RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Aftermath! Asteroid Cybele: THe American Wasteland
by robert t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2018 07:13:45

Played aftermath back in the 80's always like the game. The material contained is very good. Every thing u need to run a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath! Asteroid Cybele: THe American Wasteland
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SwordbeareR: Dwarven Halls
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2018 06:43:55

Nice product, worth it for the Danforth art alone. Has some excellent Dwarven city maps which can easily be used in other games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SwordbeareR: Dwarven Halls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bushido: Honor Bound
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2017 05:35:09

I purchased this product along with 'A Tale of Honour Lost' as I have recently started my first Bushido campaign and was keen to acquire some starting adventures to go with the other two I already had; 'Takishido's Debt' released by Games of Liverpool and the only ione FGU ever published; 'Valley of the Mists'.

I was particularly attracted to the fact that whilst several of the four adventures it contains are linked, the other two could be run separately, and in all cases, could easily be set in any province of Nippon. I like the flexibility to be able to do this. The likelihood of an additional multi-part adventure by this author in print form is to be welcolmed.

At the present moment in time, I have not yet run any of these adventures, but am already looking to gradually incorporate some foreshadowings based around the character backgrounds already designed. I like the formatting and style of the artwork and text as these are evocative and easy to read, which during a gaming session, is important.

The settings are supported by some good maps, and these alone and the detail that goes with them, would allow any creative GM to plot some further adventures, which again makes this good value. Even with the ink and paper required to print this adventure out, I calculate the cost to me would not be much greater than £4.00, a bargain!

The province of Kai is detailed enough with the major schools of teaching, shrines and temples being listed in the format of the main Bushido rule books. The first two adventures were my favourites; 'The Will of the Noble' and 'Rightful Possession' (the latter being linked with the third; 'Amakurikara'), as they offer opportunities for good role-playing.

Player characters will be able to undertake investigation and combat in an exciting combination where one type of action does not overpower the other. The balance is fine and should cater for all tastes. The fourth adventure is really more of an encounter albeit it 'Things To Come' is also a kind of sequel to the second and third, set years later.

The adventures provide rumour tables, in keeping with the styling of the originally released 'Valley of the Mists' although it is left to the GM as to how to present these within the storyline as the author suggests this makes for a much better flow of storyline. The black and white art work and maps add a certain look which I like very much.

The pacing of these seem to invoke the life of people living in a mythical Japan (Nippon) and it would be very easy to add in as much history from our real world as you like to increase the enjoyment for the players. There are several periods of history between the thirteen and seventeenth centuries that were very turbulent times indeed!

I hope there will be many more titles next year and beyond. I always felt Bushido had been abandoned unfairly and unwisely as a games system, perhaps because it retained (simpler) mechanics also seen in the 'Aftermath' RPG which was so more detailed and far too complicated to teach and follow easily during several gaming sessions.

Highly recommended to players and GM's alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bushido: Honor Bound
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bushido: A Tale of Honor Lost
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2017 17:21:09

This was one of two Bushido adventures I downloaded - the other being 'Honour Bound' - and I was very keen to see what the flavour of these would be, having previously purchased the only other two scenarios produced by FGU and Games of Liverpool.

The format and styling were identical and the typeface easy to read. I liked the art work, particularly within the dramatis personae section, given that they were black and white but still managed to spark the imagination as much as colour ever could.

The layout of the adventure was clear and made understanding the context and flow of the possible outcomes ideal for a new GM, as I had owned the game since its release and have only recently begun a campaign within the last couple of months.

I was therefore looking to purchase some additional scenarios, to enable me to widen the scope of the campaign to incorporate much more of Nippon, encouraging travel by the PC's and facilitating my creation of encounters to test their mettle and honour.

Nippon, like Japan, offers a unique wolrd of adventure, and this scenario brings to life the desperation of the townsfolk left in the town of Tanomo as well as the determination of the ronin; Genji as well as providing a unique shugenja villain who has tainted a province.

There are some interesting overland encounters that can be used again and again, with some specific to the plotline of this adventure in some way, and others, unconnected. The diagrams and maps are nicely drawn and easy to review against the text of the adventure.

The adventure progression is also written from differing persopectives - that of the ronin and shugenja in particular - which maintains the pace of discovery should the player characters act in the most likely fashion but still allows a great deal of flexibilityif not.

The overall adventure could probably cater for a variety of player character experience levels although I have no doubt the encounters could be adjusted fairly easily if there are less than four which is probably the ideal size for most adventuring groups these days.

l am looking forward to running this and expanding upon it where possible.

Highly recommended to Bushido players and GM's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bushido: A Tale of Honor Lost
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath! Asteroid Cybele: THe American Wasteland
by George T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2017 13:04:20

Played and run Aftermath! since '82 (or 83?) System is wildly adaptable to game play types and adventure styles. Just purchased Cybele last week. Read it cover to cover. Don't like the premise of the disaster but(!) I am going to use a huge amount of the scenarios and groups that are in the book for my own campaign. For me, great buy. Very happy with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath! Asteroid Cybele: THe American Wasteland
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath! Magic!
by George T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2017 12:58:40

I've run Aftermath! campaigns since 198(2?) and I love the system because it is so versatile. I've used just about every genre of 'disaster' or 'aftermath scenario' out there; Bio War Plague; Zombie outbreak; Nuclear War; Mega Tsunamis from the California Plate collapsing; Mars Invades; Aliens Invade: Dimensional Rift; and a few other variations. I've used time frames from: Just after; 10 years after; 200 years after; My 'crew' spent months inputting the stats from nearly 500 weapons into Aftermath! just before the 'Technology Book came out. Although really upset that the book appeared right after we had done all that work, it WAS comfortingh to see that by following the stats in the books, "our weapons" that were listed in the book were all nearly identical with the Addendum. One thing I've never been happy with, is the home-brew system for "Magick" I developed for one adventure set. Now,Aftermath! Magic is out and, I LOVE IT. It fits well into the system and the minor tweaking involved to Characters is a 5 minute job. I have not played it yet, as the next game session is next week but I've read the book cover to cover a couple of times. I'm going to have no problems slipping this into the '200 years after the Long night' world I'm running right now. My players are gong to love (and Hate) this add-on. It will change up play style a fair bit for some and not at all, for others. Which is what a good addendum is supposed to do. Kudos to the team.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath! Magic!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:The Centerville Incident
by Ken L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2017 11:00:48

This seemed like a perfect fit for the manga/anime supers game that I'm running; it was an awesome resource. I had already introduced some elements of Deparrment 88, so this suppliment slid into place with no problem.

I ran the module mostly as written and found the range of aliens pretty interesting. This story also introduced the Galactic Police, which could start a whole line of further products on their own; they definitely deserve a sourcebook. My group really liked the NPC hero team on the cover, THE ARMORED DOLLS; pure scifi anime awesomeness!

The writing and pacing of this adventure is top notch and the interior art is well done and fun. We took two sessions to complete the story, but could see it done in a longer 3-act session.

I did feel the need to add a boss-level leader of the aliens, but that is more an issue of personal taste than any failing with this book. I shifted some locations and the McGuffin a bit, but this had negligible impact on the plot, which confirms how solid a product this book is.

If you're looking for a low prep, read and run adventure, this is the book for you!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:The Centerville Incident
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes: Villains Unleashed
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2016 17:04:17

Awesome ... Just AWESOME !!!! A true good time adventure ! Fun for all ages . I introduced it to my children and they LOVE IT !!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes: Villains Unleashed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:The Power of One
by Kelvin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 16:37:06

Back when I could easily go to the hobby store, I was interested in a V&V module named,"Alone against the Night" A collection of senarios that two could play it (the GM and one player) I really liked it and hoped that Fantasy Games Unlimited would continue the trend. Fortunately they have with "The Power of One".

What I liked about it was the art style, and the various different senarios that a good GM could expand on with a little imagination. Also, I liked the shout-out to Read Or Die an anime series that had people who could use paper as a super power. Ever wanted to know what an evil paper user could be like? Power of one has got you covered. It is also, a good way for a beginner to get experience and learn how the game works, as well as for veteran players who just want to play a reasonably quick game.

All in all, the Power of One is a good pick up if you just want to run a game with a friend, and bash bad guys.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:The Power of One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bunnies And Burrows
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 01:57:11

I bought this for my wife, and for myself. My wife is a fan of books like Watership Down and Tailchaser's Song. For me, this is a piece of history, and something to be looked at with reverence. The art is great, considering the subject matter, and the rules, while obviously dated, are amazing both as a playable game and from a developer's standpoint. If you have any desire to understand the history and development of role playing, this book is a logical choice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bunnies And Burrows
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space Opera: Star Sector Atlas 4: The Galactic People's Republic
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2016 20:48:37

I got this product as oon as I saw it was available. It is great to see the old Space Opera getting some new material after all this time. And when I say all this time I mean probably longer than most modern roleplayers have been alive.

For a full review see http://woolshedwargamer.com/2016/02/10/space-opera-a-new-supplement/

Cheers Brian



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera: Star Sector Atlas 4: The Galactic People's Republic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:Centerville, City Under Siege
by Edward Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2015 15:11:17

Well thought out and arranged which is typical of John's work. The GM has plenty of options for making the bad guys challenging enough to suit any team. The steam punk feel should leave some interesting detective work for players who aren't expecting it

Well worth the price of admission.

Klystron



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:Centerville, City Under Siege
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by ethan p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:25:05

Villains and vigilantes has its good and bad points. My favorite thing about the setting is the character creation system. As a player I find that almost everyone has their own unique powers so everyone is doing something beneficial, and as a GM it takes little time to roll up a new npc that is unique and will actually stand out.

The system is a little confusing, asking you to roll low instead of high like most rpgs, and if you want a character that uses hand to hand damage you may as well forget about it since hand to hand is by far the hardest thing to hit with.

The mechanics of the system are not the best, but I have yet to find a better random character creation system that can be done so quickly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath!
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2015 12:03:48

A rules heavy old style game. They covered the topic well; but have 30 possible hit locations and this was before the D30.

If you like old school; you will enjoy this. It reminds me of Advanced D&D; but really covers the topic with rules and I mean lots of them.

Striving for "realism" over style. This baby is for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath! : Operation Morpheus
by Timothy K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2015 18:37:42

This is one of the greatest adventures I never ran. I so want to find the time to smooth the corners on the Aftermath! system to run this adventure in its original game system. It is pretty easily adaptable to other game systems. I think it could be run without a lot of changes for 33 years of age.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath! : Operation Morpheus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 106 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG