RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Conspiracy X 2.0
by sean l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2006 19:22:57
So to start off, I am a long time ConX fan, I own all the 1.0 books.

I had recently bought the treeware version of this pdf for myself, but I decided that I wanted to be able to search the book and to have the ability to print out small sections fror my group.

The book has had some edits to bring it up to date from the orignal 1996 Conx 1.0 version.
(The Black Book is now refered to as the National Defense Directorate. There is also a mention that there are multiple Saurian races on Earth.)

There is also an section on converting ConX 1.0 to the new version (which great if you own all the other source books like me!)

As always, Eden has great artwork and the book is very readable and printable.
I also like that it is watermarked and doesnt use (evil and forsaken) DRM. I hate adobe drm and refuse to buy any products that use it.

In the future you will see some more updated sourcebooks from eden (The Extraterrestrial source book & Paranormal Sourcebook.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conspiracy X 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Slayer's Handbook
by Daniel C. Date Added: 10/10/2006 11:55:02
you know, i'm torn about this book. on the one hand, would it have been so hard to cram the extra few qualities and character templates into the core book? it's not as if 300 and 350 page books aren't the standard these days. plus, this .pdf is almost the same price as the corebook, while being just over half the size. what's that all about?

anyway, on to the material. this book covers well, slayers. it contains both new templates for original characters, like the 'dark slayer,' as well as characters from the show, like faith and kendra. there's a handful of new qualities and a few more templates for other characters, like a cop and a journalist.

the best part about this book are the alternate mini-settings thrown in - a post apocalyptic demon world where the few human survivors struggle to stay alive, an old west setting with a slayer cowgirl and a prim victorian british watcher, and something else with indians and shamans. that one didn't interest me so much.

anyway - short book, too pricey, but there's some really interesting stuff in here.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Slayer's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
by Daniel C. Date Added: 10/10/2006 11:46:03
this is a great game; every licensed product should be so good. character generation is lightning fast and combat is smooth and simple. better yet, it's not just for buffy fans. the ruleset is suitable for any sort of high-action or lighthearted monster hunting action. i've done underworld, ultraviolet (the show, not the movie), and witch hunter robin with it. yeah, the .pdf is a little pricey, but it's worth every penny.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Buffy the Vampire Slayer RPG Director's Screen
by Daniel C. Date Added: 10/10/2006 11:42:33
what the hell is the point of selling screens online? this is only worth your money if a) you're too lazy to crib the rules references out of the book or b) you really really want the adventure that comes with the screen which, in my opinion, isn't worth it.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy the Vampire Slayer RPG Director's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Odyssey Prime: Southern Discomfort
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2006 00:00:00
Take a map of Fort Sumter. Take an ex-Major called Mr. Paine. Take _Broncosaurus Rex_. Then .. well, to be honest, the author has not extended her creativity far beyond stringing the sources together.

It's a workable introduction to the campaign, giving it a feel that's distinctly different from the obvious source, and seems to hang together in a logical way. This is a decent small publisher release, but, given what Misfit Studios chose to charge for the campaign sourcebook, I hold _Odyssey Prime_ to a higher standard.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey Prime: Southern Discomfort
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Petja S. Date Added: 06/29/2006 14:35:57
Edens Unisys rules the universe! I don like comparison between WOD and world of Witchcraft bechose Witchcraft is all that WOD is not (for the record I have been game mastering most of WOD games since early 90s). Unisys may look complex and even flawed at first look but it makes hell lot of sense and is much easier than tossing bucket loads dices. In what game you could have reborn Atlantean (from Atlantis that is) and CROWesque relentless dead as same player team with witches, kinghts templars or voodoo priests.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Odyssey Prime
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2006 00:00:00
Very disappointing product, does nothing that hasn't been seen before in Stargate SG1, Fringeworthy, GURPS Infinite Worlds or Tangents (for the Alternity RPG).

About the best part of the PDF is the backstory to the Project. The armageddon scenario adds some sense of urgency to the proceedings, but it's not really touched on beyond the backstory. The history is nicely written, creative and interesting. If the rest of the game matched it, I'd be a happy man.


LIKED: I enjoyed the background fluff. The armageddon countdown friving the campaign is a great idea, nicely executed.

DISLIKED: Material is repeated between the D20 and Unisystem sections, 12 pages are used for ads for Misfit Studios, other small-press games settings are offered as worlds for OP with virtually no ideas on how to integrate them into the campaign. Almost no original example worlds are given, with minimal rules for generating game worlds.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey Prime
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Without addressing the matter of this customer's personal tastes, which are subjective, there are some objective errors and misrepresentations in the review. There is indeed repeated material, a necessity of providing rules for both d20 and Unisystem game mechanics. The repitition in the second instance is limited to what is necessary for the differences between the two systems--none of the "fluff" is repeated. Second, there is only ONE page of Misfit Studios ads, and two pages for Eden Studios (as necessitated by the Unisystem license.) I can ony assume the other 9 pages of "ads" the customer is talking about are the pages discussing products of more than a dozen other publishers so that the customer can pick and choose some of these suggestions for use as dimensions the game could visit. These are product capsules, not ads, and (despite this customer's claims to the contrary), several do indeed have direct OP-related suggestions.
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
by Benjamin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2006 06:57:56
A fabulous little game that can easily be used for campaigns as well as one off adventures. Eden has really thought about all the different aspects to the zombie genre and presented many options for GMs within the book. As for it being a PDF there is absolutely nothing wrong with the quality of the file. The images are clear, the text sharp and I've not come across any technical errors with it. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Paul B. Date Added: 03/13/2006 16:58:37
Excellent rule system, reasonably detailed and interesting character generation.

An occult rpg, with overtones of conspiracy, and a liberal dose of Lovecraft thrown in for good measure.

I suppose a comparisson has to be drawn with WOD Mage:
The general game system has the edge over WOD(and hte New WOD), it feels far more robust and integrates with the other 'undead and Shapechanger suppliements' in a far less hap-hazzard way than say Were wolf or Vampire do.

However, Witchcrafts magic although varied is not as free-form as the new WOD Mage - still its enjoyable if a little formulaic.

So If your players prefer the security of a hard and fast magic system then Witchcraft is probably a good option.

Layout and art work are quite good, and writing is easy to follow, though the double -- become a little irritating.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Odyssey Prime
by Phillip M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2006 00:00:00
Firstly, let me say that I am a sucker for almost anything to do with parallel worlds, time travel, alternate history and the like ... so Odyssey Prime was an immediate attraction when it appeared and, of course, since you're reading this review, I bought it.

I really wanted to like the game a lot ... and, no, its not *awful* ... it's just, well, it doesn't do much for me.

Why? Well, firstly, its virually a pastiche of parts of Season 3 of "Sliders" and "Stargate" ... even the artwork shows it is entirely derivative with thinly disguised Stargate Rings (only with Runes instead of glyphs) and Stargate entry chambers. To be entirely fair, neither Sliders nor Stargate are original ... there is a long tradition of these sorts of stories (and many variations thereupon) in Science Fiction (and even in gaming) ... its just that OP struck me as entirely lacking in originality.

Even the way the *stargate* was discovered in OP is a straight takeoff of the way it was discovered in Stargate ... just transposed to the UK from Egypt.

Secondly, the new character classes ... these are fine, as far as I can tell (I loathe d20 modern, much prefer Spycraft), but the *names* just strike the wrong cord. They are ... *forced* ... for example, the Special Forces class is called "Operator" ... why not "Green Beret" or, simply, "Special Forces". The assassin class, instead of being called "Assassin" is "Wetwork", and the Wheelman is "Outrider." Yes, this is a minor niggle, but it is part of my overall disquiet with the product.

Thirdly, the "Outfitting a Team" chapter, as far as weapons is concerned, provides a few new items, but a lot of the weapons included are already included in existing material such as the d20 Modern "Weapons Locker" (WotC, 2004) ... the Glock 18 Machine Pistol, the Mk 23 SOCOM, the PSS SP4 and the Steyr TMP. That's 40% of the "new" Pistols that are, basically, a waste of space as they are not new at all.

The same padding occurs with "Long Arms" ... the Colt Commando, Colt M635 SMG, OICW, M4a1 Carbine, MAG7 Shotgun, Remington 870, Shrike LMG, Steyr IWS 2000, Steyr Tactical (Scout) Sniper Rifle, Striker Shotgun, and the VAL Silenced Assault Rifle are not new material ... 11 of the 15 items listed and detailed.

The rest of the chapter is much of the same ... a few skerricks of new material, but mostly stuff you probably already have (hey, *I* do, and I *loathe* d20 modern ... its still reference material for Spycraft!)

The background material in Chapter #5 is, as noted, largely derivative ... it just lacks a spark of originality. It is workmanlike and well enough written ... it just doesn't *grab* you as something new, original, and *tempting*. Its all very "ho hum".

The chapter on campaigns is full of sketchy ideas that anyone could have come up with ... of course, that doesn't mean *everyone* would have. But, again, it lacks the *feel* of originality.

The last quirk is the last chapter ... which provides data for OP for the Unisystem (Eden Games). Now, I *like* the Unisystem. I think Witchcraft and Armageddon are *great* backgrounds. In fact, if OP had been entirely a Unisystem game, it would have been better ... of course, realistically, d20 sells better, I guess. The problem is that a large chunk of the material here is a repeat of the material in the equipment chapter ... it may well be new material for the Unisystem, but I can't see it being useful for anyone who buys this, as the huge majority of purchasers will want OP for d20 (which is sad, as I said, Unisystem is far far better).

Then there's the typesetting. If you've read my other reviews you know I don't like bad typesetting ... and, well, OP isn't *bad* ... it's *sloppy*.

There are quite a number of scattered paragraphs in almost every chapter where the line spacing is incorrect, the lines are too close together compared to the other paragraphs. I know how this can happen ... you have a standard paragraph style set up for, say, 10 point type on 12 point spacing and call it "Body Text" ... but the DTP program insists on having a style called "Normal" which might be 10 point type on "one line" spacing (which is quite different from 10 point on 10 point, even). If you're not careful when doing editting and moving or adding paragraphs you will find that you have inserted "Normal" formatted paras where you should have "Body Text" ... its all too easy to do. But it *should* be easily picked up at the proofing stage. I mean, *I* picked it up in the first five minutes.

Which sorta sums up OP ... a great idea, pity about the absolutely *average* implementation.


LIKED: The idea.

DISLIKED: The implementation of the idea ... somewhere along the line the creative process seems to have been ... derailed. Either that or the light at the end of the tunnel was really an oncoming express train ;-)

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey Prime
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Odyssey Prime
by Paul L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2006 17:32:55
I picked this up after seeing an announcement of its publication on RPGnet, and I'm far from disappointed. The premise offers a lot of different RPing possibilities (the inclusion of several different d20 and Unisystem settings as possible destinations was inspired). There's a definite Stargate SG-1 vibe to the game, so fans of that show should check it out. Having d20 and Unisystem rules was a good idea, and I'll definitely mine this for my own Unisystem games. Definitely recommended.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Francisco J. S. Date Added: 08/02/2005 00:19:29
Great book and great system...
Much better than WOD

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Army of Darkness Corebook
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2005 23:30:24
Quick: An excellent game that captures the feel and fun of the movie and expands on the established mythos. Great as a stand alone game, as a “Campaign sourcebook” or as an addition to any other Eden Unisystem game.

Army of Darkness Review

Disclaimer: I am a freelancer for Eden studios and have worked on a lot of their books. I have been an author or co-author on some and a playtester on many. But in this case I had nothing to with “Army of Darkness” other than buy the PDF like everyone else.

Time to kick some Ash.

If nothing else the new Army of Darkness RPG from Eden Studios (AoD RPG) will give your game group hours of puns like these or spontaneously shooting off quotes from the movie, if they don’t already do that now.

The new AoD RPG is the latest offering from Eden using the Cinematic Unisystem rules. Cinematic Unisystem is a stripped down to basics rule set to foster fast play in a cinematic style game. That is not to say the rules are non-existent, just non-obtrusive. Cinematic Unisystem plays similar to it’s big brother Classic Unisystem, which powers such games as All Flesh Must Be Eaten, WitchCraft and Armageddon. If you want to use this game with those, no problem, not only is it very easy, but there is a great Appendix in the back to handle the details. AoD shares Cinematic Unisystem with Eden’s Origin’s winning Angel RPG, Buffy the Vampire Slayer RPG and Ghosts of Albion RPG. Here taking characters from one game to next is easy and no conversions are needed. In fact one could conceivably play one game consisting of all four game books in one big, really bad world.

Rough parallels can be drawn between Cinematic games and Classic one. Buffy is built like a cinematic version of WitchCraft, Angel invokes the same feel as Armageddon, and likewise AoD takes on a lot of it’s feel from it’s older brother All Flesh Must Be Eaten.

If you like the movie Army of Darkness (or any of the Evil Dead movies) or any of Eden’s other games then you should pick this up. If you are not sure if the AoD RPG is for you then let’s get into the details.

Chapter 1 is the introduction with some Army of Darkness style fiction added in. It’s nice, but you will only read it once in your life. The rest of the chapter is pretty straight forward and reads exactly like every other Chapter 1 in any Eden book. This is both good and bad. Bad in the fact I have now bought this chapter at least 10 times now. It’s good because it also means that I can pick up any of those books and know immediately what to expect. There is a new part here though, one on the cosmology of the game. It’s not bad, but I am not sure if I will use it or not. Like most roleplayers I have a varied and complex mythos surrounding my games where the machinations of powerful beings 5,000 years ago shape my world today. Then again this is supposed to fast and loose and for crying out loud the movie depicted England with a desert, so heck with all that, what I really want to do is stomp on some deadites. I don’t care if they were sent by “The Old Ones”, Satan or Santa.

Chapter 2 is the meat for the normal gamer; how to create characters and give them some cool stuff. Again, some of this is ported right over from “Angel”, but that is not really that bad since it is really the best stuff with more added. Plus I want my games to be compatible, so I do want my “white hats” and my “mundanes” to be able to hang with the “primitive screw heads” and not bicker over which version of “Hard to Kill” to buy. There are some new qualities and a lot of new drawbacks to choose from. Plus the focus shifts from the magically empowered supernaturals of Buffy/Angel to the regular guys and gals doing what’s right of Army of Darkness. If you enjoy playing “normal” characters then this is the book for you.
The skills are unchanged from Angel/Buffy in keeping with the Cinematic scope, but they are a little more defined. Let’s face it, Ash did more with his car in two hours than Buffy/Angel did in 12 collective seasons, so a little more attention is paid to what you can do.
The archetypes are great and if you are familiar with the archetypes from Buffy or Angel you will recognize the style and art here. In general the archetypes reflect the focus of the game, normal guy or gal, way weird circumstances. I found them a tad hard to read with the colored background, but that could be my PDF. Loved the archaeolbogist (though her portrait has Appearance of at least +2 even if she doesn’t in the sheet) loved the Zorro guy, gunslinger, night stalker dude, and the roller baller. Adding the game designer might have been a little too cheesy, but hey I don’t blame them one bit and for this game it works. It also includes the original cast, but Ash is the main guy. For anyone that has ever wanted to know “who would win in a fight, Ash or ____?” well here is where you can find the answers.

Chapter 3 is also the same as many of Eden’s chapter 3s. It has the rules. Since the rules are not significantly modified from other games, some can skip this all together. But if you do you will be missing some good bits. First off Eden has learned from Buffy and Angel and this chapter is laid out a lot clearer. There is also the whole new set of rules covering land vehicles; a really nice addition to the Cinematic game universe.

Chapter 4 is really nice. Every Eden book has it’s true gem, the one thing that makes that book worthwhile. WitchCraft has it’s magic system, Angel has it’s demon creation rules, and Army of Darkness has it’s Battle System. This is mass combat system for Cinematic Unisystem but on reading it, it would certainly work for any Unisystem game. It keeping with the cinematic tone the rules are fast and free flowing, but like all of Cinematic Unisystem they are designed to maximize the fun and playability.

Chapter 5 is the information for the Directors out there. Not too different, and in this case that is not the best thing. I was reading it over and the whole time I keep feeling I was reading a chapter out of Buffy or Angel, with the talk of “episodes” and “Seasons”. Yes, episode is still a fine name and great workable game mechanic. But “Army of Darkness” is not a TV show, it is a movie. I would have liked to see how to set up a big epic battle or mimic the feel of a movie with some plot elements compressed. Like Ash said to Shelia “first you want to kill me now you want to kiss me”, things like love have to happen pretty fast, faster than TV. So what I would have liked then is to see the sidebar on “Other Ways to Do It” expanded into a full chapter with “The TV Show” set up as just one option. Granted, for those Directors planning huge AoD/Buffy/AFMBE/WitchCraft epic crossover campaigns, this chapter works to your advantage.

Chapter 6 sets up the who, what and where elements. All needed for this game where being sucked into a portal and waking up in England in the Middle Ages is normal. It is nice the see that one other movie is Eden’s most watched list outside of Army of Darkness and that is The Holy Grail. Or at least that is how I felt after reading this chapter because I sure as hell can run that Holy Grail RPG now with this book. It is a bit odd that some characters, Arthur in particular, got a full character sheet in Chapter 2 and a quick sheet here as well. Reason? Don’t know, see the disclaimer above. But I do know that it was spaced used that could have been dedicated to something else. No big. Moving on.
I have to admit the title “Graveyard…of the Dead” made me laugh.
The creatures are neat and there are a lot of ideas here for an AoD game or even adding them to your Buffy/Angel game. OR better yet expand these little nasties with the Angel demon creation rules.

Chapter 7, coughWorlds of Darknesscough is actually really cool. It is your typical “heres how you set up adventures”, but the examples given are more fleshed out that some other entire game worlds. There is an ancient Sumerian style adventure where you need to prevent the writing of the Necronomicon (you have to love any game that refers to Ereshkigal as a Goth Chick); a pulp-era stop the Nazi’s from getting occult artifacts adventure and future setting hinted at in the Director’s Cut of Army of Darkness. All are complete with more really cool monsters and vehicle rules.

Chapter 8 is a full blown adventure, I won’t talk about it too much here so as not to ruin it for potential players.

There is an Appendix of Unisystem conversion notes if you want to switch between this and Classic Unisystem. I nice detailed list on Character Creation, all the tables from the text including a comprehensive list of qualities and drawbacks from the book. Tables and charts for combat and weapons. The book ends with a solid index (the weakest part of ‘Angel’, not repeated here) and a nice character sheet. Sure you can use your “Buffy” sheet or even the Buffy or Angel character Journals, but this is a nice clean sheet. Since I have the PDF I printed one out on a B&W laser printer and it looked great.

Whats Good: Overall the book is fantastic, a completely playable game based on Eden’s Origins award winning Cinematic Unisystem rules (Angel, Best New RPG 2003). Plus it captures the feel and the fun of the original movie quite well.

Whats Bad: I have to admit I got tired of the informal tone of the book, but that could be just me. And let’s be honest, it is a perfect choice to go with the movie.

Whats Missing: No magic rules. But they do acknowledge this and there wasn’t really any magic in movie that wasn’t used “off stage” or by the minions of evil. Want magic in your AoD game? Buy a copy “The Magic Box Sourcebook” for the Buffy RPG or get a copy of Ghosts of Albion when it comes out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Army of Darkness Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by Ned S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2005 19:59:58
cool rpg easy yet indepth character creation. would be cool if it had spontanious magic ala ars magica

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
by DECREMPS R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2004 19:07:42
Well, i've played this RPG with the french version since, i'm french... And what can i say... I simply love it... The atmosphere is quite similar to word of darkness... whitout Punks...
If you wan't to play a hardcore fireball canon... forget this rpg... it's not for you.
It more a kind of human + in a world of strange things... you are a witch... you can do something more... witches and sorcerers are everywere, on tv, on newspapers, in administration..yes but... they don't know really what's happening... they know it's time for judgement...

I think it bring a lot of liberty for the game master and a sensuality and humanity to Player's personnage...
It seems, the system isn't really good... I don't really looked at it and since my master has taken WoD rules when we've been playing, i don't really know about it.

Illustrations are more than correct...
Well, if it wasn't free, i'll bought it whitout any remorse. But it's free... so get it !

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 106 to 120 (of 124 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG