RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mouse Guard RPG 2nd Edition
by Matti L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2016 16:03:11

<3 <3 <3 This system is less min-max and more character driven: Role-play and reward system.
WARNING!!! This game is cute af and everyone playing NEEDS to be supportive and encouraging, also accent/voice characterization is REQUIRED for adition rewards!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mouse Guard RPG 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Revere: Revolution in Silver
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2016 20:13:57

Mash-ups are all the rage; whether it be Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter, or any number of lesser-known works, putting two seemingly unlikely things together has become a literary obsession recently. Revere: Revolution in Silver carries on this growing tradition, positing that, in his spare time, Paul Revere was actually a werewolf hunter and member of an occult organization dedicated to defending the world against supernatural threats.
With the early days of the American Revolution as the backdrop, Revere: Revolution in Silver takes this premise and runs with it. Doing an interesting bit of world-building, writer Lavallee and artist Bond create a whole new mythology around the famous American revolutionary.


The art style is reminiscent of the Hellboy comics from Dark Horse: spare and cartoonish, and occasionally appearing a bit rough. I find the style perfectly serviceable for the medium, and have no quarrel with it. I like the subtle, effective shading done to achieve different lighting effects – from overcast to torchlit night and full daylight – it caught even caught my artistically untrained eye.


Without giving too much away, it seems apparent that Revere and the chief villain know each other and have history together. Their animosity towards each other is clear, though an explanation is not forthcoming – at least in this first volume. The dialogue is clear and fairly concise, with use of period speech used sparsely for effect rather than overwhelmingly so. A few cliches pop up from time to time, but nothing to really draw one’s attention.


The storyline is solid and eventful, the characters have depth and sensible motivations, and the world-building at work is intriguing; there are more than just werewolves prowling around Colonial New England, and wandering around at night – whether alone or in a group – is clearly a chancy and potentially dangerous proposition. While I wouldn’t view this as a major complaint in any way, I would like to have seen a slightly less heavy hand in portraying the villains – the British are totally insufferable bastards in the story, and while we know that this was true from time to time, there were also less than pleasant people on the other side as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Revere: Revolution in Silver
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The God Machine
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/17/2015 17:35:22

Artwork: 5.0 out of 5
The only thing I knew about this book before diving into it was how GORE-Geous is was going to be. I will admit though that what took it a notch above most is that Chandra took the time to create every element on every page. The color work reminded me of Dreamkeepers, in that it was just perfect on every page. Free’s style has a seems to be a great mix of the SLG titles with a small hint of Manga here and there. I loved the character designs from page to page, and of course the little demons were my favorites. Overall this is a book that looks as better than most on the market, and the amount of talent on the pages shines through even the darkest of panels.


Story: 4.0 out of 5
I honestly had no idea what to expect from this book, other than how great it would look. The story was something that I felt came out of the pages of my youth. Being a teen in the 90?s I saw the Goth scene like how it was portrayed in this book. I do not know if that is what Chandra was after, but to me it made sense. So within that regard, and much like with the Gothology books, I felt a special place for this book. At times the dialogue did feel a little choppy, but overall it was a solid read, until the “To Be Continued” end! ARGH!!! It was getting so good and then… BOOM! The overall concept is a lot of fun, the execution is great and the real treats are the small jokes that you find here and there throughout the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The God Machine
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gunnerkrigg Court #1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2014 03:23:45

The first two chapters of Tom Siddel's webcomic is a nice pleasant read. The art is a bit stylized and the story is more humorous than serious.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunnerkrigg Court #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Artesia Compendium
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:54:22

What little art there is is good, the rest is an... encyclopedia of the people and the world of Artesia, so if you like behind the fictional scenes reads you'll probably enjoy it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Artesia #1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:53:44

Good artwork, the story was okay, but the style of talking and telling put a distance between me and the story that left me cold.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Awakening #1
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2014 15:15:36

http://com-
icspectrumdigital.wordpress.com/


This was not your standard zombie story. No zombie apocalypse. No collapse of society with a scrappy band of survivors trying to make their way in a hellish world gone wrong.


Instead, writer Nick Tapalansky has created a noirish murder mystery that just happens to involve what may very well be zombies. The narrative is enriched by Alex Eckman-Lawn’s visuals that have a rough and moody feel, loose around the edges, and perfectly matched to the story being told. I’m guessing the art won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s directly in my wheelhouse and I thoroughly enjoyed it.


This issue sets the stage as a series of gruesome murders plague the city of Park Falls. Who, or what, is behind them? The players are introduced and the mystery begins to unfold. If you like mysteries or zombies, check it out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Awakening #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gunnerkrigg Court #1
by Carl E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2013 12:40:28

Gunnerkrigg is a quaint and eminently readable comic. The artwork is outstanding and the stories are compelling and always make you want more without ever feeling cheated.
I have to say that I have never caught myself thinking that I was disappointed about any aspect, other than that the story was over and I wanted more, more, more!


The colouring is great, the style is unique and the characters believable. Well, as believable as could be possible if we existed in their universe.


If you just want a quick read, then this isn't for you since the comic pulls you in until you feel you never want to leave.
Enjoyable to the nth degree.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunnerkrigg Court #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mouse Guard Roleplaying Game
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2013 13:38:50

This game is awe inspiring! And comics, too!
As soon as I found them as PDF's on DriveThru I was squeaking with joy, and bought it at once.
I love the idea, and the illustrations. The heroic mouse with a sword facing the serpent... so cute!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mouse Guard Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mouse Guard: Winter 1152 #1
by John G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/03/2013 16:33:05

Mouse Guard is an outstanding example of comics done right. It's great to say that it is also an example of "All Ages" storytelling done right. Mouse Guard Winter #1 picks up with the Guard on a mission to obtain medicine for the kingdom from an outpost settlement. While this first issue jumps right into the story, the characters and scenes unfold quickly. There is not a lot of exposition in the text, but the action provides what the reader needs as the story is told.


David Petersen's artwork is outstanding. With Mouse Guard, he produces some of the best sequential art being made. This issue includes intrigue, a little mystery, and some key examples of how hard it must be for a mouse to traverse the wilderness in the face of elements and predators. As soon as you feel like the Guard is winning and catching a break, another life threatening challenge faces them.


Mouse Guard displays courage, communication, and adaptability at its best. 10 year olds will enjoy this story as much as readers 5 times as old.


Archaia, also, is a low-risk publisher. The consistently put out high-quality comics. Mouse Guard is a prime example and worth your money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mouse Guard: Winter 1152 #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Urgrayne
by Colin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2012 18:00:56

I'd hoped that Book of Urgrayne would serve as a good intro to Artesia; unfortunately it seems to be more of a supplement for fans. The art is excellent but I don't have enough background to make these stories meaningful.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Urgrayne
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mouse Guard RPG: New Rules, New Missions
by Francisco J. B. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2012 04:35:12

Good material, but does not have some of the content of boxed set (square updated sheets, combat cards, gm screen), that could be included.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mouse Guard RPG: New Rules, New Missions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mouse Guard Roleplaying Game
by Trent L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2012 15:17:50

I had never read the comics, but once I heard about this and had to check it out. I love this game! I am a d20 player, and I was unfamiliar with the Burning Wheel system. Ultimately, this game takes the simplicity of "open" games and combines it with the ability of a character to grow from more mechanical ones. I think this makes a nice change of pace from mechanics heavy roleplay without totally losing the game aspect. The rules are designed to encourage players to act out their character's purposed personality and also to have the players work together by lending dice. This intensifies the community aspect of the game. These sort of ideas may make the game as fun for a bunch of rowdy adults as it can for younger players as well.


HOWEVER, despite the wonderful artwork in the PDF, there was one glaring problem: the table of contents is wrong. It is off page two pages, and not PDF pages - the actual numbers printed on the paper pages. For that matter, the PDF could use bookmarks.


Ultimately, this is a great game, and totally worth the (current) asking price. Still, I've never seen such a big mistake in a book, so I can only give this four stars even though it is awesome.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mouse Guard Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Urgrayne
by matt b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2012 07:06:35

Pretty good stuff but we are coming in the middle of the story. Great art but hard to follow, like reading a middle chapter of a Tolkien, George RR Martin or Robert Jordan book. However, it is intriguing to make one go look for more, and that's what it is supposed to do: entice. This could be a great world. The villainess is intriguing, as well. I would find out more about Artesia.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Urgrayne
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Urgrayne
by David F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 12:39:20

I loved the art on thats and the feeling I got about the world. The only issue I had was that since it was a serious of viniets it was hard to follow.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 60 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG