RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Explorer's Society
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2009 23:08:29

For a dead product line, I really enjoyed the Explorer Society book. The Roll and Keep is a good system, and I enjoy the 7th Sea storyline. Well, other than the parts involving aliens. Thankfully, the Explorer Society delves into the "atlantean" technologies without bringing aliens into my fantasy.


I'm one of those players (and GMs) who likes to bring as much of the game as I can to life, so when I started using proper Explorer Society lingo in the game, and it caught on, well, that's just more buy in.


If you're playing the Seventh Sea, I greatly encourage you to play a member of The Explorer Society, and this book will help you out a great deal.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Explorer's Society
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strongholds and Hideouts
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2008 23:44:42

Its an awesome resource for knowing where the good guys and bad guys hang out. It lets you get into the thinking process of such characters to know where they picked their lairs and why. Its a great supplement for any GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strongholds and Hideouts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroes, Villains & Monsters
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2008 23:42:21

you get to know face to face with the worlds most famous and infamous characters both human and not.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes, Villains & Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Explorer's Society
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2008 23:39:23

Brings out the explorer part in this age, the first or pre encounters with aliens and the supernatural in the known lands of Theah. Allows the pcs to interact with more of a traditional role playing fantasy genre from time to time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Explorer's Society
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rapier's Edge: Adventures in Théah
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2008 23:35:30

whole boat load of fun even on shore with these encounters and story arcs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rapier's Edge: Adventures in Théah
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
by Robert J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2008 23:11:46

Waiting to down load. I would realy like RPG and am waiting to dowm load.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creatures of Rokugan
by Marcus G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2008 09:59:48

Good information on various creatures. These creatures are specific to the mystic nature of Rokugan.


The organization is simple, the art work is ok, character description is relatively thorough. Pick this book up if you want to add a little flare to your game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Islands of Gold: The Midnight Archipelago
by Brent M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2008 17:48:08

Oh man, there's so much good information in here, and so many good ideas that it's hard to know where to start. If a GM were to design a New World for sailors to explore, they should look no farther than the ideas in this book. There may be reprinted material (Straits of Blood), but it's all good. The other strange thing I discovered about these Swashbuckling Adventure books (as opposed to the old school 7th Sea) is that they seemed to have been made in a hurry...this book, Explorer Society and Cathay all had a huge amount of typos. Still, great book full of great ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Islands of Gold: The Midnight Archipelago
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City of Lies Box Set
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2008 14:16:35

It writer even says that he wanted to put together a box set that you could game in for the next couple of years and not have to buy anything else. All pre Clan War.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Lies Box Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2008 14:13:46

This is the least helpful of the pre clan war books but is great for adding flavor or moving away from Shadowlands or court stuff. If you want to add impending doom to a 1st ed game, get it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Way of the Scorpion
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2008 08:07:57

This is the coolest clan book ever. If you want to really see how to play, not just scorpion, but anyone who may have to lead honor driven people around in any setting....this is the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Way of the Scorpion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Way of the Crane
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2008 08:04:57

This is needed for for any pre clan war setting . Its also a good read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Way of the Crane
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings (1st edition)
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2008 20:46:20

I want everyone to know that L5R is the single most challenging RPG out there. It has a quick kill dice system. It has a dueling system that feels more like a high stakes poker game than a simple hack/slash system. It has a system for large scale battles that keeps a GM from saying there are 500 goblins, roll initative. It has a developed culture that makes you choose your words at every turn, including to other players. If you are serious about roleplaying over roll playing, download this game and all its source books. If you are an white wolf fan but thinks its getting a little arcade like, if you play d&d but find yourself just writing the toughest pc possible, if you want to just pick up a game that is a good read, L5R happens to be one of the few games that gets things right.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings (1st edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lost King
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2008 22:53:53

The premise and general structure of this adventure is nice and fun. But now that I've run most of it for my gaming group, I see that there are several fairly serious plot flaws that weren't caught.


For example, there's pretty much only one way to really fully complete the main quest and that is - according to the module - to use Speak with Animals to talk to a key creature the adventuring party encounters. But the creature the PCs have to talk to isn't an animal, so the spell wouldn't actually work.


There are several cases like this, where the module contradicts what's written in the basic D&D books. But for the most part, you can improvise your way around these problems, and the story itself is good and fun. My players were surprised by one particular plot twist, which is always a good sign. And the price can't be beat!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost King
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stargate SG-1: Roleplaying Game
by Ian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2008 06:47:42

Having enjoyed the TV series, I was excited when I noticed this product on the shelves of DriveThruRPG and was quick to purchase. I'm not disappointed by the content. The d20 implementation is well done, with the Wounds/Vitality game mechanic used for combat. There is also a wealth of background material for the SG-1 setting. The review of the game residing at RPGnet is excellent and covers the game content well: htt-
p://www.rpg.net/reviews/archive/10/10809.phtml


Specifically to this PDF version, I'm afraid it's not to the quality I've come to expect from DriveThruRPG. The PDF is a scanned image rather than a publication created from the original typesetting material. The image format results in a large file size, a whopping 88Mb. There are clearly visible track marks from the scanner down the pages. These are especially noticeable on pages including images where the darker background highlights the lines. The image quality is also not as crisp as a PDF published from the original material, some of the text being slightly out of focus and fuzzy. Again, this is more noticeable where there is a background to the text. Several pages are not quite square to the page sides, where the page has slipped as it has gone through the scanner. This is especially evident on pages 436 and 448 of the PDF.


All in all, an excellent d20 product let down by quality issues in the PDF version.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stargate SG-1: Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 185 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG