RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Broken Coin Inn
by Jonathan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2016 17:16:38

Nice sketch and hand-drawn floorplans, although it would be nice to have a version of the floorplans that could be printed at figure scale.


The inn is easily usable as is, taking some of the descriptive text and making up whatever other details you like. But there's also a situation and background here if you want it. It's not complicated but it's something to work with depending on the interests of your PCs, and the names and personalities included will be a nice head start for that. That said, it could use some proofreading.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Broken Coin Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Cozy Hearth Inn
by Jonathan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2016 16:46:52

Nice sketch and hand-drawn maps with plenty of detail. I would have also liked separate .png files of the maps for printing at different sizes. But maps and descriptions of inns are always useful and this is nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Cozy Hearth Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crooked Wheel street - DEMO
by Jonathan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2016 16:14:43

Contains a neighborhood map and very nice sketches of 7 buildings, as well as one page of description of Bek's Alehouse and one page of maps of the Alehouse. Stats for Bek and the locks and security are D20 but the layout, maps, sketches, and descriptions are useful for any fantasy game that might visit a tavern... which is to say any fantasy game. It's an unusual tavern layout, too, only semi-enclosed and not the standard generic tavern. It's apparent that the descriptions of the other buildings (in the full paid product, not here) interlock so together they should seed some story ideas and encounters as well, although that doesn't reduce the utility of this piece on its own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crooked Wheel street - DEMO
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Common places - free map#4
by Jonathan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2016 16:06:22

It's not obvious from the listing, but this map includes the areas from free maps #1, 2, and 3. Looks like there will eventually be some additional material to the left side of this map too. It's a nice town map though, certainly usable if you are willing to assign identities to the buildings as needed. And can't beat the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Common places - free map#4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Cozy Hearth Inn
by Justin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2015 13:26:12

Detailed description of an inn with a simple encounter. Descriptive information of the interior with maps. Includes details on 4 NPCs, 1 with stats and stats for 1 monster.
Great little addition that can fit into any campaign or town of DMs choosing and can easily be tweaked to fit your needs.
Looking for more like this to add to my campaign settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Cozy Hearth Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Cozy Hearth Inn
by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2015 16:10:22

I'm excited to use this in my next session. I think it will expand my story and town dramatically.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Broken Coin Inn
by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2015 16:08:41

This is a very good story hook/twist. I haven't used this yet, but I'm excited to put this to use.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Broken Coin Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Common places - free map#2
by n8 m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2015 12:05:15

A useful coastal town map. The layout of the town is good, and the rendering style is pleasant.


The B&W version has horizontal heavy stroke leader-lines and bold labels which feel more suitable to a modern-urban or sci-fi map and are distracting, dominating the negative space on the page. As there are only two such call-outs, omiting them wouldn't have impacted the quality of the map, but at the very least, finer, angled leaders and more stylized typeset would have improved their appearance.


The rendering style makes labeling the buildings slightly awkward though far from impossible. Instead of the aforementioned leader lines, leaving those areas blank would have provided clean space to key the map for use in play.


There is also an issue of the poorly defined coast line and those area beyond the walls and town extents.. a slight continuation of the coast past the town to either side, and some indication of roads and straggling buildings in those previously mentioned blank spaces would have helped make this town feel more complete and ready to use.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Common places - free map#2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 3.
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 19:50:47

I love the Essential Fantasy Geography books. I've used many maps already in my current campaign. I like showing the players what their characters see. Even though the art is B&W, they are still excellent visual aids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 3.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 2.
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 19:50:22

I love the Essential Fantasy Geography books. I've used many maps already in my current campaign. I like showing the players what their characters see. Even though the art is B&W, they are still excellent visual aids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 2.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 1.
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 19:49:41

I love the Essential Fantasy Geography books. I've used many maps already in my current campaign. I like showing the players what their characters see. Even though the art is B&W, they are still excellent visual aids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Essential Fantasy Geography volume 1.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Cozy Hearth Inn
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2015 11:17:24

Why Review a Free Product?
It will still cost you some time to read and some ink to print if you choose. I'd like to know if it's worth it and I thought someone else might as well.


Physical Product
This is a 7 page PDF in a two-column format that makes it easy to read on a phone. I appreciate that.


Pros
Excellent illustrations of the exterior of the inn and the interior map/floor plans. 5 staff members are described, but only the proprietor is stated. Nice little slice of life Adventure Hook.


Cons
No other character statistics. No statistics for doors, locks, etc. No menu. No operating hours. No description of typical patrons.


Overall
A good product. You'll have to do a little more work to use it, but the map and illustrations definitely make it worth it, and the lack of anything particularly 'gonzo' means it fits a wider variety of game/campaign types. This would make me look at their other products.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Cozy Hearth Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Broken Coin Inn
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2015 11:13:15

REVIEWS OF FREE PRODUCTS


Why Review a Free Product?
Physical Product
Pros
Cons
Overall


The Broken Coin Inn.


Why Review a Free Product?
It will still cost you some time to read and some ink to print if you choose. I'd like to know if it's worth it and I thought someone else might as well.


Physical Product
This is a 10 page PDF in a two-column format with an easy to read font that makes it easy to read on a phone. I appreciate that.


Pros
Excellent illustration of the outside of the inn and an excellent map. Statistics are given for the proprietor and his special sword. I appreciate that the sword isn't over-the-top, but still still interesting. The 'fantasy' element is limited to an easily replaced stuffed creature. I appreciate the fact that it not obtrusive and easily replaced. The inn is also loosely connected to training caravan guards which is a unique and interesting bit of business.


Cons
No other character statistics. No statistics for doors, locks, etc. No menu. No operating hours. No other staff mentioned except one wench. No description of typical patrons. The inn is connected to the Thieves Guild which makes it a little harder to just 'plop down' this inn anywhere needed.


Overall
A good product. You'll have to do a little more work to use it, but the map and illustrations definitely make it worth it, and the lack of anything particularly 'gonzo' means it fits a wider variety of game/campaign types. This would make me look at their other products.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Broken Coin Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Broken Coin Inn
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 13:24:45

Really good place to set an adventure, especially for thieves, though it doesn't have an adventure in itself. Very detailed blueprints, and descriptions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Broken Coin Inn
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2015 12:21:34

Much better than other free products. Full descriptions, clear maps, and easy to modify for your own game. There is a bonus in adding the thieves guild in the basement. This could be modified to make the basement a home for your adventurers. The NPCs are fully explained and easy to work into many different types of adventures. Very pleased.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 132 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG