RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Set Rising Primer
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2014 06:30:56
A good overview of Set Rising which is itself an intriguing world setting. Pick up the Primer for free and take a look for yourself.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Set Rising Primer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeonlands: Isle of the Frog God SW
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 12:58:46
I picked this up as inspiration for the game I am currently running. I don't play this system, but from what I read through, this is a very good small setting with a lot of room for growth. The NPCs were clearly defined and the conflict at hand gives the players a great chance to pick one of many options to determine what they are going to do.

The included bestiary is great, even though I don't use this system. It will allow me to customize monsters/npcs in my own campaign to emulate them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeonlands: Isle of the Frog God SW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shanghai Vampocalypse (Savage Worlds)
by Dustin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2014 16:21:44
Let me start off by saying Savage mojo had a very good idea, unfortunately if came up short in my opinion for a few simple reasons.

Lets start off with what I like about the product.

1. The history and setting are intense and dire; you feel and know the world is in a desperate place and there is no way to escape from it.
2. The Horror aspect of the campaign was done right, with slow build up and gradually increasing danger you and the PC's are sucked into the story.
3. The martial arts sections is a good resource (but requires some tweaking) for those players who have attempted to play a martial artist and found it impossible.

Now what I don't like
1. The Suzerien setting; my biggest qualm with Shanghai Vampocalypse is that you are required to use the Suzerien Continuum. If you're not familiar with this it's a system that adjust the rules of Savage worlds in order to allow your characters to play as “Demi-God's”
2. Lack of adaptability; this is really tied back to point one, but its a key factor for me. The Suzerien setting changes aspects of game play such as power points, due to this it's more difficult to import stock characters from supplements.
3. The Lack of maps; while it is true most people can make their own several of these locations are very specific, and because of that I feel that Savage Mojo should have included at least one or two key areas.

Currently I'm working to adjust the campaign to allow regular game play. I'm doing this by tweaking some of the characters in the campaign to fit into Interface Zero 2.0.
So while I feel that it has a great deal of merit I'm not sure that it was worth the full price I paid.
My advice would be to keep it in your wish list and wait for a price reduction (like the Savage September Sale) strip out the Suzerien rules and apply the campaign to another cyber-punk setting like Interface Zero 2.0 by Gun Metal Games or Daring tales of the Sprawl by Triple Ace Games.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shanghai Vampocalypse (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeonlands: Isle of the Frog God SW
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2014 18:37:51
This is a good small adventure setting. The players will be under pressure and attacked by varied foes. They will have to survive by their wits and what they have with them or can scrounge.

Groth the demon god behemoth makes for a memorable opponent and should be a challenge. Groth’s immunities and resistances are very interesting. With preparation, a dm could make this very challenging, but give the players the tools to defeat it IF they use the right tools.

It would be far better if a map was included with this adventure. The style and design are pleasing to the eye, and there are some nice pictures, but no picture of Groth—there really should have been. A missed opportunity.

4/5

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeonlands: Isle of the Frog God SW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks Trev. It\'s tough for a free product to do maps too because they take a lot of effort to do well and the cartographer has a right to eat. However, here\'s a thing we might do - what if Isle of the Frog God were available in two versions, with or without maps? With maps it\'s a paid product and without it\'s free? We could do that, if you think it\'d be of interest. Feedback like that helps us know what fans want, so it\'s always useful. Happy Suzeraining!
Suzerain Continuum
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/15/2014 09:39:42
Do you enjoy Suzerain? Good. Do you want to take your game further by exploring the different realms that use Suzerain as a base? Even better. Do you want to be able to move the party seamlessly between them? Excellent. Read on...

One of the most accomplished uses of PDF technology that I've seen, this work seeks to show you what is available within the overarching Suzerain concept and how to use it to create a sweeping epic that will take your characters into different realms. If you have several of the main settings already, you will find out how to link them and transition from one to another. If you are new to Suzerain, this will show you the potentials and enable you to make informed decisions about where you might take your game and which products you'll need to make it happen.

OK, it's an impressive bit of sales fluff! But if you want to know about the scope of Suzerain, understand how it all hangs together, you will have fun delving through this...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Suzerain Continuum
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tomb of the Lich Queen (Pathfinder)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/21/2013 10:57:09
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This mega-module is 142 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page advertisement, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of backers-by-level, 2 pages of SRD, leaving us with 134 pages of content - quite a lot, so let's take a look, shall we?



This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.



All right, still here? We kick off this module in an unconventional way - via a full-blown short story by Kevin Andrew Murphy that depicts the legend of the Lich-Queen in a rather compelling narrative spanning a full 21 pages - the cliffnotes version would be that on a world, once there were tragic heroes/villains, gifted with the tears of the legendary angel Anat. By trickery and fate's tangled web, the protagonists escaped a cataclysm on their world, the wizardess essentially took possession of all the tears, becoming an immortal being leaching souls and the life-blood of said legendary angel. There, on an island called Paxectel, beyond space and probably, time, the Lich-Queen still waits, the Angel Anat still subject to a heinous torture, while mad Tismaya, adversary of the lich queen, still walks the lands.



After a short section of advice on the Suzerain-setting and placing the module, we are introduced to the cliché introduction of the module - it kicks off in a tavern. Yeah. But at least a bard plays a gorgeous song (fully depicted), allowing for a rather neat, fluffy means of providing background exposition to the PCs - especially since advice on tune etc. are provided as well If the PCs decide to follow the mysterious bard, they are swallowed by a vortex of energy. and unceremoniously dumped on Paxectel island (fully mapped, btw.!) - and here, in this pocket dimension, the PCs capabilities get crippled: Looking into another plane entails a will save (called willpower save here) to prevent taking damage. I assume this extends to the ethereal, but that's a minor detriment - worse would be the inability to summon creatures (apart from eidolons, which work as usual); Summoning-specialists are limited to creature-simulacra created by the island and may not choose to call specific creatures -no planar allies and the like. Per se an interesting fluff-restriction, but one that could have provided a more...tangible impact on the summoned beings for a unique experience - as provided, the results may even slip by your PCs completely. Another restriction would be: No inter-planar travel, no teleportation, no flight, unless via natural wings. while I get the intention, essentially, that's cheating. One of the things that makes designing high-level modules HARD is the fact that the PCs are that mobile - stripping them of the ability instead of making it unreliable or risky feels like an arbitrary crippling of grown abilities. I also take offense at the categorization of "only natural flight". What is natural? A wildshaped druid? A race/class with levitate or similar powers as racial abilities? What about characters that have gained access to flight as spell-like or supernatural abilities? Can eidolons still fly? We need hard guidelines to properly implement restrictions like this, cop out though they are.



All right, so a bunch of level 15+ PCs are stranded on this island in a pocket dimension -they probably start exploring immediately, gathering artifacts of the original heroes/former companions of the Lich Queen. Here, I honestly almost ragequit this review. No. Seriously. Why? because this module HAS NO MAPS. Yes. No maps. There is a free web-enhancement that includes some bonus encounters as well as cards with parts of maps on them - but these cards have no grid and the map-component makes up about 1/2 of the card - useless for map-purposes. And know what? There is a map-supplement! It's a separate pdf costing.... 30 bucks. Yes, immensely detailed etc. But know what? Why not provide minor maps for the module they're selling it? Oh, and Dungeon Tiles... + 15 bucks, yet another separate pdf. let's do the math, shall we? 20 bucks+30 bucks+15=? 65 bucks. Pdf-only. You still have to print these. OUCH. And no, I don't have these supplemental pdfs.



Now to be fair, we get a way to use d10s+d20s to choose rooms, but still - this lack of regular maps makes the whole experience of trying to picture this dungeon jarring at best.... Which is a damn pity. For the unique constructs of the puzzle/living dungeon/deathtrap lying under the island brims with imagination - diminutive engineers, alternate flesh and iron golems - wow. Now let's take a look at the rooms, shall we? Well, there's for example a room with colored tiles, in which a strange melody is playing - a melody that contains the key to solving the trapped floor-puzzle. Why no fly over it? Oh, wait. You can't. Flying's forbidden. *sigh* And yes, disabling the traps brute force is possible - but it's weird since we don't have a map to show us how many of these tiles are there. Or what about a poison gas chamber that can be bypassed either by a rogue or by committing a selfless act? Crushing corridors, deadly sound-emitting statues or blood moss? Rather cool, though the latter fails to properly use the grapple-mechanics for what is clearly a grapple in lieu of opposing strength-checks. There also is a cool illusion, but no strength of the aura/spell mentioned to properly handle high-level magic ways to bypass it. And yes, dealing with Trismaya the Mad, the adversary of the Lich Queen (no less dangerous than the Lich Queen) and unearthing information from her ramblings is also required. Have I mentioned a deafening discourse with the voices from beyond?

Among the deadly, and lavishly illustrated adversaries herein, we also find a vampiric ranger, a unique outsider (the champion of woe) and an inexplicably CN movanic deva (which makes no sense, seeing the good-subtype and lack of any in-game rationale why he's not fallen), a planetar and then, finally, the final boss encounters, one of which is a red-gold hybrid dragon (!!!) and the second, guarded by a CR 20-trap (!!!) would be a false CR 17 lich queen - after which the way into her deadly puzzle machinery that whirs behind the dungeon's walls is finally opened - here the second module will begin upon release.



The final 20 pages contain further adversaries to populate the dungeon - and the builds are AWESOME: These are deadly, lavishly-illustrated, awesome foes, well-worthy, deadly high-level builds - from cool and creepy to Rhino-slug weird, a cool mini bestiary/NPC-collection!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch - I didn't notice significant glitches. Layout adheres to a drop-dead gorgeous two-column standard that is easy to read and stunning to look at - well fitting for a premium product! The same can be said about the excessive, vast amount of super full-color and b/w-artworks (the latter of which are rather scarce) - though veterans of 3.X-days may know some, though by far not all of the character-artworks from Bastion Press' "Allies and Adversaries"-supplement. The pdf comes fully bookmarked, but sans a printer-friendly version - which is bad, since this pdf will extol a BRUTAL drain on your printer.



Örks. An excessive background story, a dungeon of tomb of horrors-deadliness-level, supreme production values...what's not to like? Indeed, this module is a meat-grinder, a challenge, a module to brag about when surviving. A high-level challenge. Full of superb prose, cool characters, imaginative monsters. A module that mentions a lot of PFRPG-builds, utilizes spells etc. well and overall, can be considered not only well-crafted on a basic level, but actually well-written - copious, awesome read-aloud-text helps prospective DMs run this. And yes, it breathes the spirit of old-school adventuring while hitting high level high fantasy notes. On the one hand - on the other, this module fails - the artifacts of the former heroes/erstwhile companions of the Lich Queen get no proper item-stats, here and there are inappropriate mechanics used to resolve challenges. And then, there's the final issue on a content-level:



The module cheats in the worst tradition from the old-school days: The fiat. Abilities don't fit your idea? Flat-out ban them. There, I said it. The CHALLENGE of high-level design is not cranking up the numbers, it's about dealing with the possibilities at the PC's disposal. Flight and Teleportation being chief among them. Just flat-out banning them is a cop-out. And that's not the only instance. If you scrape the beautiful surface, you'll notice a lot of these problems in the details - from missing school-auras to not using the proper, existing tools to e.g. craft illusions etc. (thus including ways to bypass them), this pdf, with all its at times neat knowledge of details and usage of supplements feels like it at times just didn't care and instead only DM-fiats solutions. Much like a railroady videogame, the challenges herein usually have ONE proper solution that you're supposed to go for. Cleverly using the abundant resources gets you nowhere as a player - and worse, often the intended solutions don't follow the logic of the available resources, whereas at times, the supplement makes SUPERB use of them and the respective rules. Nevertheless, as much as I'm loathe to say it - cheating players out of resources is bad design with a capital "B" in my book.



That being said, when tackled on its own, this module still should be considered a joyous read and the meta-complaints I just fielded can be offset with a good DM. What's really problematic would be the lack of maps.

Call me a jerk, call me old.school, but I don't care for any amount of gorgeous artworks or 20 pages of short story when I don't get FRIGGIN' MAPS for 20 bucks. Yes, this book is beautiful and yes, I get that the dungeon is supposed to be modular - but know what would help? Maps of the rooms. Maps that don't require me to spend an additional 30 bucks (+ potentially 15) to get the maximum out of this module. And yes, the additional map-packs may be the cream of the crop, the nirvana of maps - but what does that help me when the supplement that uses them does not even feature low-res or downscaled rudimentary versions?

As written, the encounters and characters are superb, the text great - but sans a map, the whole complex remains opaque in its dimensions, possible connections etc. I'm honestly, even after weeks, still pissed at the omission of what is not just decor (like the gorgeous artworks), but rather a central component of any module. Think about similar premium products: Rappan Athuk, Razor Coast etc. (and yes + maps, this comparison is justified) - you get 3-5 times the content AND MAPS. You can get map-packs in addition, but they are not omitted from the mega-module. Think how an AP would stand up if Paizo told you: "Want maps? You HAVE to buy our (kinda optional) map-packs, no more maps in the APs. But we'll make them really big and shiny." Would you be ok with that? Thought so. Now think about said products and how to run them sans maps. Get my drift? I don't care how good the 30-buck map-pack is, selling a 20-buck module sans cartography is just an insult in my book, especially sans pointing out the lack of proper maps.



It's been a while since I've been so conflicted about a product - on the one hand, I love the NPCs, creatures, storyline and several of the challenges herein - as a toolbox to scavenge, this is awesome. On the other, I have rarely been so frustrated by a module, so pissed off by a product. From the lack of a printer-friendly version to the lack of maps to the writing cheating PCs out of some of their best tricks to make the module work, I feel like this pdf, when it had the chance to revolutionize what one can expect from dungeon crawls, opted to go for a beautiful polish and then made essential components add-ons. Where's the printer-friendly version?



It took me some time to get what made me so annoyed by an otherwise great supplement - it's that this pdf is inconsiderate. From the lack of maps to the lack of a printer-friendly version to a lack of consideration regarding high-level character options, this module is superbly written, yes. But it also says "Here's the way to do this - and that's the way. Have problems with it? Want comfort? Tough luck." And honestly, for me as a person...In spite of loving the characters and set-up and the adversaries and often creative traps, this module is ruined by not being able to use them since they're cheating by taking player-resources out of the game in the first place, when they instead could have worked WITH the options. Created teleportation-puzzles, ones that require planar callings etc. - working with the system instead of against it. For me as a private person, this module fails to deliver what it sets out to do - utterly. As a reviewer, though, I have to take into account that you might not mind the non-standard rules here and there or perhaps you just have money I frankly don't have and just shrug the maps away, saying "Pff, Endzeitgeist has no idea, with these maps the module is the best thing ever and I don't care about players being cheated out of some of their abilities!" - I can't verify this, but I have to take it into account. This pdf is production quality-wise 5 stars +seal of approval, content-wise a 3.5 and for me personally, a 1-star disappointment. As a reviewer, taking into account the feelings of others and different takes on what's important etc., I'll instead settle on a final verdict of 3 stars. Caveat Emptor, though. I can't verify it, but you should probably get the 30-buck-map-pack as well.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Lich Queen (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Maps: Distant Planet 1
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2013 00:21:32
The dark features are too dark and don't print well. Also, the images on each page take up only part of the page, but are centred so close to the top that in some cases the top line doesn't fully print. If you're going to have an image fill only part of the page, why have it almost touching the very top of the page?

I like the concept of it, but frankly can't recommend it as it currently is set up.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Maps: Distant Planet 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Clockwork Dreams Character Options
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/18/2013 12:20:13
Beautifully-presented introduction to Savage Mojo's 'faerie meets steampunk' setting covering races and skills. There's an opening timeline with some flavour text which is unreadable due to an over-fancy background, but then things settle down to an ancient parchment style that doesn't obscure what is being said.

The first topic under discussion is the skills that your character can have, and how he can use them to best effect... and the underlying game mechanics that you will have to understand to do so. They are alchemy and invention, both based around the character's Smarts, and will be suitable for those - faerie or not - who want to be the tinkerers and experimenters in this setting. There are also specialised Knowledge skills, of the sky and the land of the campaign world.

Next comes a selection of racial edges, which will come into play based on which race you choose for your character. Not just edges, there are hindrances and special abilities as well. They are nicely balanced and fit well with conventional lore about sidhe, brownies, goblins, elves and the like, yet flow well into a steampunk setting.

Interesting material especially if you anticipate a lot of faerie characters in your game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clockwork Dreams Character Options
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeonlands: Fear of Life (PDF)
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/15/2013 19:13:24
This is an illustrated Story by Matt Forbeck for Dungeonlands:Tomb of the Lich-Queen from their Kickstarter of the same name. You may remember Matt from Brave New Worlds and the formation of Pinnacle Entertainment Group with Shane Hensley to publish Deadlands. Yup, that Matt Forbeck.

The story shares how two adventurers, Lexa & Skargar, team up and descend into an ancient tomb... and discover the horror that is the Tomb of the Lich-Queen. It's a short story and doesn't spill all the beans but gives a nice introduction. The illustrations are well done. It seems to be quite a bit of art for such a short story. It's a very quick read so $1.99 might be a little high but it's only $1.99. For a full review of all the Dungeonlands: Tomb of the Lich-Queen see: https://rptroll.blogspot.com

Enjoy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeonlands: Fear of Life (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeonlands: Into The Black (Savage Worlds)
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/15/2013 19:07:57
The Dungeonlands: Into the Black for Savage Worlds is more of a monster listing than an adventure. The work is essentially a 7 page full color teaser: the Cover, 2 pages of the encounter, and 4 pages of Suzerain adverts. Fair enough! The encounter is a great nasty Toparkil; a darkly enchanted undeadish aquatic lurker. It reminds me of the Watcher in the Water by the magic back door to Moria in Lord of the Rings with some very nasty differences. Put this critter in a deep dark pool in your dungeon and let the fearful fun ensue. And did I mention, it's free? Smartly done. I was now curious. What is Dungeonlands: Tomb of the Lich Queen? read the full review of Dungeonlands: Tomb of the Lich-Queen: http://rptroll.blogspot.com

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeonlands: Into The Black (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Caladon Falls: The Noble Houses of Caladon
by Matthew M. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2013 15:40:27
This is a good-sized document offered free of charge. I'll begin by saying that I have difficulty in coming up with names. I found this offering to be very helpful in that it detailed, as the name says, noble houses in the Caladon setting. I don't recall all this author's or design teams' work, but they offer a small handful of other free PDF documents. I am happily satified with this product and will use it to spur my own creativity in future adventures and stories. It is provided free of charge, therefore a true bonus. High marks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Caladon Falls: The Noble Houses of Caladon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeonlands Original Soundtrack
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2013 17:41:34
Let’s start with the most obvious plus: this is beautiful, inspiring music. I can’t really place it in the context of Dungeonlands, because I don’t know anything about Dungeonlands and the only Savage Mojo products I use are system-neutral (maps and such). Therefore, I can’t comment on whether or how the music fits the implicit storyline. But I can tell you that “Anat’s Lament” is haunting, “Heroes Arrive” is epic, and “Battle for the Catacombs” takes a while to build up to its exciting peak. Each of the six tracks comes in two versions, its standard version and then a “trailer version” that is more or less half the length of the standard version.

Now for the bad part: if you’re thinking about using these tracks as soundscapes to score an RPG session, I think you’ll be disappointed. Each individual track has a lot of ups and downs within itself, making for great listening but poor backgrounding. There are also a lot of vague choral vocals that could distract from your speech around the table. Also, the tracks don’t loop. At all. The beginnings and especially the endings are much too distinct for that, and the tracks are short enough (ranging from 3:31 to 6:37 for the non-trailer versions) for the transition to be very noticeable. Compositions like these could be great in a movie where the length of the scene and the length of the music correspond precisely; they are not so good at the gaming table, where the length of a scene can be unpredictable. I’ve never known an RPG meeting with a dragon to take precisely 5:43, for example.

And so the value of this product depends on its purpose. I won’t be using any of these tracks at the gaming table, because of the looping problem I mentioned earlier. However, I’m very glad to have this music in my listening library. It’s great for inspiration while I plan and prepare as a GM.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeonlands Original Soundtrack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Suzerain (Savage Worlds)
by Doug P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2012 13:11:18
Expands the Savage Worlds system to a level useful for a wide range of genres. Could easily be used to
convert Rifts or Unknown Armies to the SW system. We will definitely be using it for our local campaigns.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Suzerain (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gamescapes Battlemat Terrain: Ice Realm (PDF)
by Giampaul A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2012 17:29:14
Absolute garbage... I could have taken 2 minutes in photoshop to slap a snowy colored background down and overlay it with another while editing the transparency. Total waste of cash. Every map looks identical as well with miniscule variations. Do not buy this if you don't enjoy wasting money. I feel like I walked outside and opened my handful of dollars into the wind.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes Battlemat Terrain: Ice Realm (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Maps: Urban Sprawl
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/27/2012 12:20:04
This map pack provides a downtown intersection, useful in a variety of modern RPGs. Skyscrapers stand on three corners, with a parking lot on the fourth corner. The artwork is very good, although the skyscrapers are drawn in a perspective view rather than a strict top-down view. This may be slightly disorienting at first, but it's great for wall-crawling superheroes and the like.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Maps: Urban Sprawl
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 119 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG