RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Video Game Magic Items
by Jean-Christophe G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2008 20:01:15

Ever wanted to give PCs and NPCs alike items from popular video games ? Then this book is for you. While the origins of such items might sound a little bit awkward for hardcore gamers who also play D&D, they are nicely converted and well-balanced. Each of them has the usual magic item qualification, such as [minor wondrous item], and their creations are cleary explained like in other 3.5 books. Surprisingly, all items have been made "serious" and "more mature" compared to their actual counterparts, but the results will rejoice a few players and provide a good comic relief. My only complaint is that there are only a few items in this book, and more would been nice to include. Items like Simon Belmont's whip from Castlevania, Donkey Kong's powerful bongo drums, Kirby's star rod or warp star, Ike's Holy Blade of Ragnell from Fire Emblem and the Soul Calibur and Soul Edge could have been a real blast to use in a D&D game. Perhaps another booklet will be released with a whole new batch of video game items, but for now, this one does greatly the trick. I recommend it !

Oh, here's a quick list of the items real origins:

MAGIC ITEMS: Babomb: Bob-omb from Super Mario Bros Blue Shell Armor: Blue Shell from New Super Mario Bros Bow of Light: Palutena's Bow from Kid Icarus Cape of the Hero: Cape from Super Mario World Cloud of Flying: Lakitu's Cloud from Super Mario World Club of the Smash Brothers: Home Run Bat from Super Smash Bros 64/Melee/Brawl Final Sword: Cloud's weapons from Final Fantasy 7 Fiery Flower: Fire Flower from Super Mario Bros Gi of Heaven: Akuma's outfit from Street Fighter Glove of Power: the Power Glove NES accessory Leaf of the Raccoon: Leaf from Super Mario Bros 3 Masamune: Sephiroth's sword from Final Fantasy 7 Mirror of Restoration: Save points from Final Fantasy Mushroom of Growth: Super Mushroom from Super Mario Bros Scorpion's Sting: Scorpion's harpoon from Mortal Kombat Star of Invincibility: Star from Super Mario Bros Suit of the Raccoon: Tanooki Suit from Super Mario Bros 3 Summoning Spheres: Pokéballs from Pokémon Vegetable of Might: Vegetables from Super Mario Bros 2

ARTIFACTS: Keysword: Sora's Keyblade from Kingdom Hearts Mushroom of Extra Life: 1-UP Mushroom from Super Mario Bros. Ribbon of Protection: Ribbon from Final Fantasy Seven Gems of Chaos: the 7 Chaos Emeralds from Sonic the Hedgehog Thriforce: the 3 Triforce pieces from The Legend of Zelda Yenova's Corpse: Jenova from Final Fantasy 7



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Video Game Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

50 Cent Wizard Spells
by Brock C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2008 22:24:03

Complementary Copy Review

Overall, I think this is a good selection of spells for 10 cents each, however the 1st level one I'm not too fond of. I'll give a mini-review of each spell.

1st Level Spell: Alistair’s Tearful Outburst

While it's a useful spell, I personally feel it's a tad over-powered for some campaigns, at least for a 1st level spell because it gives -2 to all rolls and -10 to most social rolls (specific skills it gives the -10 to are listed). Maybe 2nd or 3rd. However, if your campaign doesn't care much about social stuff, then the -2 isn't really that bad, but in a social campaign, a -10 is pretty significant penalty for 1st level characters

3rd Level Spell: Summon Experts

My first impression of this spell was that it is worthless when we already have "Unseen Servant" but then after further reading, I decided that it actually is a very good variant of Unseen Servant, Although, due to it's nature of being a summon+charm spell, I'm not sure it's one I'd see a 'good" wizard using, though a neutral one could (and of course an evil one). I do however like that if you mistreat the experts while they are in your "employ" they are free to hunt you down for revenge. The only small problem that remains is that with no set duration, what about the expert's actual paid work not getting done, but hey... that could be an adventure seed in the making!

5th Level Spell: Helping Hands

This is an interesting variant on the traditional entangle type spells, with the added effect of possible suffocation as the hands drag you into the ground. I think it could easily find uses in the grimoire of any wizard with a slightly sadistic sense of humor (sadistic because the hands are trying to suffocate your opponents)

7th Level Spell: Alistair’s Thunderous Applause

I could see this spell being used by a wizard when a fight is not going his party's way, although with the fact that it affects everyone in the area (even allies), the wizard would be leaving his friends behind if he didn't already have some escape plans to use in the rounds everyone is deaf and stunned.

9th Level Spell: Bone Crush

This spell is very powerful, however it's 9th level so that's fine. It's like a death spell almost, except it doesn't kill so much as permanently incapacitate your opponent by reducing their strength to 0. Again, since it's "permanent drain" that only be restored by a Restoration or similar spell,. this is a very powerful spell, however as 9th level (some death spells are found at 7th level), I believe it is still fair (your opponent will not think it's fair however) and balanced.

So, that's what I think of each spell in this mini-book. Overall, I think if you find yourself interested in even one of these spells, this mini-book would be worth the 50 cent cost. If you find yourself interested in more than one, that makes the price even better.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Cent Wizard Spells
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirate Booty!
by thorsten k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2008 10:56:33

I actually bought this to get a few Ideas for magic items in my "50 Fathoms" game and there is really some cool stuff in here.

The Good: There are no simple +x items but flavourful (and sometimes a little creepy) described items with fairly unique effects, such as the "Angry Wooden Parrot" or the "Pouch of Freshness". It should "translate" pretty easily into my current game and I think my players will enjoy them to.

The Bad: Some editing still needed- for example, the Angry Wooden Parrot has a secondary effect that allows a save, but no DC is listed. On another point, it has been a while since I last used the magic item creation rules of d20, but some of the prices seem a little bit off. The Reckless weapon enhancement for example seems way to cheap and still using the Angry Wooden Parrot as an example, it would be far to expensive for the little effect it offers (from some point of view it's not that diffrent from a minor circlet of blasting, but the costs are way higher. "Animate Object" is used in creation to justify it's effects, resulting in the enourmous price. Other spells could have done the same with a far more reasonable price).

The Ugly: The use of the word "player" in cases where "character" would be more appropriate. A few items seem to be a little bit to "standard" (who would have thought about a self-refilling bottle of rum or a if you remember the Belt of Many Pockets what about a Pirate Belt of Many Pockets !?).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirate Booty!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX Orthodox: Menage' Trois
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2008 22:12:34

As I have come to expect from LeGames this product is insanity raised to an artform :-) 5 thumbs up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX Orthodox: Menage' Trois
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
"5 thumbs up!" -- Duuudddee... that's creepy.
50 Cent Modern Feats
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2008 08:03:10

Surprisingly useful for 50 cents. Feats are well thought out and give a bit of depth to characters at the same time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Cent Modern Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

50 Cent Feats
by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2008 12:08:22

For 50 cents you can't complain much. The product is kind of hit and miss, though. Some of the feats seem exceptionally useful, others feel redundant, and a few are just too overpowering to allow in a normal game. I like that the writer provides game mechanic opportunities that allow players to gain additional feats by sacrificing elsewhere. For example, some feats allow a ranger to sacrifice a favored enemy in order to take the feat. That seems to be a sensible option.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Cent Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Coupons & Feats 2
by Louis P. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2008 17:19:08

A great way to get people to see your coupons and get a free product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coupons & Feats 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

UNORTHODOX MODERN Goths
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2007 08:49:03

A must have addition, no self respecting GM should be without it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNORTHODOX MODERN Goths
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2007 08:48:03

Too cool, you get allot for just a couple of bucks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Action Maneuvers
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2007 15:24:00

While it may have been intended more for d20 Modern, my gaming group made use of this product for our D&D game, and it certainly livened things up at the table, including getting a neophyte player much more interested in combat, both when it was her turn and when it wasn't.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action Maneuvers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Personal Artifacts
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:59:58

Ok this is a MUST HAVE purchase in my opinion. Want to give your characters that extra special something but not OVER do it? Want to put them on a quest to DESTROY an item they have found? This is an essential book. Basically these are great "end of dungeon" items. Very imaginative and something that you really can't create using the D&D creation system. Probably the best thing about the book is that the items are powerful but not excessively so. They are PERFECT for lower level characters but not the hum-drum of, "yipee a +2 sword" as a final quest reward. One of the other great things about the items is that it lists the method by which it can be destroyed--which can be a whole other campaign series on it's own. Trust me, this book rocks. I have purchased several works by Tay Lay and while I like them all, I really think this is the best yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Personal Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Wondrous Items
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:54:58

Excellent products. I use these things books literally all the time. The objects make great quest items or a little something off the beaten path. Keep up the great work guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
17 Wondrous Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Gloves
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:54:35

Excellent products. I use these things books literally all the time. The objects make great quest items or a little something off the beaten path. Keep up the great work guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Gloves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Cloaks
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:54:21

Excellent products. I use these things books literally all the time. The objects make great quest items or a little something off the beaten path. Keep up the great work guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Cloaks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Magic Rings
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2007 22:53:56

Excellent products. I use these things books literally all the time. The objects make great quest items or a little something off the beaten path. Keep up the great work guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
17 Magic Rings
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 212 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG