RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Player Races: the Dark Elf
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/29/2011 20:48:56

Beneath the earth, the Dark Elves plot revenge against the surface. A classic fantasy role-playing race (done as a lovely homage to their first AD&D appearances) for Savage Worlds. If the classic evil elves have a place in the underworld of your Savage World campaign, take a look.


Player Races: the Dark Elf is a 4-page PDF for the Savage Worlds RPG written by Steven Trustrum and published by Misfit Studios. This is part of Misfit Studio’s Officially Licenced Savage Worlds material.


The layout is primary traditional two columns with full color illustrations for each of the books presented, and everything is clear and easily readable. A separate printer friendly file of the product is provided with all of the art replaced with black and white line art.


Five Magical Items: Horrific Books begins with an introduction to this product and it intentions, which is to present the dark elf as a playable race for Savage World in a loose format to be easily adapted to most campaign worlds.


The dark elves here have definite Gygaxian roots, with hand crossbows, magical metal (“deep mithril”) that degrades in the sun and paralyzing poison. Beyond racial package for full and half-blooded dark elves, there are three poison, a new weapon and material, three new edges and a new hindrance.


Lastly, there is an example dark elf warrior for immediate use.


Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player Races: the Dark Elf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

5 Magic Items: Horrific Books
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/25/2011 20:56:58

Dark words on ancient pages, are your heroes ready to risk their sanity in order to learn their secrets? If you think the answer is yes, you may wish to take a look at Five Magical Items: Horrific Books.


Five Magic Items: Horrific Books is a 6-page PDF for the Savage Worlds RPG written by Steven Trustrum and published by Misfit Studios. This is part of Misfit Studio’s Officially Licenced Savage Worlds material.


The layout is primary traditional two columns with full color illustrations for each of the books presented, and everything is clear and easily readable. A separate printer friendly file of the product is provided with all of the art replaced with black and white line art.


Five Magical Items: Horrific Books begins with an introduction to this product and it intention, along with rules for what can be learned from the book before delving deeply into them. Which is important as some of them carry dangerous curses along with their (often forbidden) knowledge.


The five books are: Arcane Catalog of Dej, Folio of Fiends, Purgatorum, Tome of the Underworld and the Necronomicon (but more the Evil Dead one than the Lovecraftian classic). Each of the books is full of arcane possibilities and dangers for those brave enough to read them.


While designed for Savage Worlds, these horrific books would be easy enough to convert over to other fantasy systems.


Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5 Magic Items: Horrific Books
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Enchanter Core Specialist Wizard
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 21:56:39

I've read three Core Specialist Wizard books to date, and of all of them this is the one that I felt was the absolute best. For starters, the book begins with a new skill: Profession (Hypnotist) that not only manages to give mundane characters a chance to experience some of the thrills of the Enchantment school, but also gives a believable and interesting skill that the Enchanter core class can use.


Ordinarily, I hate (and I mean HATE) new skills that are developed exclusively for a single class (and even with the fact that anyone can do this, Enchanters are definitely the ones who would get the most benefit from it), but this one was done very well. This particular skill isn't really necessary for the Enchanter class. Sure, you'll probably benefit from using it, and I'd expect you to want to use it...but it's completely optional, so if you'd rather spend your precious skill points elsewhere you won't be up a river without a paddle (not like the Necromancer's Knowledge (Anatomy) class, which bordered on being necessary.)


The Enchanter as a core class itself also gives some wonderful benefits that you'd expect an Enchanter to be able to do, like hypnotising someone by just locking eyes with them without the need to expend a spell or take up an unnecessary feat slot. The class is built to give you exactly what you'd expect.


The magic items are, similarly, useful in a flavor-texty kind of way. From cupid's arrows, to an entrancing stone that might look better in a craft DM's trap list, this book is almost a one-stop shop for everyone who wanted to avoid psionics but still be a master of the mind. I don't think I've wanted to play a class as much after an initial reading as I do now. Thanks, Misfit Studios!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Enchanter Core Specialist Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Necromancer Core Specialist Wizard
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 21:10:30

Of the three books I've read in the "Core Specialist Wizard" series, I'm sad to report that I think I got the least amount out of this one. Maybe I was just blown away by the fact that the Enchanter and Diviner books were done really well, or maybe I'm predisposed to be a harsh critic whenever it comes to Necromancer material, but I was hoping for a bit more out of this.


Having gotten that out of the way: this book isn't too bad, especially for a two dollar price tag. It offers a variation of the Necromancer specialist class as presented in the player's handbook, and gives it some of the capabilities of dealing with the undead that are normally reserved for wielders of Divine magic.


Here's the catch: it manages to do it all with an "arcane magic" feeling, as opposed to most other attempts at this which basically say "Here we'll handwave the fact that you, for whatever reason, are apparently wielding divine magic." The Necromancer truly is standing all on its own in its proper arcane shoes.


As with the other two entries in this series that I've read, this book begins with a new skill use: Knowledge (Anatomy). I wasn't as impressed with this as I was with the Con-Job approach to running a Fortune Teller Scam as seen in the Diviner book, and I wasn't really wowed with it like I was with the Profession (Hypnotist) skill shown in the Enchanter book. In fact, I was a bit put off by how mandatory the skill seemed in relation to some of the other feats, class abilities and such. It's not a bad idea, really, I just have high standards for new rule systems in my game that are necessary for the class itself but only really seem to have a focus within that class. Apart from providing a Heal check bonus, I don't think there was much that this skill would allow you to do if you weren't already a Necromancer.


One aspect of this book that I must give glowing praise to, however: the grafts. Most of the time when books try to show me a system where a player character grafts parts of other monsters onto them, I roll my eyes and skim past that part to the other stuff. This time, however? It all works. It makes sense. The grafts as portrayed here arrive as class features (that's right, not feats you need to waste a slot on, not magic items that cost a fortune to pay for, actual class features) that your character just gets as a way of showing that they are advancing through their knowledge of the necromantic arts. And really, that's what being a specialist wizard is supposed to be about, right? Studying one aspect of magic so closely that you begin learning the arcane knowledge that is lost to other people. The hypnotic eye of a vampire or paralytic hand of a ghoul is exactly what that demands (anyone else think that liches are a tad overused/overrated when it comes to arcane mastery of necromantic magic? No? Just me? Ah, well.)


I do recommend buying this book, but only (and I insist, only) if you're actively considering playing a Necromancer but don't quite want to take the version shown in the PH.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Necromancer Core Specialist Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Diviner Core Specialist Wizard
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 17:44:57

The Diviner: The Core Specialist Wizard provides a few useful examples of what I call "flavor rules" for playing one of the Specialist Wizards that the players handbook briefly discusses. Ultimately, Diviners aren't normally anything more than "Wizards" with a special knack at scrying or predicting. These Diviners, however, act more like you would expect a diviner in a movie to act.


For instance, you know in movies when a fortune teller tells a main character "There is a great evil watching you, be careful." Or in a book where a mystic says "This room is wrong...there, something is hidden over there!" In D&D, I would expect Diviners to be able to do that, but since there are no rules expressly stating that they can, many GMs won't be keen on just handing that information out to the players. This product gives you some flavorful rules for Diviners so that you have something concrete, on paper, to point at.


It has some other fun elements that make the $2.00 price tag worthwhile, in my opinion. I have a rogue who I know will begin pulling the "Fortune Teller Scam" that they list here. And the magical deck of cards in their magical items section manages to bring the air of whimsy and chance to the game that the Deck of Many Things brings, while at the same time leaving out the horrible consequences to the game should players draw cards that throw the entire story out of balance.


There are one or two problems with the text. A few printing errors here and there, and one of the feats was printed twice in a row for some reason. I also felt that some of the things in the Oracle prestige class would have really been good in the main Diviner class. If not for tiny complaints like that, I would've easily rated this as a four.


In the end, it's a good, solid piece of optional rule variants for you to look over for a reasonable price. Enjoy it, and add some much-needed flavor to your game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Diviner Core Specialist Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Necromancer Core Specialist Wizard
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/29/2011 16:21:21

Necromancers have always been one of those classes that people just seem to want to do.
Misfit Studios gives a new one (out of maybe a dozen for 3.x). The Necromancer core class is a wizard, but has a number abilities that makes it unique. It is basically a buy-the-book Necromancy-using wizard, but there are also some new feats and skills that make it more useful. There are some new prestige classes and magic items as well. The only thing missing really are some new spells.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Necromancer Core Specialist Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Metahuman Mystics & Supernatural Supers 3
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/25/2011 21:57:52

Earthbound gods, mad scientists and werewolves are what is in store for your players if you pick up this book from Misfit Studios. If you have the first two books in this series then you know what to expect. Fully detailed archetypes and characters to use in your M&M2nd Ed game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Metahuman Mystics & Supernatural Supers 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Metahuman Mystics & Supernatural Supers 2
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/25/2011 21:36:40

If you are like me and enjoyed the first Metahuman Mystics & Supernatural Supers from Misfit Studios then you will enjoy this one too. More crunch this time with flaws, drawbacks and ways to use powers. Also we have four archetypes for doing characters possessed by another entity living a co-existence, or primal magic user, or a stage magician that uses real magic. Though I think my favorite is the Crusader, both the archetype and the character write-up. These characters feel like they belong in the Mutants and Mastermind's Book of Magic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Metahuman Mystics & Supernatural Supers 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Metahuman Mystics & Supernatural Supers
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/25/2011 21:26:55

Misfit Studios has long been a favorite of mine. They do horror and modern supernatural very well and have turned their skills towards Mutants and Masterminds. Presented here are some new archetypes and some new ways to look at the rules for supernatural powered characters. Among those presented are the Avatar, the human manifestation of a magical being's power, the Hougan, a voodoo practioner and the Necromancer. If you are like me and like a little horror in your comics and a little magic in your supers games this is a great place to start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Metahuman Mystics & Supernatural Supers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Player Races: Dragon Men
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/09/2011 10:37:42

Misfit Studios gives us another fantasy race for Savage Worlds. This time we have Dragonmen, humanoid dragons. The document is not large, but does exactly what it needs to do. Description of the race, point values as a race and ways to use them in your game.


Good product for the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player Races: Dragon Men
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Powers Grimoire: Places of Power
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2011 16:36:23

If I wasn't afraid I was going to have to "buy" this again when the new Spiros Blaak setting came out this product would get a 5 star rating.


This is a totally new way of using and getting power points in SW.


It has rules for Arcane Background specific places of power. Man made or Natural places of power. How to make a place of power (you better have some time and plenty of power points!) These places of power have their own edges and hindrances.


The product lists several that should get a GMs juices flowing.


There doesn't seem to be any pesky missing pieces. You get a great idea fully fleshed out. I think the price may be a bit high (yeah its just three dollars), but I don't want to buy this product again if it is later part of a complete setting I intend to purchase.


Unlike some of the other products I have bought from Misfit (Monster Briefs) this one is a great product to add by itself to SW Fantasy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Powers Grimoire: Places of Power
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Brief: Goblins
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2011 16:23:42

This is a good product but not great.


First, I don't like the idea that if I later want to buy the setting that I'll have to pay for this again. So far the setting sounds fun, so I probably will buy it.


Next, it is a bit confusing. The Beast Wrangler should have Beast Master, not Beast Bond. Plus, he is using a critter from an obscure SW tool kit which is not stated for the brief.


I liked it more than the Dark Elf Monster Brief, not because it was better or Dark Elf was bad, but because Goblin culture is dealt with a bit more in other SW products and I am not having to start at square one with Goblins like I do with Dark Elves.


It's too expensive for what you get (75 cents to a dollar would be good). This is my take on the brief because I know I'll probably be "buying" this material all over again later.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Brief: Goblins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Brief: Dark Elves
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2011 16:09:57

Good.


However, some of my old beefs and some new ones.


First, when Spiros Blaak comes out I am going to have to pay for this material all over again. Misfit is very upfront about this. They don't try to trick you. So that is definitely a plus to their side. I think the price is a bit high (yes I know it is just a buck fifty!) still if I have to pay for this twice when the setting comes out it's too steep. Also if I don't buy the setting it is too steep because...


Savage Worlds doesn't have a great deal on Drow/Dark Elves in any of their products. Actually I have the Fantasy tool kits and the companion and there isn't anything about Drow/Dark elves. So this product is a step in the right direction, but it assumes you understand Dark Elf culture, environment etc. That doesn't exist presently and will only exist if someone spends the time to produce it.


So I have to say overall its good for what it is (read the other review for details) however, it leaves a lot of work for the Game Master.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Brief: Dark Elves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Expanded Professions: The Champion
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2011 15:05:43

Great Price!


Great Material and gobs of it. You can read the other review to get the idea.


Very evocative. I have always loved playing Crusader/Paladins so this is a great product for Savage Worlds. Really puts some meat on the bones...but.


The only reason that I give this product a 3 star rating is that I keep being told that if I buy the Spiros Blaak setting later on that I'll be paying for it all over again.


If you don't plan on buying the SW version later on this will probably be a great value, or if you can't wait again a great value otherwise its ok.


I don't want to have to pay for something twice, no matter how good the material.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Expanded Professions: The Champion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Brief: Dragon Men
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/20/2010 04:39:16

Now, for all of my apprehension about Dragon Men as a PC race, I have zero problem using them as monsters.


Half a dozen variations on Dragon Men for use as antagonists...and you will want the Player Races PDF, because it references some of the Edges and Hindrances from there.


They are split pretty evenly among fighter types and arcane types (with one being a priest), with an even split of two extras and a Wild Card for each type.


Probably the most interesting variant is the drakeherd...a flightless dragon man who uses a saddled drake as a mount in order to take flight.


The Sorcerer Lord is particularly scary, boasting an impressive slate of Powers.


These could make for some good, interesting adversaries in the right campaign, although I definitely think the spellcasters are far scarier than the warrior types.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Brief: Dragon Men
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 221 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG