RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
TrollsZine
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2017 05:27:45

An excellent source for finding information on Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls and the DT& T online community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TrollsZine
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tunnels & Trolls Rules Version 5
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2017 09:01:52

This game really is complete in 100 pages. That's the reason it was the standard edition of T&T for so long and is still prefered by many. The character stats fit on an index card, and the system is incredibly simple: each side rolls a number of dice based on weopons etc, with magic and ranged combat having slightly different procedures, the highest total wins the round. The difference in the totals is the damage to be spread over the combatants on the loosing side. Armor may soak some damage. Ranged combat, magic, just about everything else are handled through a saving roll system. The most inovative aspect of T&T is the Monster Rating. MR indicates the number of dice monsters roll and acts as their hit points. The book has benchmarks and suggestions for customizing monsters, but like all aspects of this game, it's up to the GM to narrate the details. This is pretty standard Tolkienesque fantasy but could aslo emulate Howard, Leiber, etc. There are four classes and fourty plus kindred, or race, options. The book gives a lot of space to weapon descriptions and includes sections on unarmed combat, breserker combat and firearms. Finding an easier frpg to play with new players would be difficult.

One only need look at the names of the spells to see that T&T does not take itself seriously. The original edition of D&D didn't either, but by '79 D&D was taking itself more and more seriously as it moved into Advanced territory. The art here is arguably better than that in the AD&D books of '78 and '79. By the late '80s systems like D&D, Palladium and Rolemaster got caught in the trap of having to stat everything. Even the new Deluxe Edition of T&T avoids that. If the rule's not in the book, talk it out, or house rule something.

What distinguishes 5th edition Tunnels & Trolls from the new Deluxe Edition, and some would argue makes it a closer representation of Sword & Scorcery and High Fantasy literature is fewer stats. All magic is psionic and costs strength to use. Take a look at how magic is handled in Lord of the Rings, etc, and you'll see that more or less reflected here. The default setting of Trollword is implied but not front and center, like in the Deluxe version.

What you will not find in T&T5 are detailed descriptions of monster races, etc. The assumption was in the '70s that roleplayers would be avid readers of myths, legends and fantasy fiction. This should not deter a new GM. There's always the magic of Google. If the game has one flaw, it's a flaw shared by FRPGs of the time. T&T5 is a bit Eurocentric, but even so, has more references to Asian monsters, etc than D&D did at the time.

I discovered T&T around '87, and it's still one of my favorite FRPGs. Tunnels & Trolls has always been for fans by fans. That shows in the longevity of this edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Rules Version 5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Agent of Death
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 15:58:02

If you have not yet played this solo, then run - do not walk - to click ADD TO CART right now. This is one of the more REplayable adventures that I've yet had, though I doubt you'll be replaying with the same character. It really is that deadly - and a good deal of the character deaths are actually caused by your choices, though there are a couple of BOOM-You're-Dead occurances. For the most part, the clues are there and staying the noble and straight path (i.e. - Keep your eye on your ultimate goal) and you stand a much better chance. Luck certainly can play a factor.

One way or another, you're going to enjoy this. I enjoyed it so much, I paid for the hard copy of this solo AND for the PDF....despite the fact that I was one of the blindtesters!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agent of Death
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TrollsZine! #6
by Kristopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2016 12:20:32

A solid free issue with fun adventures and optional rules. I recommend it along with the entire Trollzine line for any T&T fan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TrollsZine! #6
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2016 14:16:08

http://dieheart.net/deluxe-tunnels-and-trolls/

This is a guest review by Wilhelm Person. Thanks for reading.

This Deluxe edition is the ninth edition of a game first released in 1975 by Ken St Andre as a simpler alternative to D&D, that focused on entertainment rather than simulation.

I had to look that bit up on Wikipedia. There has been a T&T based CYOA sitting on my shelf for years, but beyond that Tunnels & Trolls hadn’t really registered on my radar as an RPG. When I got the offer to review it for Sophia’s blog I accepted mostly to see what is all was about. These are my impressions based on reading the game.

The book

I got the game in PDF format, it is a massive tome (file?) of 386 pages US-letter. It is formatted with two columns per page and quite readable, even on screen.

The book is divided into four sections. First the actual game itself of about 160 pages. Then a 60-page section of advanced and alternative rules. 60 pages are devoted to introducing the default setting – Trollworld. The book even includes 40 pages of adventures, one of which is a CYOA style single player affair. Various appendices make up the remainder of the page count.

There are loads of really nice black and white retro styled illustrations breaking up the text.

The rules

The rules are simple, on par with early D&D or most of the current OSR games.

Character generation follows the following pattern: Roll 3d6 for the eight stats, with the neat twist that any triple roll, 1-1-1, 2-2-2 etc, are rerolled and added to the initial roll for potentially infinite stats. Select a class from Warrior, Wizard or Rogue (who is something of a mix between the two others). Select a race from Human, Dwarf, Elf, Hobb (hobbit), Fairy or Leprechaun, which gives multipliers for the stats. Fill in a couple of other fields, buy gear and the character is ready for play.

Saving throws are made against the stats, and also covers skill use. Stat+2d6 against a difficulty level (doubles are rerolled like the stat rolls during char gen) to succeed.

Close combat eschews to-hit rolls, just roll damage directly. Both sides in the combat roll and add up their damage. The party that got the lowest total distributes the difference as they please as taken damage. Ranged attacks involve a saving throw to hit, and if successful the damage goes directly to the target, instead of going into the general pool for distribution.

There is a magic system with a whole bunch of different spells that cost Mana to throw. If the cost is paid the spell is successfully cast. Character advancement is done in baby steps with the player spending experience points to raise the stats one step at a time.

Simple, right? There’s a bit more to it, some various special cases and so on, but I think you could join a game of T&T with the above summary and do just fine.

The setting

The Trollworld setting is whimsical, strange, random and other such things. Here are the first couple of sentences describing the dragon shaped continent of Rrr’lff:

Plate tectonics had nothing to do with it. The major landforms on Trollworld acquired their current shapes through the efforts of the Great Wizards who entered the world from Elsewhere. Rrr’lff, the Dragon Continent, was formed by Shangingshing-shingingshang, the oldest and greatest of all dragons on Trollworld. And so it goes on for sixty pages. Not very coherent, but loads of curious details and strange places. A treasure trove for anyone looking for inspiration for some whimsical and strange adventures.

The setting and rules aren’t heavily coupled, it would be trivial to separate them and use either with other products if desired.

The form

The form is traditional, a GM runs adventures for players.

However, there’s an interesting twist in that the players are expected to play a couple of characters a piece. With the recommendation of two to five players, that means that a party of around 10 characters that waltz around Trollworld killing monsters and looting their treasures shouldn’t be out of the ordinary.

Conclusions

The rules are complete for the genre, and pretty well written. I can see them being used as a drop in replacement for the rules of any OSR game, though stat conversions are a bit more work than usual due to the eight stats and different paradigm of combat system.

I get a retro feel from the Trollworld setting. A certain zany everything goes kind of deal. Just reading a couple of paragraphs at random should give me enough material to run a session without much further planning.

The form is traditional. There are some guidelines for the prospective GM on what to do when running the game though perhaps not much explanation of how to do those things. There are a couple of ready to run adventures included in the book, for anyone who’d like examples of how the game could be played.

Will I play it?

Perhaps …

The friendly names of spells go well with the overall style of the game (e.g. “Oh go away” and “Poor baby”), but they don’t sound very majestic to me. Perhaps I’m too used to the D&D spell names. The setting is random, but I can definitely work with it.

The huge parties of characters seem like an interesting concept. Like an Ars Magica troupe, but everyone goes on adventures together.

The text is incredibly verbose. I don’t think I’ve ever seen an RPG that wraps the mechanics in so much text before. To run the game I’d either have to make my own rules summary, or back up a couple of editions to a time when the book was slimmer. To jump in as a player at a con or join an existing game? Yes, sure, it would be nice to see the mechanics in action.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TrollsZine
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2016 21:55:39

The first TrollsZine is a great addition to my tunnels and trolls stuff.Its interesting and useful.I feel a bit more intouch with the tunnels and trolls gaming universe with it.It was scaned well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TrollsZine
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Goblin Lake
by Don C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2016 08:18:54

Deluxe Goblin Lake is a fun and surprisingly replayable little adventure. There are some very swift in-and-out visits depending on your choices, along with several longer and more challenging encounters. In fact there are some epic victories with equally epic rewards possible here, but they won't come easy. The "out of your depth" feel is amply captured by the excellent cover illustration, but that just makes the victories all the sweeter.

Essentially, we have here an English language version of the pre-Deluxe 2012 French edition. It retains all of the charm and most of the writing of the original 1979 edition, and adds an extended introduction, a fun and comprehensive history of the Goblin kindred by Bill Kerr, Talents as per the Deluxe T&T rules, more equipment for Eekanewt (that's what I called my heroic, adventuring Goblin), all new art (new to the 1979 edition at least, which is still worth keeping for the Liz Danforth art), eyecatching layout and graphics by Steve Crompton, more tweaks to make it compatible with the new rules, and additional adventuring paragraphs.

All of this makes it a great value purchase, even for owners of the original version, and especially so at the currrent price of $2.95. Five stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Goblin Lake
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2015 19:05:58

An interested update to the old system. This product manages to add some needed depth to the game without rendering anything overly complicated. It's close enough to the earlier systems that veterans of the game should have no trouble adapting to this one. The mention of alternative rules suggested by the playtesters in the sidebars is a helpful touch, and the new talents system adds a bit more detail to the characters. Rules are set out in a clear manner and provide the reader with plenty of examples. My only significant complaint with it is that I feel there isn't enough on creating monsters/encounters outside of the standard monster ratings and save difficulties. Some suggested special rules might have been nice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Randall W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2015 23:45:39

While the PDF was great and what I expected, except it had no color - and the PDF was advertised to be in color on the official DT&T website.

The rules were about what I expected them to be. It appears to be version 7.0 with a few changes here and there, but nothing which will prevent playing this venerable game. I guess I will have to wait for the hardbound edition to be available on Amazon for the colored version; I was so looking forward to the illustrator, Liz Danforth's artwork. It look so drab and dull without color.

Anyway, I do like the internal links to navigate within the PDF and thanks for providing these rules on DriveThru RPG!

(Now if you can only get your hands on the hardbound edition! :) )

Best regards and success in the future.

Randall Williams



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
The color (in addition to the cover, of course) is on pages 233 to page 248. I know, 360+ pages is a lot to look through! That would be an interesting thought, tho, to have Steve Crompton go through and colorize all those Liz Danforth drawings, just for the pdf. I wish he had time! Rick
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls gamemaster Screen
by John B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2015 09:31:20

Very attractive screen and pretty useful considering the simplicity of Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls. If I had a recommendation it would be to offer this in a four-panel option so it is compatible with The World's Greatest Game Screen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls gamemaster Screen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Moritz E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2015 08:06:11

Reading this newest version of the T&T is like coming home. When I was a young lad I played a lot of T&T, both the solitaire adventures as well as the group adventures. There was always something special about the free-from and humorous approach of Ken St. Andre and his friends, and this has been preserved for this edition. T&T has always been of the most flexible rules systems out there, but it is also never "complete" or thorough. Even in these rules the authors constantly give several possibilities to approach a subject or solve a situation, sometimes even discussing that they had different views on a certain rule. But perhaps this is why it is such an engaging read - T&T is what you make of it, and that the system is still alive is a credit to its simplicity and absolutely unique style. It is great to see so many new illustrations, but also many of the old (and fondly remembered) ones. I especially liked the complete history of Trollworld, which reads as a truly complex history with fascinating personalities - "Game of Thrones" anyone? Even though I am sure we will see an 8th edition at some point this is probably the best and most complete edition the game ever had. Very recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Four Jars of Mead - FBI0093
by Kaiden R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2015 11:17:27

Pretty nice adventure! It's around 10 pages and definitely worth the $1 spent!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Four Jars of Mead - FBI0093
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2015 10:35:42

The original T&T came out the year I was born, and I first encountered the game in it's 5th edition when I was twelve, before I ever played D&D. I still find the Monster Rating system far easier than statted foes. This is the best edition of T&T since 5th [and I have all of the post 5th ones]. There are a lot more "clothes" on the rules, but at its heart, it's still the same easy to digest game. The book also contains probably the most comprehensive writeup of Ken St. Andre's Trollworld under one cover. Another fringe benefit to T&T is that the game has had one author at its helm for 40 years, and Ken St Andre and publisher Rick Loomis are still actively engaging us fans. I am looking forward to the hardcover. Now FBI needs to do a deluxe version of Mercenaries, Spies and Private Eyes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Johannes A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2015 03:34:09

I like the art in dT&T. It draws a lot from Sword & Sorcery: fighting apes, Dinosaurs, Toad-men and Grey. I also like the timeless art nouveau style. Makes this an art piece itself.

The rules make delvers stronger (there is a paragraph to upgrade legacy delvers), good for soloplayers too. They are really good (5.5 have been my favorite up to now). I especially like that rogues can specialise at level 7.

Also it's interesting to get insight to Trollworld and the successes of Leotrah. This background together with the images gives T&T a strong feeling it never had before (I think).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Don C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2015 10:17:47

I've been a huge fan of Tunnels and Trolls since 1980 and I'm very pleased with this latest iteration. I believe it was originally designed to be a cleaned up, enhanced version of the 5th edition, and that's exactly how it feels to me. There are a few new wrinkles, like the extra saving roll for humans (much needed for the solos!) but it's essentially a more complete, and very welcome, version of the game I know and love. The Elaborations section is especially fab, including masses of new detail on Trollworld and its cities.

I have no complaints at all. The only less-than-elated thing I can say is that I probably won't be using the armour ablation rules (too fiddly for my tastes), but I have no problem with them being there for those that want them.

Well done, the Fellowship of the Troll! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 98 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG