RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pulp Hero - PDF
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2013 18:41:16
Even if you have no need for another game system (and to be honest, I've only glanced at the rules stuff here), if you're running any pulp game at all, there are over 200 pages of system- and setting-agnostic material to make it worth the price: a thorough and engaging discussion of the pulp genre, lots of historical background (including a historical "who's who"), and, most useful to me so far, a detailed, month-by-month timeline of the 20s and 30s organized into convenient categories.

I've got several different pulp games, and this has by far the most thorough source material.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Hero - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero In Two Pages
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2013 07:17:48
This is a very good quick primer for the basics of the HERO system. It is quick and concise, I would find it very useful to hand out to novices and at a convention with pre-generated characters to help explain the rules to them. It has a very nice clean layout and is clear in how it explains what things are relative to other things.

As an example it explains Talents as sort of a Power lite.

As a free item you cant beat the price, and it is great for reducing the things that you have to remember to book mark/ copy for new players.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero In Two Pages
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

New Bedlam Asylum
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 13:17:50
Lots of material in this supplement with an extensive history that lends itself to using for different genre's though it was primarily for Dark Champions.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New Bedlam Asylum
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Asian Bestiary, Vol. I - PDF
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 13:16:19
Lots of good research for an oriental flavored game. Some of the art is very good and useful. I found this very helpful and useful for an urban fantasy game with Asian community-based adventures (ala "Big Trouble in Little Chinatown").

The new, 6th edition Hero System Bestiary includes all of the creatures from this book.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Asian Bestiary, Vol. I - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pulp Hero Character Pack [for Hero Designer software]
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 13:13:49
Love the Hero Character Packs in general; Hero Designer is a great product, and the packs for it save a ton of time. This one has a lot of useful templates that save time with PC and NPC creation. I was disappointed that it didn't include the extensive gun and equipment list, but the description said so up front. In conjunction with the 6th edition character pack for the Hero System Equipment Guide, this works great for a Pulp game!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Hero Character Pack [for Hero Designer software]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shades of Black - PDF
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 12:59:53
Best Champions adventure I've ever bought! Great art, maps, storyline, NPC write-ups, and an excellent adventure to begin a campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shades of Black - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pulp Hero - PDF
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 12:56:55
Huge, incredibly thorough treatment of how to run a Pulp era game using the 5th Edition Hero System rules (which need to be purchased seperately). Guns, timelines, custom skills, tons of good advice to GM's and inspirational art.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Hero - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Bestiary
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 12:40:02
Great book! Collects and updates creature write up from just about all the different 5th edition Hero System books and does great conversions and updates to 6th edition. I like to get my books in PDF, and a lot of the 5th edition books that this gathers creatures from were not available in PDF at all. Great value; good, detailed write-ups, nice illustrations, and good coverage of multiple genres as well as extra rules for custom hit locations and how to use for different genres.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Complete
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/20/2012 21:21:10
With all the choices right now for superhero gaming, why would anyone want to pick up Champions Complete? Personally, I'd get it because it is reliable, consistent, and clear.

Powered by the HERO system's 6th Edition, Champions Complete is a cleaned up corebook for superheroic gaming without having to chew your way through the original 6th Edition release's massive dual corebooks. The author, Derek Heimforth, dives right into the challenge of presenting Champions without fat and fluff while retaining the clarity of the original.

Champions Complete narrows down HERO's massive potential to cater specifically to superheroic gaming. As expected, the entire HERO system is here, with leaner examples, clarified power descriptions and a friendlier text for getting people to understanding the system without being intimdated.

The Book goes into all the standard parts of the HERO system, from character creation to power creation, combat and equipment. For those wondering about it, Champions Complete lives up to it's name. You'd be hard pressed to find what's missing in this book.

Derek also goes into the examination of the superhero campaign, detailing what superheros are all about, and dealing with the various tropes found in the genre from secret identities to the conflicts common to superhero stories.

I suppose the only thing that's missing from the book is the lack of a dedicated setting. This is covered in another HERO Games product of course, but having one here wouldn't hurt. The example characters and references at the end of the book are very helpful and any experienced GM with his own vision of where to set his superhero game will have no problem getting a game up and running with this.

Champions Complete is an excellent way to get into the HERO system. The friendly and approachable methodology to present HERO in it's native superhero environment for new players is a move that I find to be very useful and well worth picking up if you're still looking for a superhero game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Complete
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Complete
by Alexander O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/02/2012 08:05:19
As a longtime Hero System fan, I may be branded as biased.

However, I do feel that this is a great, concise presentation of the 6th Edition of the Hero System for the superhero genre. It is written clearly, organized logically, and laid out cleanly. All this is tackled in a number of pages that -- for those who may be familiar with the ever expanding pagecount of the Hero System books -- is shockingly short.

It doesn't feel like I was shortchanged, however. The book feels just the right length and provides enough rules, explanations, and examples to allow a GM and set of Players to get started right away!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System Equipment Guide
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2012 05:51:38
Not quite a must-own for Hero 6th ed. players, but awfully close. The catalog nature of the product makes it a natural fit for the pdf format. If you already own large amounts of 5th ed. material, this book may not be that useful.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System Equipment Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Champions - PDF
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2012 20:20:55
Why is no cover provided? The material within is written with authority, while the system itself is well established (you either like it or not). The ruleset is gritty enough that it actually does 'The Dark Knight' and 'The Watchmen' better than most other supers games in my view (it's mainly why I purchased it), particularly with the dark, techno-thriller aspects of those movies. Likewise, Bond-style action movies and the like are well supported within these pages too, so it certainly fulfills it's design brief. It's just it could do with a bit of an update and facelift accordingly.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Champions - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Hero
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/30/2012 12:34:34
Star Hero is a comprehensive sourcebook on the science fiction genre for the Hero System (6th edition) weighing in at almost 400-pages, it looks at science fiction from a variety of angles and provides a wide range of tools for Game Masters and players alike. Most of the book is system neutral and useful for anyone planning a science fiction game though its high price is a barrier for non-Hero System gamers.

Star Hero is filled with information on science fiction, all nicely bookmarked and with a comprehensive index. It covers multiple subgenres from cyberpunk to space opera, hard science fiction to planetary romances, time travel, alternate history and psionics all get treatments in the rules. Additional, notes on mixing genres such as including mysteries or humor or mixing SF with the superheroic of Champions are included.

Templates for aliens and profession are provided to aid in character building as are modification notes needed for some of the rules. An extensive set of random tables for the generation of star and planetary systems, alien worlds and more for the aspiring universe builder. Our own solar system in examined in detail (even given its own chapter).

Aliens and Technology get looked at in detail with solid advice for using both in a campaign (as well as some game statistics to get things started). A discussion of spaceships and the effects of various sorts of travel both faster and slower than light. Useful genre advice for game masters, environmental effects, a collection of NPCs and a wide variety of recommended media. Also included are the authors’ top five science fiction books, short stories and movies, which gives some nice insight into their preferences in the genre.

For anyone planning to use the Hero System for a science fiction game, this would seem to be an excellent reference. And even for the non-Hero Games player it is very useful reference. For a point-based game, it is surprisingly (to me) filled with random tables to spur inspiration. Though I think my favorite is the random ray gun table which generates what the guns’ rays look like and their color.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Hero
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Champions - PDF
by Alan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2012 12:51:08
I've been a long-time Champions player; I started playing way back in 1985 or 1986 in the original Champions, Champions II, Champions III era. I've seen the ruleset explode from a simple pamphlet of 60 or so pages to the multivolume rules compendium that it is today with 6th edition. So, I've been around a while.

Dark Champions sets itself to be the "gritty, realistic" genre of play, allowing players to take their brand of justice to the streets with guns a-blazin'. In it, players will stand in the grimy streets, facing down pimps and drug dealers, corrupt politicos and on-the-take cops, and all manner of "street level" of crime. The characters may dress in fancy uniforms, but everything is tinged with grey, black, and red. The inspiration for this is declared to be characters like Marvel's Punisher and Elektra, DC's Batman: the Dark Knight Returns and Watchmen, and (in my opinion) a heavy dose of Frank Miller's seminal "Sin City". It also draws heavily from cinematic thrillers from the 'eighties, 'nineties, and new milennium: Die Hard, Lethal Weapon, Heat, Cobra, and so on...

The introduction runs a little long at the start. From page 9 to page 24 we receive lots of information about "What is Dark Champions?" including genres, subgenres, themes, elements, and so on. This seems to be geared towards the newer player, especially in its recommendations as to how to mix certain genres together. And the Dark Champions elements chapter reads like a Hollywood Blockbuster do-it-yourself kit when we find that Dark Chapions is about: Amazing Escapes, Car Chases, Car Go Boom, Contacts, Crisis Management, Dead Relatives, Guns, etc... (these are the actual section headings). Not what I personally needed, but probably good information for someone who is breaking into a different game system.

For the Crunchier chapters (rules and recommendations), I couldn't decide whether this was a background sourcebook with some rules in it or whether it was a rulebook with heavy sections of background information. I really liked the sections on Forensics and Combat and Adventuring. Sections on Firearms and equipment seemed long and not very enlightening (since the Hero system pretty much allows you to tailor your Ranged Killing Attacks however you want the several pages of add-ons and equipment for guns seemed a little excessive and really not all that useful, except to create verisimilitude in that a .22 doesn't do as much damage as a .45). We receive several pages worth of information about guns; so much so that it began to feel more like an arms and equipment guide with some background thrown in for balance.

Background chapters were generally informative at a basic level. I liked the sections on terrorism and adversary types (stereotypical bad guys like Mafia, yakuza, and triads as well as Robbery Crews and government agencies). This had more of a genre feel than the equipment sections. The section on LIBRA mentions the Harbinger, but no stats are provided (which to an old hand like me makes sense, but may be confusing to a newer player). The five villians provided are solid, but perhaps to be expected all center on their equipment and not very much about their personality or history.

The writing was fairly solid throughout and the artwork ranged from decent to good. My recommendation is that if you are looking for a good source for equipment in a hurry, this is a solid work. As a piece of genre-development, I'm not convinced this is a complete "how-to" to produce any particular genre other than "shoot-em-up" John-Woo style.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Champions - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of the Empress
by Alexander O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/10/2012 09:30:51
The Book of the Empress is a sourcebook that tackles a cosmic level antagonist in the Champions Universe: Istvatha V'han.

What's intriguing about it is how the book not only adds layers to the character of Istvatha V'han, but also how she relates to two other well-known cosmic level antagonists in the Champions Universe, and just how complicated invading dimensions and conquering them can be.

The history of her rise to power is not entirely one-note, but the complexities really arise when she begins to encounter other expansionist players in the multiverse with designs on what she claims as her territory (Champions Earth). There are enough interesting wrinkles to that history and the workings of the multiverse to overcome one of the problems of many super-heroic settings not based on ongoing comics series: insufficient twists and turns and a stunningly small amount of major players. In the Book of the Empress, the field that she plays on is complex, peopled with many varied types of opposition, and the history has the feel of a rich comic book universe.

The Empress of a Billion Dimensions is statted out, but has variant versions for other genres, should you choose to limit her magnificence.

Her minions are statted out as well, and a rich mix they are: general forces, several select races, an elite force, and the equivalent of an Imperial Battalion populated with heroes and villains from alternate universes that will be familiar to the heroes of your campaign.

There's also a good explanation of the Champions Multiverse (which is based on the Sephirothic Tree of Life), notes on Imperial Technology, Vehicles, and a guided tour of the Empress's Empire -- government, domains, and how all them are gearing up for the invasion of Earth.

Most useful: the in-depth look into the personality and plans of Istvatha V'han. A must for GMs trying portray a fiercely competent, accomplished, and powerful individual who may, at some point, interact with the PCs.

For someone looking to do an ultra-mega-crossover in a super-heroic campaign, this is the book for you.

(review also appears on http://armchairgamer.blogspot.com/)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Empress
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 93 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG