RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #9: High-Tech Weapons 2
by Justin S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2012 12:58:26
Adds plenty of new mayhem-generating Ancient artifacts to your games--sonics, antimatter, "atomic BB guns", and more. Nicely supplements Issue #3's tech, and bringing the total of new weapon types to 13.

Buy it!

(Longer review here: http://afieldguidetodoomsday.blogspot.com/2012/06/radioactiv-
e-review-wisdom-from_30.html)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #9: High-Tech Weapons 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #8: Diseases & Medical Options
by Justin S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2012 16:19:33
This is one crunchy supplement, and there's something for everyone regarding all things medical: New rules. New diseases. New gadgets. And even a new mutation as the proverbial cherry on top.

A great, great value for 99 cents, even if you don't use even a quarter of the content.

Expanded review here: http://afieldguidetodoomsday.blogspot.com/2012/06/radioactiv-
e-review-wisdom-from.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #8: Diseases & Medical Options
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Castle Builder Volume 1: Strongholds
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 19:17:44
This is probably a seminal RPG work. It's that good. This is not going to give you floorplans, but it's going to teach you all about the basic thought processes and considerations that went into real castle-building. This is a book that should sit next to ICE's 'Castles and Strongholds' as the perfect companion, and by the time you're done, you'll likely know more than you ever wanted to about building a castle. But the pay off begins when you look at your game map and decided where to site that castle, and you'll know why it sits on 'this' hill and not 'that' hill, and you'll understand why a castle has the elements it has and how they're used. It will make a world of difference to the game play.

Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Builder Volume 1: Strongholds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #7: Planar Creatures & Concepts
by Justin S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2012 10:39:05
This is the most bang-for-your buck 'Wisdom' product yet.

5 monsters, 19 mutations, 10 "strange radiations" to alter, warp, and morph your landscape.

Fun stuff.

More detailed review here: http://afieldguidetodoomsday.blogspot.com/2012/05/radioactiv-
e-review-wisdom-from.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #7: Planar Creatures & Concepts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Castle Builder Volume 1: Strongholds
by korrin s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2012 21:53:59
This book is good for giving the reader ideas on how to use the the structures in the book for the advancement of their game. It will not give you step by step instructions because it is about helping the reader use more care with something that may not get much attention in game. The author gives you examples on how to customize the strongholds to the setting of your game, as well as the different kinds of strongholds that could be used in game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Builder Volume 1: Strongholds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #9: High-Tech Weapons 2
by william w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2012 11:41:11
Another great issue in the Wisdom from the Wastelands series! Those who know me, know that I really love the Mutant Future RPG, but one area where I wish the core rules had a bit more to them is the section on hi-tech weapons!
This is part two in the High-Tech Weapons WftW series and boy does it deliver; Anti-Matter! EMP Weapons and more! Good Stuff! I can't wait to unleash er... I mean allow my players to acquire (yeah that's it) some of these cool items! Good Stuff!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #9: High-Tech Weapons 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Skirmish!
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2012 14:12:44
This is a great set of miniature skirmish rules. The basic rules take only six pages and have enough for a "beer and pretzels" experience. I love how the three-phase turn structure allows things like overwatch or reaction fire without complication. After you learn the basic rules, there are 15 pages of optional rules to add more detail to the combat (wounds, vehicles, explosives, troop quality... the list goes on.) While I don't think this would support tournament/competitive play, it is very effective for friendly games, and as a first game for newcomers to miniature gaming.

The product comes with two PDFs: a single column version with figures and a two-column, text-only version that cuts the page count in half. Both are black and white.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skirmish!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #9: High-Tech Weapons 2
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2012 11:51:07
More high-tech goodness! EMP weapons, anti-matter, and more await within this issue. Let me just say as a GM: Muhahahahaha! If you're looking for carnage and chaos in your game, consider this offering of lost technologies in your nest MF game. If the antimatter doesn't wreak enough havoc, the grenades just might.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #9: High-Tech Weapons 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #8: Diseases & Medical Options
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2012 11:45:42
Something I feel that's overlooked by most sci-fi settings and systems is medicine and medical conditions. Well, for MF fans, this issue of Wisdom from the Wastelands helps fill in the gaps to give more texture to an element that's sorely lacking for most games that gives a greater sense of plausibility and grittiness: medical science.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #8: Diseases & Medical Options
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #6: Factions
by Justin S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2012 08:16:29
I put this one at a 2.5, as it didn't do a whole lot for me.

The plant-based cryptic alliance--I mean faction--is a schizophrenic hodge-podge of 3 disparate subgroups...and the animal one has 4. They don't gel that well internally, and they go for the kitchen sink approach.

The Legion (as in a post-apocalyptic French Foreign...) is a campaign in itself, and could be fun.

The Xenophobes are high-tech exterminators of all things "alien"...whatever that means at any given time.

No rules specifics are provided--initiation rites, secret symbols, membership breakdown by Race--and this may be the first time I've ever wanted more "crunch" over "fluff".

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #6: Factions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #3: High-Tech Weapons
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2012 02:38:13
Weapons to make enemies tremble and players weep. This is an awesome supplement in the series. Nothing like a lot of powerful weapons with which to tease players who get a few good hits in before running out of ammo. Then again, these same weapons might be pointed at the characters before they get a hold of them. Oh, the joy a GM can have with these toys. :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #3: High-Tech Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #1: Artifacts, Manuals, and Toolkits
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2012 02:25:46
I haven't had a chance to get a group together to play Mutant Future, but I sorely want to. This book just increases my desire to play this game. Tools and damaging things just makes it all the more desirable as even in a post-apoc setting, someone's going to try to salvage technology somewhere, and now they can.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #1: Artifacts, Manuals, and Toolkits
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #10: Monsters That Improve with Age 2
by william w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2012 20:03:48
Wow this is issue #10 in the Wisdom from the Wastelands series! It's great to see new product coming out regularly for Mutant Future. Skirmisher has been turning these out quicker than I can keep up.
This is the second issue that features Monsters (Mutants) that Improve with age. I have to say I like this article better than the first one, not that anything was wrong with the first one, there is just more in this one that I can see plugging into my Campaigns. Wanna throw some Rattlesnake mutant critters at your group? Check out the Gageling, Those pesky mutant animals giving your Pure Strains trouble? Then sounds like the Humans need an Uplift Hunter or three! My favorite in this issue is the Bad Juju Cow! The name alone is cool! There are a couple of new mutations to round this issue out, always a welcome sight to me.
All in all I was quite pleased with this issue. : )

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #10: Monsters That Improve with Age 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #5: Domesticated Creatures
by Justin S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2012 16:36:31
After being less than pleased with Issue #4, #5 comes along and cleanses the palate.

You get 10 new mutants (of which 6 are plants, and more monstrous flora is always welcome) and 2 new mutations. All interact with the campaign world in interesting ways, and I'll happily hork some for my own campaigns.

Other than some clunky grammar and a handful of editing mistakes, this is a snazzy supplement, well worth your $.99.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #5: Domesticated Creatures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Castle Builder Volume 2: Manor Houses
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2012 04:31:24
The first volume in the Castle Builder series provided the basic rules for designing and constructing buildings, as well as an overview of the role of fortifications. This second volume focuses on two specific types of building: inns and secure (but not truly fortified) wealthy households.

After the introduction (reprinted from volume 1), the book gives a general discussion of the roles of these buildings and considerations of their design and how they can be described in game. This is generally helpful if you're thinking about designing and placing such things, if a little repetitive in places.

This is followed by floorplans and details for an inn and a mansion house. The plans are drawn with the basic version of CC2, which is perfectly fine for their intended use, although they aren't top-of-the-range battle maps.

The descriptions that go with them are suited to their purpose, and include some useful ideas for what you might want to put in your own designs. Each room is accompanied with a summation of the design cost, calculated using the rules in volume 1, all of which is summarised and totalled for each building at the end - very useful, considering this is essentially a design book.

There are a couple of problems, however. Firstly, the Castle Builder series was clearly originally intended as a single book with seven chapters, rather than as a ten volume series, and somebody has forgotten to change some of the text accordingly. Thus, the introduction to this book states it has seven chapters (it doesn't), and there are references in the text referring to "chapter one" that are apparently meant to refer to Volume one.

Secondly, the actual design of the buildings, as shown in the floorplans isn't quite up to the level of thought that has gone into the accompanying text. The floor plans don't show windows (why they probably should) but, even so, it's obvious that a number of rooms can't have any, because they have no external walls - something that often seems at odds with their intended purpose.

On a similar note, the inn does seem implausibly large. For example, the innkeeper's bedroom alone has three times the floorspace of my entire house in the real world. I know I'm not rich, but that seems rather excessive, and the rest of the inn is on a similar scale. The mansion is, after all, a mansion, so no such issue there, although I'd also have liked to see something the size of a real-world "manor house" as well (say, 6,000 square feet), which, being smaller than what we do get wouldn't have taken up much of the book.

Having said that, for $2, and 22 pages (excluding the cover) this is a good guide to the general concept of imposing houses/inns in fantasy, and I'll be buying future volumes in the series.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Builder Volume 2: Manor Houses
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 214 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG