RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
HERO System Basic Rulebook
by Joseph W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2015 08:48:14
This is a nice way to learn the basics of the Hero System. Learn it from this, then get the two-volume 6th Edition core rules later on, when you're comfortable with the basics.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Hero Complete
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2015 15:52:44
Exceptional work. Michael Surbrook has done a great job of not only narrowing down the Hero Rules into a quick easy format, but applying them particularly to Fantasy settings. His notes on using the Hero rules for fantastic gaming were a blend of great ideas in the past and clever new tips, salted with Easter eggs and fun references.

I recommend this book highly to any GM or player, even if you don't play Hero like you should be, because of all the helpful ideas in how to build spells, campaigns, and monsters for a fantasy setting. For a Hero player, this is indispensible.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Hero Complete
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Hero Complete
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2015 22:59:33
This book was hamstrung in two ways:

a) the design brief was to present ALL OF THE HERO 6E rules in one volume, customised for fantasy. That means that every single rule (well, 99%) of the 800 page two-volume core set had to be included (why exactly???), regardless of how relevant they are for fantasy. In a 260 page book, that means that rules are squeezed in with poor explanations and no examples. It's OK as a reference if you know the system, but terrible for newcomers to pick up.

Even worse, fitting in that mass of rules meant that the fantasy element shoehorned in was minimal. 70% of the book is a restatement of the Hero rules, 30% is a hurried and weak attempt to show how to use them for fantasy. This part of the book fails, as it is neither a selection of drag-and-drop elements (pre-made spells, weapons and armor etc, of which there are few to none) nor a comprehensive guide to building a fantasy campaign with the Hero System (like the far superior Fantasy Hero Sixth Edition)

b) The graphic design and layout is terrible. This is 2015, and it looks like a weak effort from the 1980s. It makes Palladium books layout look pleasantly nostalgic, whereas this has a poor header hierarchy and font choices, cheesy art etc.

The Hero System is still a great one.

My recommendation is to pick up the two volume core set, now available in pdf only, or the Basic Rules, and add the earlier Fantasy Hero 6e by Steve Long, which is one of my favorite RPG books. If you are willing to tackle what is admittedly a complex system, you will be rewarded, and those books are well-written and laid out, unlike this one.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Hero Complete
by Stuart B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2015 05:03:47
What to say about this product? I've been roleplaying for over 30 years, and this is a real throwback to all of those confusing, self-indulgent rulesets that I had thought a thing of the past. Rules are introduced without proper examples, in a seemingly haphazard order and apparently on the assumption that you know what they mean, what their effects on the game are, and what various random-seeming abbreviations stand for - RKA, HKA, OIF, DNPC to cite but a few that are used before stating what they stand for, let alone being fully defined. The Power descriptions contain anachronisms such as lifting a burning car, telegraph poles and the like. There are no structured examples that explain how things work at all. I would have expected a detailed example character creation sequence, numerous examples of building Powers/Spells, numerous examples of all the bewildering combat options in action. I have no idea how anyone could learn this game from this book - it appears impossible to me, and I'm no newbie. But perhaps the biggest fault with this book it that its boring - tedious, dull, uninspiring and generally drab and awful. RPGs in recent times have made tremendous strides, become an interesting, engaging read; really encouraging you to start a game. This is the polar opposite I am afraid; a real turn off.

I want to learn Hero System, I really do (Tuala Morn looks like a setting made for me), but I made a huge mistake in buying this book. In my view, it is impossible to use unless you already know the system, and just want an overview/reminder of the rules that pertain to Fantasy (despite the aforementioned anachronisms). Anyone know if the full core rulebooks are any better? I don't want to drop over £30 on those unless I am convinced they are a million times better at introducing and explaining the game systems than this!!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate Metamorph - PDF
by Danette K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 00:33:05
Have not played Hero system in years but knew that I wanted to player a multiform character. Didn't even know where to start. This book has many examples and variations on a theme for multiform and shapeshifting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate Metamorph - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Universe
by Ira S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2015 15:31:21
This book details a well-realized if derivative superhero setting, with enough details for identifiable flavour and sufficient openness for players and gamemasters to leave their own stamp on the world.

The writing is in that crisp, dry and clear style we all know and love. It conveys the information within with commednable conciseness and efficiency of language. I have found no errors that might mar the experience, although if you're eagle-eyed about that sort of thing it may well be different for you. Only in the initial history section does it run slightly overlong, and then to try and get as much detail as possible to present a full spectrum of literary, cinematic and musical references from across the ages. Characters are given full and well-written biographies, with most getting statistic blocks for easy play. The characters, and especially organizations, are well-differentiated and use different niches with enormous narrative potential. I especially liked the United Nations agency, UNTIL, as its writeup solved many narrative difficulties that agencies like the DEO or SHIELD increasingly present.

The setting's strongest suit is its familiarity. In CHAMPIONS UNIVERSE there are no idiosyncrasies, complex metaphysics or intricate cosmologies that detract from rather than add to the book. Everything is strongly reminiscent of the 'classic' superhero fiction we all imagine we read or watched at some time, fitting the ageless ideas it culls from countless sources. It is every inch a recognizable, easily understandable and comprehensible world like and yet vastly unlike our own. In a nice twist from most superhero fiction, the rest of the world of the United States of America is represented, both in fleshed-out villains and unusual heroes. It's still very much about American heroes, but there's attention to other parts of the planet usually glossed over.

The setting's greatest weakness is its familiarity. Simply put, there is not a lot of a unique or really enticing quality to the world presented in CHAMPIONS UNIVERSE. It does not, but very nearly falls into the fatal trap of many whole-cloth superhero worlds where many things are just expected to happen and exist because it's a superhero universe and that's how MARVEL Comics and Detective Comics Comics have been operating for decades. There is nothing really weird, outlandish or confusing here, but neither is there a lot that breaks the mold, besides its use of magic and mystical forces as the driving motive behind superpowers existing. It's a stable of places, ideas and characters for many kinds of stories, rather than a world tailored to one kind, and while a definite strength that does leave much of it feeling frustratingly bland at times.

As well, its depiction of Voodoo has more to do with Hollywood stereotype than the faith itself, with more dark magic and less trance-possession.

Still, if you want to play and tell superhero stories, this book has more than enough material to springboard your group into nearly any kind of adventure imaginable, from the depths of Atlantis and Lemuria to the streets of Great Lakes super-metropolis Millennium City, from the farthest stars to other worlds and dimensions. I heartily, if with some conditions, recommend this book for anyone interested in superhero RPGs. Bear in mind, however, that you need a copy of the rules to use the stats presented in the book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Universe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shades of Black - PDF
by John F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2014 12:09:04
An excellent adventure with a well thought out and motivated villain. The book contains detailed maps and an intriguing investigation component. I highly recommend it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shades of Black - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero In Two Pages
by Jen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2014 17:30:45
A great document that any Hero System/Champions GM needs to teach new players how to play the game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero In Two Pages
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System 6th Edition Core Book Character Pack For Hero Designer
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2014 17:46:15
The characters do NOT have any equipment. You have to guess what they would have and create it becaue Here designer does NOT come with any equipment. You could buy a supplement that has created equipment(prefabs), or download user creations from the net. The characters in this sup should already have equipment. They do not; because of this I am not satisfied. This is why I give this a 3.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition Core Book Character Pack For Hero Designer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vibora Bay - PDF
by Cairbre F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2014 15:58:58
An excellent source book. One can build a complete back story and endless adventures with this supplement.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vibora Bay - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Monster Hunter International Employee Handbook and Roleplaying Game
by Victor J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
Concise guide, mediocre book, poor artwork. Not recommended. While this serves as a concise guide to the events of the "Monster Hunter International" novels, the writing is flat and the book fails to convey a sense of atmosphere. The layout is competent, but combined with the writing style, it creates the feeling that one is reading a textbook or technical manual rather than an enthusiastic introduction to an exciting world. And the artwork, apart from a few pieces by Ben McSweeney, is amateurish at best, with poorly-edited photographs masquerading as illustrations or sloppily-colored, oddly-stylized work. It's hard to credit this as a product from a professional company. I do not recommend it--just read the novels and run a game with your own, favourite system.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Monster Hunter International Employee Handbook and Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Villains Volume Three: Solo Villains
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2013 09:52:21
Excellent color art and villain write-ups! Much more than just an update from 5th edition! A must for anyone wanting to run a 6th editions Champions game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Villains Volume Three: Solo Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Villains Volume Two: Villain Teams
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2013 09:52:06
Excellent color art and villain write-ups! Much more than just an update from 5th edition! A must for anyone wanting to run a 6th editions Champions game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Villains Volume Two: Villain Teams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2013 09:51:01
Excellent color art and villain write-ups! Much more than just an update from 5th edition! A must for anyone wanting to run a 6th editions Champions game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pulp Hero - PDF
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2013 18:41:16
Even if you have no need for another game system (and to be honest, I've only glanced at the rules stuff here), if you're running any pulp game at all, there are over 200 pages of system- and setting-agnostic material to make it worth the price: a thorough and engaging discussion of the pulp genre, lots of historical background (including a historical "who's who"), and, most useful to me so far, a detailed, month-by-month timeline of the 20s and 30s organized into convenient categories.

I've got several different pulp games, and this has by far the most thorough source material.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Hero - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 92 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG