RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Waking Dead
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 19:47:00

This unholy offspring of Romero's zombies and Stephen King's The Stand, is an adequate introduction to All Flesh Must Be Eaten (and Unisystem). I don't particularly like the brute force character introduction, but I do kind of like the random hospital navigation table. There are no floorplans or anything that can really be used for anything except the intended purpose, introducing players and GMs to All Flesh Must Eaten. That being said, the whole business of drawing people aside to give them dreams is actually extremely awkward in play even though it works OK in a novel.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Waking Dead
by Hunter F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 13:22:34

I could not open the file. So my review is negitive.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/30/2011 07:17:29

originally posted at http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/12/30/tabletop-review-the-waking-dead-all-flesh-must-be-eaten/

Even though I feel the whole zombie craze has been played out for several years now, All Flesh Must Be Eaten holds a special place in my heart as it’s the first system I ever wrote (and sold!) pure fiction for. Man, that was well over a decade ago. Now I feel old. Honestly, I thought Eden had put the system to rest, primarily concentrating on new Conspiracy X stuff. However when “Free RPG Day 2011″ (June 18th) came around, Eden releases this free All Flesh Must be Eaten introductory kit to the public. Now six months later, they’ve released it again – still free, but in .pdf form.

Since the kit is free, there’s honestly no reason not to pick this up. Free is always awesome and AFMBE not only has a great system but character creation is highly versatile and a lot of fun. Unfortunately the character creation rules aren’t provided here, but that’s understandable due to the length and the fact you’re getting this for free. What you ARE getting are quick start rules for the game though. You’re told how Attributes, Qualities, Drawbacks, and Skills all work, along with a streamlined version of the rules so that you can get right into things. You’re also given six pre-generated characters so that you can just grab one and start playing the adventure that comes in this kit.

Only about six pages are spent on the rules, but it covers everything you need to play along with nearly all the special rules for the game. Tables included are Base Modifiers, Outcome and Fear. The Waking Dead also devotes a full three pages explaining how combat works, which is quite long for a free starter kit. This means, however, you’re getting an in-depth look at how to play the most crucial part of the game: slaughtering zombies.

The adventure itself, The Waking Dead is where the entire kit pulls its name from. It’s eleven pages long and to be perfect honest, I really didn’t like it. It unabashedly rips off The Stand and The Walking Dead in nearly every way. I’ve never really been a fan of adventures that are so close to the source material that you can’t help but notice and all I could think about while reading this was, “Where’s the originality?” There’s a tiny bit of deviation where the Randall Flagg knock-off has zombies instead of evil people on her (another slight change) side, but other than that, it’s too close for comfort for my linking. The adventure also isn’t linear enough for something that is supposed to be for newcomers to the system. The adventure itself states that this is to make the adventure appealing to veterans and newcomers. Well, newcomers GMs are going to want/need that linearity for a first adventure, especially if they are running it on the fly. So I can’t especially recommend the adventure as something for a newcomer running All Flesh Must Be Eaten, but it’s a solid enough piece that I can recommend it for those who know someone familiar with the rules and can run it for friends.

The starter kit concludes with a page of close combat weapons, a page of ranged combat weapons, a two page promo for the system and finally, an ammo record form (which is far more useful than one might think when they first start playing this game…) All in all, The Waking Dead is a really well done starter kit. It contains everything a person might need to just jump in to All Flesh Must be Eaten. It gives all the important rules for playing and half a dozen pregens for the adventure. Again, I didn’t care for the adventure at all, but the writing and mechanics behind it are solid and so as long as you don’t mind playing a story similar to something you’ve probably already experienced in some way, you just might have fun with it. The key thing here is that The Waking Dead is free and the fact Eden Studios has included nearly all the rules you need to play the game is impressive indeed. With that in mind, anyone reading this should be clicking the link at the top of the review and downloading the pdf as soon as they are done reading this. If you’re the type of gamer that still finds Resident Evil, Dead Rising or Dead Island fun instead of “yet another zombie game,” or someone who enjoys a “zombie pub crawl,” then you’ll definitely want to pick up The Waking Dead. Who knows? After flipping through this kit, you just might decide to spend the fifteen dollars on the core rulebook and start playing AFMBE for real.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2011 15:32:49

Looks like more of the same from Eden, which in this case is extremely good. I honestly had thought that this product line was extinct. I own just about all the books in the line and have to say for a free adventure this one looks fairly solid. I like the overall amount of NPC stats given in the module. I am highly likely to run this adventure using the line books as it is one of the better zombie series out there for RPGs. If you've never played All Flesh Must Be Eaten, you owe it to yourself to play it. At the very least, try this adventure for yourself. The depth of character creation this system offers makes it one of the best ones out there, and it is overly simplified to make character creation fast and get you gaming fast. I am pleased to see another product from this company and hope to see more in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
by Antonio G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 16:38:43

I have beeen after this game for a long time and I was finally able to get it! it's a good game and with the suplements it sould help you make a really good campaign. If you like zombies this game is a good option!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
by stephen m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 12:09:49

The classic and still best Zombie Apocalypse rpg, should be your number one go to game for running Any kind of zombie game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Rodrigo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2011 14:31:31

muito bom acho que vale a pena pegar esse livro, ainda mais de graça



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Corey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2011 11:41:35

The game looks pretty solid to me. The Unisystem is a little simple for my tastes, and I'm not too sure how it'll stand up if used without Dice or Cards. Still, it looks like it will get the job done nicely, and I look forward to testing it out. The fact that it's free makes this book even better, and I would recommend any gamer take a look at this. It does a lot of things WoD just can't, and I kinda wish I had started my current 'Psychics trapped in an Asylum' game with it instead.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Ramon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2011 23:12:01

Well for me it was great,and at that price much better. as things are going, we need a bit more stuff free so we can keep rpg alive



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eden Studios Presents: Volume 3
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/22/2011 14:17:21

While it doesn't come out as often as I would like, each issue of ESP is worth the wait. In particular here are Jason Vey's conversions of WitchCraft Gifted to be used in the Cinematic lines like Buffy or Ghosts of Albion.

More Cinematic Unisystem spells for Buffy/Angel (and Ghosts of Albion or Army of Darkness).

If you play Unisystem games then this is a great resource for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eden Studios Presents: Volume 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Armageddon: Armed Force
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/27/2011 00:24:58

For a while Misfit Studios and Eden Studios worked on a partnership, one of the outcomes of that partnership was this new book for the Armageddon game. Filled with just tons of information on real world and the world of 2018 military equipment. Plus a bunch of new qualities that would also work great for WitchCraft or even Conspiracy X. Great map of the conflicts and what is going on in the war, new combat rules for Unisystem. Not to mention new magic and monsters. If you play Unisystem and need any type of military information then this is the book you need. If you play Armageddon, then this is the book you need.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armageddon: Armed Force
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Odyssey Prime: Southern Discomfort
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/27/2011 00:00:38

Odyssey Prime was a noble experiment. Take all the d20 worlds you can grab (or buy) and link them all together with a Stargate like device to transversing the multiverse. And for good measure include the in-house rules of Unisystem. The game was a great idea, but something about it never caught on with everyone. Regardless the ideas are sound and this is a good adventure based on the simple idea that everything is better with velociraptors. Worth it for the dino-stats alone really.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey Prime: Southern Discomfort
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enemies Archived
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/26/2011 23:54:13

You can never be too rich, too thin or have too many monsters. And in the post-Reckoning world of Armageddon, this is also true. This book contains a number of horrible beasts that rose up after the reckoning occurred. Some have always been around, others are new to this realm. Written by Steven Trustrum for Misfit Studios under license from Eden studios. This book is a fantastic guide that is perfect for any Classic Unisystem game or even Cinematic Unisystem. It's faux military dossier style makes it perfect for Conspiracy X or even an Initiative based Buffy/Angel game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enemies Archived
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ARRGH! Thar Be Zombies!
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/24/2010 16:00:13

The Good: A ton of material that can be easily plundered for other games. Zombified Spelljammer.

The Bad: The layout is starting to feel a little dated, and the historical information was presented pretty dryly. The print price is a much better value than the PDF price.

Conclusion: One of the best All Flesh products released, behind One of the Living and Enter the Zombie, and on par with Fist Full o'Zombies, in my opinion.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2010/11/tommys-take-on-arrgh-thar-be-zombies.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ARRGH! Thar Be Zombies!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Hod
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/29/2010 06:54:06

More associations, metaphysics and monsters from the land of dreams.

Thom Marrion is the heir to C.J. Carella's legacy and this is a worthy addition to the WitchCraft line. I honestly can't find a thing wrong with this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Hod
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 136 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG