RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Swords of Kos: Necropolis
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2016 08:28:46

Love the art, love the subject matter. Greek mythology has always fascinated me and Michael writes with such authority and detail I almost forgot I was reading a work of fiction. The locations involved are so accurately described, it would be easy for any GM to recreate the setting for their own adventures. Great stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords of Kos: Necropolis
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Nuisances: Director's Cut
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2016 08:24:05

Too busy laughing to write a sensible review, buy it you won't be disappointed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nuisances: Director's Cut
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2016 08:19:04

Love this product, love the cover art too. I love this concept, I really like the changing 'battlefield' mechanic - highest card and lowest card wins is fun but what to play when second highest wins... lots of fun bluffing.


I thought the rules were relatively straightforward but after reading other reviews suggest checking out the Cards and Quests YouTube videos to anyone who wants to see how the game is played. "D-Inifinit plays Cards and Quests" is a whole adventure and very funny it is too.


I also have the Cards and Quests Bestiary and recommend you get that too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cards & Quests Bestiary 1: Monsters of Kos
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2016 07:47:13

Delighted with this product. I have the Cards and Quests rules, which I heartily recommend you check out too.


You can never really have enough monsters in your bestiality and this book does a great job of providing you with new and classic encounters of all power levels. I like the chart at the beginning, in particular, which gives you a feel for the challenge rating as is prevalent in other RPGs such as D&D. With Skirmisher you are always guaranteed a quality product at a reasonable price and this is no exception. I can easily see myself using these monsters in other games even when I am not playing Cards and Quests. Excellent purchase, well done all involved.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests Bestiary 1: Monsters of Kos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2016 19:18:29

Game looks good, but is there character sheets? There was suppose to be some I guess but I can not find them in the book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Wizard's Tower
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2016 21:36:38

Another win by the lads at Skirmisher. This is the second "100 Oddities" supplement I have had the pleasure of looking through. I loved their "100 Oddities for a Graveyard" entry and the Wizard's Tower is no less detailed and useful for GMs. With this book you don't just get the 100 entries for strange things and situations the players may stumble on. You also get additional d20 and d12 tables to help you build the structure, flavour and feel of the Tower. This could be used to help create a careful, pre-planned adventure or used on the fly as a type of "tower randomizer".


The entries on all of the tables included in this book are colourful and have enough detail for plenty of adventure hooks or just cool random bits that can add to any scenario. Some entries are darkly humorous, others frightening and some just plain weird or disturbing. Perfect!


Check all of these GMing gems by Skirmisher out, they are well worth it and very reasonably priced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Wizard's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
by Brendan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 01:30:16

A simple and satisfying to play game that uses a neat alternative to rolling dice.


Using cards means players have the option of succeeding when it counts. The battle mechanics introduce a fun meta-mechanic where the players are trying to bluff the GM and guess what they have in their hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
by Jeff H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2015 06:04:04

Admittedly, I am a harsh critic. If I am presented with a sloppy product, I won't even finish reading it (no matter how good the material might otherwise be). I didn’t finish reading Cards & Quests.


I don't trust authors who can't spell, allowing too many typos, and who use "insure" when they mean "ensure." If a writer can’t edit his work, he shouldn't sell it.


The introduction explains that you are playing a fantasy RPG, but it does nothing to orient you to the setting, nothing to explain the kinds of characters available. Nevertheless, immediately after the short intro, you leap right into character creation. It's like creating a character in a vacuum. It's a stark experience and utterly uninspiring.


Then you're told you need a character sheet. I have flipped through this PDF backward and forward. I can’t find one character sheet. And there’s no index at the back of the document. An index would have been super nice.


Without a character sheet, I scoffed and exited out of my PDF of Cards & Quests. I am insulted by the product. I consider it ten bucks down the toilet.


Oh, and by the way, if you're new to roleplaying games, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. You won't have any idea what's going on. It is apparently written for experienced gamers only. Would have been nice of the author to let us know beforehand.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Graveyard
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2015 19:04:49

The 100 Oddities series by Skirmisher are a great resource for GMs. Having looked through the "100 Oddities for a Graveyard" I was really impressed with the concept and the content. Being new to sitting in the Games Master chair, resources like this are a real treat. When you are trying to just stay on track with telling a compelling story for players and master a rules system at the same time, well written supplements that do some of the heavy lifting in the area of adventure hooks, impromptu situations and spontaneity are always welcome. The 100 Oddities series does not disappoint. The fact they are not tied to a specific set of rules make them easily adapted to any material you may be working with. Taken as an inspirational source they can give you some cool ideas to build full scenarios from, and with 100 entries for each of these gems, you won't run short any time soon. For GMs who are a little more comfortable with improv, a roll on a d100 gives you a random situation which could add some flavour and unexpected results. These also aren't restricted to the setting they are named for. with a few small changes, a graveyard becomes a post apocalyptic ruin, etc. Another good product from these folks. Recommended, five stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Graveyard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Graveyard
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2015 09:06:27

You’re walking through a cemetery… Why? Why the heck are you walking through a cemetery in a roleplaying game?!? Nothing good is going to come of that even if you trust your GM, but this book has hooks and seeds galore to make it interesting.


Whether you are looking for a plot after the death of a PC?NPC or a random encounter for your group, this book will give you loads of ideas and questions as to how your PCs live their live that they are walking through a Graveyard!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Graveyard
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2015 12:15:15

100 Oddities for a Graveyard From Skirmisher Publishing is a great ten page pdf of adventure location and adventure setting dressing for your adventures. This book is system agnostic and will fit just about any game system and this is a good pdf to acquire for both modern and old school systems. But is it actually useful for the gaming table? Well let's dive into this book.Basically 100 Oddities for a Graveyard is a series of random d100 charts that can add interesting game adventure elements to an adventure location. This enables with a toss of the dice a DM to add in a whole evening's encounters for a game.
Graveyards have always been the domain of horror films and survival horror adventures, but this book gives a ton of interesting side bits to sneak into an adventure. This includes the exploding dice principle rule -
One final thing: Oddities for a Graveyard employs a dice rolling sub-system often referred to as “Exploding
Dice.” In this sub-system, a die that rolls the maximum value possible [i.e. a 6 on a d6] is rolled again, and the new value is added to the previous total. This continues until a value other than the maximum is rolled. So, you might roll a d8 and get 8, then roll again, get another 8, and then, on a third roll, get a 3. You would then stop and total the results, in this case a 19 [8+8+3].
When we are referring to an exploding die roll, you will see a lower case “x” after the die notation, as in
“d10x.”
With some of the encounters this adds an element of weirdness and some horror to some of the results. But on the whole the book provides a whole host of adventure elements that can change up a rather mundane romp through a grave yard location. An example of what you'll find in this book includes the following:
"An arch of stone creating a portal over the head of a grave. Directly over the top of the arch,
the stones frame a circular hole. Local legend recounts varying tales of what happens when someone stands on the grave and gazes upon the moon or sun through the hole over the arch; stories of mystical portals, visitors from other realms, glimpses of the future or the past, or a departed love one are but a few."
The graveyard isn't usually the first adventure location that leaps to a DM's mind but this book basically provides all of the weirdness that you want to be inserted right into the back end of their campaigns with little issue. For a dollar this is a pretty solid investment for any new or old school gaming system. William Thresher's artwork adds a sense of whimsy and weirdness to the book. Don't let my comment fool you there's enough here to keep even a group of Call of Cthulhu investigators guessing at least for a night or two. This is one of the places that this book excels at keeping adventure encounters moving so that you can get to the heart and soul of your grave yard adventure location. There are other places that 100 Oddities for a Graveyard could be used.
Personally, I'd use this book with a mix of post apocalyptic and straight up dark fantasy, many of the encounters and ideas in 100 Oddities for a Graveyard lend themselves to a mix of games. For me this would be a mix of Mutant Future and Labyrinth Lord Advanced. The PC's stumbling onto a post apocalyptic graveyard adventure location could easily support the material in this ten page pdf. With a toss of the dice a DM could dress different parts of an adventure location quite easily. This book can add a sense of the epic and weird to a simple romp through a grave yard. Seriously there's some great encounters to unleash on players and their PC's. Do I think that its worth the download price? Yes I do indeed! Many of the encounters sound like they'd be perfect to add into a Phantasm movie like campaign.The idea of outdoor crawling among the grave stones is pretty appealing for a post apocalyptic or more modern survival horror style of game. A sprinkling of undead, ghosts, or your favorite post apocalyptic horrors and your ready to go. There's more then enough of an adventure construction and encounter kit to outfit a gang of adventurer's with a mini campaign or two. The adventure elements are well done in such a way that you can take this book as a simple stepping stone or a fully realized night of dungeon crawling through a cemetery.
Eric Fabiaschi
Sword and Stitchery Blog
Want to see more reviews and OSR material like how to use books like this one?
Subscribe right over here
http://swords-
andstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Graveyard
by Ilya Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2015 20:17:38

Love the 100 Oddities series. Those PDFs provide just what you need. It works great for a lazy DM like me when you have all the plot in mind, but need some tiny details to make it feel real. Looking forward for "100 Oddities" in other settings!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Jester Dragon's Random Brothel Generator
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2015 17:04:39

Great little generator. 8 pages of content, ranging from brothel name / specialty lists to Signature move and prostitute background generators. A surprising amount of content contained within this little packet. I was expecting just a few words attached to some d100 lists but this goes greatly into detail, telling you practically every detail you could want to know about the brothel. Easy to concoct hooks for places or to insert a brothel some PC has unexpectedly decided to visit.


Definitely a product I would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Jester Dragon's Random Brothel Generator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Little Orc Wars: Human Troopers (Cardstock CharactersTM)
by Giorgio G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2015 05:11:38

The same review for orcs. Good minis, good price. A great old school drawing. A good deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Little Orc Wars: Human Troopers (Cardstock CharactersTM)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Little Orc Wars: Orc Raiders (Cardstock CharactersTM)
by Giorgio G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2015 05:08:31

Good minis, good price. 5 cardboard standups ( Cardstock Characters ), which is easily converted into paper minis, in three colors. The colored drawing is very reminiscent of an old ( good ) school.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Little Orc Wars: Orc Raiders (Cardstock CharactersTM)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 274 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG