RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Villains and Vigilantes:The Power of One
by Kelvin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 16:37:06

Back when I could easily go to the hobby store, I was interested in a V&V module named,"Alone against the Night" A collection of senarios that two could play it (the GM and one player) I really liked it and hoped that Fantasy Games Unlimited would continue the trend. Fortunately they have with "The Power of One".


What I liked about it was the art style, and the various different senarios that a good GM could expand on with a little imagination. Also, I liked the shout-out to Read Or Die an anime series that had people who could use paper as a super power. Ever wanted to know what an evil paper user could be like? Power of one has got you covered. It is also, a good way for a beginner to get experience and learn how the game works, as well as for veteran players who just want to play a reasonably quick game.


All in all, the Power of One is a good pick up if you just want to run a game with a friend, and bash bad guys.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:The Power of One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bunnies And Burrows
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 01:57:11

I bought this for my wife, and for myself. My wife is a fan of books like Watership Down and Tailchaser's Song. For me, this is a piece of history, and something to be looked at with reverence. The art is great, considering the subject matter, and the rules, while obviously dated, are amazing both as a playable game and from a developer's standpoint. If you have any desire to understand the history and development of role playing, this book is a logical choice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bunnies And Burrows
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space Opera: Star Sector Atlas 4: The Galactic People's Republic
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2016 20:48:37

I got this product as oon as I saw it was available. It is great to see the old Space Opera getting some new material after all this time. And when I say all this time I mean probably longer than most modern roleplayers have been alive.


For a full review see
http://woolshedwargamer.com/2016/02/10/space-
-opera-a-new-supplement/


Cheers
Brian



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera: Star Sector Atlas 4: The Galactic People's Republic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:Centerville, City Under Siege
by Edward Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2015 15:11:17

Well thought out and arranged which is typical of John's work. The GM has plenty of options for making the bad guys challenging enough to suit any team. The steam punk feel should leave some interesting detective work for players who aren't expecting it


Well worth the price of admission.


Klystron



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:Centerville, City Under Siege
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by ethan p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:25:05

Villains and vigilantes has its good and bad points. My favorite thing about the setting is the character creation system. As a player I find that almost everyone has their own unique powers so everyone is doing something beneficial, and as a GM it takes little time to roll up a new npc that is unique and will actually stand out.


The system is a little confusing, asking you to roll low instead of high like most rpgs, and if you want a character that uses hand to hand damage you may as well forget about it since hand to hand is by far the hardest thing to hit with.


The mechanics of the system are not the best, but I have yet to find a better random character creation system that can be done so quickly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath!
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2015 12:03:48

A rules heavy old style game. They covered the topic well; but have 30 possible hit locations and this was before the D30.


If you like old school; you will enjoy this. It reminds me of Advanced D&D; but really covers the topic with rules and I mean lots of them.


Striving for "realism" over style. This baby is for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath! : Operation Morpheus
by Timothy K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2015 18:37:42

This is one of the greatest adventures I never ran. I so want to find the time to smooth the corners on the Aftermath! system to run this adventure in its original game system. It is pretty easily adaptable to other game systems. I think it could be run without a lot of changes for 33 years of age.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath! : Operation Morpheus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath! Into the Ruins
by Ricardo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2014 21:52:19

The e-book has a poor diagramming. It seems like a 90's book, before Adobe Acrobat or even MS Word. It's appearance is poorly done. Despite how it looks like, the content may worth its promo price. You can take some of the ideas the book presents or even use the entire scenario in your campaign, if you ignore some flaws. The worst of all was to describe in detail some "dungeons" while giving you only a couple of shallow characters.
It fails as a scenario sourcebook, but works as a campaign seed or even an stand alone adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath! Into the Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:Menagerie
by Edward R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2013 14:09:21

The idea of coupling a short list of super villains with several mini-adventures, combining aspects of the many V&V supplements that have come before, was a good one. Unfortunately, "Menagerie" doesn't quite do the idea justice. The majority of the villains are all min-maxed to be high-Agility/high-initiative and high hit point powerhouses with a decidedly large number wielding Power Blast attacks.


As for the mini-Adventures, the first of the selection, "This Nut's Not Sweet," is the closest thing to an interesting, balanced encounter in the book, It's amusement value is the main reason for the second star in the rating. "The God of the Lost Valley" and the mini-campaign "World Under Siege" are nothing to write home about, but there are some more-balanced villains in the two adventures than in the first half of the supplement which could make interesting adversaries for player characters.


The art is not bad, though it doesn't quite measure up to many previous V&V supplements. The maps are nice, as is the quick-view table for Illusions B solid energy constructs, though that same table can be found in the superior (if not brilliant) "Always Outnumbered."


Overall, it's only four bucks, so it's not a huge waste of money, but the content is inferior to a lot of what has come out for V&V lately, and at a similar price point.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:Menagerie
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bunnies And Burrows
by Cookie C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2013 17:13:53

how do you play the game all i see is the rules so i dont know if the game is good or bad or its just a stuped sheet of rules



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Bunnies And Burrows
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/06/2013 07:28:22

V&V was written by Jack Herman and Jeff Dee. Jeff Dee got his start on D&D doing some of the classic module art and book art for the 1st edition game. So the game has some obvious D&D roots.


V&V was unique at the time (and still somewhat) in that in the game you play yourself. You work out with the other players what your strength, endurance, intelligence and the rest are and then you roll randomly on a table of super powers. It's a very interesting and fun concept that we completely ignored. Back in the day we liked playing a "multi-verse" so our V&V characters were our D&D characters in a supers universe. The stats were the mostly the same and both games had levels. Plus it gave us excuses to have strengths of 50 or more (human max is 18). I remember it being a very good time.


As typical of many old school games there are lots of random rolls, charts and a fair amount of math involved. I went back recently to make a character and was thrilled to see that there are Excel character sheets. The math isn't hard really, but Excel is still faster. Though such things have been around for a long time even with the older edition.


Powers are list by type. So Power Blast is just a blast of some sort of power. It could be Superman's heat vision, Iron Man's repulsors, or even Zatanna's magical blast. What is interesting is the combat matrix of powers vs. defenses and how they interact. Again, the D&D DNA is here since it reminds me of the Psionic Powers Attacks vs Defenses in 1st Ed AD&D.


There is a V&V campaign world as well. It is loosely defined in the core books, but much greater detail is given in the supplements. It is also one of the few Supers games I can recall where the characters were working for the government at some level.


There are a couple of great sections on Being a Superhero and Gamemastering that work great with any supers RPG.


IF you like old school RPGs and want to get into a supers game that feels like those, then this is a great choice. The price is low (under 10 bucks at the time of this review) and there are plenty of places on the web that support either version of the game with materials, character write-ups and community. FGU has a large number of supplements here as well. More than enough to keep you playing for years.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by john a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2013 22:06:28

It's a fun system to play. I thought Mutants and Masterminds was good but this one seems have a certain comic book feel to it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Alone into the Night
by john a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2013 22:00:16

This book is good for those who are playing with one gamer, which can happen from time time. We can't always have a group of four or five gamers show up at once everytime.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Alone into the Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes: Vigilantes International
by john a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2013 21:56:52

I found this book to be very informative. My only suggestion if another one is ever made is to have more characters from South America and Africa.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes: Vigilantes International
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

F.o.r.c.e.
by john a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2013 15:22:40

And real nice read and very informative. I enjoyed it very much



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
F.o.r.c.e.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 98 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG