RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Enchanted Armory: Spectacular Shields (for 5e)
by Martin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2016 11:27:26

Lots of cool ideas in this PDF. The one caveat is that some of the shields are very powerful, especially if you hand out any of the "Legendary" versions to your players.


The AC bonuses go from +1 to +3... Given that an unmagical shield is already +2, a +3 magic shield would yield a +5 AC bonus in total. This is almost game breaking given that the AC ranges in 5th edition are much more narrow than prior editions. If you use some of these in your game, consider using only the magical effects or powers and not giving the extra AC buff with them.


This advice really applies to any armor, shields or other magic item variants you might find in a supplement like this one. If the item has a cool power, no need to amp it up with an AC buff as well since that can potentially lead to adverse combat imbalances.


This book is a solid offering for a couple bucks and can generate additional ideas in the DM's mind.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Spectacular Shields (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Spectacular Shields (for 5e)
by CP N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 18:09:53

There are a good many shields listed which I could see using in my own campaigns. I also appreciated the professional, sleek design of the pdf which will help in printing without having a lot of wasted colored ink.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Orbs of Oblivion (for 5e)
by Ryan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2016 12:35:44

There is a good variety of Orbs here. I like that they range from minimal additions to highly effective, given the situation. I like the tie in of the Infinity items, a common theme the writer uses in his other products. My favorite Orb is the Necro Orb, which would be a fun item to throw to any player that is running a dark or evil PC. Overall, well done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Orbs of Oblivion (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Spectacular Shields (for 5e)
by Ryan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2016 12:31:11

There are a good variety of shields and abilities they possess. I appreciate that not all of them have the standard +2 bonus, as their abilities stand in place of it. In most cases, they can be more fun or better than the AC boost. There are also some shields that allow the DM to have fun at the players expense, while still being beneficial to the player. Overall, I really like this product, and will definitely throw some of these items at my players to see how they like them.




Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Spectacular Shields (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Orbs of Oblivion (for 5e)
by Lars C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2016 00:42:57

This supplement comes with eighteen orbs ranging from weak but useful to potent items. The first twelve entries are mostly barebones and not tied to any campaign background. The last six orbs share a common background and motief of use, you might need to do a rewrite of the background to better suit your world. You can decide to drop one of the orbs into most campaigns as an odd or unique reward and watch how your players get the most use out of it. I do applaud the creativity of the author but a word of caution: do not expect to be able to use every item in this product, they are quirky and most are niche usage. If you are feeling very tight on your budget, leave this on your wish list and suggest it as a gift on your birthday.


Disclaimer, I volunteered to do this review on an advance copy but I do not know the author.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Orbs of Oblivion (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Rings of Power (for 5e)
by Lars C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2016 22:40:39

This supplement comes with eighteen rings ranging from weak but useful to potent but cursed. Most are interesting but not game breaking in utility or power. If you want to have rings available for your players that they won't instantly know from having read the DMG these are a solid option.


They are written campaign agnostic, take the game mechanic and apply a backstory fitting with your campaign.


Disclaimer, I volunteered to do this review on an advance copy but I do not know the author.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Rings of Power (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Spectacular Shields (for 5e)
by chris o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2016 12:26:32

some very interesting idea's i look forward to field testing them out in my games. definitly a fan of the infinity idea.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Spectacular Shields (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Spectacular Shields (for 5e)
by German R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2016 10:05:44

I will definitely use more than one of these shields in my campaigns are crafted and thoughtful , I have to try them in practice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Spectacular Shields (for 5e)
by Bennett L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2016 09:40:36

Each shield seems really unique and I could seriously see myself throwing one or two of these in my future campaigns :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Magical Weapons (for 5e)
by Zorthax S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2016 13:23:03

These items are quite fun, not for everybody though. They are suprisingly well-balanced, and I can definetly see myself giving these to my players. But again, these might have a bit too much personality for some. I would definetely recommend this book to anyone looking to add a pinch of spice to their campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Magical Weapons (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Magical Weapons (for 5e)
by Wes B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2016 11:31:13

A great collection of weapons for any campaign!


The author has erred on the side of caution while balancing some, but all in all your characters should feel happy to recieve any of these at the appropriate tier of play.


The one thing that the designer might consider if updating or releasing new content is that if an item requires a bonus action for an ability, that bonus action is competing with every other bonus action the character has available. Don't be afraid to up the rider damage on some of these weapons, make them so players will want to use them!


My favorite weapon is the Bow of Accuracy listed in the preview. 10/10! It's modular in that you can insert it into not just one tier of play, but 3 and the "magical ability" of marking is not only flavorful but something a character would want to use! I imagine the bow turning an arrow fired from it into some obnoxious glow-stick color and really illuminating the marked target by sticking into the flesh/armor/clothing of the monster/person. Love it!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Rings of Power (for 5e)
by Wes B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2016 11:15:59

Forewarning: I won my copy of this pdf in a reddit giveaway.


A very creative document! I enjoy how each ring has a specific flavor attached to it, and the DM's Secret portion is a very nice touch (though it adds extra book keeping).


Some of the secrets are especially harsh on the player though, and I would recommend DMs looking to implement some of these items to tone down some of the penalties. Wording's such as "can't be removed" need to have an "unless x, y, or z" clause.


I have minor reservations regarding the balance of specific rings in relation to their rarity, whether or not they require attunement, and how powerful their effects are compared to the previous two criteria. I feel many are overclassified in rarity as many effects are sometimes very minor when considering the appropriate level the ring should be given out if sticking to the Tier/level system. That being said, I would have liked to see attunement requirements attached to more of them. Rings tend to allow "free bonuses" and allowing multiple items with no attunement requirements can upset the intended balance of 5e's bounded accuracy and low numbers game.


YMMV, but if you are looking to use the content here to just copy/paste into your home table setting, I think you might be upset with some of the balance issues.


All in all, for a price tag of $2 this is a great buy if you are a DM who is tired of the DMG magic items and want's something a little more flavorful.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Rings of Power (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Enchanted Armory: Rings of Power (for 5e)
by Mike D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2016 10:43:54

Great set of rings! No game breaking wierd mechanics. Very nice flavor for the DM to use. Some have lifespans, curses and special synergies. I like it! I'll be using them in my games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Rings of Power (for 5e)
by Wayne J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2016 22:03:29

Check out the preview, you're basically getting two of the rings for free, lol. If you find those interesting, you'll find the ebook worth your money. This latest 5E release from The Le Games, much like the EA: Magical Weapons, will give you ideas for making your own rings, even if you don't use any from within its pages. If you are looking for a ring to drop into your campaign to furrow the brows of the players that have memorized the DMG, look no further.


Aside from needing a little more refined editting, the only negative thing I have to say is the formatting is a smidge different from the last ebook. Looking forward to the next one!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Magical Weapons (for 5e)
by Wayne J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2016 21:25:39

If you are interested in making your magical weapons more magical, you ought to pick up this little ebook. I've been following the creative talent (author, not artists) for a while now and these magic weapons will serve as inspiration for any you might create, if you don't choose to use the ones he's provided within. For the most part I find them balanced and a cut above the plain vanilla, +1 bow, etc. I gave the ebook 4 out of 5 stars, not due to any failings, just as a motivator to keep improving.


If you'd like a taste of what is in this book, check out the preview or look for some of the multitude of items that he has posted in a few of the 5E D&D Facebook groups.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enchanted Armory: Magical Weapons (for 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 195 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG