RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dungeonlands: Isle of the Frog God (Savage Worlds)
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 12:58:46

I picked this up as inspiration for the game I am currently running. I don't play this system, but from what I read through, this is a very good small setting with a lot of room for growth. The NPCs were clearly defined and the conflict at hand gives the players a great chance to pick one of many options to determine what they are going to do.


The included bestiary is great, even though I don't use this system. It will allow me to customize monsters/npcs in my own campaign to emulate them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeonlands: Isle of the Frog God (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shanghai Vampocalypse (Savage Worlds)
by Dustin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2014 16:21:44

Let me start off by saying Savage mojo had a very good idea, unfortunately if came up short in my opinion for a few simple reasons.


Lets start off with what I like about the product.



  1. The history and setting are intense and dire; you feel and know the world is in a desperate place and there is no way to escape from it.

  2. The Horror aspect of the campaign was done right, with slow build up and gradually increasing danger you and the PC's are sucked into the story.

  3. The martial arts sections is a good resource (but requires some tweaking) for those players who have attempted to play a martial artist and found it impossible.


Now what I don't like



  1. The Suzerien setting; my biggest qualm with Shanghai Vampocalypse is that you are required to use the Suzerien Continuum. If you're not familiar with this it's a system that adjust the rules of Savage worlds in order to allow your characters to play as “Demi-God's”

  2. Lack of adaptability; this is really tied back to point one, but its a key factor for me. The Suzerien setting changes aspects of game play such as power points, due to this it's more difficult to import stock characters from supplements.

  3. The Lack of maps; while it is true most people can make their own several of these locations are very specific, and because of that I feel that Savage Mojo should have included at least one or two key areas.


Currently I'm working to adjust the campaign to allow regular game play. I'm doing this by tweaking some of the characters in the campaign to fit into Interface Zero 2.0.
So while I feel that it has a great deal of merit I'm not sure that it was worth the full price I paid.
My advice would be to keep it in your wish list and wait for a price reduction (like the Savage September Sale) strip out the Suzerien rules and apply the campaign to another cyber-punk setting like Interface Zero 2.0 by Gun Metal Games or Daring tales of the Sprawl by Triple Ace Games.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shanghai Vampocalypse (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeonlands: Isle of the Frog God (Savage Worlds)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2014 18:37:51

This is a good small adventure setting. The players will be under pressure and attacked by varied foes. They will have to survive by their wits and what they have with them or can scrounge.


Groth the demon god behemoth makes for a memorable opponent and should be a challenge. Groth’s immunities and resistances are very interesting. With preparation, a dm could make this very challenging, but give the players the tools to defeat it IF they use the right tools.


It would be far better if a map was included with this adventure. The style and design are pleasing to the eye, and there are some nice pictures, but no picture of Groth—there really should have been. A missed opportunity.


4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeonlands: Isle of the Frog God (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks Trev. It\'s tough for a free product to do maps too because they take a lot of effort to do well and the cartographer has a right to eat. However, here\'s a thing we might do - what if Isle of the Frog God were available in two versions, with or without maps? With maps it\'s a paid product and without it\'s free? We could do that, if you think it\'d be of interest. Feedback like that helps us know what fans want, so it\'s always useful. Happy Suzeraining!
Shaintar Guidebook: Malakar Dominion
by Brett S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 09:27:19

Very Good Book, and gives a Plethora of background information about the Malakar Dominion, and the schemes going on in and out of their borders. Very useful for a GM, and has a good amount of new edges for a former or exiled PC from the Dominion. Great Start to the Guidebook Series for Shaintar!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar Guidebook: Malakar Dominion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you very kindly!
Thank you very kindly!
Shaintar: Legends Arise
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/25/2014 12:21:37

WHAT WORKS: Even if you have no desire to play Shaintar, if you're running a fantasy game in Savage Worlds, there's some heavy duty stuff to strip-mine here. At least a few Edges will make their way into my Savage Midnight game, and maybe even a couple of the Setting Rules. A lot of it feels very familiar, sure, but there's a lot of cool tweaks (like the Korindians having their own martial art), and the ready made excuses to put folks together (like Grayson's Gray Rangers). I would also be doing the book an injustice if I failed to point out that it's gorgeous, with an absolutely amazing cover by Tomasz Tworek. Did I mention there's not a laundry list of "More Powerful Than Your PCs" NPCs to have to explain your way around? Although, they may be coming in the next book for all I know. (See? Told you I'm not in the loop.)


WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The Talisman Studios version had a really sweet random adventure generator that used cards that this one lacked. Not that I won't just swipe that from that book, of course...but YOU don't have access to it. In MY copy of the PDF, there were still a lot of "see page XXX" left, which may have been corrected by now (and which will hopefully be corrected by print for sure). The information for the setting itself gets painted in pretty broad strokes, which some folks are going to hate and some folks are going to love. Given that I'm just really getting started with one Savage Worlds fantasy game, I doubt I'll get to actually run Shaintar myself anytime soon.


CONCLUSION: For Pete's Sake, at least get the Player's Guide so you can rip liberally for your own Savage Worlds fantasy games. Then if it looks good enough, there's the full version of the book and the Kickstarter to consider. I love a lot of the tinkering Sean did with the Savage Worlds rules, and I seriously cannot wait to see what happens with Legends Unleashed and how it opens up magic to fit an "epic high fantasy" feel.


For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogev-
er.blogspot.com/2013/07/tommys-take-on-shaintar-legends-aris-
e.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shaintar: Legends Arise
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2014 13:12:02

I'm Darren W. Pearce, you might know the name (or not) from various RPGs over the last 13 or so years. I've seen a lot of RPG settings, I have worked on the Doctor Who RPG for Cubicle 7, Lone Wolf with Mongoose and Joe Dever and I've been kicking around in the RPG field for about 34 years or so.


I have seen a lot of settings, but Sean Patrick Fannon's Shaintar is one of the best High Fantasy Epic settings I've seen. I picked this up recently and it's a superb take on fantasy in general, packed with information galore on Shaintar and so many nice touches. I know my players are going to enjoy playing in a world that's not about murdering kobolds for gold coins, or slaughtering hordes of orcs.


I'm a big fan of Asprin's work, of Leiber and Shaintar is one of those rare settings that gives me the same chills as I got when I found the adventures of Fafhrd and the Grey Mouser, or delved into Sanctuary for the first time.


So Sean's really knocked this one out of the ballpark and I can't wait to spring it on my players. Top quality writing, good art and excellent setting information combine to really make this shine.


Credo.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar Monster Cards
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2014 20:43:45

A great idea marred by odd presentation. There are two monsters printed on each page and the backs of those cards are printed on the following page. It would have made a whole lot more sense putting the front and back of each card on the same page. As it stands, if you just want to print specific cards you are wasting extra ink and paper on cards you might not want to print. For example, one page has a Builder Arclancer and the Aetherial Warder of the First Host and the next page has the reverse side for both. I would rather print one page, fold it over, and tape it closed.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar Monster Cards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I greatly appreciate the feedback. We wrestled a lot with how best to format and present the material, with visibility being a serious consideration. The effort for doing the layout the way you indicated - while a great idea - was not something I could justify additional resources for. Once we got to this iteration with all the effort that went into it, we simply decided to go with it as is and refocus on all the other stuff. If you ultimately find these are not useful to you, I will be more than happy to gift you with something of similar value; that goes for anyone else who ultimately is unsatisfied with this product.
Shaintar: Legends Arise
by Robert H. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2014 19:37:28

I really Love this game setting. I like how that it is truly high epic fantasy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Suzerain Continuum
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/15/2014 09:39:42

Do you enjoy Suzerain? Good. Do you want to take your game further by exploring the different realms that use Suzerain as a base? Even better. Do you want to be able to move the party seamlessly between them? Excellent. Read on...


One of the most accomplished uses of PDF technology that I've seen, this work seeks to show you what is available within the overarching Suzerain concept and how to use it to create a sweeping epic that will take your characters into different realms. If you have several of the main settings already, you will find out how to link them and transition from one to another. If you are new to Suzerain, this will show you the potentials and enable you to make informed decisions about where you might take your game and which products you'll need to make it happen.


OK, it's an impressive bit of sales fluff! But if you want to know about the scope of Suzerain, understand how it all hangs together, you will have fun delving through this...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Suzerain Continuum
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shaintar: Legends Arise
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2013 15:37:30

I have to say i was very impressed with Shaintar: Legends Arise. For years I have played different fantasy table top rpgs in many different systems. It was only recently that I discovered Savage Worlds and sought out a fitting fantasy setting that suited my needs for epic style storytelling. Shaintar fits that role very well with its elaborately detailed world containing a thorough history and rich background.


The world itself reminds me of the sort of high magic you see in settings such as Forgotten Realms. The cosmology is unique and I love the different styles of magic that are available in the setting. I love the idea that there are powerful beings called the Ascended that are not truly gods but risen mortals into a higher immortal state, that watch over the forces of the elements and nature. Heroes begin in a time where various factions are at war with one another and there are shadowy organizations engaged in clandestine operations behind the scenes trying to tip the scale in favour of their respected factions.


I love the unique adjustments that Sean has made to the magic system which basically allows magic users to combine powers and alter their effects beyond the core powers we normally see in the Savage Worlds system. This goes beyond mere trappings and enables players to create truly unique applications for their powers and mimic the variety of spells one might see in another popular fantasy role playing game. I can't wait to see the expanded magic rules for High magic in the Legends Unleashed book and the Magic and cosmology guidebook when they come out. Im sure they will add to the sheer awesomeness already given to us in this book.


The author also runs a living campaign in which players and gms can participate in shaping the official canon of the world of Shaintar in future sourcebooks through the events that take place in their games.


Thanks Sean for creating such an awesome setting for me to run my games in. I cant wait to get the next books when they are available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shaintar: Legends Arise
by JR T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 15:34:06

I am sharing why my favorite game was created and why it is my favorite game. This testimonial is what I love about Shaintar, so anyone and everyone has permission to quote me and talk about it to get word of the Kickstarter out there. That’s why I put so much work in this post, because I am hoping that people sense my passion as I talk about Shaintar below, and that it’s so strong they are motivated to give it a try, and that is why I am going so far as legally relinquishing all rights and claims to the material on this page. This means this testimonial belongs to all people in general, the public, aka: Public Domain!


This is a quote from the game’s creator: “I created Shaintar, not for Adventurers. Not for perfectly-balanced parties of Dungeon Delvers. Not for Self-Centered Rogues and Murder-Bent Warriors. Shaintar is a land for Heroes. Shaintar is a crucible of Legends. Leave the dungeons for the grave robbers and the mercenaries. You have greater, finer things to do.” ~ Sean Patrick Fannon also described his game as: “The world of Shaintar is not a place for killing kobolds for their copper pieces. The world of Shaintar is for Heroes. More than that, it is for Legends. LEGENDS. NEVER. DIE.” Now I am going to share my views of the game:


Shaintar lets you be part of something different. Just look at their KickStarter where everyone who backs it, even for a single dollar, gets to name someone for one of the books. We’re not talking just a mention; you get a full NPC including name, description, and stated! Talking about making you part of the game, I have never seen a setting so inclusive, nor a designer so daring! And if that don’t get your fire started then your wood’s wet.
It truly is Epic, just look at their “Justice and Life” campaign that ties directly into the ongoing “living” style campaign Sean Patrick Fannon is running at cons everywhere, as well as online via the Roll20 Virtual Tabletop System and Google Hangouts. This is the campaign site for the whole thing: https://sites.google.com/site/justiceliferoll20/home
There are also the Shaintar All Stars who are all daring and determined experts in the gaming industry: http://www.evilbeaglegames.com/products/shaintar/the-shainta-
r-all-stars/
They actually listen to their players and create what we want. Just look at the discussions on the pages linked here. That’s level of customer inclusion is not just rare in games, it’s rare in life!
To do this, Shaintar has evolved from a game to a community. Community links thorough this article!
This has made it the most inclusive game I’ve ever had the pleasure of playing. Even if you don’t want to play with the Savage World rules, they will help you customize the Shaintar setting to the rules that YOU WANT TO PLAY! I’ve already seen this a few times.
This means Shaintar is freedom, and other games feel like a dictatorship when compared to it. Most of my adventures in Shaintar have taken place in towns, free from the restraints of having to mug Kobolds in yet another dungeon. This is another way Shaintar shines, not only do you have these epic battles in cities, fields, forests, swamps, etc… but if you are craving that consistent nostalgia of a Dungeon Delve; you have that option too! Here’s more information a specific example of one of these bonus options you can expect: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1473667415/mythical-lair-
s-the-next-step-in-dungeon-terrain/posts/532958?ref=email&am-
p;show_token=2d5bbed6a380a8c9

This is why I love this game. And this is why I am asking that people share and like this content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Day in the Life: Gaming the Downtime
by Edward B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2013 12:56:07

As a LARP storyteller handling downtimes is always a bit of a hassle, and getting players to understand what characters can and can't do during downtime (or what is important to report and not important to report) is one of the hardest parts of doing the job.


The codification of the types of downtime activities has been incredibly useful. It has really helped me focus my own downtimes into more useful activities, and I am using it to help other players improve their downtimes too.


When appropriate I will probably implement some version of this system into both LARP and tabletop games I run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Day in the Life: Gaming the Downtime
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Day in the Life: Gaming the Downtime
by Tommy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2013 14:32:45

Whether you play Shaintar or not, this is a product you will want to have. Sometimes a GM just needs a break or has not had time to get that new campaign on the path yet. This is perfect for a fun gaming session. Everyone gets to develop their character some more and to pursue things that make the game more fun for them. Maybe you want your character to search for the perfect item. Or you want to just carouse and bar hop while listening for information. Or you want to investigate some mystery going on in town. Everyone can be doing something completely different and the game will not slow down at all since these rules keep the action flowing.


Shaintar or any Savage Worlds game needs to include this. Everyone GM (and player in case the GM doesn't have it) needs to have this available. At first, it is a little confusing and it may make you wonder how things will work but if you read the instructions and, for each activity follow the steps mentioned, you will find that it is easy and fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
by Tommy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2013 14:28:10

This is a fantastic gaming asset. The first version of the Shaintar setting was pretty good and a lot of fun to play. It was Shaintar: Immortal Legends. This latest version however takes a lot of what was good in Immortal Legends and really moves it to the next level. As I understand it, this book (Legends Arise) is Novice through Veteran while there will be another book (Legends Unleashed) that will cover above Veteran. This is actually a great thing because now gamers and Game Masters (GMs) can get used to the basics before they rush into the Legendary things.


Savage Worlds is already the best system I have played and easily handles so many aspects that bog down other systems. Since Shaintar builds on the Savage Worlds framework, it allows the author to skip a lot of the mechanics. Normally, skipping some mechanics might be a bad thing but here, it is what i believe makes this one of the best setting books i have seen. Where a normal setting might have spent time explaining minute terms or repeating all of the edges, hindrances and powers from the core Savage Worlds book, the author here only highlights when something is different. He explains why it is different and how to handle it. Then he gives practical, clear advice throughout the book on how to GM the aspects of the game. The tips in this book about GMing apply not only to Shaintar, or not even only to Savage Worlds, but to any person who wants to learn to be a good GM.


Although I think the setting is well crafted and very fun to play or GM, I found this book to be a great primer on how to be a good GM and player. It shows how to emphasize the STORY and FUN over mere technicalities. People who rely too much on the rules end up with a hollow skeleton that bores all involved. Those who ignore the rules conversely end up with an amorphous mess that quickly bores the players because it is impossible to really plan. Shaintar, and the author's advice, strikes that perfect balance.


I recently played in a game where the GM had not prepared a specific event for that night's gaming. There is an excellent guide (available separately) to let a group just each do their own thing as "A Day In the Life". We all had a terrific time, it really focused on each character and allowed the player to really invest in the character and it went smoothly. To me, that is a great compliment to how the setting is established and is only one of the many reasons I strongly recommend this book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shaintar: Legends Arise (Players Guide)
by Gary W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2013 14:07:03

Shaintar is a "living" Savage Worlds fantasy campaign. This supplement is a must have for anyone wanting to play in the Shaintar campaign. It includes information on the history, cultures, and player races of the campaign along with new hindrances, edges, and powers. It also describes alterations to existing SW canon and includes a map of the campaign world. Great stuff. Check it out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise (Players Guide)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 150 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG