RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Armageddon: Armed Force
by Bram S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2008 10:15:16
Overall: Best unisystem book ever.

Bulleted highlights (or near total re-statement of contents):

-Details of the war around the world, on all continents as well as at sea and even info-space.
-Character creation information and guidance for military-based campaigns, including legendary/mythical mundanes and service branches (and some paramilitary groups) as associations.
-New qualities and drawbacks, including Sin Eating, an expanded reiteration of taint qualities, and the new military qualities which include a spectrum of military specializations.
-Expansion and re-examination of some skills and a few new ones.
-Thick chapter of new rules, covering air combat, artillery, modern naval combat, some basics (tripods, point defense), advanced damage rules (now with blood loss!), field engineering and booby traps, Shell Shock, squad operations, expanded Mystery Codex style martial arts (weapon use included), chemical and biological weapons, new diseases, and a huge section on environmental unpleasantness taking you from the arctic to Mount Everest to deep sea diving and more.
-Enormous (over 100 pages) list of equipment, weapons, ammunition, and vehicles of all kinds, also including expanded coverage of weapon guidance and a modular system of vehicle features.
-New information on the nature and organization of the AOR.
-New metaphysics, mostly combat-oriented magic and taint powers. Also includes rules for equipment becoming (beneficially) warped by taint, and new True Immortal powers.
-A number of new supernatural creatures, mostly weapons in Leviathan's arsenal.
-Guidance and campaign ideas for running a military chronicle, including a series of charts to roll up core elements of a military adventure on the spur of the moment.


I don't like the new metaphysics a whole lot (I think a lot is being attributed to taint that should be black magic), but there is just an enormous amount of content to be had. Probably good for anyone, but definitely a must if you are bothered by the amount of handwaving found at the edges of other Unisystem books, ideas like bombardment being something that 'just happens' without playable rules, or having to represent the full range of AAMs with two vague entries.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armageddon: Armed Force
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Conspiracy X 2.0
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2008 18:45:35
I was a big fan of the old edition and was initially skeptical of the change to unisystem.

After giving the system a chance, I have come to love the mechanics behind it.

The setting info alone is worth reading, definately a must have.

...now if only they would speed up the release of the supplements....

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conspiracy X 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fields of Blood: The Book of War
by Matt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2007 20:55:11
Eden Studios have created a truly impressive pen & paper resource management sim. They describe in detail how a DM and players can incorporate these rules into their D&D 3.5 campaign. For 10th-20th level characters who decide to establish a stronghold and raise an army, this book provides a comprehensive, coherent basis for adding wargaming to your roleplaying.

However, there are aspects of these rules that are unsuitable for my own game: the rules operate on a fixed level of detail and impose certain assumptions on the way that settlements function.

Mass combat involves units of 100 basic troops, or their equivalent (a handful of giants, or one dragon). Resource management employs hexes with maximal diameter of 12 miles (just under 100 square miles in area). Since the empires in my game span millions of square miles, it is infeasible for me to describe every hamlet and outpost in such painstaking detail. Likewise, clashes between armies of thousands would be very time consuming to simulate on that scale.

The way that settlements work in Fields of Blood seems quite different to what I would expect from the Dungeon Master's Guide and DMGII. Rather than extrapolating from the D&D rules, there are certain abstractions and changes that do not sit well with me as DM.

The first of these is population growth. By investing resources in a specific settlement, the player can "upgrade" it from hamlet to village, from village to town, and so forth. The rationale for this is obvious: even Elves would be unlikely to establish a settlement and see it grow into a bustling city within their lifetime. However, although it makes the game more interesting, this isn't a rule that I would want to incorporate into my campaign world.

Another issue that I have is with the role of clerics and wizards in society. In Fields of Blood, each settlement has a single dominant religion, with an associated place of worship. None of the other myriad smaller cults that might exist have any impact on the game. This is in complete contrast with any d20 city sourcebook I have read. One might view it as simply an abstraction, but to me it doesn't fit with the standard D&D fantasy setting.

The existence, power level and political involvement of a Mage Guild is a tricky thing to establish within the 3.5 rules. Within a settlement, the level of any sorcerers or wizards is lower than most other classes. The Fields of Blood explanation is that most high level arcane spellcasters live in ivory towers, preferring to isolate themselves from society. The solitary archmage is a common trope of the fantasy milieu, to be sure, but you need to decide whether this fits with your conception of 3rd edition D&D.

Overall I liked this book a lot, but can't see how I could make use of it without redesigning my campaign from the ground up.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fields of Blood: The Book of War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
One of the Living
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2007 14:45:16
A solid addition to the AFMBE system. As usual, my only gripe is that the rules tend to be rather simplistic.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One of the Living
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buffy Character Journal
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2007 12:02:45
Back in the day Charactersheets were either a scrap of paper or a third-hand xerox from your DM. The internet came along and soon character sheets were everywhere and they were free for the downloading and printing.
So we now have these character journals. IF you have a character you play constantly then these are just a formated way of what we had done for years; making a sheet and then stapling extra sheest to it.
Character Journals like these are great for the PDF market. Buy it once, print it of dozens of times. You use for the buck here is fantastic.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy Character Journal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armageddon the End Times
by Scott D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2007 16:25:01
This is the best game no one plays.

The rules system is a fast and simple system that works and is quick playing.

Even if you do not want to use the rules, the background and game itself is phenomenal and original.

This is alot of fun and definitely worth a read!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armageddon the End Times
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
All Tomorrow's Zombies
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2007 20:48:25
An expansion on AFMBE, and by page count plenty of bang for the buck. As is common for the series, the business of mass zombie outbreaks is given careful thought.

The Sci-fi setting seems less attuned to the zombie mythos, however, and it seemed the writers were straining harder than they had in other supps.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
All Tomorrow's Zombies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
City of Heroes RPG Quickplay Pack
by Joseph Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2007 00:05:11
Very easy to use, well written, and interesting treatment. Not quite as elegant or broad in scope as some other "Heroes/Supers" settings but certainly playable and enjoyable for fans of the computer based game. It was only the quickplay version, so a bit brief, I'll probably stick to Champions for myself.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Heroes RPG Quickplay Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eden Studios Presents: Volume 2
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2007 13:14:11
If number three is ever released and is as much better than two is than one, then it will be a perfect gaming fanzine. I didn't like volume one much; however, they worked out the bugs (needless interviews and wasted space) to make a much stronger second issue. The biggest problem with this series is the sporadic (okay, dead) status of it. If you have to pick between issues, try this one out. It has more adventures, ideas, and twists than the original issue.

The vampire focus really worked well too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eden Studios Presents: Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Odyssey Prime
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2007 13:09:06
I wished this game had been purely devoted to the Unisystem, but D20 has its hold on it. This basically means the majority of the book is useless to me.

I'm still giving it a strong rating because the concept of the game is terrific.

You travel alternate dimensions

You have two characters in the games.

Also, I find the paperwork required at the game's end to be great. Make your players fill it out alone so they can't get their stories straight. You can then hose them for lying to their superiors! Trust me . . . this is wicked fun.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey Prime
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eden Studios Presents: Volume 1
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2007 12:58:26
I was generally disappointed with this book.

Bad

Firstly, I didn't want to buy articles of interviews with soft questions. There is nothing in the interviews that couldn't be found on Eden's forums.

The archetypes are a popular aspect to the game books for some players perhaps, but I find they waste space. One cannot fault this too much for this aspect though as they do provide examples . . . just too many examples.

Good

If you can't buy the Serenity game, there are (let's say it) Firefly rules in this edition that are fairly sound. With the rules of the now-released All Tomorrow's Zombies, a good sci-fi game could be ran.

The monsters for Buffy, Witchcraft, and Armageddon are cool.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eden Studios Presents: Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buffy Character Journal
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2007 12:44:06
After buying several hard copies of this item, I found the layout much more to my liking that the standard sheet. By buying the PDF versions I could make character exclusive copies for my players. Got a witch? Add more sheets of spells. How about a Slayer? She might need an extra sheet or two dedicated tow weapons. What about that player who takes great notes for the session? Extra sections for him or her can also be printed out!!!! If you like the Angel or Buffy RPG, this is an awesome accessory to it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy Character Journal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armageddon the End Times
by Sean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2007 03:55:04
A extremely excellent game. Well-written, and a defintely new take on the end of the world.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armageddon the End Times
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Roleplaying Game
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2007 01:48:28
If there is an RPG that compels one to burst into song in its praises, this is it. (No wait, how did Sweet get in here?) The Cinematic Unisystem is a very good system, but the real joy of the game it is treatment of Joss Whedon's legendary series and its elegant treatment of the inequality of power inherent such a genre. Among RPGs based on media licenses, this is one of the more playable, and gives GMs a lot more creative freedom than other licenses.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Conspiracy X 2.0
by sean l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2006 19:22:57
So to start off, I am a long time ConX fan, I own all the 1.0 books.

I had recently bought the treeware version of this pdf for myself, but I decided that I wanted to be able to search the book and to have the ability to print out small sections fror my group.

The book has had some edits to bring it up to date from the orignal 1996 Conx 1.0 version.
(The Black Book is now refered to as the National Defense Directorate. There is also a mention that there are multiple Saurian races on Earth.)

There is also an section on converting ConX 1.0 to the new version (which great if you own all the other source books like me!)

As always, Eden has great artwork and the book is very readable and printable.
I also like that it is watermarked and doesnt use (evil and forsaken) DRM. I hate adobe drm and refuse to buy any products that use it.

In the future you will see some more updated sourcebooks from eden (The Extraterrestrial source book & Paranormal Sourcebook.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conspiracy X 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 91 to 105 (of 123 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG