RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 17:57:27

Great system, my group is really loving it. The lethality of the combat really makes each encounter intense and the lifepath system for generating characters isreally fun to use. I would recommend this book to any fan of cyberpunk.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fuzion Core Rules
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 00:56:12

I grew up on these rules. They are rather interesting, and may take some getting used to, and I may be very nostalgic, but I very much loved playing with this rulel set. It will do many modern and sci-fi settings without a hitch, and I believe that there are numerous modular rule sets by fans that make this an excellent starting point for many great campaigns. Look for the rules light version, which I believe is still free, and come get this rule set for $4. It is totally worth it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fuzion Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fuzion Core Rules
by Jeffrey D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 12:22:37

I love the fuzion system. I have worked with it since its inception. I give this only 4 and not a 5 because it is too open ended. You will have to put in some work to make it function in your world but it is very workable. It is a merging of the Hero system used for Champion game and Cyberpunk's Interlock system. The system itself is very well done but it has the shortcomings of the hero system which is how do you deal with purchasing and upgrading equipment. With superheros, purchasing them with experience points makes sense but not in a fantasy or modern genre. Money usually works best unless it is something big. With that said, I have worked with the system in a modern genre and a fantasy realm. It is simple and the play pace is fast and as detailed as you want to make it. These rules are like the foundation for the rules you will you for your campaign. It would be nice if R. Talsorian Games would produce another game using this system like Bubblegum Crisis. Where the rules are more solid on what you can and can not do. So we have more of an example of how to impliment the rule system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020, first edition
by Hunter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2016 12:13:19

Ths book, a collection of CP2020 weapons, is a very useful tool for "Referees" (or GMs) and players alike. The weapons are detailed in CP2020 fashion, statted out and referenced from supplements, sourcebooks, and other materials.


I bought this book because the CP2020 rulebook lacked a lot of the weapons. It had starter weapons, which was good. What I really needed was a plethora of weapons from which I could choose. This book has at least 250 weapons plus one new one, a sinister rifle that anyone wants to try out. ;) It also has an ammunition section for players to purchase their ammunition. You cannot go to the Combat Zone without ammunition, chombatta!


Perfect as a supplementary book to assist Referees and players with PC/NPC creation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020, first edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Hunter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2016 12:01:30

The book comes in the flavor of the 1993 edition with corrections and clarifications as version 2.0. While the book does have some minor errors such as spelling, misplaced numbers or words, the book is a solid rulebook to obtain in softcover. the softcover is pretty strong, durable, and will keep you occupied in the late nights rolling 9 1d10s to figure out your "random" character, pick out your stats by picking specific character points, and/or do the "Fast N' Dirty Expendables" for NPCs, whether they're important or not; perfect for creating your own posergang, boostergang, or chromegang, etc.


I thought the book would be great for roleplaying the Cyberpunk universe and it does. While I am not knowledgeable about the Fright Night Fire Fight system, I am aware that the game does have its own flaws, which comes up with quick remedies you could find by googling. This does not scare me 100%.


What I do like about the rulebook is the fast and hard rules that it comes up with for character creation. The customization of your character, due to the randomness of the core stats, the lifepath, and finding a number of pickup skills (using INT & REF), is not found in any other roleplaying rulebook as far as I know. This would be the most unique rulebook I could find on the 'Net. I'd be glad if a chombatta would prove me wrong but ... not yet. :D


When creating NPCs on the fly, the pages of Night City Encounters could inspire you. There's loads of encounters with people that each player could face when randomizing the encounter by die. This could give you loads of work as most encounters have varying degrees of difficulty, the numbers of people, and affiliatons. Be prepared as a GM to do a lot of NPC creation if you wish to use the Encounter system to keep your PC going. Make sure they're afraid to die, but willing to shed blood in order to survive. After all, Night City isn't too forgiving.


Then there comes a story called "Never Fade Away" in the theme of the Cyberpunk 'verse, which you could theoretically roleplay as Johnny Silverhand and battle the NPCs using the FNFF system to get familiar with the game. It also comes with "advertisements" or "classifieds" asking about jobs, which leads the player(s) on a job, willing to do the dirty work. These are quick-to-play scenarios and may not last you an entire night.


I am very ecstatic about this book and am glad of my purchase. I do not regret buying this rulebook 100% and will continue to support R. Talsorian Games, Inc. by buying up every single PDF and print-on-demand Softcover copy to have on my shelves (as I do collect and keep roleplaying rulebooks, supplements, or sourcebooks for posterity or to play).


For an added bonus on getting the latest weapons, get the Blackhand Street Weapons 2020 1st Ed. book. While it is 48 pages, it has chronicled a lot of the weapons in different categories from the rulebook, the supplements, and the sourcebooks. ;) Great if you don't have them all but could find them in one book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by greg m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2015 12:48:37

This is the first rpg I am aware of to try to capture the "High-tech, Low-life" feel of the literary and film cyberpunk genre, and it wildly succeeded. Of course, the game shows it's age now-a-days, what with some of the setting stuff. Who still uses fax machines? And a lot of the super fancy high tech in the game just looks dated. Wires and cables are everywhere in the game. Computer memory is made out to be a precious commodity. I feel I would be remiss if I didn't mention that kind of thing is all setting flavor and if you want to give the setting a more 2015 flavor of what the future would look like, it's not that difficult to reskin. The other approach would be to run it as a gonzo alternate future that went sideways during the 1990's.
Mechanically, this is a great game. All you need to play is a single d10 and 2d6. Maybe a couple more for some of the really big guns, but I don't think that any of those were in the corebook. There are 9 stats you rolled a d10 each for, and a couple derived stats that used simple math to determine. Figure out your role... You can be a Solo, which is a classic cyber soldier, or a cop, corporate suit, a fixer (think fence,) nomad (Mad Max extras,) reporter, techie, doctor, netrunner (computer hacker) or a rock star! Slap on some shiny chrome parts to your character, get a couple bfg's, and your good to go.
A couple things to be warned about, the netrunning rules take up a good third of the book, so a lot of referee's tended to ban that role or run one as a side npc so as not to use up huge segments of time the other players could be using.
The combat system is this game has a bit of a learning curve, as does any mechanic for any game, but once you get used to it, combat can be resolved quickly, easily, and LETHALLY. Guns kill characters in this game. If they don't kill you outright, chances are the ambulance won't show up in time.
The rule system for this game is really well balanced, and once you get the hang of it, is really intuitive. Some parts of this review may sound blase, but I am trying to give an honest review of all parts of the game; so you get the good with the not-so-good. It really is an excellent game and worthy of a 5 star rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta
by Carlos G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2014 15:39:20

I give it 3 stars, because the system is simple, so everyone could play without problems, the ambience is detail in every aspect even they take care about fuel and size of mechas and spaceship and pilots habilities. if you love series about mechas such as gundam, patlabor, etc. and you want to create your own universe about them, this is perfect.
Although the system and the details are perfect; the pdf is not so great, the scan pages have some white lines, also you can see the page of the other side, and there is no bookmarks that could help you to find quickly some tables or information.


I hope they'll fix these little problems, even if they are making a new version.


However is worth to buy it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castle Falkenstein
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2014 02:40:20

Castle Falkenstein was far ahead of its time when it was released in the 90's and I can't say I would have stumbled on anything remotely like it. Sure, there are dozens of steampunk roleplaying games with orcs and elves but none have the same dedication to atmosphere and making it all work as whole. System and design choces make sense in what the game tries to establish, it's not D&D with guns. Propably the first and still the best best game in steampunk fantasy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Falkenstein
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castle Falkenstein
by Myr G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2014 19:46:43

The pdf content is ok but the pdf format is really too big and can't load on tablets ( such as kindle)
And becaus eof the DRM restriction I couldn't split it into multiple pdf files.


unusable so ... :(



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Pierre S [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2014 17:30:47

Way back in 1982 or so I was moved by the film BLADE RUNNER (which you could call film noir as much as cyberpunk) and the book Neuromancer by William Gibson. The cyberpunk genre is edgy and gripping and can be summed up as, "high-tech, low morals," where heroism is relative and good people may be forced into bad situations.


R. Talsorian Games' first edition CYBERPUNK game (released in 1988) was set in 2013 (!), but the pumped-up second edition set in 2020 (and also alluding to version 2.0) is spelled CYBERPUNK 2.0.2.0. In this .pdf (version 2.01), a lot of errata are corrected, but some of the artwork is from European artists which differs from the first print release.


The basic game mechanic is to roll as high as you can with what we now call an "exploding" or "cascading" d10 roll. For a given task a Difficulty Level is decided upon. Then you take a basic character Stat, add the Skill level in a skill related to that stat, and add a single d10 to see if the total equals or beats that Difficulty. If you roll a 10 on the d10, add 10 to the Stat and Skill but roll again and add that. If you roll another 10, add it to the total and roll yet again until you have anything but a 10. So there's always one chance in 10 of improved rolls, one chance in 100 of much-improved rolls, etc. This adds an appropriate amount of "critical hit" thrills. But getting a roll of 1 is a failure, with a check to be made on the Fumble Table to see if there are further ill-effects.


Generate characters according to 9 futuristic character types called Roles. You not only roll stats but spend a number of points on skills appropriate to the Role, and also follow the Lifepath tables which bring out events which happened to a character -- their back-story, in other words.


The rules-mechanics are supported by a richly-detailed social setting. Society is in decay: gleaming corporate enclaves are next to squalid poverty, although the homeless may be quite well-off, their needs taken care of with technical gear, street-food and rent-a-coffins for sleep. There are extensive listings for technical gear of the near-future, but sometimes they guessed at the future wrong (cellphones are still flip-phones, newspapers are constantly updated and printed in a fax style from the newsbox, and the Soviet Union is still a thing!) The Netrunner character can hack in the Virtual Reality Internet of the future, which is represented on a two-dimensional map-grid as opposed to the "lines and nodes" system of the original edition. The hacker's attempts to break-in to steal data are shown as physical movements, but are opposed by security programs called ICE which resemble horrible fiends online. See if you can get in and out with your brain-cells intact.


A sample adventure and "screamsheets" (10 newsfax articles from the future with short adventure outlines) are also included. This is a massive 250+ page rulebook that solidly covers what you will need for the genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mekton Zeta Tactical Display
by Cody P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2013 13:29:00

First off you get charts and tables for running the game. It's god send to have this product if you want large scale mecha combat or easier mecha construction. Now possible with Mekton The Movie booklet. The targeting computer system that got left out of print version of Mekton Z Plus also makes it to this book. I had the Tactical Display already but it is nice to have the full core rules in PDF for when I am on the go or traveling. There are a few other goodies like short One-shot-Variable-Adventures (OVA) set after Rimfire on Algol and extra combat options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta Tactical Display
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020, first edition
by Jordi F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2013 02:28:14

Good stuff. If you like weapons, of course.


Here you'll find most (if not all) weapons/ammunition from Cyberpunk 2020. Not only the stats, but the description and use as found in every manual ... and in which Book you will find the weapon. It even comes with a compilation of images for said weapons, but not all of them has a corresponding image.


Nothing more nothing less. So if you like weapons, this book is pretty handy.


Also it's well scanned :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020, first edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #1 & #2
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2013 13:01:34

Cyberpunk is all about style and chrome (lots of chrome) so what better for a passing 'punk than a bewildering array of items to shop for?


Everything the well-supplied cyberpunk might need is here: electronics, vehicles, cyberware, weapons, fashion, housing... even 'executive services' whatever they are. It reads (deliberately) like any catalogue you have read, full of advertising speak and illustrations that present the item in the best possible like. As a result most of the book can be used as an in-character resource whenever the characters have some spare eurobucks and time to go shopping.


I quite fancy the Net-Runner Cybermodem Utility Suit (although it's likely my students would laugh at me!), but like so many of the items here it does remind you that the game was written a while ago (the two books combined in this product came out in 1991 and 1992 respectively) and are the 1990s view of what technology would be in the future. We're a bit closer to 2020 now, and I'm sure there will be stuff around then that cannot be imagined now, never mind 20-odd years ago... take for example the 'Mead Electronic Notebook' described as a souped-up lapcomp with 6MB RAM and a 30MB hard drive... my pen drive is far bigger than that!


Never mind, it is a classic of its time, and Cyberpunk is still a fun game to play especially if you are old enough to have played it in the 1990s as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #1 & #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #1 & #2
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2013 20:22:36

Chrome Compilation of Chrome Books 1 and 2, originally published in 1991 and 1992 respectively, wear their era of origin heavily. Chrome Book 1 is especially heavy with nostalgia and unintentional irony with faxes, wired modems and 80s fashion figuring heavily, the weapons and vehicles being a mix of (then) cutting edge modern and attempts at extrapolation. However, some of the cyberware (including the decentralized heart, one of my favorites) and chipware are still solid conceptually and the services section is full of interesting ideas. Chrome Book 2 is better at not being locked into its era of being made, well except for the computers. There are useful things to adapt for any cyberpunk setting including full conversion cyborgs, exotic body-shaping and crazy weapons. Most of the contents of these books are just good fodder for products and things for a near future setting, the rules are a bit more iffy.


Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.


Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofsta-
rsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #3 & #4
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2013 20:20:50

Chrome Compilation (2) of Chrome Books 3 and 4, first published in 1994 and 1996 respectively are more successful in being still felling like things from the potential futures also, no weapons in these books just gear and reference. Book 3 succeeds in being more forward looking even the computers are not so wince inducing, but the sections on full conversion ‘borgs and powered armor both require other books for full rules (Chrome Book 2 and Maximum Metal respectively). But the general tech items, cyberware, cyberpets (enhanced animals), robots and WADs (Working Assistant Droids built off the powered armor rules), are all very evocative and useful. Book 4 is good on cyberware but really shines on biotech, the vehicles are interesting though more illustrations would have been welcome. The fashion section is a little dated but still so much fun to read and has some useful note on clothes and the character. These are the best of the Chrome Book line, benefitting for the experience acquired on the first two and full of valuable inspiration for any cyberpunk styled game.


Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.


Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofsta-
rsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #3 & #4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 79 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG