RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Broken: The Memory of Solaris
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/26/2010 12:17:45
This is a great example of setting implied through crunch. There is a lot of crunch here, to be sure, and not a lot of setting because, well, we're talking about the remnants of a destroyed planet. Solaris was a world where the Norse gods ruled; Ragnarok happened, most of the gods were destroyed along with the world itself. Now there are crumbling chunks of debris (some large enough to live on), a free-floating ocean, and a large complex of sewer pipes-turned-space station called the Pipedream.

What Broken offers here are 3.5/OGL rules for dealing with vacuum, lack of air, radiation, lack of gravity, cold, and other problems of space. There's information on the remaining gods and their clerics, how standard character classes are affected, new prestige classes, and new spells. Aside from mention of some places and some backstory, the gamemaster is left largely to sort the details out form himself. Create the chunk of planet the player characters live on. Create their motivations -- rebuild the planet (we're told it's possible, with great effort, but not how), escape to another world, flee the dimension.

If you're looking for a different type of campaign, give it a look. If you're looking for hard space rules for 3.5, give it a look. Focus on the writing, though; the only reason I didn't give this a 5 rating is the artwork, which is amateurish and not in sync with the rest of the product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Broken: The Memory of Solaris
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Plants
by Mario P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2010 12:17:26
It's always hard to find cool stuff for rangers and druids, and this book really delivers on that front. The plants are all interesting and unique, and each is adorned with cool backstory and functional adventure hooks.

Frankly, one of the best "17 [insert noun here]" supplements I've seen.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
17 Plants
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2009 19:41:51
A fun take on something familiar. I probably won't use it as is but it has given me some great ideas. Maybe a gymnast.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Coupons & Feats
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/14/2009 15:48:26
Look you dummies, if you want me to buy things from you, give me coupons!

And if you want me to download your coupon book, give me a taste of what you write! Something small but useful like feats if you're writing 3e stuff. So I will know what I'm buying and want to buy it because of the coupons.

It's not rocket science!

So pretty much I am rating this one five stars not because the feats are brilliant or the coupons either (though they're both perfectly fine), but because every publisher should come out with coupon books exactly like this one every month, forever, the end. Also.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coupons & Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Coupons & Feats
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/14/2009 15:47:42
Look you dummies, if you want me to buy things from you, give me coupons!

And if you want me to download your coupon book, give me a taste of what you write! Something small but useful like feats if you're writing 3e stuff

It's not rocket science!

So pretty much I am rating this one five stars not because the feats are brilliant or the coupons either (though they're both perfectly fine), but because every publisher should come out with coupon books exactly like this one every month, forever, the end. Also.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coupons & Artifacts
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2009 15:14:50
Quick little reference download of other items of interest. Good way to see what else is out there.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Coupons & Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Weapons
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2009 14:39:30
I liked the weapons in this D20 module. There were some items of interest that I will be adding to my next campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Orthodox
by Jeff R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2008 08:54:19
This has got to be one of the best d20 supplements I have never paid for. It's almost as funny as the look on the faces of Magic:the Gathering (aka "Gamer Crack") players when they hear there's a new deck out... but unlike M:tG, I would be prepared to pay ten times the amount this cost me.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Orthodox
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Sorcerers
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2008 12:42:33
Some very good ideas here, and some of these character classes can actually be used as-is. Most books of alternate/prestige classes are badly unbalanced, but if anything these sorcerers are slightly lower than average with very strong abilities in one or two areas. Specialists are slightly harder to GM but have a lot of storytelling potential.

The best of the lot are the Numeromantic Sorcerer, who starts out mostly as a depowered version of the class but rapidly gains some fascinating abilities; the Immanent Heresiarch, a worshipper of human potential who seeks to destroy the gods; and the Follower of the Sixfold Septateuch, a millennarian cultist with powers over mathematical dimensions.

These classes are pretty arcane, and possibly suited more for an "intellectual fantasy" campaign (like Planescape) than rough-and-tumble sword-and-sorcery.

The extras aren't as impressive as the main text. There are two short stories leading the book which aren't bad but whose presence doesn't make much sense. The magic items are another set of Baubles and Urus, additional varieties of the same magic item type in most Unorthodox books. The selection of spells is strange -- many of them are very unimpressive, and one of them amounts to a date-rape spell.

Extras or not, though, the main thrust of the book is its character classes, and those are useful and have great campaign potential.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Sorcerers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX MODERN Goths
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2008 12:33:06
Unorthodox Modern Goths appears to be mostly the type of meta-joke that's popular in gaming circles, combined with some (sometimes really hot, but consistently G-rated) photographic artwork of the subject matter subculture. So what actually matters is how much you chuckle while reading it, and that's four out of five stars for a couple of big laughs and multiple giggles.

I'm not sure anyone could use this except in a joke game (gaining the ability to swim better through body piercing?) and d20 Modern is way too rules-intensive for comedy. It does, however, call to mind some possibilities for interesting characters if it is treated as a catalog of character traits rather than a gaming supplement.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX MODERN Goths
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Video Game Magic Items
by Jean-Christophe G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2008 20:01:15
Ever wanted to give PCs and NPCs alike items from popular video games ? Then this book is for you. While the origins of such items might sound a little bit awkward for hardcore gamers who also play D&D, they are nicely converted and well-balanced. Each of them has the usual magic item qualification, such as [minor wondrous item], and their creations are cleary explained like in other 3.5 books. Surprisingly, all items have been made "serious" and "more mature" compared to their actual counterparts, but the results will rejoice a few players and provide a good comic relief. My only complaint is that there are only a few items in this book, and more would been nice to include. Items like Simon Belmont's whip from Castlevania, Donkey Kong's powerful bongo drums, Kirby's star rod or warp star, Ike's Holy Blade of Ragnell from Fire Emblem and the Soul Calibur and Soul Edge could have been a real blast to use in a D&D game. Perhaps another booklet will be released with a whole new batch of video game items, but for now, this one does greatly the trick. I recommend it !

Oh, here's a quick list of the items real origins:

MAGIC ITEMS:
Babomb: Bob-omb from Super Mario Bros
Blue Shell Armor: Blue Shell from New Super Mario Bros
Bow of Light: Palutena's Bow from Kid Icarus
Cape of the Hero: Cape from Super Mario World
Cloud of Flying: Lakitu's Cloud from Super Mario World
Club of the Smash Brothers: Home Run Bat from Super Smash Bros 64/Melee/Brawl
Final Sword: Cloud's weapons from Final Fantasy 7
Fiery Flower: Fire Flower from Super Mario Bros
Gi of Heaven: Akuma's outfit from Street Fighter
Glove of Power: the Power Glove NES accessory
Leaf of the Raccoon: Leaf from Super Mario Bros 3
Masamune: Sephiroth's sword from Final Fantasy 7
Mirror of Restoration: Save points from Final Fantasy
Mushroom of Growth: Super Mushroom from Super Mario Bros
Scorpion's Sting: Scorpion's harpoon from Mortal Kombat
Star of Invincibility: Star from Super Mario Bros
Suit of the Raccoon: Tanooki Suit from Super Mario Bros 3
Summoning Spheres: Pokéballs from Pokémon
Vegetable of Might: Vegetables from Super Mario Bros 2

ARTIFACTS:
Keysword: Sora's Keyblade from Kingdom Hearts
Mushroom of Extra Life: 1-UP Mushroom from Super Mario Bros.
Ribbon of Protection: Ribbon from Final Fantasy
Seven Gems of Chaos: the 7 Chaos Emeralds from Sonic the Hedgehog
Thriforce: the 3 Triforce pieces from The Legend of Zelda
Yenova's Corpse: Jenova from Final Fantasy 7

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Video Game Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

50 Cent Wizard Spells
by Brock C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2008 22:24:03
*Complementary Copy Review*

Overall, I think this is a good selection of spells for 10 cents each, however the 1st level one I'm not too fond of. I'll give a mini-review of each spell.


1st Level Spell: Alistair’s Tearful Outburst

While it's a useful spell, I personally feel it's a tad over-powered for some campaigns, at least for a 1st level spell because it gives -2 to all rolls and -10 to most social rolls (specific skills it gives the -10 to are listed). Maybe 2nd or 3rd. However, if your campaign doesn't care much about social stuff, then the -2 isn't really that bad, but in a social campaign, a -10 is pretty significant penalty for 1st level characters

3rd Level Spell: Summon Experts

My first impression of this spell was that it is worthless when we already have "Unseen Servant" but then after further reading, I decided that it actually is a very good variant of Unseen Servant, Although, due to it's nature of being a summon+charm spell, I'm not sure it's one I'd see a 'good" wizard using, though a neutral one could (and of course an evil one). I do however like that if you mistreat the experts while they are in your "employ" they are free to hunt you down for revenge. The only small problem that remains is that with no set duration, what about the expert's actual paid work not getting done, but hey... that could be an adventure seed in the making!

5th Level Spell: Helping Hands

This is an interesting variant on the traditional entangle type spells, with the added effect of possible suffocation as the hands drag you into the ground. I think it could easily find uses in the grimoire of any wizard with a slightly sadistic sense of humor (sadistic because the hands are trying to suffocate your opponents)

7th Level Spell: Alistair’s Thunderous Applause

I could see this spell being used by a wizard when a fight is not going his party's way, although with the fact that it affects everyone in the area (even allies), the wizard would be leaving his friends behind if he didn't already have some escape plans to use in the rounds everyone is deaf and stunned.


9th Level Spell: Bone Crush

This spell is very powerful, however it's 9th level so that's fine. It's like a death spell almost, except it doesn't kill so much as permanently incapacitate your opponent by reducing their strength to 0. Again, since it's "permanent drain" that only be restored by a Restoration or similar spell,. this is a very powerful spell, however as 9th level (some death spells are found at 7th level), I believe it is still fair (your opponent will not think it's fair however) and balanced.

So, that's what I think of each spell in this mini-book. Overall, I think if you find yourself interested in even one of these spells, this mini-book would be worth the 50 cent cost. If you find yourself interested in more than one, that makes the price even better.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Cent Wizard Spells
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirate Booty!
by thorsten k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2008 10:56:33
I actually bought this to get a few Ideas for magic items in my "50 Fathoms" game and there is really some cool stuff in here.

The Good: There are no simple +x items but flavourful (and sometimes a little creepy) described items with fairly unique effects, such as the "Angry Wooden Parrot" or the "Pouch of Freshness". It should "translate" pretty easily into my current game and I think my players will enjoy them to.

The Bad: Some editing still needed- for example, the Angry Wooden Parrot has a secondary effect that allows a save, but no DC is listed.
On another point, it has been a while since I last used the magic item creation rules of d20, but some of the prices seem a little bit off. The Reckless weapon enhancement for example seems way to cheap and still using the Angry Wooden Parrot as an example, it would be far to expensive for the little effect it offers (from some point of view it's not that diffrent from a minor circlet of blasting, but the costs are way higher. "Animate Object" is used in creation to justify it's effects, resulting in the enourmous price. Other spells could have done the same with a far more reasonable price).

The Ugly: The use of the word "player" in cases where "character" would be more appropriate. A few items seem to be a little bit to "standard" (who would have thought about a self-refilling bottle of rum or a if you remember the Belt of Many Pockets what about a Pirate Belt of Many Pockets !?).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirate Booty!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX Orthodox: Menage' Trois
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2008 22:12:34
As I have come to expect from LeGames this product is insanity raised to an artform :-) 5 thumbs up!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Orthodox: Menage' Trois
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
"5 thumbs up!" -- Duuudddee... that's creepy.
50 Cent Modern Feats
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2008 08:03:10
Surprisingly useful for 50 cents. Feats are well thought out and give a bit of depth to characters at the same time.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Cent Modern Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 177 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG