RPGNow.com
Recherche
 Info Editeur













Retour
Autres commentaires laissés par cet éditeur:
Cthulhu Now
par Jim C. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 07/14/2018 20:40:54

Though other campaigns have gone further, this really pioneered the idea of Mythos gaming in the modern day. Forensic Pathology and the adventures still seem worth a look.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Cthulhu Now
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Pickman's Legacy
par Jay K. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 07/11/2018 18:10:29

Despite not being familiar with the original Pickman story, the story for this one-shot was not difficult to follow. Everything was laid out in a clear manner, and made everything easy to follow. The hand outs were neat, and adds a level of immersion.

I would recommend reading through the story a few times to make sure that you know where all the dice rolls are.

Overall I would definitely recommend this one-shot. It has an interesting premise, is neatly organized, and well put together.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Pickman's Legacy
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
par Monica G. [Testeur star] Date Ajoutée: 07/08/2018 10:49:13

Call of Cthulhu is one of the oldest and (in my opinion) best role-playing games out there. It has withstood the test of time, having been around for over 3 decades. Where most games are about heros gaining power and finding treasure, this game is about ordinary people fighting for their lives and sanity against extradimensional monsters. It turns the standard RPG format on its head, making it one of the best role-playing games out there. Based on the writings of H. P. Lovecraft, this game (run by a 'keeper') pits the players (investigators) against the ancient evils of Lovecraft's Cthulhu mythos. The 7th edtion of Call of Cthulhu carries on the tradition of the game, but with some modifications to the rules that we've seen in previous editions.

Though this book is longer than previous editions at over 400 pages, the setting information has been paired down to the 1920s and modern day, leaving out the rules for 1890s-era games that were present in earlier editions. A few other small things are missing, such as a few spells (no Hands of Calubra, for example), and the seminal adventure 'The Haunting', which is available in the 7th edition Quick Start Guide. Call of Cthulhu has been known for making small rule changes in each new edition, but 7th edition brings some rather big changes. Skills such as 'punch' and 'headbutt' have been folded into the 'fight' skill. That's a good thing for a game that's not particularly combat-heavy. As well, players now have the option to 'push' their roles after a bad role to try to eke out a victory with a very high cost for failure. It potentally adds more dice rolling, but it can make for interesting story-telling. Failing a pushed roll while casting a spell, for example, can have horrible consequences--but it can really make the game memorable. As well, players now roll for a level of success based on their percentile in a skill/attribute. The resistance table is now gone, and opposed rolls only need compare successes. This can really streamline game play. Another welcomed change is that of rules for chase sequences, which is something that Call of Cthulhu really needs, given how often characters need to run from horrible monsters. Though these are probably among the biggest mechanical changes to the game in its history, they keep the spirit of the game and add a bit more to it. Not to mention that this edition has lots of alernate rules scattered throughout to be used at the Keeper's discretion.

There is one subtle, but noteworthy addition to the game--it's expanded character creation system. There are now tables of background options that help players flesh out their characters who must deal with a personal history that plays a part in the struggle to maintain their sanity later in the game. Though not a big strict mechanical addition, it impacts gameplay and certainly brings more role-playing to the game. Unfortunately for players, the game has not necessarily gotten any less lethal, so the sting of losing a Call of Cthulhu character (not an uncommon occurence) may just be greater in this new edition.

Overall, this is another great addition to the Call of Cthulhu gaming system. The game still has the same basic feel of the game that's been around for 30 years, but with a system that benefits from some significant updates. It's a great game for veterans and new players alike. We look forward to reviewing more of Chaosium's books for 7th edition Call of Cthulhu.

Read the whoe review at GeeksAGogo.com!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Alone Against the Tide
par Michael F. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 06/18/2018 09:49:17

Alone Against The Tide is my personal favorite outing for solo investigations for Call of Cthulhu. I have played all three of the current products available for 7th: Alone Against The Flames, Alone Against The Dark, and this one.

This investigation represents a nice mid-range experience that feels meatier than Flames, yet not as daunting as Dark. It includes classic Call of Cthulhu investigative aspects, use of a broad range of skills, and some harrowing decisions. I played through my first time as a private investigator, and that seemed like the ideal profession for the nature of the story and the skill requirements. Yet, I felt like other archetypes could be successful and I will select new professions on subsequent playthroughs. There is a nice mix of professional and social skills used in the investigation.

Choose Your Own Adventure-style games like this one benefit from branching pathways and this investigation does it in three ways. First, there are entries that you will go to that will give you multiple different choices that you can investigate as thoroughly as you would like and the order doesn't matter. Then, there are “limited-time” choices in which the available time that your Investigator has prevents you from investigating all choices. Finally, there are entries that truly take the story in different directions and may not allow you to return. Tide has a good combination of all of these staples of Choose Your Own Adventure CoC.

The top positive for me is that the author strikes a nice balance of challenge and player agency. Hardcore classic Call of Cthulhu investigations tend to be “one mistake and you die with no chance of saving yourself, ha ha, you fool!” Gygaxian roleplaying. I felt this way about Dark, which is disconcerting because the cost of failure for Dark is extreme, in my opinion. Many players like this and that is fine for them. However, the other side of this coin, from a Keeper perspective, is that choice should drive roleplaying to some extent. This author employs an entry style whereby the player does not automatically reach an end with no choice or chance to deviate/escape. This was my big criticism of Alone Against The Dark and it is thankfully more judiciously attenuated to here. Granted, it is always a challenge to write to a broad audience of gamer styles, but I think this author has successfully accomplished that!

My only suggestion for improvement would be consideration of the extent to which the beginning of an investigation such as this should have some “useful recommended skills.” I can see both sides of the argument. On one hand, suggesting skills might suppress creativity of character creation. On the other hand, Call of Cthulhu investigators normally have a party of multiple people that allows for skills to complement each other. Building characters for solo investigations can be slightly different than building characters for a party. Veteran players will automatically go to the Holy Trifecta of Call of Cthulhu skills (Library Use, Spot Hidden/Listen, and a social skill). One of those is not used at all. Newer players may benefit from some suggestions. I think it is worth noting that there is a segment of the role-playing hobby that does not have access to groups to play with and so I think it is useful for solo investigations such as this to work to help those players get started.

All in all, the Miskatonic Repository is allowing fans to produce great content for each other and this is no exception. I found the suggested price to be well worth it.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Alone Against the Tide
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

The Idol of Thoth
par Customer Name Withheld [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 06/01/2018 06:16:23

A great scenario for an evening of great CoC entertainment. It is especially good for introducing new players and/or having a new GM for running the game.This could easily fit into a 4 hour window, which is great for running at a convention. It is well written and well thought out. I hope the creator makes more. On a side note, the creator also has a live play podcast called How We Roll, which is an excellent source for CoC and D&D game listening pleasure.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
The Idol of Thoth
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Legs
par Haydn B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/30/2018 02:20:18

I ran this lil scenario when it was available on their site. It's a good bit of fun, and hey the price is right



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legs
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Masks of Nyarlathotep
par T. D. S. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/19/2018 10:29:46

I agree that in many ways this classic adventure is somewhat atypical, especially when compared with the investigation heacy Tatters of the King. Lots of monsters, lots of action, lots of mortal danger. But, consider adapting it to the recent Pulp Cthulhu supplement. This far flinging adventure, that has you taking down a friggin rocket being built by evil mad-genius cultists in a volcano as a climax, is a perfect match in theme and content for Pulp Cthulhu. Personally, I upped the timeline to coincide with the 1934 eclipse, and juiced up a few encounters here and there, but it is pretty much ready to roll as a pulpy adventure.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Masks of Nyarlathotep
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

The Idol of Thoth
par Hector M. G. G. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/11/2018 02:46:43

Great scenario. Full of useful tips and advices for GMs. The story is great, lots of investigation oportunities, closed enough to be pretty straight forward but with plenty of moments for improvisation or to even add more research moments, false clues and so if you want a longer game. I haven't finished it yet (just finished the first of two sessions), so I don't really know how the end is going to go, but for now my investigators have no clue of what's going on. They have a lot of clues with no apparent connection and are about to get some action and revelation moments. It's going to be great. On the bad side, there are a few mistakes in the texts, like NPCs changing last names, almost word by word duplicated text on consecutive paragraphs and such. It may need revision. But it doesn't affect the scenario at all, it's just editing mistakes. This is going to be a scenario I'll run several times with different groups, I'm sure of that.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
The Idol of Thoth
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Alone Against the Flames
par Chris G. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/04/2018 14:28:03

Alone Against the Flames was fantastic! I absolutely love the format. I highly recommend it. A great introduction to Call of Cthulu. I loved the small village setting- very characterful.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Alone Against the Flames
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
par Chris G. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/21/2018 07:08:54

I have always had a passing interest in Call of Cthulu. As someone who had gotten away from RPG's years ago in favor of tabletop wargames, I had always overlooked it in favor of something else. Then I stumbled upon Seth Skorkowski's reviews on YouTube and my interest was piqued. When I found out I could download the Quick- Start rules for free just to give them a try, I didn't have any excuses. So far , my son and I have created a couple of characters and are working out way through the game dynamics and I have to say I'm hooked! I'll be placing an order soon (probably for Pulp Cthulu first). Great job on the rules- they're excellent!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

The Idol of Thoth
par Felix A. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/18/2018 08:10:30

Perfect to kick off a new campaign. I changed it to happen in Vienna and it was a great way to establish the PCs and NPCs they know. One of the PCs is an acquaintance of Sigmund Freud now for example. Also the low violence/mythos/magic was great. I feel like too often authors put in too much supernatural or violent stuff, and it just takes away the tension when you have to fight a dark young every session. It it was probably better than at least half the official scenarios I've read in the last two years.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
The Idol of Thoth
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Down Darker Trails
par Todd C. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/03/2018 21:44:43

Wonderful resource for my weird wild west game. Eventhough we are using FATE rules, this is an amazing resource of top quality. i didnt need it, but I bought the hardcover book also and it is beautiful. Top notch product.

My only negative comment is that I dont see work being done on more cases. I've bought all of the ones it suggests to convert, but I'd love more.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Down Darker Trails
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

An Invitation in Yellow
par Sarah B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/01/2018 22:33:11

I ran my first Call of Cthulhu game with this! I've been playing CoC for about a year now but wanted to introduce it to some of my friends via a one shot and this was the perfect solution! It had just enough clues and information to set them in the right direction without being too railroady and overly specific allowing me to customize it to my players. The map and handouts were VERY helpful as I was able to show them to the players and let them get the feel of the game and have materials to refference. Highly reccomend!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
An Invitation in Yellow
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Réponse de l’éditeur :
Hi Sarah. Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you and your friends enjoyed "An Invitation in Yellow". Kind regards, Patrick
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
par Monica G. [Testeur star] Date Ajoutée: 03/31/2018 23:27:28

The classic role-playing game Call of Cthulhu is one of the greatest of its kind. Where in many games, you play a powerful character fighting monsters for treasure, in this game you are a vulnerable human fighting for your life and sanity. Based on the writings of H. P. Lovecraft, you must investigate and stop dark occult forces before they destroy you or drive you insane. This Quick-Start guide is a great introduction to the game. It features the classic adventure 'The Haunting', which Chaosium has included with the core rules for decades, making it a standard first-adventure for generations of players. The only downside to the compact quick-start guide is that it's a bit too small to fit in any detailed information about the 1920s. As game master (or 'keeper') you will need to know a bit about the 1920s to run the game. Your characters will likely get hurt, want to pay bribes, or buy weapons to fight the horrors they encounter. You'll have to know what technology is available at the time and for what prices, so do a little research online before running the game. Better yet, if you want an emersive experience, pick up Chaosium's Investigator's companion. It really comes in handy in any Call of Cthulhu 20s-era game. As well, the adventure gives you some hooks to keep the game going--if your players survive. I recommend picking up the full rules and some of adventure books. They are amazing, and some include amazingly elaborate handouts and setting-specific details. This scenario is a great introduction, but the game goes much deeper, and gets much scarier.

Get our full rankings for this book at Geeks A Gogo.com!



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

13th Age Glorantha
par Andrew M. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/06/2018 23:34:22

A terrific addition to Gloranthan gaming. I have done a comprehensive review here;

https://andrewloganmontgomery.blogspot.jp/2018/03/13th-age-glorantha-review.html



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
13th Age Glorantha
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Affichage 1 de 15 (sur 281 critiques) Pages de Résultats:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Prochain >>] 
0 article
 Derniers Produits
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG