RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Art of the Duel
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2009 10:58:10
Art of the Duel is a highly focused supplement to the Legend of the Five Rings RPG. As the name suggests, this book gives all sorts of background on the dueling traditions of Rokugan. However, it doesn't just stick with the familiar Iaijitsu and Taryu-jiai from previous editions, but goes beyond, showcasing dozens of styles of competitions with full rules.

While most of the game text and the new schools are geared towards duels or games, that by no means restricts them. Included are some fantastic character options for most builds. Do yourself a favor and check this out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of the Duel
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warlords of the Accordlands: The Master Codex
by Joshua S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2009 09:40:06
This is an amazing book, the classes are well designed (though not necessarilly well balanced) and the races are departures from the stereotypical norms. Class / Race abilities are amazing. For someone who likes D&D 3.0 or 3.5 this book is a blast.

The other reviewer says that this is an almost unreadable scan, I disagree, I haven't had any problem with reading it. Some of the pages were at a bit of an angle when it was scanned in, however it is readable without any difficulty.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warlords of the Accordlands: The Master Codex
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Way of the Crane
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2009 14:23:18
My review isn't about the material of the book. The material is excellent; one of the better clan books in the series. My review is about the quality of the scanned PDF; there are many pages that the edges are cut off and not a just a few letters here and there, but chunks of artwork and full words. Some of the pages are crystal clear and some are fuzzy, but not impossible to read. In addition, this book like the rest in the Five Rings series is not bookmarked in any fashion, just a scan of the book presented "as is."

If like me, you wanted a PDF copy for review for your games, then this is good buy for the price as long as you are willing to overlook the many errors. I have to say that I am dissappointed that Alderac has not devoted the time and effort to release one of their premiere games in higher quality PDF form.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Way of the Crane
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sundered Faith
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/06/2009 05:38:49
This adventure is an urban interlude, which should be run when the characters are in a large town about other business. The town needs to be big enough to have organised government and a sewer system... because the former wants the latter cleaned up!

It appears that recently some sewer workers were slain while cleaning up after a recent earthquake, and the 'city fathers' want to hire some adventurers to deal with the problem. If the characters don't take heed, it is suggested that some of the undead who are actually causing the problems pop up out of the sewers and attack passers-by or even the characters themselves until they do do something about it!

The adventure itself is a fairly straightforward 'dungeon bash' with a few twists - being a sewer it is very cramped - a 5-foot diameter circular tube, which will cause problems for both tall characters and anyone using a weapon that needs to be swung for full effect. The place is heaving with undead too, as the earthquake opened a way to a long-lost evil temple hidden in the bowels of the earth. The undead are enthusiastically coming out to infest the sewers and the city above. Worse, the temple is resistant to the usual magic that adventurers tend to employ - turning undead doesn't work as well as normal, and healing spells are also diminished in potency.

Although there's occasional mention of 'filth' and 'foulness' the fact that sewers are dirty, disease-ridden places is by and large ignored. You might wish to add a few choice diseases, and get characters to make Fortitude saves to avoid retching at the stench! The descriptions do not really bring over the feeling of claustrophobia that a small, dark tunnel ought to either - but perhaps adventurers are made of sterner stuff and don't mind such enclosed spaces...

Possibly worth dropping in as an interlude if your characters are wandering around a suitable town without much to do, especially if they enjoy dungeon-crawl fighting adventures.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sundered Faith
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Magic of Rokugan
by Don W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2009 22:41:05
Not bad if all you want is extra magic for Shugenza....

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Magic of Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
by Alan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2009 05:43:48
Having longed to try this game for years, I finally get the chance to own it and hopefully try it with a group of fellow roleplayers. Sadly my joy at getting a bargain in the recent GM Day, was quickly shattered after looking at the PDF.

For those complaining of poor quality, my first advice is don't use Adobe. The pages look fuzzy and out of focus, which is nothing to do with the PDF; I tried a free PDF reader and got clear, crispy pages.

The main reason this is a disappointment, is the laziness of the people who created this PDF. There are no bookmarks in this PDF, so to look for anything you need to search or go from page to page. Using a free PDF reader, I have already added my own bookmarks to this PDF. I can also arrange the pages into an order that makes character creation, so much easier; then going back and forth between hundreds of pages; i.e. from the Clans at the front to the back for the Schools to the middle for the Attributes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FarScape Roleplaying Game
by Francisco J. B. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2009 13:07:26
A great buy due to the GM Day (horray for us, guys!), this is a nice d20 (DnD 3.0 players handbook required, mind you) take on the well-loved if short-lived series. The only problem I see with it is that it's a scan of the actual book, so that means it is a bit on the heavy side (95 or so Mb), and that the text is not that clear. There's also the issue about the layout using an unconventional two colum format that gets a bit hard to get used to, or for some other it might get a wee bit hard to read after a while.

All in all, the spirit of the series is captured and there's no need to buy anything to flesh out your campaign as all the relevant information is in there, presented in concise, organized and useful manner.

It would definitely be a five-star product if only the quality of the file could be improved, but if you had any interest in the series or like Space-Opera settings, this is a really good buy and almost as steal at the sales price.

LIKED: The quality of the informations.

DISLIKED: The overall quality of the scans. To a lesser degree, the unconventional page layout.

OVERALL: Satisfied with the product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FarScape Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Players' Guide
by James K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2009 12:06:49
Fun game, but the rules take a little getting used to if you've been raised on the basics.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Players' Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stargate SG-1: First Steps
by Ian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2009 13:14:42
This review applies to the recently updated version of the PDF.

The First Steps book contains a wealth of original material for the SG-1 game, ten new worlds to explore each described in detail. There are new alien and near-human races, new skills and new feats to go with these worlds.

The PDF is a scanned image of the book, rather than a publication created from the original typesetting material. The image format results in a large file size.

The tracking lines, evident in the previous version available here, have now gone. The image quality is much better than the previous version as well. The missing pages, pages 77 and 80, have made it in to the new scan.

A much better version of the PDF making this a good purchase for the SG-1 game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stargate SG-1: First Steps
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Explorer's Society
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2009 23:08:29
For a dead product line, I really enjoyed the Explorer Society book. The Roll and Keep is a good system, and I enjoy the 7th Sea storyline. Well, other than the parts involving aliens. Thankfully, the Explorer Society delves into the "atlantean" technologies without bringing aliens into my fantasy.

I'm one of those players (and GMs) who likes to bring as much of the game as I can to life, so when I started using proper Explorer Society lingo in the game, and it caught on, well, that's just more buy in.

If you're playing the Seventh Sea, I greatly encourage you to play a member of The Explorer Society, and this book will help you out a great deal.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Explorer's Society
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strongholds and Hideouts
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2008 23:44:42
Its an awesome resource for knowing where the good guys and bad guys hang out. It lets you get into the thinking process of such characters to know where they picked their lairs and why. Its a great supplement for any GM.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strongholds and Hideouts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroes, Villains & Monsters
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2008 23:42:21
you get to know face to face with the worlds most famous and infamous characters both human and not.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes, Villains & Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Explorer's Society
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2008 23:39:23
Brings out the explorer part in this age, the first or pre encounters with aliens and the supernatural in the known lands of Theah. Allows the pcs to interact with more of a traditional role playing fantasy genre from time to time.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Explorer's Society
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rapier's Edge: Adventures in Théah
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2008 23:35:30
whole boat load of fun even on shore with these encounters and story arcs

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rapier's Edge: Adventures in Théah
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
by Robert J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2008 23:11:46
Waiting to down load. I would realy like RPG and am waiting to dowm load.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 210 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG