RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Elizabeth Porter Presents: d20 Dice 1
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2016 18:12:36

Just what I was looking for. If only Elizabeth Porter had some d12s, d10s, d8s, d6s, and d4s, I would snap them up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elizabeth Porter Presents: d20 Dice 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawthorne's Catalog of Creatures: Demagogue Demon a.k.a. Tr'ump
by Iona R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2016 20:55:00

I love it when a company has the balls to take a stand and choose a side.

None of that, "You must do the same thing to both sides" nonsense. Nobody does this! Nobody roots for one team for half the game and then roots for the other team in the second half "to be fair".


Fox News sure doesn't dish out the insults equally, why should Misfit Studios? This is fun and timely satire and is aimed at a target who richly deserves every bit of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawthorne's Catalog of Creatures: Demagogue Demon a.k.a. Tr'ump
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawthorne's Catalog of Creatures: Werespider
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/02/2016 11:51:17

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This pdf clocks in at 5 pages, with the front cover sporting the beautiful full-color artwork of the werespider as well as the social media icons and misfit studios-logo and the editorial on the second page; the SRD covers almost 2 pages, with the second page offering about 1/5 of rules-texts from the builds - overall, I am not a big fan of this presentation, since printing out the pdf does mean you have to waste ink on the SRD-page and the front cover material. On the plus-side, there is actually some flavor text on the first page.


The eponymous monster hunter Crawthorne does get to have a say on werespiders as presented here. A big plus: Werespiders gain swap sense, a new ability, in lieu of the woefulyl generalist default lycanthrope template, which is neat indeed. The pdf also sports 3 feats - Potent Poison allows you to improve poison created as Ex or Sus (good job for catching both!), increasing the DC to 10 + HD + Con-mod. The other two feats increase the DC to escape webs and make them stronger and harder to destroy (Hp= 2 your HD, DR 5/-), which makes the webs an actual threat - nice job here!


Beyond three solid adventure hooks, we also get the CR 2 werespider, with a monk 2 as a base creature, statblock provided in both human and hybrid form - kudos! Also nice: The pdf does provide a mini-variety - hunting werespiders replace their web-ability with +8 to Acrobatics checks...though, to nitpick, that should be "racial bonus", not "racial modifier".


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a nice two-column full-color standard and the original artwork provided is nice at this low price-point. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length - however, it does come with a printer-friendly version, which is neat indeed for guys like yours truly that print out books - that version has no backgrounds and is b/w apart from those jarring social media icons on the first page- kudos!


Steven Trustrum's Werespiders are a nice, solid addition to the canon of lycanthropic threats. While personally, I wished this had a bit more space to shine and some further things that set werespiders apart from other lycanthropes, the book still provides a solid creature for a buck. With not much to complain about, I consider this a solid addition to the series and thus rate this 4 stars - a good offering for the price-point, though not one that revolutionizes the critter.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crawthorne's Catalog of Creatures: Werespider
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Better Mousetrap 3e
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2016 13:29:25

I've not went through the entire book yet but so far I'm extremely happy with it, the skill section alone was worth the cost as my players and I constantly debated what the Expertise skill would and would not cover and Better Mousetrap gives us a great reference and guidelines to go by.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Better Mousetrap 3e
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Metahuman Martial Arts 3e
by Ethan P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/20/2016 16:22:15

An excellent supplement. It makes combat a bit more crunchy at times, but it gives a lot of specialization options and makes martial arts and melee-centric characters much more fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Metahuman Martial Arts 3e
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawthorne's Catalog of Creatures: Demagogue Demon a.k.a. Tr'ump
by N. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2016 01:32:07

This is the most hamfisted 'satire' I have ever read, with absolutely no hint of subtly towards its intended target. But I laughed, so 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawthorne's Catalog of Creatures: Demagogue Demon a.k.a. Tr'ump
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawthorne's Catalog of Creatures: Demagogue Demon a.k.a. Tr'ump
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2016 21:47:15

Current presidental politics should be avoided. If you poke fun at one party, then poke fun at the other.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Misfit Studios June 2016 Newsletter
by Joseph G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2016 16:47:20

meh......................................................-
............................................................-
............................................................-
............................................



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Misfit Studios June 2016 Newsletter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Patricia Smith Presents: Barbarian Anna
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 05:08:57

With all the flood of bad computer art on this site, it's nice to see something this high quality, almost comparable to Franzetta, at a relatively reasonable price



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Patricia Smith Presents: Barbarian Anna
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bite Me! Wererats
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2016 13:26:13

This 19 page supplement for players and GMs who are interested in running-&-playing Wererat PCs and NPCs ... is pretty much the cream of the crop reference source for said gameplay ambitions. That includes Paizo as well as PF 3PP sources.


As with the other Bite Me! supplements in the Misfit Studios line, the balance between new crunch and evocative fluff is about ideal for a supplement of its size and price range. The Table of Contents in conjunction with the book's formatting, coloration, design layout and art made for an nice,easy read on the eyes and quickly-navigable referencing.


The initial few pages of the book give a helpful recap of the Pathfinder game mechanics of the Wererat race for PC referencing ... as well as a handy ARG point breakdown for the race. The new ART's & FCO's were numerous and ran the quality spectrum from 'Above Average' to 'Excellent'. Lots of Wererat theme characters can be accentuated with these 2 character options alone. Plus, they all made conceptual sense and none of them looked unbalanced.


Amongst the 3 Racial Archetypes, I found all 3 to be fairly well balanced. The Sewer Druid to be a bit super-specialized ... the Lightning Rager to moderately interesting in its DEX-emphasizing rage mechanic ... and the Bully Slayer to be just outright awesome with its clever thematic bonuses that lend itselfs well to Wererat social behavior.


The new Wererat equipment emphasizes sewer-environment combat - and are all quite cool. The new feats were all themed towards stealth, dexterity, senses and size diminution. I would've liked to have seen a slight uptick in power level for most of the feats, but I liked the overall thematic cohesiveness of the bunch. The Magic Items were probably my favorite component of the book! All 5 of them will find happy homes in my urban campaign that I GM. I agree with N. Jolly in his review though, that the 'Hiding' WSA needs a +X boost ... perhaps to around +3 IMHO.


The Wererat Magic section is terrific! I love the Gnaw Anything, Close Quarters, Swarm Growth and Crowd Stride spell. Which are strong thematically with Wererat casters ... and have rock solid spell balancing mechanics. I might tweak them a little to allow those of the Wererat race to gain a slight-to-small additional benefit from them over those of other-racial spellcasters.


The 2 fleshed-out, multiple-level-perspective NPCs were creatively-written ... and their stat-blocks look clean and accurate. I'm definitely going to nab that Druid for use in my campaign world.


All in all, this book will get serious table-play with my one Pathfinder group that is currently involved in a long-term urban campaign. Besides their proclivity to prosper in urban settings, Wererats are probably the most adaptable of all the lycanthropes in regards to living in all types of environmentally harsh areas. So don't think of this book as being purely urban-centric.


My final rating for this book is a rock-solid 4 stars. It presents a sizeable amount of game mechanic options for Wererats that aren't in Paizo products but are definitely needed ... and options that make a lot of sociocultural-thematic sense too. I would've considered a higher rating if there were a few more knock-my-sock-off creative options.



To note, I now own 8 PDFs in the Misfit Studios 'Bite Me!' line for Pathfinder. This book and one other were comped to me in exchange for a fair and unbiased review. The other 6 I purchased on my own. I was originally drawn to the Bite Me! line because I knew the illustrious Christina Stiles was heading the project. So far, all 8 of these books have impressed me and are now in heavy rotation in both my PF groups as either the primary ruleset for lycanthrope PC's/NPC's ... or in a hybridized system with core-Paizo rules. I also just now looked at the authors of this specific book (Hudson & Welham). And now it all makes sense. Lol. I'm a huge fan of Mike Welham Pathfinder good ... and once again, he doesn't disappoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bite Me! Wererats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bite Me! Wererats
by N. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2016 16:25:49

Disclamer: While I have worked with this publisher before, I received no compensation for this review, and was not involved with this project.


Okay, checking out the lycanthrope wererat, a group I didn't normally consider looking at myself.


What I liked: Amusingly, the art of this book slowly grew on me to the point where I really started to like the style being used, making it feel like a 90's animated film. The lore of the wererats was quite engaging too, and it gave me a strong idea of where I could fit them into a game, although it didn't paint them as overly 'evil' which I appreciated.


The racial archetype that I really took a shine to was the bully slayer, which was both mechanically sound and very fun, although the picture that accompanied it was a large help in visualising it.


The mundane items were fun and flavorful, although the rat pipes could have used a bit more clarification on how long it took for the rat swarm to summon. Aside from that though, they were all things I think would help with running wererats.


I can't say I'd use all the feats as a player, but for an NPC I think there's a place for all of the feats included in this book.


The hiding weapon quality feels just too good to me, to the point where I might consider it unbalanced. It's very interesting, but it could be too good for a +1 bonus, so be aware of that. The rat saddle did make me smile though, and it just feels like a fun item. Red Eyes was okay, it was an interesting take and I liked it in that respect.


The gnaw anything and swarm growth spells both felt thematic and fun, definitely things I could see using in a game.


The sample characters were pretty nice too, and statted out well enough to the point where it wouldn't be too hard to put them into a game, although I do wish they'd have been further apart in level to make them usable at different points in a game.


What I was indifferent towards : The sewer druid was nicely designed, but just a tad boring for me, making it somewhat forgettable. Some of the magic items were pretty forgettable too, as the helm of ratkind felt too specialized to me. Aside from the above mentioned spells, the rest of the magic was passable, but nothing ground breaking.


What I didn't like : The layout of the book, while serviable and printer friendly, still felt quite barren. Some borders or such could have helped this, but it's not a major issue. The lighting rager archetype also did little for me; while thematic, it wasn't the kind of thing I could see using for a game of my own.


Personal preference here, but I'd have preferred the rat style feats be sectioned off to be more easily referenced, and rat trap is a rather weak feat in the chain.


Final Thoughts: Overall, it's a solid book if you're looking to vary the lycanthropes in your game. While you might not use all of the material in it, there's easily enough in here to give you a very solid base for any wererat adventures you're looking to include.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crawthorne's Catalog of Creatures: Abroa
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/11/2016 11:00:34

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The first installment of the inexpensive creature-supplement-series by Misfit Studios clocks in at 5 pages, with 1 3/4 pages of SRD and the creature's artwork alongside the header and contact/social site info on the first page, taking up about 1/3 of the space, while editorial information is on page 2 alongside product identity and the declaration of open game content - I'm not a big fan of this layout decision since I tend to print out books and thus, the cover features quite a bit unnecessary ink/toner used in vain...but what about the creature?


The carnivorous coin, or abroa on its own is a CR 1/2 aberration that is fine and has a nasty bite for its size - alongside a dangerous acid. On a cool side, susceptibility to Perform and music makes for an interesting weakness. A second creature-version, the CR 2 swarm of these creatures is much more powerful and the 3 adventure hooks provided also work well with the creatures alongside a brief piece of IC-prose by the eponymous Crawthorne. The one crucial flaw of these creatures, though, does pertain its very angle: These things should look like coins, yes? Well, they have Stealth, so that's nice...but no means of actually disguising themselves/using Stealth to pass as coins - no ranks, no ability to be mistaken for coins, no ability like freeze or a similar means to avoid detection in plain sight...which left me, quite frankly, rather disappointed.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a 2-column full-color standard with 2 beautiful artworks I did not expect to find in such an inexpensive little file - kudos here. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none. The pdf also comes with a second, more printer-friendly version - kudos again, though the imho sub-optimal aforementioned layout-choices mentioned and the social media icons retain their color.


Steven Trustrum has created a great little creature per se - but also a creature that falls short of its own potential and a layout that could be more considerate regarding the ability to be printed out. While by no means bad, this does thus fall short of excellence and hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the purpose of this platform.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crawthorne's Catalog of Creatures: Abroa
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Prestigious Paths: Horse Lord
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/07/2016 04:18:19

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This pdf clocks in at 6 pages, 1/2 page front cover, 1.5 pages of SRD, leaving us with ~4 pages of content, so let's take a look!


We begin this pdf with 4 new feats:


-Disciple of Cavalry: Use your or your mount's Str-mod for atk and damage; change as a free action. OUCH. This can be pretty powerful.


-Improved Trick Riding: Unless otherwise desired, treat all Guide with knees, Stay in Saddle, Cover, Fast Mount/Dismount-checks as taking 10. Damn cool since it eliminates unpleasant failures.


-Live in the Saddle: Substitute Ride skill modifiers for Wis, Int or Cha modifier for concentration checks in the saddle; sleep in the saddle for DC 15 Ride-checks. This is rather strong, considering how much higher a Ride skill will ultimately be. Not a fan.


-Master of Cavalry: Divide your inflicted damage freely in a 10-ft burst around the point of impact while making a mounted charge, minimum 1 damage per eligible target. Interesting.


There also are two new traits - one for determining breeds and health and one to negate penalties resulting from cultural discrepancies - I like both for their narrative potential.


The Horse Lord PrC nets d8, full BAB-progression with mounted, 3/4 BAB-progression while not mounted and requires a whopping 10 ranks, meaning it's a mid- to high-level goal. The PrC nets 1/2 Fort and Ref-save progression, 4+Int skills per level and proficiency in simple and martial weapons as well as light and medium armor and shields. I do assume that the mounted BAB is also used for the purpose of combat maneuver calculation while in the saddle, though an explicit note would have been appreciated here. At first level, all Ride-checks may be treated as taking 10; 2nd level nets aforementioned Disciple of Cavalry feat and levels 3, 6 and 9 provide a fighter bonus feat. 3rd level horse lords may issue simple commands, horse whisperer style, to their own horses (and others) via Handle Animal and 4th level increases the number of tricks a horse can be taught by 3, with 11 special tricks (duplicating, for the most part, feats like Iron Will or Weapon Finesse) being provided in a brief table as unique tricks, 2 of which are counted as one trick - including DCs and training time.


At 5th level, horse lords no longer suffer penalties to ranged attacks while in the saddle, even when running only a -2. 7th level provides Master of Cavalry as a bonus feat and 8th level Spirited Charge (triple/quadruple damage if the horse lord already has the feat). As a capstone, we get a +5 dodge bonus for horse lord and mount while engaged in mounted combat.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant issues. Layout adheres to a relatively printer-friendly 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has a nice artwork and bookmarks - in spite of its brevity. Additionally, we get a more printer-friendly version - kudos!


Steven Trustrum's Horse Lord is a humble little PrC that does pretty much what's advertized on the cover: provide a relatively nice mounted PrC to represent nomads or cavalry specialists. There is nothing per se wrong with this PrC - but it does sport some rough edges: The new Disciple of Cavalry-feat, for example, has a pretty low entry-barrier...and the PrC explicitly does not grant any benefits to PCs already having the feat, resulting in a potentially dead level, with the same thing happening for Master of Cavalry at 7th level.


I don't get this - either the prereqs of the feats are too low or there should be something for specialists already having them. Basically, this introduces per se interesting new material, but penalizes players trying their best to use all of it at peak efficiency - and Spirited Charge + Master of Cavalry + Smite/Challenge + Cleave-builds can cut swathes through foes...so yeah, as always with cavalry-specialists, handle with care. ;) At the same time, this certainly is no bad supplement and the traits themselves are nice, as is the steed-trick array. Still, ultimately, the horse lord PrC does feel like it could have used more unique tricks to set it apart, things that e.g. a mounted paladin or cavalier can't do. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 - a solid, if a bit unremarkable PrC-book.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Prestigious Paths: Horse Lord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bite Me! Werewolves
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2015 17:53:41

Bite Me! Werewolves is a good and succinct product that delves into not what it is to be a shapechanger in general, but more specifically what it is to be a werewolf. It differs from Bite Me! Guide to Lycanthropy in that it really does give focus to werewolves. The product does a good job of showcasing them, and goes above and beyond to establish a social order for non-cursed werewolves.


And this is the part that impressed me. Much care was given to steer away from stereotypes of werewolves as ravenous killers or even as enemies to normal humanoids. Rather, they are depicted here as noble packs that value bonds and camaraderie over violence and glory. One could easily see an all werewolf game being run with just this book and the core rules alone!


I'm not ignoring the crunch of the book. Werewolves are presented as a race, so they are rounded out with alternative racial traits, racial sub-types, custom favored class options, racial archetypes, equipment, feats, magic items, a subdomain, spells, and two fabulous NPC write ups! And all of them are of the quality that I have come to expect from Misfit Studios, all being excellently written and developed. I was particularly happy with the archetypes and feats, as they drove home the pack mentality that the book espouses.


The art is awesome as always, and does a great job of setting the tone of the book. The whole thing clocks in at 30 pages, with roughly 7 devoted to advertisements and OGL material, but is still entirely worth the asking price. If I were going to run a werewolf campaign, I would certainly not only buy this product, acquire it in print somehow. A must for any who love werewolves! 5 out of 5!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bite Me! Werewolves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Jason Moser Presents: Battle in the Sky
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2015 09:31:51

I purchased this picture and used it for the cover of a supplement called Thrilling Powers. It's become my bestselling product, and I believe that a large portion of the sales come from this beautiful cover. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jason Moser Presents: Battle in the Sky
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 217 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG