RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Codex Infernus Action deck
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2016 15:42:12

The Good: The visibile art is good and consistent with the Codex Infernus book. I should first point out that I didn't take a close look at the pics before buying the deck. I loved the book, so I got excited and bought the deck on impulse (that's definitely on me). The Bad:Everything about this deck seems cheap, which isn't consistent with the price point. The art on the front and back of the cards is the same. The only two cards in the deck with additional art are the two jokers, which have a couple (of the least appealing) demons from pictures within the book. It's worth noting that the art in the book is great-- while these aren't bad pics, they're certainly nowhere near the best that the book has to offer. Why they chose these two pictures for the Jokers, I have no idea. Usually, with a SW action deck, you also have art on aces and face cards at least. I would have loved a deck with the demon lords as K,Q,J,A. The suit and card numbers don't really stand out from the art (across a table during a tabletop game, for example), which makes them a little impractical. It was described as being printed on "premium stock". There is nothing "premium" about this card stock. The cardstock on a $3 set of Bicycle playing cards is superior to the stock used here. I love the book, but there's just nothing exciting about this card deck.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Codex Infernus Action deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Totems of the Dead: Game Master's Guide to the Untamed lands
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2016 08:42:54

Totems of the Dead : Game Master's Guide begins with a section giving very generic advice for the Gamemaster. I honestly feel disappointed by this section that doesn't give me the answer to "How can I make a ToD adventure different from any adventure in another setting ?" This part of the book looks unorganized : we get one page of "Brief History" while the main details are present... in the Players' guide ! Likewise, the very short summary of (uncredited) Joseph Campbell's The hero with a thousand faces (the "hero's journey") doesn't tell me what is specific to gaming in the Untamed Lands.

The bestiary makes the bulk of the book, as well as its main interest. Here you can find a full menagerie tailored for this fantasy world based on Pre-Columbian America. This is followed by a shorter section with stock characters for all cultures of that world. The adventure generator is quite original, while the "Nameless Horror generator" remains interesting, but it is close to what is already found in some other Savage Worlds settings.

The last main section consists of several Savage Tales set in the different cultures of the Untamed Lands, as well as some plot hooks. Once again, this material is not uninteresting but does it manage to capture the quintessential nature of "Conanesque" Sword & Sorcery tales ? I must say I'm not entirely convinced.

In my opinion, the best thing that setting rules can do is to convey a special atmosphere so that players (and GMs...) can feel it's different from the basic D&D game. A mere description, as in a travel guide, is not enough. I think ToD Game Master's Guide fails this objective since the rare flavouring rules (ex: Pow Wow) are found... in the Player's Guide.

Three stars for the common audience (but this book may fully satisfy gamers adamantly enamoured of Pre-Columbian America).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Totems of the Dead: Game Master's Guide to the Untamed lands
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2016 23:02:58

"Once it goes into POD, I'll send out a discount coupon to customers"....

Soon? Really look forward to getting a print copy.

THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
by Herman P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 13:15:14

Amazing and useful! Highly recommended! It can be used in any setting as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Japan: Empire of the Setting Sun
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2016 00:11:15

I very rarely read any gaming supplement from cover to cover, but this was one of the exceptions. I absolutely love this book. As with the IZ core book, there is brilliant side commentary and deep immersion into the setting. I love the way the geography and culture is laid out. It is exactly how I would expect Japan to be, grounded fairly well in modern as well as ancient Japanese culture.

A+ for dropping enough information to make the setting playable. And even more- dropping subtle hints for potential plots and adventure ideas. Even the document's author character is a bundle of plots. The characters in the side commentary are potential plot hooks. All of the area descriptions and cultural info is teeming with potential storylines.

I like the gear, golemmechs, and augments. I thought there could have been a lot more. I would have loved to have seen the Hindrances, Edges, Augments, Exo-Suits, robots, weapons, vehcles and golemmechs double or triple their length and variety of selection. The government agents should statted more upgraded, state of the art gear. Japan is kind of the giant robot capital of the world, after all. And the Japanese are notoriously tech-upgrade crazy.

I should mention there are a few typos here and there. I didn't write them all down, but the "salvery" on page 30. The overall awesomeness of this book far overshadows a few minor editing issues.

Interface Zero in general and this book especially capture a wide variety of staples in the cyberpunk genre. I especially like that I can replicate/emulate several anime/manga that I love. This is very Shirow-punk. Appleseed and Ghost in the Shell especially. You can also do Akira, Ghost in the Shell, Patlabor and Bubblegum Crisis. I also like that the door was opened for kaiju.

One of my mild dislikes of IZ in general is the introduction of psionics. Luckily, this book doesn't delve into a lot of that subject. The zeek population of Japan is small and well contained. Personally, in my campaign, there are no zeeks, but I don't begrudge other people needing that "magic" type element in their game. I thought the presence of hybrids, bioforms, etc bordered on going overboard, also in the medieval fantasy way, but also subject to GM editing, easily avoidable. I got a chuckle out of the knockoff Pokemon/totoro bioforms, though. (Kami-Cuties.)

The only otther addition I thought about would have been Zen archery or even Zen gunslinging. The attitude would be something to the effect of anything worth practicing is worth perfecting. The Zen Master archetype as presented is really not prone to ranged combat.

Overall, other than a little post-editing, completely amazing book. Well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Japan: Empire of the Setting Sun
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
by Tim W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 16:54:57

A beautifully put togeather book for anyone working with the infernal or Hell in their campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
by Eric R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 12:12:23

Awesome product a great supplament for savage worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
by Fabrizio V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2016 23:19:31

By far the best Savage Worlds setting, Interface Zero excels at conveying the feeling of a cyberpunk world. It adds some simple but very efficient rules to the standard Savage Worlds system, in order to create a grittier, more specialized and thematic version of the original rpg's generic engine. Furthermore, this very refined and well illustrated handbook gives you all you need to enter a detailed near-futur world: after a satisfying equipment section, there is a huge part that describes the state of the earth (and the solar system). You don't need anything else to play, really. This outstanding product is for those who want a simplier (but not simplistic) Shadowrun rpg without orcs, elves and magic. It is pure XXIth century cyberpunk.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Republic of Texas Savage Worlds edition
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2016 20:00:25

TLDR: Aside from a lack of artwork and some information left unclear it's a solid book for the price. Also San Antonion didn't get blown up.

I received this free as part of my kickstarter rewards for backing the 2nd edition rule book. I also happen to be a native Texan who has become quite used to sci-fi games always making Texas out to be either the wild west with oil barons, or some fractured microcosm of dieing America and a reborn Aztec empire. Very rarely do I get to enjoy a book that gives the State (and former nation) more attention beyond those cliches. In fact the last one I liked was Rifts: Lone Star and that was more due to the talking doggies.

So to start things off I'd like to talk about what I liked.

It's not expensive. 8.50 for all that information is quite good value in my opinion. However see my critiques about the art.

The book for took the time to break up the Republic of Texas (the game's name for the nation) based on the notoriously varied geographic regions. There's seven specific areas it focuses in on and each is given about as much attention as the core book gave to the individual nations. Each region gets at least two major cities or other locations talked about. There's also mentions of local gangs, higher ups, corporat interests, and all manner of other things to help inspire adventures in those regions.

If you enjoy your world information delivered from an in universe perspective then you'll be happy to know this sourcebook continues their tradition of that. All the crunchy stuff is set well past the in character portions as well so that game specific stuff doesn't get in the way of in character presentations. We also get the now requisitie online commentary from in universe characters. The mixture of their pro-their thing, anti-other guy viewpoints helps make it seem less like an omniscient text and leaves airs of mystery all over the place. This is handy for GM's as it lets them toss whatever they want in without fretting over 'canon'.

They didn't blow up San Antonio. Seriously go read up any other sci-fi treatise on future Texas and you'll see that my home city inevitably ends up nuked at some point. They also added in an interesting twist that builds on this edition's growing use of AIs to drive the horror element of the setting.

More toys. If you play cyberpunk games you know the strong pull of 'shiny things' and this book has a few. Vehicles, guns (it is Texas), and even golemechs used by The Texas Rangers are all written up. The one with the massive shotgun is my favorite.

We get a lot of new occupations as well. If you've wanted to be a Texas Ranger , elite government coder, garage level gun smith, or even a Golem mech pilot there's all of that and more.

The edges added were also interesting and a quick once over doesn't show any to be to unbalancing or redundant. They server mostly to add a bit of Texas 'flavor' to things though most can be easily slotted into other Savage Worlds games even if they're not Interface Zero.

Now there are things I didn't like of course. However most of this is quibbling, especially considering the vast amount of information packed in such an afforable product.

The one huge issue I take with the sourcebook is the almost complete lack of art. There are maybe seven pictures in the whole thing and almost none of them seem to be about the item, or location under discussion on those pages. One of them is even a reprint of the cover art. If they ever get a chance to do a second edition with a bigger budget this is the one thing I hope they rectify. Even if it will cost more to buy.

There are also a few glaring omission from the setting material presented. For example in the original core rule book much ado is made about the country's development of cloned food meat that isn't just grown in a vat, and is heavily implied as being some form of bovine like animal. However aside from mentioning ranches where the meat is grown, and lots said about the wars waged over genetic codes there's little attention given to just what these Brahmin are. Since the book makes it very clear that most open land is now very much uninhabitable and most people live in huge metropolises it left me uncertain if they've changed things between the original core book , and this release.

Another example is in a character flaw for synths. It's apparently some manner of virus that causes issues for the ones made for military use. However noewhere else in the book is it even brought up. IN fact aside from a brief mention in a couple of areas we see little else said on the matter even though it's made quite clear the nation is quite dependent on them for military purposes.

As you can see those are relatively minor matters, and perhaps evem something we may see rectified if they do an updated PDF sometime.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Republic of Texas Savage Worlds edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Totems of the Dead: Players Guide to the Untamed lands
by Logan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2016 19:14:47

While I love playing RPG's, and I absolutley love the Savage Worlds system because it replicates the fast paced action of my favorite pulp novels, I don't get to play nearly as much as I wish I did. That being said, I LOVE a good setting! The amount of effort, detail and care that went into this setting is astounding. I cannot offer much in the way of gameplay mechanics or balancing or any of that (since I haven't actually played it), but I can tellyou that this is one of the best setting I have ever seen. It is fresh, original, authentic, well researched and vastly fascinating. It probably helps that I am an archaeologist/history teacher that specializes in North American Prehistory and that I am an absolute Conan fan. This setting has merged two of my passions and I couldn't say enough good things about it. I have not yet bough the Game Master's Guide, but can't wait to get my mits on it. I am really hoping to get a campaign going with some of my archaeologist friends, I think they'll enjoy this too. Kepp up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Totems of the Dead: Players Guide to the Untamed lands
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
by David N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 06:35:40

I genuinely love this setting, for a lot of different reasons. I won't be talking about the rules, since aside from a few (very good) additions it's Savage Worlds

  1. It's a pure cyberpunk setting and despite how crowded it makes the setting, it tries to cram in every trope into the book. There's a reviewer who claims the setting lifts a lot from Shadowrun. I'd say they share similarities because they're both playing with all of the standard Cyberpunk topics, old and new. This isn't theft. There are a few truths about classic Cyberpunk, the top ones being that the US collapses, the East rises and there are scary AIs busy doing scary AI things. This gives you that wonderful Neuromancer nostalgia that you always want. The book even references Snow Crash, with the crazy pizza delivery driver occupation, which I think some might have taken at face value, as opposed to a joke.

The setting packs in psychics, designer humans, human animal hybrids, full body cyborgs, androids, bioroids and Blade Runner style replicants with limited lifespans. It deals with the descrimination that all are traditionally treated with in such stories, as well as the implications. It doesn't do anything new, but it does do everything you expected.

Best of all, it doesn't act like cybernetics makes you evil. It acknowledges the psychological issues involved with changing yourself, but the rules deal more with the physical and neural strain of modifying yourself, than the danger of flipping out and going psycho because you've lost your humanity.

  1. The setting deals with basically the entire world. The book literally has an overview of everywhere, as well as containing conversations spaced throughout dealing with the prejudices of the different characters and the writers of the different sections (it's all in character and in setting.) It's a nice detail that I learnt carried over from the older edition and on into newer source books. Yes Shadowrun did it first, but I think it was a good choice.

  2. Every cyberpunk disaster that could have happened, has, but they all link up and naturally progress from one another (aside from the AI, but they're kind of meant to be a curve ball no-one was expecting). The environment is wrecked, the economy is nuts, people have popped off nukes at one another, nations are collapsing, you get the picture. Thing is though, it all kind of links together. Why did the economy collapse? The environment and scarcity of resources. Why did wars erupt and nations start falling apart? See above.

One clever edition is how the Chinese communist government fell due to the huge number of disaffected young men in its nation. Real world problems keep on cropping up and coming back to bite us. It's a nice touch.

  1. There's no magic. Yes, there are psychic powers, cybermonks and mecha, alll things which are silly, but find their way into so much of the genre that it'd be a shame to leave them out. But the setting retains the feeling that maybe even if things are utterly bonkers, it's a place that could have once been our earth (Unless we're talking about the Achtung! Cthulhu crossover). Psychic powers have an ultimately human source and the danger isn't some dragon pulling the strings, but a corrupt company or mysterious AI. It keeps it purely cyberpunk, which means if you aren't a fan of magic in you're sci-fi, this might be the setting for you.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2015 11:29:41

I got this game with hopeful expectations, looking for an alternative cyberpunk game that wasn't Shadowrun, but also didn't have the dated 80s vibe to it. After looking at the vid included in the title, and reading the rave reviews, I decided to pick it up. I am now somewhat disappointed.

First off, there's furries. This isn't a bad thing necessarily, since lets be honest: the moment it becomes commonly available, people are going to become catgirls. But they're a thing in the game's world, so if you're put off by that, there you go.

Second, a LOT of content is ripped off from Shadowrun. I should have taken it as a warning when I heard that most of the reviewers weren't familiar with cyberpunk, because hol-ee shit, a lof of the fluff is blatant copy-catting from SR. The BBS-style comments below info sections, the persecution of magical types, the balkanization of America, the internationally infamous rogue AI. At first, I was willing to give the benefit of the doubt and call it coincidence, or their deliberate attempt to give the game a "Cyberpunk" feel to it, but then I looked at the augments section. Almost ALL the names of the augments aren't even changed from the ones in Shadowrun.

And about the fluff. If you're searching for a serious take on cyberpunk, this isn't for you. It's over the top to the point groaning. There are specific sections in the fluff mentioning the dangers of being a freaking pizza delivery driver, due to the competition always trying to delay each others drivers. Not one, not two, not three, not four, but FIVE major disasters have struck the world, which pretty much breaks the record for the amount of bad luck a single century has ever had. Their portrayal of "the bad guys" has absolutely no subtlety to it. For all the high-tech the world has, some aspects of it feel more primitive than today.

I could go on, but it's very clear the authors had no intention of having this game be taken seriously. Which is fine for the cinematic style of Savage Worlds, but definitely puts me off.

As for the mechanics, I'd heard a lot of good things about the rules, especially the hacking. But what I got was "see the Savage Worlds core rulebook."

The hacking section was uninspired, and actually reminded me of a dumbed-down version of Shadowrun's, but less sensible. This is pretty sad, considered all the good things I'd heard about it.

And the gear! I mean, augments are done alright. Their is somewhat sensible. You multiply the cost by a number given next to the augment. The strain system is retarded fluff-wise, but it seems every cyberpunk rpg has discovered the need to limit the amount of augments a person gets somehow, so as a mechanic it's one of the better ways I've seen of handling it, and all the augments seems useful in some capacity (though as I've mentioned, almost all the names are ripped-off from Shadowrun, with mechanically equivalent effects to boot).

But the gear? It's clear no-one actually built a character with this shit. A basic team communicator will cost the player half of their starting cash, but a decent assault rifle won't even set them back a third. It's impossible for a soldier-type to buy an actual piece of armor out of chargen. There are only three pieces of armor actually worth buying, and they're so affordable and effective that there's no reason the entire team shouldn't be wearing one of them. The gear section is also pretty poorly organized. It's supposed to be alphabetical, but what you end up getting is a gear section, a section for augments (which are bought with a different currency separate from normal gear), two sections of things the players couldn't afford even at the highest levels of starting points for character creation, and then the gear sections the players will actually want.

The effectiveness of something versus its cost is bonkers. And yeah, this is cyberpunk, style over substance and all that. But Giant Mecha are not practical. Seriously, even someone without a head for robotics or combat tactics can see they're a terrible way to design a robot built for combat. And yet there are an entire section dedicated to them. Most people won't know or care about that, but it irks me to no end. -_-

Some of the book has paragraphs-worth of spelling typos, particularly in the hacking section I'd heard -so- many good things about rolls eyes.

There is a huge section dedicated to the world and its fluff, but for reasons I mentioned above, it comes off as over-the-top nonsense that, were I to ever run this game, I'd purposefully ignore 100%.

The only thing I'd heard about this game that rings true is the art. It's top-quality, and very inspiring. But I don't play games based off pretty pictures. Cyberpunk 2020 and Shadowrun had some of the shittiest art I've ever seen in an RPG book, and they are leagues better than this game.

Overall, I'd heard a lot of good things about this game, but it falls very short of expectations. If you're looking for a cyberpunk game with a fast-paced, cinematic style, gets GURPS Lite and its Cyberpunk book, and you'll have a great time. If you absolutely must have a Savage Worlds cyberpunk game, this is pretty much your only real option, so it wins by default. I'm not happy with the purchase, and its very clear the creators worked hard to shill their product with biased reviews before release.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Exchange
by Lars G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2015 17:55:01

Also works WITHOUT Interface Zero. We used the Cyberpunk rules from "Daring Tales of the sprawl". Took us (GM and two PCs) about 4 hours to finish it and we enjoyed every minute of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Exchange
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
by Jose V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2015 11:19:38

This book is lush and beautiful. The layout is superb, the mechanics are well-thought-out, the setting is just friggin' amazing, and I feel like I more than got my money's worth with the sheer volume of information in this book.

I haven't run it yet, but I'm definitely going to. I can't believe I missed out on this for so long - I can't wait to throw my players into this spectacular world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Phoenix: The Terrible Valley of Static
by David N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2015 23:59:33

I really like this supplement. Its very short (only 21 pages, including the cover) and its mostly fluff. But what excellent fluff and the rules that go with it are excellent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Phoenix: The Terrible Valley of Static
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 142 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG