RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
by Jay S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2014 12:12:46
This is an excellent book and RPG.

The setting material is well thought out and provides for exciting campaign ideas. The setting fixes some of the issues I had with the original Amber material from a roleplaying perspective by making all worlds equally real and opening up PCs to be anyone from anywhere.

I'd have liked to see more variety in powers; they're addressing that with supplements, and the powers given in the core rules are sufficient, but expect to need to use the examples provided to build your own versions of powers to match the wide range of character concepts your players will generate.

Overall, an excellent game and one I'm having a lot of fun with already.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
by Jay S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2014 12:06:01
This supplement to Lords of Gossamer and Shadow adds in a new power: Blessings & Curses. It uses a flexible system for constructing a blessing or curse that's similar to how artifacts and creatures are built using the core rules. You pick the severity of a blessing or curse, the effect, how long it'll last, how hard it is to dispel, etc, and pay the costs.

In this case the costs come from the points invested into the power itself. So to cast some truly world-class blessings and curses, you'd need to invest advancement points into the power over time to boost your pool of available points.

I like the concept, although the character point investment needed makes this a core character concept power, not an add-on.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (PFRPG)
by Seth C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2014 15:56:38
A great value for its price. This book has a lot of useful templates, most of which are pretty easy to apply. It is a great way to change up creatures to keep the players guessing or make an old monster seem new. I liked how not all of the templates were geared towards just making monsters tougher. Some, such as the blind seer, create a way to add new story elements. Not all of the templates increase CR. Some decrease it, which is a great way to let you use more powerful creatures at lower levels.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
by joe b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2014 00:43:57
This RPG is awesome! I've tried a lot of games and have always scurried back to D&D 3.5 or Pathfinder. Lords of Gossamer and Shadow is an amazing game that needs more exposure. I never played Amber and wouldn't be able to compare, but because of LoGS, I wish I had known about Amber in its hay day. The diceless rule set will be a hard sell for some that will think the game is completely arbitrary. If you/they can get over that mental hurtle, you'll find a RPG full of infinite possibilities that won't become a headache because of having the crunch rules and mechanisms.

Lords of Gossamer and Shadow is definitely a RPG that will flourish in play-by-post forums. I don't know how well I would a game like this in person, but I have been running a fairly interesting pbp group on RPGpost.com and I think I have 3 players that are just as hooked as I am on this game.

I look forward to supplementary books for the system, but I just don't know how they could improve it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
by Erik H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2014 15:41:54
I was very happy with this book. It's short, but adds something to the game that some players seem to need in a game like this: bits you can fiddle with as you go.

It can be somewhat expensive to use this new power. It's in the middle to high cost range to start with, giving you a set cost just to be able to use the power and also included is an initial points pool for buying the actual blessings and curses. You can increase the pool later as you wish. Should this turn out to be a power very suitable to the character, there's no inherent limit to how far you advance it. More points in the pool equates to more (and more powerful) blessings and curses in play at the same time.

As with almost every other power, this is an excellent tool to have but there is some inherent potential for it to pull you in new directions and complicate the life of your character. So in short it's both useful and interesting, which is exactly what you want out of a product like this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

In The Company of Dragons Playtest (PFRPG)
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2014 16:16:04
Ummm.... No.

I LOVE the intro and various other flavor text parts, but overall no.

First off, you're not playing a Dragon... you're playing a quasi-dragon, secondly you end up finishing normal progression as about an adult dragon, without many of the (real) dragons' basic abilities... so you end up being significantly less powerful than you would be if you just played a Savage Species version of a class/level system.

Further, if you want to GET various abilities, you have to pay for them with your every 4th level feats. So then you end up being ALMOST as powerful as you should be, but then you've turned into a cookie-cutter version, and you're STILL only ALMOST as powerful.

Bear in mind, I'm not talking about min-maxing here, I'm actually talking about class balance... in the end you really aren't going to be much of a match for equal-play PC's, or if you are, you end up being utterly "vanilla" to do so...

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
In The Company of Dragons Playtest (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I want to thank Jeff Anderson for posting a review of our free playtest draft, as it is often hard to get reviews for free products. I would encourage him to join the playtest so his voice can be heard in improving the final draft of this product. I will however have to point out a factual error in his review. \"a Savage Species version of a class/level system\" Pathfinder does not use the ECL system to which Jeff is refering, because it was a broken system, so we were required to use a paragon racial class levels and archetypes. Steven D. Russell Rite Publishing
The Demolished Ones (Fate)
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2014 10:42:43
I read all kinds of RPG scenarios whether they apply to my current game or not. This one REALLY caught my interest. As usual, I tried to convince one of my players that we should step away from our current InterfaceZero (SavageWorlds Cyberpunk) game to try this out. As usual, he kinda said no.

Few months later, I decide a virtual reality 'prison' scenario seems to be in order. It occurs to me that this might fit.

Waking up on the stone floor in different 'bodies' in the midst of a murder really excited my players. I let them still use their character stats basically but a session later they realize they are in a virtual reality and having a blast with The City!

WARNING!!! The free preview has spoilers so don't print it off and give it to a player. Better to just spring it on them. ;-)

AWESOME work! I am trying Fate Core RPG on another group and have enjoyed it so far but converting this one to Savage Worlds and using for an unrelated campaign as worked swimmingly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Demolished Ones (Fate)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pieces of Fate: Drop Bears & Ursanauts (FATE)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2014 18:51:47
This really got my attention, I just had to review it. It did not disappoint.

Within it has the stats for the 'Drop Bears' and how to place them into games. The bears seem impressive with swiping special abilities and on the defense, the ability to make opponents miss their first attack, so stunned are they by the might ursanauts, and some other tricks I won't ruin here.

The drop bears are designed to confound and annoy players, and there are a few jokes inside. It should also be noted that 'drop bears' normally refers to attack koalas in Australia that leap down from eucalyptus above. Here it has been re-appropriated to mean something far larger that also has laser and body armor tech.

This has in such a short space a lot of ideas for throwing/deploying them into fantasy, sci fi, pulp or horror games. Although for horror they are acknowledged to be more for comic relief.

5/5 So good. Great job Bill Collins.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pieces of Fate: Drop Bears & Ursanauts (FATE)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
thanks for taking the time to do a review!
Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2014 17:42:21
Addendum: Blessings and Curses is a small project by one author, a Jason Durall. The art is very good, the leviathan woman on page 4 made me wish she took up more space. Those that are a fan of anime horror will like page 3.

It details that in the Gossamer worlds setting curses and blessings can be placed on a subject. This is not the d100 tables of D&D curses, this is different, more precise and structured. Buying into the ability gives the user a point pool by which to inflict blessings and curses (and let's be honest, curses are far more appealing, if only to say "a curse upon your house!").

The how to of letting loose curses is explained and then the severity is bought by spending points. This isn't the end, multiple targets can be hit and there are other parts to the rules. I will say this though, you can even curse an entire bloodline, and that is very cool.

Then what I was looking for was found, examples of mild and major curses, but this section is a bit brief. The only thing I felt this product lacked was a short essay or lengthy section on the myths and many types of curses from history and religions, so as to really get the creatives juices of the reader flowing.

4 out of 5. Quite good, but not flawless and needs one more section for thoroughness. Well worth the low price though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pieces of Fate: Drop Bears & Ursanauts (FATE)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/13/2014 07:05:49
Bizarre yet somehow weirdly plausible... what if bears were even bigger, fiercer and more intelligent than they are? Smart enough to organise a civilisation, use weapons, even attack those pesky humans. Maybe these are alien bears, or perhaps those grizzlies paid just too much attention to what hunters and rangers were getting up to.

So here are all the details, under the FATE ruleset, for you to run these intelligent bears - Ursanauts, perhaps, coming from far away in giant spaceships. Is it a hunting trip, to chase humans for sport? Or is it a scientific mission, to tag and study them? Or a miliary one, to take over some bear-friendly real estate?

Are you going to stop a drop bear and ask him his business? Or will you be too busy running away?

The stats and various stunts available for bears work well and are consistent with the postulated extension from what real bears can do. While the core idea is to introduce them into a contemporary game as alien invaders, several suggestions are made as to how to make use of them in other genres.

The only thing is, I've always been led to believe that drop bears hide up trees (from which, of course) they drop onto you. These ones are just too darn big to hide up trees! Otherwise, they have loads of potential for mayhem.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pieces of Fate: Drop Bears & Ursanauts (FATE)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I wanted to thank Megan Robertson for taking the time to do a review. Steve Russell Rite Publishing
Pathways #34 (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/10/2014 02:46:59
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Rite Publishing's Free E-zine Pathways is 38 pages long, 1 page front cover, 11 pages of advertisement, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 24 pages of content, so elt's take a look!



We kick this off with an almost sadistic teaser by editor Dave Paul - his first adventure is coming and what he's telling so far, it's gonna be...unconventional. One word: Ettincommunicationbreakdown. Want to know more,? Read for yourself!



Steven D. Russell, master of templates and overlord of Rite Publishing has a template for us - this time at CR +3, the envious creature: These beings may not only change shape, counter-scry, and get feats, skills etc. of the form they turned into, they also, spiteful to the last, may deny their target's what they covet by self-destructing in a terrible blast. Jogund, a CR 8 envious troll, makes for this installment's sample creature.



Next up, Liz Winters shows us a behind the curtain look at some of the fellows responsible for the boon to gaming that is Hero Lab for many people, before Raging Swan Press' Creighton Broadhurst introduces us to a villain most foul - Myvainir Sehiatier, a skeletal champion necromancer/cleric/mystic theurge that clocks in at a nasty CR of 10. That's not all, though - Creighton also introduces us to Yoth Yagoth (love the nomenclature here), an advanced gnoll sorceror with a blue dragon's bloodline at CR 7. Awesome!



Steven D. Russell also has a useful system-neutral list of 100 epithets for us -for non-native speakers and designers as well - see if you could correctly define each one of them - I know I could and it makes for a fun little game (while also potentially broadening your vocabulary...)



Now this issue's interview is with Greg LaRose, head of Amora Game: From total inexperience, he has lifted his small company to ever increasing heights, resulting in recently even scoring my best verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval with Prepare for War: Basic Training Manual. Beyond being a fun read, it should be noted that Amora Game has recently started a kickstarter for Liber Influxus Communis, a book of classes where some of the most talented class-designers contribute. Check it out if you haven't already!



Next up would be support-article to what still remains my favorite construct-class for PFRPG, the Ironborn: This time, we get ability-suits for alchemically-treated ironborn that are resilient to bombs (and get more),one engineered for eidolon-connection, one that has a firearm included in its body, one that is particularly suitable for cavaliers, one that is excellent at hunting down foes and a design that is none - whether by ill or good omen, you are touched by something divine and hence may twist fortune to reflect the divine agenda behind your being. There would also be the hybrid design, which is particularly nice for Magi -two thumbs up and my favorite article this installment - I love it when old supplements are not abandoned and instead developed further.



We conclude this issue, as always, with reviews, this time one by Brian B. and the rest by yours truly.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any all too glaring issues. Layout adheres to RiP's nice 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



This is a great installment of Pathways, with nice fodder for DMs with cool characters, a deadly template and finally, also some great expansions for a neat race - at the price of 0 bucks, so what's not to like? Download it, read it, think about dropping abuck or two for Amora Game's KS and enjoy yet another neat month of cool offerings by Rite Publishing and friends- final verdict? 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #34 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

In The Company of Fey: A 1st-20th level Player Character Racial Class (PFRPG)
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2014 16:45:35
I wasn't really sure to make of the In The Company of Fey. On the one hand it was well written, but took the fey in a bit of a different direction then I was hoping for. I will say this, Rite's Publishing vision of the fey and the rules they have crafted for them are good ones, but again they are a little different from what you might expect. These fey are a bit more like the old school mythical faeries that their more high adventure counter parts you might find in games like Magic the Gathering. Rites make some interesting design choices such as making them medium sized creatures who can turn into smaller sprites, which you'll either love or hate.

If you can get into the right mindset it seems like there is a lot of fun to be had with the fey presented here and many design choices seem well thought out to let the fey fit comfortably into almost any pathfinder game, but if you were looking for the Pathfinder equivalent of something like Hack Master's Pixie-Fairies than this product isn't for you.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In The Company of Fey:  A 1st-20th level Player Character Racial Class (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

101 New Skill Uses (PFRPG)
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2014 16:31:19
101 New Skill uses is a bit of a grab bag between new skill uses and just putting a challenge number to certain uses of skills. As ever with skills I found the more mechanical skills to mostly good solid rules, but I found many soft skills such as intimidate to really just clutter up role playing but that is a personal preference.

I most enjoyed skills like acrobatic where the the book offers a robust suite of acrobatic maneuvers for use in an out of combat to really help give characters whom invest heavily into these skills a wide range of options and help set apart skillful characters from rank amateurs. While some uses for skills, like say pole vaulting, are not exactly ground breaking out of the box examples of how to use the skills, the rules offered here are fairly balanced if your group feels they need a rule for such. That said I think most GMs would rather just apply an on the spot DC check than scramble through books to actually look up a rule for something as simple as pole vaulting which leads into my single major complaint with the book.

The one big problem I have with 101 new skill uses is I feel some sections, such as with sense motive mostly give options that if regularly applied would bog down game play with constant skill checks, such a trying to predict your opponents moves round after round. I somewhat wish Rite's Publishing had went down the 3.5 path of including skill tricks players can acquire as those sometimes operated like mini-feats allow you to benefit from your high skill without the need for constant skill checks. I think that would have also helped weed out some of the lesser entries on this list.

Still as it stand 101 New Skill Uses mostly delivers on its premise and a solid buy in spite of its shortcomings, though I think it is slightly expensive for what it offers.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
101 New Skill Uses (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I wanted to thank Nick S. for taking the time to do a review of our product. Steven D. Russell Rite Publishing
#30 Alchemical Gadgets (PFRPG)
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2014 14:10:58
Your enjoyment of Alchemical Gadgets will depend largely on how you view such things. If you were looking for steam punk style devices, this product is for you. Alchemical gadgets has stuff right out of steam punk novel and comic books. Flame throwers and automatic weapons abound! It even contains an entry for a sonic screwdriver here legally distinct as the "Sonic Lockpick". If like me however you were looking for something more low key in line with more traditional fantasy you'll be pretty disappointed. Most of these entries are very over the top and don't really mesh very well into a game unless you are looking specifically add in an over the top steampunk feel.

It is a shame too because the book is very well written. Devises are lovingly described with and each entry includes a bit of flavor text. Further it covers a wide range of devices and functions, most of which are very cinematic in style yet seem very well balanced for game play. As a book of steam punk devices I give it 5 stars a really great and highly enjoyable resource, but as a book on alchemy I found it woefully disappointing so I compromise here with 4 stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#30 Alchemical Gadgets (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2014 03:08:49
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive sourcebook for Erick Wujcik's Diceless system is 168 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page list of patronage/Kickstarter-thanks, 1 page ToC, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 163 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



Born from Amber Dicelss Roleplaying, LoGaS depicts a setting which, unsurprisingly, makes use of countless worlds - the Gossamer worlds, made real by ethereal, true power. These countless worlds are connected to another via the Grand Staircase, an unfathomably huge staircase that features countless doors leading to countless gossamer worlds. Behind the screen, the forces of eidolon and umbra wage war eternal - eidolon being the force of supreme structure and organization, the ideal form of the multiverse, whereas umbra, its opposing principle, is essentially the chaos and entropy that seeks to undo all - the shadow lurking between gossamer worlds, constantly striving to claim worlds - whether temporarily or permanently. You are one of the travelers of the grand stairs, made aware of its countless possibilities, as mere wandering it starts to enhance your prowess to superhuman levels - the lords and ladies of gossamer are indeed powerful enough to change the destiny of whole worlds and have carved mostly secure worlds from the vast number of them. But balance demands duality and hence, there are the Dwimmerlaik, servants of the shadow that wage war unending on the self-anointed wardens of the great stairs.



Now after a short glossary of basic terms for newcomers, we dive into character generation - First, you choose a concept (more on those later) and then, you assign 100 points - you have to buy attributes, powers and extras from this array of points - the thing is, you may undercut or overstep this - earning good or bad karma. Rather cool! Also unique: All characters start at superhuman levels in all 4 attributes - you can get more points by cutting down to various mortal levels, though. Now attributes are handled via an auction at character creation - whoever bids highest, becomes ranked one - this character cannot be surpassed by the others in the given field, only approached. The auction per se comes with step-by-step guidelines, two alternatives/modifications to the system and easily and comprehensibly presented. Essentially, the player's bidding determines the relative power rank and how many points its costs to be up there -almost, for later buying attributes nets you .0.5 ranks on the ladder - you're almost, but not as god as the one that has the full rank. It should be noted that only characters who do not bid for an attribute can diminish it to paltry mortal levels, thus gaining more points budget. And you'll want those points, for powers, among which easy egress to the great stair, can be found, also cost points - a LOT points. Mastery of the power of eidolon or umbra e.g. costs a whopping 50 points. Now I mentioned bad karma - it's essentially what is called "Stuff" - having bad stuff means that the universe treats you rather badly: Rain, unpleasant reactions etc., while good stuff means the opposite. It should be noted that the book does something smart in offering players points for e.g. selecting background music, making quote lists, campaign diaries, quest logs etc. - which is awesome and a practice I'm using in a modular version in campaigns throughout the systems I play.



Of course, a Gamemaster also has some say regarding e.g. parents, allies, mentors and items - character creation is essentially a dialog here - which is great for storytelling and assures a more fulfilled playing experience for everyone. The 4 attributes (psyche, strength, endurance and warfare) are well explained and the powers also have a lot of material herein - from essentially having a list of magic (including words of power to utter when invoking the spells) to the privileges that powers grant, each has a lot of different options available - with the exclusion of hard numbers/dice, the sky is the limit for more than a few of these, including a very wide array of different modifications of creatures and artifacts, allowing you to essentially design beings and items to your heart's content - again, costing those precious points, though... And the interesting thing here is, that secret bidding and precise capabilities are not known to the other players - after all, much like in Amber etc., intrigues and yes, potentially even fighting among the player characters is a distinct possibility... - which also makes character advancement interesting - upgrading to the next rank on the attribute ladder is done by the GM (since you don't know the final results of the auction after the secret ranks have been added...) and may mean you incur bad stuff - rather interesting.



Of course, combat is rather different from most other settings due to a) the PCs being essentially demi-god-level paragons and b) there not being any dice around. Hence, GMs get a lot of advice and examples on how to handled combat, PC death and similar situations -and on how running a diceless game changes the overall tone of a roleplaying session. And yes, these are things to consider and make players aware of - with immature players, every situation could turn into an argument and much like in character generation, all is dialog here and hence, Gamemasters in particular should take a very close look at all those examples and take them to heart as well as explain to the players how different the experience will turn out to be.



Now, of course, we also get the setting-information - R'lyeh, Valhalla, Hell - everything you can conceive exists on the Great Stair and the Gossamer Lords & Ladies and their war with the Dwimmerlaik as well as the opposing principles of eidolon and umbra already make for a compelling and rich tapestry of options before the sample lords & ladies of gossamer and the both named and generic dwimmerlaik are presented - the latter of which get access to a deadly tool called channeling, which does btw. an awesome job at keeping them a viable and deadly versatile threat to even the powerful demigods the player characters are. Add to that undead, minotaurs and similar mythic beings, shapechangers etc. and we have a nice arsenal of adversaries ready.



The book also contains a short introductory module, adventure seeds, a list of inspirations, a reference-appendix, a note of thanks by the author, an index and a total of 3 sheets, one of which allows a player to design his/her own domain. (Yes, I forgot to mention that one - you can, of course, have your own home-base/world/plane...) Oh, and the pdf comes with form-fillable char-sheets.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed scarcely any minor glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard with purplish/violet, unobtrusive borders. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. Beyond the books initial patronage model, Rite Publishing ran a kickstarter for more art - and oh boy, does it show - this is one of the most beautiful books I've ever seen a 3pp produce - the artworks are classy, awe-inspiring and make you want to craft the depicted characters immediately, evoking a wide plethora of associations and at the same time carrying a very distinct flair and unifying artistic vision. Glorious!



When I was a child, I played diceless with my friends - though not the system. We'd run around outside in the garden, venture into the forests, and our characters would have special powers, which we determined beforehand - thus, by climbing on top of trees, lying down on mossy earth, scavenging raspberries and evading noisy squirrels, we walked through a land crafted by our own imagination, a world layered atop our own, where wonder and endless potential loomed, where our fantasy was the only limit. Video-games proved to be fun inspirations for us, but nothing ever came even close to our holistic fantasy of universal wonder, the countless tales we had woven.



Then life happened - one can, alas, not remain blissfully ignorant and this world's gossamer weave clings closer and closer, until the doors of one's fantasy start slamming shut, becoming mere windows that still can provide a glimpse of the exceptional, but that's it. And sooner or later, we have to concede that "The kids aren't all right", as harsh realities come crashing down.



Roleplaying, to me, recaptures a tiny fragment of this spark of immediacy once lost, a means of weaving a yarn greater than the sums and ambitions of its parts. The catch is - ultimately, more often than not, the rules get in the way. "You can't do that." And while I love the thrill of the rolling dice, at times, I long for a storytelling where one jumped across a bed of flowers, imagining carnivorous plants or seething magma, one essentially all but unhampered by restrictions or balance-concerns - and this is as close as you can probably get to it. Jason Durall has created a setting that is similar enough to Amber's tradition to keep fans happy, while at the same time, at least in my opinion, expanding the possibilities - this setting transcends fantasy and sci-fi, horror even, as genres and allows you to tell YOUR story - with no limitations to your imaginations but those you and your players compromise to adhere to. This book does so much in inciting the imagination, it's almost unbelievable - this is collective storytelling, codified by a solid, easy to grasp ruleset that keeps balance sans impeding any sort of creativity. I am extremely positive that just about any DM (and even player) can benefit from reading this book, even if one does not intend to run a campaign - why?



Because this book makes it possible for you to experience once again the wonder, when you fought Godzilla with Excalibur, when your cyborg-buddy cast the spell to seal the devil in your lamp, when the power rangers duked it out with the Ninja Turtles and you were caught in between.

Oh, and one thing - this system does not require you to be at a table - provided everyone knows the rules, you could quite frankly play this system with tucked in char-sheets while hiking, camping and doing similar activities, perhaps adding a slight LARPish tint to it for additional fun ("All right, if you manage to jump across this little tree stump, then your character can do XYZ") - be responsible, though! I know that's how I will probably use this game.



If you haven't noticed by now - I love this system. Will I make it my dominant one? No, I love rolling the bones too much and a bit of roll-playing, frequent character deaths etc. are exciting to me and my players. But once in a while, a very pure ROLEplaying experience, one that omits the "roll", is glorious and quite probably might change how you think about our hobby, storytelling etc. Oh, and if you're like me, this book will open doors towards realms of inspiring, unbridled creativity you deemed once lost - recapturing some components of that magic, where everything, for a moment at least, is possible. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars +seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.l

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 854 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG