RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pirates: Ye Olde Core Rules
by Alexander M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2016 12:54:19

Given that I am a d20 System and Pathfinder player, I didn't buy this book for the rules, but for the flavor. I wanted to put a Pirate movie style campaign ahead using d20 rules and Pirates! as inspiration. In seeking that goal, this book serves admirably. The Good Very solid basis for quasi-historical fantasy. Roleplaying is stressed, with simple advice on how to play several different archetypes. Even from the perspective of playing this as Pathfinder, offering bonus XP or Hero Points rewards instead of Adventure Points makes perfect sense when following this game's advice on how to reward players who understand their archetypes and play well. There is a system in place for adjudicating ships, crewmen, and goods that makes sense in the context of the game world. Unlike in Pirates! or the later game Uncharted Waters, you can't store goods in the hold for as long as you need to get them sold. One really does need to be mindful of what one is storing, and like in Pirates!, one must be mindful of the morale of his men, or the officers will be forced to lead a mutiny. Several Infamous pirate flags are listed in the book, allowing players the inspiration to create their own infamous flag. There is a nice Gazetteer of Ships available too, and of course, unlike in the Pirates! video game, nothing stops the PCs from purchasing ships from ports for their voyages. There is also a system of ship-to-ship combat, complete with strategies before and after boarding. The Character Generation rules in this game are nicely done, giving a good selection of archetypes without encumbering the system with endless character classes. Character combat in the game assumes injuries, not points, so combat feels more realistic and deadly. The Bad The realism of the system is the only thing I have trouble with. I understand that it keeps things moving, but some players might not like the idea of winning a fight only to die later of one's injuries. The life of a pirate is rough indeed. Still, overall, I like this game, even as a system unto itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates: Ye Olde Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates: Downloads Pack One--free mini-adventures
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 15:49:57

Ok, it's a free download, but it was worth it.

The presentation is marred by excerable grammar and sentence construction that seems to be an attempt to sound archaic or poetic but actually comes across as juvenile.

There are some interesting adventure seeds here, but the scenarios either don't make sense, or are so poorly explained that they seem to be missing key elements of story or background. In terms of game mechanics, the descriptions are very similar to 1E D&D, with lots of "there is no way to pick this lock" or "this monster cannot be killed".

In short, don't expect turn-key adventures here - you'll have to work to get those seeds to bear useful fruit.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates: Downloads Pack One--free mini-adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates: Downloads Pack One--free mini-adventures
by Donald R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2013 08:36:40

Read thru these seems very easy to adapt these into any D&D game. Just add a few rooms to each encounter and you got an easy two sessions of game play. Gonna end up using 3 of these 6 free adventures. But great if you want to run a pirate game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates: Ye Olde Core Rules
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2012 12:30:50

it's worth the money, got ahead and get it. fun game



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates: Ye Olde Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasia: The Silver Tower--Module M19
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2012 02:45:35

No maps and handouts aren't anything great. Avoid.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasia: The Silver Tower--Module M19
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasia: Oracle's Tower--Module M7
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2012 02:44:38

No maps and handouts aren't anything great. Avoid.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasia: Oracle's Tower--Module M7
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates: The Fountain Of Youth -- Adventure C7
by Dave M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2012 10:43:47

Absolutely the worst scenario I have ever bought. Completely unusable in it's current form unless your players love being led by the nose through (almost every since "part" has a variation on the following sentence: "Run them one and all and and in the order they are present."). No free will allowed at all.

Additionally, there are things included but never explained - the PCs are all suffering from a curse that gets worse throughout the adventure but there is no indication as to why they are cursed (although it is intimated that it is purely because they are undertaking the adventure!) or how to remove it (presumably stop the adventure).

Likewise, there is a handout that can be found reasonably early that is in some sort of code. It is never referred to again and the GM isn't told what it means (and, even, if it has any bearing on the adventure).

On the plus side, there are a couple of good ideas (and good one illustration) but for a product of this size that's too much missing and nowhere near enough hitting and nothing I couldn't have come up with myself.

Sorry, but the worst £1.88 I have ever spent.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates: The Fountain Of Youth -- Adventure C7
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates: The Curse Of Montezuma -- Adventure C8
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2012 19:33:51

A mysterious stranger and a golden skull lead the PCs to the fabled Temple of Montezuma. This adventure is packed with piratey goodness - treachery, greed, mystery, and action, and is written clearly enough to be used with most any pirate/swashbuckling RPG.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates: The Curse Of Montezuma -- Adventure C8
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates: Ye Olde Core Rules--Errata
by John B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2009 12:41:25

Love the genre, but why does this pdf. only have from page 33 onwards - pointless!!!!!!!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates: Ye Olde Core Rules--Errata
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starquest: Universal Rules—core rules
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2009 08:55:13

Starquest combines many sci fi elements inot one huge rule book. If you know d20 then you will pick up on the game's concepts with no problem.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starquest: Universal Rules—core rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasia: Oracle's Tower--Module M7
by mark p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2009 09:44:12

I found this while using the 4E filter, and was surprised to find that it wasn't 4E at all. I'm not sure what game it applies to, since it mentions spell point-perhaps the series uses its own gaming system. I didn't find anything else useful in it, though I didn't examine it thoroughly. I don't see how it could be modified to 4E (or even 3E).



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasia: Oracle's Tower--Module M7
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starquest: The Last Flight Of MS-TK3000--Adventure C4
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2009 00:37:17

Quite possiblly the worst adventure I have ever paid money for. I was expecting a sort of dungeon crawl in space, simple right explore this old wreck and uncover it's secrets and dangers. WRONG. There is no cohesion to any of the encouters and no overarching plot, basically it can be summed up as "you find a derlict spaceship and a bunch of weird stuff happens". Oh and as a final annoyance no map or diagram of the ship. Lastley in a vain attempt at humor there is a Mystery Science Theatre 3000 reference joke (a lame one at that) in the post adventure epilouge. PLEASE save your money and buy something else!! This adventure is so bad that being hit in the head and shot into space would be preferable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Starquest: The Last Flight Of MS-TK3000--Adventure C4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasia: Book Of All Knowing—core rules
by Scott N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2009 17:23:32

Fantasia is a great OLD SCHOOL style game also were else can you roll a d30 for something, Fantasia is the only one I know of so far. If you dont have any d30, go to the hobby shop and get a few. I also own this in hard copy as well, great game. If you dont like d20 stear clear, if you dont care get it. You might want to get the Book of Quests & the Book of Journeys as well. This game rocks!

Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasia: Book Of All Knowing—core rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates: Blood And War--Adventure pack C3
by Aron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2009 21:49:28

I've bought other products in this line before and was reasonably happy with them. This one, however, I found mildly disappointing. Contains many spelling and editorial errors. It claims to be a historical supplement, but is quite poorly researched. Still, it contained some good ideas and was relatively cheap, so I don't consider it a huge loss.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates: Blood And War--Adventure pack C3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates: Hellish Havens--Supplement S4
by Aron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2009 21:44:26

Well put together and reasonably well researched. Nice and atmospheric. I like the creative use of public domain artwork.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates: Hellish Havens--Supplement S4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG