RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Anointed: Mantle of the Gods
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/14/2013 01:18:39
WHAT WORKS: For a game predicated on the notion that every PC is going to belong to the same tribe, be the follower of the same God and only have three attributes, there are enough options to make each Anointed feel completely unique. The Powers creation system is really great, as the guidelines combined with examples given make for an impressive addition to the rules. Lastly, the book is absolutely gorgeous.

WHAT DOESN’T WORK: Small editing bits (words being repeated side by side that were missed by proofreaders, at least one instance of improper punctuation, etc.). There is no bestiary, aside from picking through the solo adventure for statblocks (such as for Salamander slavers). A book essentially meant to launch a new line shouldn’t be referencing books in the previous line in anything but the most loosest manner…but it really feels like you’ll want to have extra books from the New Gods of Mankind line on hand for Domains and a bestiary.

CONCLUSION: Anointed has a ton of promise, but feels like it relies a bit too much on familiarity with the New Gods of Mankind game line, which is unfortunate because it can be easily missed that this game is connected to that series. Now, if you picked up books in that line but felt that the scope was a bit more than you wanted to deal with, then this is perfect. The character options are all simple but robust, which is right in my comfort zone. I particularly like the Powers, because you WILL want to make more powers, either because the PCs want something that’s not covered in the book, or you will want NPC Anointed to have Powers not listed there. With tighter editing, better organization and an actual bestiary (rather than scattered stat blocks in the solo adventure), this could have been a GREAT product, rather than a really good one.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2013/07/tommys-take-o-
n-anointed-mantle-of-gods.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Human Villagers Pack
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/15/2013 04:57:23
Whether or not you play New Gods of Mankind, these are really rather nice 'generic village folk' miniatures that virtually any gamer playing a fantasy game might well be able to find a use for on their table.

They are well-drawn with good detail and quite colourful. Poses are dynamic, mostly looking poised and ready for combat (because, let's face it, that's what miniatures are really for!). The set includes woodmen, foragers, hunters, traders, minors, priests and a mason - at least, that is how they are described, but you could use them somewhat differently if that suits your needs. For example, the traders and mason wear gowns and could be any kind of prosperous town-dweller - one even wears what looks like a toga and you could imagine him holding forth in a council chamber! The priests are described as being warrior, healing or missionary ones, along with a lone priestess, and are dressed in a variety of robes/vestments or armour. The healing priest is a spell-user with gathering mystic energy around his hands.

Copious assembly instructions are given, which is probably a good idea as it is fairly complex and fiddly: the results however are worth it in terms of scene setting and general display: they look good. However, the concept of 'facing' is not well handled, the figures do not come with 'front' and 'back' views. A variety of different bases - sand, grass and stone - are provided, including a neat way of letting you choose to have square or round bases as suits.

These are nice-looking figures and will look good on your table-top.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Human Villagers Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the honest and good review Megan. We plan to release a 3D series of buildings very soon. We will probably do a D series of figures next year with a front and back to them.
Human Villagers Pack
by PEDRAZZI G. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 04:53:44
Gorgeous figures. There is no back art . With this lack the gray mirrored figure helps to keep up the rating.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cardstock Miniature Sample Pack
by PEDRAZZI G. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 07:19:00
Great artworks. Good minis. But a black border, or other color, really help the shapes' cutting.

There is no back art ( - 1 ). But this is an artist and producer's choice. It is always visually nice but it doesn't always need.

If you remove the black silhouette ( it is really overused and ugly ) and leave the dark gray mirrored image as back art it is much much better. If then you add an option to have, as back art, a full colored mirror image ( at least the wonderful artwork can be admired from all sides ), you offer an excellent and comprehensive product.

Good start.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cardstock Miniature Sample Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

New Gods of Mankind New God's Handbook
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2012 21:40:40
New Gods of Mankind puts the players in the roles of gods of the Known World. Players create god characters by outlining their domains of influence, symbols, miracles, commandments, rituals, worship and more, and begin with a small group of followers. The decisions they make as deities will determine if their influence grows or not. The book is beautifully illustrated, with great detail and attention given to the mortal and celestial realms, and even includes a boardgame 'treatment' of the rules, for those who might want to do away with the roleplaying elements.

I've always been a fan of the old video game Populous, which may be why this RPG and its accompanying boardgame appeals to me as much as it does. While there is a setting included, it wouldn't be difficult to strip it out and use these rules to play the role of gods in the fantasy setting of your choice, making this a very versatile RPG product for a very reasonable price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New Gods of Mankind New God's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

New Gods of Mankind New God's Handbook
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/31/2011 20:55:14
This is a fun RPG that can also double as a board game. There is a TON of mythology here, so it'll take some time to get through. It's a pretty quick read though. The book describes the world (bronze age with races other than humans), Celestial Gardens (where gods live), and other planes of existence that are important to the game. Players take the role of new gods who finally accumulated enough followers to ascend to the heavens. Using their Belief, gods can perform Miracles to help their tribes. The overall goal is to have your followers conquer, convert, or otherwise neutralize other tribes to succeed.

The god creation rules are pretty flexible with players picking their primary trait that they influence like Summer or Wind. They choose a secondary trait, personality, description, heavenly kingdom, etc. Miracles are easier to perform (require less belief) if it is congruent with your primary trait.

The actual play is basically rounds of events occurring to the gods' tribes. The gods then react with Miracles or by influencing the world, other gods counter those actions if desired, and the tribes try to expand their influence. Because of the mechanics, the GM can actually play a god as well. Events can be randomly rolled on charts and the world need not be directed by one person. I like the idea of this game being a nice compromise for the routine GM who wants to play without requiring someone to run the game in their place. Good stuff.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New Gods of Mankind New God's Handbook
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/20/2011 05:09:56
The Good:

- Great concept, playing actual Gods instead of "Gods Walking The Earth"
- Playable as a board game as well as an RPG (or mix and match).
- Plays on common fantasy tropes without hitting the standard dwarf/elf/halfing/etc mix.
- A great deal of usable information in the one corebook.

The Bad:

- Could have used better organization in some places.
- Quick references at the back of the book for all of the charts would have been great.
- Playing as Gods may be a bit too much of a disconnect for some people.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/04/tommys-take-o-
n-new-gods-of-mankind-new.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New Gods of Mankind New God's Handbook
by The D. F. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2008 11:16:57
We got this product for review on The Digital Front some time back, but unfortunately Mark's time has been taken up by real life stuff, so it ended up lingering in the electronic closet of gaming books. I had taken a look at it a couple of times since getting the download, and when Richard Leon (of Dark Skull Studios, the publisher) emailed me if I had had a chance to look it over, I took the opportunity to give it one more look and write up some feedback for him, which I now share with you.

Overall I think they have a very intriguing game in New Gods of Mankind. The premise is that you play a new deity as it begins to make its mark on the world and gather followers to create a cult, and thus power. At first I thought that this was along the lines of Godsend Agenda or Scion, but the fact that you actually get to play an actual deity at a period of time when such a paradigm makes sense (the game is set in this world's early bronze age, when the elder races are still strong, but humanity is starting to become a major force in the world's dynamics - in short, the perfect time for the titutlar new gods of manking to be making their power plays in order to raise their protected race, and themselves, up in influence and power) is a lot more compeling. I have a soft spot for ancient/bronze age settings, so they hooked me here, and the world they have described seems very appealing, very Hyborea-like, with all the cool pulp fantasy elements that entails. I think, actually, it's one of the books strongest points.

Playing a deity is not something that calls too me as a gamer, I do have to admit, but I must say that the character creation chapter could very well stand alone as the centerpiece of a great supplement on the creation of deities for a homebrewed campaign. It covers all the right elements to leave you with a well-rounded, complex deity to drop into your world; no cookie-cutter gods here, I assure you. Dark Skull would do well to grab this chapter out and make the supplement I suggest, because it would be of great use to a wide variety of gamers, and would help expose others to their game.

To up the cool factor once more, the book includes a chapter on playing New Gods of Mankind as a board game, effectively giving you two games in one. At $9.95 for the PDF, I think this is a great buy, even if only for the setting and deity creation material in case you're not looking for another game.

Fans of Scion and Godsend Agenda would do well to take a look at New Gods of Mankind. You're already familiar with playing a character at this level of power, and hey, why not play an actual deity instead of an avatar?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Oddly Adorable Coloring Book
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2007 00:00:00
This is a clever collection of interesting coloring pages. My kids loved the the Baby C picture, which is shown on the cover, but is also presented inside the book as a coloring page. The art is quite good, but doesn't begin until page six. Some of the lines in the art are gray while others are black, which provided for some odd looking coloring pages. Still for the "sale" price of $1.95, I'm more than happy with the purchase. The kids are pleased, too, which means that I'll be able to throw some more coloring pages at them on game night.


LIKED: The interesting pictures, in the same style as the one shown on the cover, are fun for the kids to draw. I'm not really into coloring, but I do like having something along these lines hanging in my gaming room.

DISLIKED: The page count listed in the description is a bit deceptive, since the pictures bebin on page six.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Oddly Adorable Coloring Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG