RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Eden Studios Presents: Volume 2
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2007 13:14:11

If number three is ever released and is as much better than two is than one, then it will be a perfect gaming fanzine. I didn't like volume one much; however, they worked out the bugs (needless interviews and wasted space) to make a much stronger second issue. The biggest problem with this series is the sporadic (okay, dead) status of it. If you have to pick between issues, try this one out. It has more adventures, ideas, and twists than the original issue.


The vampire focus really worked well too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eden Studios Presents: Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Odyssey Prime
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2007 13:09:06

I wished this game had been purely devoted to the Unisystem, but D20 has its hold on it. This basically means the majority of the book is useless to me.


I'm still giving it a strong rating because the concept of the game is terrific.


You travel alternate dimensions


You have two characters in the games.


Also, I find the paperwork required at the game's end to be great. Make your players fill it out alone so they can't get their stories straight. You can then hose them for lying to their superiors! Trust me . . . this is wicked fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey Prime
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eden Studios Presents: Volume 1
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2007 12:58:26

I was generally disappointed with this book.


Bad


Firstly, I didn't want to buy articles of interviews with soft questions. There is nothing in the interviews that couldn't be found on Eden's forums.


The archetypes are a popular aspect to the game books for some players perhaps, but I find they waste space. One cannot fault this too much for this aspect though as they do provide examples . . . just too many examples.


Good


If you can't buy the Serenity game, there are (let's say it) Firefly rules in this edition that are fairly sound. With the rules of the now-released All Tomorrow's Zombies, a good sci-fi game could be ran.


The monsters for Buffy, Witchcraft, and Armageddon are cool.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eden Studios Presents: Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Buffy Character Journal
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2007 12:44:06

After buying several hard copies of this item, I found the layout much more to my liking that the standard sheet. By buying the PDF versions I could make character exclusive copies for my players. Got a witch? Add more sheets of spells. How about a Slayer? She might need an extra sheet or two dedicated tow weapons. What about that player who takes great notes for the session? Extra sections for him or her can also be printed out!!!! If you like the Angel or Buffy RPG, this is an awesome accessory to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy Character Journal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Armageddon the End Times
by Sean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2007 03:55:04

A extremely excellent game. Well-written, and a defintely new take on the end of the world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armageddon the End Times
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Roleplaying Game
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2007 01:48:28

If there is an RPG that compels one to burst into song in its praises, this is it. (No wait, how did Sweet get in here?) The Cinematic Unisystem is a very good system, but the real joy of the game it is treatment of Joss Whedon's legendary series and its elegant treatment of the inequality of power inherent such a genre. Among RPGs based on media licenses, this is one of the more playable, and gives GMs a lot more creative freedom than other licenses.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Conspiracy X 2.0
by sean l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2006 19:22:57

So to start off, I am a long time ConX fan, I own all the 1.0 books.


I had recently bought the treeware version of this pdf for myself, but I decided that I wanted to be able to search the book and to have the ability to print out small sections fror my group.


The book has had some edits to bring it up to date from the orignal 1996 Conx 1.0 version.
(The Black Book is now refered to as the National Defense Directorate. There is also a mention that there are multiple Saurian races on Earth.)


There is also an section on converting ConX 1.0 to the new version (which great if you own all the other source books like me!)


As always, Eden has great artwork and the book is very readable and printable.
I also like that it is watermarked and doesnt use (evil and forsaken) DRM. I hate adobe drm and refuse to buy any products that use it.


In the future you will see some more updated sourcebooks from eden (The Extraterrestrial source book & Paranormal Sourcebook.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conspiracy X 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Slayer's Handbook
by Daniel C. Date Added: 10/10/2006 11:55:02

you know, i'm torn about this book. on the one hand, would it have been so hard to cram the extra few qualities and character templates into the core book? it's not as if 300 and 350 page books aren't the standard these days. plus, this .pdf is almost the same price as the corebook, while being just over half the size. what's that all about?


anyway, on to the material. this book covers well, slayers. it contains both new templates for original characters, like the 'dark slayer,' as well as characters from the show, like faith and kendra. there's a handful of new qualities and a few more templates for other characters, like a cop and a journalist.


the best part about this book are the alternate mini-settings thrown in - a post apocalyptic demon world where the few human survivors struggle to stay alive, an old west setting with a slayer cowgirl and a prim victorian british watcher, and something else with indians and shamans. that one didn't interest me so much.


anyway - short book, too pricey, but there's some really interesting stuff in here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Slayer's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
by Daniel C. Date Added: 10/10/2006 11:46:03

this is a great game; every licensed product should be so good. character generation is lightning fast and combat is smooth and simple. better yet, it's not just for buffy fans. the ruleset is suitable for any sort of high-action or lighthearted monster hunting action. i've done underworld, ultraviolet (the show, not the movie), and witch hunter robin with it. yeah, the .pdf is a little pricey, but it's worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Buffy the Vampire Slayer RPG Director's Screen
by Daniel C. Date Added: 10/10/2006 11:42:33

what the hell is the point of selling screens online? this is only worth your money if a) you're too lazy to crib the rules references out of the book or b) you really really want the adventure that comes with the screen which, in my opinion, isn't worth it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy the Vampire Slayer RPG Director's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Odyssey Prime: Southern Discomfort
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2006 00:00:00

Take a map of Fort Sumter. Take an ex-Major called Mr. Paine. Take Broncosaurus Rex. Then .. well, to be honest, the author has not extended her creativity far beyond stringing the sources together.


It's a workable introduction to the campaign, giving it a feel that's distinctly different from the obvious source, and seems to hang together in a logical way. This is a decent small publisher release, but, given what Misfit Studios chose to charge for the campaign sourcebook, I hold Odyssey Prime to a higher standard.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey Prime: Southern Discomfort
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Petja S. Date Added: 06/29/2006 14:35:57

Edens Unisys rules the universe! I don like comparison between WOD and world of Witchcraft bechose Witchcraft is all that WOD is not (for the record I have been game mastering most of WOD games since early 90s). Unisys may look complex and even flawed at first look but it makes hell lot of sense and is much easier than tossing bucket loads dices. In what game you could have reborn Atlantean (from Atlantis that is) and CROWesque relentless dead as same player team with witches, kinghts templars or voodoo priests.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Odyssey Prime
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2006 00:00:00

Very disappointing product, does nothing that hasn't been seen before in Stargate SG1, Fringeworthy, GURPS Infinite Worlds or Tangents (for the Alternity RPG).


About the best part of the PDF is the backstory to the Project. The armageddon scenario adds some sense of urgency to the proceedings, but it's not really touched on beyond the backstory. The history is nicely written, creative and interesting. If the rest of the game matched it, I'd be a happy man. <br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: I enjoyed the background fluff. The armageddon countdown friving the campaign is a great idea, nicely executed.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Material is repeated between the D20 and Unisystem sections, 12 pages are used for ads for Misfit Studios, other small-press games settings are offered as worlds for OP with virtually no ideas on how to integrate them into the campaign. Almost no original example worlds are given, with minimal rules for generating game worlds.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey Prime
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Without addressing the matter of this customer's personal tastes, which are subjective, there are some objective errors and misrepresentations in the review. There is indeed repeated material, a necessity of providing rules for both d20 and Unisystem game mechanics. The repitition in the second instance is limited to what is necessary for the differences between the two systems--none of the "fluff" is repeated. Second, there is only ONE page of Misfit Studios ads, and two pages for Eden Studios (as necessitated by the Unisystem license.) I can ony assume the other 9 pages of "ads" the customer is talking about are the pages discussing products of more than a dozen other publishers so that the customer can pick and choose some of these suggestions for use as dimensions the game could visit. These are product capsules, not ads, and (despite this customer's claims to the contrary), several do indeed have direct OP-related suggestions.
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
by Benjamin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2006 06:57:56

A fabulous little game that can easily be used for campaigns as well as one off adventures. Eden has really thought about all the different aspects to the zombie genre and presented many options for GMs within the book. As for it being a PDF there is absolutely nothing wrong with the quality of the file. The images are clear, the text sharp and I've not come across any technical errors with it. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Paul B. Date Added: 03/13/2006 16:58:37

Excellent rule system, reasonably detailed and interesting character generation.


An occult rpg, with overtones of conspiracy, and a liberal dose of Lovecraft thrown in for good measure.


I suppose a comparisson has to be drawn with WOD Mage:
The general game system has the edge over WOD(and hte New WOD), it feels far more robust and integrates with the other 'undead and Shapechanger suppliements' in a far less hap-hazzard way than say Were wolf or Vampire do.


However, Witchcrafts magic although varied is not as free-form as the new WOD Mage - still its enjoyable if a little formulaic.


So If your players prefer the security of a hard and fast magic system then Witchcraft is probably a good option.


Layout and art work are quite good, and writing is easy to follow, though the double -- become a little irritating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 130 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG