RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Aegean Regional Map (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2014 19:23:44

If your into the old school Swords of Kos sword and sorcery setting then this one is really a no brainer. This map shows in great detail the world of the campaign and allows a DM to see as well as design their own adventures using the whole cloth of Kos as fodder. This is not our Earth but an alternative world with its own distinctive flavor drawn from the mythology and legends that the designers have come up with.
Kos has plenty of room for a DM to customize and stake out who, what, where they wish to stake out in their own campaign. Everything is laid out in very nice detail within the cartography of Kos and shows all of the locals that the Kos line of products has produced. There's a nice distinctiveness with this map and its a really nice little piece of artistic fluff that allows a DM to pitch their own campaigns within the confines and use this map as both a campaign resource and as a palette to set down their own old world mythological adventures in one sold product.
Maps such as this one can also serve a higher purpose as both a hand out and as reference to give credence to the DM's vision for his or her own campaign. There are several things that I really like about this map. One the colors are not exploding off of the page but reflect Kos's Agean grounding. Second thing is the level of detail is just enough to explain but not over state campaign bits and pieces. The third thing is that there's plenty of room for customization and just enough places to fit a plethora of adventures across the area. Not too bad of a piece of artwork that actually has real world gaming applications.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aegean Regional Map (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #46: High-Tech Weapons 4
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 09:33:07

Now this is exactly the type of Wisdom From The Wastelands that I love to see done from whole cloth. An issue chalk full of the weird and wonderful weaponry that makes Mutant Future a lovely classic retroclone system. This is the type of issue that you can sink your teeth into as DM, plenty of military cutting edge madness to pepper your old school post apocalyptic campaigns with and tempt your mutant adventurers with as well arm your NPCs to the teeth.
But really that the obvious use for this sort of high tech military madness that comes from this issue. Other uses are to equip your high tech robots, androids, drones, etc and let them loose upon the wastelands. This is exactly the sort of use that these systems were designed for and as the real world edges towards full 'Robotic War' these are the sort of semi weird systems that will be appearing.More often with the Wisdom From The Wasteland issues there are all kinds of applications for an issue such as this one.
NPCs behind several of these weapons systems can make for entire mini campaign goals into themselves. The idea of weapon designers and arms super scientists as bargaining chips as well as resources with the post apocalyptic bounds of adventures have become a reality because of the cybernetics of Mutant Future. This issue has a plethora of seemingly cutting edge super science that can easily shift the entire balance of a campaign within the wastelands making this and the other issues of the High Tech weapons series a must have for any waste land DM. All in all I really love this issue and this series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #46: High-Tech Weapons 4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Mythos Society Guide to New England
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2014 23:36:54

I have been a fan of Lovecraft for a long time and this book provides a wealth of well researched knowledge for both gamers and non-gamers alike. The ties to Lovecraft and the Mythos aside, this book stands on its own merit as a reference for the interesting interesting and atmospheric settings of New England. Mr. Staples attention to detail and feel for the genre are apparent even at first glance. Well written and engaging source material like this is hard to find and even harder yet for a genre like horror. A good investment at an extremely reasonable price. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mythos Society Guide to New England
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Jester Dragon's Random Cult Generator
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2014 13:35:10

I love this generator!
With a quick look over of this old school resource there are hundreds of options where this product could be used to stimulate your campaigns. From allies to foes where this generator could be applied. From the lowest Lovecraftian cults to the highest of highest of the hollies for your fantasy campaigns. This is a product where a set of tables can fill in whole swaths of campaign and adventures. Cults and gods have always been a dark corner within old school games. Because of the major focus of this generator's properties there are a myriad of uses for this one from science fiction, fantasy, pulp, horror, and science fantasy.
All of this is available for one dollar or what you want. There are a ton of ideas just waiting under the surface for the enterprising DM to use this product. For a random generator this is one of the most useful ones to come down the pike from Skirmisher Publishing. Grab this one and get the ball rolling on a cult of fanatics to dog the heels of your adventurers today.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Jester Dragon's Random Cult Generator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Mythos Society Guide to New England
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2014 09:22:46

This is a massive 142 page tomb of knowledge & New England lore from essentially the heart of Lovecraft country. Writing and designing this sort of supplement is tricky business because Lovecraft wove both the imaginary & factual into his material. The Skirmisher crew did a great job with this one but for the Call of Cthulhu DM this book is really nicely done. The design and layout is easy on the eyes and the author knows his material very well.
I really don't think that the Call of Cthulhu crowd has given these books or product line a second glance. That's too bad because their missing out on a very well done piece of Cthulhu rpg reference that includes not only the Mythos but a large chunk of New England lore as well. This book is a really bold stroke by Skirmisher and Mr. Staples does a great job capturing the flavor and feel of New England in these pages.
Your going to want to pick this book up if your even remotely interested in the Cthulhu Mythos or New England lore. I enjoyed reading the PDF but I'd love a print copy even more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mythos Society Guide to New England
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #45: Mutant Dinosaurs
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2014 11:46:27

Issue #45 of Wisdom From The Wasteland presents mutant dinosaurs, let me let that soak into your post apocalyptic wasteland of Mutant Future. This issue presents the DM with all kinds of opportunities for mayhem and incredibly creative adventure ideas for Mutant Future. The issue is only meat and veggies for those ideas but its very well put together and thought out Mutant Future primeval madness.
The everything is right there for a DM to create his or her own 'lost world' of mutants adventure. The Skirmisher crew has been doing these for a long time and knows what the hell their doing with WoW and here's another fine example. There's a ton here to use if the DM angles this and other offerings of this issue then this could well be a very nicely done Mutant Future campaign corner stone for only a dollar.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #45: Mutant Dinosaurs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
by Fábio M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 13:30:21

The material is with a problem from the "my libray" download section, but I could download it from the product main page.
Very good hint from any campaigns, independent from genres.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #39: Unique Superscience Artifacts
by Darrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2014 16:20:37

This is my second review of a Wisdom from the Wasteland issue.


Like the others, this is a small collection of super-science technology for Labyrinth Lord / Mutant Future. If you're looking for unusual items to spring on players, this is a good buy. The accompanying artwork could be better but that's my only real complaint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #39: Unique Superscience Artifacts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2014 15:23:49

Skirmisher Publishing has released another in a line of inexpensive little PDFs that will make a GMs game a bit better


100 Oddities for a Creepy House is a fine example of what just a few details can do for a RPG game. There isnt anything ground breaking here, just a few lists to add some detail and some flourish to any haunted house. While the feel is mostly for a modern setting, just a few tweeks and these Oddities can be used in nearly any setting.


There is also a short article about how to use the list and how to expand the items into plot hooks


I like the pay as you go style of price setting. I paid$ 1.25 and the PDF was totally worth it.


I should add that the mini book here is well laid out, easy to read and prints nicely in my laser printer.


For the cost of a cola or a candybar, this is a great little gem.....dont just stand there, buy this PDF so we can get more...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #44: Unique Superscience Artifacts III
by Darrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2014 14:17:59

This collection of super-science artifacts are specifically for Mutant Future (with the aid of Labyrinth Lord's Advanced Edition Companion). Each has several capabilities, alternative uses, side-effects, etc. and they correspond with a mutant power, spell, or whatnot from one of those two books. However, GMs without any Labyrinth Lord or Mutant Future tomes (such as myself) can easily deduce their purpose.


The artifacts are described at length. There are no three sentence objects or items here. So, the Oasis in a Pill, Orange Block, or Palace of Bones (my personal favorite) are a big deal. Big enough that an entire session should probably be built around them, if not a campaign. That's great for GMs who want to throw a quick adventure together in a matter of minutes - focus on an artifact! Of course, the Mother Seed could be plopped down inside a single encounter. Yet, that would be under-using it and the others, in my opinion.


The art is less than stellar. That's something I hope improves as this series continues but as complaints go, that's a minor one. For the price, this is a must-have for Mutant Future GMs, as well as, being a good value for any post-apocalyptic RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #44: Unique Superscience Artifacts III
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2014 15:53:37

This is great little piece of work by the Skirmisher Publishing group. This piece adds a nasty haunted cherry right on top of your old school horror game or a post apocalyptic adventure. This eight page piece of horror fueled nastiness is a great system neutral piece of work that you could add right into your own campaign right now. From Call of Cthulhu to even a OD&D style of Gothic adventure campaign this is a great addition to the DM's arsenal of tricks and traps that adds a nice haunted bit The price is right, the ideas fresh, the horror perfect for an evening's horror fueled adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #3: High-Tech Weapons
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2014 15:22:31

Wisdom The Wastelands are one of those series of publications that you don't think that you need as a DM but are a real necessity. Issue three is really a lovely stop gap of artifacts and weaponry that can offer PC's or the NPC villain that icing on the top of the post apocalyptic cake. A lot of effort goes into balancing the ideas & offerings get created by the Skirmishing folks. Issue #3 is a very well done and well thought out offering for Mutant Future. This is one of those must have issues and a good solid entry in the post apocalyptic offerings from the Skirmisher Publishing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #3: High-Tech Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #23: Sea Monsters
by Justin S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2014 11:08:37

A workmanlike issue of the WFTW series chock full o' marine content. Sure, it's got nine new critters, but they eschew "gonzo" for "scientifically accurate". Not my bag.


Detailed review here: http://afieldguidetodoomsda-
y.blogspot.com/2014/06/radioactive-review-wisdom-from.htmla>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #23: Sea Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d-Infinity Volume #6: The Mythos
by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2014 00:32:03

D-Infinity over the last few issues has become a great gaming magazine, and Issue 6 is no exception.


Issue 6 covers the Lovecraft Cthulhu Mythos, but in an unusual but spot on way.


The fiction piece that starts everything out is a fun read. About 8 pages long, its a fantasy send up of mythos stories, and I thought "Their blood in the sea" set the stage pretty well for a Mythos themed issue.


The gaming material was mostly for OCG or the AD&D revival RPG that have been coming out in the last couple of years. Any decent player can use the information about the spells and such to use in pretty much any game, so the usefulness o9f the material is very handy.


The Eldrich Tech for Mutant Future was especially well done as was the writeup for the Living house. There are several plot points and game seeds in that set, and again any GM can mine those for a lot of ideas....


Skirmisher Publishing house setting is the Swords of Kos setting, and as usual, more gaming material has made its way into D Infinity.....and thats a good thing. We get a a great batch of nice write ups for Heroes and Heroines of Kos”. The folks at Skirmisher have put a lot of time and effort into that setting and it shows. I like having access to a not western European setting for fantasy RPGs and as KOS is very much flavored by the Mediterranean area, players and GMs have another place to explore and to find new adventure..


The allure of Innsmouth Gold was ok, but maybe a few more pointers on how to make some of the props should have been presented or at least a few more photos..its not bad at all, I hope we get an update and see some more how to photographs....


The Cthulu live event was nice, but I have to admit, the chances of me getting to play in one are slim or none....and I have to admit my interest in this was not as high as the rest of the contents....but the article does make me want to play in a game if I get a chance....


Chevauchee seems like a nice old school MetaGaming Co, or some of the early Steve Jackson games ....very small games that cost 3.00 dollars in teh early 80s....but I only glanced at the rules..but they look playable....
I will try to play this game in the future and I will update my review to say what I thought of the game.


Of much more interest was the “Dagon Rising board game, This little gem is a nice print and play game that we have played thru a couple of times and have had some fun with. I have a decent Laser printer, so my copy printed out quite nicely and looked great. I was able to glue the print out to some cereal boxes and the results were nice. Its not gonna replace my main board games, but my players liked it enough to have it in the rotation on our board game night....


Over all, this is a great issue.....I would have actually given it a 4.6 but I cant using the current review system. Its only little minor things that keep this for getting a perfect 5 and I can say this was totally worth my 7.00 dollars to buy. the little board game covered that just fine, everything else was extra added value...


I did print out a lot of this issue, and on my Brother laser printer, the pages looked great. Ink Jet users might consider going to a office or printer store to get this printed as several pages use a lot of ink....


Keep up the good work



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
d-Infinity Volume #6: The Mythos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d-Infinity Volume #6: The Mythos
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 17:31:38

The d-Infinity magazine is a mixed bag of gaming goodness put out by the Skirmisher publishing group and covers a wide variety of material. For myself this is one of the better quality magazines out there and the articles are perfect for someone whose into both the new school and OSR.
In terms of overall pliability and bang for the buck this is a really nice little investment for a DM to make. The quality of the writing is well done and the ideas here are very solid. Especially the Mythos material which has appeared in a wide variety of formats with its quality varying so much. This is a nice solid way of getting all of the material under one roof.
All of the material is top shelf and well done. I can't really find fault with any of the articles here. I happen to be a fan of Skirmisher and their continuing productions.
It seems to me that with the two Mutant Future articles in here and the rest of the solid material this is a great little investment to make with your hard earned gamer dollars. All in all I was really happy with this magazine. Grab a copy, get some friends, some dice, and get playing into the worlds that authors have put forth in this issue!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 283 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG