RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Drew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2014 08:50:37
The quality of the pdf is what you have come to expect from Evil Hat. Clear text, useful bookmarks and clickable links in the text.

This book outlines a world where cats act as the secret guardians of humans against problems both magical and mundane. The magic system in this book is straightforward and integrates easily with the skill system. This setting does assume a large degree of magic in the game, with each player character given 3 magical stunts at no cost (in addition to the standard 3 stunts which are non-magical). This book could easily be adapted to a setting where the magic users are a secret cabal of humans but the cats thing is a pretty cool twist on the idea.

Also a fun little bit is the random cat generator in the back of the book. Don't see many of those in Fate so it is novelty.

If nothing else, the book provides a bunch of interesting magical and non-magical stunts for players to peruse (I find that players can get hung up on trying to come up with a cool stunt that isn't the standard +2 in a particular situation). It is worth the price of your favorite beer.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Ron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2014 19:27:41
A great setting with elements of Spelljammer, but with its own special twist for fantasy races and magic.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Rafael S. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 12:42:44
Fun and very well illustrated. Evil Hat keep giving us quality games, don't matter the format

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Veli L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2014 05:53:49
The setting and it's write-up is really nice and tight, and the system tweak looks good. The adventure structure also seems excellent and nicely adaptable. We're creating characters now with my kids and their friends and are eager to play!

Only thing that seems a bit clumsy at this time is the stunt creation system. Different stunt types easily have some overlap and were a bit hard for the kids to grasp and describe.

For me, pay-what-you-like model suits this kinds of adventures perfectly. And oh, I love the character sheet!

Rating:
[0 of 5 Stars!]
Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Sean W. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2014 03:27:58
Love the concept, love the artwork, love the execution. Captures the flavour of a cat world with fascinating twists in an urban horror style setting. Can't look at my own cats bringing me "kills" without thinking of this game now.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fate System Toolkit
by Sean W. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2014 03:25:43
After I read Fate Core, and caught up with the Kickstarter Campaign, I was kicking myself that I didn't back the campaign.

The Toolkit is a really well done set of options for your Fate campaign, but more importantly the toolkit talks about why Fate Core was built the way it was, and what changing certain parts of the system will do to the overall experience.

I don't often use the modifications suggested, but reading the toolkit helped me understand Fate itself and how tight the design is.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate System Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2014 17:18:16
A really good campaign setting for Fate. Reminiscent of Spelljammer, it would also be easy to use ideas from Firefly, Babylon 5 or many of the Trek series to fuel a campaign.

With a few additions I would have given this five stars. A page or two more of NPC aether ship write ups, a bit more advice on the implicit technology of the setting (do adventurers carry swords and axes? Rapiers and wheel-locks? Blaster pistols?), some brief paragraphs on mysteries/adventure sites/dangers of the setting. Nothing major, nothing O can't create, but just a few more pages would have taken this to the next level for me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Atomic Robo RPG
by Antoine P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2014 17:36:06
First of all, let me say that I may be biased on the matter since I am such a huge fan of the Atomic Robo comic books. Seriously, if you don't know it, go have a look.
But even if you have never read Atomic robo, this iteration of Fate Core may be the one to have read if only one.

What I like most :
• the character creation is really easy and quick, thanks to the modes, but you can still take time to tweak your character to the finest details
• the comic strips illustrate splendidly how the system works
• the brainstorming mechanics is something I now use in almost every Fate game, injecting more storytelling games feeling into Fate
• the Gear system is also reusable in most settings where equipment is important to the fiction.

What I like less :
• This is really minor, but I would have liked the pregen characters to be one character per page, so I could have just printed them as handouts for quick games.

To the point, if you had to get only ONE Fate Core product, that would be it !

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Robo RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Antoine P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2014 17:24:29
To my mind, this World of Adventure issue is a must-read for any Fate Core player out there. It is a remarkable show of how to play with dials in Fate Core to adapt the system to a setting.

What I like most :
• The setting in itself is brilliant : it lets you revive those long hours spend playing old video games
• The heart/life system is immersive as it really fits the setting
• the Hax skill is reusable as a magic system for fantasy settings

What I like less :
• The pregen characters kind of miss that nostalgia that retrogaming is all about. But that's understandable, since they don't have the license to pregen famous video games character. But let me assure we, as players, remedied to that during play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Keith S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2014 12:22:42
I really love The Aether Sea. I've been a Patreon backer since the start of the campaign and this setting is well worth the price of admission (the others are great, too, but this is by far my favorite). John Alvarez Vita's art is basically perfectly themed to the setting, which is a theme of the Patreon worlds, and the setting is deep enough to open up quite a broad scope of stories. Personally, I'd lean back onto the Fate Core version of skills rather than Fate Accelerated's approaches, because I tend towards building characters who focus a little differently than the standard approaches and the Core version feels more flexible to me (but probably is probably truly equally flexible when compared to FAE's version). For the average game, either system would probably work just as well as the other.

As always, purchasing through DrviveThruRPG is great. The book looks great and the system is easy. I would really recommend joining the Patreon campaign, though! It's a great way to ensure that books like this keep coming (and they are at almost one a month!). The lower tier of sponsorship isn't super expensive, and this book--and the others!--is totally worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Roger (. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2014 03:56:53
http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2014/11/29/rezension-the-secret-
s-of-cats-ein-fate-core-setting/

In einer finsteren Nacht trafen sie sich. Nicht, dass die Finsternis ihnen etwas ausmachte, waren sie doch geboren, um darin zu leben. Ihre geschmeidigen Körper verteilten sich über den gesamten Parkplatz und nicht wenige von ihnen trugen ihren eigenen Schatten als Mantel. Es war an der Zeit, eine Entscheidung zu treffen, die sie alle betraf. Eine Entscheidung, die nur das Parlament der Katzen fällen konnte.

So könnte eine spannende Geschichte in dieser Welt der Katzen beginnen. Ein Setting voller Mystik und Faszination für die geliebten Haustiere, mit denen wir Menschen unser Leben teilen. Tiere, die in Wahrheit einen geheimen Kampf für uns austragen, gegen finstere Mächte und gegen das alte Böse.

Inhalt

Das Setting ist aufgeteilt in vier Kapitel, in welchem nur die ersten beiden die Welt und den Hintergrund beschreiben. Die letzten beiden Kapitel beleuchten den Hintergrund der Stadt Silver Ford und beschreiben zu guter Letzt ein Abenteuer in eben dieser Stadt.

Es gibt eine geheime Welt hinter unseren Fassaden, in denen die Katzen und die „weisen“ Tiere eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Eingeführt wird man in das Setting mit den Worten der ehrwürdigen, alten Katze Jezzabella, die den jungen Kätzchen berichtet, wie die heilige Pflicht der Katzen aussieht. Nämlich ihre hilflosen Menschenschützlinge vor dem Bösen zu bewahren, dass die Nacht bewohnt. Die Menschen, welche von den Katzen als Bürde bezeichnet werden, wissen nichts von der Magie ihrer Lieblinge, und sie dürfen es auch niemals erfahren.

Um ihre Aufgaben erfüllen zu können, stehen den Katzen magische Fähigkeiten zur Verfügung. Besonders schön ist hierbei die Fate Core–Mechanik zum Einsatz gekommen, in der die Magie als vier verschiedene Fertigkeiten eingeführt wird und sich auf diese Weise nahtlos einfügt. Ähnlich den wissenschaftlichen Fähigkeiten aus Atomic Robo, sind hier die Möglichkeiten der einzelnen magischen Fähigkeiten durch Voraussetzungen bei den Aspekten begrenzt und durch Stunts bzw. exklusive Stunts erweitert. Einige der Fähigkeiten erfordern auch das Blut kleiner Tiere, oder deren Tod. Viele Angewohnheiten der gewöhnlichen Hauskatze werden so auf charmante Art in ein anderes Licht gerückt. Wer schon einmal einen toten Vogel oder eine Maus vor seiner Tür fand, hat wahrscheinlich nur eine Katze, die sich der Abwehrmagie verschrieben hat. Bestimmt hat das Blut dieses Tieres in jener Nacht einen bösen Geist ferngehalten.

Insgesamt gibt es vier magische Fertigkeiten:

Warding – Die Abwehr, sie ermöglicht es der Katze mächtige Schutzfelder zu erschaffen, die bestimmte Wesenheiten, oder sogar bestimmte Personen, fernhalten können. Auch gibt es viele weitere kreative Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für diese Kraftfelder, ganz ähnlich denen einer gewissen unsichtbaren Frau, die wir aus Comicheften kennen.

Naming – Die Namensgebung, die es erlaubt, die Kraft eines wahren Namens für seine Zwecke zu nutzen. Die Kontrolle über lebende oder tote Körper und auch das direkte Zufügen von Wunden. Katzen-Voodoo!

Seeking – Das Suchen, ermöglicht es dem Anwender eine Art Hellsicht zu verwenden oder sogar Träume zu besuchen und den Träumenden etwas einzureden.

Shaping – Das Gestaltwandeln, dient dazu die Größe, die Form und das Aussehen des Zaubernden zu verändern. Das reicht von der subtilen Farbe oder der schärferen Kralle bis hin zur Größe eines Tigers oder der Kraft eines Bären.

Dazugehörige Beispielstunts verfeinern die, wirklich gut ausgewählte, katzenhafte Magie und bieten eine breite Auswahl, welche Art von Beschützer man spielen möchte.

Doch nicht nur die Magie macht dieses Setting zu etwas Besonderem, sondern auch die liebevolle Art, in der ein Katzencharakter beschrieben wird. Auch wenn der Abschnitt „wie man eine Katze ist“ nur kurz sein mag, lädt er dazu ein, sich mehr mit dem Verhalten der Tiere zu beschäftigen. Die üblichen Hinweise aus anderen Settings, zu Filmen oder Büchern lassen sich in diesem Werk aber leider vermissen. Es gibt jedoch genügend Material im Internet, welches ja bekanntlich zu 90 % aus Katzenvideos besteht. Auch der ein oder andere Film wie Felidae und Unten am Fluss, können Einblicke in das Leben und den Kampf von „weisen“ Tieren bieten. Weise bedeutet in diesem Setting einfach, dass das Tier ein Bewusstsein besitzt und solche Tiere werden auch von Katzen respektiert. Eine weise Maus würde beispielsweise nicht ohne weiteres getötet werden. Jedenfalls nicht von einer Katze, die etwas auf sich hält.

Setting und Charaktererschaffung sind erstaunlich kurz und prägnant, aber derart treffend und schön, dass es einfach perfekt ins Bild passt. Die Beschreibung der Stadt und das nachfolgende Abenteuer sind gut ausgearbeitet und ohne große Vorbereitung spielbar. In das Abenteuer selbst sind auch noch einige Regeln zu Geistern und anderen Gefahren eingearbeitet, was nicht nur den Overhead verringert, sondern auch dazu beiträgt sie genauer zu betrachten. Hier dachte ich zunächst, mir wäre beim Lesen ein Fehler aufgefallen, da ich zu einer Gegnerbeschreibung vorgeblättert hatte und feststellte, das dort plötzlich Fate Accelerated–Begrifflichkeiten zu finden waren. Es handelt sich aber nicht um einen Fehler, sondern um einen genialen Kniff! Geister werden mit den Fate Accelerated–Regeln gespielt, was ihnen ein völlig eigenes Gefühl innerhalb des Systems verleiht. Sie sind nur schwer greifbar und vom Spielgefühl her grobkörniger, aber sehr mächtig. Für diese Idee sollte man dem Autor einen Orden verleihen.

Zu guter Letzt kann man die kurze Lektüre einfach nur empfehlen. Wer einen guten Eindruck von dem Setting bekommen möchte und der englischen Sprache mächtig ist, der möge doch bitte diesen Spielbericht lesen, in welchem ein Vater Secrets of Cats mit seinen vier Töchtern spielt. Allein die Charaktererschaffung muss schon ein unvergessliches Erlebnis gewesen sein.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Wer kann das besser beurteilen als der Kunde selbst? Es ist ein Zahl-was-du-willst-Buch und somit gibt es nur das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis, das man selbst möchte. Der Preisvorschlag ist mit 4 USD definitiv nicht hoch angesetzt.

Erscheinungsbild

Layout und Design des Heftes sind dem Fate Core–Standard angepasst und somit in etwa auf Taschenbuchformat ausgelegt. Perfekt für E-Reader, Tablets und dergleichen. Die Schrift ist gut lesbar, es gibt ein verlinktes Inhaltsverzeichnis und außerdem fantastische Illustrationen, die den Ton des Settings maßgeblich beeinflussen. Wer steht nicht auf einen Kampf zwischen Katzenmagiern mit leuchtenden Augen und einer Schattenrüstung als Aura?


Bonus/Downloadcontent

Es gibt nicht direkt Bonuscontent, aber Fred Hicks unterhält sich in den DriveThruRPG–Kommentaren des Settings mit den Kunden und hat erwähnt, dass das PDF weiter aktuell gehalten wird und vermutlich in nächster Zeit noch ein paar Zeichnungen und Seiten dazu erhält.

Fazit

Ein wunderschönes Setting, das liebevoll gestaltet und mit guten Ideen ausgestattet ist. Hervorragende Bebilderung und ein paar gute Regelkniffe, die man durchaus auch auf andere Fate–Settings übertragen kann. Es beinhaltet ein gutes Einführungsabenteuer und sogar eine kleine Karte der beschriebenen Stadt und ihrer Umgebung. Es geht um Katzen, die ihre auserwählten Menschen vor dem Bösen beschützen, und sie nutzen dabei übernatürliche Kräfte.

Außerdem zahlt man dafür nur, was es einem selbst wert ist und hey, es handelt von Katzen! Wie könnte man es nicht lieben? Immerhin seid ihr hier schließlich im Internet.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Nick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2014 14:52:35
If you're looking for "Fantasy Fate... In Space!", then this is the book for you. I've been disapointed by Evil Hat's limited offering of fantasy Fate settings thus far, but this book makes up for all the waiting. There's even skyships, and a lot of 'em! I look forward to figuring out how to combine this with the Aerial Adventure Guide [0].

There's enough structure to be useful and informative, but not constraining, while the magic rules are a bit complex, but mostly apply duirng character creation, so that's all right. It even (as expected) comes with an interesting base plot that will take your players through their first session and out into the larger universe.

Overall, a great use of a few dollars, and something I'm really looking forward to running with my players.

0: Aerial Adventure Guide: Sky Captain's Handbook : http://rpg.drivethrustuff.com/product/2984/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2014 23:22:53
I like the setting a lot. Reminds me of the old AD&D setting Spelljammer. My first (minor) complaint is the use of FATE Accelerated Edition rather than FATE Core for the rules. I'd have loved a appendix talking about how one would use Core to represent the setting. Doing the conversion myself shouldn't be that difficult, but I'd like to not have to do that so I don't have to explain it to my players who aren't as familiar with FATE as I am.

The next complaint, which I think is more of a problem, is that the system for spending resources to get around the Aether Sea doesn't mesh with the suggested reward system. If you have to take 1 resources stress to travel the shortest listed distance, and most jobs for that distance pay just enough to recover that one stress, and lots of opportunities can show up that cost you additional resources, plus you can't bank payment between jobs, how does a ship not go out of business eventually? I think I'd prefer a different approach to ship resources and getting paid for jobs.

FATE is a flexible enough of a system that neither of these are game breaking issues and I still rate the game at 4 stars because it gets the creative juices flowing and shows some interesting approaches to a group shared resource like a spaceship.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Lolita V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2014 07:14:32
The Aether Sea is a great setting for Fate. From the first page I was intrigued in this world were different fantasy races fled their homeworld and started exploring the aether. It’s space, but also with a definite sea faring feel and I like how the different terminology gives it another feel. It’s a setting that really appeals to me and I would love to play a session or campaign in this world once.

Another thing hat surprised me is how effortless it combines fantasy and sci-fi, without it being strange. It’s really neat and each race has a small bonus. It’s not a whole lot, but it’s still a nice bonus and managed to give some flavor to the different races.

One things that bothered me a bit is how they use FEA, I prefer Fate Core and was constantly thinking how it could be adapted to Fate Core. I just find the whole concept of approaches a bit weird and think skills which Fate Core uses is more intuitive.

Beside that this was a great book, the setting really comes alive and there’s enough explanation. There’s a whole section about building your own aethercraft/ ship which was really interesting and fun to read. There’s less about building the actual characters, but most of the basics are in the Fate Core book. They do explain the different races and there are enough organizations and issues strewn throughout the book to use as material for a campaign. There’s also an example campaign which can be used as a standalone session or as the start of the campaign.

There’s also an unique magic system. I did like that it introduces another magic system, although I think that section could’ve been a bit longer, some things were a bit vague now and I had some trouble coming up with specific spells or magic uses beside the standard fireball.

To conclude: The Aether Sea is a great setting for Fate and one I certainly plan to try out eventually. The mix between fantasy and sci-fi was well done and I was really intrigued in this world. I like the feel and everything was explained well. The only thing that bothered me a bit was that they use the FEA approaches. One of my favourite settings so far!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Konrad Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2014 19:28:16
A clear concise and interesting setting to play in. The magic system give a very good illustration on how to adapt FAE to particular settings. While I'm yet to play it I can see this setting working very well.

One minor quibble about the blur on this site, there are no species creation rules. Indeed exploration and discovery of new exotic lifeforms is not a feature of this setting as written.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 196 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG