RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
TinyZine: Issue 4
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:28:30

About twice the size of the first three issues, this one has two important selections for Tiny D6 fans.

First, a great new microsetting (The King's Daggers) as well as a new magical Trait.

Second, new optional rules for stress and trauma which can replace the hit point system. Not sure I'm going to use this in my campaign, but it's a very cool alternative. And if you're running a Grimdark game, or old-school Sword and Sorcery a la Conan, then I think this is probably the way you want to go.

TZ includes a new class (Executioner) for For Coin & Blood. I don't play this game, but still found some good ideas to be mined here.

Good issue!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 3
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:20:30

Another step up. There's a lot more here than you would expect from just 10 pages. It includes...

  • 2 new Heritages. Minotaur is pretty solid, but I think needs a trait for natural weapons, like Karhu or Hatchlings. The three optional traits inlcuded with this heritage are all good; I plan to make them available more widely in my campaign. The second new Heritage is Glitterbug, which is perfect for TD Hatchling Edition.

  • 4 new magic items related to the new heritages. All four are useful, and also provide good models for what a magic item should do in TD2e.

  • 2 new traits and a new prestige trait (Weapon Master) designed for fighters. The prestige trait also includes 8 "style benefits" that look a lot like new traits to me. So I may just break these out and use them on their own.

Continues TinyZine's trend of improvement. Definitely worth picking up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 2
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:18:52

A step up from the first issue.

The new level progression rules are essential for GMs who want to run long-term campaigns, as opposed to quick pickup games. And the rules are easily applicable to any Tiny D6 game (Dungeon, Frontiers, Wastelands, etc.)

The Aliens & Asteroids section was interesting. I haven't picked that game up yet, but reading this made me think I should give it a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 1
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:08:06

The inaugural TinyZine introduces a new microsetting, (Super)Natural Resources. This is a good offering, and worth a look. I especially like the idea of Pomps and Circumstances. Very cool.

Compared to later issues of TinyZine, this one is a bit thin. But if you like roleplaying fierce competition for scarce resources (I see you, Wastelands players), then this is your jam.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 7
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 14:59:28

With 35 pages packed full of content, I feel like Tiny Zine just continues to level up.

Issue 7 includes a column memorializing the late great Greg Stafford and FIVE other features. 1) The Roll-and-Play continues to be strong, and this month features a random Thieves Guild generator. 2) I am already trying to figure out how to include the new Gravehark setting in my campaign. And the new Undead Heritage and Traits are useful for any GM. 4) The new feature on legendary NPCs is a great idea, and King Arthur is an excellent first entry. 5) The new enemies and adversaries make me want to pick up Destiny of Tides. But even GMs who don't will find some very good material here.

Best Tiny Zine yet!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 7
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 6
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 14:57:49

One of the best issues of Tiny Zine yet. The second installment of Roll & Play is a magic item generator-- a superb guide for TD2e GMs who want to make their own magic items, and could be useful for other Tiny D6 games as well.

The section on traps is simply invaluable for GMs. If you play Tiny D6 games (especially Tiny Dungeon 2e), then this is one you really ought to pick up.

The new heritages are fun and Halloweeny. They also help model monster-to-PC conversion, which is hugely helpful.

I also found the A&A content to be interesting and thought-provoking, but since I don't really play that game I can't speak for its utility in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 6
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 5
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 14:50:44

If you play any Tiny D6 games, this one is a must have, for at least two reasons.

  • There are three new Traits for berserkers, including one Drawback Trait. Drawbacks are an AMAZING concept which really opens up a world of new possibilities for the game. If you are a GM, you NEED this.

  • A fully fleshed-out (17 page) adventure, Literal Tiny Dungeon. Well worth the cover price by itself. You can drop this into pretty much any fantasy campaign for a fun change of pace. (It would also probably work for Supers, and maybe even a sufficiently-advanced-technology Frontiers campaign.)

The Zine also includes two other features, both very good.

  • The new microsetting (Green Hell) works for Tiny Dungeon and Tiny Frontier. (And probably Wastelands, and maybe Supers?) Plus, I love all the intriguing flavor text.

  • The Roll & Play feature is basically a random tavern generator, and is very fun.

Without a doubt, the best issue yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Beach Patrol
by Karlen K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2018 18:08:21

Beach Patrol harkens back to the 90s era of action packed TV shows that stretched the imagination to bring suspense to your living room. Now you can relive that action at your table as you follow in the footsteps of the great Hoff himself.

What I really love about these rules is that the explicity state that the setting isn't all about combat. Sure, there were fights on Baywatch and Baywatch Nights occassionally, but the rest of the time it was difficult situations being tackled by slo-mo beach running heroes who were all about keeping the beach goers safe. These rules bring that to life without stepping on the toes of the players and the new Slo-Mo rules makes it so everyone has a chance to be a hero every single session.

If you like the TinyD6 system or just the nostalgia this setting is attempting to capture then six bucks is a steal to have some great fun.

I can't wait to run this at Chupacabra Con!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beach Patrol
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tiny Frontiers: Revised
by Jordon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2018 14:49:23

This is a great game! Some great improvements on the original version. If you don't have it, go buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tiny Dungeons 2e: Hatchling + Core [BUNDLE]
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2018 14:18:36

A great value for the money. In particular, it's a terrific way to get both 2e and Hatchling Edition at a reduced cost (Or, for people who already have the second edition to pick up the hatchling addition at a reduced cost. Thanks, DriveThru RPG!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeons 2e: Hatchling + Core [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Moebius Adventures Core Rules
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/11/2018 21:29:55

A very interesting, if a bit crunchy, universal RPG system.

The game has a great character creation system and that really seems to be the gem of this book. The other sections; skills, combat, are also good and support the main system well. I have not played the game, but it feels like one that will take just a little used to at first. I can see this working great for the right group and even one that can really make it shine. There is a great game here, it will take the right group to find it.

The book itself is 140+ pages, black & white art. The book listed originally at $24.95 but is now Pay What You Want. I think this is actually a great plan for this book/game. Sell the core at a cheaper, or nearly free price, and sell the additional books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Moebius Adventures Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aliens & Asteroids
by Pierre S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2018 16:27:40

Aliens & Asteroids is a great, not over-large game focusing on combat-mission SF similar to movies such as ALIENS or STARSHIP TROOPERS. The game-system is named Inverse20, where you roll a d20 to get a number equal to or less than a Target Number (TN). Rolling a 1 (or the exact Target Number) is a Critical Success, rolling a 20 is a Critical Fail. Actions are sometimes taken with an Advantage, in which case you roll 2 d20s and take the most advantageous roll, or at a Disadvantage (roll 2 d20s and take the least advantageous roll). There can be only one Advantage or Disadvantage situation and, if you are somehow receiving both, they cancel out. This kind of scheme is familiar to players of D&D 5th-ed.

Characters are defined as belonging to the Dominion Space Forces. They have 7 basic physical and mental Attributes, determined by rolling 2d3 and adding 8. There are a few Secondary Attributes which are derived from the first ones. Characters also accumulate certain Traits, based on their planet of origin or career path. There are military soldier-type characters but also specialists in other careers who are essential to pulling off a successful mission. Soldiers get to go hog-wild with an assault-rifle, others get a handgun, but all may add special gear. Traits and gear may add to an Attribute-based roll or confer an Advantage. Not having the right gear, not having the right skill Trait, or situational problems might confer a Disadvantage to the roll. Damage is always figured in d3 or d6 rolls with modifiers, and some weapons have special effects. Armor resists damage, but if the Armor Resistance rating is overcome, Armor Points absorb the excess damage until the armor is worn away.

The Dominion setting and alien races are covered, and your characters are encouraged to read massive tomes on the Dominion's history and political structure, as they ride through a B.A.N.C.E. Gate to jump to the adventure. Okay, just kidding! Maybe all the characters care about is to be pointed to the right opposition and to fight it! Technology, drones (assorted robots), weapons and gear are covered, there is a chapter on Refereeing and guidelines to set up and run a set of missions, finishing missions, and levelling up. A few alien and creature stats are given with guidelines and tables on designing your own. There is finally a sample-adventure, "Graduation Day", where the graduation of a squad of fresh recruits graduating on Luna is interrupted, and they are asked to investigate strange goings-on nearby.

This is an effective, digest-sized 111-page book which does what it sets out to do. I managed to join an introductory teleconferenced game run by the main author, reconning a dead asteroid-base that stopped broadcasting, and our characters had a nervous exploration and restoration of the floors to find out the cause. Diverse character types meshed well, each playing their part. You get a lot of SF mileage from what the players put in, all the great stuff like gear and squad-banter from movies and TV shows.

So what are you waiting for, grunt? Crack open the airlock, drop the ramp, and let's have a Bug Hunt!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens & Asteroids
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tiny Frontiers: Revised
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2018 15:28:06

Tiny Frontiers: Revised was unlocked as a stretch goal as part of the Tiny Dungeon 2nd Edition Kickstarter. As a backer of the original Tiny Frontiers, I admit my skepticism of a revision on a game that is good already. However, there were quite a few awesome new things built into the later TinyD6 games, and I didn’t mind getting those built in by default. When I heard there would be a new set of micro settings, I was sold 100%.

You can read my full review here: https://liamwrites.com/2018/07/19/rpg-review-tiny-frontiers-revised/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Insta-NPCs #9: Cults and Cultists
by Ken F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 17:08:17

I needed some ideas on how to create a cult in a GURPS Supers! campaign and I found Insta-NPCs #9: Cults and Cultists useful. I didn't need to roll on the tables, since the descriptions in the results provided what I needed. I can see this being handy in the future when I'm stuck on ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Insta-NPCs #9: Cults and Cultists
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

For Coin & Blood
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2018 20:32:56

This review originally appeared on my blog, Halfling's Luck, at http://halflingsluck.blogspot.com

REVIEW: For Coin & Blood I remember hearing vaguely about For Coin & Blood some time ago, but it seemed to pass me by before I got a chance to investigate. Then Diogo Nogueira, author of Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells and Solar Blades & Cosmic Spells, made mention of it on social media. And when Diogo endorses a game, there's a really good shot that I'm going to like it.

So, I googled For Coin & Blood and started investigating. Well, what I found was an awesome little game made by a passionate creator. Like my own The Hero's Journey (and obviously White Star), FCB is built on the Swords & Wizardry White Box chassis. It draws heavy inspiration from a more grim and gritty side of fantasy, clearly influenced by works such as The Black Company and The First Law series' of novels. By combining and tweaking White Box, material from several third party supplements, throwing in a heaping helping of evocative art, and excellent production values Gallant Knight Games has managed to produce a gem of a game.

While I'm not familiar with the fiction mention above, huge credit to the creators of FCB for creating a game that oozes dark fantasy. In fact, I was a bit jealous as I read through the book because I immediately thought "This would be great to run a White Box: Game of Thrones style game," which is something I had always hoped to write myself. Well, Gallant Knight Games beat me to it and good on them! The material is so evocative that it inspired me to pick up the first book in The Black Company series of novels.

So, what separates For Coin & Blood from traditional fantasy roleplaying games? Well, for starters it runs on the presumption that the player characters are not heroes. There are no holy protectors or knights in shining armor here, folks. But, what elevates this above the tired trope of "you play the villains," is that For Blood & Coin presents players and narrators with the opportunity to play characters who are complex and nuanced. No alignments, no archetypes. These are characters who are certainly self-serving, but are still capable of heroism if they so choose. The complexities of characters like Arya Stark or Jaime Lannister are right at home in this game -- and that's awesome!

Beyond fantastic, heavily shadowed black and white line art, the most evocative feature of the game are its classes. No paladins, fighters, or bards here folks. Sellswords, Blackguards, and Assassins rule the day These characters are tarnished by their own sins and willingness to do horrible things, but aren't mustache twirling villains. They're just willing to do what needs to be done when others aren't willing to get their hands dirty. That's something that's refreshing and pretty damned unique in the OSR, separating it from the more heroic games like The Hero's Journey or pulp stylings of White Box Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game.

Author Alan Bahr grabs hold of plenty of open source third party material then tweaks it until he's given it a new, but dingy and tainted coat of paint and created something all his own. There is plenty of familiar material here, but its all modified to the grimdark mood. A few areas of note include his adversaries section, the small tweaks to the player character classes, and rules for player characters running a criminal organization.

For Blood & Coin runs under the assumption that all player characters and most adversaries are human. There are no rules included for playing non-human characters and the bulk of adversaries included in this book are mundane. This creates the implication that magical creatures (and by extension magic itself) is rare and dangerous. This helps add to the atmosphere of the material as well as keeping the page count down. A handful of fantastic creatures are included, but that only helps to accentuate their rarity in my opinion.

This is a deadly game. Characters begin play with more hit points than other White Box-style games, but gain very, very as they increase in level. In fact, it's likely that a critical hit will kill even a 10th level character outright. Again, this adds to the grimdark feel of the material and in addition will force player characters to think beyond the "beat it till XP comes out" mentality that too often plagues fantasy roleplaying games. Each class also features abilities that are familiar tropes from the traditional fighter/cleric/wizard (called sellsword, priest, and magus in this game) dynamic, but takes the time to spice up these core three into something that feels genuine to the setting material. Four additional classes (assassin, blackguard, cutpurse, and knight) round out player character options. Each is just different enough to have its own unique feel, but isn't bloated with extra, unnecessary rules.

In the final pages of the rules, Bahr includes rules for player characters running and joining criminal organizations. Based on Swords & Wizardry Chivalry, the author has taken the concepts found in that book and given them a new and wonderful spin that (yet again) reinforces the themes and tone of the grimdark fantasy genre. Even as someone who originally wrote Chivalry, I found Bahr's tweaking of my original concept to be absolutely wonderful and refreshing.

I'd also be remiss if I didn't mention the inclusion of a 7th Ability Score: Infamy. A character's deeds and misdeeds have a huge impact on the game and this form of measuring a character's reputation provide a more complex and dynamic roleplaying experience that the more traditional alignments used in most games. In fact, alignments have been completely jettisoned in For Coin & Blood, and that's a good thing in this context.

Pound for point, point for point, For Coin & Blood is my go-to grimdark fantasy roleplaying game. In fact, grabbing it has actually saved me money because I've purchased a copy in lieu of Warhammer or Shadow of the Demon Lord. My affection for White Box-based games is well known and this is takes that original edition style of game into a new and wonderful direction by presenting a game that offers opportunities for complex, morally ambigious storytelling not often actively encouraged in the OSR. I can't wait to see where Bahr takes the game line next.

For Coin & Blood can be found on RPGNow & DriveThruRPG in PDF and print-on-demand versions. PoD is in digest form, with a black and white interior, though it can be ordered on color quality paper for a higher quality product -- which I'd recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
For Coin & Blood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 92 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG