thought Eden had put the system to rest, primarily concentrating on new Conspiracy X stuff. However when “Free RPG Day 2011″ (June 18th) came around, Eden releases this free All Flesh Must be Eaten introductory kit to the public. Now six months later, they’ve released it again – still free, but in .pdf form.

Since the kit is free, there’s honestly no reason not to pick this up. Free is always awesome and AFMBE not only has a great system but character creation is highly versatile and a lot of fun. Unfortunately the character creation rules aren’t provided here, but that’s understandable due to the length and the fact you’re getting this for free. What you ARE getting are quick start rules for the game though. You’re told how Attributes, Qualities, Drawbacks, and Skills all work, along with a streamlined version of the rules so that you can get right into things. You’re also given six pre-generated characters so that you can just grab one and start playing the adventure that comes in this kit.

Only about six pages are spent on the rules, but it covers everything you need to play along with nearly all the special rules for the game. Tables included are Base Modifiers, Outcome and Fear. The Waking Dead also devotes a full three pages explaining how combat works, which is quite long for a free starter kit. This means, however, you’re getting an in-depth look at how to play the most crucial part of the game: slaughtering zombies.

The adventure itself, The Waking Dead is where the entire kit pulls its name from. It’s eleven pages long and to be perfect honest, I really didn’t like it. It unabashedly rips off The Stand and The Walking Dead in nearly every way. I’ve never really been a fan of adventures that are so close to the source material that you can’t help but notice and all I could think about while reading this was, “Where’s the originality?” There’s a tiny bit of deviation where the Randall Flagg knock-off has zombies instead of evil people on her (another slight change) side, but other than that, it’s too close for comfort for my linking. The adventure also isn’t linear enough for something that is supposed to be for newcomers to the system. The adventure itself states that this is to make the adventure appealing to veterans and newcomers. Well, newcomers GMs are going to want/need that linearity for a first adventure, especially if they are running it on the fly. So I can’t especially recommend the adventure as something for a newcomer running All Flesh Must Be Eaten, but it’s a solid enough piece that I can recommend it for those who know someone familiar with the rules and can run it for friends.

The starter kit concludes with a page of close combat weapons, a page of ranged combat weapons, a two page promo for the system and finally, an ammo record form (which is far more useful than one might think when they first start playing this game…) All in all, The Waking Dead is a really well done starter kit. It contains everything a person might need to just jump in to All Flesh Must be Eaten. It gives all the important rules for playing and half a dozen pregens for the adventure. Again, I didn’t care for the adventure at all, but the writing and mechanics behind it are solid and so as long as you don’t mind playing a story similar to something you’ve probably already experienced in some way, you just might have fun with it. The key thing here is that The Waking Dead is free and the fact Eden Studios has included nearly all the rules you need to play the game is impressive indeed. With that in mind, anyone reading this should be clicking the link at the top of the review and downloading the pdf as soon as they are done reading this. If you’re the type of gamer that still finds Resident Evil, Dead Rising or Dead Island fun instead of “yet another zombie game,” or someone who enjoys a “zombie pub crawl,” then you’ll definitely want to pick up The Waking Dead. Who knows? After flipping through this kit, you just might decide to spend the fifteen dollars on the core rulebook and start playing AFMBE for real.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2011 15:32:49
Looks like more of the same from Eden, which in this case is extremely good. I honestly had thought that this product line was extinct. I own just about all the books in the line and have to say for a free adventure this one looks fairly solid. I like the overall amount of NPC stats given in the module. I am highly likely to run this adventure using the line books as it is one of the better zombie series out there for RPGs. If you've never played All Flesh Must Be Eaten, you owe it to yourself to play it. At the very least, try this adventure for yourself. The depth of character creation this system offers makes it one of the best ones out there, and it is overly simplified to make character creation fast and get you gaming fast. I am pleased to see another product from this company and hope to see more in the future.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
by Antonio G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 16:38:43
I have beeen after this game for a long time and I was finally able to get it! it's a good game and with the suplements it sould help you make a really good campaign. If you like zombies this game is a good option!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
by stephen m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 12:09:49
The classic and still best Zombie Apocalypse rpg, should be your number one go to game for running Any kind of zombie game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Rodrigo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2011 14:31:31
muito bom acho que vale a pena pegar esse livro, ainda mais de graça

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Corey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2011 11:41:35
The game looks pretty solid to me. The Unisystem is a little simple for my tastes, and I'm not too sure how it'll stand up if used without Dice or Cards. Still, it looks like it will get the job done nicely, and I look forward to testing it out. The fact that it's free makes this book even better, and I would recommend any gamer take a look at this. It does a lot of things WoD just can't, and I kinda wish I had started my current 'Psychics trapped in an Asylum' game with it instead.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 128 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG