RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Into the Mines of Moira: An Adventure for 5th Edition
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2017 07:23:32

Skirmisher always produce high quality products and this is no exception. I\'m delighted that they have embraced 5e Dungeons and Dragons as one of the systems they produce for.

Into the Mines of Moira is a light-hearted, high-action adventure in an unusual but familiar dungeon-style setting. The first thing that strikes you is the quality of the art; the illustrations, both colour and black and white, are exceptional and the map is clear and easily understood. There\'s even the potential to develop the area further if one so wished, due to its open ended nature. The story itself has some great comedic moments and yet also provides a serious challenge to players. Set in the iconic Swords of Kos Campaign Seeing, the adventure can very easily be slipped into anywhere with minimal change. To say more would be to give too much away but there is plenty of material here for any GM to make use of, the pregens inthe appendix are a particular highlight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Mines of Moira: An Adventure for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fire Rooster (A Monster for 5th Edition)
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2017 18:09:59

I like this relatively low powered monster, as an interesting creature that could be used in anumber of ways. Its not-necessarily hostile nature also means it could be more of a role-playing encounter than a lot of monsters, and its firey nature means it could become valuable or sought after.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fire Rooster (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Graveyard
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2016 23:48:55

I am seriously enjoying the "100 Oddities" series from Skirmisher. Random little things that add flair and a sense of presence to the locale in question, the Oddities are as much fun to read through as they are to put into action. Snatch up the pages and in seconds you'll be outfitting your local cemetery with things that your players can fixate on - whether they are of true import to the goals at hand or not. These can each be fleshed out into plot seeds, hooks, or red herrings at your leisure.

As long as Skirmisher keeps putting these out, I'm going to keep buying them. They serve so many purposes when designing a setting, and beyond that, you could simply take a random item from within these pages and craft a scenario around it with ease.

Don't miss out! Grab some creepy graveyard artifacts!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Graveyard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Wizard's Library
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2016 23:40:48

As always, Skirmisher hits a homer with this one. Another in their "Oddities" series, this supplement details strange items that might be found by a party, whether adventuring, casualy visiting, or looting. It can also be used for the establishment of hooks, for a general feel of the place, or as that memoable little bit of flair that leaves your party reminiscing about the trip for years to come.

Each of the Oddities has just enough description to give a feel for it, but little enough that the GM/Referee/DM/whatever can give it its own personality.

For less than a penny apiece, you can't go wrong with the flashes of insight assembled here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Wizard's Library
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Krampus (A Monster for 5th Edition)
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2016 11:24:35

This is a fun little write-up that actually takes D&D cosmology into account. I think that makes this version of Krampus even easier to use. Do yourself a favor. Pick up this pdf and through some silver (or maybe even gold) to Skirmisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Krampus (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Wizard's Tower
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:33:45

The oddities section is a great playing aid, providing mundane to minimal powered items that add character and intrrigue to a rooms. The rooms and entrance/exit sections I did not find as useful. If my players are in a wizard's tower, I generally have designed that tower and am not looking for a random mix of elements.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Wizard's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Krampusnacht: Night of the Krampus! (BASH)
by Wilfredo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2016 19:42:48

Night of the Krampus! is a Xmas-themed adventure for the Basic Action Super Heroes role-playing game. As the title suggests, the players must face Krampus, Santa Claus' opposite number. Not so obvious is that you must play superhero children. This does not mean that the game is intended for kids, though it certainly can be played with them. The game also allows it be played with the original characters, even adult ones, though those might have a harder time because Krampus has the power to corrupt adults.

All of this might sound cheesy, and it is- but Xmas stories like this are an old tradition for superheroes in comics and cartoons. Also, despite a few silly moments (like fighting a giant christmas turkey) the story is surprisingly dark: all of the children, for example, are orphans; even the super-villain kids who work for Krampus make you feel bad for them because of their origins. Also, adults get turned into monsters, children are endangered and put in chains, and Krampus' plan goes beyond punishing naugthy children- something very bad will happen if the heroes don't stop it!

The story is short and simple, yet enjoyable. If played right you get to be a kid who gains superpowers during Xmas (from Santa Claus) and must then save the world! Ironically, the Jolly Old Elf himself is missing from the story. He shows up to deliver the powers and is never seen again. There isn't even a character sheet for him. Now I understand he was only a plot device, but you know many players would have wanted to interact with him, especially children. Not to mention that the question of "So why does Santa let a bunch of novice kids handle something so serious?" is left hanging.

The art is cartoony, which helps the impression that this a goofy adventure. On the other hand it diminishes the scare factor as well. I feel it did a good job describing the characters, although for some reason there are no illustrations of Krampus' super-children to go with their character sheets.

Rules-wise, I was a bit puzzled by certain details in the character sheets. For example, I don't feel Red Shift really needs the Instant Change Advantage for her shape-shifting powers, while Terryn does. And many characters did not have matching sets of Advantages vs Disadvantages. But this is nit-picking; the game is perfectly playable as it is.

Overall, Krampusnacht is both a nice superhero and Xmas adventure; good Narrators might even make it better by goading their players into helping their "evil" counterparts overcome their loyalty to Krampus rather than just beat them up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Krampusnacht: Night of the Krampus! (BASH)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Krampusnacht: Night of the Krampus! (BASH)
by BENJAMIN N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 18:03:44

Krampus is coming this Christmas to the children of the St. Nicholas Orphanage, and these forgotten kids will not be dreaming of sugar plums and opening presents in the morning: they will be busy trying to save the world from a hellish fate.

Krampusnacht: Night of the Krampus! is a nightmarish, holiday adventure featuring 5 protagonist heroes, aged 10-16, given super power gifts from a being that may have been Santa Claus (but not necessarily so, if you find that too silly) and must use their newfound abilities to fight an unholy, supernatural creature and its helpers.

If you’ve seen the movie Krampus (and why wouldn’t you?), you’d know how creepy this demonic entity can be? Sure the artwork for this product looks a little campy and cartoonish, but don’t let that detract from what is otherwise a quite crafty adventure.

The adventure takes place over three acts. Act 1, “Have You been Good Little Boys & Girls?”, sets the stage for the story with a visit from St. Nick and gifts for the children. This is the fun bit where players get to do a lot of roleplaying amongst themselves, the other children and the various adults (including the jolly gift-bearer, himself). It is also the point where the weirdness begins to unfold and their young characters ultimately find that they must use their Christmas ‘gifts’ to save the other children.

I won’t go into too many details as I don’t want to spoil the fun but Act 2, “It’s Krampusnacht, Tonight!”, dials up the badness level when the players encounter and confront the Kinder (Krampus’ little helpers, children like themselves with their own unique gifts) in their neighbourhood and first meet the Krampus itself.

Act 3, “Krampusnachtocalypse!”, is the final showdown between the heroes and Krampus. If they succeed, then all is well for another year: but if they fail…

The Bad:

  • The art for this adventure is cartoonish and might unfortunately turn off a few buyers.
  • It’s a Christmas-themed adventure which will probably dissuade some from purchasing what usually turns out to be half-inspired scenarios meant to fill the holiday season with related tropes.
  • If you haven’t seen the Krampus movie then you are probably like me and rolled eyes at the idea of a Christmas ‘demon’. Seriously, a demonic nemesis to good old St. Nick? Please…
  • Super children. You play super-powered children fighting a lame Christmas demon… Okay, I’ll stop there. You probably catch the drift.

The Good:

  • The art. Yes, it is cartoonish, but its actually quite nice. If this were an adventure for Monsters and Other Childish Things (a very serious horror game, aimed at adults playing child heroes) then it would fit very nicely. Sure Storn Cook, Jon Gibbons, or some other artist could have turned out some seriously cool, superhero-worthy artwork for Krampusnacht: Night of the Krampus!, but that would have been expensive and Skirmisher Game Development Group would never have made even half of their investment back. As it is, William T. Thrasher made some character images that are quite interesting. He shows us each of the five heroes both in, and out of, costumed identities (among other things in the adventure).
  • Ages. The heroes are allowed to define the age range of their heroes across a 4-5 year span (10-16 years). They can be the older children at the orphanage, dealing with teen issues, or young kids struggling with the awkward tween, transition stage of life, where they are not quite children and not yet the cool teenagers they’d like to be.
  • A campaign starting point. Whether or not you want to include an actual Santa Claus in your game, this adventure provides an interesting origin story, campaign launching framework for young heroes within a supernatural theme. There is a lot of potential for superhero adventures set outside of the usual mutants and four-color genres. You have a flame-based character that can transform into an insubstantial, smoke form; a four-legged, centaur warrior; a rock-bodied, earth controller; a tough, regenerator with the ability to radiate a damage field; and, a shape changer with a red-coloured, give-away tag. All characters are built around the 25-point, Street-Level campaign scale (some a couple of points over, others a couple under).
  • The Kinder (! Spoiler alert !). These young villains make interesting, possibly recurring, opponents for the heroes for an ongoing campaign. Darklord, Gargoyle, Grim and Tween Wolf are villains characters on par with the hero’s super abilities. They are presented with both motivations and a “Greatest Fear” that adds some interesting colour to their character.
  • Ritual magic (! Spoiler alert !). Krampas is not just a big bad boss character for the heroes to beat; he is a supernatural creature that intends to use some heavy magic that could dramatically change things on Earth, forever (depending on how well the heroes succeed). The ritual spell being used is a great example of an Extended Check in action. It puts the heroes under the gun when trying to end this villain’s diabolical plan and makes a great, exciting climax for the adventure.

Overall, Krampusnacht: Night of the Krampus! is a worthy super hero adventure, that just happens to use Christmas-themed elements. There are plenty of advice offerings to use this adventure differently (as part of an existing campaign, or to even dissect and re-skin for use in new ways).

Do yourself a favour and pick it up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Krampusnacht: Night of the Krampus! (BASH)
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2016 18:00:19

Krampusnacht: Knight of the Krampus is a fun little adventure. It starts off a bit light but as the story progressess it gets quite deadly. It is designed to use in 3 acts (sessions) but can easily be modified other types of Gaming Nights. The art fits the feel of the product and the production values are quite good, something that is normal for Skirmisher Publishing.

A fun little product that can bring a bit of the bizarre to the holiday season. Well worth picking up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Wasteland
by Wilfredo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2016 19:34:56

This is my first experience with the "Oddities" series, and it was interesting and informative. For those not familiar with the concept, these books provide random lists of objects that could be found during a role-playing game, depending on the genre- a Post-Apocalyptic campaign, in this case. Note that the cause of the disaster is up to the Game Master- it can be anything from nuclear war to the zombie apocalypse; the ideas included here could be adapted for any of those.

Because that is what the "oddities" are, actually- ideas. Everything from simple "well, that's unusual" to "geez, I wish I'd met the person who left this behind (or maybe not)." On their own, the Oddities are not much; just a way to fill the time as characters travel the wasteland to whatever their goal is. But they're very creative. I cannot truly explain how without giving the twists away, so take my word for it. By they way, don't let the intentionally cartoony art style fool you- some of the examples included can be creepy.

I only had two problems with the book, and to be honest they are more biases of mine. First is that I don't like random generation; I prefer thematic lists that help me find exactly what I need. The other is the format; each description alternates between "black text on grey" and "black text on white". I get that this is meant to help tell the oddities apart, but honestly, a simple line would have been better.

But as I said, those are personal biases that most people are not likely to share. Most Game Masters playing in a postapocalyptic setting who need quick ideas will find this most useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Wasteland
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Wasteland
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2016 18:56:14

There is nothing worse than having the group wander off in a direction you weren't set up for. Quick thinking will help, but sometimes you need something more. This product provides that. The idea behind 100 Oddities for a Wasteland is to provide a myriad of different things someone can stumble upon. The random nature of the product means that you can roll or simply choose the object your characters come upon. The item can be used as the start to a new adventure or a simple red-herring meant to kill some time.

While this is specifically geared toward sci-fi/modern wastelands much of it could be used in a Steampunk setting as well with a little imagination.

Well worth the price...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quantum Flux: Unique Superscience Artifacts
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2016 19:10:45

This product is an interesting mix. While all the items listed inside are in the vein of the famous Arthur C Clarke quote about magic, the power levels are varied by quite a bit.

There are several items that could very well be the beginning of a campaign because of how strongly they would affect the surrounding area out to a considerable distance. These need to be handled carefully and not dropped into a campaign on a whim as they will change the world when they are fuilly revealed Some are weaker, but still powerful enough to start a story arc as they would easily hold sway over the area of a large city. These are season long stories begging to be told, if you view the game from a tv series metaphor, as they can easily change the balance of power in their areas. Finally some are weird but lower powered. In my experience these are the items you hand out to stir the pot or discover just what sort of trouble the players will get into with them. These are the items that will see the most play in a game, as they arent a plot point, they arent a goal, or a dues ex machina, but they weirdness that makes post apocalypse gaming different from sci-fi or fantasy. The mutant running around with the weird animal totem item that she doesnt understand but still uses will always be more memorable than a flat mechanical bonus item.

My complaint with this is not content based, but layout. All the items are listed alphabetically, so a trinket is next to the train of doom. This doesnt work for me, as I see several distinct power levels and would have prefered to see them listed by that. That way when im looking to do world building I could just look up the most powerful items, but if Im doing long term planning I could look at the middle group, or look at the weakest when it comes to game session prep. All in all, good ideas that are jumbled up, which gets distracting for me



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quantum Flux: Unique Superscience Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2016 10:39:17

Swords of Kos Fantasy Campain setting is a great compilation of the entire Kos line. It takes what has been created before and puts it into a single comprehensive tome. It saves the reader the frustration of flipping between different files in search of information.

Everything is presented in a clean manner that makes reading easy. It is comprehensive enough to flesh out large portions of a world. Even better is that there is still enough room left for groups to create their own additions with ease.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of Kos (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2016 12:31:42

Worlds of Kos is a great product. It contains a well writen overview of Kos from a 'higher' persepctive. It touches on thigns such as the religion and creatures of the region as well as different illicit orgaizations and clothing styles. Worlds of Kos begins with excellent maps of the region and ends with a detailed timeline. Although some of the information in Worlds of Kos has been presented previously it is nice to have these pieces of it in one place. There is also a wealth of new information that works to bind everything together.

I especially like how well presented the sections on commerce and the military are. It is nice to see such potentially difficult topics handled in a detailed, yet flexible manner.

Worlds of Kos is a great addition to any fantasy game whether they are playing in the presented setting or only using it as a potential mine of ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Kos (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #52: Nanotech Undead
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2016 00:29:36

Wasteland horrors and zombies are always a favorite but here in Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #52: Nanotech Undead we get a boat load of monster options and weirdness for the Mutant Future rpg. But is the issue worth getting? Yes but there are some interesting give and take things here in the wastelands. My sweet spot for post apocalyptic rpg's has always been Gamma World first & second edition, the games were and are some of my favorite systems & rpg's. They form a good part of my next phase of gaming in my life. The thing about Gamma World was its flexibility, the apocalypse could be anything from a zombie plague to a full blown holocaust of Biblical proportions with little bits of everything in between. Everyone I knew mixed in everything from Logan's Run to Night of the Living Dead. In case you don't know;"Gamma World is a science fantasy role-playing game, originally designed by James M. Ward and Gary Jaquet, and first published by TSR in 1978. It borrowed heavily from Ward's earlier product, Metamorphosis Alpha."

So I was thrilled to see Mutant Future a retroclone of old school post apocalyptic rpgs from Goblinoid games was available but like its originator the DM has to do a lot of the heavy lifting when it comes to developing the background, setting material, adventures, etc. Which is fine because there's some great licensed products out there to help fill in the gaps such as Skirmisher Publishing's Wisdom From the Wastelands and other fine source books to help fill in the gap. Now Skirmisher Publishing has come out with Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #52: Nanotech Undead. Basically this is Skirmisher's undead & zombie source book for their version of the Mutant Future setting. The book is really nicely done at twenty nine pages for three dollars, I do wish it had an index because this issue is slightly bigger then normal issues. The undead rules are very well done and there is a vast array of undead to keep your players busy but once again we've got the same issue that I've had with Skirmisher Publishing in the past. None of the content of this book is OGL. They used public domain sources such as Wiki for the artwork and interior art work modified but none of the sweet Mutant Future content from Chris Van Deelen or the Skirmisher crew is 'open game content'. This has been a huge thorn in my side with about ninety nine percent of their publications going back to Skirmisher Publishing's issue #1 of Wisdom From Wasteland. For me as a blogger & writer I understand their stance upon their trademark and copyright but its God damn frustrating too. Skirmisher Publishing makes some of the best content for Mutant Future out there but I wouldn't touch it with a ten foot radioactive pole. Without the OGL open game content label I can't publish or use these great monsters in an adventure or scenario for Mutant Future without the risk of legal action. This is something I'm not willing to do. See that's one of the reasons why its important for companies to use and produce 'open game content' it lets other writers and companies continue the OSR momentum while at the same time putting money in the coffers of companies. Because of the success of properties like Walking Dead, the Night of the Living Dead films, World War Z, and so many numerous video games,etc. zombies and thousands of variations are in circulation. This is because of a lapse in copyright & trade mark of the original Night of the Living Dead. The fact is that this another example of companies raiding the public domain without fueling the content to continue the creativity at the expense of future projects that could benefit the whole Mutant Future community. But is Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #52 undead necessary or needed? Well in fact not at all. Labyrinth Lord and The Labyrinth Lord Advanced Companion both provide lots of undead and a zombie template that can be used with Mutant Future with little modification and some numbers crunching. What Issue #52 of WFW does is provide a whole host of zombie and undead nanite animated goodness. The rules cover the entire gammit of zombification and the various types of Mutant Future undead. There are over a dozen varieties and sub types across the board in Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #52. The pdf is worth getting for the support of the monsters and zombies alone but this book covers the whole range of wasteland horrors. Do I think that Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #52: Nanotech Undead is worth getting? Yes I do especially for Mutant Future and other OGL players but is this product for me? Probably not because I've got this end of the wasteland covered.

Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want to see more then please subscribe to see more reviews and support for this system and other OSR as well old school rpg system right over at http://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #52: Nanotech Undead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 302 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG