RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Unorthodox Witches
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2005 00:00:00
The problem with most rpg witch books is, which witch archetype to focus on? Why choose? This pdf serves up a whole pack of witch-flavored classes to play around with. I can easily imagine a whole setting based around using these as the only available classes.

LIKED: Favorite class: Crescent Flyer. The broomstick flying witch. They're an organization. I can picture a whole platton of wicked witch of the west types, pointed hats, black capes flaring out behind them, as they swoop down on their opponent. Wow!

DISLIKED: Moon Dancer abilty, Prance Prance Revolution? Now that's just silly.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Witches
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Unorthodox Paladins
by Wesley A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2005 00:00:00
Plenty of material here with new paladin classes and prestige classes. I didn't find any of them really interesting or exciting though. I got more out of the artifacts and spells. I usually don't read fiction in my rpg products (I hardly ever read it even in RPG magazines), and I haven't here, so I can't review the stories.

LIKED: Interesting enough, but not overly impressive.

DISLIKED: Don't really want to pay for fiction I'm not going to read anyway.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Paladins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
17 Paladin Spells
by Wesley A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2005 00:00:00
Some interesting and intriguing ideas for spells here. A couple that seemed unnecessary as well, but overall a good value for the price.

LIKED: The nod to Star Wars. Wouldn't have thought of this, but it's cool.

DISLIKED: See above.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
17 Paladin Spells
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
17 Magic Cloaks
by Wesley A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2005 00:00:00
A good value overall. All of these items could be used in most any campaign, and several of them were cool.

LIKED: Good ideas. Very good price.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Cloaks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
UNORTHODOX Fighters
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2005 00:00:00
This won't be of use to everyone, but for a few neat ways to spice things up this is well worth the price.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Fighters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
17 Magic Cloaks
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2005 00:00:00
Not bad. If you need some cloaks to spice up your custome treasure tables, well here ya go!

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Cloaks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
UNORTHODOX Clerics
by Matthew A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2005 00:00:00
Excellent Resource, using a charater right now in a campaign that rules

LIKED: Great Prestige Classes

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Clerics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
by Joseph S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2005 00:00:00
Really interesting, and definitely "Unorthodox", but still fun.

LIKED: The FX items and the Cheerleader AdC itself.

DISLIKED: The Vinyl-clad cover-model, the "On the Fast Track" section (which gives a good way into the class, but is worded badly, making it seem that you have to be a Fast Hero 3 to even enter the class), oh, and the fact that the Smart Hero build (The Choreographer) is an illegal build, since Savant (or Linguist) needs to be taken before Plan, Exploit Weakness, or Trick is taken.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your comments. Please note that we are taking your words to heart. I have forwarded your comments to our author, who is currently working on Unorthodox Modern Mimes and Unorthodox Modern Lifeguards. It is important to us that we improve with each book in this series, and your comments will help us achieve that goal. I am very happy that you ultimately liked this book -- we like to keep things interesting. Here's hoping that this is the beginning of a successful line of Unorthodox Modern books from our studios. Thanks again! ~The' Le
Synergy Artifacts
by Nathan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2005 00:00:00
I bought this book expecting some guidelines and balanced items. Unfortunately that is not what the designers intended. The items in the pdf range from cool to inane, and the values are frequently way off what would be expected. If you are just looking for a few funny items this may have what you want, however I was mostly disatisfied and would not have bought this pdf had I known the contents.

LIKED: A couple interesting items.

DISLIKED: Poor pricing. Items designed for humour. Items not thought through at all.

QUALITY: Poor

VALUE: Ripped Off


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Synergy Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
I am very sorry you did not like this book. It is too bad, as it has gotten many good reviews from reputable reviewers. The 15 page free demo details several artifacts and clearly shows what the book is about, and I am very sorry you did not view it before hand. I encourage anyone who is interested in this book to check out the free demo first. As for "balance", please note that the items are very powerful when put together fully, and aren't really meant to be done so. Artifacts are extremely powerful and can be game balancing, hence they are Artifacts. There is a reason that entire campaigns are built around them. My artifacts were built with this in mind, and scales up as the owner grows in levels. That is the entire basis of the book. Synergy Artifacts is a serious book for serious gamers. There is alot in there for people to like, and is has been our best seller. For you others who are reading this, take a look at the demo and I think you will see that it will be worth your time!
ARTIFACTS: Ducks of Ultimate Doom
by Gregory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2005 00:00:00
Let me begin by saying this: Never in a million years would I have thought to buy this product without being prompted.

The ridiculous title when I saw the product listing led me to the assumption that the book was some kind of farce, parody, or joke, and I never gave it a second glance.

But at one point, I bought another product by the company, and they sent me a nice coupon... so I figured I could at least read the description...

Anyway, as far as the product itself, it really is very well done. It's a solid set of nicely designed artifacts of varying degrees of power that are fairly game-ready, and in most cases given some very nice historical background and storyline information.


LIKED: The contents were actually quite good, if you're looking for a treasure supplement. There were some very original ideas in here, and all of the items were very fleshed-out.

DISLIKED: There were a number of editing problems... usually the kinds of grammatical glitches and word transpositions that a spellchecker won't see. But honestly, what I disliked the most was the title. It makes it look like the sourcebook to some B-horror game, which means it targets an audience that's not at all connected with the people who would be most likely to want what's in it.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ARTIFACTS: Ducks of Ultimate Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your kind words. This product has garnered many good reviews from reputable reviewers, and customers like yourself. There are also many that are turned off by the title of the book. For those of you reading this, I encourage you to download the free demo and take a peek. I guarantee you that you will find a very serious book, with quality content. Players beware, because the Ducks of Ultimate Doom are awake!
ARTIFACTS: Lawn of the Dead
by Gregory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2005 00:00:00
Again, I worry that the titles in this series may deter from the sales of what are really pretty fine products. This (along with Ducks of Ultimate Doom) was one of those things that I skipped over in a product listing because it looked like a joke... then looked at in detail when they attached a coupon upon purchase of another product.

I'm glad that I did, because the magical items in here are quite creative and their backgrounds make for great storylines, quests, and idea-builders. It really is a quality treasure supplement for a GM's library... and no, the items inside are not goofy and tongue-in-cheek. They are very legitimate and inventive things, in this case often having some sort of necromantic reference (either pro- or anti-).



LIKED: As with all products I've purchased from these guys, my favorite part is not the items themselves, but the history and 'where to find it' sections on each. These often contain good info for designing your own quests, locales, world histories, or even dungeons.

DISLIKED: Just the title really.


QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ARTIFACTS: Lawn of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
You are correct. The sales of this product has been far less than expected, and that is solely due to the title. However, reviews have been fantastic, and customers have all loved it so far. Thanks for the comments!
Personal Artifacts: Fight Leukemia! Edition
by Gregory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2005 00:00:00
This wasn't a bad little tomb. It pretty much is exactly what it claims to be: a list of treasures that you can put into a campaign, and a way to make some money for a good cause at the same time.

The treasures are, in most cases, ready to use and have a bit of history and personality behind them. But the majority of it is game-play details about the items.


LIKED: I especially liked the "Where to find it" sections that chronicled the last known locations and likely fates of many of the items.

DISLIKED: It was extremely heavy in the statistical and game-play related detail. Which is great for someone who just wants items to plug into the game, but it gets a bit oppressive for folks who are more interested in getting ideas (or who like to modify everything to their own liking).

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Personal Artifacts: Fight Leukemia! Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Synergy Artifacts
by Gregory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2005 00:00:00
This whole thing was an outstanding concept, but I was pretty disappointed with the end product. The whole structure of the thing felt very scripted and mechanical, rather than creative or exciting... there was no 'flow' to it. The items themselves are fine, and the history segments are often intriguing, but much of it gets lost in the masses of functionality detail.

I think I was so enamored by the good idea that prompted the work, that an average production just couldn't live up to my hyped-up expectations.

LIKED: The concept is novel, and is an excellent way to keep items from being overpowered, and to use one item to spawn several quest ideas for a group.

DISLIKED: It's hard to pinpoint the exact source of my disatisfaction, but what it really seems to come down to is that the majority of the actual items just didn't grab me or hold my interest very well. There was a sense of character, or mystery, or style that seemed to be missing. It just felt like a lot of raw numbers and facts in many places.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Synergy Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Synergy Artifacts
by Martin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2005 00:00:00
An excellent product - useful in many campaigns. I would buy more of the same.

LIKED: Imaginitive and original.

DISLIKED: The only thing that could possibly could have improved this product is maybe the presentation could have been slightly more polished. Some pictures wouldn't have gone amiss. Also - it would have been great if it included handouts for players

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed this book. This was the first real book that I released, and also the first layout I did, so I see your points clearly. Rest assured, that my later books are far more polished and have far more images. When my next Artifacts books is released, you will find the same creativity in it's contents, and a higher quality in the writing and layout. If you liked this one, just wait till you see the sequel, Unorthodox Artifacts!
SRD Illustrated: Core Classes
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2005 00:00:00
I personally think that this work is unnecessary. It comes across as a poor man's Player's Handbook. I'd only recommend this for those who like to collect these things. Most of the artwork is merely ok.

LIKED: Not much.

DISLIKED: See above.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
SRD Illustrated: Core Classes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
I am very sorry you did not like this book. Please note that all our books comes with a free demo, so you can see exactly what you are getting. I encourage anyone interested in this book to look at the free demo first, so that you know what you are buying. I am sure you will be happy with what you see. ~Le
Displaying 136 to 150 (of 177 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG