RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Gareth L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2014 01:00:48
Really nice GM screen and adventure,

Just a shame that the GM screen is presented as one long sheet equivalent to three letter-sized portrait sheets in width making it essentially impossible form most people to print off...

It's surely not too much to ask that it's presented in a usable form!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Adventure I
by David L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2014 23:17:16
First off the claim that the adventures are linked in one giant plot thread is false. Their is no real linkage and that is a good thing allowing the DM to use whichever adventures they want. Like any product consisting of multiple authors some of the adventures are good, some are mediocre and some are very very bad. Each adventure is fairly short and can be run in 2 short sessions or one long session. The only problem that is omnipresent through all adventures is that almost every adventure features a different unique monster and with one exception (brain vine) the new monsters are terrible and unnecessary and should be replaced by a similar monster of equivalent CR from whatever monster manual type books you own.

The main reason I have rated this product so highly is that it is $3.95 for 24 adventures/260 pages. If the price was higher my rating would be a lot lower, but at the current price the product is a pretty great deal.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Water
by Jack B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2014 12:48:50
As usual another great source book by AEG for L5R 4th Edition. No complaints and so happy they are releasing the PDF versions so soon after the print. Now just waiting for the Book of Void and my collection will be complete.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Water
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend of the Five Rings: Imperial Histories
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/25/2014 19:52:38
Each of the previous editions of Legend of the Five Rings was connected to a specific time period. The first edition was set before the events of the CCG. The second edition bumped the timeline to the Time of the Void. The third edition came out current with the CCG story at the time. The fourth edition opted to be timeless to allow fans to use whatever time period they wanted. This left a lot of the game’s history out of the core book. This makes the fourth edition versatile, but left out a lot of the player created history and backstory. Imperial Histories was created to fill that void.

Imperial Histories is a guide to various points in the history of Rokugan. Many of the periods have been seen in other sourcebooks or editions. Some have been referred to in historical accounts. And a few are brand new to the book. Each of these is set ups as a campaign possibility with new rules, new schools and, in some cases, modifications to the existing rules for different eras of the Empire. This book is aimed at GMs looking for campaign ideas or fans wanting historical information in one place.

Imperial Histories is available in hardcover and PDF. The book follows the same art and layout style as the Legend of the Five Rings core book. Most of the artwork is from the more recent sets of the CCG with the chapters broken up by two page spreads. Appropriate art is used where available. The book includes a sidebar talking about the time periods that don’t use accurate art. There is an index in the back. Unlike the core book PDF, neither the table of contents nor the index are hyperlinked. There are one or two repeats of art from the core book but the majority of pieces are new to the RPG line.

The chapters each detail a different period in Rokugan history. It starts with the Dawn of the Empire, when the kami walked the earth. The book also details more famous elements of history such as the first two arcs of the CCG. The Day of Thunder is when many fans of Legend of the Five Rings came into the game. It was followed by the Spirit Wars and the Four Winds saga. Each of these gets a chapter. The book rounds out with two alternate timelines. The Heroes of Rokugan illustrates a living campaign that’s been going on for years. One Thousand Years of Darkness takes place in a world where Fu Leng, the Lord of the Shadowlands was not defeated on the Day of Thunder and rules over the Emerald Empire.

Each chapter ends with mechanics relevant to the chapter. This usually means new schools, different schools or rules modifications. There are a few settings that involve gaijin, which add rules for things like firearms and non-Eastern weaponry. The rules for playing a gaijin essentially boil down to: don’t. Full rules might appear in a later book but the authors make an argument that there are plenty of other fantasy games on the market that cover that ground well.

The most compelling chapter is One Thousand Years of Darkness. This dark setting is one the fans have been waiting for. The timeline puts the players as part of the rag-tag rebels still fighting against the dark Emperor Fu Leng. This game of samurai already thrives on tough choices between duty and honor. This setting makes those choices even tougher. Fans of horror will love being desperate demon slayers as well as dark intrigues to try and save an Empire that might not be worth saving anymore.

One of the chapters not in the book is the current CCG storyline. Other storyline updates have filled entire books. Fans looking to see how the current timeline is shaping up will be disappointed. AEG has plans for a second book like this next year. Rather than just updating characters and storylines, these books could be a gateway for fans of the RPG to keep up with the CCG and fans of the CCG to try out the RPG. These camps have been separated for far too long. Not telling the ongoing story here is a missed opportunity.

The Heroes of Rokugan chapter misses in a few areas. It reads like someone’s campaign that already happened rather than a jumping off point for a new campaign. The story has some interesting elements and characters but doesn’t feel ready to run out of the book like the others. The same information can be picked up for free on the campaign website. Having it here seems like a bit of padding, especially when there are a lot of other time periods that could have fit in the book.
GMs looking for material to mine will have a lot to choose from. Things from the alternate timelines could easily make themselves seen in home games. Historical schools could be reskinned or used to make an NPC unique. There’s a ton of material here to put into any game regardless of the setting. Each chapter also has enough material for the basis of a campaign. GMs looking to run Legend of the Five Rings after a campaign or too will find the information here very useful.

Bottom Line: A great book for GMs looking for a time to set their new Legend of The Five Rings campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Imperial Histories
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legacy of Disaster
by Tahjare D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 17:09:47
I am new to l5r and this was the first glimps in to the game. I found the first section informative but lacking in details that only the rule books provide. The adventure it self was interesting and a good read. The third section with the pregenerated characters and spell description was also informative. Had I known the games mechanics I would definitely play the game.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy of Disaster
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ultimate Toolbox
by Jon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2014 21:09:38
The ultimate Toolbox is the best thing since Swiss cheese! No DM should be without it regardless of what game you are playing. i found the extensive tables helpful in my games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Toolbox
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Evil
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2014 15:47:40
To be honest, I only bought this book for one race that my friend wanted to run in my game. That being said, I did page through it, and found it to be a very useful sourcebook.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Evil
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Secrets of the Empire
by Kathleen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2014 14:14:37
Content-wise, this is a great book with lots of useful information.

On the other hand, it's a terrible pdf (like all the other AEG ones I own), as it's super slow to load. It's also 'secured' so you can't even print to a new pdf file that might be less rubbish. If other publishers can make pretty pdfs that are fast and nimble, why can't this one be too?

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Creatures of Rokugan
by Lennart B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2014 18:25:07
First, let me rate the content of this monster book. Creates of Rokugan is organised like the official d20 monster books and use the same keywords and formatting. It is intended to be used for adventures in Rokugan, the default campaign setting for Legend of the Five Rings, but is a nice addition for every game master who would like to use some oriental monster in his campaign.

Creates of Rokugan features more than a hundred new monsters, a few templates, items and sample NPCs as well as prestige classes, new magical items and rules for Tainted character that have been corrupted by the Taint of the Shadowlands. Many creatures are established creatures from Legend of the Five Rings, though some (like the tengu-like kenku) come from D&D. Most monsters are evil supernatural creatures like undead, oni and other spirits. This is alright, though, as there are enough d20 books with mundane monsters already.

The illustrations are good too excellent, but all are black-and-white, as the entire interior of the book. And sadly, this is the last positive aspect of this product.

The book was originally published in 2001 (as a physical product) while this PDF is available since 2006. This makes me wonder why it is a scan instead of an actual digital book? Did they accidentally delete the original digital files? However, this is mentioned in the RPGNow sidebar, so I knew it before I bought this product.

However, I was not informed about the absolutely abysmal quality of the scan (the preview as too short to show how miserable the scan is)! Firstly, the resolution is very low. There are no sharp edges, which means that the PDF is probably a collection of JPGs (as opposed to an image format of higher quality,). There are white lines on all sidebars which I'm sure weren't in the original prints.

Furthermore, the PDF has no hyperlinked table of contents (halfway understandable as it's a scan) and not bookmarks at all, which is simply not acceptable. An amateur with a PDF editor could add bookmarks for all the monsters in about an hour, so I expect that from an established publisher as well. Needless to say that the page numbers reflect the total page numbers of the PDF, not the ones that are actually on the page. Also, the back cover is not where it belongs but is the second page for some reason.

The OCR (optical character recognition) is unacceptable. Entire paragraphs as not selectable at all. Only black text on white background is selectable. This was scanned in 2006. That's not very long ago. Scanners back then were solid. Even the amateurish scanner I have at home delivers better results than this. Sure, I could simply OCR the PDF again, but that's not possible without cracking the file as the PDF is secured. And I'm sure not all buyers have the necessary software for that. Oh, and due to the aforementioned low resolution of the PDF, not all text is transferred correctly when copied to a text editor.

Don't buy this product. Don't support abysmal service like this.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Iam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 13:14:38
Great Book! I love that L5R has moved into a 4th edition, it is more balanced and greatly more supported and I strongly recommend it for anyone who likes role playing and samurai.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stargate SG-1: Roleplaying Game
by David K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2014 13:28:29
The biggest issue with this book is the horrible scan of the pages itself. Most of the book is either fuzzy or out of focus. You would think that AEG would provide a better scan for this book.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Stargate SG-1: Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
World's Largest Dungeon, The
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2014 16:23:05
I'd like to give this product a better review but when I pay $40 for a PDF dealing with something called the World's Largest Dungeon and there are absolutely ZERO bookmarks all I can say is WTF? And the maps? They don't line up leaving huge gaps when you print them out.

If the technical issues are addressed with the PDFs and Maps I'll review based on actual content. But for me the technical issues are deal breakers.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
World's Largest Dungeon, The
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Secrets of the Empire
by Jeremy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 12:45:55
Recently purchaced this and was not disapointed. The history of the minor clans realy needed to be told and this did it nicely. Was not expecting to much in game mechanics but I was pleasently suprised with the Ronin/Bushi School and the Minor Clan Heritage Table (This was needed). With the new school the Minor Clans that have no listed Bushi School, like the Moshi, can have clan Samurai without having to take different school.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Secrets of the Empire
by Jack B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 12:25:14
Love this book. Like all of AEG's books it is beautiful and PDFs are so nice to read on a tablet or large phone. The art, layout, and even filler fiction is as always excellent.

This book fills in so many holes in the material relased thus far. It makes playing Minor Clans, Ronin, and Monks a much more rewarding experience.

The whole section at the end about the Realms opens up alot avenues to creative GMs. If you are playing/GMing a Kitsune or a Kitsu this section is a must.

Given the poor binding quality of Alderac's physical books, these PDFs have been a life saver. I hope the publisher continues to release the PDF books so quickly after the physical book release.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend of the Five Rings: Strongholds of the Empire
by John Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2013 11:38:25
An excellent source of information to help those GM's who need information to set the background of their stories. This source book was a big very help to me in understanding how different clans run their unique cities and holds within them. The most useful was the write up on Toshi Ranbo itself along with complete stat layouts of several of the most notable NPCs there. The icing on the book itself was the additional game mechanics included at the end of each chapter and the layout of each city as an individual chapter. The only bad thing I can say about this book are the misprinted game mechanics in some sections. Excellent read and a must for GM's and Players alike!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Strongholds of the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 180 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG