RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BattleTech: Adventures: Empires Aflame
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2014 12:17:08
I enjoyed this. They should continue on this track it is fun and does address on it's own tangent about what would of happened if the Clans did not exist. Also it shows what could of happened to the other Great Houses if events were different.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Adventures: Empires Aflame
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Rigger 3 Revised
by Candice R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2014 17:07:23
Greetings.

For the purpose of specifically downloading this PDF, I registered here at the RPGNow.com site and bought this one for $12, which seemed to be a great price at the time for what I hoped would be a thoroughly searchable PDF.

I am very familiar with Rigger 3 Revised (and actually own the very same book), but I wanted a quicker way to reference rules while playing online text games (for Shadowrun 3rd).

While I can still search many keywords, I noticed that some simple header titles were not searchable (specifically 'concealed armor' and 'morphing license' and even 'autosofts'). Maybe, I am being super picky, but I wish I could search title text, too!

While the scan seems to line up nicely (for the most part) there are slightly slanted pages, as well as very light and very dark parts to the printed words. Overall, this is not a very 'nice' PDF on one's eyes.

Yet, this still seems to do the job, for the most part, anyway.

Rating neither good nor bad, but I would -really- love to see this rescanned sometime and eventually updated. I own a document scanner as well as Adobe software, and I know that things can be done better. Please, if you guys have the time, try again! Thank you!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Rigger 3 Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: The Universal Brotherhood
by Niels S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 01:10:53
This was surprisingly one of the best sourcebooks I've read in many years. Long have I been interested in Insect Spirits and the Brotherhood especially through books like 2XS and Burning Bright but I'd never read anything deep about the organization itself.

While the book truly is a gem of information, even if outdated, it's true glory is in the way it is written. Instead of the "standard" shadow talk and shadowland/jack-point format sourcebooks of this system usually make use of this book (aside from the adventure itself) is presented as a data dump of emails between two journalists slowly unraveling the true nature of the Universal Brotherhood. It is extremely well written.

Buy it for nothing nothing other then to read a great piece of fiction.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Universal Brotherhood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Experimental Technical Readout: Royal Fantasy
by Gary C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 13:42:03
Amazing!!! Never seen this in print so when I saw the PDF for free - well just had to have it!!! Lots of info on Solaris as well. Have the old Solaris stuff and it's nice to see an update.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Experimental Technical Readout: Royal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech Record Sheets: Vehicle Annex, IndustrialMechs & Exoskeletons
by Gary C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 13:40:38
Always enjoy these PDF's. Have the TRO and it's nice to see the sheets for the mechs in the TRO. Great value as well!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech Record Sheets: Vehicle Annex, IndustrialMechs & Exoskeletons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Operational Turning Points: REVIVAL Trials
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 12:18:59
The first thing I checked in this publication was the Random Assignment Tables (RATs) and I was very happy to see they are available for every Clan. The rest of the publication is well presented and well written. However, one particular aspect of this publication truly stands out; the opening fiction. The short story introducing the book is prescient in light of the Wars of Reaving and does an excellent job of setting up the rest of the publication.

In short; a good publication with excellent opening fiction.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Operational Turning Points: REVIVAL Trials
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Stolen Souls
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/10/2014 21:23:25
Shadowrun: Stolen Souls advances elements of the Sixth World’s metaplot while providing some useful resources and advice. Do you need this book? Well, if you want to understand the mystery of the Head Cases, yes. If you want to run a game set in 2070s New York, yes. But for me, it is the discussion of extraction tricks and tactics that makes this book immensely useful as it is one of my favorite types of mission to use as a GM. But your campaign is your campaign, so see if this will help and purchase it if the answer is yes.

Shadowrun: Stolen Souls is a heavy metaplot sourcebook for the 5th edition of Shadowrun providing information on the CFD (Cognitive Fragmentation Disorder) ‘virus’ that is turning people into, well, different people referred to as “head cases” as well as a few other subjects, such as what is going on in New York and advice for extractions.

The book begins with one of the ubiquitous fiction sections, then a (in game world) discussion of CFD, its possible origin or origins, how it spreads, how it manifests and what means have been tried to cure victims of it. This is the largest part of the book, tasking up about half of the page count between in game information and new rules for CFD. CFD and head cases are an important development in the Shadowrun metaplot, an existential threat to all but especially users of nanotech. But, as it “rewrites” the personality of the effected, it should be used on player characters only with extreme caution, and certainly with permission before hand, as it is a huge assault on player autonomy. My recommendation would be to primarily use CFD as a background element and threat but rarely have the player characters directly encounter it (unless they want to make the campaign about it).

Next we move to New York, a battleground for a variety of major players but especially between NeoNET and Saeder-Krupp both seeking to claim the “largest megacorp” spot and the Big Apple seems to be the focal point for that showdown. There is lots of good information on the city but some supporting contacts and adventure seeds could have really made this sing as far as usefulness for a GM goes. And an image of the new New York skyline would have gone a long way toward helping to sell the image of the city they are trying to describe here.

Lastly, there is a section entitled Stealing Living Goods which focuses on that most Shadowrun of mission, the extraction (kidnaping by another name). This section is useful for both GM and player to understand the tricks and perils of the extraction game and what can go wrong, which is a lot. There is also new magic, both spells and adept powers, useful for non-combat tricks, handy drugs, new vehicles (and rules to modify them to look official) and other handy items to aid in the performance of extractions. Something for just about everyone in the new toys department.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Stolen Souls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Technical Readout: 2750
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 21:32:37
a good book, but the scan could be better, and the Page format is non standard.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Technical Readout: 2750
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Technical Readout: 3039
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 21:18:39
Overall a good book. it could be better if the pages where standard size. The Layout is inconsistent between the project phoenix an standard section.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Technical Readout: 3039
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Technical Readout: Vehicle Annex
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 21:11:49
This "book" is one of the most terible Battletech Products i've ever seen. The Illustration are Desastrous, the Layout in completely crap. The ill-colored page background makes a good print impossible. The pagesize is non Standard (not letter, and not A4).

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Technical Readout: Vehicle Annex
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Nothing Personal (Enhanced Fiction)
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 17:50:00
Good story, was hoping for a little more stuff, however. The heavy roto-drone was nice, but that was it. (beside the character stats) Probably a stupid criticism, but the last enhanced fiction I bought (Sail Away, Sweet Sister) had a couple of spells and other things. It was kind of like buying a WoW pet, but much cheaper. Despite my minor complaining, it was well worth the $1.99 price!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Nothing Personal (Enhanced Fiction)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
by Joanna N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2014 14:45:50
Yes, this book contains material that was in Street Magic but that did not make it into Street Grimoire. Does that make Street Grimoire incomplete with a nefarious plot to sell you back lost content using this supplement? Probably not.

Shadow Spells throws in more magical traditions, some of which have been tweaked in drain code formula from their previous appearance, more magical societies with their membership and stat blocks (!) of their leadership, threats to Awakened individuals, and new spells, ritual magic, and adept powers. This particular supplement feels more like designed for GMs, considering most of the powers have a pretty nasty bent to them. However, there are some nice adept powers in here and the costs are far more in-line with what's present in the SR5 core book. And yes, there are adept powers here that were referenced in Street Grimoire but had not been included in the first print. HOWEVER, the errata for Street Grimoire also includes those missing powers.

There's a couple typos here and there and words that should not be, and a weird reagant cost table floating around at the very end that applies to nothing in this book. I wish there was an index though there is only 24 pages to flip through. But overall, I was pretty pleased with this supplement. It's very straightforward. Not exactly groundbreaking, but I did really enjoy the potential adventure hooks presented here.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Isle of the Blessed
by Christian G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2014 07:51:16
Not a native English Speaker - so i hardly can say something about the narrative style.

But the story is great, it was a thrilling read. No typical good vs bad - no superheros - only humans that fight and die for the right reason - and both sides have good reasons to keep fighting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Isle of the Blessed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2014 22:58:00
I am just not impressed. All of this should have been in Street Grimoire. In my opinion nothing in this book is imaginative or new. It is a rehash of 4th Edition. I frankly wish my group had stayed in 4th at least we had all the books.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2014 18:27:54
This is the RPG equivalent of Day 1 DLC. Lots of content that should have been in SG, such as the Norse tradition, but wasn't. It's only $7, but it's a ripoff just the same.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 699 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG