RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Cthulhu by Gaslight
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2012 02:57:53
I’ve always felt that Call of Cthulhu works best in two possible eras: 1930′s and the 1890′s. Chaosium’s latest edition of Cthulhu by Gaslight is a gem of a setting sourcebook that I feel a lot of publishers could learn from. The detail provided gives a strong and accurate look at a given culture and atmosphere of an era, while injecting enough of the horror and wonder of the CoC brand to make it a must-buy for anyone who likes the era. There’s enough information on this book to make it worth getting even if you’re not running CoC, as it presents reference information that can fuel pretty much any Victorian Era Game as well.

---

This is an excerpt of a full review. To read the entire review, kindly visit the article on my blog at: http://philgamer.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/review-cthulhu-by--
gaslight-3rd-edition/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu by Gaslight
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cthulhu by Gaslight
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2012 14:14:30
I'm really happy to see that Chaosium have fixed this PDF so that it is now truly sublime, gorgeous and without display errors (I originally gave a harsh review which I now humbly and gratefully retract). Since it is mainly grey scaled it will also be more printer-friendly than other ebooks/PDFs.
The gaming content more than lives up to the title (although I recommend that long time Call of Cthulhu fans read the other reviews here regarding exact comparisons to the previous Cthulhu by Gaslight edition).
I particularly like the literary tie-ins with books of the period (including a Martian invasion!) The handouts and maps are perfect as well as the good looking character sheets.
Also Chaosium have now added an uber-useful map of London - which I believe is a "pull-out" in the printed version.
Great job. Very yummy.
Be careful in those dangerous foggy streets...

Billiam B.
bit.ly/rpgblog

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cthulhu by Gaslight
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/02/2012 09:09:47
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2012/04/02/tabletop-review-cthulhu-
-by-gaslight-third-edition-call-of-cthulhu/

When Chaosium sent me Cthulhu By Gaslight, Third Edition to review, the first thing I did was go to my bookshelf and pull down my second edition version from 1988 along with 1993′s Sacraments of Evil, the follow up supplement so that I could do some comparison and contrast. After all, it’s been twenty-four years between editions. I have a lot of fondness for Victorian Cthulhu as the campaign I ran my senior year of college used Gaslight and it still remains a particular favorite campaign of my friends I gamed with over a decade ago (I’m old, you see). Hell, old PC Brian Chumley, the 44 year old Barrister, had his character sheet tucked in the back of Gaslight still.

It makes sense to re-release Gaslight as 2011 saw the 30th Anniversary Edition of Call of Cthulhu. It’s always had a strong cult following and as a quarter of a century has passed since its last update, it was a smart choice to re-release this. However, this third edition is so fundamentally different from first and second edition that an attempt to compare or just cover “what’s new” would be insulting to all three editions. Third Edition has a completely different layout and is a much longer book. The original adventure, “The Yorkshire Horrors” is gone completely from the current edition and in its place are two new adventures: “The Night of the Jackals” and “The Burnt Man.” Third Edition is also a far more thorough affair. Second Edition was only 128 pages – forty-four pages of which were the adventures. Third Edition is 196 pages, fifty pages of which are for the two adventures. So Third Edition has a lot more content, twice the number of adventures and a LOT more detail. Now there is some carryover of William Barton’s original text from the previous two editions, but there’s a ton of new stuff too. I was really impressed by everything in this latest Edition and I was also intrigued by what was left out and/or changed. Either book will also pair wonderfully with Cubicle 7′s Cthulhu Britannica line for a comprehensive campaign set in the United Kingdom. Whichever you go with, you’re in for a book that is both a great gaming resource, as well as a fun read. Now, let’s take a look at each of the four sections in this latest incarnation of Cthulhu by Gaslight and let you know what you’re in for.

I. Victorian Characters

The first thing we are presented with is character creation. Now you’re probably wondering why they include rule for making a character in Cthulhu by Gaslight when the core rulebook would have this already. Well, it’s not to make this a stand-alone rulebook. It’s actually to show off some slightly new rules for character creation. Most of the rules are subtle but potential game changers. You can know put your stat rolls in any order –as long as it’s the right type of role. So your 3D6+3 rolls can go in STR, CON, POW, DEX and APP in whatever order you want. Same with the 2d6+6 rolls. The game has also modified age-related stat changes, The game originally had you lose one point of STR, CON, DEX or APP at age 50 and then every ten years of character age thereafter. This game now has this start at 40! This is a bit intense, but remember, Victorian England had shorter life spans than we now do in the 21st century. Characters also gain 1 point of EDU at 30 and then every ten years thereafter so things are balanced out – especially when you consider that point of EDU also comes with 20 skill points. Middle aged doesn’t sound so bad after all.

The game now offers Traits. These are similar to Merits and Flaws from the White Wolf Storyteller line. It’s an optional piece and it’s oddly done in several ways. First it’s optional, but if you agree to roll, you don’t have to take your result. As well, the Keeper can bribe a player to keep a negative result with 3D20 extra skill points. I don’t get any of this. First, It’s good role-playing if you end up with a negative trait. You shouldn’t have to bribe anyone to flesh out their character. Secondly, this is just going to reinforce a munchkin/power gamer attitude with the extra skill points, which is the exact opposite of the type of gamer that should be playing Call of Cthulhu in the first place. Finally, if Chaosium was worried that people wouldn’t accept their results on an optional random chart, why not create more balanced traits. Say something that gives both a positive and negative? Maybe even let gamers pick from a balanced list instead of randomizing it. It gets even weirder when you use a d6 AND a d20 to roll on the chart, You don’t add the rolls together. Instead you just look at what the separate numbers give you. So for example a roll of 6, 14 gives you “Unseen Property” where your character inherits land from someone they don’t know or have never seen. Said land, be it a building, home, business or whatever is probably going to come into play as a storyline too. Don’t get me wrong; I think the chart is neat and there are some neat ideas here. It’s just Chaosium seems all over the place with the Traits and almost afraid of implementing it. That makes sense as this is the newest rules change to the system in man, twenty plus years. Still a little tweaking in a few spots would have made that a lot smoother. That said, I know I’ll be implementing it in any CoC games I run from now on, just to see what people get and how they use them.

The rest of the chapter contains professions appropriate for the era, along with tables and lists of weapons, clothing, Victorian era terminology and more. Pretty much everything in this first chapter is exactly what I wanted.

2. The Victorian World

This chapter is primarily flavour for the Keeper. You have timelines, a history of Victorian England, a list of British colonies, a brief commentary on the rest of Eurasia and what they were like at the time, and then a list of famous and/or noteworthy people from the era. The rest of the chapter is a look on England proper, started with a detailed look at London, followed by various region of Britain. It even has a paragraph in this section of varying accents, which I loved. You get a very detailed look at the government, crime, forms of travel, publications and anything. It’s extremely well done and this section alone is worth picking up the book for as you can easily use it for other games/systems set in Victorian England. If you want rules for coach chases, information about a specific hotel or criminal slang for characters to use if they ever get incarcerated by the bobbies, this is for you.

3. Strange Britain

I absolutely adore this chapter as once again, it can easily be adapted to any setting or system that takes place in Victorian England. The chapter starts off with a look at various occult societies from the era like the Theosophical Society and the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn and t6hen it moves into things like Spiritualism. You also get a Fortean timeline, which was a brilliant idea. The chapter then moves onto to a list of spooky or ominous locations. You then get a listing of Cthulhu Mythos stories that take place in the United Kingdom and stats for things not found in the core rulebook. This chapter even gives you stats for famous fictional characters from the time period like Count Dracula & Phileas Fogg ! How cool is that? For those that are saddened by the excise of the Holmesian content from the first two editions – at least you have their stat blocks intact in this version. Strange Britain concludes itself with a NPC listing and some tips on how to run a successful Victorian campaign and/or adventure. Incredibly done from beginning to end.

4. Gaslight Adventures

This final section of Cthulhu By Gaslight contains two adventures. One,”The Night of the Jackals” is meant to be an introductory adventure while the second, “The Burnt Man,” is meant to be for more experienced players. I’m glad they gave us two adventures, both of which are new, as it means I can own this and the second edition version of Gaslight and not feel like I’ve paid for the same book twice.

“Night of the Jackals” is an exceptionally well done adventure. It’s a murder mystery that involves a bit of the supernatural, only a subtle hint of the larger Cthulhu Mythos and a good deal of what was typical of Victorian occultism. In other words, a lot of Egyptian lore and artifacts. It’s a slow burn adventure that is designed to help one get a feel for both the system and the era. It’s perfectly balanced and the adventure can easily be run by keepers both new to Call of Cthulhu and long time vets alike.

“The Burnt Man” is an equally awesome adventure. It takes the old English faerie legends and turns them on their head Cthulhu style. This adventure also features a very subtle nod to the creatues of Lovecraftia – at least until the climax where the investigators get a full, in your face, experience with a Dark Young in a dramatic chase scene of all things. The crux of the adventure revolves around a evil old man who pissed on the Little Folk. His widow believes their home is now haunted and hires the players to discover why and how his ghost is still there. Of course, nothing is what it seems and the entire adventure is so full of twists and turns the players won’t know what to expect. Simply wonderful.

The chapter the ends with a few aides for players and Keepers alike. It gives a list of quality fiction from the Victorian Era to read, followed by books about the time period. It even gives a list of excellent Cthulhu Mythos fiction set in Britain to read. It ends with a list of other RPG systems that could easily make use of the info in this book, ranging from Masque of the Red Death (A Ravenloft offshoot) to Vampire: The Masqueade. Awesome. This is something more companies should do.

All in all, Cthulhu By Gaslight, Third Edition is easily the best Role Playing campaign book I’ve read this year. It’s amazingly well done and reminds me why I wish Chaosium would print as much as it used to in the 1990s. That being said, I can’t recommend the PDF as it was released with a massive series of errors. The PDF itself is readable but almost all the art and a good deal of the handouts are missing. There is simply blank space or an empty frame where these should be. As Chaosium PDfs are way overpriced compared to their contemporaries, I’d definitely suggest spend the eight dollars extra to get the good version of the book. I’m sure the PDF will be fixed eventually, but right now the missing art and handouts makes the PDF a shadow of the actual softcover version. Once that’s fixed, I’ll definitely recommend that with as much praise as the physical copy, but Chaosium takes a long time to fix their pdfs (if they ever do…), so keep this in mind if you’re thinking of going digital with this one.

Even though the PDF is a bit bungled, Cthulhu by Gaslight is definitely a book any Call of Cthulhu or Victorian England fan should pick up, even if they are nopt going to play an adventure and/or campaign in this setting. The book is so exceptionally done and the wealth of informative is so tremendous that this is going to be a hard book to top in 2012. Cthulhu By Gaslight is a wonderful example of how to make a near perfect RPG book. Anyone thinking about make a supplement, campaign setting, or core rulebook should read this and take notes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cthulhu by Gaslight
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/01/2012 18:25:15
I love Victorian era games. They are my favorite actually. Cthulhu by Gaslight has always been one of those rare hard to find treasures. Whether or not you play it as a gothic game, a period horror game, a darkly inspired Sherlock Holmes meets Dracula game, or as a Call of Cthulhu game there is something here for all sorts of horror game fans. It is the chocolate peanut butter cup of horror games; two great tastes that taste great together.

The book is divided up in terms of creating your Victorian age character, the Victorian world, Strange Britain, Gaslight Adventures and an a very nice Appendix on Victorian literature and some handouts.

The Victorian Age Character chapter is typical of a Call of Cthulhu game. Skills and professions are discussed. Some familiarity with Call of Cthulhu is helpful here since this book assumes you have a copy of Call of Cthulhu. Te times assumed here are 1890 to 1900. No discussion on Victorian Age characters is complete, or really can even begin without a discussion on social class, which we get during character occupations. This section is expanded over the 2nd Edition with inclusion of common terms from the age.

The Victorian World covers the world of the British Empire including it's place in the world, a time line of important dates and biographies of important people from the time. My favorite part is the locations in and around London. This chapter is well researched and great for any Victorian era RPG.

Strange Britain is a great overview of the occult scene in Britain in the 1890s. Lodges, Fortean events, and a gazetteer of strange sites in the British isles. All of these are great for all sorts of games. The Cthulhu mythos portion comes later and has some new ideas for old monsters, both mythos monsters and classic ones from the British Isles. The chapter continues with some fictional characters from the time. Though one might want to figure out how some authors can appear with their fiction creations. My favorite part though is the Martian Invasion. H.G. Wells meets H. P. Lovecraft. Some Victorian adventure campaigns are then discussed.

Gaslight Adventures helps Keepers (Game Masters) with some ready to run adventures; "Night of the Jackals" and "The Burnt Man".

The Appendix is full of great information about various sources of information on Victorian England, Sherlock Holmes, Jack the Ripper and Britain in general. Though if I have a quibble it is that the sources are a bit dated, nothing for example from the last few years.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rubble & Ruin
by Ernie C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2012 07:54:12
Interesting, but if you're looking for that next Gamma World or Aftermath, keep going. Has potential with some added work however as the Chaosium system leaves it open to work with in limitless ways.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rubble & Ruin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Basic Creatures
by Erik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2012 12:51:56
I don't know where to start. I got this product to get a basic bestiary with fantasy creatures I could use in a BRP fantasy game. First I found that this book is basically a reprint of the Runequest bestiary. None of the content are adapted for the new BRP book all creatures for example have their Moves listed as per the optional Strike Rank system for example.

The thing that bugs me the most are that a lot of the creatures are already available in the BRP book except for some classic icons like the Broo. And a lot of the creatures already listed have different stats forcing you to make the choice of which to use.

If the book had been reworked and updated to fall in line with the new BRP system the rating would have been a lot higher. A lot of the information is not much use and could be lifted out of the book completely without hurting the material. Instead it's still there taking up unnecessary space.

The book is not completely useless but you have to do some work for each creature you are gonna use and depending on what optional rules you are using. But if you are tight on money the money is better spend elsewhere.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Creatures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Queensguard
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/19/2012 23:35:43
If you are looking for either a diversion from your regular Cthuhlu chronicle, or interested in a small, self-contain campaign, then Queensguard is the right title for you. Queensguard takes place in an alternate America, one in which the British Monarchy, having lost Europe has transferred the seat of power to Manhattan. Around them are a swirl of Norse raiders, the war with the Central Asian Empire rages and there appears to be dissent and madness even in those meant to be the closest advisors to the Crown.
The two new societies introduced are the Philosophers and the Queensguard. The first are a scholarly order, responsible for many of the steampunk themed inventions of this age, from airships and electric carriages to augmented goggles and alchemical fire. The second are the Queen’s personal guard who are a blend of bodyguard, elite military unit and national police force. Both orders are given enough treatment to make characters drawn from either to be playable and interesting.

The overview of the Kingdom of America, character creation, new magic and descriptions of the orders take in only twenty-seven pages and it is an incredibly compact, yet satisfying section. The remainder of the book (fifty-five pages) is given to a two-part module-style story. The running time asks for around four hours per module (for eight hours total), but I’d be keen to see this tested as I believe that it would be easy to drawn this out to double the length with imaginative players. In either case, it offers a good length of play experience and an interesting (albeit sparsely developed) campaign setting. If you did intend to pursue a longer-running story arc, the Keeper would need to invest some time to further develop the setting.

My main criticism was that the elements I’d associate with steampunk weren’t immediately apparent in the book. To me it felt like a blend of 19th century technology with magic, but lacked the same feel I get from Deadlands, or Iron Kingdoms. It almost seemed as though the word was used to give the product a genre and nothing else. That said, a Keeper familiar with the genre would be able to narrate the setting as they saw fit and make things a little more industrialised, smoke filled and mechanical – with that touch of magic thrown in for good measure.

The module is well-written and would be an enjoyable experience to run as Keeper, but does require some preparation. There is some solid advice in the ‘Contingency’ sections (in case the players make choices that aren’t explicitly covered) and also notes on scaling to be found in the end of the book.

Queensguard, whilst not living up to my expectation of steampunk Cthuhlu, is still a good read and the module would play enjoyably. I could honestly see this as an alternate Cthuhlu experience that you’d be tempted to revisit (and write your own material for) every now and again – and in that it succeeds admirably as an imaginative RPG title.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Queensguard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Miskatonic U. Graduate Kit
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2012 19:14:14
This is (or was when I downloaded it) a scanned copy of the print version of this fun product. I enjoy it but it could be greatly improved by an actual conversion to the PDF format.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic U. Graduate Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
1920s Investigator's Companion
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/26/2011 05:40:02
When running Cthuhlu, I have a firm desire to stick predominantly with the Victorian age. Foggy London back alleys, dark cults and secret societies hiding under a veneer of respectability all call strongly to my sensibilities.

The '1920's Investigator's Companion', though, has gone a long way to making me think about alternate timelines to run the game in. Written in the usual informative style and peppered with 'authentic' images, the book does a great job of evoking a sense of another time. The sidebars are just as useful and stand out to give the Keeper a bit of extra flavour when designing their game, or running a set module from this time period.


The book is divided into four sections:

Part One provides a historical overview of the 'Roaring '20's' and notes about most of the major occurrences of the decade. The game information really comes to the fore in Part Two, which describes specific occupations, extra rules and some pointers for playing a character in the 1920's. Part Three, which provides and overview of the technology, science and culture of the time is my favourite part of any Cthulhu book - and this one doesn't disappoint. The section on research tools was especially illuminating and there are plenty of prime examples which an enterprising Keeper can use to bring disparate information resources to the attention of the investigators. Whilst the further notes on transportation, general equipment and weapons were interesting, it was the former section with held my attention. It would be a good counterpoint to modern games where information is usually seen as a ubiquitous, highly accessible resource - in Cthuhlu, the secrets should be a little harder to find and put together (although we know the price of doing so).
Part Four is a must-read for any player, presenting a range of tips and advice for playing an investigator. There are hints on effective questioning techniques, licensing, using force and firearms, and an overview of the state of forensic science in 1920 (which is a great read by itself).

In all, this is a brilliant book and up to the standards I expect from Chaosium. Cthuhlu has been running for a couple of decades now, and with sourcebooks like this is isn't hard to see why. I'd recommend this for the shelf of all Cthuhlu Keepers.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1920s Investigator's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Val-du-Loup
by Viktor G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2011 15:51:50
Well, I really can't fault anything on this site - everything works flawlessly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Val-du-Loup
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
H.P. Lovecraft's Dunwich
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2011 13:07:55
My favorite RPG is Call of Cthulhu. This supplement gives the GM amazing background to run the players through one of most interesting cities of Lovecraft's New England. While I still love the older version of CoC, the d20 version is a great way to get players, including younger players, introduced to a unique RPG. Dunwich should be part of anyone's CoC game. Even if you don not play CoC, but love to read Lovecraft or play other games, you should pick this up. Gives you nice atmosphere!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
H.P. Lovecraft's Dunwich
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rubble & Ruin
by Mark N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2011 08:56:40
Oh dear, this does try to capture the feel of its inspirations - films such as A Boy and His Dog, Mad Max, etc - but really...

The layout is terrible. I had a bad feeling when the page marked 'contents' was entirely blank. There are sections that appear in odd places, including a section for character generation that appears in the index. Did anyone proof read this?

The art ranges from quite acceptable to the really awful - the latter being some of the character sketches that look like they were culled from an old character sheet.

The content is at best weak. There are a few additional skills, although I don't plan on making use of the rules for use of farming skills any time soon. There are stats for robots which were simply too brief.

It all could and should have been so much better. As an example of a simple premise done well you only have to go as far as AFMBE. Ignoring the (excellent) rules, you get ideas for survivors and the worlds they live in, background discussions of the gentre and fiction - all of which makes me want to dive straight in.

Chaosium has got some excellent monographs. I'm a big fan of their Dark Ages line. R&R was based on fiction from the 1980's. It really does feel like an rpg product from that time too.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Rubble & Ruin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Basic Creatures
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2011 02:21:09
This product was extremely underwhelming in such a way that makes me regret purchasing it at all. I suppose the name is true, but it's more creatures than it is monsters. If I'm buying a BRP book focusing on fantasy and such, shouldn't it have iconic creatures like goblins? As it is, I'd say that the base BRP book has a better and more useful supply of creatures.

Additionally, having monsters and animals separated would probably have been a good idea.

All in all, I don't recommend this book.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Creatures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outpost 19
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2011 15:17:36
Outpost 19 is an updating of the original Worlds of Wonder setting "Future World" (which can be found here
http://basicrps.narod.ru/index-wow.html). At the time it was called "a poor-man's Traveller" by review Rick Swan in his "The Complete Guide to Role-Playing Games", but many people saw the incredible similarities to the Stargate film and television series (you travel world to world through gates as starship travel takes many years). In the update, despite the protections taken in the original setting where no gate would ever link to the core worlds, somehow one did and unleased a nanotechnological plague. Mankind has abandoned the core worlds and living in a ring of worlds now cut off from old earth. The gate workers became wardens and clamped down on technology, explorating and discover has come to a near-stop. On Outpost 19, some of that nano-plague exists, and you have to stop it. An interesting update and a difficult adventure with the promise of more in the fracture rim of humanity.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Outpost 19
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ripples From Carcosa
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2011 06:43:28
Long before I met Oscar Rios at I-CON, I was a fan of his work. The very first monograph I purchased was Ripples from Carcosa, and Oscar's prolific writing positions him at the forefront of the latest generation of Call of Cthulhu authors. Ripples from Carcosa is awesome. The Roman and Dark Ages scenarios are really evocative.

ADVENTUS REGIS

I pulled out all the stops for this adventure: cardboard props, music from Requiem for a Dream, chocolate coins, Mega Miniatures’ Town Folk (I used them in groups of eight) and liberal use of my Battle Box from Fiery Dragon Productions. Did I mention I love my Battle Box?

I didn’t tell the players that this was a Call of Cthulhu adventure, but it didn’t take long for them to become completely freaked out. I should point out that this adventure is fairly disturbing, which helped put our PCs in some moral quandaries. As my brother is fond of putting it, “this is SO Resident Evil.”

I tried a bunch of different writing styles with this story hour. There are references to several of Campbell’s King in Yellow stories (specifically, what happens to Cal and Kham). The descriptions of the byakhee are straight from Lovecraft’s “The Festival.” And of course, there are the verses from Blish’s “More Light” version of the play. It’s a bit difficult to understand what’s going on without the context of the play itself. After all, this adventure kicks off a horrible inevitability—the birth of the King in Yellow, a play that drives to madness all who witness it.

The end fight was a tough battle, but perfectly balanced…a rarity. Fortunately, they did not take on the Avatar of Has--I mean the Unspeakable One. But then, any day when you can put down two byakhee (two very large, advanced byakhee) is a good day indeed.

HERALD OF THE YELLOW KING

This adventure was originally created for Call of Cthulhu, so it's always an interesting exercise in converting it over to a D20 system. For one, Call of Cthulhu has plenty of combat (at least as much if not more so than Dungeons & Dragons), but doesn't deal with any details. So when insane villagers attack, they're just assumed to attack from nowhere. When the monster fights the PCs on a bridge, you have no idea how wide the bridge is, etc. To rectify this, I built the various villages from the ground up with paper miniatures. This helped tremendously, especially in the first encounter.

What's so refreshing about Call of Cthulhu adventures is that they're not afraid of putting characters into dire moral quandaries, often with no means of getting out of it. There is no "right" choice in many cases.

I did a lot to beef up this module for a party of 4th through 7th-level characters. Wolves became winter wolves, villagers became 2nd-level commoners with the maniac template (from D20 Modern), and the Spawnling of Hastur became a Chuul (which nearly ate the entire party).

Isolated, with almost no healing magic, no means of reequipping themselves, and alone in the wilderness, we learned very quickly that our party isn't just bad in dungeons--they can barely survive in the wilderness. With a relentless snowstorm dogging their every step, in a frozen land where losing your horse can be a death sentence, the party suddenly realized why it's so important to have a warm fire and a roof over your head. In that regard, I think the adventure was definitely a success.

HEIR TO CARCOSA

This scenario is innovative and reminiscent of Stephen King's It. I plan to play it when we shift the campaign to D20 Future.

That said, Ripples from Carcosa is in dire need of an edit, and the artwork is uneven, but that's standard for monographs.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ripples From Carcosa
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 166 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG