RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
UNORTHODOX Knights
by Derek K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/27/2006 00:00:00

In Unorthodox Knights (written by Sean Holland, James Spahn, Arthur Borko and editor The Le), six variant knight classes and one prestige class, are brought together in a 47-page .pdf. This isn't just a book of "crunch." Each class receives just over a page of background material, providing gamers with enough information to see just what makes these classes not just variants on the "standard" knight, but unique classes that stand on their own merits.


Of the six classes, three stand out.




  • The Chevalier Amour. Approaching life as one big adventure, the chevalier amour taps into the dashing romance of knighthood, but not at the expense of excitement. With class features that stress finesse and style (Weapon Finesse as a bonus feat at 1st level, Two-Weapon Fighting at 2nd level, Evasion at 7th level, etc.), the chevalier amour would lend itself well to players looking to play a rogue less interested in backstabbing and more interested in getting away with spreading as much excitement and, yes, love, everywhere he goes (and getting away with it - another class feature is Greater Alibi, which allows the chevalier amour an immediate cover story, when needed, with appropriate Bluff modifiers).




  • Knight of the Road. A wandering, nomadic character, the knight of the road lives by a specific code: never give up the open road; always take care of your horse; never grab another man's reigns; draw your blade only if you intend to take a life; another knight of the road is a brother, treat him as such even if you should be enemies; and never betray a sworn oath. Not quite devoted to an order, this class has more in common with rangers and fighters than other knights or even paladins. From the very beginning of play, a 1st level knight of the road gains unique abilities: Quick Draw as a bonus feat and, as a class feature, Sword Slinger (which is similar to the Sneak Ability in that if the knight of the road has initiative over a flat-footed opponent, he or she may draw his or her sword and deal an +1d6 bonus damage - the knight of the road only receives this bonus if he or she begins with his or her sword sheathed). As the character progresses, other abilities based on self-sufficiency (being able to discern direction as a supernatural ability or gaining Diehard as a bonus feat) become part of the character's repertoire. The knight of the road also gains a mount, and special rules are included to make this mount different from the paladin's typical mount.



  • Lanternian Knight. These unorthodox knights adventure for spiritual gain. Constantly seeking redemption, characters of this class focus on being a beacon, or lantern, against the darkness. The lanternian knight is built around the ideal of fighting the evil of the world, and its class features (like Lantern's Light, which causes an object to glow like a torch; Oath of Duty, which provides these knights with a +1 bonus to skill checks and Saves when swearing to overcome obstacles in their path; Heaven's Strike, which provides the knight's weapon with a blessing in the form of an enhancement bonus against evil creatures; and Lantern's Miracle, which allows the lanternian knight to duplicate clerical spell effects) back this up.


The Blind Blade is the prestige class which allows for a unique "blind swordsman" approach. In fact, if the character ever regains his or her sight, most of the special abilities are lost.


Almost as a bonus feature, this sourcebook includes a section titled 'Baubles & Urus of Ancient Power.' These small gem-like stones are magic items that are designed to be used in conjunction with other items (weapons, clothing, etc.). Pricing for the baubles is missing, however, which could seem to me to limit the instant portability of these items in an existing campaign.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The different character classes provide ideas to both players and GMs.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The 'Baubles & Urus' section seems almost tacked on to the product for extra length.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Knights
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Bards
by Scott G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2006 00:00:00

For some unexplained reason, the introduction to this book recommended that long reviews be posted to ENWorld.com. I purchased this product at RPGNow.com, and I would rather post my full review here. It isn't as if a reviewer is going to quoting pages of material for anyone else to copy for free. Nonetheless, I have fulfilled by the wishes of the Le.
Unorthodox Bards is a clever collection of variant bards for D&D 3rd and 3.5 Edition campaigns. This book isn't as thorough nor as a varied as the old Complete Bard's Handbook for 2nd Edition, but this is a fun little ebook in its own right.

The artwork is surprisingly good. The interior illustrations are small but wonderful monochromatic portraits.
There are a total of seven classes described in this tome, five of them being beginner classes and two being prestige classes. Flavor text is almost completely gone -- some readers will like that and others will not. All classes follow the theme of focusing on music and performance rather than the grifting aspects of the bards. The Soothsayer could use some more work, but the other classes seemed very well developed.
The baubles and urus of power appear in other books like Synergy Artifacts, but they are particularly useful here because they match the bards' adaptability well. <br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: There are several good points. The artwork is small but impressive. The classes seem well balanced and mostly well developed. Baubles and urus offer much more freedom in the creation of magic items.

None of these new bard classes are by themselves compelling enough for me to roll a new character. I think they would be most useful to the gamemaster who wants to a different flavor of bard in every culture that is visited during a campaign.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Clarification on the requirements of these classes would have been much appreciated. Nothing is mentioned on the subject in the book's very short introduction, and individual class descriptions are confusing in this regard. Also, I found other editing errors that caused me a fair amount of confusion elsewhere in the text.
My standard complaint with every OGL product I've read is that they focus too strongly on D&D 3.5. Over half of the gamers I know refuse to play this version, but writers of OGL products seem to be in denial of this fact. I'm not asking anyone to violate copyrights here, but I would like to see at least some suggestions or guidelines for use in other systems. Andrew Hind always does this in his articles for Knights of the Dinner Table Magazine. Some alternate free systems are available right here on RPGNow!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Bards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Rings
by Kenneth A. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2006 00:00:00

Well, I picked up this little product to see what was out there in the world of d20 rings, but this product does not really deliver much. There is a lot of strange rules that I am not familiar with, like the Ring of Concentration which DOES NOT require Forge Ring but some other obscure means of crafting magical universal items?


When that is said, there was a few of the rings that I liked, they are pretty standard, like the firebane ring and the ring of darksight. There was very little story to them, which is something I appreciate and the whole appendix in the back, with the spells and stuff seems like a bit too much. I could have done without it, as I already have the PHB, no need to spend money on it again.


I wont mention the pictures in greater detail as they made very little sense and could have easily been without.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: A few of the rings.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Sorry, but the rest.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Rings
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX Clerics
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2005 00:00:00

Unorthodox Clerics presents five full (non-prestige) classes, all variants of the traditional cleric.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The classes present some interesting archetypes...in particular, I like the concept of the cultist as a combination cleric/rogue. Why that would be limited to evil and chaotic deities, I'm not sure. Also, the Chosen as a holy fighter who doesn't waste time on charisma reminds me of some paladins I know... The layout is clean and readable, and the graphics are attractive and appropriate.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Occasional misspellings and gaps in the text were sometimes distracting, none of them so serious that they would prevent the use of the product. As most products that extend the cleric concept, this one suffers from not being able to really pin down the specific religions involved. As a result, the ideas here lack the richness and depth they might have if they were attached to particular deities.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Clerics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SRD Illustrated: Core Classes
by Giovanni A. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2005 00:00:00

Absolutely a must for the Player and for the DM, complete and clear.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: all<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SRD Illustrated: Core Classes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SRD Illustrated: Prestige Classes
by Giovanni A. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2005 00:00:00

For all the players that need some info about the changes of the 3.5 Edition, this is simply a must!<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: all<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SRD Illustrated: Prestige Classes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FORGOTTEN WEAPONS: Stonebow
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/29/2005 00:00:00
Now here is an interesting idea for a book. They have taken a lesser known weapon from history and expanded on it for the fantasy game. I like how they explain how the Stonebow was a hunter?s weapon and not ever used in warfare. I like that they have had the weapon adopted by the dwarves as a cross bow like weapon that shots rocks is defiantly something that they would enjoy. However in the end the book fails to make the Stonebow anything more then a sub optimal, if cool weapon. In today?s d20 world were people seem to care way to much about balance and being competitive in power I do not foresee many people taking a weaker weapon for long.

The book comes in a few nice formats. There is one for printing, one for on screen viewing, and a rich text format. The Le Games has been doing this for most of their releases and it is a very nice option. The lay out of the book and art though are not that impressive. It is an easy book to read and follow but they really do not add anything to the book. The PDF is book marked but not book marked that well.

The book starts of with a short historical piece of the Stone bow and then moves into some options like the repeating stone bow and types of ammunition. There really should have been a wider variety of mundane options and bullets here. There are only three kinds of new bullets, phosphorous, shatter, and smoke. There are two new feats designed specifically for the Stonebow. The first allows alchemical shots to be fired and the other allows for a skipping shot off of a flat wall to get around cover. Like the bullet they are nicely done but I would have liked to see more feats for the weapon.

There is a new prestige class called the Stonebow Sworn. It is limited to only dwarves and the descriptions has it that mostly women are in this class. The class has some neat abilities but too much of it like extra feats and some spell like abilities once per day are just okay. The class idea is cool and the boulder and volley abilities are cool, but the rest of the class just is not that mechanically interesting. The class does get some spells and there are twelve new spells in here. They offer some interesting options to the Stonbow like allowing the ammo to become ice or lightning. But over all the spells seem a bit weak for the level assigned next to the destructive power of the direct fire spells of the same wizard spell level.


The book has some nice potential but I think a little more creativity and length could be given to the subject. It for me is a nice first step and as a DM I would have plenty of things to start a foundation for creating more things for the Stonebow.

<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: It takes a basically unknown weapon and itroduces it to us in a nice way.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It doe not take the idea far enough and some of the mechancis are a bit weak but still usiable. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
FORGOTTEN WEAPONS: Stonebow
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
by Larry F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2005 00:00:00

While not suitable for every D20 Modern campaign, I found a player in my group who wanted his wife to play but she was not interested. I mentioned that I had seen this product online and he said his wife might be interested in someting more "girly." After I bought UMC and gave him the character class information, his wife joined our group and has been a great asset to their party since, not only does she provide some well-appreciated "color" to the game, but her unique non-experienced insights have solved more than one dilemma facing the party.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: I appreciate that both a printer-friendly and monitor-friendly version are provided as well as alternate color covers for those who like to carry a print version.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2005 00:00:00

You know, I am still not 100% certain as to why I picked up this PDF. However, I did and I have that I have gotten some pretty good fun out of it. I do think that is the big selling point to this, and other products from thele games...they are fun. This, and other of their stuff that I have seen have that madcap energy that I loved so much back when I first opened up my first D&D boxed set. I really think that gaming needs more madcap fun.


That and the unorthodox cheerleader in the pictures rocks. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Good clean fun. Like I said, more game books need to be about the fun.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It might be a bit of a niche.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Paladins
by A. F. Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2005 00:00:00

Love it! You know I haven't played a Paly in a while. This book was just the thing I needed to play one again.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: I really liked the types to pick from. I liked the idea of them not all having to be Lawfull or Good.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: They could have made a few more type ;)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Paladins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Weapons
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/04/2005 00:00:00

Oddly enough there are nineteen weapons to be found in 17 Magical Weapons. The weapons have an interesting feature in them. They have abilities that apply with the weapon on the person and not just when it is being welded. These offer some interesting and new abilities that are good for certain classes. The book advises that campaigns change fro m DM to DM and has some general guidelines for altering the weapons to make them fit better into different campaigns. Here ar ea few examples of weapons from the book:


Arcane Wizardry: This allows rerolls once a day and lets a Wizard force a reroll on someone they just cast a spell at

Barbarian Rage: This allows others to rage, but grants Barbarians bonus to attack and damage and lets them enter a Paradoxical Rage.

Bardic Harmony: Gives a bonus to will saves and has a chance to let Bards deafen opponents.

Clerical Restoration: It helps heal the person with the weapon and lets a cleric be more effective with their own healing spells.

Dragon Perception: This is actually ten different weapons one for each of the five metallic and chromatic dragons. They offer abilities in theme with the dragon the weapon is named after.

Druidic Vision: The weapon allows welders to leave people staggered and lets Druids speak in different forms.

Exhaustion: This weapon has a chance to exhaust people it hits.

Fighters Lament: It can panic people but in the hands of a fighter it can help dispel magic.

Knockdown: Once a day it has a chance to knockdown people it hits.

Leaf Giving: This odd ability can improve the welder?s armor class and make fruit become ripe.

It has a nice mix of items for different classes. They can easily be used by NPCs and PCs alike and for the most should offer some new and different magical weapons that the PCs are not going to be familiar with.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: A good variety of material<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: A little more creativity in the product<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Hats & Helmets
by Mark G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/01/2005 00:00:00

?17 Magical Hats and Helmet? is a 36 page product that presents 17 new magical hats and helmets to enhance you game. The magic items range in cost from 6,500 to 450,000 gp allowing them to be introduced into a game from low levels to epic levels. The magical hats and helmets only take up 12 pages of the 36 page product because of the ?complete source? design that The Le Games uses on its products.


It nice to see a product like this come out, to expand on the offerings present in the DMG which lists only 5 helmets and 1 hat. In addition to the 17 new magic items and the complete source material described below the product includes 3 mini quests. These mini quests are strange and sort of out of place because initially, the text talks about spicing up your world by introducing ?Recipes? and I had hoped that it would actually introduce recipes that might include specialized rituals or magical components but it doesn?t it doesn?t actually suggest recipes at all, just that maybe you should introduce some as rewards for a quest. There are a number of interesting magic items in this product in fact I can say that I could include most of these items in my game at some time. I particularly like the Skull of the Deathbringer (deathwatch and death touch powers), Mnemonic Device (enhances memory) and Ophidian Turban (granting a series of powers over reptiles). It?s a shame that the majority of the magic items are at the major power level instead of more evenly distributed.


Others I have questions about like the Crown of Thorns that grants electricity resistance and stores the energy which on the next round as a free action can heal the character or trigger lightning bolts (though does not indicate how much damage the lightning bolt deals).


The ?complete source? approach to supplement design means that any information you might need from the system reference document to fully use this document has been extracted from the SRD and included in the appendix. In this case, it?s all the spells that are needed to craft the wondrous items in questions, a number of special qualities and the Autohypnosis skill. Strangely, The Le Games has not included the actual three feats necessary to craft the items. This is still a very nice feature regardless as it makes the use of the product easier at the game table.


Mechanically you will find some unorthodox pieces of design and if you are a ?Rules As Written? sort of gamer, and I am, these may cause you to have some dissatisfaction toward the product. The sort of mechanical discrepancies you will find in this product includes at least one magic items who?s power is dependent on the wearer Intelligence score (thus provide and unequal effect depending on the wearer), a magic item that costs more than 220,000 gp and not written up with Craft Epic Wondrous Item, and a few others that feel like they are really inexpensive for the benefits granted. If I allowed for the purchase or sale of magical items I would double check all the cost, but I don?t allow that in my home games.


Layout and editing experience some minor problems as well including the fact that no all the magical hats have their power level indicated (minor, medium, major) and while this is not a standard of design you find in the DMG it is started here but not consistently done. Occasionally in the text there are awkward or disjointed sentences that slipped by the proofreader. I also find the text justification gives the text a disjointed look, but that is more of individual taste than anything else. The art in the product is inconsistent and is a mix of drawing and computer generated that almost seems like art for arts sake and not a way to enhance the product's written material.
<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Adds needed variety to the magical hats available in the SRD.
Hats for all the major character types (warriors, divine, rogues, arcane and psionic).
A good mix of player friendly and dm friendly items.
"Complete source" is a nice feature of The Le Games products that makes thier inclusion at the table easier.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some unorthodox mechanics.
Awkward justification hurt the 1st impression.
Lackluster art.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Hats & Helmets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Cloaks
by Steven T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/26/2005 00:00:00

Magical cloaks have long been a staple of fantasy literature. From the first time we read of the elven cloaks given to Tolkien?s Fellowship, all the way up to Harry Potter?s Invisibility Cloak, whenever a fantasy character wraps himself in a magical cloak, you just know something cool is about to happen. Magical Cloaks should be mysterious, enigmatic and most of all ? magical! In this respect, The Le Games has definitely delivered with their PDF ?17 Magical Cloaks?.


Part of The Le Games? ?17? line of PDF, this product delivers exactly what the cover advertises. 17 Magical cloaks ? no more, no less. I was pleasantly surprised to see that unlike many other companies, The Le Games has no problem listing every cloak to be found in the PDF right on their website. All seventeen are listed right in the ad copy. The PDF files are all fully bookmarked, and it seems The Le Games commitment to making user-friendly products doesn?t stop there. While many other PDF publishers include two versions of their files ? one for on screen reading, and another formatted for printing ? TLG goes one step further and includes an RTF file that can be easily copied from, edited or manipulated in whatever manner the buyer wishes. As a DM who likes having fully prepared and printed notes for my game, this is a big plus.


All told, there are seven files contained in the ZIP for 17 Magical Cloaks. In addition to the three variations mentioned above, there are a JPG of the cover artwork, a JPG advertising another TLG product, and a ?Shameless Advertisement: PDF for Tyche Games in Athens, GA. The final item is a ?Read Me? text file that explains what each of the other files is. I appreciate the number of files in this bundle.


Opening up the on screen PDF we find that the file begins with a brief two page overview of how to use these cloaks in you game. Including this is very handy. The power level of these cloaks varies wildly! A DM who casually introduces an item like the Cloak of Vampirism is in for a decidedly different experience than he?d get by introducing something like the Cloak of Goo. DM?s should look these cloaks over and get to know their abilities before randomly introducing them as treasure. TLG has made accommodations for this, and clearly encourages DM?s to compare the power of these cloaks to the power level of their game. Of course, should you wish to start adding these cloaks in immediately, a random treasure table is included as well. If your PC?s are the types who enjoy making their own magic items, there?s even a bit of advice for introducing the ?recipes? for these cloaks into an existing game.


That done, the authors dive right into some cloaks. There are some real gems here. The Cloak of Dragon Strike offers a minor AC bonus and some fire protection, but it also transforms into a Medium dragon to fight for its master. The Cloak of Razor Flight would be perfect for any X-Men readers who are fans of Archangel. There are a few oddballs here that will have players and DM?s alike scratching their heads wondering ?What the heck do I do with this thing?? The Cloak of Ugliness makes the wearer hideous and deformed, but it offsets this by allowing them to drain Charisma and use it for themselves. As the owner increases in level he can learn to drain more points, and even other attributes. Another one that left me wondering was the Cloak of Goo. This bizarre little creation can slough off portions of itself to create architecture. Bridges, walls, etc. can all be shaped from the goo shed by this cloak, which then regenerates its lost mass. Very strange ? these items are clearly not for every campaign, but their very quirkiness makes me want to find a way to add them into my game.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The Le Games delivers exactly what it promises in this product, namely 17 Magical Cloaks. The cloaks are extremely varied, and one or more of them should fit into almost any campaign. The files themselves are attractively laid out and easy to use without being overly flashy. The inclusion of an RTF version of the file is a big plus not only for those who want to copy and paste, but also for those who wish to print the data without any images.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I don?t begrudge the advertising files contained in the package, although if I downloaded this file via Dial Up, I might wish the advertisements had not been included, or at least been smaller, especially if I lived outside of Georgia.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Cloaks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Relics
by I. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/25/2005 00:00:00

Regardless of whether you are a master at imagining intriguing objects of power or not, every once in awhile we could all use a little stimulation to our creative energies. In this offering, one of Le Games? series of 17 books makes an attempt to get those juices flowing. The download contains a readme file, the landscaped PDF file, the portrait PDF file, the Rich-text version, and a JPG of the cover image. The cover image is not available in full size in the PDF formats. All in all the landscape PDF consists of 17 pages and the portrait PDF consists of 16 pages.


The bookmarked entries of the PDF are Preface, Plot Devices, What are Relics?, RELICS, OGL, and Shameless Promotion.


The most important information for the typical user in the Preface will be the table of contents. The Plot Devices section includes three mini plot devices. From a book titled, ?17 Relics?, I wasn?t necessarily looking for the strongest hooks; but it would have been nice if they tied into the objects of power that are presented within. For example, one of the hooks concerns the sacrifice of a cat to a god, but after reviewing the relics I could not figure out which relic was intended to be tied into that hook. Actually, in the ?What are Relics?? section, the authors suggest that a relic might be made the object of a quest that might take longer than one adventure. It would have been wonderful if the authors had, taken that advice, and suggested individual hooks that could each lead to a common point. That common point could have been central to putting a party of adventurers on track for some relic hunting.


I was, however, quite pleased to see in the text of the ?What are Relics?? section, that the 17 relics described are consistent with the magic items that can be made via magical item creation rules. Often, when publishing text on any magical items, there comes a point where the contributors feel they need to go beyond the limits of a player?s capacity to ?make things interesting?. This factor actually mitigates the lack of relevance of the plot devices to the relics as these relics can be simply tossed into a campaign without requiring huge debates over how to maintain balance should the PCs find themselves in possession of the relic. (It would still be nice if the hooks were connected.) It does mean that the history of the item is especially important and Le Games has provided some interesting histories.


As to the actual relics themselves, there is likely something here for anyone looking to bring objects of power into their campaign. I think Le Games has done well to ensure a variety of items so that just about everyone has something they can use. They have also done well incorporating some interesting magical abilities into their relics based on actual spells/skills. (For example, using among others grapple checks and the rusting grasp spell.) The caster levels of the relics ranges from 4 to 19. As hoped after reading the ?What are Relics?? section, if not introduced prematurely by the dungeon master into the campaign, all the relics should be useable for the long haul by the party without upsetting game balance. (Of course, only you or your DM can say for sure.)


However, if you purchase this product expecting to love all 17 items, you may be disappointed. (I wonder how many fans of the ?Deathscythe? are also going to love ?Lucky Underwear??) Given the current price ($2.99), it is a reasonable purchase if you are looking for some relics to use, or some new descriptions to review to get your own creative juices flowing. (If you?re not looking for one of these, why are you reading this?)


To rousing gaming and ample rewards,
I. Perez<br><br><b>LIKED</b>:



  1. Landscape and portrait PDF files.

  2. 17 Relics provides some interesting items for a range of party levels, it doesn?t concentrate solely on objects of power that would only be suitable for a level 15+ campaign.

  3. 17 Relics avoids feeding into the idea that the only worthwhile objects of power are game breaking.

  4. 17 Relics provides a variety of item types (from weapon to underwear).<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>:

  5. Either, the histories written into each relic?s descriptions should have been more extensive, or the plot devices provided should have been more numerous and presented an opportunity for at least one interconnected plot arc.

  6. In keeping the ?17' theme, they may have stopped just short of the point at which this purchase is a deal at the current price. ($2.99)
    <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
17 Relics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX Clerics
by frenk h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2005 00:00:00

Great book,
maybe a little bit unbalanced around the edges, but it brings more versitality to the cleric class!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Clerics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 195 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG