RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Outpost
by Joseph S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2014 20:28:45
Very easy to assemble, and wonderful to look at. A very highly recommended model to add to any RPG or War game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outpost
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
58 Dungeons 36 Castles (AoV: Campaign Map Set Value Pack)
by Charles H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2014 17:11:42
I just picked this up and I am pleasantly surprised with the depth and quantity of material provided with the maps to use in my 1st edition adventuring. The publishers key is built in a way that the GM can see at a glance the specifics of a trap or door. The publisher has gone to great depth to provided samples to showcase exactly what one is buying. I gave it a good review, because it is exactly as advertised.

While these maps are not done in a photo realistic manner, if they were the DM would loose the management tools provided in the map keys. I for one look forward to seeing how these are received in my gaming group.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
58 Dungeons 36 Castles (AoV: Campaign Map Set Value Pack)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
PFV: Deadly Planet (HD Poster sized Jpg)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2013 12:46:44
A fine if somewhat incongruous image - a young lady toting a combat rifle on a barren planet with a rocketship in the background, fine... but why is she dressed for a burlesque show? From all appearances the planet is one with little or no atmosphere, so surely a space suit or at least combat clothing would be more appropriate.

The lady herself is beautifully-drawn and rendered, although it's possible the rifle is a prop rather than a real one, she doesn't seem to be supporting the appropriate weight judging by the set of her shoulder and arm.

Or is this all just because as a somewhat more mature lady (who is, as it happens, a veteran) I'd just not go to war thus attired! Of course, judging by the effect of such dress on yer average red-blooded male, it could prove quite a distraction on the battlefield!

Enjoy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PFV: Deadly Planet (HD Poster sized Jpg)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Forgotten Magical Items Volume II (1000 Miscellaneous Magic Items)
by Randall C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2013 22:01:51
Interesting book filled with some unusual magical items. Great gifts for your players without overwhelming the campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Magical Items Volume II (1000 Miscellaneous Magic Items)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MDI: NIGHT OF THE WIGHT (Dungeon Module)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/06/2013 03:43:22
I'm getting rather sorry for the Moon Dragon Inn. Every time I turn round, there's something or someone invading their cellars and a cry going up for adventurers to clear them out (again). Think I shall roll up a locksmith/security specialist character and go round to advise the innkeeper on how to make his cellars impregnable once and for all!

In the meantime, however, the search is on for some 'veteran' characters (3rd-6th level if your chosen game system uses levels) to come and rid the place of a wight. Or maybe more than one, the barmaid who spotted it (or them) is incoherent with fright.

The cellars have a standard layout, as used in all the MDI product line, and a lot of the text is standard too - explaining the generic outline of critters that might be there, the trap mechanisms used by the landlord to defend his precious stuff and so on. Specific to this adventure is what that precious stuff is (it's varied according to the relative might of the adventurers required for this week's problem) and details of who or what is prowling around uninvited.

Good as ever for a nice evening's 'dungeon crawl' with the prospect of a well-earned pint or two afterwards upstairs at the bar. It's almost like playing a round of golf and retiring for drinks in the clubhouse...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MDI: NIGHT OF THE WIGHT (Dungeon Module)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MDI: UNWELCOME VISITORS (Dungeon Module)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2013 05:55:19
Here is another romp through the cellars of the Moon Dragon Inn, this time aimed at novice characters (1st-4th level if you're using a level-based ruleset) who are asked to investigate after another customer mentions to the innkeeper that it looks like the storm cellar door has been broken into. This quite naturally alarms the innkeeper, one Bear Killer, as he's got lots of valuable stuff down there as well as a brewery and his ale supplies!

So it is a nice contained area for new-minted characters to investigate. There are traps a-plenty - Bear Killer has set them to keep folk away from his treasures, and warns anyone going downstairs even on legitimate business that if they see a 'Keep Out' sign it means just that! Assorted low-level monsters have indeed got in and are wandering around, so provided the characters stay in the parts they're supposed to visit, they ought to be able to gain valuable experience dealing with them.

Notes are provided on who has snuck in, with advice on making suitable selections from the monster books of your chosen system. There is also a page of details about Bear Killer's valuables should the characters ignore the 'Keep Out' signs, and the traps they'll risk should they be foolhardy enough to do so.

Happy prowling!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MDI: UNWELCOME VISITORS (Dungeon Module)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MDI: LIZARDS ON THE LOOSE! (Dungeon Module)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/30/2013 03:28:15
This is a fun turn of events to enliven a quiet night at the local tavern: the bar tender comes up from the cellar panic-stricken because the place is crawling with ferocious lizards! The characters are enlisted as exterminators and off they go...

There's a comprehensive map of the extensive cellars under the Moon Dragon Inn (or if you don't have than, under whatever tavern you choose!) with a second page giving one-line descriptions of the contents of each chamber. There are notes about selecting suitable creatures from the game system of your choice, some choice traps (which don't seem very relevant but maybe those pesky lizards scuttle off into areas not intended for visitors and conscientious exterminators will follow them...) and treasure listings.

A simple side-trek adventure for a single session's play, intended for reasonably experienced but not overly powerful characters (4th-7th level if it's D&D or similar that you play), nicely put together and capable of being run with minimal prep time if a quick 'crawl' is what you and your players are after!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MDI: LIZARDS ON THE LOOSE! (Dungeon Module)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MDI: THE INN (Miniature Tile & Map Set)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/22/2013 04:49:49
Ignore the young lady in very uncomfortable underwear on the front cover, this is actually a beautifully-drawn and clearly presented large inn! It presents considerable scope for relaxation between adventures or even as a place to have adventures - especially if you enjoy interaction as well as brawling.

The inn is quite large although on one floor, with a large tap room complete with a stage for musical performances. Hopefully the piano has been invented in your game world, as there is a large upright one there ready for passing bards to play. There's a range of seating from bar stools to tables for varying numbers and booths with bench seats.

Behind the bar, there are storage areas, a large kitchen and the landlord's quarters. The kitchen has a long table for prep work and several stoves as well as a fire-pit for roasting meat. The innkeeper has a double bedroom, a spacious lounge area and a private plunge pool complete with a fire place.

Accommodations vary in size but all rooms seem nicely-appointed. They range from single rooms (with chest, desk and wall mirror) to suites with a double bedroom and a living room complete with sofa. There are also four-bedded rooms provided with a table and chairs as well as a chest at the foot of each bed, likely resting place for adventurers.

The height of luxury, the place even has a swimming pool complete with changing areas and even a diving board!

Outside, near several of the doors, there are 'outhouses' - despite the swimming pool, indoors plumbing does not appear to have been invented and relief must be sought outside.

The GM is provided with 'room inventory sheets' to note anything of significance that guests to the inn have in their rooms, and there is an example one filled out. These are, however, of the print out and scribble on variety rather than form-fillable.

Overall a very nice inn. Hopefully my characters will be raising a glass of ale there soon!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MDI: THE INN (Miniature Tile & Map Set)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MDI: Creatures Of The Night Dungeon Module
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/19/2013 12:59:31
When one goes to one's favourite tavern, it is preferable to be able to quaff one's ale in peace...

Here is a generic, system neutral 'dungeon-crawl' style adventure involving clearing a fairly complex inn cellar of all the unwanted visitors. The landlord (or someone) keeps quite a lot more than barrels of ale down there, but it's been overrun and someone - read the characters - gets hired to sort things out.

There is extensive discourse about how to fit the various creatures (and traps) into whatever game system you are using. It will possibly work best with early versions of Dungeons & Dragons or one of the 'Old School' fantasy systems, but ought to work with any fantasy system that you have to hand. Naturally, you will need to put in some prep work to have the appropriate game mechanics for monsters etc. before you begin (or be confident in either remembering them or looking them up quickly in whatever bestiaries you have for your chosen system).

The actual 'dungeon' comes as 2 pages - a nice clear coloured map and a key with single-line notes on each location down there. You won't need more, the map shows what is in each location well enough for you to explain it to your players.

One nice touch is that the explanatory notes on traps actually has a diagram of how they work. Nice for the mechanically-minded, and easy for you to describe and to check if someone saying he's checking for traps has looked in the right place, or disabling it has actually done so. Naturally, most of us do this by die-roll, but you can make some vivid descriptions.

A neat little package that should supply an evening's entertainment for you and your group, with fairly minimal but necessary preparation.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MDI: Creatures Of The Night Dungeon Module
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
2013 Fantasy Female Calendar and Print Set
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/26/2012 13:38:41
Just what is says on the cover. 2013 calendar.
Each month is presented as a "Wall Calendar" and "Desk Calendar". So 50+ pages.
Models are the same as other products, but new poses and shots. Also the models names for each month are listed.
For 5 bucks (or under 3 on sale) its a great deal.

There is some scantily clad women but still more tame than similar products.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2013 Fantasy Female Calendar and Print Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ultimate Fantasy Photo Art Collection
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/05/2012 10:47:56
EDITED.

Ok so I grabbed this because it came up in a search for "Drago art" not sure why, there are no dragons in it. That was something of a disappointment, but I kept on going, after all there are a 150+ pages here.

The art varies from semi-serious, to cheesecake. It is all photos with fantasy style trappings and backgrounds. There are some topless women here (and me, fair is fair), but it is all of an artistic sort.

There are not many images here I can use in my games, but the ones that I can seem perfect. There is an African-American male vampire in this is perfect (and they must have also thought this since we get a couple of him), but my opinion was changed with the picture of the "witch" on page 101. Again it is a case of the right thing at the tight time for me. NOTE To publisher: I appreciate the names of the models, but is there anyway to knwo what page they are on? Ok, just who is the model on page 101?

The models are all attractive and we get a variety of types, genders and ethnicity here so that is certainly a plus. One of my first thoughts was there are a lot of good visual images here for a Ravenloft game or some other dark fantasy.

There are also 24 pages of "character sheets" featuring the various models (again the witch on 101 is back on page 150), plus a blank and a back page. Suitable really for most games, but certainly a FRPG in mind.

So while it was not exactly what I was looking for and I also like to buy art I can reuse somehow, I can't fault the publisher any of those.

Great fro printing out and using in a game as a visual aid. Or if there is a character you really want to detail then it's perfect if the character you envision is here.
NOTE To publisher 2: maybe small thumbnails of the pictures on the character sheets might be good on your website? That way if someone sees something they like they have a good reason to buy this.

In truth you get a ton of images for $5 (when on sale). Can't really complain about that.

EDITED TO ADD. You can find some of the images on their website. The vampire I mentioned is there, but not the witch I am fond of.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Fantasy Photo Art Collection
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
PFV: Water Nymph (Poster SIzed JPG)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/05/2012 10:44:05
Got this for another character of mine. It looks perfect and for a buck it is a steal.
The picture is hires and huge.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PFV: Water Nymph (Poster SIzed JPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
PFV: BlueMoon (Poster Sized Jpeg)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/05/2012 10:41:25
I picked this up because I saw it in another SSD product and it is perfect for a warlock character I have in D&D4.
Plus it was under a buck.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PFV: BlueMoon (Poster Sized Jpeg)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
PFV: Succubus (Poster Sized Jpg)
by Christopher G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2012 07:21:20
The Succubus looks tired of posing for this very simple composition. While the Succubus is very attractive in the face and her body, svelte, the composition as a whole leaves me wondering where is the rest of this portrait. Something's missing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
PFV: Succubus (Poster Sized Jpg)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
58 Dungeons 36 Castles (AoV: Campaign Map Set Value Pack)
by Sean D. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2012 10:21:06
This product was a disappointment. I all honesty I could have made better maps with MS Windows Paint program. The maps are highly pixelated & the fonts look like old MS-DOS system font (on a 16 color monitor). With just a bit of effort these maps could have been so much better. A cleaner font, higher resolution images, etc. I am just very thankful all I am out is the $7.50 sale price. I would never have paid $30.00 (the non-sale list price at the time of my purchase) for this poor a product. I will NOT buy from this seller again. Like the old saying goes: fool me once shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
58 Dungeons 36 Castles (AoV: Campaign Map Set Value Pack)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
The maps are as described (old school) and can easily be previewed at full size. ( As any normal person might do if they are about to spend money on such a product.) Yes these map do show pixels, by design. Each pixel means something. Delete a pixel and you change the thickness of a wall, change they type of lock or trap, remove a secret door, etc.. (The pixel level detail is copyrighted by Stainless Steel Dragon Games for a good reason, and by design.) If you were to try to make these maps in MS Paint, it would take you months if not years to create them. (What is your time worth?) I urge all potential buyers to look at the samples and/or read less bias reviews by other people who can appreciate the details in these maps, and who probably don\'t work for a rival map making company.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 48 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG