RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Champions New Millennium (4th edition)
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2018 09:23:05

First off this isn't Fourth Edition it is Fuzion, which is what I wanted except that they gutted the rules section which is what I wanted. It removed the lifepath options that I found enjoyable as well as the Mekton plug in for building vehicles. I have loved Champions since around third edition and have most of the fourth, fifth and sixth edition books however, and this just could be me, I for the most part have not liked the vehicle rules. So I was extremely disappointed when I was going to use this to work on an anime campaign with mecha and saw how they reworked the entire rules section and for me not in a positive way.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Champions New Millennium (4th edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System 6th Edition: Character Creation
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2018 13:47:04

Hero System is the only system I play anymore. Learn one system and play in any genre, any setting, any character. Believe the hype.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition: Character Creation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Universe Organizations Bundle
by Massimiliano B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2017 12:12:25

The product isn't what the image shows and there isn't a preview to verify before the purchase. Go to my review of "Champions Universe Villainy Bundle", if you want a more detailed explanation.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Universe Organizations Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Universe Cities Bundle
by Massimiliano B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2017 12:12:13

The product isn't what the image shows and there isn't a preview to verify before the purchase. Go to my review of "Champions Universe Villainy Bundle", if you want a more detailed explanation.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Universe Cities Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Universe Villainy Bundle
by Massimiliano B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2017 12:08:03

Very, very bad.

My opinion isn't based on the quality of the bundle's items, but for the items itself (Conquerors, Killers, and Crooks, Villains, Vandals, and Vermin, and Arcane Adversaries). Let me explain: The bundle's image is the 6th edition Hero System so anyone would assume it would contain 6th edition books. So I was think when I purchased it. As you surely can guess by now, I was wrong.

I don't know if this is a premetitated maneuver, but it's a shame. And the same was for "Champions Universe Cities Bundle" and "Champions Universe Organizations Bundle". So I purchased three bundle and I was received nothing of what I suppose to receive. As I mentioneds before, that's a shame.

This isn't a review, is a warning to anyone who want to purchase this bundle or the other two and, of curse, I would be worried about any bundle of Hero System 6th Edition serie. And by the way, there's not preview of these bundles, so you can't verify what you purchasing. Maybe it was a mistake done by people who don't know the game, but I spend money for this error, so this isn't an excuse.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Universe Villainy Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Powers
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2017 18:31:53

Cannot say enough good things.

This product is exactly what it says it is -- a series of templates for imposing order on the vast blank canvas which is the Champions rulebook. It is a lifesaver for new players, an invaluable NPC generation aid, and a fun read with easy reference.

Recommended, recommended, recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Powers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Conquerors, Killers and Crooks - PDF
by Kevin C. Date Added: 08/31/2017 18:02:04

I was quite disappointed with the lack of color in this pdf. It is very bland with it's black & white character illustrations. For a comic book feel, I prefer something with at least that four-color comics vibe from the olden days of comics to the more high quality art found in most popular comics today. No, nothing in the product description promised me color illustrations, but it does not even boast the colorful cover art shown on the thumbnail above. Honestly, I won't use this at all regardless of the character content because it's just so hard to look at. I feel ripped off and will avoid Hero Games products from now on. Thanks for nothing, Hero Games.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Conquerors, Killers and Crooks - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions: The Super Role Playing Game (4th edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2017 23:15:51

I do like the game a lot. The rating is due to the fact that this is only a scan and has no table of contents in the PDF.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Champions: The Super Role Playing Game (4th edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ultimate Vehicle
by Jacob F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2015 16:27:15

I am a huge fan not only of the super-hero genre, but of the Hero System as a game-system. There's not a system I've encountered that is quite as flexible and comprehensive as the Hero System, and as such, a huge need I found in my campaigns was inspiration and help with building out my vehicles. The Ultimate Vehicle is exactly what I was looking for, especially their section on mechs. I highly recommend this for anyone that is playing even a semi-modern campaign, as there are sections that cover ground, air, water, mecha, and even space vehicles. There's even a section in the back for vehicles-as-characters, which was also just great for inspiration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate Vehicle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Mystic World - PDF
by Jacob F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2015 13:58:12

I love the Hero System, and I absolutely LOVED The Ultimate Mystic which I read recently and I thought this supplement was perfect. This book goes into greater detail about the cosmos in the Champions setting and how to incorporate it into your game. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who owns any of the Hero System books of any addition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic World - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero System 5th Edition, Revised
by Kurt B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2015 21:42:39

the Hero system, or champions as I knew it way back when is still the best stand alone super hero system around. providing you have the tenacity to pore through every tweak to maximize your damage output. you can make just about any kind of hero you want if you work at it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System 5th Edition, Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Basic Rulebook
by Joseph W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2015 08:48:14

This is a nice way to learn the basics of the Hero System. Learn it from this, then get the two-volume 6th Edition core rules later on, when you're comfortable with the basics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Hero Complete
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2015 15:52:44

Exceptional work. Michael Surbrook has done a great job of not only narrowing down the Hero Rules into a quick easy format, but applying them particularly to Fantasy settings. His notes on using the Hero rules for fantastic gaming were a blend of great ideas in the past and clever new tips, salted with Easter eggs and fun references.

I recommend this book highly to any GM or player, even if you don't play Hero like you should be, because of all the helpful ideas in how to build spells, campaigns, and monsters for a fantasy setting. For a Hero player, this is indispensible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Hero Complete
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Hero Complete
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2015 22:59:33

This book was hamstrung in two ways:

a) the design brief was to present ALL OF THE HERO 6E rules in one volume, customised for fantasy. That means that every single rule (well, 99%) of the 800 page two-volume core set had to be included (why exactly???), regardless of how relevant they are for fantasy. In a 260 page book, that means that rules are squeezed in with poor explanations and no examples. It's OK as a reference if you know the system, but terrible for newcomers to pick up.

Even worse, fitting in that mass of rules meant that the fantasy element shoehorned in was minimal. 70% of the book is a restatement of the Hero rules, 30% is a hurried and weak attempt to show how to use them for fantasy. This part of the book fails, as it is neither a selection of drag-and-drop elements (pre-made spells, weapons and armor etc, of which there are few to none) nor a comprehensive guide to building a fantasy campaign with the Hero System (like the far superior Fantasy Hero Sixth Edition)

b) The graphic design and layout is terrible. This is 2015, and it looks like a weak effort from the 1980s. It makes Palladium books layout look pleasantly nostalgic, whereas this has a poor header hierarchy and font choices, cheesy art etc.

The Hero System is still a great one.

My recommendation is to pick up the two volume core set, now available in pdf only, or the Basic Rules, and add the earlier Fantasy Hero 6e by Steve Long, which is one of my favorite RPG books. If you are willing to tackle what is admittedly a complex system, you will be rewarded, and those books are well-written and laid out, unlike this one.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Hero Complete
by Stuart B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2015 05:03:47

What to say about this product? I've been roleplaying for over 30 years, and this is a real throwback to all of those confusing, self-indulgent rulesets that I had thought a thing of the past. Rules are introduced without proper examples, in a seemingly haphazard order and apparently on the assumption that you know what they mean, what their effects on the game are, and what various random-seeming abbreviations stand for - RKA, HKA, OIF, DNPC to cite but a few that are used before stating what they stand for, let alone being fully defined. The Power descriptions contain anachronisms such as lifting a burning car, telegraph poles and the like. There are no structured examples that explain how things work at all. I would have expected a detailed example character creation sequence, numerous examples of building Powers/Spells, numerous examples of all the bewildering combat options in action. I have no idea how anyone could learn this game from this book - it appears impossible to me, and I'm no newbie. But perhaps the biggest fault with this book it that its boring - tedious, dull, uninspiring and generally drab and awful. RPGs in recent times have made tremendous strides, become an interesting, engaging read; really encouraging you to start a game. This is the polar opposite I am afraid; a real turn off.

I want to learn Hero System, I really do (Tuala Morn looks like a setting made for me), but I made a huge mistake in buying this book. In my view, it is impossible to use unless you already know the system, and just want an overview/reminder of the rules that pertain to Fantasy (despite the aforementioned anachronisms). Anyone know if the full core rulebooks are any better? I don't want to drop over £30 on those unless I am convinced they are a million times better at introducing and explaining the game systems than this!!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 103 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG