RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
Arcana Journal #59
Arcana Journal #59
$2.99









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mekton Zeta Tactical Display
by Cody P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2013 13:29:00
First off you get charts and tables for running the game. It's god send to have this product if you want large scale mecha combat or easier mecha construction. Now possible with Mekton The Movie booklet. The targeting computer system that got left out of print version of Mekton Z Plus also makes it to this book. I had the Tactical Display already but it is nice to have the full core rules in PDF for when I am on the go or traveling. There are a few other goodies like short One-shot-Variable-Adventures (OVA) set after Rimfire on Algol and extra combat options.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta Tactical Display
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020, first edition
by Jordi F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2013 02:28:14
Good stuff. If you like weapons, of course.

Here you'll find most (if not all) weapons/ammunition from Cyberpunk 2020. Not only the stats, but the description and use as found in every manual ... and in which Book you will find the weapon. It even comes with a compilation of images for said weapons, but not all of them has a corresponding image.

Nothing more nothing less. So if you like weapons, this book is pretty handy.

Also it's well scanned :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020, first edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #1 & #2
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2013 13:01:34
Cyberpunk is all about style and chrome (lots of chrome) so what better for a passing 'punk than a bewildering array of items to shop for?

Everything the well-supplied cyberpunk might need is here: electronics, vehicles, cyberware, weapons, fashion, housing... even 'executive services' whatever they are. It reads (deliberately) like any catalogue you have read, full of advertising speak and illustrations that present the item in the best possible like. As a result most of the book can be used as an in-character resource whenever the characters have some spare eurobucks and time to go shopping.

I quite fancy the Net-Runner Cybermodem Utility Suit (although it's likely my students would laugh at me!), but like so many of the items here it does remind you that the game was written a while ago (the two books combined in this product came out in 1991 and 1992 respectively) and are the 1990s view of what technology would be in the future. We're a bit closer to 2020 now, and I'm sure there will be stuff around then that cannot be imagined now, never mind 20-odd years ago... take for example the 'Mead Electronic Notebook' described as a souped-up lapcomp with 6MB RAM and a 30MB hard drive... my pen drive is far bigger than that!

Never mind, it is a classic of its time, and Cyberpunk is still a fun game to play especially if you are old enough to have played it in the 1990s as well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #1 & #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #1 & #2
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2013 20:22:36
Chrome Compilation of Chrome Books 1 and 2, originally published in 1991 and 1992 respectively, wear their era of origin heavily. Chrome Book 1 is especially heavy with nostalgia and unintentional irony with faxes, wired modems and 80s fashion figuring heavily, the weapons and vehicles being a mix of (then) cutting edge modern and attempts at extrapolation. However, some of the cyberware (including the decentralized heart, one of my favorites) and chipware are still solid conceptually and the services section is full of interesting ideas. Chrome Book 2 is better at not being locked into its era of being made, well except for the computers. There are useful things to adapt for any cyberpunk setting including full conversion cyborgs, exotic body-shaping and crazy weapons. Most of the contents of these books are just good fodder for products and things for a near future setting, the rules are a bit more iffy.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #3 & #4
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2013 20:20:50
Chrome Compilation (2) of Chrome Books 3 and 4, first published in 1994 and 1996 respectively are more successful in being still felling like things from the potential futures also, no weapons in these books just gear and reference. Book 3 succeeds in being more forward looking even the computers are not so wince inducing, but the sections on full conversion ‘borgs and powered armor both require other books for full rules (Chrome Book 2 and Maximum Metal respectively). But the general tech items, cyberware, cyberpets (enhanced animals), robots and WADs (Working Assistant Droids built off the powered armor rules), are all very evocative and useful. Book 4 is good on cyberware but really shines on biotech, the vehicles are interesting though more illustrations would have been welcome. The fashion section is a little dated but still so much fun to read and has some useful note on clothes and the character. These are the best of the Chrome Book line, benefitting for the experience acquired on the first two and full of valuable inspiration for any cyberpunk styled game.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #3 & #4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fuzion Core Rules
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2013 12:25:18
This is a book of potential that was never realized. It suffers in structure and ease of use, but the concept is sound and the game is playable. I used it many years ago, it worked but was rather dry. It really should have contained more genre specific rules and options. This product could really have been so much more.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fuzion Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Marisa C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2013 04:21:45
I had bought the book for the game a while ago, and decided I wanted a PDF version to print out sheets with ease. It looks like this book is a mishmash of two different versions--page 99 of my book has modifiers, and other tables in relation to Friday Night Fire Fight, while this PDF has a redundant shotgun/grenade section (that, mind you, are in page order still). Pages are poorly scanned: in quality and lack of care (can the pages be straight... please? Am I too OCD to request this?).

Please fix this PDF, and it will be a better purchase.

As for the system, it's simple and easy to get into. Everything from character generation to the thrilling combat... it's great to pick up and go. I recommend picking up the other books just to add to the flavor of your Cyberpunk game. The layout of the book (and other books) are VERY cool, and REALLY convey the feeling of what being Cyberpunk is all about.

System-wise, HIGHLY recommended. For this PDF, hold out if you can till they fix the issue with the pages. You will be missing relevant information that the physical copy has. If you can, find the book on Amazon.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mekton Zeta Plus
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2013 11:53:11
An excellent companion to the Mekton Zeta core rules. This book lets you take your Mekton game to the next level with more construction options and other game rules.

Something I appreciate about these rules is that they're not hard to gradually move into your game play as you get more comfortable with the system. I recommend starting with just the Zeta rules first, then add in parts from Zeta Plus.

Best of all, the scan is beautiful. This is a high quality pdf.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta Plus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mekton Zeta
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2013 09:35:36
This is a fantastic game system that can handle just about any type of mecha game you want to run. From giant lumbering Battletech-style mecha, to nimble transforming Robotech, to beam saber wielding Gundam, and so much more. It can be a crunchy system, but it's not hard to tailor it to your tastes. Take out or add to get as fiddly as you want to be. Hands down, my favorite mecha system.

The only reason I don't give this product five stars is that the scan for the .pdf is okay. The cover is beautiful, but the interiors are a little fuzzy and there are some lines from the scanner, and in some places shadows from the printing on the next page. There is nothing terrible about it, but I've come to have higher expectations for the quality of the images. Plus the artwork is beautiful and the scan quality takes away from that.

This is especially surprising because the companion book, Mekton Zeta+, is a beautiful file! Sharp, clear, and just what you want in a .pdf product.

But, if mecha games are your thing, this is the product for you.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Finnen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 18:06:53
This a beautiful game system, the more I look into it the more it appeals to me. Character creation and the example archetypes are packed with flavor that bring the game alive. Can't wait to read more and eventually play it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mekton Techbook
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2012 13:45:42
Since I have Mekton 2 & Roadstriker, I was rather happy to find this wonderful PDF in the Drivethru library.
A seriously good add-on for the Mekton series.

Lots of technical information to expand the Mekton RPG.

Well worth the price (£3.79)

Well recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Techbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Teenagers from Outerspace
by Samuel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2012 17:26:06
As a former TFOS book owner (three different copies/editions!), I'm quite excited to see this game available in PDF format. The rules are simple, the setting is fun, and the game is pretty much self-contained.

Rules are quick and easy to learn, which is great for quick games, young, casual and non-gamer players (or a night when everyone is too brain-fried from life to deal with a crunchy game). You'll only need a couple of 6-sided dice for the game, and most rolls are d6 + stat + skill/modifiers (generally all low, single-digit numbers) versus some target number.

A very elegant way to combat players making teenage gods/goddesses in game is the "Overdoing it" mechanic. Exceed your target number by too much and you'll "over do it," resulting in unintended consequences as the player gets more than they bargained for. Its usually humorous (depending on the GM), and while better than a failure, is a subtle encouragement for players to diversify what their teenagers can do.

It is worth noting that players can't die, violence is more of the old cartoon variety, and generally the game is more fun and mischievous than anything else. In my experience it was fun for one-off games as well as short little multi-session adventures with players who had a good sense of humor about themselves and their characters. As such, its a nice little thing to have in your collection for nights when your normal game can't be played or the GM needs a break. The book does come with a fair number of adventure plots, so if you're good with improvising on the fly its almost pick up and play.

The PDF, so far as I can tell, is a scan and is not searchable. Thats not horrible at 130 pages, but I'd just as soon print it out than use it digitally. Also, this edition came out in the late 90's, so social media, online gaming, reality TV shows, and all the more modern stuff contemporary teens are into isn't really present, but putting it in won't be any problem for GMs or players. Should R Talsorian ever create a new edition to update some of the setting plus make a new, non-scanned PDF with all the trimmings, you can add one more star to my rating.

As is, however, the game is still fantastic, and a steal at the asking price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Teenagers from Outerspace
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Benjamin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2011 17:33:38
I ordered "Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0 The Second Edition, Version 2.01" and I have to say that not only is the PDF quality rather poor (uneven scanning and poor clarity at points), it seems to actually be missing pages! For example, on page 51, in the second paragraph for "Martial Arts" it reads, "A full table of key attacks is listed in Friday Night Firefight, pg 100". However, when you go to page 100 (the actual, printed page) there is no table on the page; there is no such table in the PDF at all! I clearly remember it having one.

Another example is on page 105, under "Modifiers". It states that there is a list of modifiers on page 99, yet there isn't. Now, please go to page 98 and read the last sentence: "He won't get the bonus on Hargan, because the blonde giant"...and it ends. Turning to page 99, not only do we not get our table, the prior text is cut-off.

Until they fix this PDF, I'd find another way to get a copy of this game.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Shodan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2011 11:15:28
Nice. Although some time ago it presented some problems that were addressed promptly by the RpgNow team :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cyberpunk v.3
by Ubiratan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2010 10:10:01
This was a disappointment for me. The layout is actually painful to look at on a screen, it's hard to find the rules you want, and enough has been said about the doll art that I don't need to elaborate further. Plus, the book is incomplete - the print version has some 18 extra pages that aren't present on the PDF. If you absolutely must own this game, go with the print version.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 69 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
R. Talsorian Games Inc.
R. Talsorian Games Inc.
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (54)
 Hottest Titles

Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01

01.Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
02.Fuzion Core Rules
03.Mekton Zeta
04.Castle Falkenstein
05.Comme Il Faut
06.Mekton Zeta Plus
07.Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #1 & #2
08.Teenagers from Outerspace
09.Steam Age
10.Cyberpunk v.3
11.Night City
12.The Memoirs of Auberon of Faerie
13.Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020, first edition
14.Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #3 & #4
15.Bartmoss' Brainware Blowout
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate
Powered by DrivethruRPG