RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Character Conversion Guide
by Robert C. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2013 14:09:55
I found this really helpful, since I have a bunch of SR4 characters I love and didn't want to leave behind. This lays it all out in a simple and straightforward manner.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Character Conversion Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Parazoology 2
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/30/2013 08:17:20
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2013/08/30/tabletop-review-shadowr-
un-parazoology-2/

I know, I know. I still haven’t gotten around to reviewing the core rulebook for Shadowrun, Fifth Edition, but that’s because I’ve been kind of swamped with all these other requests. Rest assured I will get to it, but this and Firing Line are first up as they’re brand new and it’s easier to write two short reviews than one mammoth one. So stop asking/whining for it already.

Parazoology 2 surprised me, as it’s a release for Fourth Edition/20th Anniversary Edition instead of the recently released Fifth Edition product. I’m actually glad to see CGL still supporting 4e/20AE as it gives the people who are still in EDITION WARS mode or who haven’t had the chance or funds (or who are waiting for the physical version of the game) to pick up the PDF of 5e yet. Diehard to Fifth Edition can easily convert the stats to these creatures in Parazoology 2 with little to no effort, so everyone wins here with this supplement. I’ll admit I’m a big fan of all the “Para” releases for Fourth Edition as they’ve really showcased imagination, originality and a willingness to go outside the usual box of corporate espionage. Things like Parageology and Parabotany really showcase how unique, weird and vast the Sixth World is and these types of supplements should help GMs realize just how much they can do beyond the typical run.

Parazoology is a fun guide to thirty new creatures to populate your Shadowrun campaign with, along with a page of new rules for abilities some of these creatures have manifested. All creatures are sorts by type (Awakened, Toxic, Mutant) and then by alphabetical order, making the entire PDF easy to read through. This listing order also makes things exceptionally easy to find when you’re looking for a stats block or description. The layout and art simply add to the overall appeal of this product and make it a joy to read.

Of course, substance is far more important than style when we talk about an RPG supplement and I’m happy to say that I really loved Parazoology 2. There are so many fun and bizarre creatures here that I don’t know where to begin. There’s more than just a regular creature feature going on here through From Jackpointer Am-Mut weighing in on the Awakened Ammit to the return (and potential vindication of) Plan 9, the metaplot is still in full effect here. It’s interesting to note that perhaps FastJack was wrong about Plan 9 in Storm Front. Either that or “Plan 9″ is a far better manipulator and actor than anyone gave him (it?) credit for. I also noticed they turned my long running in-joke with my wife of Grandmaster P, the Awakened Parrot who only speaks in rap lyrics into a canon creature….although they did it via Slamm-O (My least favorite Jackpointer). Ah well, still hilarious and awesome.

So let’s talk a bit about the animals you’ll find in this digital menagerie. There’s an Awakened Manatee that can turn into a Metahuman and is carnivorous. Holy crap, look out Florida! There are adorable Awakened Flying Squirrels that are excellent little urban thieves. You can find a freshwater octopi, a Fiji Mermaid (which may be my favorite entry in the collection), an aquatic monkey (a literal sea monkey….groan), a giant badger, and perhaps a nod to the Vampire: The Requiem reboot, an owl known as the Strix. There are also some really interesting sidebars about an expedition to find the Napoleon Rex (mini T-rex!) and an essay about whether animals Goblinize at a certain age or are born that way. The creepiest are the Awakened diseases though. Can you imagine if Ares developed an Awakened Leprosy or Dysentery launcher? Eek. There’s a lot more to Parazoology 2 than just this snippet, so if your intrigued by any of this, well go ahead and purchase it already!

With a price tag of almost eight dollars, Parazoology 2 might seem a bit spendy for the forty-one pages it contains, but I feel it is a worthwhile purchase you will get your money’s worth out of. With some incredible full colour art of various creatures, some great stat blocks and thirty new beasties to add to your version of the Sixth World, if you don’t come away from Parazoology 2 with a bunch of new ideas for adventures, subquests or general scenarios, then I don’t know what to tell you. I love this thing and here’s hoping the Fifth Edition of Shadowrun continues to get Para supplements of the same quality that 4e has received.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Parazoology 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2013 10:04:03
I was dead set against 4th Edition. I've been playing Shadowrun since the very beginning, and I liked that 2nd and 3rd editions were just revised, streamlined versions of the same basic system. 4th Edition changed all that... a new system that, while using a multitudes of d6's vs. a target number, was so drastically different that my 70+ source books were unusable except for background information. I was a 4th Edition Hater.

Then I bought and read 5th Edition. It blew me away. Even though it is strongly related to 4th, more of a revision than a complete new game, the team at Catalyst did it right. The artwork and fiction put you into the Sixth World better than any version core rulebook before. The mechanics of the system are tight, quick, and yet versatile. Characters have more options for personalization than ever before. This version actually made me realize some of the weaknesses of 3rd Edition, and that's saying a lot for me.

Yes, it's a very large PDF, with almost 500 pages. That's a good thing, right? More value for the money. None of it's wasted. I like the fiction... it shows people doing the things that your character will be doing, but in a very realistic sense, considering the fantasy involved.

I can't recommend 5th Edition highly enough. Now if I could just convince Catalyst to take back the dozens and dozens of 1st through 3rd books back (every one of them, minus scenario books) and give me the upcoming 5th Edition versions! No... I take that back. I'll never let go of my collection.

Now go buy this book!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Storm Front
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/26/2013 22:21:52
Shadowrun: Storm Front provides a bridge from the end of the 4th edition storyline to the new world of Shadowrun, 5th edition. It does so in some fairly spectacular ways, making the world of 2074 a brave new one . . . But unless you are a huge metaplot junkie, your can probably glean what your need to run a game from the fifth edition core book along and be happy

Storm Front is a source book for Shadowrun, it moves the Sixth World’s time line forward and with it, many of the metaplots, some drawing to a close, others continue to accelerate laying the groundwork for the brave new world of Shadowrun, fifth edition.

Big things resolve in the Aztlan-Amazonian War (spoiler: Aztlan wins) and what with the Dragon Civil War moving along, the setting loses two great dragons, one through a massive amount of raw military might, the other though dragon on dragon violence. The world is changing and probably not for the better especially given the weird things happening in orbit and further afield.

Denver is in chaos but the Japancorps are pulling back together, Ares has hit a rough patch and the matrix is adjusting to closer (read corporate) oversight. Vampires and ghouls are getting hungrier, while the Tir is calming down, and Mayor Brackhaven of Seattle may finally be falling from power.

While most of the book is time line and metaplot advancement, there are some game rules and statistics for major characters in the back along for some scenario seeds. But a lot of important information that is mentioned in the main body, such as some actual information the chemical anti-dragon weapon that has weird effects on people as well, or suggestion to how to adjudicate the changes to the infected.

Overall, a useful book for those who enjoy seeing how the Sixth World evolves but it is of more limited value to those who are not avid followers of the metaplot.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Storm Front
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Hazard Pay
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/22/2013 03:45:23
http://www.teilzeithelden.de
--------------------------------



Shadowruns Hazard Pay schickt uns hinaus in die Welt. Wir lassen die Straßen und Hochhausschluchten hinter uns und wagen uns in Gefilde vor, die selbst vor dem Erwachen der sechsten Welt nicht ungefährlich waren. Verlangt Gefahrenzulage, denn es geht in die Wüste, unter Wasser, ins ewige Eis und … in den Weltraum.

Rezension: Shadowrun – Hazard Pay

Dunkle Gassen, verlassene Gebäude, nasse Straßen beleuchtet durch Neonlicht. Shadowrunner kennen all diese Plätze. Sie wissen auch, dass es nicht die einzigen Orte sind, an denen man arbeiten muss. Ein guter Shadowrunner sollte offen für alles sein, bereit überall dorthin zu gehen, wo man gebraucht wird. Von der kalten Antarktis bis zur Hitze der Sahara, von dem mit Leben gefülltem Tiefen des Ozeans bis zur absoluten Leere des Weltraums. Es gibt genug Arbeit für Runner, die mutig und einfallsreich genug sind. Natürlich gibt es ebenso ein Dutzend mehr Wege zu sterben, so sollte man schauen, ob Mr. Johnson nicht vielleicht ein wenig was extra springen lässt.

Hazard Pay (übersetzt: Gefahrenzulage) bringt die Shadowrunner in die unterschiedlichen extremsten Umgebungen der sechsten Welt. Es bietet Beschreibungen, Plothaken, Ausrüstung und andere Informationen, die Spielleiter und Spieler brauchen, um diese Umgebungen in Ihrem Spiel nutzen zu können. Angefangen bei mysteriösen Monumenten unter der See bis hin zu klapprigen Gleitern, welche es so gerade in den Orbit schaffen, ohne zu verglühen. Hazard Pay präsentiert diverseste Herausforderungen für Runner welche zu allem bereit sind.
Erscheinungsbild
Das über Buchrücken und Vorderseite gestaltete, dreiteilige, Cover, zeigt Shadowrunner in den wohl gefährlichsten Gegenden, in denen man sein Geld verdienen kann.

So ist ein Kopfschuss sicher verheerend, im Weltraum aber absolut tödlich. In der Wüste plagt man sich mit Sandwürmern und Skorpionen herum, und in der Eiswüste kann man schamanistischen Eisbären begegnen.

Der Rest der PDF ist vollständig schwarz/weiß und immer wieder mal aufgelockert mit stimmungsvollen und qualitativ guten Bildern. Hier möchte ich mich auch mal bezüglich der Schriftgröße beschweren, welche hier doch arg klein wirkt und das Lesen etwas mehr ermüdet, zusammen mit dem blass grauen Hintergrund.

Die PDF hat alle üblichen Techniken zur leichten Bedienung, wie das Auswählen und Kopieren von Text und Bild, sowie ein klickbares Inhaltsverzeichnis und detaillierte Lesezeichen. Dafür hat es keinen Index.

Inhalt

Aufgeteilt ist das Buch in 7 Kapitel. Wohingegen „Snow Emergency“ von einem Run in der Eiswüste spricht und wie man es schafft, selbst dort die Geister gegen sich aufzuhetzen, ist „Protectors and Despoilers“ etwas bodenständiger.

Eingeleitet wird dieses Kapitel mit einer weiteren Kurzgeschichte über einen Diskurs mit Mitgliedern einer magischen Gesellschaft, ob einer der Ihren ein sogenannter Insektenschamane ist.

Die eine Hälfte des Kapitels stellt sechs Organisationen kurz vor, welche sich der Bewahrung der Natur verschrieben haben. Es wird von den Autoren angenommen, dass man sich überwiegend für diese Organisationen verdingt. Die zweite Hälfte befasst sich dagegen mit vier möglichen Gegnertypen, die die dunklen Seiten der Natur gegen die Runner nutzen. Diese Gegnertypen haben jeweils ein paar Beispielcharaktere. Ausgearbeitet mit einem kurzem Hintergrund, Kopfgeld und spieltechnischen Eigenschaften, kann der Spielleiter diese als Endgegner einer Kampagne nutzen.

In den folgenden vier Kapiteln werden die tödlichsten Umgebungen, neben einer Großstadt vorgestellt. Angefangen wird mit der tiefen See. Eröffnet wird das Kapitel mit einer Einleitung zu einem Run. Dieses Kapitel ist vollgestopft mit Informationen, die man sich erst etwas mühselig aus dem Fließtext graben muss, und die das Leben und Überleben unter Wasser aufzeigen. Die Fragen zu - welchen Jobangeboten gibt es, welche Arkologien befinden sich unter Wasser und was kann man so anstellen - werden hier beantwortet. Der geneigte Leser sucht aber vergeblich nach Gefahren oder wie diesen zu begegnen wäre.

Im Gegensatz hierzu glänzt „Arctic Wastelands“. In der Eiswüste kann man nicht ganz so viel anstellen, außer magischen Phänomenen auf den Grund zu gehen, zweifelhaften Organisationen auf die Schliche kommen oder Überlebenstraining zu machen.
Zu den einzelnen Orten mit Eiswüste gibt es ein paar sehr kurz gehaltene Plothooks. Dafür sind die Informationen, wie man dort am besten überlebt und dies Aufträge zu Ende bringt, vielfältiger und detaillierter.

Eine Geschichtsstunde der Weltraumfahrt mit allem was dazugehört, bekommt man im Kapitel „Space“. Die mit sechs Seiten längste Kurzgeschichte des Buches ist spannend geschrieben. Hier wird alles „rund um die Erde“ beschrieben. Raumstationen, Suborbitalflüge und Weltraumspaziergänge. Aber auch hier scheint der reine Aufenthalt im Weltraum das interessanteste zu sein und so wird wenig Platz dafür genutzt, dass man dort oben auch tatsächlich Gefahren begegnet und übersteht. Prinzipiell ist es allerdings ein interessantes Kapitel, gerade für raumfahrtbegeisterte Runner.

Das Kapitel „Deserts“ ist kürzer und simpler gehalten als „Space“. Auch hier wird einem die Umgebung detaillierter beschrieben als das Überleben darin. Die vier großen Wüsten werden in den jeweiligen Unterkapiteln beschrieben, mit jeweils kleinen Abenteuerideen. Neben dem Überleben in der Wüste, wird auch hier nochmal explizit darauf eingegangen, dass es Fortschritte in der Magie gibt, um besser an solch unwirtlichen Orten wie der Eis und Sandwüste zu überleben. Abgeschlossen wird mit einer sehr kurzen Abhandlung über notwendige und neue Wüstenausrüstung.

Das letzte Kapitel „Game Information“ hat im Gegensatz zu allen vorherigen Abschnitten, knallharte Regelfakten für den Umgang in extremen Umweltsituationen. Hier wird kurz und knackig beschrieben, wie sich Waffen verhalten, wodurch Sicherheitsausrüstung beschädigt wird, Schweiß bei extremer Kälte, Sicht in extremen Umgebungen und das Laufen im Weltall. Hier wird auch am meisten Platz darauf verwendet, was es für Probleme explizit im Weltall geben kann.

Für die Magier gibt es neue Zaubersprüche, welche teilweise sehr situationsbedingt sind und kaum außerhalb von Natur-Shadowruns Verwendung finden werden.

Ähnlich Situationsbedingt sind Waffen mit dem Zusatz „Arctic“, welche es hier am Meisten gibt und nur dafür da sind, um die oben genannten Regeln der Waffenschäden bei extremen Umweltbedingungen zu umgehen.

Ein wenig passender sind die Umgebungsschutzanzüge, die man hier ebenfalls finden kann.
Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis
Für einen Preis von 25 USD findet man hier die gefährlichsten und auch interessantesten Gebiete der Erde. Aufbereitet, so dass sie auch für Shadowrunner zu betreten sind. Die Kapitel sind reichlich ausgearbeitet und bieten sicherlich genügend Hintergrundwissen, um Runs in diesen Gegenden durchführen zu können.

Was man für diesen doch recht happigen Preis allerdings vergeblich sucht sind große vorbereitete Runs. Für das, was die PDF ursprünglich gekostet hat, wären auch Farbbilder notwendig gewesen.

Fazit

Spielleiter, die sich nicht scheuen, eigene Runs zu entwerfen und diese gerne authentisch in gefährliche Umweltbedingungen stecken möchte, findet hier einen guten Hintergrundband, um an die notwendigen Informationen zu kommen.

Für Spieler gibt es hier weniger zu finden. Der Regelteil ist zu klein und die Beschreibungen der jeweiligen Umgebungen zu flach, um sie in die Hintergrundgeschichte aufzunehmen.

Spielleitern lege ich es sicherlich ans Herz, wenn sie nicht nur Kaufabenteuer nutzen oder einzelne mit den Informationen aus diesem Buch aufwerten wollen.

Unsere Bewertung

Erscheinungsbild 3/5
Schöne Bilder und PDF-Technik, aber alles in schwarz/weißem und zu kleinem Text.
Inhalt 3/5
Viele Informationen für den Spielleiter zum Aufpolstern von eigenen Abenteuern. Wenig für Spieler und Spielleiter von Kaufabenteuern.
Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis 3/5
Ein wenig überteuert für die Aufmachung mit zu wenigen Seiten für den Preis.
Gesamt 3/5
Gutes Referenzregelwerk/Settingband für Abenteuer in extremen Umweltbedingungen.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Hazard Pay
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Portfolio of a Dragon: Dunkelzahn's Secrets
by Lawrence T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2013 22:46:40
Lots of good info for your 3rd ed campaign. Plenty of background and adventure hooks.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Portfolio of a Dragon: Dunkelzahn's Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Preview Omnibus
by Holger K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2013 21:20:48
Worked like a charm for me - no blank pages!
93 pages filled with Shadowrun awesomeness :D

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Preview Omnibus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2013 12:23:06
A great book for a great game! The system is easy to learn, and the setting does not fail to make this old 'runner extremely happy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/14/2013 23:58:06
Fun fact: I actually have no experience with Shadowrun whatsoever. Yes, I know it’s pretty much a classic and one of the bigger fish in the gaming sea…and, yet, here we are. So when I got a chance to review the Fifth Edition of the game, I took it.

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: First and foremost, this is the 5th, and most recent, version of the game. The books clocks in at 489 pages, making for a hefty tome. The PDF is about $20, about a third of what the print version is going to retail for, it looks like. Shadowrun is a mix of fantasy and cyberpunk sci-fi elements, a lot of which have now been seen over the years. The system uses a d6 dice pool system, with 5s and 6s for successes and “Glitches” occurring when half or more of the dice rolled come up 1s. The world is ran largely by megacorporations, and people deal in both Augmented Reality and Virtual Reality while Magic is a fairly commonplace element.

WHAT WORKS: I like the fantastic elements like the elves and dwarves and orks and trolls, blending them with the modern world. The magic system has some very neat points to it, with my favorite part being the mentor spirits. The book is a gorgeous piece of work, with some impressive art. There is a “random run generator”, essentially a random adventure generator, which I always love. Character creation levels are provided, so you can start campaigns with street level newbies, capable warriors or power players.

WHAT DOESN’T WORK: In-game fiction doesn’t do too much for me, anymore, and there seemed to be a lot of that here (maybe it was just my perceptions), especially for the price. I’m not a fan of the approach taken with the system…for the most part, I’ve moved towards “lighter” systems over the years, and a skill heavy system like this isn’t really in my wheelhouse (75+ skills is a bit much for me).

CONCLUSION: Shadowrun isn’t really for me. I’m not surprised, as cyberpunk isn’t a genre that really interests me, and when I do have a desire to scratch that itch, I have a perfectly good Savage Worlds alternative waiting for me (Interface Zero). The book never really “clicked” for me, making it difficult for me to engage with it, and I think that might be the “Dracula” effect: In short, all those trends that Shadowrun kinda helped set are a bit overdone now, and so it has a bit of a “been there, done that” feel to it. That said, if the system were more my speed, I really think I could get into the setting due to the “magic plus sci-fi” mish-mash. Not a bad product, just not my cup of tea, unfortunately.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Harlequin
by Roger N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2013 15:02:49
This was the first of the original Shadowrun scenarios that I actually completely recall playing. In todays terms it would be a 'mega-scenario' covering a longer period of time with multiple potential spin offs through out. The group i played with at the time had played Shadowrun since it was released in the UK and this really did hit us with a whole new level of challenge.

I cannot recommend this scenario/adventure enough. For any group wanting to get some Shadowrun goodness this is really up there. In my opinion only Universal Brotherhood was better from the original Shadowrun 1ed released scenarios.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Harlequin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Preview Omnibus
by Marcus G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 20:14:29
Same as the other review, downloaded and opened up blank pages...

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Preview Omnibus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BattleTech: Alpha Strike
by sean f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 15:19:37
This system is well written and is going to be a blast to play!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Alpha Strike
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BattleTech: Alpha Strike Preview 1
by Max B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 12:16:41
This preview has me very excited about the ruleset. I'm going to try it at Gencon, and probably buy it after that. As a Wizkids Mechwarrior player, I find this seems to strike a better balance of speed vs. unit individuality than either regular Battletech or some other wargames focusing on larger numbers of units.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Alpha Strike Preview 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/08/2013 20:07:14
Reviewing a core rulebook is always fraught with difficulty; usually because it invites discussion on whether it is 'better' than previous editions. Rather than go into the rules and the mechanical changes in any great depth, this review will focus on the general use and production values of the book.

One of the key questions about a core book is whether it can stand on its' own. We have come to expect over the years that gaming companies will provide an endless supply of expansion books, but in my opinion a game should be playable with only one book. In this, Catalyst delivers.

The designers have been very clever about the content, and made some really intelligent decisions. The book is very well-suited to engaging with a new cadre of SR players. There are very good sections which flesh out the world, give readers an overview of what it is like to live in the Sixth World, and then explain why shadowrunners exist and what they do. It gives a breakdown of how you should approach a shadowrun, the sorts of activities that might be involved in a mission, and what roles exist in the average group. Added to this is a decently detailed section on the corporations. Were I not reviewing this, I would be tempted to skip these chapters (I've been playing for a while), but this would have been a mistake. Even the most veteran player or game master will take away something from these sections.

There is plenty of fiction that serves to reinforce the themes of the book, and illustrate 'how it all works'. A GM can gain a lot of insight into the world simply from this fiction - which shows that the developers understand to to not only produce and display mechanics, but make the world accessible. Shadowrun's greatest strength over the years has been the depth of immersion possible in the world, and this book continues that fine tradition.

The rules are all explained in very easy-to-understand terms. Most of the rolls are broken down into small diagrams, which I can see being very useful for reference purposes. Whilst SR tends towards being a more complex system historically, I don't think the designers have made this edition unnecessarily so.

The artwork is uniformly of a high standard, and most is in full colour, which makes this book a true pleasure to read.

The only two negatives for me are around editing and language, especially if this is something that a new player to the system will pick up. Firstly, more attention should have been paid to grammatical, spelling and layout. There are a enough to be annoying, and I'll be waiting for a second printing before buying my hard copy. Secondly, Shadowrun has a long history of creating in-game words to add colour and flavour to a conversation, and this includes swearing. I see no point to use fol language in the book, especially given that the authors could have used in-game words to add to immersion. This has been a disappointing trend throughout Fourth Edition and seems to now be the staple for the game.

However, this is a great book overall. Generally speaking, I'd recommend it as an entry point to the SR game, especially for the explanatory chapters at the beginning. Veteran players should get equal value from the book, too.

This has definitely kept my interest in the game, and I'll be keen to see where this new edition takes one of my favourite game lines.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BattleTech: Alpha Strike Preview 1
by Bartosz B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 12:29:16
Great preview! Makes you wanna buy the whole thing!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Alpha Strike Preview 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 136 to 150 (of 680 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG