RPGNow.com
Find Category













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BattleTech: Adventures: Necromo Nightmare
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2016 07:38:27

A wonderful Halloween adventure that adds something new to the BattleTech universe...zombies!!! I recommend it!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Adventures: Necromo Nightmare
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: MapPack: Flatlands Terrain Set
by Corey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2016 17:33:25

There are not too many stores that sell Battletech in my city..... or country for that matter so this was an excellent way to get maps without having to wait for overseas orders to get here. The maps also came with printing instructions which were very useful and easy to understand. Please bring out more MapPack Sets!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: MapPack: Flatlands Terrain Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Jihad: Final Reckoning
by Nicholas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 12:59:06

Show the start of the end of the jihad from multiple places good read for rpg and the



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Jihad: Final Reckoning
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Interstellar Operations
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 12:09:40

Overall, I was a bit disappointed. However, I think this is in large part because I misunderstood the content.

In general, Interstellar Operations is broken out into two parts. The better half, in my opinion, are the rule sets for strategic battles and faction conflict.

The (other) first half is primarily rules for niche technologies in use during the different era. The tech tables are the highlight, such as when IS rediscover SL weapons and put them into mass production. Perfect for 3039 to pre-clan campaigns. Otherwise, I don't have much use for niche rules for prototypes, retro etc. I also don't see how that fits into the theme of Interstellar Operations. I would have preferred to see this content in its own technical supplement and have kept the focus on the interstellar ops, especially since most of the rules for equipment require you to be mostly playing at the tactical level anyways!

What I was hoping for were more rules for building star systems, fleets and large unit creation, the supplying of armies, how many mechs and vehicles are pumped out by different factories, and more rules for generating large scale units for the different factions in the different eras. The Inner Sphere conflict rules are interesting, but sparse. The diplomacy and economy sections being only a couple paragraphs each. That seems lacking to me. Shouldn't the different political structures results in different rules for generating units? Conscription versus volunteers, mercenaries versus regulars, how many mechwarrior graduates are available each year, etc. Icing on the cake would have been some reconciliation of FASA economics when it comes to factories, transportation, ship construction, etc.

Overall, I give it a 3/5. The large battle rules are great, but I'd rather have seen less emphasis on equipment and more on coordinating battles across whole fronts and how to interweave factional politics and economies into the military mix. It looks like the potential release of Campaign Companion might have some of that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Interstellar Operations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Record Sheets: Total Warfare Style 3075 Unabridged
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 11:35:25

Excellent sheets, I love them! Keep up the good work. I recomend them to any BT players out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Record Sheets: Total Warfare Style 3075 Unabridged
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: 25 Years of Art and Fiction
by Randy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2016 07:36:57

I just downloaded this and don't be fooled by the comment that it's low resolution. This PDF is beautiful. It is packed full of content. Can't wait to read it all. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: 25 Years of Art and Fiction
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: World of Shadows
by Antony V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 11:01:03

On the whole I enjoyed the anthology, some stories I'd like to see extended in novels, but there were a couple that left me scratching my head and wondering why they were included.

I really enjoyed Patrick Goodman's story about Dragonslayer actively choosing to mentor a new runner, and I'd like to read more about how Erica grows as a Mage.

Russell Zimmerman, you actually made me get a little angry at the start of your story, so thoroughly did I get immersed in the story. Great to read more about one of the Street Legends.

I was particularly disappointed by "Queen for a Minute" by Annie Bellet. If it had been included with the original Shadowrun Returns game it may not have thrown me so much, but having a 2052 setting story in a new Shadowrun compilation seemed a very strange choice.

Overall I'm glad I bought it, and look forward to more Shadowrun fiction, particularly as it's what really drew me into the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: World of Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Coyotes
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2016 15:18:35

Pros:

/ Gives a good idea what Coyotes do / Price table / Outlines types of border, and what's present at each in terms of actual assets, eg. guard stats, no of spirits, etc.

Cons:

/ Doesn't address corporate extra-territoriality - big omission really, since countries who've signed the BRA and other corporations can't search vehicles belonging to AA and AAA corps (is my understanding) / Doesn't look at what happens at a border when you try to get thru! Eg. I have a rating 4 fake SIN, and I try to cross a 'Normal' border - does it work? Ratings of devices such as SIN scanners, MAD detectors, etc. at each border type is not addressed at all. / Would have been helpful to have more info about visas, etc. I'd also expect info on bribing officials, etc. here with regards to what's allowed, who gets searched, etc. In the Denver missions there are come quick rules on border crossing, which I imagined would have been expanded upon. / Would have also been useful to outline security of borders rather than just checkpoints, eg. drones, minefields, motion detectors, ratings, etc.

I enjoyed what was there, but it seemed somewhat incomplete.

Just my 2c



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Coyotes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadows in Focus: City by Shadow: San Francisco Metroplex
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2016 16:23:35

I wanted to like this, but I am a native of the SF Bay Area and it is painfully obvious that the writers are not, nor did they bother to look at a map. The other issue is that they specify certain items, and then fail to define them. They also use names that are already defined, and then I can only assume push them past their currently defined boundaries to areas that aren't traditionally included. They don't really add any new gear, since the new pistol is speced in the new hard targets book, unless you want police NPC's for the SFPD. The only good thing is that they brought forward the previous history for the area, however that history was never of decent quality and they could and should have performed cleanup and minor changes and corrections to it to make it actually make more sense.

Examples of what I am talking about.

  • They claim San Francisco has now managed to encompass the entire bay area, yet the only districts they list are the southern half of the bay area.
  • They talk about the caldecott tunnel and Oakland, failing to mention that only half of the tunnel is in Oakland, and it has no impact on access to the valley.
  • They fail to mention San Jose at all, I assume it is included in the 'Silicon Valley District' but it's never mentioned, despite that being the location of the airport.
  • They mention districts and fail to define their borders leaving huge grey areas (the bay area is a contiguous urban area).
  • They appear to have expanded named locations like Oakland, without actually telling us what they encompass.
  • Most of the plot for the Japanese invasion doesn't really make any sense and they did nothing to clean it up.
  • They have a map on the last page that lists interstates and state roads, and some of those state roads are city streets with stop lights (SR-82 is El Camino Real a city street, compared to I-101 a 8 lane highway).
  • That map also fails to define any disctrict borders, is blurry, and isn't that good on topography either (which explains the freeway layouts).

I would really love to go into deeper specifics, and offer my personal corrections and commentary, but this is suppossed to be a review, not a dissection.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadows in Focus: City by Shadow: San Francisco Metroplex
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleTech: Turning Points: Epsilon Eridani
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 15:15:10

I found it informative just wish it was just a little longer. Also wish the mech complent was non existant would love to know which mechs were being used



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Turning Points: Epsilon Eridani
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Run & Gun, Preview #1
by Dionne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2016 15:26:16

I love this. I am playing it with a group of friends and family and hope to get the rest of these for more fun in playing. Thanks for having it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Run & Gun, Preview #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition: Core Rulebook Errata
by Dionne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2016 15:25:00

This was very useful for me and I intend to keep using it. I'd like to thank you all for having such useful book/PDA for us when one needed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition: Core Rulebook Errata
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Boundless Mercy
by Oliver S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2016 08:51:28

While the premise is interesting, the general setup and difficulty curve of all runs in this compilation seems unfocused and all over the place. Furthermore, in one of the runs I had the distinct feeling of reading a badly written D&D campaign, since all it basically boiled down to was a minimum amount of legwork and then encounter after encounter the players would have no chance of knowing anything about. Either way, I cannot recommend this book to either experienced GMs (who will find it badly written and have to rewrite most of the encounters and scenes) or inexperienced GMs (who might not realize how unbeatable or laughable some of the encounters and scenes will be). To end on a positive note, the idea of the legwork tables has been done quite nicely, though the information attainable is both too little and too much.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Boundless Mercy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/10/2016 09:46:17

Shadow Spells provides additional information about magic in the Shadowrun setting filling in some gaps left by the Street Grimoire. With the niche nature of the new spells and powers and the groups and threats provided, it seems aimed primarily at GMs who should definitely pick this product up if they are running a game that is magically oriented. Players who are focused on the magic side of the game will probably want a copy too.

Shadowrun: Shadow Spells, is an additional resource on magic in the Sixth World of Shadowrun building on the material provided in the Street Grimoire providing new traditions, magical societies, threats, and (unsurprisingly given the title) more spells, ritual and adept powers.

Unlike most 5th edition books, this one is devoid of fiction (though not of in setting commentary) which I find as welcome for a focused source like this one. There are four new traditions, each ending with a paragraph description of an example (and semi-famous) practitioner, they are: Aboriginal, (Ancient) Egyptian, Norse and (my favorite) Psionic.

Next are five magical groups running from gangs to political parties, two get short write up on their most prominent member, these are useful for using as patrons or targets in a campaign. Then we have three threats, which will be used as opposition, one gets a creature (with a new power), the next three NPCs and the last, just a single NPC so they can be dropped into a game with only a little work.

The final section is new spells, around forty of them, including some classics (mob mood), a few that only work on specific types of being (ghouls, vampires), some designed for villain use (inflict disease, rot), and lots of interesting narrow purpose spells. While most of these spells are not general use, when you need them, they will be good to have. Three new rituals are included which seem to have clear use as scenario seeds. Lastly, seventeen new Adept powers, covering increased swimming, performance, and various other fun but unlikely to be seen often options. There is also a box listing the costs of reagents at the end, though I am not sure why.

Overall, a good addition to the resources for Shadowrun providing books hooks for a GM to hang adventures off of and new tools for magically active characters.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Hard Targets (Deep Shadows Sourcebook)
by Kent C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 12:21:05

This is a well needed book for both runners and GM's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Hard Targets (Deep Shadows Sourcebook)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 966 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG