RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2008 05:37:25
overall the product is very close to the original.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Four Winds
by Steven L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2007 19:57:15
I would highly approve of this product I think it was very well done.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Four Winds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Against the Barrow King
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2007 03:00:59
A good little adventure that can be adapted easily to almost any setting and dropped into an existing campaign or used as a sidequest - I was able to drop it into a Forgotten Realms campaign after about 15 minutes work. A few minor problems with incomplete stat blocks and the odd spelling error, but nothing that can't be tweaked easily.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Barrow King
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dead Man's Cove
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2007 21:58:39
Thanks Kelly for the review, it convinced me to buy. This was quick,and easy to run. It was also easily adaptable. Players enjoyed it and were able to finish it easily in one session. Of course that can vary. For the money this is more than worth it

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Man's Cove
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rokugan
by Scott G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2007 19:35:44
I am very disappointed with the quality of this PDF of the book. It looks as if it was a scan of a bad photocopy of the book! There are numerous fades in the text throughout the book. I cannot believe that Alderac would have sent something like this out to be sold. Which is a shame because I was getting this to replace a copy of the same book I had in paper format a few years ago but lost in a natural disaster. I hope in the future Drive Thru will do a better copy of checking the product before taking in a PDF for sale.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Guilds
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2007 19:38:10
For someone looking to build convincing detail in their urban setting, GUILDS is a marvelous tool. Historical background, fundamental guild types, new NPC classes to enhance specialization, as well as the one-three page descriptions of various guilds stimulate the imagination. Would not recommend for PC consumption, unless playing a high-level urban campaign. As with any good support document GUILDS provides a few new magic items, a few new prestige classes and a couple of unexpected monsters.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guilds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eisen
by Brent M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2007 06:28:34
I believe this book got three stars from somebody who ought to be locked up (and perhaps have torture inflicted upon them). I'm not here to give you all the reasons to buy this book. If you play 7thSea, you know it's essential.

I wanted to post a review here in case you don't know what makes 7thSea my favorite game of all time.

1) Drama Dice. You get dice in order to try things out of your character's ordinary reach. In short: be dramatic.

2) Cinematic style of play: Nothing is better than watching your friends swing from chandeliers or jump and fight between two out of control carriages. You can just about imagine every Swashbuckling movie in terms of 7th Sea's style of play.

3) Character Backgrounds and Arcana: These unresolved stories and Personality quirks give the GM all kinds of fun ways in order to get characters to fall in love with each other, avenge their relatives' deaths, foil their rivals every step of the way, and/or do the unthinkable in order to free themselves from horrific debts.

4) Brute Squads. This ought to be self explanatory...but how many times have you watched the heroes bowl their way through dozens of expendable extras before getting to the real deal?

5) Familiar Setting. The setting for the game is a brilliant twist on 1600's Europe, with all sorts of curious dramas from all eras of Europe's history. There are scheming Cardinals, Zorro figures, Emperors with power trips, Queens with privateer armadas, and Ivan the Terrible.

6) There are pirates. That's just awesome in and of itself.

7) There's some magic too, for those of you bent on wielding lightning, or teleporting, or bringing yourself back from the dead.

8) The system is simple enough to learn in a few hours, yet there is enough depth to character generation (and the host of other optional systems) to make it playable for multiple years.

I've had some of the best creative fun of my life playing this game. You might also.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eisen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Servants of the Blood Moon
by jerry s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2007 00:00:00
Having a module that can be dropped into an existing campaign without much work is always helpful to a busy DM. I have only read it through at this point, but I will definitely use it in future campaigns


LIKED: Short, but with a good story that can be expanded on or used as is.

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Servants of the Blood Moon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
That Which Does Not Die
by Collin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2007 00:00:00
Great adventure. I used this as the basis for an Eberron adventure scenario for first-time players in that setting and it worked quite well. Mystery, intrigue, and the supernatural - it's all there.


LIKED: Good plot. Gave me the basics I needed.

DISLIKED: Written in a very linear fashion without any thought into other possible alternatives for players to choose along the way.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
That Which Does Not Die
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Caravan City of Azul
by Steven v. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2007 00:00:00
A nice little design for a caravan city to stick in your existing city to add some mystery and intrigue.


LIKED: A great add on feature for a city. Cheap

DISLIKED: There is an annoying fade out line that runs through the whole product. It doesn't actually hide any information, it's just distracting. So I guess that would be a poor "photocopy." Again, the pages are not quite in order due to it being a pamphlet, but I guess if you print it out and fold it properly it would be good. Will need to update to 3.5

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Caravan City of Azul
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
That Which Does Not Die
by Steven v. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2007 00:00:00
A good mini adventure to stick in between adventures while the players are in a city.


LIKED: A good short, one night adventure that can be scary. Cheap.

DISLIKED: Will need to update to 3.5 rules. Since it is like a pamphlet, the pages aren't necessarily in proper order. (IE: pages 1 and 16 are on the same overall page and so forth.)

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
That Which Does Not Die
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
by Brent K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2007 16:15:31
Amazing system. If you want a good asian setting with thorough research then this is a good buy. My friends and I have played this game for a year now and haven't had any real problems.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eisen
by john s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2007 20:07:35
Once again 7th sea has produced a well written, detailed addition to their game world.

And once again they have fallen into the three part folly that extends through out this game.

Problem 1) The writing is fine--but there is simply too much of it. The backgrounds are extensive--too extensive for myself and my players. I am simply not opging to ask them to read a book each time they roll up a character. The world is fascinating but reallty write the noivel for pity's sake and get on with it.

Problem 2) TGHe adventures are poorly written. Giving me the mysterious outline of seventeen characters is fantastic--the detail is once again very nice--now give me something to do with them. The whole concept of leaving the idea open ended isn't quite as cute as the authors hope for. Give me a beginning a middle and an end--I don';t have as much time as the creators to be "immersing" myself in a days long character study. Adventure--beginning--middle ---end---oh and whiole the City maps are really spectacular--how about something smaller and plot driven--

Problem 3) This -"oh I know you bought this book but wait for a future supplement to actually see what the mystery is all about is insulting and , frankly, the most mercenary little trick I've seen in a while. Have a little respect for your customers folks--when they pay to see the maguffin--you had better show the maguffin...give the stats--tell the whole story and let your customers decide what works for them.

Here's a hint-when you publish it--you have to let the reins slip a little bit.

So last purchase from this comapny for a while.

It's sumptuous--but ultimately sound and fury signifying nothing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eisen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Swashbuckling Adventures
by Raymond H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2007 18:42:18
If you like pirates, and are a fan of the d20 roleplayig system, then this book is an excellent resource. The world of Theah is brilliantly pieced together. As for the quality of the download, the scans are fairly well done, although some of the OCR text is a little off.
Unfortunately, there are a number pages missing from the document. I would recomend buying it elswhere.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Swashbuckling Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Blood on White Petals
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/19/2007 07:38:51
An RPG Resource Review:

Blood on White Petals is a short scenario - designed for an evening's play - in AEG's Adventure Keep series. With a decidedly oriental feel, it is best run in an oriental setting - else the 'traditions' that the characters are being asked to uphold would be decidedly bizarre if not baffling to them, and much of the dramatic tension would be lost.

The scenario opens with a succinct background for the DM, explaining about the silk-rich Caotang province and the politics that have been going on, and the black arts practiced by the current magistrate of Caotang villiage... and the results when the local peasants discovered what he was up to. This is why you need to be using an oriental setting: peasants revolting against an unjust lord would not raise many eyebrows in a conventional mediaeval/fantasy setting.

The adventure itself opens with the characters arriving in the vicinity of Caotang village. Why they are there is left to the DM to decide - perhaps the scenario is to be dropped in as a 'side adventure' while the characters think they are about something else entirely.

Once the characters have encountered the devastated peasants - who quite naturally expect only death for having slain their magistrate - it will be up to them to figure out what has been going on. As the magistrate was killed while in the process of summoning and binding a demon, the demon is now attempting to break free - it needs to kill the remaining children of the villiage to be able to manifest permanently; so the characters will have to search a nearby monastery where the ritual had been taking place, fight off any number of animated corpses and items set upon them by a very wily, not to say desperate demon, figure out where the remaining children are hidden and slay the demon when it manifests briefly to devour one...

A simple and straightforward adventure, but with sufficient investigation to keep the characters thinking as well as fighting. Presentation is good, including a nice map of the monastery, but more attention should have been paid to proofreading as several spelling and grammatical errors have slipped through. It would be a good adventure for low-level characters to establish a minor reputation in this particular area.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood on White Petals
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 136 to 150 (of 180 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG