RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Información de la editorial













Regresar
Otros comentarios dejados por esta editorial:
Tome of Artifacts
por Michael H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 09/13/17 18:21:36

I'd like to start off by saying I'm a huge fan of artifacts so this will be slightly biased towards this book.

What is an artifact within the fantasy universe? It's more than some super cool magic item that can sometimes break the campaign in the wrong hands. A proper artifact to me needs a story behind it; a soul so to speak. Most artifacts I have come across do not have that depth, but this book seeks to rectify that and does so splendidly.

All totalled there is 264 pages chocked full of the artifacts with a class and random artifact creation at the bottom. To be honest I don't know how useful the random artifact creation is or the class, but to focus on those two items would to see a few flecks of silver in a gold mine in my humble opinion. Every one of those artifacts is detailed in a way I absolutely love. Each of them has a rich history linked to their creation and a drawback to owning and using them. There are a variety of artifacts which are a healthy mixture of thoroughly good, indellably evil, and totally neutral artifacts. Each artifact seems to vary in power depending on their background and in a few cases if other pieces of the artifacts or other conditions are met. Each artifact has a way to destroy it if the campaign calls for it to be desroyed (though a few artifacts are repaired instead of destroyed). Finally each artifact has a section on introducing it into the campaign which I appreciate more than anything.

The only thing I don't understand as well as I'd like at this time is the random artifact generator. It's not that its unnecessary or hard to use as much as I said I don't understand it. To me designing an artifact should be deliberate and controlled. I don't like using a random generator for it. That being said even in that I love some of the ideas for some of the unorthidox artifact possibilities.

The only other thing I don't like as well is the class contained within. While it's not bad itself I don't like the concept. But this is just a personal opinion really.

To tell you the truth I can't begin to expound on the myraid of reasons why I love this book. It's one of those books if I could rate higher I would. In the end my question isn't how do I use the artifacts within the books it's more just finding that right campaign to put them in. And boy do I have so many campaigns to plan thanks to this book.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Tome of Artifacts
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

Tome of Horrors Revised
por Carl V. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/25/17 12:34:47

This very large monster book is great if you're looking for quirky 3.5 monsters or if you miss some of the odd 1E and 2E monsters. It has a wealth of unusual low-CR monsters for low-level adventures. Also, daemons, demodands, demons, and devils are well-represented. If you want more traditional, hack-and-slash monsters, you might be disappointed. Instead, this book provides strange monsters that can inspire more creative encounters.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Tome of Horrors Revised
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

Tome of Horrors Revised
por Ismael A. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/08/16 01:06:46

An excellent call back, and wonderfully updated, this tome brings you many creatures and beasts. A testament to this book is its heavy use by Pathfinder in their early days to vary encounters and menace players by including these dastardly foes. If you like monsters, and you play some variant of 3rd edition D&D (including Pathfinder), you owe it to yourself to pick up this book and see all of the interesting and vile creatures within. It is a perfect blend of classic and modern sensibilities, which is something that Necromancer Games is well known for.

5 out of 5 Stars!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Ancient Kingdoms: Mesopotamia
por Customer Name Withheld [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/11/16 15:15:54

Quite the disappointment. I'd heard good things about this as a setting, but it's only 1/4th poorly-edited setting material, with its game rules not power-balanced anywhere near where a sensible or typical 3.5 campaign would be (in my view). One canonically bad edit: the map doesn't contain half the cities described, and half the cities on the map aren't described. Two regions are given random encounter tables - but why? Again, one of them isn't even labeled on the map, although its general vicinity is alluded to in the text. Why those regions and not any of the many others? The book is heinously inconsistent; in just three paragraphs about the legal systems of Mesopotamia it manages to completely contradict itself. Editing matters!

The remaining 3/4ths is an adventure which at least tries to lay out a sandbox. It fails for classical 3e statblock bloat reasons. For example, the nominal homebase gets one page of description. The faction most commonly met there, who presumably will be the source of most social interactions, still has more space allocated to statblocks and combat statistics than description and hooks. The next faction, the Brotherhood of Kalab, gets three pages: half a page of art, a third of a page of description, a quarter-page of adventure hooks, and 2 pages of detailed combat statistics.

Any setting influenced by the real world that doesn't provide a bibliography or suggested readings loses a star in my book, dropping this from POOR to outright BAD. They allude to so many things in their setting, but leave me to start from scratch when I want to better understand the history to bring them into my campaign.



Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
Ancient Kingdoms: Mesopotamia
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

The Lost City of Barakus
por Jesse H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/03/15 02:41:57

Perfect. I tried buying this from Frog God games, received a pdf file that couldn't be opened, then emailed them twice for a refund or replacement. Nothing. Bought this again from a second (forgotten) source only to find that Dropbox and nook couldn't find the chapter pages. How can I run such a finely detailed adventure without being able to quickly flip from page to page? Also, I couldn't select the text to copy the stats for NPCs, monsters, etc... for reference during the encounters. Out of sheer desperation, I bought this YET AGAIN right here. Everything is perfect. I am so relieved and grateful. Hence my positive review. Thank you!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Lost City of Barakus
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

The Mother of All Treasure Tables
por Stephane R. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 12/23/13 01:51:48

My point of view: Where are the rules that have been used to make that pre-tired treasured, I want that rules. I dislike this book but it’s the best pre-tired treasured book than an ever seen.

Bad point: This is absolutely not a treasure table than de tilt of the book says it, that’s pre-tired treasured agreement with description.

Good point: Good treasure with good description, usable in many situations. Classified by -10 po / 50po / 100 / 500 / 1000 / 5000 / 10 000 / 30 000 / 50 000 / 100 000 and + So usable in many moment.



Puntuación:
[2 de 5 estrellas!]
The Mother of All Treasure Tables
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

The Mother of All Encounter Tables
por Stephane R. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 12/23/13 01:36:22

I found this book very useful for my party. Good point for my: This is exactly why we can think of it, big encounter table. Classified by climate and terrain, it is a point of view that I appreciate. That is not classified by levels, why player should always fall on monsters of their levels. I love this idea. The Nonmonster Encounters are a very great idea.

Bad point: The Caravan tables are not ended, my player can barter with a merchant of beer, but for example, the weapons Caravan, we did not know what type of weapons he have.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Mother of All Encounter Tables
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

DM's Library Package
por Larry B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/31/13 09:01:48

Can't believe they still never fixed the "mother of all encounter tables" that I mentioned in my previous review, and even personally emailed them about the errors. They've got various numbering errors. Such as the table that lists a roll as 095-034. Clearly it was supposed to be 095-134. However the next encounter line is 035 and it continues on that way up to the 000. So if you roll anything between 035 and 095 (001-1000) then there are multiple results. Fix/update this. After all this time and multiple notices that this happened, quit ignoring it and fix it, and update it!!!!



Puntuación:
[2 de 5 estrellas!]
DM's Library Package
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

The Crucible of Freya
por Allan M. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 02/09/13 15:20:25

This is an outstanding module, simple and fun to run. The web enhancements make it an even better value (and at $3.50 I feel like I'm a thief!) The PDF is fantastic. Despite earlier comments, I had no issues with the PDF. I use Preview on my mac and all the text is clear and easy to read, even the text in the gray boxes. Don't let earlier comments on the quality of the PDF affect your buying decision. This is a great product and a great PDF!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Crucible of Freya
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

Tome Of Horrors II
por David C. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/23/12 19:54:29

In invaluable gaming resource to have.

Yours sincerely

David Culliford Xandegar’s Adventure Realm Xandegar@gmail.com ABN: 83472476977 https://www.facebook.com/XandegarsAdventureRealm



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Tome Of Horrors II
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

Rappan Athuk Reloaded
por Dave H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/04/12 13:11:43

The Good: Huge, High Production Values, Detailed Descriptions, Deadly.

The Bad: The Appendix with Major NPC's is a pain especially with a huge PDF.

This is a classic Necromancer product with strong writing, deadly encounters and great art. The Orcus focus is great and the difficult encounters are just what you want from Necromancer.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Rappan Athuk Reloaded
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

Rappan Athuk Reloaded
por Blaine S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 10/24/11 22:44:35

This is, without question, one of the finest and deadliest modules of 3rd edition dungeon. You don't explore Rappan Athuk. You survive it! You don't just look for treasure, you look for signs you're still breathing! Reloaded takes what was great about its predecessor, turns on the amp up to 11 and doesn't stop.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Rappan Athuk
por Phillip C. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/05/11 15:19:46

Fun for our party, we integrated it easily into our campaign.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Rappan Athuk
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

Tome of Horrors Revised
por Matthew R. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/05/11 10:56:50

Great book! Any DM needs it. I was happy to find it at Drive Thru RPG for such a great price. Everything considered it is a must have.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Tome of Horrors Revised
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

The Lost City of Barakus
por Max N. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 11/13/10 17:24:52

If you have not heard of this book, you are missing out.

This book contains a huge amount of information on the City above Barakus, and has a very large "sandbox" kind of feel. It does take some GM prep to have a good idea of what happens with which subquests where, but the PCs do not have to anything in "1 true way." I recomend this for starting a new game with new players, as the book is good for describing a new place / culture to PCs.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Lost City of Barakus
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

Mostrando de 1 a 15 (de 75 críticas) Páginas de resultados:  1  2  3  4  5  [Siguiente >>] 
0 artículos
 Los mejores productos
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG