RPGNow.com
Find Category













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
100 Oddities for a Viking Encounter
by tom o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 21:43:40

I enjoy the lists, allowing for random encounters or allowing you to build off any or all of them. Good product and I will be puting it to use in my campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Viking Encounter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Viking Encounter
by Heath F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 08:10:12

Skirmisher Publishing present another solid piece of DM/GM resource! "100 Oddities for a Viking Encounter" is their tenth in the series and delivers more good (and fun!) content than it's predecessors! In fact, it includes an extra 50 oddities! And whose game doesn't need a good Viking encounter or three??



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Live 3rd Edition Companion Suite
by William T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 22:06:58

It's hard to go wrong with a 100+ page latin Necronomicon PDF. That's what first caught my attention in the CL3 Companion Suite, which is a nifty grab bag of resources for Keepers looking to run Cthulhu Mythos LARPs. There is a litte bit of everything, from printable props like the Necronomicon, to several LARP scripts, pre-made characters, and other thins to make the Keeper's job essier. Several of the scripts, like "Preacher Man" and "The Auction" were originally published for Cthulhu Live 2nd Edition, but Skirmisher took the time to update them for the current 3rd Edition, and the scripts alone make the Companion Suite a worthwhile purchase. I know from my own experience that writing a solid Cthulhu Mythos LARP script can take some time, so haveing 10 ready to go is a real time saver, especially if your running a LARP track at a convention. The pre-writen investigators are useful as a generic resource as they contain little in the way of character background, but hacing stats for a medical doctor or police detective ready to go makes planning a LARP at the last minute esier. Overall, I'm glad I purchase the Suite, and I'll likely be running at least one of these scripts sometime in the next two mounths.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Live 3rd Edition Companion Suite
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Viking Encounter
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 20:31:52

Fantastic product, worthy brother to the previous ones by Skirmisher. Art is superb. Was not expecting places and people as well so that was a nice surprise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Viking Encounter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Viking Encounter
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 18:53:24

Anotherr great supplement and addition to the 100 Oddities series by Skirmisher. I really loved a lot of the content in this entry, being quite taken with Viking mythology. There are suggestions for themed encounters which can be cherry picked or randomly rolled using the d100 mechanic. There are also good suggestions for flavour which can be worked into any ongoing fantasy campaign/adventure with a little tweaking depending on rules system prefernces. A lot of the offerings are really good idea generators; I especially love the crone's pie warming on a window sill.

As with all of the 100 Oddities series, you are getting a lot of good material in a very compact and reasonably priced product. Well done Skirmisher :) Keep them coming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2017 15:24:54

Skirmisher is right on with their "100 Oddities" series, and this one is up there with the others. Each of the items has just enough information to allow a game referee (whatever nomenclature you use) to drop a hook on. The oddites presented can be used as simple window dressing, advising your players of the kinds of things they encounter along a path, or developed in its own right to become subquests or possibly even items of some power.

For the minute amount charged for the product, the value is astounding. Pick an Oddity and have a go at it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Adventures in Wonderland: A Sourcebook for OGL Roleplaying Games
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2017 10:47:49

I enjoyed Adventures in Wonderland a Lot! The whimsical illustrations of Arthur Rackham pair well with the treatment of the material, which provides you with everything yiou need to introduce your party to the Magical World of Wonderland! I especially liked the Template for "Wonderland Animal" and the Card Person Description and Statblock!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Wonderland: A Sourcebook for OGL Roleplaying Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 23:40:06

I really enjoy these as seeds for full adventures or side-quests, especially given the additional roles determining the ture nature of a piece of treasure. You can throw gems and coin at your players, but giving them options, or tempting them into a trap by a statue that might possess them, a chest that might lead to another plane, or a target being put on their heads for just having the loot in their bag, I love that kind of color added to a dungeon delve. As usual, really fun art that also leads to some ideas and a barfing whale....



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 08:08:33

Another superb entry into the oddity series. The usual creative smorgesbord is here with ideas aplenty. Legend checks add a layer of extra depth, giving lore and plot hooks to some extra special items. I think my favourite is 31, a golden Idol with a very familiar sounding name. At the back of the list are some tables to generate random coinage which I particularly like.

Buy it! It's dirt cheap but worth its weight in gold.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Wilfredo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 20:32:37

You might think: another one of these? Aren't treasure lists a dime a dozen? Ah, but Skirmisher's are more than just a collection of coins and items. They provide plot hooks- intended to give the GM ideas for events within the game.

This particular Oddities book offers more possibilities than ever. That's because some of the d100 results require further rolls for description- meaning you have more than a hundred possible oddities! Add to it the new Legend Check feature- which gives specific rather than generic story backgrounds to certain items on a succesful spell or skill check- and you could build a campaign on the findings of your treasure hoards alone!

Also included is a Coin Generator that allows GMs to create unique coin types for his or her setting if desired.

As usual, the book is whimsically yet exactingly illustrated by William. T. Trasher.

Overall, 100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard is probably the most useful volume in the series yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 20:26:06

Another great entry in the 100 Oddities series. The ever sought after treasure hoard and loot is too often treated as a casual tally or inventory list that is handed out after a challenge is completed or a monster defeated. This GM supplement turns a treasure room into a series of potential plot hooks, dangers or just "odd" gems to entertain and engage players. Counting coins and valuables was never quite so strange... Recommended along with all the other Oddities supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
by Loke v. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 14:52:51

This was a given purchase for me as soon as I laid eyes on it; it's weird, it's creepy, it's got mansions, everything! I wasn't disappointed having read through it either, I don't think there's been a single one of them I've seen without going "Huh, what if...?" or "This could fit in really well riiiiight here...". They are, you might say, the seeds of plot hooks; they're lying there, being all mysterious and begging for a storyline to reel people into. You have to put in a little bit of work as GM to able to use them as story tools, but (for me, at least) they make that work so much easier. Well worth the $1 or $2 price tag, and I would still feel I'd gotten my money's worth even if they were a dollar more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Ford F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 10:56:21

The players have found the treasure! Or have they? This supplement is an invaluable tool for any GM in any game. Rewards come with a price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 22:02:24

As with the other "100 Oddities..." titles, this product is designed to help GM's create more unique encounters. "100 Oddities for a Treasure Horde" is chock full of great items. Items that are much more than just a pile of coins and a handful of gemstones. This product is great for GM's in a hurry or need a special item in a pinch. This lets the GM create fun treasure hordes, great or small, that are as interesting as the players.

Another great set of random tables from Skirmisher Publishing and well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
by Nicholas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 18:59:42

The Good: Flavor and stats for a few creatures and NPCs which is always good if it means I don't have to make them myself!

Some of the entries are really pretty unique. I especially like the Brown Dragon addition to the Chromatic Dragons. I'd go so far as to say that this is all you needed if you were simply looking to run a historical campaign based around Ethiopia!

Over all not too terribly priced, but in any case I bought it on sale.

The Bad: While I understand that according to myth they are accurate, but certain monsters seemed just silly like the Unipod or whatever, just kind of absurd.

On another note, there were one or two copies of creatures that are already a part of the Monster Manuals and Volo's Guide

Even further, some entries specifically state to use the appropriate Monster Manual entry! Lacking in content to truly call itseld a source 'book'.

Conclusion: Totally worth it if you can buy it on sale, but I wouldn't pay more than a 5 spot to be honest. 4 stars because of the price I payed really.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 342 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG