RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Scourges Of The Galaxy
by Ben H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2012 16:01:50
Even though this is 5th edition I still found the character concepts useful fodder for my planned for Star Hero campain

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scourges Of The Galaxy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Hero
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2011 00:05:56
Star HERO is a great example of the crazy level of detail present in every HERO genre book. It covers a huge amount of the genre, and has something for everyone. The discussion on subgenres elements, genres, hybrid campaigns, gming advice, and a plethora of info on stars, planets, psionics and even time travel is exhaustive and enlightening.

Even if you weren’t a HERO GM, it would still be possible to learn something new and interesting that you could use in your game with this book, and I would -still- recommend that people pick this up out of sheer usefulness.

Overall, it’s a giant book at 358 pages, but what you’re paying for is the density of information. Whether you’re looking for source material for cyberpunk, space opera or hard sci-fi, Star HERO has you covered.

---

This is an excerpt from the full review on my blog. To see the full review, kindly visit http://wp.me/p5H0U-P5

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Hero
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Hero Adventures
by Aron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2011 11:19:31
I love the concept of these little mini-adventures. Individually, they are worth the $1.50 or so that each of them costs. Even if you don't use the Hero system (which I don't), they're nice, concise plots, each with a very "pulpy" feel. Taken together, they can make the basis for a great, long-lasting campaign, especially with the inclusion of the "Inner Earth" material. The artwork and maps are much improved in the combined volume, and definitely worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Hero Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Hero Adventures
by michael f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2011 15:12:41
My only problem with this book is that almost every adventure requires you to have other books, like the Bestiary or Pulp Hero. When I purchase an adventure I expect it to include everything I need to run it. The adventures themselves seem well written and interesting. Most are "fortune hunter" type adventures with a few "weird science" adventures.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ps238
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/14/2011 12:31:16
Great introduction to the Champions/HERO system and a fun concept that is different than all the "Superheroes in High school". Based on the PS 238 comic this game is a streamlined version of the same Champions game. I found it much easier to get into and start playing.

IF you are playing a supers game now, this is a great resource on how to do things a little different and if you are at all a little curious about Champions then this is also a fantastic place to start.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ps238
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero System Equipment Guide
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/17/2010 17:03:33
I wish I had this book when I was prepping my last game.

It contains hundreds of weapons, from medieval weapons, both historic and modern fire arms, scifi weapons and Superheroic weapons (which include point costs for Superheroic rules).

There are lists of different types of armor from different eras, including information for sectional army by hit location. There's also a informative section on the practicality of armor in games and rules to coax PCs out of their armor occasionally.

The HSEG doesn't cover vehicles, but there are several examples of "weird science" and Superheroic movement equipment (ie, suction cup climbers, arm wings, jet boots, rocket surfboard, etc.).

This is a great boon for those of us who find Hero game prep a bit daunting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System Equipment Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System 6th Edition: Combat and Adventuring
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2010 01:54:34
Volume 2 of Hero 6th covers everything that doesn't involve chargen.

The Hero combat system is both complex, flexible and fun. It provides the flexibility during combat to make all sorts of attacks, rather than the standard "I hit."

It has one of the best hit location systems I've ever encountered, including the very innovative "high shot" and "low shot" that provides easier hit modifier penalties.

One of my favorite things about Hero is the initiative system. Characters with a higher speed get more actions in a turn, which makes more sense than the standard init system most games have.

The adventuring section covers nearly every possible situation the PCs will encounter. And the book is very well-organized, so finding the rule you need on the fly doesn't take a lot of time.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition: Combat and Adventuring
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System 6th Edition: Character Creation
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2010 01:47:07
Hero System has the most flexible character creation system in existence.

Like most point-based systems, it's critical to come up with the character concept first. This is especially true for Hero, because you can make ANY character you can think of.

Additionally, there are often several different way to make the same character (though there will be subtle differences in game play).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition: Character Creation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Basic Rulebook
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2010 01:41:35
Start. Here. First.

If you're unfamiliar with Hero or haven't run the Hero system in several editions (like me), this book is a great boon.

I originally purchased the 2 tome set of Hero 6th Ed. After a few hours, I became overwhelmed by the page count. Then I purchased the Basic Rulebook. Once I finished read it, I had an epiphany -- once you've read the Basic Rulebook, the main system books become resource material.

BR provides a scaled-down version of the main rules, but all the basics are there: the powers and modifiers, the combat system, the initiative system, chargen, etc. BR gives you the basics of the system in very concise language.

Once you've had a session or two with the BR, and you realize how awesome Hero is for creating a cinematic game.

It really should be titled, "Buy This Book First," because it is an essential product for newcomers to the Hero System.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Villains Volume Three: Solo Villains
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2010 17:24:27
I've been preparing to run some Hero 6th Ed convention games lately, and I've found that collections like the Villains and Bestiary books are almost indispensable.

Being new to the system, I don't have a vast collection of bad guy NPCs from previous games that I can draw upon in a pinch, so if the party does something unexpected, I can get caught flat-footed.

Villains Volume 3 includes more than 120 Superheroic Villains arranged in alphabetical order by name. Each includes background information, notes on personality, motivation and tactics.

Now, the biggest hurdle that was stopping me from running a Champions game is gone. Making a bunch of superheroic villains can be a daunting task. Now I can spend time on the story.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Villains Volume Three: Solo Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System 6th Edition - Complete Library
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2010 13:38:23
this is a great tool to have if you do not have a lot of time to create a character

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition - Complete Library
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Dordogne Zodiac
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2010 22:14:28
The author makes much of his indie one-man-band status in the text, but has actually presented a very polished pulp adventure against a Lovecraftian pre-human cult, with a series of suggestions for ongoing adventures. Good-looking and clear maps and handouts should be a big help to a GM.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dordogne Zodiac
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains
by Korvar T. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2010 16:09:08
This is the first of three villain books for Champions, the superhero setting for the Hero System. The Champions Universe has been around in one form or other since 1981, and is rich and textured. With the release of the Sixth Edition of the Hero System rules, it's time to update some classic villains and add some new ones.

Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains gives you pretty much what it says on the tin; master villains who can each take on an entire team of superheroes. These are the Biggest of the Big Bads, each capable of being the end-point of an entire campaign.

The villains each get a multi-page write-up, with history, personality, and suggestions for how to use them in your campaign. And, of course, the all-important stats. Many of them also have minions, from those that are powerful super villains in their own right, to nameless mooks and robot drones. Even before you pop open Volumes II and III you'll have villain teams and thugs to throw at your mighty heroes.

There is a good range of villains here, whatever your campaign, you should find something for you. You have those with secret bases and armies of minions, but also villains who work on their own. There are villains who are technological, magical, even political. Classical megalomaniacs out to conquer the world, those who want to destroy it, and those that just want a big pile of cash.

There's a good power spread too, given that they're all "master" villains. Once you've fought Doctor Destroyer and won, you can start getting into the more cosmic level of no less than three villains who conquer entire *dimensions*.

In a way, though, I wonder if there's a little too much here - I can't imagine you'd ever be able to use everyone in this book. Like I said, you could pin an entire campaign on at least half of them, and never even look at the others. That may be true of any "monster manual" book, though.

The art is colour throughout, with each villain, and most of the mooks and minions getting a protrait. Overall, the art is... variable. Not particularly in terms of "good" and "bad", but there are at least three very different styles. The painterly and more typical comic-book styles kind of clash with a more "animated" one. I don't think the "animated" style is particularly *bad*, but it is a little jarring. A couple of those are of people who don't dress up in superhero costumes, and I think a more detailed rendering would have been better.

One thing I didn't particularly like was the number of references to the Champions Universe product - for example, there's an Alpha-Beta-Gamma-Omega rating system for villains that isn't even briefly explained, just a reference to CU given. It made the book feel like it didn't really stand alone. It's only a niggle, but it was something I noticed.

Random thoughts: I was surprised by the number of Canadian villains.

Slug looks an awful lot like an evil Earthworm Jim.

Overall, I think this is a really good product, and one you almost certainly want if you're running any Champions at all. There's plenty to plunder for any superheroes game, whatever the system, and even for other genres.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2010 05:13:59
A fascinating concept with an amusing visual theme to its technology. Each element of the setting felt a bit underdeveloped to me, suggesting some period series or author that I could drop in to juice it up and pull it together a bit more, so maybe a page or so on those potential sources would have been helpful. Fully developing two or three adventures for the setting perhaps could have given it more sinew. It's possible, I suppose, that I'm holding this to a narrative standard that most of the pulp writers themselves would have struggled to meet.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Bestiary
by Tim R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/17/2010 12:50:35
The summary of the Hero System Bestiary (6th Ed.) for the TLDR crowd: This book is the epitome of it's form, and you should own it. The longer version goes something like this:

I love monsters. Not just in a gaming sense, but in a wholistic fascination and obsessive way. I keep books on monsters, make studies of the "other" and watch plenty of B-movies. So when I say that the Hero System Bestiary is a magnificent example of what might be done with the book form, you know where I'm coming from.

First, this book opens with basically all of the tips and tricks I've devised over time as a GM, to use the bestiary to it's best effect. How all of the creatures can be generalized to fit any scenario you can envision, and then how to implement them into your game to utilize them all for the best effect. And this doesn't even begin to get into the actual monsters!

This book breaks down nearly 500 pages of monsters by genre, type, and literary source. An impressive amount of research goes into this more-than-complete book that focuses on giving the GM the tools to populate his world appropriately. It includes precisely what you need to know about the animals/monsters without drowning you in excessive detail.

This book focuses on GM usability, and is probably the best I've ever seen. There are some minor misses in the bookmarks of the electronic edition; but if you go directly by the table of contents you'll be fine. I've also mentioned this to the folks at Hero Games, and they are looking into it and will probably release an update.

Five Stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 88 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG