RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Thrilling Hero Adventures
by michael f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2011 15:12:41
My only problem with this book is that almost every adventure requires you to have other books, like the Bestiary or Pulp Hero. When I purchase an adventure I expect it to include everything I need to run it. The adventures themselves seem well written and interesting. Most are "fortune hunter" type adventures with a few "weird science" adventures.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Hero Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ps238
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/14/2011 12:31:16
Great introduction to the Champions/HERO system and a fun concept that is different than all the "Superheroes in High school". Based on the PS 238 comic this game is a streamlined version of the same Champions game. I found it much easier to get into and start playing.

IF you are playing a supers game now, this is a great resource on how to do things a little different and if you are at all a little curious about Champions then this is also a fantastic place to start.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ps238
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero System Equipment Guide
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/17/2010 17:03:33
I wish I had this book when I was prepping my last game.

It contains hundreds of weapons, from medieval weapons, both historic and modern fire arms, scifi weapons and Superheroic weapons (which include point costs for Superheroic rules).

There are lists of different types of armor from different eras, including information for sectional army by hit location. There's also a informative section on the practicality of armor in games and rules to coax PCs out of their armor occasionally.

The HSEG doesn't cover vehicles, but there are several examples of "weird science" and Superheroic movement equipment (ie, suction cup climbers, arm wings, jet boots, rocket surfboard, etc.).

This is a great boon for those of us who find Hero game prep a bit daunting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System Equipment Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System 6th Edition: Combat and Adventuring
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2010 01:54:34
Volume 2 of Hero 6th covers everything that doesn't involve chargen.

The Hero combat system is both complex, flexible and fun. It provides the flexibility during combat to make all sorts of attacks, rather than the standard "I hit."

It has one of the best hit location systems I've ever encountered, including the very innovative "high shot" and "low shot" that provides easier hit modifier penalties.

One of my favorite things about Hero is the initiative system. Characters with a higher speed get more actions in a turn, which makes more sense than the standard init system most games have.

The adventuring section covers nearly every possible situation the PCs will encounter. And the book is very well-organized, so finding the rule you need on the fly doesn't take a lot of time.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition: Combat and Adventuring
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System 6th Edition: Character Creation
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2010 01:47:07
Hero System has the most flexible character creation system in existence.

Like most point-based systems, it's critical to come up with the character concept first. This is especially true for Hero, because you can make ANY character you can think of.

Additionally, there are often several different way to make the same character (though there will be subtle differences in game play).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition: Character Creation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Basic Rulebook
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2010 01:41:35
Start. Here. First.

If you're unfamiliar with Hero or haven't run the Hero system in several editions (like me), this book is a great boon.

I originally purchased the 2 tome set of Hero 6th Ed. After a few hours, I became overwhelmed by the page count. Then I purchased the Basic Rulebook. Once I finished read it, I had an epiphany -- once you've read the Basic Rulebook, the main system books become resource material.

BR provides a scaled-down version of the main rules, but all the basics are there: the powers and modifiers, the combat system, the initiative system, chargen, etc. BR gives you the basics of the system in very concise language.

Once you've had a session or two with the BR, and you realize how awesome Hero is for creating a cinematic game.

It really should be titled, "Buy This Book First," because it is an essential product for newcomers to the Hero System.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Villains Volume Three: Solo Villains
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2010 17:24:27
I've been preparing to run some Hero 6th Ed convention games lately, and I've found that collections like the Villains and Bestiary books are almost indispensable.

Being new to the system, I don't have a vast collection of bad guy NPCs from previous games that I can draw upon in a pinch, so if the party does something unexpected, I can get caught flat-footed.

Villains Volume 3 includes more than 120 Superheroic Villains arranged in alphabetical order by name. Each includes background information, notes on personality, motivation and tactics.

Now, the biggest hurdle that was stopping me from running a Champions game is gone. Making a bunch of superheroic villains can be a daunting task. Now I can spend time on the story.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Villains Volume Three: Solo Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System 6th Edition - Complete Library
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2010 13:38:23
this is a great tool to have if you do not have a lot of time to create a character

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition - Complete Library
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Dordogne Zodiac
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2010 22:14:28
The author makes much of his indie one-man-band status in the text, but has actually presented a very polished pulp adventure against a Lovecraftian pre-human cult, with a series of suggestions for ongoing adventures. Good-looking and clear maps and handouts should be a big help to a GM.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dordogne Zodiac
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains
by Korvar T. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2010 16:09:08
This is the first of three villain books for Champions, the superhero setting for the Hero System. The Champions Universe has been around in one form or other since 1981, and is rich and textured. With the release of the Sixth Edition of the Hero System rules, it's time to update some classic villains and add some new ones.

Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains gives you pretty much what it says on the tin; master villains who can each take on an entire team of superheroes. These are the Biggest of the Big Bads, each capable of being the end-point of an entire campaign.

The villains each get a multi-page write-up, with history, personality, and suggestions for how to use them in your campaign. And, of course, the all-important stats. Many of them also have minions, from those that are powerful super villains in their own right, to nameless mooks and robot drones. Even before you pop open Volumes II and III you'll have villain teams and thugs to throw at your mighty heroes.

There is a good range of villains here, whatever your campaign, you should find something for you. You have those with secret bases and armies of minions, but also villains who work on their own. There are villains who are technological, magical, even political. Classical megalomaniacs out to conquer the world, those who want to destroy it, and those that just want a big pile of cash.

There's a good power spread too, given that they're all "master" villains. Once you've fought Doctor Destroyer and won, you can start getting into the more cosmic level of no less than three villains who conquer entire *dimensions*.

In a way, though, I wonder if there's a little too much here - I can't imagine you'd ever be able to use everyone in this book. Like I said, you could pin an entire campaign on at least half of them, and never even look at the others. That may be true of any "monster manual" book, though.

The art is colour throughout, with each villain, and most of the mooks and minions getting a protrait. Overall, the art is... variable. Not particularly in terms of "good" and "bad", but there are at least three very different styles. The painterly and more typical comic-book styles kind of clash with a more "animated" one. I don't think the "animated" style is particularly *bad*, but it is a little jarring. A couple of those are of people who don't dress up in superhero costumes, and I think a more detailed rendering would have been better.

One thing I didn't particularly like was the number of references to the Champions Universe product - for example, there's an Alpha-Beta-Gamma-Omega rating system for villains that isn't even briefly explained, just a reference to CU given. It made the book feel like it didn't really stand alone. It's only a niggle, but it was something I noticed.

Random thoughts: I was surprised by the number of Canadian villains.

Slug looks an awful lot like an evil Earthworm Jim.

Overall, I think this is a really good product, and one you almost certainly want if you're running any Champions at all. There's plenty to plunder for any superheroes game, whatever the system, and even for other genres.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2010 05:13:59
A fascinating concept with an amusing visual theme to its technology. Each element of the setting felt a bit underdeveloped to me, suggesting some period series or author that I could drop in to juice it up and pull it together a bit more, so maybe a page or so on those potential sources would have been helpful. Fully developing two or three adventures for the setting perhaps could have given it more sinew. It's possible, I suppose, that I'm holding this to a narrative standard that most of the pulp writers themselves would have struggled to meet.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Bestiary
by Tim R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/17/2010 12:50:35
The summary of the Hero System Bestiary (6th Ed.) for the TLDR crowd: This book is the epitome of it's form, and you should own it. The longer version goes something like this:

I love monsters. Not just in a gaming sense, but in a wholistic fascination and obsessive way. I keep books on monsters, make studies of the "other" and watch plenty of B-movies. So when I say that the Hero System Bestiary is a magnificent example of what might be done with the book form, you know where I'm coming from.

First, this book opens with basically all of the tips and tricks I've devised over time as a GM, to use the bestiary to it's best effect. How all of the creatures can be generalized to fit any scenario you can envision, and then how to implement them into your game to utilize them all for the best effect. And this doesn't even begin to get into the actual monsters!

This book breaks down nearly 500 pages of monsters by genre, type, and literary source. An impressive amount of research goes into this more-than-complete book that focuses on giving the GM the tools to populate his world appropriately. It includes precisely what you need to know about the animals/monsters without drowning you in excessive detail.

This book focuses on GM usability, and is probably the best I've ever seen. There are some minor misses in the bookmarks of the electronic edition; but if you go directly by the table of contents you'll be fine. I've also mentioned this to the folks at Hero Games, and they are looking into it and will probably release an update.

Five Stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Advanced Player's Guide
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2010 21:21:39
The HERO System Advanced Player's Guide is misnamed. What it should be titled is "Advanced HERO Concepts Guide." For the new HERO player, I think it is a bit much to digest, especially if that person has just started down the HERO pathway. That leaves the experienced HERO fan. For them, this book provides discussions on how to tweak the system in interesting ways.

It is organized along the lines of the core rulebooks (Character Creation and Combat & Adventuring) with chapters discussing these optional and alternative concepts in the same order as the core books. The concepts themselves are a mixed bag. Some are quite clever, some seem useless to me, some are carryovers from previous editions that somehow didn't make it to the core books. The individual reader would have to judge which individual tweak might work best for them.

All in all, this book is truly an academic exercise in how to tweak the HERO System. For game mechanists out there, it would be a very entertaining read. For everybody else, it might contain some useful tidbits. I don't know that I would recommend it to the budding HERO gamer. I don't even think most experienced HERO gamers would find this book more than a curiosity. It is an interesting exploration into the mind of Steve Long, the line editor for HERO Games.

HERO Games books have a reputation as looking like text books. HERO 6th went a long way to change that with beautiful color artwork and an impressive layout. The Advanced Player's Guide is a deliberate step backward. It has no art. Some may consider that a deficiency, but the APG was designed to be a textbook on HERO theory. If you are looking for art, this has none. No good art, no bad art. No color art. No grayscale art. No art period. Just something to consider. ( For myself, the book serves as more of a reference than a leisure read. Art is unnecessary. )

I would recommend this only to those who really like to delve into the deep mechanics of a highly mechanical system.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Advanced Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Basic Rulebook
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2010 20:32:24
The HERO System Basic Rulebook is a cut-down version of the HERO System Sixth Edition rules. For those who have never experienced the HERO System before, it offers a taste of the full rules in a nice easy to digest package. The text lists the things that were omitted from each section, but without context the neophyte HERO gamer is just not going to know what he is missing. Still, the essential HERO mechanic is in play and the book does an excellent job of explaining how the rules work. For the price, you get a nice universal gaming system.

But you will soon want more. Much more. For those that really want to sink their proverbial teeth into the system, the HERO System Basic Rulebook is just not going to cut it. This includes longtime fans such as myself. Too much is missing or just barely touched upon. The feeling that their could have been more comes up time and again while reading through the text. For those familiar with past editions of HERO, you can see where a little touch here or a different power included there would have made this a truly remarkable product. I suppose that one of the Basic Rulebook's purposes was to entice the entry-level HERO to buy the main ruleboosk (Character Creation and Combat & Adventuring). I already want to purchase those, so you will have to get the opinion on whether that is a successful tactic from a true HERO neophyte.

Still, for the price, this is a worthy product that will afford many hours of role-playing fun. I recommend it to anybody wanting to test out the HERO System.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero 6th "2010 Special" [BUNDLE]
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2010 10:34:10
I can scarcely believe this bundle is for real, or that there isn't some sort of catch, as even the basic rulebook PDF alone is $15.

Nonetheless, I happily report this bundle is exactly what is says it is!

I won't review the products themselves as that is best done under their respective pages.

All I can say is, I'm not sure how this bundle came to be, but if you want these books, get it while it lasts!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero 6th "2010 Special" [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 85 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG