RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hero System 5th Edition, Revised - PDF
by David L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2007 05:57:26
HERO/Champions is my all time favorite system for roleplaying in the superhero genre. I love the fact that you can completely customize your character according to a point system, and it is pretty easy for the GM to keep individuals from getting out of control simply by enforcing the active point limits for powers and keeping a close eye on endurance cost.

I think that the system is best for supers, and I rarely use it for other genres, especially fantasy. That is, unless, you want a really high fantasy with powerful characters. The system also works great for kung fu games, since a lot of those get over the top. (I'm thinking "Kung Fu Hustle" type moves)

The fifth edition was well worth the price, and I plan on picking up the "ultimate" series soon, once I get through re-reading the basic rules.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System 5th Edition, Revised - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNTIL Superpowers Database - PDF
by Mark G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/31/2007 00:00:00
<UNTIL Superpowers Database> by Hero Games is an indispensable power construction resource for the 4th edition of the Hero System. It is 272 pages and retails for $18.99. This is a huge book that makes character creation a lot easier for new players. The product is broken into roughly 43 chapters. The first being an introduction to the book, the last an appendix that deals with the Power skill, and the rest of the book being broken down into by power theme groups.

The types of powers in this product include: acid powers, air and wind powers, animal powers, body control powers, cosmic energy powers, cyberkinesis powers, darkness powers, density alteration powers, dimensional manipulation powers, earth and stone powers, electricity powers, emotion control powers, fire and heat powers, force powers, gravity powers, ice and cold powers, illusion powers, kinetic energy powers, light powers, luck powers, magnetism powers, matter manipulation powers, mental and psionic powers, precognition powers, radiation powers, shape alteration powers, sleep and dream powers, solar and celestial powers, sonic powers, speedster powers, strength and toughness powers, stretching powers, telekinesis powers, time powers, vibration powers, water powers, weather powers, wood/plant powers and miscellaneous powers. Or roughly any power you can think of from comic books.

Want to run-up walls with super-speed like the Flash? Hyper-running on p. 299 + running up buildings addition for 7 more points.
Want tie someone up with a lamp post like the Thing? The Big Wrap-Up (20 PP) p. 208
Want to make a force field out of light like Quasar? Photonic Shield (40 PP) p.127
Want to be unmovable like the Blob? Kinetic Cancellation (13 PP) p.122

There are a ridiculous number of powers in this book (so many I refuse to count them). All are completely figured out with advantages and disadvantages so that the math is completed. Each power also has a number of additions that can be used to fine tune the effect you are looking for. For instance:

Body of Metal is designed to be +20 Str, +4 PD, +4 ED, Knockback resistance ?4?, Armour 18 PD/18ED for a total of 71 points.

If you want tougher armour, 24 PD/24ED adds 15 points.
If you want weaker armour, 12 PD/ED, +15 Str, +3 PD and +3 ED, -3? knockback then it drops to 56 points.
If you want to be able to transform into and out of metal, it costs 83

Options, there are lots of options that will let your players fine-tune their characters. Throughout the product there are images of heroes and villains from UNTIL?s database that should the characters using their powers to provide inspiration to players. Because Hero Games wastes very little space in a product, the margins of the book sometimes hold other useful pieces of information such as powers, advantages, limitations, adders or descriptions of characters with certain powers.



LIKED: This is an indispensable book for GM who have new players or have players who don?t want to do the math of power building themselves.
It is a great resource for making opponents quickly to reduce GM prep time.


QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNTIL Superpowers Database - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Malay Coins - PDF
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2006 00:00:00
A solid pulp adventure. I've run the Malay Coins three times, and it's never been a let down. Play groups have generally found the nps interested, the plot well sign-posted without being a give-away, and a fun time.

As a note, I'll mention I've never used the Hero System to run this adventure (a testament to it's usefulness, and not a comment on the Hero System).

Recommended for GMs running pulp.


LIKED: Well put together adventure, with a nifty handout puzzle.

DISLIKED: N/A.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malay Coins - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Hero - PDF
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2006 00:00:00
Excellent Product! I liked the useful information that allows you to create your own fantasy universe or easily model existing ones using th e hero system building blocks with out getting lost in the infinite forest of options available.

It will truly help you structure out all the systems necessary for a great game. Also it?s worth mentioning that if you want to save a lot of work, this is your best bet as there is plenty of ideas to pick from. Just touch up and insert in to campaign.



LIKED: Well structured and conteins canned material as well as seeds to create your own. DETAILED BOOKMARKS!

DISLIKED: It should already come with the Herodesighner packs included when you buy the digital version.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Hero - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero System 5th Edition, Revised - PDF
by Scott D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2006 00:00:00
Unless you are well-versed in a former iteration of the HERO system, this book, weighing in at 660+ pages, just rules, no genre materials--JUST HERO SYSTEM RULES--will likely be way too much. If you are new to the system or gaming in general, get the Hero System Sidekick, which is a 120 page book with all the essntials of the system, which may be all the rules you'll ever need. Later, you can graduate to this monster.

The revision fixes errata, refines the rules, and offers a ton more examples of the rules being applied. I wasn't sure it would be worthwhile to get this , since I had the regular 5th Ed., but I have to say unreservedly, yes, get this. You will not find a more flexible, interesting, exciting, and fun rule system, and the best thing about it is: it is TRULY universal, and it TRULY works in all genres. This is all my groups plays now.


LIKED: Massive, covers everything, even rule mechanics you never thought you'd ever need. All the rules, with tons of examples, in one place.

DISLIKED: Off-putting to new gamers or those new to the HERO system, in that it is a book of rules only (no genre info) that is more than 600 pages, and is 2 or 3x as thick as a D&D 3.5 Ed book.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System 5th Edition, Revised - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Hero - PDF
by Scott D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2006 00:00:00
So long as you understand that this is a book giving the reader a million different options for how they want their fantasy world to work, AND NOT A BOOK DESCRIBING AN OFFICIAL WAY OF DOING THINGS with alternatives, you will probably really enjoy this book. There are alot of clever ideas in here, and some pretty exhaustive treatments of the various factors to be considered in creating any fantasy setting. Alt of work and love obviously went into this book. The layout and artwork is not the greatest.


LIKED: Massive, and gives tons of options for creating your own Fantasy HERO game world to play in.

DISLIKED: I prefer an 'officialy' approach, with variations, rather than a listing of possible means of handling, say, a magic system, or armor, weapon damage, etc.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Hero - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pulp Hero - PDF
by Geoff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2006 00:00:00
If you are interested in pulp era gaming, pick this up. Even if you don't play the Hero System (which I don't), pick this up. It is a top-notch resource for pulp era gaming; one which you shouldn't be without.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Hero - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Locomotive Pirates
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2006 00:00:00
Stripped-down, bare-bones, no-frills adventure! Just the way I like it!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Locomotive Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pulp Hero - PDF
by Steve L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2006 00:00:00
This is an excellent source book. There is an indepth look at the whole pulp genre including the history and evolution of Pulp magazines. It includes an exhaustive history and details on almost every country/type of pulp adventure you may wish to run. I don't use the Hero system myself but to covert this to other systems is easy. There are a great many 'stereotype' heroes and villains in here and plenty of ideas on how to customise them. Whether you play dark and gritty or Hollywood Adventure style games this book is well worth buying.

I have used it to develop my own set of Miniatures Rules. Truly a fabulous source of information.


LIKED: In depth history of Pulp Genre and excellent character development.

DISLIKED: It's very big!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Hero - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2006 00:00:00
Stripped-down, bare-bones, no-frills adventure! Just the way I like it!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solar Smith and The Sky-Pirates of Arcturus! - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Raven and the Midnight Brigade - PDF
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2006 00:00:00
Stripped-down, bare-bones, no-frills adventure! Just the way I like it!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Raven and the Midnight Brigade - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Golden Idol Of Sikral - PDF
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2006 00:00:00
Stripped-down, bare-bones, no-frills adventure! Just the way I like it!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Golden Idol Of Sikral - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Captain Battle and the Science Police - PDF
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2006 00:00:00
Stripped-down, bare-bones, no-frills adventure! Just the way I like it!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Captain Battle and the Science Police - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Curse Of The Vulture-God - PDF
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2006 00:00:00
Stripped-down, bare-bones, no-frills adventure! Just the way I like it!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse Of The Vulture-God - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero System 5th Edition, Revised - PDF
by Elzbeth M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2006 00:00:00
500+ pages! Seems a little overwhelming, but my gaming group is running Champions next, so I guess I'd better get studying.

Everyone seems out of the hardcover of this book. :(


LIKED: Lots of supporting source material. If I want to try another genre with the same system, it's there (like GURPS).

DISLIKED: Lots of supporting source material. For someone just coming into the Hero System, the sheer amount of sourcebooks available can seem overwhelming.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System 5th Edition, Revised - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 92 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG