RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Myth & Magic Player's Guide
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 13:26:44
I'm QUITE torn. The game itself, the book, all gorgeous. It's a great updated to AD&D2e. In fact pretty much everything I could want out of such a thing. I got the PDF by being a backer of the kickstarter.

The torn part though, is that I only got the PDF. I backed at a level for physical books and it's been over a year of assurances that all of the books have been shipped. Meanwhile very, very few backers seem to have gottten anything. Every now and then the fellow comes back on, promises that he's really sent them all to everyone, only to be silent again for months. (Meanwhile, even less on the Gamemaster Guide Book, which never even got to the PDF level.)

It's quite sad, because it's a really great product. Just be aware that in purchasing this you're supporting someone that ripped off their kickstarter backers, and has repeatedly lied to them. If that part doesn't bug you, it IS a great game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myth & Magic Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
by JOHAN K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2013 09:11:59
This is great fun.
There is a bunch of old school, dungeons & dragons type games out there.
I think this is my favorite.
It does take some time to generate characters,
but once that is done, the game flows really well.
Since you are reading this, you are obviously thinking about trying the game.
Think no more.
Do it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 00:43:48
Overall, a nice combination of 2e feel while introducing some more modern mechanics. For example, the first "meaty" chapter starts off with hiring NPCs -- something that's downplayed or virtually absent from some modern FRPGs, but was much more prevalent in 2e. Yet this comes after laying out XP budgets for encounters -- the balanced encounter being introduced in 3e and improved upon in 4e (if I remember correctly).

Monster entries are compact and streamlined, while having about a quarter page dedicated to "fluff." A nice balance, although I did like the 2e Monstrous Compendium's full-page treatment of monsters. Monsters have an XP value assigned to them, helping to build balanced encounters.

Magic items seem more common than I remember in 2e, and generally don't seem to have a lot of personality. I'm not sure if assumptions about magic weapons and armor are baked into the combat system as characters level, or not. There's a decent list of cursed items as well -- yet another feature that I haven't seen much of in more recent editions.

I wouldn't call this a 2e retro-clone, but I recognize a lot of 2e's "DNA" in this. If you enjoy 2e-style play, it's worth checking out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Myth & Magic Player's Guide
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2013 20:38:12
Ran into this by chance while it was on sale. Really impressed with it. I think the overall production value was what got me to start with, but as I read through the rules the 'feel' for a 2e game was kept my interest. Most of all, I've started a campaign using the rules and it's got just the right touch for my players to have a 'new' feel to it but still be firmly rooted in the old game it's intended to remind us of. Looking forward to the Game Master's Guide!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myth & Magic Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Myth & Magic Player's Guide
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 06:31:51
I stumbled across Myth and Magic about 2 years ago, right about the tail end of the initial round of public testing. The team at New Haven Games were awesome in taking in community feedback and incorporating a good number of the better suggestions from community into the game - several of the Thief abilities, Influence table for Charisma, even the Holy Weapon feature of the Paladin. I have played this system pretty regularly since it's discovery and can honestly, for me, that this is the direction I would've loved to see DnD turn when 2E was discarded by Wizards. The system incorporates many current mechanics in way that stays true to its 2E roots...some modern ideas being ascending ACs, Base-to-Hit (BtH, very BAB-like), bonus spells for exceptional attributes, Fort/Ref/Will saves; some 2E/old school ideas brought forward being multi-classing (advance in 2 classes simultaneously at the expense of needing to require greater XP), return of Weapon Proficiencies and Nonweapon Proficiencies, the removal of the ever escalating numbers of 3E/d20 games. It really does fuse the old school game with the new school approach. I've also had the ability to watch gamers with experience as far back as the 80s and those from 2000 and up pick up the mechanics of the game quite easily. This system hits the bulls eye for me in so many ways. It is definately worth the money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myth & Magic Player's Guide
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 00:45:54
After following this project for neigh on three years (and participating in the multiple betas), I can say that this game meets my idea of the ultimate merging of old school and new school D&D by way of a 2e core with a 21st century polish. If you played 2e (or even 1e or Basic) this game will feel very familiar but also fresh and new, this would also be true if you played any later editions. The cool thing is many of the different features are entirely optional, just like 2e, but they can be turned "off" without causing problems in the game- you can make it very simple or a bit crunchy (just a bit).

If you have any AD&D material this game will run it with minimal tinkering (on the fly). Newer generations of players will not stumble on the mechanics either as they might with roll low/roll high, matrixes or thac0. As C&C is to 1e, Pathfinder is to 3.5, Myth & Magic is to 2e.

Modern mechanics, flexible playstyles, compatible with older material, options for players, grid 100% optional. Maybe Wotc should hire these guys :p

The free Starter Guides can give you a taste and spin.

Cheers

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2012 08:25:27
The much needed Game Master's Guide.
Nicely olde school and brought up to date for today.

Can't wait to see the final product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2012 08:23:01
A great mixture of ye olde D&D with a modern day touch.
Well recommended.

Newhaven's website is worth joining for updates, news, etc.

Grab it now; you won't be disappointed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2012 11:18:22
If you liked AD&D 2e then you will like this Myth & Magic. If you like the basic mechanics of 3e then you will like it as well. I really like where this game is going and can' wait to see the games final appearance. This edition gives you the basic classes & races and advancement to 10th level.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
by loic g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2012 11:01:34
Top game. A very good mix of old school Spirit and modern design. If you want the taste of your old AD&D with clean and modern design this is the game you need !

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Tomb: Expert Series 1
by Benton W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2009 16:01:54
Is there a reason why this is no longer available for free download? I grabbed it a while back for free and now I'm confused.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Tomb: Expert Series 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Benton, I slashed the price to 0 during one of RPGNow's promotions. After the promotion, the price went to 3.99. Sorry for the confusion. Tom
Greenbaum's Prison: A Trip to Hell
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/18/2008 09:46:01
If Dungeon Mastering was High School, sending your party into the bowels of hell for a seemingly one way mission is the final exam of Physics class. At least once during every campaign, at some point the PCs should flirt with the afterlife. Consider then, A Trip to Hell: Greenbaum’s Prison, by Lich Haven games, written by Tom Ryan, to be your text book.

Greenbaum’s Prison is a 50 page adventure that takes a group from a devastated farming community, down a well and onto the fringes of hell where they must invade a tower prison of a rogue demon. With most books and hell adventures, trips to the fiery pits usually turns into large hack and slash sessions with groups of demons. What a relief it is that the author took a different route with the adventure, instead introducing a tense political climate among different groups of devils. Sure there is lots of combat, of which the author made sure to include as many creative sets and situations to challenge the pcs, but there are a few really good times where having a diplomacy or bluff skill will save a party’s skin.

However, what is most enjoyable about the adventure is its focus on out of combat encounters. Though the author plays a little too much with the adventure’s own deities, which can easily be replaced with your campaigns, the history is very engaging and understandable. Readers will enjoy that it is not overly advanced as with a lot of adventures, and the simple explanations given to the devil’s imprisonment are kept simple.

For the Dungeon Master
Seek and Destroy adventurers are very common, which is why it is so nice to see a seek and rescue adventure produced. The fact that the success of your adventure depends on how many people you rescue is a nice touch.

The Iron Word
Greenbaum’s Prison is a pretty unique adventure that combines creative encounters with some good social encounters. The artwork, especially the cover, is great and the author does not get too caught up in his own world.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Greenbaum's Prison: A Trip to Hell
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG