RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ptolus Sketchbook Vol. 1:Midtown
by Will B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 01:27:31

I really like the Forge Studios stuff, this art work is very useful and inspiring, works well for other settings as well, well worth the purchase, and it’s hard to match the quality and variety by searching goggle for art, that is not half as good or useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Sketchbook Vol. 1:Midtown
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Common places - Merchants #02
by Will B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 01:25:05

I really like the Forge Studios stuff, this art work is very useful and inspiring, I buy the bundles whenever I can for my games. Well worth the purchase, and it’s hard to match the quality and variety by searching goggle for art, that is not half as good or useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Common places - Merchants  #02
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Common places - Merchants #03
by Will B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 01:24:44

I really like the Forge Studios stuff, this art work is very useful and inspiring, I buy the bundles whenever I can for my games. Well worth the purchase, and it’s hard to match the quality and variety by searching goggle for art, that is not half as good or useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Common places - Merchants  #03
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Common places #13
by Will B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 01:23:44

I really like the Forge Studios stuff, this art work is very useful and inspiring, I buy the bundles whenever I can for my games. Well worth the purchase, and it’s hard to match the quality and variety by searching goggle for art, that is not half as good or useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Common places  #13
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Common places #14
by Will B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 01:23:21

I really like the Forge Studios stuff, this art work is very useful and inspiring, I buy the bundles whenever I can for my games. Well worth the purchase, and it’s hard to match the quality and variety by searching goggle for art, that is not half as good or useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Common places  #14
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Common places #15
by Will B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 01:22:27

I really like the Forge Studios stuff, this art work is very useful and inspiring, I buy the bundles whenever I can for my games. Well worth the purchase, and it’s hard to match the quality and variety by searching goggle for art, that is not half as good or useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Common places  #15
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Common places #16
by Will B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 01:21:32

I really like the Forge Studios stuff, this art work is very useful and inspiring, I buy the bundles whenever I can for my games. Well worth the purchase, and it’s hard to match the quality and variety by searching goggle for art, that is not half as good or useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Common places  #16
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Environments: Dungeons
by jim p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2018 01:09:29

Inconsistent quality issue across the five images. Some are stellar. Some are inked completely different from the others. There's no way to use them all in one book. The image on the cover is great, but I don't care for the rest.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Environments: Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

'Battle Drones vol. 2’
by jim p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2018 01:08:24

It seems impossible to order art from the Forge Studios anymore without having to clean up the files. I don't expect much in terms of quality for $5. I go in knowing that. And luckily I'm skilled in photoshop, so I can fix any mistakes I find in these jpgs.

But why am I cleaning up smudges and artifacts from the scanner? Why aren't these checked before being uploaded. I spent 30 minutes cleaning up these images. They are no longer $5 if I have to spend $20 worth of my time cleaning them up. They are now $25 images.

This isn't the only instance of this, but this set and Architecture of Deep Space 2 are the worst so far from Forge.

No es bueno.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
'Battle Drones vol. 2’
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

'Architecture of deep space 2’
by jim p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2018 01:07:53

It seems impossible to order art from the Forge Studios anymore without having to clean up the files. I don't expect much in terms of quality for $5. I go in knowing that. And luckily I'm skilled in photoshop, so I can fix any mistakes I find in these jpgs.

But why am I cleaning up smudges and artifacts from the scanner? Why aren't these checked before being uploaded. I spent 30 minutes cleaning up these images. They are no longer $5 if I have to spend my time cleaning them up.

This isn't the only instance of this, but this set and Battle Drone vol. 2 are the worst so far from Forge.

No es bueno.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
'Architecture of deep space 2’
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Common places - free map#1
by Jong H. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2018 18:29:17

I mean it's what it is, but at the same time exactly what I expected and wanted.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Common places - free map#1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forbidden halls #01
by Joseph L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 11:30:25

I questioned whether or not I was interested in this product, but the price was under $5 and I love maps so I thought I would give it a try.

There are several maps contained, and I enjoy the look of all of them. Each map is represented three times. The first is a smaller half page image with the bottom half of the page lined for Description and GM Notes. There are two full page images of the maps, one with and one without a grid.

There is also a section of "dungeon features" that includes eighteen different images that are very interesting and gorgeous. Each has a small section for GM Notes next to the image. It is a really cool addition to a book of maps. It reminds me a bit of my original reaction to reading through the Tomb of Horrors and getting to the images at the end of the module, except the up side here is that the GM gets to pick and choose what maps he or she uses and how to incorporate those features how they wish. (There is one minor inconsistency that I’ve noticed where the earlier in the work the term GM Notes are used while here the term DM Notes are used.)

The designs of the maps and features are clean and interesting looking that are reminiscent of old school gaming. The maps are not too clean however and utilize hatching and seemingly hand drawn linework.

The only thing I'm not entirely happy with is the cover. While I do like the drawing, I was turned off by it initially. Looking at the cover I thought that either the contents would be horrible or very nice. I was very happy when I viewed the actual contents. I suggest adding one more preview page of the contents if the seller doesn't see the kind of sales that this piece deserves.

Good job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden halls #01
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forged Locale #1: "The House of the Broken Sky"
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2017 20:46:57

The maps are wonderfully drawn. There is great detail within the structures and it is pretty clear what things are even with it being black ink only. I'm sure anyone with photoshop or any other program that is similar could go through and add color to the maps for personal use. I'm also a fan of having the two different styles of maps: With and Without Grids. I'm more of a Without Grids kind of guy and I know there are others out there that prefer to have Grids on their maps.

The eight pages of content is really all that is needed for this adventure and/or campaign. There is the history/background of what exactly is The House of the Broken Sky that takes place two years before the adventure. The background and setting can easily be placed into an existing world with or without a name change here and there. The background could even be used in your campaign as something that is currently happening and then future sessions could lead up to the aftermath (which is the adventure). The adventure is covered in only four pages. A page for each location being described: Overland, Level 1 & 2 of the House of the Broken Sky and Caves. The maps for the House of the Broken Sky are not keyed but rather there is information on what is going on in that level and what is in that level. The overland and caves are the only maps that are keyed but even then it is just to point out key locations. Then there is also information on what's going on in those locations and what's in those locations. There is a pretty strong foundation that can be used to create the adventure and/or campaign as you see fit. And I keep saying, "campaign," because as I read through it I can already see how this small but extremely useful PDF can be constructed into a larger campaign. There are also two clear factions within this adventure and one of them is already playing the other. So this could lead to some very interesting story development depending on the GM and the players.

Overall, I love the story/background and plus a huge bonus for me is having the maps with no grids on it. So purchase it. Less than $3 so you can't really go wrong. Even if you don't want to use the adventure the maps are really good to be used in your game for something else.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forged Locale #1: "The House of the Broken Sky"
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Broken Coin Inn
by Se t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2017 17:48:50

Excellent drawings, a great location that's very flexible (it's an inn with two storeys, but also a hidden thieve's den below). It's got some NPCs and stats and a story hook. It's perfect. I'm using it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Broken Coin Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Environments: Sewers
by Stephen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2017 16:17:00

Excellent work as always from The Forge, but you can see that for yourself in the preview document :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Environments: Sewers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 157 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG