RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Big Crime: Spotlight on James Cagney
by Ken T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2015 12:24:38
A one page character profile of the actor James Cagney for use in the Big Crime game. Mainly for fans of Cagney's gangster roles. A short interesting profile.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Crime: Spotlight on James Cagney
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 rulebook
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2015 10:58:38
I can't say enough about how much I love this game! As a child of the 80's, I so relate to everything the author says. As a tabletop gamer, the d12 is my favorite die. As a writer and GM, the way this whole game is laid out appeals to me on every level! It's full of awesome!

The first thing that stands out to me is the knowledge and amazing adherence to the genre. It is obvious the authors have amazing amounts of both gaming experience and countless hours watching all the awesomeness that was 80's cartoons. I love the preface by Flint Dille. It really stood out because we had heard rumors for years that Gygax and various cartoon production folk had built some kind of game around GI Joe and Transformers. Sure enough... It just took a while for someone to emulate it in rpg form. I mean, who hasn't built a home-brew game based on the old school Transformers stat blocks or statted up GI Joe characters based on the old file cards from the back of the figures.

The system itself is simple, easy to follow, and extremely player friendly. I would have no problem teaching this game to my kids and I will as soon as they're old enough. Character creation is fast and very reasonable. It's much like FATE or ICONS in terms of simplicity. If you can dream it, or did during the 1980's, you can probably cook up the character to go with it. The system has just enough gamer crunch to enhance the total immersion experience of 80's retro-toons.

My absolutely favorite part of this book is the Series Creation rules. I have already cooked up a half dozen different ideas for tv series I would have loved to have seen and recreated a few that came along too late as 80's retro-toons. I've even done up a couple of defunct rpg's as retro-toons. The dial system, playset creation, and villain assembly are a breeze for veteran gm's and probably pretty easy to roll out as a novice, too. I dare say I'm having too much fun with this game.

The art in this game is nigh-onto perfect for it. The artists have managed to capture the look of various popular old cartoon series which we are all familiar with, yet kept it distinct enough to avoid getting in trouble with Hasbro or Marvel. Some of the art brings back so many memories of good times had watching cartoons back then, right before Saturday afternoon D&D or Marvel Supers gaming. Not to mention making me want to go back and watch entire series again.

I would suggest again, that Spectrum please, please, please put out a print version of this pdf OR at least strongly consider it for the next edition of the game. (Yeah, I'm willing to bet Season 4 will happen, unlike most cartoons from that era.) I'm just old fashioned in that I like the feel of an old fashioned print product in my hands and on my gaming table. It's too bad boxed sets are so ridiculously expensive to put out, or I'd say it would be most awesome to have an old D&D style boxed set, or one that emulated a vhs cassette case or possibly done as a dvd case.

Also, as we know Saturday morning cartoons are officially a thing of the past, I think it would be cool for someone to do a modern kids' toon version of this game with an eye toward emulating many of the popular cartoons currently on the air. As a parent of small children, one of four channels is constantly on our tv. I can recite almost word-for-word many Disney Jr toons, Paw Patrol, Rescue Bots, and the now defunct Super Hero Squad show episodes. I would also find it interesting, since the authors are so adept at simulating an era of cartoons, to turn an eye toward something like a certain Japanese Sentai live action martial arts/giant robot series that has "morphed" into a might decade-spanning phenomenon. Unfortunately, as we've seen recently on the internet, Saban Entertainment is extremely aggressive about protecting their intellectual property, so Spectrum would have to be careful, as they are with CAH, not to be too distinct with the likenesses to the actual series.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Secularist
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2015 05:41:45
I'm always on the lookout for characters with strong world views as well as great power sets. Though the Secularist's powers were average, his opinions were interesting and have the potential of dividing PCs who might be going after him.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secularist
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Retrostar -- Lightspeed Adventure Manual (Quick-Play)
by Bryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2014 13:33:55
Quick note: I am big fan of Spectrum and have one thing published through them for Cartoon Action Hour, I have no writing for Retrostar.

Well first thing this is quick start so does not have full rules or examples, beyond that I would say this looks fun. This is a game very focused on reproducing feeling of 70's Science Fiction TV and builds the rules to do that. The basic system is built around rolls that work not only for success or failure, but control of characters. Depending on roll the player controls the characters success and describes what happens, the next level allows players to say how they failed or GM describes how character succeeded the last level GM says how player failed. There is no damage system or such, everything comes down to rolls.

To make things feel more like TV each session is broken into 5 acts with 12 rolls allowed for each act. This will make players think about there rolls and limits the normal massive rolling normal systems have.

There is also pools of Spotlight Tokens to make roll more successful and focuses on part of characters description. Both players and GM gain access to SFX which represents the limit of budget shows have for costumes and special effects.

The basic rolling for system is 2 six sided die roll versus a chart. The roll is modified by rolling more dice and either keeping the highest two dice or lowest to dice depending on if the modifier is good or bad.

The game also uses 'dials' to represent if campaign setting uses certain themes, recurring elements or amount of SFX each player gets. The dials go from 0 to 6 and in a neat twist the GM rolls dice each adventure to see if what that dial represent comes into play.

Over all a good game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retrostar -- Lightspeed Adventure Manual (Quick-Play)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CAH:S3 -- Iron Wolves
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/16/2014 08:27:28
Based on a real, if short-lived, TV cartoon series of 1988 this product provides all the detail you need to run a series of adventures in space with transforming cybernetic cops chasing intergalactic robbers! What isn't there to love?

It starts by setting the scene for the campaign. In the year 2989 the human race has spread out to the stars. Unfortunately it's not all noble explorers and upright pioneers, some crooks are out there in the black as well. Most notably, an aggressive alien race of bee-people led by Queen Pin have caused a lot of bother... and when banged up in gaol, she escaped - along with assorted villains of various species. They've formed a loose alliance and gone on to wreak criminal mayhem on the galaxy! The characters will become part of the task force whose job is to see them all behind bars again.

Next there's a note about the cartoon conventions... including the interesting point that nobody seems to need an air supply or space suit when floating around in the vacuum of space! Notes on the galaxy follow, and then it is on to the main heroes of the series - Major 'Iron' Will Powers, the commander of the Iron Wolves, and Monkey Wrench, their chief mechanic. These will probably become NPCs, giving the characters orders and fixing their ships.

There are a selection of villains who will feature as opposition, and notes on primary locations that will become regular features. Three outline episodes are provided to give you a feel for the campaign and to get you started.

Then we move on to character generation, with notes on what sort of characters will be suitable for the campaign and what qualities and abilities they will need to have, including new rules for cybernetics. If you are impatient or want ideas there are sample characters provided.

It is very much an outline and will need some planning and preparation before you are ready to run, but all the ingredients are there for an entertaining campaign in true cartoon style!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CAH:S3 -- Iron Wolves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CAH:S3 -- Dark Brigade
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 14:28:52
I enjoyed this and plan to delve deeper into this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CAH:S3 -- Dark Brigade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CAH:S3 -- Dark Brigade
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2014 00:11:33
Reading through this it takes my mind back to the after school cartoons of the 80's. It's G.I. Joe meets Blade. If only this had been a real cartoon from back in the day. Great Setting/Toon mashup and I can highly recommend it. Especially when you can choose your own price!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Crime: Death Kisses Coldly
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/17/2014 10:16:53
This is an interesting approach to a police prodcedural story told in film noir style, and really captures the essence well. Read through, you can see that film playing out in your mind's eye... yet it is laid out in such a way that doesn't completely railroad the characters into following a script but gives them freedom to make their own choices within the constraints of the plot.

More, it comes in two versions: the Theatrical Release and the Director's Cut. The first is designed for two players and a GM (Director, natch), with pre-generated characters who are tied closely into the plot. It would make an excellent one-off game if there's just 3 of you available to play.

As for the Director's Cut, this version is designed for groups who would rather play their own characters. The core concept is to give the characters the same motivations, the same background, as the pre-generated ones so that the story will work just as well. They should be the stars of the movie, the ones the story is all about. The ones who, in classic film noir style, are caught up in events beyond their control.

If you have more than two players, there are some other roles which they could be assigned - using their own characters if appropriate or one of the listed NPCs if preferred.

It's an intense, brooding little scenario. Which ever way you decide to run it, make sure that the characters are intimately involved, not bystanders looking in on the drama. It may be tempting to step back, taking the events as recounted as being something player-character cops (or reporters or the like) have to investigate, but the game won't be quite the same, it would lose the flavour of the genre that comes over when the player-characters are so intimately involved themselves.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Crime: Death Kisses Coldly
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Big Crime
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2014 10:34:13
[disclaimer - I'm an online friend of one of the authors, though I purchased this game on my own, was not asked to review, nor received any compensation]

A great example of genre emulation. The game system is designed to closely emulate the genre. There's deliberately no rules for advancement which may be a sticking point for some, though examples of film noir tend not to have sequels and even if someone like Philip Marlowe appears in multiple films there is no attempt at continuity between them. Like many RPGs, adventures are intended to be broken into three acts though unlike most RPGs the rules ratchet up the level of danger from one act to the next.

Character stats are pretty straightforrward. You've got your shade (as in how dark a shade of grey you are), abilities, aspects (kinda like skills), temptations, and genre points. As well as special rules that allow you to do certain things based on your background.

There's specific rules for drama, action, and chase scenes, nicely emulating what you'll see on the screen. And there is tons of advice on how to play the game, both for players and GMs. All the rules are accompanied with relevant examples. Resolution is based on rolling a variable number of dice and trying to get matches. The better you are the lower the die type (which improves odds of a match). Various circumstances increase and decrease the number of dice you roll.

Only negative which might make this 4.5 instead of 5 stars is a lack of bookmarking in the pdf. Other than that rather fantastic. Great for one-shots or a series of noir adventures. (Though the rules to make the game more dangerous as the "film" transitions from one act to another - so the protagonists all will not likely make it from one adventure to the next).

More complete review at my blog - http://19thlevel.blogspot.com/2014/03/rpg-review-big-crime.h-
tml

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Crime
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Capes, Cowls and Villains Foul
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2014 14:42:41
I haven't been as impressed with a roleplaying game as I was with Capes, Cowls, and Villains Foul (hereafter referred to as CCaVF) in a very long time. It's a really open-ended, flexible, system that is simple, easy to learn, and easier to play. There have been several rules-light Supers games in recent years like Icons, BASH, Supers!, and Truth & Justice. CCaVF beats all of those games for me.

Character Creation is largely based around defining your own character with TRAITS which work in a very similar manner to Qualities in Truth & Justice or a bit like aspects in FATE and can range from "As Strong As 100 Men" to "Crown Prince of the Planet Trobb" or anything you can imagine. While CCaVF does rate character traits by number, it seeks to emulate comics narrative style rather than simulate it. If you're the sort of player who likes crunch like in Hero System/Champions, CCaVF is probably not for you. However, if you're open to a more abstract system able to recreate the types of narratives seen in comic books without a lot of crunch or the fiddly bits then you can hardly do better than CCaVF.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Capes, Cowls and Villains Foul
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 rulebook
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2013 07:55:49
Cartoon Action Hour takes all my Nostalgia and condenses it into a single book. What's better is that they do it with style. I've heard of CAH before, but it's only now that I've had a chance to go over the book. The systems are clever and genre-appropriate, and there's plenty of room to get creative while retaining the feel of a good 80's cartoon. While the art could still have been improved, I feel that the pieces that were commissioned for the book convey the mood and tone of the era well enough, and I found the formatting of the character sheets to be a nice touch.

If you've ever had an urge to run an 80's cartoon game, then this is definitely on your must-buy list.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 rulebook
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/09/2013 20:20:09
I just got my pdf of Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 thanks to pledging in their Kickstarter.

This one was a no-brainer for me. I loved CAH:S2 and have really enjoyed all of Spectrum Games products to date.

How does CAH:S3 stack up? In an 80's word, Awesome!

CAH:S3 takes us back to the 80s Saturday morning (and week day afternoon) cartoons AND the toys that were so linked to them. But I am getting ahead of myself.

And while I am still ahead of myself this game has the most awesome character sheet EVER!

Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 (CAH:S3) is a game about cartoon and toy emulation. Specially 80s cartoons and toy emulation. So there are some things that a given out of the box. You won't see any deaths. Violence happens in terms of gun fire, explosions and maybe a fist fight, but you won't see people getting hurt. There is a moral or message to every "episode" and the bad guy is going to get away in the end only to be back next time like nothing happened.

The book, like Season 2, is divided into "Channels". Channel 1 is the intro material, Channel 2 is the game system, Channel 3 is series creation (potentially more important than the characters themselves), Channel 4 is all about the Players, Channel 5 is the Game Master's section and finally we have an Appendix.

Channel 1 is the simple introductory material, but more over there is a great overview of how these cartoons (and this game) worked. There is a logic at work here in these and to get the most out of this game it is one you should follow. The best feature of this Channel is of course the overview of the 80s cartoons. It's not a laundry list of every toon, but a selective "bibliography" and must see TV.

Channel 2 covers the game system itself. In many games this is the Character creation chapter, but since character creation and series creation are so closely tied together we will discuss the system first. The game is made up of a Series (the game), Seasons (a campaign), Episodes and Scenes. Characters are PCs and GMC (Game Master Characters). A Season for example is made up of 6 Episodes. I might stick with my more familiar 12 and allow a mid-season break. Why is this important? At season breaks is when you can improve your character or change it all together.

Characters are made up of Traits and Qualities. Traits are something definitive about the character like "Strongest Man in World" or "Sneaky Thief" or "Leader of the Decipti-bots". Stuff like that. Qualities are more quantifiable and are measured based on how powerful your series is. Characters can also be ranked in terms of their Star Power. Stars (and PCs) have the highest at 3, your nameless, faceless goon has 1. If there is only one star, then they are Star Power 4.

Oomph is the power-, hero- or drama point mechanic. Collect "Proofs of Purchase" to get more Oomph!
It is equal to your Star Power but changes through out the game.

The basic mechanic of the game is the Check.
Traits and Qualities (and Oomph) add to the dice rolls on a Check.

Characters may not die, but they can loose an important scene. For that there are Setback Tokens. These Crucial Checks are usually the ones right before a commercial break or even worse, the ones at the end of an episode and continued next time (granted there were not a lot of those, but GI Joe first season comes to mind). Gain more Setbacks than your Star Power and you are out of the scene.

Season 3 has something new in it, or at least something I don't recall from Season 2. Gestalts. This allows you to combine powers, bodies or whatever into something greater. Think Voltron or some Transformers.

I think one of the rules I like the most here is "The Movie" which allows you, within the game, to throw out some of conceits of the game. So in this characters can die! Bad guys hit their targets! Mechanically you get more Oomph and damage and Setback tokens are not removed as often (no commercials after all) the risks are higher but characters that make it out gain experience and can be changed. Think "The Transformers Movie" from 1986.

Channel 3 covers Series Creation. Wait, where is Character creation you ask? Well it's here too. Series and Characters are created together. You can't have GI Joe without the Joes or Transformers without the Autobots. First this is create a Series guideline. First figure out what your series in named and it's tagline. So the example I used last time was The Hex Girls with the tagline "We'll put a spell on you!". Next up figure out the details of the series. Tech level, twists, genre. What is your elevator pitch on this. "Modern Earth, magic is real, but no one believes in it. Characters are supernaturals and try to lead normal lives." Something like that, only more detail. The newest feature of the series creation is the Dial. Dials tell you the levels of the game. How comedic is it? How realistic? What's the violence?

Now we get into character creation.
Characters are ranked as either human, superhuman or cosmic. The GM will decide, based on the series, on what traits can't be used, or limits on the traits and other details before the characters are made. So as an example a series about wizard kids must all have a trait "Wizard" at 3 or better, but no technology-based traits.
After that character creation is a breeze.
There are some special abilities and then we discuss GMC (Game Master Characters). They are created much the same way, only less details. Some templates such as goons and Master Villains are presented.
Playsets are where the action takes place and they are created in a similar way.

http://www.spectrum-games.com/uploads/1/2/3/7/12374018/c-
ah_bio-file.pdf
How cool is this sheet?
Character advancement is handled next. Among the obvious places for advancement you can also put in points to the playset to upgrade your base. So something like in Season 2 getting a new super smart computer in the base or a new book of spells.

We end with 8 series ideas.

Channel 4 covers advice to the Players. A game like CAH requires a lot of buy in from the players. You can't go into it like you do other games. This is not "Dungeons & Dragons" this is the "Dungeons & Dragons cartoon". So the players have to go in with the right frame of mind. You want your game to be like the first season of G.I. Joe where everyone worked together, not the seasons that featured (and were dominated by) Sgt. Slaughter.

Channel 5 has similar advice for the Game Master. Again emphasis here is placed on cartoon logic, and creating a fun series and episode. Don't forget the "And Now You Know" messages at the end! That's not a bug, it's a feature of the game.

In the end what we have is a crazy fun game again. If you were a kid in the 80s and watched any cartoons then there is something here for you. It is also a great change of pace from all the other games I play. This game focuses on having fun as well as being fun.

There are no conversions for CAH:S2 here. But the conversions look simple to be honest. Enough that I feel fine moving characters from one to the next with little to no effort.

Character Creation is much improved in this edition and much more streamlined. Series creation is about the same, but it was just right in the last version.

Looking forward to doing a lot more with this one!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPZ -- A Universal Zombie RPG Add-On
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/06/2013 07:46:16
This is an interesting addition to the game mechanics of just about any ruleset that you happen to be using, to introduce and handle the 'scary' elements that are the hallmark of the classic zombie movie. It will work even if you are playing a game which already incorporates zombies as monsters, even one which is actually about zombies, because it is ultimately a tool to add uncertainty, suspense and the feeling that there's something bad going on...

Ideal for GMs who like messing with their players' heads, and those who like to tinker with rulesets to create precisely the effect they are after - yet it's simple to implement without adding complexity to your game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPZ -- A Universal Zombie RPG Add-On
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gallery of Evil (CC&VF Version)
by Jeffrey C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2013 12:10:30
The quality of the product from a presentation standpoint is great but the content is extremely poor. I would not use any of it in my campaign for any reason and truly regret purchasing it.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Gallery of Evil (CC&VF Version)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2 Playset (FREE demo version)
by Victor B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2013 13:43:49
Excellent game that captures the feel of 1980s cartoons

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2 Playset (FREE demo version)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 89 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG