RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
7th Sea: Players' Guide
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2011 11:04:40
Great book. Some space is wasted on gaming stories but the book is good overall

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Players' Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brave New World
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2011 16:36:01
I purchased the hardcover print edition of this book. In regards to the printing, the pages seemed a little thin for my liking, but the cover was very nice and the book was very well bound. I have no complaints there.

As far as the game goes, the setting is phenomenal! It stimulates my imagination as I read through the book and myriads of stories and scenes pop into my head, just waiting to be seen in a game! If only for the setting, alone, this book is way worth getting.

The system leaves much to be desired. It appears to be a version of Savage Worlds, but without the good things I love about SW. The character generation options are confusing and the rules are a bit more complex that I feel they need to be. The char gen options are also rather limited. I'm sure there are people who will love the system, but I'm not one of them.

All in all, this book is worth it! If you want to play in a world of dark heroes, where the criminals are the good-guys and the superheroes are on the run, this is the game for you!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Brave New World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Brave New World
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2011 16:59:21
Brave New World is a simple, elegant system. The d6 dice pool mechanic works well and drives the combat forward quickly so players can get back to the really juicy stuff...the narrative.
Brave New World's setting is an ever expanding collection of mysteries and moral ambiguities that are just plain fun to read, let alone play. Matt Forbeck's style is more like an entertaining history read rather than plowing through a straight rulebook. Makes getting through the rules that much easier as you really want to get to the revealed mysteries in the back of each book. Great stuff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Red Isle
by Roy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2011 22:56:24
The adventure its self is a good one shot or could be dropped into a exisiting campaign easily, but the scan is not in order. The pages alternate between the first and last pasges of the original in a way that makes reading it a pain a refrencing it akward.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Red Isle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tomb of the Overseers
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/16/2011 12:16:18
This adventure is pretty much a dungeon crawl, although neatly dressed up with a backstory which makes it easy to provide suitable introductory events to round it out into a full scenario or to weave this little jaunt into an ongoing campaign. Alternatively, the backstory could be read out as a summary if you plan on running this adventure as a one-off game.

As provided, the adventurers are standing on the threshold of the Tomb of the Overseers, ready to go in. The map is laid out clearly, a bit linear... but such is the way of tombs of this sort (just look at the archaeological record!); with good succinct descriptions and notes on what you will find in each chamber. With a couple of exceptions, all monsters encountered are just that - something with which to do combat. The exceptions are pretty constrained in what they'll do, but should at least give those characters who like to talk rather than fight some opportunity to do so.

There is a distinct tendency for this adventure to be merely a mechanical puzzle-solving, monster fighting and item collection exercise, but this fits well in this instance because of the nature of the mission that the characters have been given. However, if there is a reason why the Big Bad Evil Guy at the end is actually there, it's not stated: however, he is the reason that the characters will want to collect all the handy items scattered around the place, so it is worth scavenging them all up!

Assuming the characters do defeat him, they will be able to complete their task, and there's even a note about follow-on events, although you will have to flesh them out for yourself... potential to kick-start a whole campaign if the ideas appeal.

An interesting note is that this adventure was published very early in the life of D&D 3e, and many of the monsters given cursory descriptions here appeared in later monster books - you may wish to track them down and so flesh the monsters out a bit before you run the adventure. But there's sufficient here to run them without, especially as they are there as combat-fodder rather than true encounters.

Overall, what seems to be a basic dungeon-bash actually has a bit more to it, if you wish to make use of it within a broader context, else if a quick fight through a small dungeon is what you need to fill an evening, this will do very nicely. Worth having around, for those nights when someone's missing or nobody feels like heavy role-play and ongoing plot arcs.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Overseers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legacy of Disaster
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2011 15:52:58
This pdf was made available for free, which is definitely a shame, as I would have been extremely happy with my purchase had I spent money on it. This module is ready to go, no NPC creation necessary. It deftly handles multiple paths a group of samurai handling this adventure might take, written out like a mini "choose your own adventure" for STs. I have never read a module and immediately felt comfortable with the thought of running it without making some kind of change, but this did not need any. I truly hope AEG makes more of these, and I will purchase any that they make.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy of Disaster
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Winter Court: Kyuden Seppun
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2011 09:50:29
This book is nothing but general setting info, often repeated from other L5R sources, most of which in no way pertains to a court setting. I purchased this in hopes of better understanding how a traditional Winter Court would flow, a topic strangely absent from this book. The book did give me noteworthy NPCs (for the time period) and a map of Kyuden Seppun, but I am no closer to understanding the schedule of events or traditions of an actual court in Rokugan. This is the first L5R book I have purchased and later felt cheated.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Winter Court: Kyuden Seppun
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wilds
by Lorinc P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2010 14:57:15
The content is okay, but the poor quality of scanning makes it hard to read on-screen and impossible to print.
Not recommended.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Don L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2010 20:57:49
I have a problem with the way it was scanned. I would like to print this off but as it is scanned now, it is difficult to do. I have tried using GIMP but I have not figured out how to divide it into easily printed sizes.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/19/2010 05:20:09
Third and Fourth Edition of L5R herald a return to the 'Roll & Keep' system that is long overdue after the debacle that was D20 L5R.
The system is excellent in conveying the flavour of the setting - one of heroism and epic deeds and is well-married to a rich, deep setting. The setting - a quasi-historical fantasy Japan - that offers a myriad of role-playing styles and opportunities. You want a game focused on ninja assassinations? Fine. How about a high-intrigue court game with an intense social setting? Done. How about a tragic game of honour, loss and epic battle? Check.

This is not 'AD&D with katanas'. It is a game where the social setting, etiquette, customs and culture come to the fore and the 'kewl powers' take a definite backseat. It is a setting where your characters see definite advancement and it is not always measured in dice and stats.

I'd recommend two other items to go with this purchase - the free module 'Legacy of Disaster' to get you started, and the novels. Whilst the latter are not brilliantly written (very standard gaming novel fare), but they do evoke the setting and advance the timeline very well.

On this note, the backstory is quite well-developed and tied to the events in the card game's continuity, but don't let this discourage you - it makes for entertaining reading and you can ignore almost all of it in any campaign.

In short, if you are after a fantasy game with a little more substance and a very different feel, this will fit the bill.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legacy of Disaster
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/16/2010 19:40:53
The question I have to ask about this product is:

Why hasn't everyone with an internet connection downloaded this?

Take everything I like about L5R, put it in an easy-to-play package, and you've got Legacy of Disaster. Granted, there's a lot you can do with more, but if you wanna give the system a quick spin, this is perfect for you.

This is like a slice of cake: There's still more out there, but it's really, really good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy of Disaster
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/16/2010 19:09:15
There's one thing you know for certain when you look at anything related to L5R. High quality.

That's all I can say about the GM screen and Descent into Darkness.

Top notch art, top notch writing.

While the $9 may be a lot for a GM Screen, if you play L5R, this is a must-have, and the included adventure provides a great stepping point for a campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Castle Zadrian
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/11/2010 11:48:09
The premise of the adventure is simple: an alchemist with more money than sense has disappeared and his adoring wife is prepared to part with a goodly chunk of his wealth to get him back. What adventurer worth the name could possibly refuse?

The DM's introduction explains succinctly what the problem really is, and then settles down to set the scene in detail. The missing alchemist lived in a country castle (I did say he was well-off...) with a nearby village: there's loads of information to enable you to run the castle and village well, but without constraining you as to just where or in what country it is, so it can be located wherever convenient within your campaign world. There is quite a bit of information to pick up in the village, should the characters be prepared to go and ask... and then on to the castle itself, easily found about four miles away within thick forest.

The castle rooms are clearly described and, given the underlying rationale for what's actually happened to the alchemist, logical - although until the characters deduce just what has taken place, quite baffling. There are opportunities for those characters who like to work things out and for whom combat is not the only way of interacting with everyone you meet in the 'dungeon' part of an adventure, but plenty of scope to exercise the sword arm and practise offensive spellcasting as well: a nice balance. Provided that the characters make their way through the castle, they can find out where and how to set things aright... and of course there's a good final conflict scene in which they have the opportunity to do just that.

This is a neat little adventure, which should occupy an evening's play - perhaps an interlude when characters are travelling, or an opportunity to top up their funds with a bit of honest adventuring if finaces are low. Unless a wizard gets fascinated by the alchemist's work, there is not much, however, to build on: complete the adventure and move on. Hence it could serve as a 'one-off' game if required.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Zadrian
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stargate SG-1: Roleplaying Game
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/06/2010 15:01:29
I'm a huge Stargate fanboy, so this was a must-have for me. However, I found that I couldn't read it for extended periods of time due to the low quality of the scan. It is a scanned copy and there are track marks on the pages and the text is a bit fuzzy sometimes, making my eyes strain. The background information is wonderful, as well as the in depth look of the SGC. However, the number of options, while making for great choices during character creation can be a bit overwhelming.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stargate SG-1: Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
7th Sea: Players' Guide
by arthur p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2010 10:24:42
Beautiful layout and easy to read. I loved the way that the artwork really set the tone of the game. The concept of ‘swashbucklers and sorcery’ with a more gritty feel is clever and well done.

The rules mechanic seemed simple and payable, but unusual for those unfamiliar (it comes with a learning curve) with it with some odd things like ships rated in character attributes. I found the ‘stuff’ side of the universe a little light on the ‘enchantment’ side – spell casters but no magic swords, flying characters but no magic ships, etc.

Four stars for an innovative concept, well executed.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Players' Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 182 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG