RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ghost Planets • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Justin E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2016 15:29:45

Ghost Planets is all about exporation and provides some great mechanics to back this up. Adventures are designed around investigating the ruins of ancient civilizations and trying to solve they mysteries they left behind. You do this by surveying the environment and looking for things the civilization left behind. Here's the cool part: many of the things left behind can be Researched and depending on your success or failure, you can make Discoveries that give you advantages or new information -- or you can have a Mishap which adds complication to the adventure. Mishaps are made more interesting because the type of mishap is related to your character's role. And, of course, this is all going on in parallel to any environmental challenges the characters may be facing. Good stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Planets • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ghost Planets • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Jeffrey A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2016 15:01:57

Great book, nice streamlined setting, with lots of general info, allowing a lot of room for the GM to work with while still giving a solid background on which to build. The basic "templates" - based on the High Concept, gives the game an almost class-like feel, while still allowing characters to pretty much do their own thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Don't Rest Your Head
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2016 09:27:52

I read it through, and did a trial run with a friend of mine, we are both pretty new at this, so we found it really confusing. the dice mechanic was not really well explained nor how we introduce their powers. It made for a rather chaotic game play. The premise is solid, we are fiddling with our own dice mechanic and some extra rules. I think if you are new to the world of role playing this might not be for you. However my more experienced players found it ok, but have not had a chance to play. I love the idea, just having issues with how to actually play it....



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Don't Rest Your Head
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Loose Threads • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2016 13:11:20

I really like what they have done with the Tensions mechanic. The whole system reinforces how to make good aspects and skills and story. If you like Fate Core mechanics, you are probably going to love playing this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Loose Threads • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Loose Threads • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2016 15:41:10

Haven't play yet, but the idea is brilliant (moreover, ideas are brilliant, because the mechanics match the setting), and the 'manual' is clear and instructive.

Looking forward to playtest on my Ukrainian fairytales backgrounds



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood on the Trail • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Justin E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2016 00:16:34

I really like the idea of the players and GM working together to create their wagon train map and then asking players to add obstacles and advantages at the beginnig of the campaign (as well as each game session). I blends a great visual pacing mechanic with the opportunity for any player to influece the types of challenges they will face and stories they will tell. It sounds similar to John Wick's idea of the Dirty Dungeon (implemented in Wilderness of Mirrors), which is a great GM ninja trick I awlays keep close at hand.

This is complemented nicely by players and GM also creating the wagon train itself and then tieing its attributes to to the PCs who take on leadership rolls for different jobs on the caravan. It gives the PCs a great idea of what their characters are doing day-to-day and gives the GM a clear target for who might be affected by obstacles on the trail.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood on the Trail • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Loose Threads • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Justin E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2016 15:28:06

I haven't had a chance to play yet, but after reading through Loose Threads there are a ton of concepts and mechanics that I'm really excited about.

Throughout the playset, the idea that 'Everything has a cost' and when you take a risk, 'the risk must always matter', sets the stage well and is supported by the mechanics. This has been brought up in many great games lately, and I'm glad to see it reinforced here.

A great example of this is including an 'Agenda' and a 'Cost' for each major NPC. It gives the GM clear guidance on how the NPC might be interacted with and an interesting hook to help make them matter in the story. There are no 'roll dice/recieve information' NPCs here!

The Tension mechanic immediatly adds depth to your character as a player and clear flags for creating scenes and adventures for GMs. It also gives players queues on how their characters are evolving over time.

One type of mechanic that I would like to see more of in other setting is a hook for exploration of the environment. Loose Threads provides this by adding a Secret to be discovered in each adventure when players visit the 'In-Between'. Uncovering the Secret cold benefit the characters, or make their lives more complicated, but either way it encourages them to take a closer look at everything around them.

Another cool thing I'm excited to see in play is the idea of taking a 'Favor' instead of a boost when succeeding with style. It sounds like this will naturally flesh out the setting and NPCs based on how awesome your character is in interacting with them.

'Solutions require sacrifice' is huge! It sounds like both a great way to spotlight a character's aspects or tension as well as a guaranteed crossroads to end the adventure on.

Looking forward to seeing how this all unfolds during play!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Loose Threads • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fate Core System
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2016 06:53:39

FATE seems to have inspired a loyal set of pretty fanatical fans, to which I account for by very effective marketing. For me, however, I have tried but simply cannot get traction on the game's appeal. Character's are presented in a rules-lite manner, and the core mechanic is pretty simple. However, the whole book just seems to go on and on about rules, rules discussion and then some more rules discussion. I don't really see where the massive innovation in the game is, as most of the ideas have already been done in much older games if you are prepared to look for them. It's neatly packaged, supported and comes at an appealing price - but, ultimately, I just find it a boring read and a so-so game to play in or run.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fate Core System
by Jan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 16:39:17

For me this was the very first time where I have tried a pen and paper based game. I knew some of the general rules but had no clue on how to play,what to do or how to start and end. Fate gave me a front to back explanation on how I can play a good game and gives you all the freedom you want to have if you fell like you need this . So, its great. Dont regret a thing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Young Centurions
by Benjamin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2016 16:29:33

Meant as an introductory RPG for younger children, Young Centurions delivers that to a T and a bit more. Characters are differentiated from mundane people due to their embodiment of an ideal of the 1900s (like in Spirit of the Century, for which this is based). It also delivers a bit of insight into the pulp genre, and with the campaign rating system (rates the campaign similar to how movies are rated), you could easily tweak it to have older characters in scenarios akin to a PG-13 or R rated campaign to fully represent the pulp genre. Furthermore, in my personal opinion, the use of the Fate Accelerated ruleset is far better suited for pulp campaigns than the Fate Core ruleset of Spirit of the Century, and running campaigns in the early 1900s (whether its the 1910s, 1920s, or 1930s) using this ruleset is rewarding, as it is to teach younger children the hobby.

All in all, it is a good RPG for all ages, even though some of the writing is geared toward younger children. Great read, great ruleset, and I will definitely be picking up a physical copy at my FLGS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Young Centurions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spirit of the Season
by Myron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2016 21:30:51

Spirit of the Season is a somewhat tongue-in-cheek supplement for the Spirit of the Century game. Don't get me wrong its well done, and more than a little fun, but turning Santa into a gadgeteering pulp hero is a bit out of the ordinary.

The booklet provides a nice selection of Christmas and Hanukkah-themed characters. Nick Saint, for example, is assisted by his Reindeer Men—each of whom is written up a playable character.

If the book has a weakness, its that most people are only going to be interested in its theme once a year. Even so its a fun addition to SotC and at a bargain price to boot!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spirit of the Season
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fate Worlds: Worlds on Fire
by Myron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2016 21:04:46

Worlds on Fire gives you six cool new settings to play in: Tower of the Serpents, White Picket Witches, Fight Fire, Burn Shift, Wild Blue, and Kriegszepplin Valkyrie. I'm a sucker for both pulp (Kriegszepplin Valkyrie) and post-apocalypse (Burn Shift) adventure so I was sold on this book from the get go. Wild Blue's "superheros of the Old West" setting is also lots of fun.

But I'd have to say the setting that stands out the most is Fight Fire. With it's customized skill set, it really highlights the ways you can tweak the Fate system to drill down and focus exactly on what you want your story to be about—in this case putting out fires and rescuing people.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Worlds: Worlds on Fire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fate System Toolkit
by Gustavo C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2016 18:22:02

I recently received this book in paper format as part of a kickstarter. This will give you an idea of how much I love the Fate Core and FAE systems. Some people may not realize it but in truth both are the same game system with the dials adjusted differently. This fact is one of a whole sets of insights you'll get as you read this toolkit.

Before starting this review, let's say that you can perfectly play Fate without this toolkit. Now, lets face it, once you'll start playing, you'll start tinkering with the system, because that's something GMs like to do, give their unique twist, find the unique flavor, provide the extra rule that will set their campaign appart from others. And that is why this book is for you. This toolkit will show you how modular the design is, how it can be tinkered with, where the dials are. And it will also expose you to a lot of thought provoking ideas, several variations one each theme and interesting possibilities everywhere.

You'll also noticed that most this ideas are not completely finished, and that's allright, because this is a toolkit, it gives you the tools to make your own reskining of the tools provided, to develop further upon them and to come up with greatness. And whe love doing that.

There's a lot packed in the 200 pages of this book, discusions on Aspects, Skills, Magic variations, a whole set of subsystems for special types of adventures and much more. You'll start reading and before long start writing and planning. It's clearly written and explained, yet if you are like me, you'll find you have to read it in small bites, as each idea fires up a lot of other ideas and makes you connect a lot of the dots, or even firing whole campaigns based on a simple possibility. It's worth reading it entirely, yet it's perfectly fine to read only the parts you think you'll need for your adventure, and it's easy to do so, as ideas are clearly grouped and labeled.

Remember also that as much as this book is great and meant for you, this is a toolkit, not The toolkit. You can get this one now and get a feel of what it can provide, so that you'll know what a toolkit does when the new Evil Hat kicstarter for bigger and meaner specific toolkits appear. This is the initial step. yes, but at the same time it's a must have book for all game tinkerers. Because while being the first step, it's a really tall one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate System Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2016 14:48:48

Eagle Eyes is a prime example of all the wonderfully strange things you can do with the FATE rules system; take a setting (the Roman Republic), take a cinematic genre (gritty detective noir), and smash them together to create the game before you today. Eagle Eyes isn't overburdened with historical information (Wikipedia and any book store ccan give you a lifetime's worth of information on Rome), instead electing to give GMs and players just what they need to get the game rolling, then moves on to devoting the majority of its wordcount to investigative gameplay in FATE and offers a nice new subsystem for creating Conspiracies that need to be unraveled and exposed. Character creation is the usual for the system (High Concept, Trouble, and a couple neat Aspects unique to the setting), while the skill list is a rebranded take on the Approaches from FATE Accelerated, pitching them as Pleas to the Roman gods; while simple and straight-forward, I'm not in love with such a short list, but bringing in the Skills from FATE Core would be an easy task.

A shining proof of how versatile FATE is and a genuinely fun game to boot, I hope Eagle Eyes can be given another visit later on.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fate System Toolkit
by Jeremey C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2016 17:23:52

This is a great supplement to adding to your FATE games once you are familiar with the system. It also includes a lot of insight into why the designers made the choices they did for different FATE games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate System Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 328 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG