RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2008 16:39:23
I purchased this product based on the discription of the product and what it could do. I do mostly modern and sci-fi games and have been looking for a program to do maps and starship deckplans. While $45 is alot of money I figured it would be worth it to get the kind of support I was looking for. Then after I purchased it I read the fine print that in order to do all the things I want with this software I would have to purchase three additional software updates for a grand total of $144.80 (CC3, Cosmographer, Symbol Set 3: Modern, and the Character Artist), When it comes down to what I want the software to do the core program is usless to me without these add ons. I would be nice if the company could have either reduced the price of the add-ons or created a lite version of the core software (at a reduced price) that didn't have all the core functionality but was geared more toward uses intending to mainly use the add-ons. This Software will do everything I want it to do but beware that you will end up spending alot more that just the $45 for this core program.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
by Debra P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2008 02:45:13
This is a program i have slobbered over for some time - they lowered the price significantly and i jumped at the chance to own it. I have not been dissappointed.


It is not something for computer beginners. while more intuitive than the previous versions, its still not the easiest, most user friendly program i've ever used. However, there are easier programs out there - but they will not come up to this program's level of complete cartographer's dream as this one.

I cannot stress enough when you are using this program - SAVE OFTEN! and USE LAYERS!! They provide the tools for you but if you don't use them, they're not going to be responsible for your crud-tacular maps. Do not forget to check the profantasy website for the free content!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Fractal Mapper Crossgrade
by Morten B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2008 13:58:25
CC3 offers all you need and more. The tutorials are great and easy to understand. Though it takes a while to manage all the features in the program, it is all worth the time spent to became a master map designer.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Fractal Mapper Crossgrade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2008 00:27:03
Excellent CAD based cartography program for creating maps. If you were always impressed by the maps you found in RPG products, such as the Forgotten Realms maps, this is the program to make them. There is a learning curve to learning to use the program so be prepared to invest a number of hours before you're creating maps you want. If you're familiar with programs such as CAD and other vector based programs you will have an easier time for sure.

If you're only going to make a map or two you may want to step away from it, but for those who enjoy making maps and impressing their players with their work then the program is certainly worth every cent.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Designer 3
by Clifton W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2008 12:48:55
Excellent program with a vast range of uses. The maps you can create with this software are beautiful, and it's also ideal for making adventure tiles for miniatures use. Changing the scale of objects placed is very easy. The instruction files are detailed and useful, with tutorials to help get you started. Besides the large number of symbols and styles already included in the program, it's also relatively easy to import your own .bmp files.
One of the most useful features is the different layers of the map that you can hide or show as you choose, allowing you to print out one map for your players without any of the secret doors or traps on the map, and a separate map for the DM with everything visible.

Pros: Beautiful maps, vast array of features

Cons: High learning curve. There's so much to this program that it takes awhile to get used to.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Designer 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Designer 3
by rod d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2008 01:59:56
Trash. The UI is impossible, cluttered, and completely departs from industry standards. The tutorials are so different from actual program use that it's likely the writers didn't use the program at all, and merely wrote from a bulleted list provided by programmers. I spent six hours trying to reduce the scale of an icon but never once succeeded. Hopefully their "money back guarantee" is better than the program.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Fractal Mapper Crossgrade
by rod d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2008 01:58:26
Trash. The UI is impossible, cluttered, and completely departs from industry standards. The tutorials are so different from actual program use that it's likely the writers didn't use the program at all, and merely wrote from a bulleted list provided by programmers. I spent six hours trying to reduce the scale of an icon but never once succeeded. Hopefully their "money back guarantee" is better than the program.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Fractal Mapper Crossgrade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
by eric m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2007 11:53:40
Quite a powerful product but can be a little daunting. This was the first mapping program I bought and have no autocad experience so as such I might have chosen poorly. I found the controls and mechanics a little trick (the use of right clicking for example) but the tutorial and tech support have been very helpful.

Basically the learning curve is quite high, it can product some beautiful work if you have the patience to learn it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CC2 Symbol Set 3 - Modern
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2007 00:00:00
The map symbols were good, but the objects to place on top-down views are amateurish, I wouldn't want to work on a map for so long to have it polluted with substandard art like this set provides.


LIKED: The topographical map symbols look good and are useful.

DISLIKED: Poor quality of objects and items.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Ripped Off


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
CC2 Symbol Set 3 - Modern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
by Patrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2006 00:00:00
MUCH, MUCH easier to work with than previous versions, definetly user-friendly! If you had trouble figuring out how to work the the previous versions, then you'll enjoy CC3. In under 10 minutes I was busy designing my game world from scratch!

Now, it's simply a matter of selecting a terrain icon (e.g. mountain, building, etc.) and dragging it over to a spot on your map, click and its set! Great zooming featues allow you to draw in close to a particular section of your world for an expanded view.

This, together with DM GENIE is a DM's dream.

Buy this product!!!


LIKED: Simpler to use than previous versions.

DISLIKED: There's a slight bug in the program when drawing rivers...sometimes, when tracing the river's route, the drawing line jumps in another direction. Not a big deal and certainly doesn't detract from the overall usefulness this product is to gamers looking to design world maps for their campaigns...but hopefully they'll work this bug out.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Cartographer 3 Dundjinni Crossgrade
by Scott D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2006 00:00:00
A substantial art upgrade to the venerable leader of fantasy mapping, CC3 promises it all: campaign maps (which they have always been best at) all the way down to battle mats (with upstarts like Dundjinni surpassing them until recently).

I have played with it and here is the skinny: it crashed a couple times, and I have a fully-updated, new, and very fast computer. It is substantially more difficult to use than Dundjinni, and its battle mat art is not as nice. However, you can throw together an overland map pretty easily. For former CC users, this is a must upgrade. For newcomers, if you want battle mats and a very occasional overland map, consider Dundjinni. If you do not mind a learning curve, then buy this, but understand that you aren't going to fiddle with the app for an hour and produce maps on par with their published samples. You CAN do that with Dundjinni...


LIKED: Great art upgrade, and now, you can finally make sorthwhile battlemats for tabletop play.

DISLIKED: Crashes, steep learning curve.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Dundjinni Crossgrade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
We'd appreciate feedback on any crashes, because the level of tech support (and my own experience) suggests it is very stable. The free CSUAC art pack allows you to use Dundjinni user art to create battlemats, and DD3 (when it's released) will add to that capability. If you do own Dundjinni, you'll find that all the CC3 overland art is available for use in Dundjinni, without license restrictions.
Tome of Ultimate Mapping
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2006 00:00:00
I picked up the Tome after I purchased Campaign Cartographer 3. I played around with the program for awhile but then caved in and got the tome. The Tome I found very useful for a novice and it probably eliminated hours of playing around with CC3 trying to figure things out. Specifically, making nice paper looking maps.

Although this is intended for users of Campaign Cartographer 2 and its various addons, I found it still easy to follow with CC3.


LIKED: A fast track to making decent maps and getting comfortable with Campaign Cartographer.

DISLIKED: There is a bunch of material in the Tome that I don't have a use for. Specifically those parts dealing with CC2Pro's addons. However, this isn't a fault of the Tome, more so just material I didn't need for my own uses.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Ultimate Mapping
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Cartographer 3 Dundjinni Crossgrade
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2006 00:00:00
Good value pack that allows me to use both my (now) favourite products. CC3 looks to be a big step ahead for and I have used it extensively over the past few months

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Dundjinni Crossgrade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tome of Ultimate Mapping
by George O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2006 00:00:00
Useful reference. The customer support from this company is very, very good.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Ultimate Mapping
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Perspectives Pro
by Jose L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2006 00:00:00
Perspectives Pro is a very interesting addon for Campaign Cartographer. It allows you to make 3D maps of dungeons, caves, buildings, and similar locales. The maps have an isometric look and feel, which works great. There are TONS of 3D objects you can add to your map, such as columns, furniture, pits, etc. With a bit of work, you can even make 3D maps of towns and cities. Its a great piece of sofware if you use Dungeon Designer or City Designer.


LIKED: Easy to use...you can make great looking 3D isometric maps quickly. You can even render your 2D maps into 3D with a few easy steps.

DISLIKED: Not really a dislike about the product, but Profantasy needs more examples of Perspectives Pro maps on their web site. The current selection is too small to do the product justice.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Perspectives Pro
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG