RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pirate Booty!
by thorsten k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2008 10:56:33

I actually bought this to get a few Ideas for magic items in my "50 Fathoms" game and there is really some cool stuff in here.


The Good: There are no simple +x items but flavourful (and sometimes a little creepy) described items with fairly unique effects, such as the "Angry Wooden Parrot" or the "Pouch of Freshness". It should "translate" pretty easily into my current game and I think my players will enjoy them to.


The Bad: Some editing still needed- for example, the Angry Wooden Parrot has a secondary effect that allows a save, but no DC is listed.
On another point, it has been a while since I last used the magic item creation rules of d20, but some of the prices seem a little bit off. The Reckless weapon enhancement for example seems way to cheap and still using the Angry Wooden Parrot as an example, it would be far to expensive for the little effect it offers (from some point of view it's not that diffrent from a minor circlet of blasting, but the costs are way higher. "Animate Object" is used in creation to justify it's effects, resulting in the enourmous price. Other spells could have done the same with a far more reasonable price).


The Ugly: The use of the word "player" in cases where "character" would be more appropriate. A few items seem to be a little bit to "standard" (who would have thought about a self-refilling bottle of rum or a if you remember the Belt of Many Pockets what about a Pirate Belt of Many Pockets !?).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirate Booty!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX Orthodox: Menage' Trois
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2008 22:12:34

As I have come to expect from LeGames this product is insanity raised to an artform :-) 5 thumbs up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Orthodox: Menage' Trois
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
"5 thumbs up!" -- Duuudddee... that's creepy.
50 Cent Modern Feats
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2008 08:03:10

Surprisingly useful for 50 cents. Feats are well thought out and give a bit of depth to characters at the same time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Cent Modern Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

50 Cent Feats
by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2008 12:08:22

For 50 cents you can't complain much. The product is kind of hit and miss, though. Some of the feats seem exceptionally useful, others feel redundant, and a few are just too overpowering to allow in a normal game. I like that the writer provides game mechanic opportunities that allow players to gain additional feats by sacrificing elsewhere. For example, some feats allow a ranger to sacrifice a favored enemy in order to take the feat. That seems to be a sensible option.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Cent Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Coupons & Feats 2
by Louis P. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2008 17:19:08

A great way to get people to see your coupons and get a free product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coupons & Feats 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX MODERN Goths
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2007 08:49:03

A must have addition, no self respecting GM should be without it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX MODERN Goths
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2007 08:48:03

Too cool, you get allot for just a couple of bucks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Action Maneuvers
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2007 15:24:00

While it may have been intended more for d20 Modern, my gaming group made use of this product for our D&D game, and it certainly livened things up at the table, including getting a neophyte player much more interested in combat, both when it was her turn and when it wasn't.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action Maneuvers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Personal Artifacts
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:59:58

Ok this is a MUST HAVE purchase in my opinion. Want to give your characters that extra special something but not OVER do it? Want to put them on a quest to DESTROY an item they have found? This is an essential book. Basically these are great "end of dungeon" items. Very imaginative and something that you really can't create using the D&D creation system. Probably the best thing about the book is that the items are powerful but not excessively so. They are PERFECT for lower level characters but not the hum-drum of, "yipee a +2 sword" as a final quest reward. One of the other great things about the items is that it lists the method by which it can be destroyed--which can be a whole other campaign series on it's own. Trust me, this book rocks. I have purchased several works by Tay Lay and while I like them all, I really think this is the best yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Personal Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Wondrous Items
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:54:58

Excellent products. I use these things books literally all the time. The objects make great quest items or a little something off the beaten path. Keep up the great work guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
17 Wondrous Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Gloves
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:54:35

Excellent products. I use these things books literally all the time. The objects make great quest items or a little something off the beaten path. Keep up the great work guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Gloves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Cloaks
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:54:21

Excellent products. I use these things books literally all the time. The objects make great quest items or a little something off the beaten path. Keep up the great work guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Cloaks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Rings
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:53:56

Excellent products. I use these things books literally all the time. The objects make great quest items or a little something off the beaten path. Keep up the great work guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Rings
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Bracers
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/28/2007 10:25:40

LeGames certainly feels that you can never have too many magic items to choose from. Unfortunately, the popular magic slots such as the ring fingers and wielding hands are usually filled. So LeGames has created 17 (really 25) magical items that are built for a little used slot, your forearms.


17 Magic Bracers is a short 17 page PDF that contains a range of magical bracers that expands the use of the device, which normally acts as a simple armor enhancement for those whom can not wear strong armor. 17 Magic Bracers. LeGames has always done a wonderful job of offering a broad range within their products and there is no exception here. Items consist of minor all the way to artifact and there are deadly ones as much as there are beneficial ones.


For the Player
Several bracers really caught my eye and would be quite beneficial to sneak in at midlevel character creation. The Bracelet of Second Life grants the wearer a second chance on life if they are knocked below 0 hp. I also fancy carrying manacles as a player, and the Manacles of Loyalty are pretty cool to have. If you have one of those DMs who likes to through NPCs at you whom backstab the party, slap these on him. Once someone makes an oath they are cursed if they break it.


For the DM
The items inside the book all seem to be very much in line with similar magical items of the same cost. Skipping to the ed of the book, are several synergy artifacts that grant extra powers when combined with each other. The Shadow Breaker items scale in power along with their synergy and their varied descriptions (life, hate, etc) can create a nice little side quest for the game.


The Iron Word
Magical Bracers provides a wide assortment of magical treats for your players. Though there are not a ton of minor ones, there are a number of mid to high level ones that an experienced party will enjoy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Bracers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Broken: The Memory of Solaris
by Bo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2007 16:36:18

This is a powerful setting. The broken up remains of a planet and people desperately relying on magic to survive. Its definitely a situation in need of heroes! This is a difficult setting to work with and the author presents a deep and thorough portrayal of challenges, places, survivors and new magic.


If you want something very different for your group to explore this is a good choice. Its packed with writing and gives a DM a lot to think about. The rules for replenishing air and survival in the void would make an interesting addition to any planar adventure. I found it a good balance of playability and physics, after all magic enables the impossible. I think DMs who want background for truly strange locations will enjoy this setting.


Doesn't the DM need an answer for what could happen after everything blows up ? :)


Perhaps vital magics to your plot line have survived the great cataclysm and must be retrieved from the inky bleakness of void? Perhaps your high level mage is approached by displaced survivors from Broken who want to create an escape portal for their families or a battleship for conquest?


It's a rich description and a great option to have if your own setting really, really, goes KaBoom!


My chief criticism of the piece is that it isn't bookmarked and the author may have tried to do too much. Its a one man show with great writing and inspired but perhaps over ambitious art work. The cover is great but some of the internal art is amateurish. These flaws are not crucial but I think they mar a great PDF. I hope the product life will allow this to be addressed with a revision.


This has many different options from the standard little town or regular city. The setting could be adapted to many genres (some posters seemed interested in resurrecting Spell Jammer). Broken would make an admirable alternate universe setting, where something went drastically wrong. It would make a good source for refugees in need of rescue or even a cruel punishment plane created by a fickle deity. It might be a ruin the characters survive or a retreat for a powerful demigod who hates people. The core value is there and the work is very original.


In an overcrowded PDF marketplace this is a gem with some rough edges - but certainly a gem.


Sigurd



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Broken: The Memory of Solaris
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 195 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG