RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
HERO System 6th Edition - Complete Library
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2010 13:38:23
this is a great tool to have if you do not have a lot of time to create a character

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System 6th Edition - Complete Library
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Dordogne Zodiac
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2010 22:14:28
The author makes much of his indie one-man-band status in the text, but has actually presented a very polished pulp adventure against a Lovecraftian pre-human cult, with a series of suggestions for ongoing adventures. Good-looking and clear maps and handouts should be a big help to a GM.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dordogne Zodiac
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains
by Korvar T. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2010 16:09:08
This is the first of three villain books for Champions, the superhero setting for the Hero System. The Champions Universe has been around in one form or other since 1981, and is rich and textured. With the release of the Sixth Edition of the Hero System rules, it's time to update some classic villains and add some new ones.

Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains gives you pretty much what it says on the tin; master villains who can each take on an entire team of superheroes. These are the Biggest of the Big Bads, each capable of being the end-point of an entire campaign.

The villains each get a multi-page write-up, with history, personality, and suggestions for how to use them in your campaign. And, of course, the all-important stats. Many of them also have minions, from those that are powerful super villains in their own right, to nameless mooks and robot drones. Even before you pop open Volumes II and III you'll have villain teams and thugs to throw at your mighty heroes.

There is a good range of villains here, whatever your campaign, you should find something for you. You have those with secret bases and armies of minions, but also villains who work on their own. There are villains who are technological, magical, even political. Classical megalomaniacs out to conquer the world, those who want to destroy it, and those that just want a big pile of cash.

There's a good power spread too, given that they're all "master" villains. Once you've fought Doctor Destroyer and won, you can start getting into the more cosmic level of no less than three villains who conquer entire *dimensions*.

In a way, though, I wonder if there's a little too much here - I can't imagine you'd ever be able to use everyone in this book. Like I said, you could pin an entire campaign on at least half of them, and never even look at the others. That may be true of any "monster manual" book, though.

The art is colour throughout, with each villain, and most of the mooks and minions getting a protrait. Overall, the art is... variable. Not particularly in terms of "good" and "bad", but there are at least three very different styles. The painterly and more typical comic-book styles kind of clash with a more "animated" one. I don't think the "animated" style is particularly *bad*, but it is a little jarring. A couple of those are of people who don't dress up in superhero costumes, and I think a more detailed rendering would have been better.

One thing I didn't particularly like was the number of references to the Champions Universe product - for example, there's an Alpha-Beta-Gamma-Omega rating system for villains that isn't even briefly explained, just a reference to CU given. It made the book feel like it didn't really stand alone. It's only a niggle, but it was something I noticed.

Random thoughts: I was surprised by the number of Canadian villains.

Slug looks an awful lot like an evil Earthworm Jim.

Overall, I think this is a really good product, and one you almost certainly want if you're running any Champions at all. There's plenty to plunder for any superheroes game, whatever the system, and even for other genres.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Villains Volume One: Master Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2010 05:13:59
A fascinating concept with an amusing visual theme to its technology. Each element of the setting felt a bit underdeveloped to me, suggesting some period series or author that I could drop in to juice it up and pull it together a bit more, so maybe a page or so on those potential sources would have been helpful. Fully developing two or three adventures for the setting perhaps could have given it more sinew. It's possible, I suppose, that I'm holding this to a narrative standard that most of the pulp writers themselves would have struggled to meet.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Bestiary
by Tim R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/17/2010 12:50:35
The summary of the Hero System Bestiary (6th Ed.) for the TLDR crowd: This book is the epitome of it's form, and you should own it. The longer version goes something like this:

I love monsters. Not just in a gaming sense, but in a wholistic fascination and obsessive way. I keep books on monsters, make studies of the "other" and watch plenty of B-movies. So when I say that the Hero System Bestiary is a magnificent example of what might be done with the book form, you know where I'm coming from.

First, this book opens with basically all of the tips and tricks I've devised over time as a GM, to use the bestiary to it's best effect. How all of the creatures can be generalized to fit any scenario you can envision, and then how to implement them into your game to utilize them all for the best effect. And this doesn't even begin to get into the actual monsters!

This book breaks down nearly 500 pages of monsters by genre, type, and literary source. An impressive amount of research goes into this more-than-complete book that focuses on giving the GM the tools to populate his world appropriately. It includes precisely what you need to know about the animals/monsters without drowning you in excessive detail.

This book focuses on GM usability, and is probably the best I've ever seen. There are some minor misses in the bookmarks of the electronic edition; but if you go directly by the table of contents you'll be fine. I've also mentioned this to the folks at Hero Games, and they are looking into it and will probably release an update.

Five Stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Advanced Player's Guide
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2010 21:21:39
The HERO System Advanced Player's Guide is misnamed. What it should be titled is "Advanced HERO Concepts Guide." For the new HERO player, I think it is a bit much to digest, especially if that person has just started down the HERO pathway. That leaves the experienced HERO fan. For them, this book provides discussions on how to tweak the system in interesting ways.

It is organized along the lines of the core rulebooks (Character Creation and Combat & Adventuring) with chapters discussing these optional and alternative concepts in the same order as the core books. The concepts themselves are a mixed bag. Some are quite clever, some seem useless to me, some are carryovers from previous editions that somehow didn't make it to the core books. The individual reader would have to judge which individual tweak might work best for them.

All in all, this book is truly an academic exercise in how to tweak the HERO System. For game mechanists out there, it would be a very entertaining read. For everybody else, it might contain some useful tidbits. I don't know that I would recommend it to the budding HERO gamer. I don't even think most experienced HERO gamers would find this book more than a curiosity. It is an interesting exploration into the mind of Steve Long, the line editor for HERO Games.

HERO Games books have a reputation as looking like text books. HERO 6th went a long way to change that with beautiful color artwork and an impressive layout. The Advanced Player's Guide is a deliberate step backward. It has no art. Some may consider that a deficiency, but the APG was designed to be a textbook on HERO theory. If you are looking for art, this has none. No good art, no bad art. No color art. No grayscale art. No art period. Just something to consider. ( For myself, the book serves as more of a reference than a leisure read. Art is unnecessary. )

I would recommend this only to those who really like to delve into the deep mechanics of a highly mechanical system.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Advanced Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HERO System Basic Rulebook
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2010 20:32:24
The HERO System Basic Rulebook is a cut-down version of the HERO System Sixth Edition rules. For those who have never experienced the HERO System before, it offers a taste of the full rules in a nice easy to digest package. The text lists the things that were omitted from each section, but without context the neophyte HERO gamer is just not going to know what he is missing. Still, the essential HERO mechanic is in play and the book does an excellent job of explaining how the rules work. For the price, you get a nice universal gaming system.

But you will soon want more. Much more. For those that really want to sink their proverbial teeth into the system, the HERO System Basic Rulebook is just not going to cut it. This includes longtime fans such as myself. Too much is missing or just barely touched upon. The feeling that their could have been more comes up time and again while reading through the text. For those familiar with past editions of HERO, you can see where a little touch here or a different power included there would have made this a truly remarkable product. I suppose that one of the Basic Rulebook's purposes was to entice the entry-level HERO to buy the main ruleboosk (Character Creation and Combat & Adventuring). I already want to purchase those, so you will have to get the opinion on whether that is a successful tactic from a true HERO neophyte.

Still, for the price, this is a worthy product that will afford many hours of role-playing fun. I recommend it to anybody wanting to test out the HERO System.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HERO System Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero 6th "2010 Special" [BUNDLE]
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2010 10:34:10
I can scarcely believe this bundle is for real, or that there isn't some sort of catch, as even the basic rulebook PDF alone is $15.

Nonetheless, I happily report this bundle is exactly what is says it is!

I won't review the products themselves as that is best done under their respective pages.

All I can say is, I'm not sure how this bundle came to be, but if you want these books, get it while it lasts!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero 6th "2010 Special" [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inner-Earth
by Jenette D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2009 02:20:00
A well put together source book detailing more of the inner working of hollow earth with some much desired dino stats and really good adventure ideas/additional world info.

There were a couple major downsides, namely the irritating inability to copy/paste any material from the book. Being able to copy/paste dino stats or other pieces into my game master notes is something I really need/expect in a pdf. (Disabling this prompts some potential buyers to simply pirate a copy with the copy/paste ability enabled rather then purchase it legitimately)

The extra included maps in .fcw were a nice addition, but having them be in large maps in .jpg format would have been more convenient (or at least including a .fcw file reader or link to download one)

In short I gave this a 2 star rating due to the inability to copy.paste info form the .pdf and having to hunt across the net for a .fcw file viewer so I can use the included maps. (If copy/paste was enabled and the maps in an easier to view format I'd happily rate this product 5 stars.)

Quality: Satisfied
Easy of use: Disappointed
Value for money: Somewhat Satisfied

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Inner-Earth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inner-Earth
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2009 07:31:27
Dinosaurs, Nazis, cavemen. A really good pulp adventure in the hollow earth genre. Complete with maps, history, personalities, and stat blocks for characters. Fairly easy to convert to other games. "Fair" rating reflects a rather dry writing style, but this is a small complaint.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Malay Coins - PDF
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2008 16:10:09
Not a bad pulp treasure-chase with an easily dispensable supernatural scene right at the end. Action scenes and NPCs could have used more specific description and there are one or two potentially awkward connections.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Malay Coins - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2008 18:07:28
Good pulp setting from the detailed-oriented Hero system, easily convertable to other systems which is the reason I got it. If you do not have Space Hero, you may have trouble with some background game system mechanics, but the storyline is good enough to move things along for any setting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Malay Coins - PDF
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2008 18:09:19
The Malay Coins is an excellent scenario. It's always difficult to review a scenario without giving away too much of the plot. This on involves a search for the remaining coins in a set, which sends the heroes hopping around Asia until the climax. My group managed to go a little off track, but the scenario has a rather strong plot which enabled me to bring them back into the published material without feeling railroaded. My group doesn't play Hero System, but I was able to easily adapt this scenario to our system of choice.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Malay Coins - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Champions Battlegrounds
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2008 19:41:27
Disappointing in a couple of significant ways, Champions Battlegrounds nonetheless delivers on _most_ of what its ad copy promises, although less completely than one might expect.

It's a well-written purchase, but I'm still not convinced it was actually worth the full $17 US I paid. Its strengths are strong, but its weaknesses are significant.

WHAT'S GOOD ABOUT IT?

Well, it delivers on what it promises -- sorta, kinda … barely. I haven't run Champions at the gaming table in years, mostly because I find the game so preparation-intensive. This is not a criticism of Champions; merely that I can prep two or more rpg adventures for other game systems (super, or non-) in the time it takes me to properly prepare one Champions adventure. I have less free time than I used to, so the Champions system is not my best gaming option right now.

I bought Champions Battlegrounds based on the product description -- all that we have to go by, here on RPGNow, until the customer reviews roll in -- after all, what Game Master who runs superhero or modern rpg adventures wouldn't be interested in a product which features five ready-made adventure locations? A park; a mall; a major amusement park; a building construction site; and an abandoned warehouse?

Besides, the five-part, optionally-linked adventure also promised appearances by classic Champions villains such as Ogre and Foxbat. What's not to like? (More on what became of this, below)

The adventure is generally lively and well-written, and rather expertly laid out, given the density of the text description here.

There are a lot of clearly-marked sections, sub-sections, and sidebars throughout, so finding the information you need, when you need it, shouldn't be too tough.

The adventure text also features a number of "If The Players Do X", or "If The Players Fail Here" callouts which can prove very useful given players' tendency to do the things the GM least expects, when he or she least expects it.

The five "battleground" locations can be used separately, of course, or they can be played through as a sequence of linked episodes leading to a final showdown. Options are always good.

WHAT'S NOT SO GOOD?

The worst, most unpardonable sin in Champions Battlegrounds, is that IT REFERS YOU TO A SEPARATE PRODUCT FOR VILLAIN STATS! Sorry for shouting, but that's simply bad form, Smee, especially in the PDF format, where customers can't really know all of what they're getting until it's too late.

The product does stat out its brand-new villains, but for all of the others, you are given page numbers from the Champions villain supplement Conquerors, Killers, and Crooks, and told to look them up.

Hardcore Champions players won't care -- they already own every Champions supplement they can get their hands on -- but for those gamers who pick up Battlegrounds as a potential "gateway" product to Champions, well, Hero Games isn't gonna win much love with cheap tactics like this.

I don't enjoy writing negative reviews -- I'd much rather focus on pointing out the good stuff -- but this increasingly common tactic of publishers giving gamers less than a complete product, while _implying_ it is complete is REALLY starting to irk me, and I feel compelled to call it out.

Funny how the RPGNow product description just "forgot" to mention that you need another product to fully play Champions Battlegrounds, hunh? Yeah. Sure. Right.

The second disappointing aspect of this product is that the promised location maps are not really tabletop scale. In their defense, however, they DO have map-scales on them, both in feet, and in the Champions 1 hex = 2m (6') standard, so you can figure out map-distances if you have access to a ruler.

Most of the maps, however, are printed at what could be called "overview scale" -- like the kind of maps you get when you visit a shopping mall or an amusement park. Some detail, and a general scale, but it's more about giving you an overall sense of place.

The maps are good, but if your players want to tear it up by the concession stand in the superhero-themed OmegaWorld amusement park, or slug it out in the mall comics shop, you're still going to have to break out the battlemap and the markers and hand-draw the player-scale details.

My last complaint is a personal quirk, and does not significantly affect my rating of this product: the PDF is black-and-white throughout.

Even the cover, which is full color on the RPGNow website, is black-and-white in the actual PDF. It just seems wrong for a superhero product not to have even a color cover -- and given the way Champions Battlegrounds weaseled on the villain stats, it makes me wonder if the "color in the promos, but not the product" was another example of marketing weaseldom.

SO, WHAT'S THE VERDICT?

If you're a Champions devotee, you've already bought this. If you're merely a curious gamer, take a look at the strengths and weaknesses I've listed above, and decide if the positives outweigh the negatives for your specific game needs.

Champions Battlegrounds is well-written, and certainly interesting enough to deserve a passing grade -- but its flaws (particularly the lack of necessary villain stats) hold it back from anything more than a basic pass, in my opinion.

Final verdict: 2.5 out of 5 stars, rounded up to 3 for the RPGNow system.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Champions Battlegrounds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero System Resource Kit
by Gordon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2007 13:05:21
The Upside:


I picked up the Resource Kit some time ago as a hard copy and have used it to good effect, mostly at Conventions. I also picked up the PDF recently and have discovered a few different uses for it.

First, what the packet is, and what it isn't. The hard copy contains four parts - a forty-eight page booklet, three 22x17 double sided maps, three cardboard miniature pages, and a five panel GMs screen.

The Booklet. A short reference guide to help with character creation and game setup. The booklet contains no rules explanations, only tables and costs of various game elements. The book has four main parts to it.

Character Creation lists the basic character elements, point levels, costs of Characteristics. It also lists the basic elements and costs for all the creation elements. A complete Skills List, Base Movement, Martial Maneuvers, Perks, Talents, Powers, Power Advantages & Limitations, Power Frameworks and Character Disadvantages. Only Power Frameworks get any kind of description, the rest are simply lists of the costs for each item.

Equipment Creation covers costs for Automatons, Computers, Vehicles, and Bases. All in about two pages, again no descriptions just quick cost references.

Combat Summary starts with the combat sequence checklist, and covers all the major points of basic combat from figuring OCV and DCV to adding damage, Normal and Killing Attacks, Effects of damage, Knockback, Endurance and Pushing. It does not cover the optional rules.

Forms And Templates is the part of the book with all new resources. Starting with the basic two page character sheet. The new tracking sheets are a Character Bio Sheet for putting down a complete character background. Campaign Guidelines sheet for GMs to pass out to set power levels, tone and house rules. Campaign Checklist Sheet which allows a GM to give out a quick checklist of permitted, required or forbidden elements (Skills, Powers, etc...). Combat Record Sheet for the PCs and major NPCs. Minion Control Sheet for quick reference of lesser NPCs. Adventure Record Sheet for GMs to track major events for each game session or adventure. Vehicle and Base Record Sheets. And several Hex Templates: A four part Range Template (four 8 hex long strips that can be cut out and stacked end to end) that gives range modifiers out to 32 Inches/Hexes. And three Area Of Effect Templates for 2, 3 and 4 Inches Areas.

The Cardboard Figures. There are three sets of Cut out miniatures included (base stands not included). One fantasy with two human warrior variants, a human thief, a human shopkeeper, a human bard, two female priestess variants, a human mage, two goblin/orc warrior variants, and two ogre/giant type creatures. One Modern set with a girl on a bike, a fire fighter, a bum, a young woman, kid on a skateboard, a businessman, young man, a mailman, a female reporter and three cop/security guard variants. One Science Fiction set with a technician, two powered armor soldiers, a psionic, two human soldiers (one male, one female), human military officer, human rogue and four different aliens. The hard copy are on heavy cardboard stock, single sided. The figures are black and white, which gives the electronic copy a bit of an edge if you wanted to add a bit of color to them it's much easier with that version than the hard copy.

The Maps. Twenty-Two Inches by Seventeen inches. There are three double sided maps provided in 1 Hex = 1 Inch scale. The first one is a modern street and a modern warehouse. The second a fantasy tavern and a farmstead. The last a science fiction bar and the bridge of a spaceship. It's definitely easier to get the hard copy of the this than to try and print out the maps on your own. The hard copy are printed on thick paper stock.

The GMs Screen. A five panel affair containing just about every table the average Hero Gamer references during a session. Double sided so the players have a set of tables to look at as well as the GM. There are suggestions at the start of the booklet on how to modify this screen if needed. I actually found the PDF version of this more useful as you can print out the five panels separately and have them free floating to pass around the table (even nicer is having them laminated to make them more durable). Though the GMs screen itself is extremely useful if the GM uses one. It's printed on heavy card stock, so it doesn't fall over too easily.

The Downside:

For a system deeply rooted in Super Hero gaming I was surprised to find the miniatures didn't include a set of generic Supers or thugs for Super PCs to beat up. Or at the very least some Supervillains from Hero Games' own line. But seeing as how wildly individual people like their superheroes the lack of them doesn't disappoint me very much.

The Otherside:

Being a reference resource for the HERO System you might think this has no use at all for gamers of other systems. Mostly true, but not completely. The three pages of paper miniatures are useful to anyone who needs some more, especially some generic ones. The six included maps are also fairly useful, even if you don't use hex maps.

For a quick reference guide this set is more than adequate. Hero Games also gives explicit permission to copy any part of the set for personal use only, which is helpful in today's world of copyright awareness. For about Thirty Dollars US you can pick up both the electronic and hard copy of this supplement, which gets the most use out of it I feel.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System Resource Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 93 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG