RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Villains and Vigilantes
by john a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2013 22:06:28

It's a fun system to play. I thought Mutants and Masterminds was good but this one seems have a certain comic book feel to it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alone into the Night
by john a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2013 22:00:16

This book is good for those who are playing with one gamer, which can happen from time time. We can't always have a group of four or five gamers show up at once everytime.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Alone into the Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes: Vigilantes International
by john a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2013 21:56:52

I found this book to be very informative. My only suggestion if another one is ever made is to have more characters from South America and Africa.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes: Vigilantes International
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

F.o.r.c.e.
by john a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2013 15:22:40

And real nice read and very informative. I enjoyed it very much



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
F.o.r.c.e.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:Great Bridge 2
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/11/2013 12:10:56

Whether you are planning a manga-style game or just intend for the odd Japanese villain to turn up in a more standard comic-book based campaign, this work contains some intriguing and well-developed flavourful villains to keep your vigilantes on their toes.

Mechanically, they have been worked through thoroughly, and each is provided with a detailed background liberally sprinkled with ideas of what they might be up to and how they will interact with the characters. Illustrations are stylish and give a Japanese feel without being too jarringly different.

Many of the villains are presented in groups, or at least associations who may or may not be working together, but there are also several 'independent' villains who normally work on their own. The notes include sections of information likely only to be available to those with contacts within law enforcement as well as more public knowledge, the sort of thing that may even appear in the news and is certainly accessible to anyone who can be bothered to do some research.

If you accommodate the supernatural, there's a vampire and the odd devil mixed in: in a world with superpowers rampant it is quite within the bounds of possibility even if they have not featured in your campaign to date. Indeed, it could be quite amusing to bring, say, vampirism into your game by means of a Japanese visitor to the mean streets your vigilantes patrol, watch them wonder if it's the sort of vampirism they know from fiction or some Asia-specific import.

A nice selection - and there are some character-specific counters as well as generic 'agent' ones if you want to map out the inevitable brawls.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:Great Bridge 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psi World
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 12:45:37

Great b&w art from Bill Willingham! Older generation type rules, but great inspiration for making a game in the genre with any other, more advanced rpg system too. Nice maps and in general good, reusable art and a starter adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psi World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tyrannasaurus Wrecks!
by john b. Date Added: 12/21/2012 12:32:18

I am miniaturizing the game, plastic dino's and space men, the felt game board is 27 inches square. Now that's a lot of hexagons, 150 to be exact.

It is a counter based game and I think it still holds it's appeal. the rules are straight forward and the dice control the dino's.

take the plunge and get it, you will like it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tyrannasaurus Wrecks!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath!
by Kurt W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2012 03:06:56

I don't know if the product I downloaded is the same one that was reviewed in 2005, but my copy was clean and well-scanned. Aftermath! was produced in the very early eighties and access to high quality printing for RPG's wasn't always affordable for small press companies like FGU. What you see in the downloaded copy is very similar to the original quality of the typeset and it isn't bad. If you like what you see in the demo pages that is what you see here.

The game itself is a fairly complex rules system. If you have played FGU's Bushido or Daredevils you will be at home with these rules, though they are slightly more complex then either of those two.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bunnies And Burrows
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2012 12:20:56

I came upon Bunnies & Burrows out sheer curiosity for beginnings of the hobby and I was suprised to find such complete game on such subject. I am impressed how much effort has been put to the game about rabbits and rules for simulating their life. Though whimsical I was particulary impressed by how seriously the game was designed, this is no "joke game" with poorly cobbled rules. Rules remind me of D&D and for such early RPG I am not suprised about that. This is fascinating glimpse to early hobby by very least it's subject matter as it challenges assumptions what the old grumplers were open to in their games, it is apparent that not everyones game was about "fantasy fucking Vietnam" with insane underground labyrinths and ten foot poles as later sources would lead you to believe.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bunnies And Burrows
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Daredevils
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2012 14:13:35

Daredevils as an older rpg, holds up well. The rules are a little clunky but great, if you prefer the randomness of charts or if you prefer to choose your background/skills. Ultimately it’s a great resource for any type of pulp-era game and could easily be adapted to any system you would prefer to use, like Hero System or D20 Modern. The support adventures are even better as a resource in that they focus more on the sub-types of pulp genre styles, i.e. “Weird Menace or Jungle Stories”. The game is perfect on its own though and can handle any type of action and adventure campaigns you might dream up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Daredevils
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:Signs of the Zodiac
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/15/2012 01:39:32

Zodiac-themed supervillains and supervillain teams are a comic-book staple. In this adventure/supplement, Darren Tenor provides another take on this trope. “Signs of the Zodiac” includes Villains & Vigilantes stats for all twelve villains, two brief adventures which each pit the heroes against six of the Zodiac Syndicate, two adventure outlines, additional adventure seeds, a detailed and fully keyed map of Zodiac Syndicate headquarters, and information about the team’s structure and strategies. This Zodiac Syndicate would make decent recurring villains for any superhero team. Of course, twelve villains vs. four heroes would be awkward, but never fear: Tenor anticipates this problem, and divides the overall Zodiac Syndicate into smaller teams suitable for use against smaller hero teams. Tenor achieves this in a way that doesn’t seem artificial, too. A lot of what makes these villains interesting is the interplay between them and their interpersonal relationships with each other; however, it will take a fairly skilled GM (or players who don’t mind interruptions from Captain Exposition) to share this information with the players. In terms of their stats and powers, the villains are a bit less interesting than their plots, and than the team as a whole—and, in a way, the adventure outline “The Replacements” acknowledges this in-game. If you’re running a continuing V&V campaign, you’ve got a ready-made source of villains and plots here. If you’re running a different supers game in campaign mode, you might find this material worth converting; it’s kind of hard to say. If you’re looking for a one-shot adventure, this isn’t it. One complaint about the production values: a 56-page PDF needs bookmarks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:Signs of the Zodiac
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:Attack on the Poseidon Line
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/27/2012 16:02:13

Attack on the Poseidon Line involved the heroes on a cruise ship which is threatened by pirates but a much deeper plot is being played out. It is a functional enough scenario but as structured it involves a lot of civilian deaths and not a lot of discussion on how the heroes can mitigate that, which strikes me as a serious flaw in a superheroic scenario. It does have excellent maps of a cruise ship, submarine and supervillain base which could be useful for a variety of games.

As V&V is a fairly direct system, conversion to another superhero system should not be that difficult for any of these works. Each of the V&V books comes with a set of full color counters of the characters and bystanders (and sometime more) that can be printed out for game use.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:Attack on the Poseidon Line
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:Great Bridge
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/27/2012 16:01:38

Great Bridge is a collection of Japanese supervillain from the files of Department 88. Primarily is it a source of anime/magna inspired supervillain and as such, it succeeds in it design goals. However, that is all it does, none of the characters are particularly innovative in mechanical design or background, which there are a few clever lines scattered the descriptions it does not do much to distinguish itself from any other such sourcebook.

As V&V is a fairly direct system, conversion to another superhero system should not be that difficult for any of these works. Each of the V&V books comes with a set of full color counters of the characters and bystanders (and sometime more) that can be printed out for game use.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:Great Bridge
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes:Signs of the Zodiac
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/27/2012 16:01:12

Signs of the Zodiac presents the Zodiac Syndicate, a group of diverse supervillain who have banded together for their mutual benefit, not world domination, but profit. Each of the Zodiac members is fully written out and has an android assistant as 12 members are a bit unwieldy, they often function as 3-person teams built around the elements tied to the various Zodiac symbols, each team’s basic dynamics and tactics are covered. Two full scenarios, along with additional superpowered characters, are included along with several scenario ideas.

As V&V is a fairly direct system, conversion to another superhero system should not be that difficult for any of these works. Each of the V&V books comes with a set of full color counters of the characters and bystanders (and sometime more) that can be printed out for game use.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes:Signs of the Zodiac
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath! Survival Guide
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2012 04:50:00

First of all let me say that this pdf is of outstanding quality. Easy to read and with both photos and illustrations. That being said, it wasn't quite what I expected. Though things such as zombies and alien invasions are covered, the book, for the most part, is an actual quide explaining how to prepare and survive through various types of real world disasters. The pdf contains 100+ pages but the only actual game information is found in the appendices. And even with that not much new material has been added.

Not a bad product, just not what I expected. Thats the reason I'm only giving this a score of 3 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath! Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 102 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG