RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Morts • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Brett T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2018 03:49:03

Morts is my first Fate setting, and as a Fate GM. It was exactly what my players were looking for: a dead-pan comedic low-but-not-no-magic post-apocalyptic zombie fighting setting. I can recommend for all because Morts exemplifies a modicum of tweaking Fate Core for beginners.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Morts • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dresden Files Accelerated
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/22/2018 05:16:45

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2018/04/21/rezension-dresden-files-accelerated-abstieg-in-chicagos-magische-unterwelt/

Dresden Files Accelerated ist bereits die zweite Rollenspielumsetzung des Hintergrundes rund um den Privatdetektiv und Magier Harry Dresden. Während Dresden Files RPG noch auf dem alten Fate basierte, verspricht die neue Version einen modernisierten, schnelleren und einfacheren Zugang – doch kann sie das Versprechen auch halten? Henning hat es sich angeschaut.

Wie der Name schon andeutet, basiert Dresden Files Accelerated auf der leichtgewichtigeren, schnelleren Fate-Version Turbo-Fate, im englischen Fate Accelerated. Turbo-Fate zeichnet sich unter anderem durch rund 250 Seiten weniger Regeln gegenüber dem überarbeiteten Fate Core aus.

Diese Verschlankung zieht sich auch durch die neuen Dresden Files. Die alte Version ließ komplexe Charaktere zu und wurde anscheinend mit der Leitfrage entwickelt: „Wie können wir die Welt von Harry Dresden möglichst gut simulieren?“ Die Leitfrage der neuen Version scheint eher zu sein: „Welche Action-Abenteuer kann ich in dieser Welt erleben?“ Und die Beantwortung dieser Fragestellung ist durchaus gelungen.

Die Spielwelt Die von Jim Butcher erdachte Romanreihe rund um Privatdetektiv und Magier Harry Dresden spielt in einer normal scheinenden Welt. Allerdings sieht diese nur äußerlich aus wie die Welt, die wir kennen. Hinter den Kulissen ziehen allerlei übernatürliche Geschöpfe an den Fäden.

In den Romanen ist es an Harry Dresden, seltsame Fälle zu lösen, die sich an den Schnittpunkten zwischen der normalen Welt und der Welt dahinter ereignen. In Dresden Files Accelerated können die Spieler entscheiden, auf welcher Seite des Schleiers sie spielen möchten. Die Weltbeschreibung ist umfangreich ausgearbeitet und ermöglicht so Geschichten, die weit über die Bücher von Jim Butcher hinausgehen.

Diese detaillierte Beschreibung hat natürlich ihren Preis: Die Hintergrundbeschreibung ist so gut ausgearbeitet, dass sie für alle Romane bis Blendwerk (Band 15, Englisch: Skin Game) etliche Spoiler enthält.

Die Regeln Für Dresden Files Accelerated wurde Turbo-Fate um einige interessante Features erweitert. Die wichtigsten möchte ich hier kurz vorstellen.

Zuallererst sind da die sogenannten Mantles, die man sich als eine Art Charakterklasse vorstellen kann. Mantles definieren besondere Fähigkeiten des Charakters und geben ihm zusätzliche Vor- und Nachteile, beispielsweise zusätzliche Stunts oder Startkonditionen, wie Verletzungen.

Mantles helfen dabei, Angehörige der einzelnen Gruppierungen (Vampire, Feenhöfe etc.) deutlich unterschiedlich zu gestalten, da sie teilweise exklusive Fähigkeiten erhalten, die andere Charaktere nicht so einfach erwerben können. Aus diesen Vorgaben heraus lässt sich wiederum mit wenigen Schritten ein vollwertiger Charakter generieren.

Die zweite Neuerung ist die Handhabung der Mächtigkeit der Charaktere. Die Charaktere werden dazu in Stufen eingeteilt, die Namen haben wie mundane, otherworldly oder legendary. Die Unterschiede zwischen den Stufen sorgen für Mali gegen stärkere Gegner, bzw. für Boni gegen schwächere.

Die dritte Neuerung betrifft den Stress, den ein Charakter einstecken, und die Konditionen, die er erleiden kann. Stress entsteht beispielsweise durch Schaden oder andere unvorteilhafte Situationen. Neben normalen Stress-Kästchen bietet Dresden Files Accelerated hier zusätzlich Konditionen an, die stattdessen abgehakt werden können. Grundsätzlich besitzt jeder Charakter die Konditionen "In Peril" (Engl.: "In Gefahr", entspricht bis zu vier Stresskästchen) und "Doomed" (Engl.: "Verdammt", entspricht bis zu sechs Stresskästchen). Wenn der Charakter Schaden erleidet, hat der Spieler die freie Wahl, welche Kästchen er ankreuzen möchte.

Dazu kommt noch die Kondition "Indebted" (In etwa: "Gefallen schuldig"), die nicht durch Schaden entsteht, sondern dann, wenn ein Charakter um einen Gefallen bittet und dem Gegenüber danach etwas schuldig ist. Diese Gefallen sind die zentrale Währung in der übernatürlichen Welt. Geschicktes Eintauschen von Gefallen kann zu Macht und Einfluss führen. Zu viele Gefallen schuldig zu sein, ist dementsprechend gefährlich und sollte vermieden werden.

Das eher narrative Magiesystem von Turbo-Fate wurde um die Möglichkeit erweitert, Verletzungen in Kauf zu nehmen, um Zauber stärker zu machen.

Die Regeln eignen sich hervorragend, um den Urban-Fantasy-Hintergrund zu unterstützen. Mit etwas Anpassung sind sie meiner Meinung nach sogar dazu geeignet, so ziemlich jeden Urban-Fantasy-Hintergrund zu unterstützen. Einziger Wermutstropfen: Wer keine narrativen Regelwerke mag, sondern lieber eine genauere Abbildung von Spielwelt und Charakteroptionen sucht, wird mit Fate oder gar Turbo-Fate nicht viel anfangen können.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht Dresden Files Accelerated erlaubt es dem Spielleiter, Geschichten in der Welt der Harry-Dresden-Romane zu leiten, ohne auf eine bestimmte Gruppierung festgelegt zu sein. Es ist also möglich, sich komplett von den Romanen zu lösen und beispielsweise eine Geschichte am Feenhof zu spielen, in der die Menschen überhaupt nicht involviert sind. Der Hintergrund wird ausreichend beleuchtet, um diese Freiheit zu ermöglichen.

Mit Turbo-Fate werden schlanke und schnelle Regeln eingesetzt, die ohne viel Nachschlagen am Spieltisch umgesetzt werden können. Und wenn man doch einmal nachschlagen muss, hilft das Layout des Buches, schnell das Wesentliche zu finden.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht Die neu gestaltete Charaktererschaffung mit dem Mantle-System bietet viele Optionen, während sie gleichzeitig hilft, die Charaktere auf die typischen Merkmale der entsprechenden übernatürlichen Gruppierung zu beschränken. Es entsteht wenig Overhead.

Das vom Turbo-Fate-System geerbte schnelle Spiel wird beibehalten und um interessante Varianten bereichert. Der Einsatz von Magie geht schnell von der Hand. Die Stress-Regeln sind ebenfalls schnell und einfach, bieten aber viele Möglichkeiten für Spielansätze.

Erscheinungsbild Das durchgehend farbig gehaltene PDF zeigt sich in einem Layout, dass stark an die 80er erinnert. Aufgelockert wird dies durch, stilistisch ebenfalls in die Ära passende, Grafiken. Dies ist aber kein Negativpunkt, das Layout ist übersichtlich und gut lesbar. Es bietet dem Auge genügend Abwechslung, so dass die Lektüre des Bandes nicht langweilig wird. Post-It-Zettel mit Anmerkungen und Beispielen durchbrechen den Fließtext und runden das Bild ab.

Am Ende des Regelwerkes findet sich, neben dem obligatorischen Charakterbogen und einem ausführlichen Index, eine zweiseitige Regel-Schnellreferenz zum schnellen Nachlesen, die man sich ausdrucken und zum Charakterbogen legen kann. Diese kann am Spieltisch, zumindest am Anfang, viel Zeit sparen.

Fazit Dresden Files Accelerated ist eine gelungene Neuauflage des Settings, angepasst an das actionreichere Turbo-Fate. Dadurch wird ein schnelles und actionreiches Spiel möglich.

Das Verhältnis von Spieltiefe zu Actiongehalt ist in der alten und neuen Version genau umgekehrt. Die Anpassungen und Erweiterungen, die Dresden Files Accelerated an Turbo-Fate vornimmt, nehmen diesem zwar etwas von seiner Geschwindigkeit, dadurch gewinnt das Spiel aber mehr Tiefe. Es kann dadurch die facettenreiche Welt der Dresden Files deutlich besser abbilden als das reine Turbo-Fate. Allerdings ist die Tiefe bei der alten Fate-Umsetzung deutlich größer – dafür ist die alte Version aber auch deutlich weniger schnell. Hier sollte sich die Runde überlegen, welche Umsetzung eher ihrem Spielstil entspricht.

Knapp ein Viertel der Seiten wird für die ausführliche Beschreibung des Hintergrundes verwendet. Dadurch wird es einfach, Geschichten abseits der bereits durch die Harry-Dresden-Bücher vorgestellten Fälle zu spielen. Die Einschränkung der Charaktererschaffung durch die Mantles hilft dabei, die Welt konsistent zu halten.

Insgesamt hat mir Dresden Files Accelerated gut gefallen, auch wenn ich mir an einigen Stellen etwas mehr Tiefe gewünscht hätte. Für gerade einmal 17,50 USD bekommt man eine umfangreiche Einführung in die Welt der Dresden Files.

Achtung: Das Regelwerk enthält viele Spoiler für die Romanreihe!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files Accelerated
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Agency • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Gustavo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2018 14:17:02

I logged into drivethru to take a look, "hey, look a new one of fate, let's take a look!". I read it and I love what is written here. I will buy it if it's published in my country and I'm already itching to play it. Action, comedy and a little 90's flavour, how can it go wrong?

I rait it 4/5 for now, till I play it and I recommend to everyone to give it an opportunity.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Agency • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

It's Not My Fault! (A Fate Accelerated Character & Situation Generator)
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2018 09:45:52

As a character creation system, it's brilliant. There are 20 ways to combine 6 approaches taken 3 at a time (without repetition and order doesn't matter). That makes a convenient deck size. The system ensures that all approaches are in the 0-3 range, that there'll be variety in the approaches, and that each character has 3 aspects and 3 stunts. Doling out cards ensures that we'll have a mix of character types.

The character system also strikes a good middle ground between other potential methods for creating one-shot characters. It's less time-consuming and less daunting than having players make up characters from scratch. It gives players some say in their characters instead of handing them pre-made characters.

I've started making custom character decks for various settings. I can fit the necessary information into a business card size. I can make a custom deck with two sheets of business card printer stock.

The situation generator has some decent variety, but not all cards are suitable for all audiences. I take some cards out ahead of time, depending on who'll be playing. For example, I knew that a certain father/daughter pair of players wouldn't want to see the "Currently naked" card come up.

I added some goal cards. Some players said they were at a loss about what to do or they had trouble recognizing when the game was over. A goal card gave them something they could focus on and run with, without feeling railroaded. It helped keep the action crisp and created a recognizable ending.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
It's Not My Fault! (A Fate Accelerated Character & Situation Generator)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fate Core System
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2017 15:03:44

I enjoyed the feel of this system. It took some getting used to and the changes, though a challenge, were a nice addition to the current landscape.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

On the Wall • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by DAVID B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2017 03:59:01

Another "Teen angst, highschool sucks" game - (See monsterhearts, Young Centurions... (what is it with Evil Hat and pubescent 12-18 yearolds?.) . Now I am not, and never have been an American teenager. I have never been to a US High School. This is a game setting i'm frankly never going to use. The player buy-in from my mates is not going to happen.

Player Characters are teenagers segregated from a hostile and fearful "normal" society because of "superpowers" (which are SUPPOSED to be mostly lame).

The Gubmint is constantly watching them and can neutralise their powers and ship them off to boarding school for naughtiness.

The game is rated PG13 claiming to touch on drugs, teen pregnancy, eating disorders, spots, etc. but in the event all that is left to the GM.

On the plus side, the illustrations (which, I assume, are from the graphic novel of the same name) are nice and there are plenty of possibililies for good stories. The resented "control" of the Feds, the alienation from family and society etc.

This would work well as a convention game - especially for people who have read the book but for day-to-day play IMHO you'd need players with the maturity to handle the angst but who arent old enough to have forgotten their own school experience.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
On the Wall • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster of the Week
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2017 11:45:47

If ever a game sent me tumbling back with nostalgia and wishing we had a game back in my late teens, it was this one. Fond memories of using Choasium's basic roleplaying system to try to emulate high school paranormal investigators and not to disparrage those memories but, Monster of the Week would have made those sessions even more memorable. Powered by the Apocalypse the game walks players through creating a monster hunting team with indviduals of extraordinary magnitude to square of against whatever creature has come into confrontation with the team this week. The game sets up villainous arcs for the game master, a competent and entwined crew, and characters with depth and connections that have ideas how they relate to each other and the supernatural world around them right out of the gate. For monster hunting with a flair for action and adventure I have yet to run across a game that does it better than Monster of the Week.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster of the Week
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Straw Boss • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Tim P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2017 11:18:36

Probably one of my favourite "worlds of adventure" to date! When I was done reading this book I genuinely wondered why Evil Hat suddenly produced a 100+ page book, only to realize it was a 45 page book that felt like it contained 100 pages worth of content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Straw Boss • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Straw Boss • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by la l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2017 00:13:54

Fair warning: I haven't played this yet.

Despite that, as a armchair gamer and a fan of the Fate system, I love the new ways this product pushes the system forward in support of thoughtful horror as the ordinary world twists into the surreal around the PCs, letting them seemlessly fight the scene itself, switch their character sheet upside down, fight psychics with magic and Bible verses, and benefit from both teamwork and selling out.

The product may shoehorn you into playing a hermetic Christian cultist in the deep south, but given the generic way its occult powers work, the rules for making demon pacts in-play, and the suggestion that the monsters you're fighting could be anything from angels to classical myths to urban legends, it should only take a few minor tweaks to let you play an independent Practitioner (mage), normal person who's not in the know at first, or even a monster yourself in any part of the world -- and its mythology -- you please.

It's spine tingling in the same way reading a WoD book is!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Adversary Toolkit
by Hans C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 13:19:32

This is a great product! It has a lot of helpful ideas on building stories, encounters and scenarios. Helpful for anyone who runs Fate or has considered running Fate but needs some more guidance and advice. My favorite part is the Regency Romance spread, which is a Jane Austen sort of story. It's something my wife has asked for multiple times and this is handled really well by the product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Adversary Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fate Adversary Toolkit
by Johnathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2017 17:16:25

I'm already using this in my adventure design. SO helpful. For anyone who wants to go beyond the vanilla cannon fodder NPCs in the core book, or who wants to create fiendish death traps or deadly lairs this book is for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Adversary Toolkit
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 19:27:18

Just hopped into the Fate Adversary Toolkit. A great smorgasbord of encounters and challenges which also fleshes out adversary oriented rules in a useful way. It displays Fate Fractal powerfully – everything can be a “character,” framing a powerfully useful reference work. It works well.

Clock ticking down? This book gives you enough material to get things moving quickly – Fate newbies or anyone who really just doesn’t have time to work up a scenario now has a powderkeg of useful stuff at hand. Spice up your usage of Zones instead of just tossing them arbitrarily to the side (guess I’m the only one that’s ever done that, right?). Put your thugs, mooks, normals, and NPC-lite snacks to work for you a little more effectively. This book’s a great mentor.

Keep the product at this caliber or higher and you’ve got a great line of materials which can make Faters pretty happy. I certainly am.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Neutral Grounds
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 02:49:07

Great adventure. After solve it we keep the places and the faces as a regular background for our adventures



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Neutral Grounds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fate Core System
by brian w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2017 12:18:57

I'd been hopeful about FATE ever since I heard about "a game that uses FUDGE dice." I backed the kickstarter at the hardcover level, and was impressed with how its creators maintained transparency, produced professional work, and kept backers updated.

But even slick layout and consistent design and organization wouldn't mean much if the game is not on-point. Fortunately, FATE is both clearly organized and fun to play.

My gaming group has run several sessions, and we've loved it since our initial session of setting up the campaign world. It's been a great ride so far, and we're looking forward to more FATE in the years to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Karthun: Lands of Conflict
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2017 20:39:16

I highly recommend this product. It is an excellent setting book with beautiful art and layout. I'm generally not a big fan of setting books, but this is an imaginative setting with some excellent concepts that grip you right away. And, those concepts are cool both for the players and the DM. For example, the former goddess of justice and valor has become the mournfull and dark godess of death! This appeals to the DM (making the gods dynamic and interesting, while tying into the threats Karthun deals with) and to the PCs (one of my PCs is trying to worship her old values and try to undo the change). Another example is the impending doom coming to the land, which becomes a compelling force for both players and DMs and ties to all of the setting aspects, from different cities to cosmology to the gods to the different player races.

Bottom line: this is a superb read, a beautiful book, super fun as a setting, and filled with ideas you can borrow for any setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Karthun: Lands of Conflict
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 361 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG