RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadowrun: Run Faster
by Stanley B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2014 15:18:24
To start off, I've been a big Shadowrun fan for years, and I've been having issues with some of the Fifth Edition books, primarily with editing. The first thing I'd like to say in regard to Run Faster is... Thank you, Catalyst, for turning around the recent slump. I was prepared for this to be my last Shadowrun book, but you've most definitely turned it around.

First off, the editing and layout are great. I think I saw maybe two or three typoes all-in-all, but given the book is two-hundred and fifty-five pages, that's pretty good. Things are easy enough to find, without the wonkiness from Street Grimoire, and a lot of the fluff is great (though I have my quibbles about the write-ups on each metatype and their 'culture'). Those were honestly my biggest concerns. I love the implementation of shapeshifters, the various metavariants (Nartaki and Fomorians for the win) and most especially the Infected. Said section gives you everything you need not just to play an Infected, but to run one for your game. It's easy to tell why the Infected are so dangerous, which is a feeling I love to get when I look at possible threats in my games. My players are going to 'appreciate' this book from a much more amusing perspective (side note; mutaqua are awesome).

The alternate Character Creation options are great to have, especially the Sum to Ten system; it's Priority System, but you are given '10 points' to rank out your Priorities. That lets you do things like have an A/A/C/E/E, or a B/B/B/D/E, which really allows for a lot of customization, either to expand your proficiency or increase your specialization in certain roles (yes, it does make min-maxing a little simpler, but I don't let that rule my table. Common Sense is King.). I didn't run through a Life Module yet, but the ideas seem great; the only concern there is that there's a lot of countries missing that I'd love to see for later use.

Qualities are another great part of the book, and I'm definitely going to be using them. Hobo with a Shotgun is flat-out evocative, Lightning Reflexes finally gives an option to the no-magic, no-'ware types in combat and Witness My Hate definitely provides Direct Spells with some extra punch. There's a whole lot more, but I don't want to spoil them for y'all.

The information regarding Contacts and jobs is some useful stuff to have as well, and I love how it highlights some of the concerns everyone should have about a job, including the Johnson's risks. It's a perspective that doesn't get enough illumination at times. The new Lifestyle bits are useful as well, giving much more options to spruce up your home and make it something more than a monthly expenditure. Finally, there's the kit 'packs' at the end, gear with some modifications and the like that are bundled into simple 2,000-20,000/1-10 Karma purchases so you don't have to do the math. Personally, I enjoy doing the gear math, so I'm not likely to use them. It's great for the people who don't want to bother with it, however. Also, the Mono-whip pack is great; you get a mono-whip, and a year of DocWagon with 1 free resuscitation. Given the concerns with mono-whips, that's just what the doctor ordered.

Overall, I consider this book to be the best Fifth Edition book out as of yet (besides Core), and it doesn't even have loot in it. That's saying something for me. I hope y'all find this review useful.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Run Faster
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech Record Sheets: Vehicle Annex, IndustrialMechs & Exoskeletons
by Ron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2014 14:24:22
I liked it. A good addition to the rest of the Record Sheet line. Nice to finally have the non battlemechs in easy to print format.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech Record Sheets: Vehicle Annex, IndustrialMechs & Exoskeletons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Critters
by Johannes C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 14:32:33
This rating is about the quality of the PDF itself, not the book.

This is a remastered version, with vector graphics for text (does not pixelate on zooming, and the text is black),
and high quality images.

It really is a grab.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Critters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Gamemaster's Screen: SR3
by Johannes C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 14:30:56
This rating is about the quality of the PDF, not the quality of the screen itself.

The text consists of vector graphics, which means it does not pixelate on zooming in,
and the image is of high quality.

Sadly it is only one of the images that were covering the back of the screen.
I see no reason why the other ones are not in the PDF.

Since this is intended for printing, I guess you could put your own choice of images on the back,
but it is still a shame.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Gamemaster's Screen: SR3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Renraku Arcology: Shutdown
by Johannes C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 14:28:23
This rating is about the quality of the PDF, since I have not read the book yet.

This is a properly remastered version of the book.
The Images are of very high quality,
and the text is dark, and does not pixelate on zooming in.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Renraku Arcology: Shutdown
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Harlequin
by Johannes C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 14:26:14
The rating is about the quality of the PDF, not the quality of the book itself.

This PDF is a scanned version, not one of the remastered products in the classic Shadowrun product line.

That said, this is a pretty fairly OK scan.

The Images are not that pixelated, and the text is readable,
but sadly the font is in effect a grey tone of colour,
which makes reading harder than it should be.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Harlequin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: The Universal Brotherhood
by Johannes C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 14:20:16
This rating is solely about the quality of the PDF.

Some of the other PDFs of the old Shadowrun product line,
have been remastered properly, with high quality images and text.

This one has not.
It has grainy images, which are either too dark, or too bright,
and text which pixelates to an extreme degree if you zoom in,
which makes reading very hard.

Aside from the Cover image, which looks even worse than the rest of the PDF,
the rest of the book is in black and white,
even parts that are in colour in the original version. (Namely the player supplements)

A scanned version of this book, which I saw in PDF-form, was of a higher quality than this professionally sold one.

I would highly suggest to remaster the PDF of this book,
since it is one of the most well-liked books in the product-line,
and since it is one of the hardest Shadowrun books to get.

Until that time I can not recommend anyone paying money for this PDF.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Universal Brotherhood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Aetherology
by Stephen W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2014 12:21:40
The Aetherology supplement is mostly color for those looking to give their awakened characters some scenery in the metaplanes. The last five pages does have some gameplay mechanics with seven new spirit types, one new spirit power, and two new spirit skills each represented in both SR4 and SR5 rules.

The format of the document is a "posting" by a character Magister that is quoting heavily from a second character (Dr. Gordon) whom is believed to have gone insane. So both the Magister character and others commenting on the post question whether or not anything that is being posted is real, or the delusions of the original madman. While I respect the color that this provides...I came away from my read thinking that this posting was incoherent.

In general, I imagine if you have been having difficulties describing the metaplanes with enough color in your campaign this document may be of some value to you and I would recommend raising my rating by one star for your purpose. But I suspect that for the majority of us, Aetherology will not be of value and you may consider my rating to be generous.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Aetherology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Valiant Universe: The Roleplaying Game
by Emma M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2014 10:54:13
I have now finally run a game of Valiant Universe, and can confidently report that I feel that many of the issues other reviewers have perceived with this system are, in my opinion at least, part of what makes this a must-have purchase.
I've been a supers gamer for a long time. I've played and run the sublime (DC Heroes) to the ridiculous (Heroes Unlimited), and I've always noticed the same thing every time. In every group I've played in or run for, there is always at least one player who says "But I wanted my character to have (insert obscure power here)!" A lot of GMs are happy to hand-wave and come up with a rule on the fly, and that's great, but some systems actively support the 'go-anywhere-build-anything' mindset, Champions & M&M being the first two that spring to mind. But often, because of this, most of the first session is spent juggling points, calculating modifiers and getting migraines, all before a single die has been rolled.
In Valiant, at last, we have a system that says "sure, why not? If it's okay with the group, define the power as far as it makes sense. Can we play now?"
Yep, that last sentence above is key to the design ethic behind Valiant Universe; this thing is FAST! But that speed doesn't cost the game any depth. Actions run the gamut from combat to skill use to even some very odd power descriptors (Woody's 'Snark' and Faith's 'Pop Culture Knowledge' spring to mind here), hinting at a system that is as flexible as it is fun. And therein lies the point of this review: This is a fun game, perfect for pick-up play or a long-term campaign, capable of telling deep, engaging stories or hosting a superpowered downtown grudge-match, and as adaptable as the players and Lead Narrator feel it needs to be. And this is only the first release...I for one will be giving this new contender a fair shake, as the mile-wide smiles on the faces of my group when the first session wrapped were all the proof I needed that we had ourselves a winner.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Valiant Universe: The Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Adventures: Empires Aflame
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2014 12:17:08
I enjoyed this. They should continue on this track it is fun and does address on it's own tangent about what would of happened if the Clans did not exist. Also it shows what could of happened to the other Great Houses if events were different.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Adventures: Empires Aflame
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Rigger 3 Revised
by Candice R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2014 17:07:23
Greetings.

For the purpose of specifically downloading this PDF, I registered here at the RPGNow.com site and bought this one for $12, which seemed to be a great price at the time for what I hoped would be a thoroughly searchable PDF.

I am very familiar with Rigger 3 Revised (and actually own the very same book), but I wanted a quicker way to reference rules while playing online text games (for Shadowrun 3rd).

While I can still search many keywords, I noticed that some simple header titles were not searchable (specifically 'concealed armor' and 'morphing license' and even 'autosofts'). Maybe, I am being super picky, but I wish I could search title text, too!

While the scan seems to line up nicely (for the most part) there are slightly slanted pages, as well as very light and very dark parts to the printed words. Overall, this is not a very 'nice' PDF on one's eyes.

Yet, this still seems to do the job, for the most part, anyway.

Rating neither good nor bad, but I would -really- love to see this rescanned sometime and eventually updated. I own a document scanner as well as Adobe software, and I know that things can be done better. Please, if you guys have the time, try again! Thank you!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Rigger 3 Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: The Universal Brotherhood
by Niels S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 01:10:53
This was surprisingly one of the best sourcebooks I've read in many years. Long have I been interested in Insect Spirits and the Brotherhood especially through books like 2XS and Burning Bright but I'd never read anything deep about the organization itself.

While the book truly is a gem of information, even if outdated, it's true glory is in the way it is written. Instead of the "standard" shadow talk and shadowland/jack-point format sourcebooks of this system usually make use of this book (aside from the adventure itself) is presented as a data dump of emails between two journalists slowly unraveling the true nature of the Universal Brotherhood. It is extremely well written.

Buy it for nothing nothing other then to read a great piece of fiction.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Universal Brotherhood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Experimental Technical Readout: Royal Fantasy
by Gary C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 13:42:03
Amazing!!! Never seen this in print so when I saw the PDF for free - well just had to have it!!! Lots of info on Solaris as well. Have the old Solaris stuff and it's nice to see an update.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Experimental Technical Readout: Royal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech Record Sheets: Vehicle Annex, IndustrialMechs & Exoskeletons
by Gary C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 13:40:38
Always enjoy these PDF's. Have the TRO and it's nice to see the sheets for the mechs in the TRO. Great value as well!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech Record Sheets: Vehicle Annex, IndustrialMechs & Exoskeletons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Operational Turning Points: REVIVAL Trials
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 12:18:59
The first thing I checked in this publication was the Random Assignment Tables (RATs) and I was very happy to see they are available for every Clan. The rest of the publication is well presented and well written. However, one particular aspect of this publication truly stands out; the opening fiction. The short story introducing the book is prescient in light of the Wars of Reaving and does an excellent job of setting up the rest of the publication.

In short; a good publication with excellent opening fiction.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Operational Turning Points: REVIVAL Trials
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 707 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG