RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
'The Cozy Hearth Inn'
by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2015 16:10:22
I'm excited to use this in my next session. I think it will expand my story and town dramatically.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
'The Cozy Hearth Inn'
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

'The Broken Coin Inn'
by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2015 16:08:41
This is a very good story hook/twist. I haven't used this yet, but I'm excited to put this to use.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
'The Broken Coin Inn'
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

'Common places - free map#2'
by n8 m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2015 12:05:15
A useful coastal town map. The layout of the town is good, and the rendering style is pleasant.

The B&W version has horizontal heavy stroke leader-lines and bold labels which feel more suitable to a modern-urban or sci-fi map and are distracting, dominating the negative space on the page. As there are only two such call-outs, omiting them wouldn't have impacted the quality of the map, but at the very least, finer, angled leaders and more stylized typeset would have improved their appearance.

The rendering style makes labeling the buildings slightly awkward though far from impossible. Instead of the aforementioned leader lines, leaving those areas blank would have provided clean space to key the map for use in play.

There is also an issue of the poorly defined coast line and those area beyond the walls and town extents.. a slight continuation of the coast past the town to either side, and some indication of roads and straggling buildings in those previously mentioned blank spaces would have helped make this town feel more complete and ready to use.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
'Common places - free map#2'
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 3.
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 19:50:47
I love the Essential Fantasy Geography books. I've used many maps already in my current campaign. I like showing the players what their characters see. Even though the art is B&W, they are still excellent visual aids.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 3.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 2.
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 19:50:22
I love the Essential Fantasy Geography books. I've used many maps already in my current campaign. I like showing the players what their characters see. Even though the art is B&W, they are still excellent visual aids.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 2.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 1.
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 19:49:41
I love the Essential Fantasy Geography books. I've used many maps already in my current campaign. I like showing the players what their characters see. Even though the art is B&W, they are still excellent visual aids.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 1.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

'The Cozy Hearth Inn'
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2015 11:17:24
Why Review a Free Product?
It will still cost you some time to read and some ink to print if you choose. I'd like to know if it's worth it and I thought someone else might as well.

Physical Product
This is a 7 page PDF in a two-column format that makes it easy to read on a phone. I appreciate that.

Pros
Excellent illustrations of the exterior of the inn and the interior map/floor plans. 5 staff members are described, but only the proprietor is stated. Nice little slice of life Adventure Hook.

Cons
No other character statistics. No statistics for doors, locks, etc. No menu. No operating hours. No description of typical patrons.

Overall
A good product. You'll have to do a little more work to use it, but the map and illustrations definitely make it worth it, and the lack of anything particularly 'gonzo' means it fits a wider variety of game/campaign types. This would make me look at their other products.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
'The Cozy Hearth Inn'
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

'The Broken Coin Inn'
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2015 11:13:15
REVIEWS OF FREE PRODUCTS

Why Review a Free Product?
Physical Product
Pros
Cons
Overall

The Broken Coin Inn.

Why Review a Free Product?
It will still cost you some time to read and some ink to print if you choose. I'd like to know if it's worth it and I thought someone else might as well.

Physical Product
This is a 10 page PDF in a two-column format with an easy to read font that makes it easy to read on a phone. I appreciate that.

Pros
Excellent illustration of the outside of the inn and an excellent map. Statistics are given for the proprietor and his special sword. I appreciate that the sword isn't over-the-top, but still still interesting. The 'fantasy' element is limited to an easily replaced stuffed creature. I appreciate the fact that it not obtrusive and easily replaced. The inn is also loosely connected to training caravan guards which is a unique and interesting bit of business.

Cons
No other character statistics. No statistics for doors, locks, etc. No menu. No operating hours. No other staff mentioned except one wench. No description of typical patrons. The inn is connected to the Thieves Guild which makes it a little harder to just 'plop down' this inn anywhere needed.

Overall
A good product. You'll have to do a little more work to use it, but the map and illustrations definitely make it worth it, and the lack of anything particularly 'gonzo' means it fits a wider variety of game/campaign types. This would make me look at their other products.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
'The Broken Coin Inn'
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

'The Broken Coin Inn'
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 13:24:45
Really good place to set an adventure, especially for thieves, though it doesn't have an adventure in itself. Very detailed blueprints, and descriptions.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
'The Broken Coin Inn'
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2015 12:21:34
Much better than other free products. Full descriptions, clear maps, and easy to modify for your own game. There is a bonus in adding the thieves guild in the basement. This could be modified to make the basement a home for your adventurers. The NPCs are fully explained and easy to work into many different types of adventures. Very pleased.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
'The Cozy Hearth Inn'
by Harvey P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2014 23:52:53
Decent add to any fantasy game and maybe a few other sorts .. considering Dark Heresy myself ... liked it ;)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
'The Cozy Hearth Inn'
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

'SF Maps-demo'
by Will B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2014 06:50:56
I love good art work, it can make or break any product, as surly as bad editing. The SF map demo from the Forge, is a cool idea. It's a great product, but it only suffers slightly because of the generic nature of the ship in question. The Forge can not use any copyrighted ships that are so iconic to Space Opera gaming. Would it be great to see a X-wing, or a Scout vessels from Traveller, you bet, but sadly that will not happen. However, as inspiration for you own galactic adventures in a huge universe of possibilities, you really can't go wrong with this product from The Forge. Do more please....

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
'SF Maps-demo'
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ygrons' Bridge
by Greg A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2014 08:37:13
Ygrons' Bridge, like all the The Forge products, is beautifully illustrated. I started using the Instant Locations by The Forge and this is the first PDF I purchased with setting information. It did not disappoint. My only complaint is that I can not find the publisher's website.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ygrons' Bridge
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 1.
by Frizzle C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 10:17:08
Waste of my money, the drawings are shabby black and white sketches. From the cover I was expecting some lovely detailed full-colour pictures which would be very immersive. Rubbish, I've had a lot more for the same price from DTRPG.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 1.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tactical maps - 'Brigands' Den
by Ettrick R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2014 00:19:46
The Brigands' Den amazed me when I opened the file. The map is well-rendered and appropriately-scaled for the adventure. I especially like the split-level representation allowing a portion of the space (and the dwellers thereof) to be within earshot without being in sight. You may have a game designed around stealth, trap-evasion,

The NPC thugs, with predetermined combat style arrive with an established presence and reputation. I would even wager they have more personality than some GMs would/could portray without supplements.

Having picked this up as a scenario for others I would Overlord, I'm tempted to work out a plot and mechanic to play a solo game in this setting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tactical maps - 'Brigands' Den
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 127 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG