RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Creatures of Rokugan
by Marcus G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2008 09:59:48

Good information on various creatures. These creatures are specific to the mystic nature of Rokugan.


The organization is simple, the art work is ok, character description is relatively thorough. Pick this book up if you want to add a little flare to your game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City of Lies Box Set
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2008 14:16:35

It writer even says that he wanted to put together a box set that you could game in for the next couple of years and not have to buy anything else. All pre Clan War.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Lies Box Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2008 14:13:46

This is the least helpful of the pre clan war books but is great for adding flavor or moving away from Shadowlands or court stuff. If you want to add impending doom to a 1st ed game, get it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Way of the Scorpion
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2008 08:07:57

This is the coolest clan book ever. If you want to really see how to play, not just scorpion, but anyone who may have to lead honor driven people around in any setting....this is the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Way of the Scorpion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Way of the Crane
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2008 08:04:57

This is needed for for any pre clan war setting . Its also a good read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Way of the Crane
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings (1st edition)
by joshua b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2008 20:46:20

I want everyone to know that L5R is the single most challenging RPG out there. It has a quick kill dice system. It has a dueling system that feels more like a high stakes poker game than a simple hack/slash system. It has a system for large scale battles that keeps a GM from saying there are 500 goblins, roll initative. It has a developed culture that makes you choose your words at every turn, including to other players. If you are serious about roleplaying over roll playing, download this game and all its source books. If you are an white wolf fan but thinks its getting a little arcade like, if you play d&d but find yourself just writing the toughest pc possible, if you want to just pick up a game that is a good read, L5R happens to be one of the few games that gets things right.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings (1st edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lost King
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2008 22:53:53

The premise and general structure of this adventure is nice and fun. But now that I've run most of it for my gaming group, I see that there are several fairly serious plot flaws that weren't caught.


For example, there's pretty much only one way to really fully complete the main quest and that is - according to the module - to use Speak with Animals to talk to a key creature the adventuring party encounters. But the creature the PCs have to talk to isn't an animal, so the spell wouldn't actually work.


There are several cases like this, where the module contradicts what's written in the basic D&D books. But for the most part, you can improvise your way around these problems, and the story itself is good and fun. My players were surprised by one particular plot twist, which is always a good sign. And the price can't be beat!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost King
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stargate SG-1: Roleplaying Game
by Ian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2008 06:47:42

Having enjoyed the TV series, I was excited when I noticed this product on the shelves of DriveThruRPG and was quick to purchase. I'm not disappointed by the content. The d20 implementation is well done, with the Wounds/Vitality game mechanic used for combat. There is also a wealth of background material for the SG-1 setting. The review of the game residing at RPGnet is excellent and covers the game content well: htt-
p://www.rpg.net/reviews/archive/10/10809.phtml


Specifically to this PDF version, I'm afraid it's not to the quality I've come to expect from DriveThruRPG. The PDF is a scanned image rather than a publication created from the original typesetting material. The image format results in a large file size, a whopping 88Mb. There are clearly visible track marks from the scanner down the pages. These are especially noticeable on pages including images where the darker background highlights the lines. The image quality is also not as crisp as a PDF published from the original material, some of the text being slightly out of focus and fuzzy. Again, this is more noticeable where there is a background to the text. Several pages are not quite square to the page sides, where the page has slipped as it has gone through the scanner. This is especially evident on pages 436 and 448 of the PDF.


All in all, an excellent d20 product let down by quality issues in the PDF version.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stargate SG-1: Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2008 05:37:25

overall the product is very close to the original.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Four Winds
by Steven L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2007 19:57:15

I would highly approve of this product I think it was very well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Four Winds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Against the Barrow King
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2007 03:00:59

A good little adventure that can be adapted easily to almost any setting and dropped into an existing campaign or used as a sidequest - I was able to drop it into a Forgotten Realms campaign after about 15 minutes work. A few minor problems with incomplete stat blocks and the odd spelling error, but nothing that can't be tweaked easily.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Barrow King
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dead Man's Cove
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2007 21:58:39

Thanks Kelly for the review, it convinced me to buy. This was quick,and easy to run. It was also easily adaptable. Players enjoyed it and were able to finish it easily in one session. Of course that can vary. For the money this is more than worth it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Man's Cove
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rokugan
by Scott G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2007 19:35:44

I am very disappointed with the quality of this PDF of the book. It looks as if it was a scan of a bad photocopy of the book! There are numerous fades in the text throughout the book. I cannot believe that Alderac would have sent something like this out to be sold. Which is a shame because I was getting this to replace a copy of the same book I had in paper format a few years ago but lost in a natural disaster. I hope in the future Drive Thru will do a better copy of checking the product before taking in a PDF for sale.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guilds
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2007 19:38:10

For someone looking to build convincing detail in their urban setting, GUILDS is a marvelous tool. Historical background, fundamental guild types, new NPC classes to enhance specialization, as well as the one-three page descriptions of various guilds stimulate the imagination. Would not recommend for PC consumption, unless playing a high-level urban campaign. As with any good support document GUILDS provides a few new magic items, a few new prestige classes and a couple of unexpected monsters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guilds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Servants of the Blood Moon
by jerry s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2007 00:00:00

Having a module that can be dropped into an existing campaign without much work is always helpful to a busy DM. I have only read it through at this point, but I will definitely use it in future campaigns<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Short, but with a good story that can be expanded on or used as is.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Servants of the Blood Moon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 177 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG