RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gossamer Worlds: Tetsujin Shogunate (Diceless)
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 22:44:57
I have been snapping up the books for Rite Publishing's Lords of Gossamer and Shadow line of pdfs as they come out.
Originally I wasn't too impressed with the World Books. While they did show what could be done with a Gossamer World and had some interesting places. Nothing really captured my imagination like Tetsujin Shogunate. Broke World gave us a view of a hopelessly flawed garbage dump of a world heavily influenced by the Umbra. Epmryea showed us a pretty interesting take on an ultramodern beautiful technological version of ancient Greece. The Nightmare Kingdom was what one might expect of such a title a place influenced by the Umbra but even more a place of fear and terror. All nice in their own way. Tetsujin Shogunate though shows a battle between two forces and has some more in tune with the perfection of Eidolon with their technology, (Giant Robots, Power Armor wearing Samurai and Star Steel) siding with humans to fight the Oni a force decidedly more in tune with the Umbra and destruction as well as corruption. (Giant Kaiju like monsters, and their corrupted human blood tainted mutant warriors ) This book really shows the tension between these two forces playing out on this Gossamer world. Something which I really think needed to be highlighted and this world book does it well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Tetsujin Shogunate (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I wanted to thank Peter Perkins for taking the time to do a review of our product.
Gossamer Worlds: Tetsujin Shogunate (Diceless)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 20:14:27
Reviewing Tetsujin Shogunate I will say up front that it is simply amazing. Bizarre settings like this are just what rpgs need. This is heavy on the Japanese themes (it is a shogunate setting of course) but also very sci fi and suitable even for abberation heavy or feudal but with lost tech fantasy.

The story and set-up is good. The alien kappa have fallen to Earth and allied with the Tokugawa shogunate and given them far future technology. The world has been devastated by the consequences of an alien war and the oni (also aliens) are on the loose. The kappa build their titans to counteract the Oni, who are not simply and singularly angry beasts, but manipulators and corruptors with a plan. It is quite an exciting set-up, although some may balk at mainland Asia being controlled by the Oni (and their mind-control technology) and Japan being the last hope of humanity.

Still it is a brilliant little setting, with a lot of good ideas in a small space. This is also so cheap at the moment, you really should get it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
I wanted to thank Trev W. for taking the time to do a review of our product.
The Demolished Ones (Fate) Free Preview
by Brian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 07:02:22
Tons os description about this product, but it's all missing one important thing: This is almost word for word, scene for scene, image for image a re=tread of DARK CITY the movie. One supposes that the author either a) Didn't think anyone would remember a movie that wasn't a huge hit in the US more than 16 years ago, or b) was afraid of copyright issues. The movie however was a cult classic, with Roger Ebert being a huge fan.

The concept is taken directly from Dark City. The opening scene of the "adventure" is lifted almost exactly word for word from the screenplay, in many places throughout the adventure the concepts, and even the unique wording from the movie are used.

Just the fact that this got published and nobody has had the stones to lay it out honestly is offensive. I contacted the author about it and he stated that "It wasn't his intention" to lift directly from the movie. I'm not sure how he could say that unless this was written at gunpoint. This module needs at least one honest review.

However, IF you've never seen dark city, and if your players never have, then this could be a really interesting module for you. Otherwise, rent Dark City, then convert it to FATE. Won't take you more than a half hour, and the results will be the same, plus you'll have seen a really great movie.

All in all, this is an extremely dishonest product. If it stated on the box that it was a re-imagining of Dark city, or at the bare minimum "Inspired by" Dark City, I'd have no problem with it. I'm guessing that wasn't done because some of the stuff in this is so completely 100% lifted straight from Dark City, that there would be copyright issues with the studio. The fact that this was kickstarted is an even bigger shame. The author should be ashamed of himself.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Demolished Ones (Fate) Free Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lucien's Guide to the Grand Stair (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/31/2014 11:17:22
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf is 26 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, leaving us with 24 pages, so let's take a look!



I LOVED Lords of Gossamer and Shadows - its imagery of this vast staircase with doors to infinite worlds resounding well with my tastes and sensibilities - here, then, we have an account of one well-versed in the intricacies of the Grand Stair, the rather powerful Warden Lucien, who guides us in a neatly written in-character prose through some of the weird and wonderful places of the Grand Stair. From the interplanar market place to the unstable (and lavishly rendered) rickety stairs and the starlit stair over to the labyrinth, Lucien provides accounts of his journeys and perils in prose so vivid, it's a joy to read - and inspiring to boot!



But this is no mere travel journal - interspersed are subjective theories on the nature of the stair, its at times maze-like qualities, warnings against migratory flocks of pants emerging from one of the weirder worlds, etiquette regarding how to pass one another sans provoking a fight and even Rhen-codes further paint a picture both titillating and strange. Who are the Rhen? Well, legend has it they were the nomads of the stairs, long vanished to a fate none can ascertain - only their graphic codes remain here and there, relics of an age long gone. Lucien also has sound advice regarding ambushes (and their most likely goals) on the Grand Stair. How (and whether) and by what rules magic works on the Grand Stair is covered as well, with each cantrip coming with an incantation to actually say (AWESOME!) as well as Lucien's notes on how to use them: 3 cantrips and 6 spells (one of which allows you to determine your subjective gravity), complete with lynchpins are provided for the traveler.



We also get a new 5-point power with "Walker of the Grand Stair" and 6 new lesser abilities - these represent components of a greater power, partial understandings etc. General hunches on destinations etc. become distinct possibilities. The pdf also introduces so-called expanses - these are mostly constant areas of the Grand Stair that can be attuned to a warder to varying degrees - either for 1, 2 or 4 points. Here, the pdf could have been slightly more precise - it is not 100% clear whether one needs to take the 1-poin attunement before the 2-point awareness or not, i.e. I don't know whether one can directly go for the 4 point cost or not. I *assume* not, but the pdf does not specify, so that's a minor blunder.



Cartas, the maps of the doors and the worlds they connect to, come also in 3 versions with point-costs, though, again, it is not 100% apparent if the point costs of them are cumulative or not, though here, I assume that's not the case - otherwise you'd get 3 different cartas for the total of 7 points. We also are introduced to an annotated compilation of what Lucien considers the capabilities of teh Wardens of the Great Stair.



We end this book with two sample wardens who come with their own glorious artworks (from LoGaS) - the eponymous Lucien and his bodyguard/second n command Gretchen.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to a full-color two-column standard with a purplish border . The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience and the full color artworks, most original, one taken from the LoGaS-book, rank among the best you can find in any publication - yes, they're that beautiful.



Author Rob Donoghue has crafted one fine supplement that could have turned sour VERY easily - LoGaS' appeal lies in its vast possibilities and a guide like this could easily have eliminated tantalizing possibilities in favor of "truths." Instead of falling into that trap, this supplement explains truths, but relative ones, provides guidelines without prescribing things for DMs - this is the only way how such a supplement could have worked for a setting like LoGaS. Mr. Donoghue's prose is vivid and clear and makes reading this supplement a joy, so that's a significant bonus.



On the downside, I'm slightly irked about the point-costs of cartas and expanses. While I think the intent is mostly clear, the fact remains that here the wording could simply have been more concise. This, alongside the none-too-cheap price point are my only, minor complaints - though they are significant enough for me to arrive at a final verdict of 4.5 stars, I don't consider it enough to round down, thus rounding up.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lucien's Guide to the Grand Stair (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Threats: Echoes of the Typhonians (Diceless)
by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2014 12:10:01
I am biased, because it expands and supports the setting I wrote for "Lords of Gossamer & Shadow", but setting all of that aside, it's a fun and engaging piece of work. Imaginative and full of gaming hooks!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Threats: Echoes of the Typhonians (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pathways #36 (PFRPG)
by Stuart S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 19:30:19
Great read except for a small amount of poor formatting especially in Thilo's top 10

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #36 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

#30 Fleshgrafts (PFRPG)
by Gabriel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 12:24:05
Awesome, useful, and very informative. Super Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawesome!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#30 Fleshgrafts (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

#30 Alchemical Gadgets (PFRPG)
by Gabriel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 12:22:31
Awesome, useful, and very informative. Super Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawesome!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#30 Alchemical Gadgets (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Adventure Quarterly #5 (PFRPG)
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/19/2014 08:11:59
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/03/19/tabletop-review-adventu-
re-quarterly-issue-5-pathfinder/

Although the days of high quality monthly tabletop RPG magazine have long since passed, we do seem to be having a nice resurgence of quarterly magazines with top notch content…even if the magazines aren’t actually coming out every three months. We’ve got The Unspeakable Oath and Gygax Magazine for example, but TUO hasn’t come out since August and Gygax #4 is a few weeks late. Hell, it’s been almost a year since The Savage Insider had its last issue.

Which of course brings me to Adventure Quarterly #5, the product we are reviewing today. It too has had almost a year since it’s last issue (technically nine months), which is a bit surprising because Rite Publishing is perhaps the best company in regards to Pathfinder licensed products in terms of getting things out on time. Pathways, RP’s monthly free magazine, is as close to clockwork as this industry gets. Plus it’s the closest thing we have to Dungeon magazine anymore, as it is nothing but adventures. So was it worth the wait? Well, yes and no.

First, let’s talk my big problem with the piece, and that’s pricing. As much as I have enjoyed previous issues of AQ, the thing is too overpriced, especially compared to other quarterly gaming magazines. The cost of just the PDF version of a single issue of AQ is the same cost as a physical AND digital two pack of The Unspeakable Oath, which may not be 100% adventures, but does tend to be a superior product, writing-wise. Same too with Gygax Magazine. It is also of the highest quality and it’s only five bucks for the digital version and only $8.95 for the physical. So why the higher price tag for AQ? Well, a few reasons. The first is that it is Pathfinder and Pathfinder products do tend to be a bit higher priced than other RPGs. The second is that AQ is in full colour where the others I have mentioned are mostly in black and white. Finally, at least in my experience in this industry, it’s more expensive to pay someone to write an adventure than it is to write an article about some facet of gaming. While all of these things help to explain part of why Adventure Quarterly is price so much higher than other quarterly tabletop mags, it doesn’t explain all of it. Honestly, the fact I could buy digital copies of both TUO and Gygax for the cost of just one issue of AQ is enough to make me lean towards not recommending the magazine on just a price basis. However if you only play Pathfinder, the fact that this is your only Dungeon equivalent means you are pretty much stuck with this and the high cost each issue comes with.

Of course, cost doesn’t matter much if something is of high quality. You should, theoretically, get what you pay for after all. So if the adventures in AQ #5 were amazing, that could have offset the price tag issues I have with the magazine. Let’s take a look at each one.

Our first adventure is The Ruins Perilous Level 3 – The Sensodrome. This is a continuation from previous AQ issues where the goal was to release one level of the dungeon per issue. This is a great idea on paper, but it doesn’t work quite well in reality. After all, the high cost of the magazine, tracking down back issues (you’re better off going through DriveThruRPG.com for those) and the long time between issues makes The Rune Perilous series not very conductive for actual play. If this was a monthly magazine it would be one thing, but it’s quite another to have to wait a minimum of three months per dungeon crawl level. The PCs are essentially stuck. No, this adventure would be better off collected as one piece and sold separately, or in a monthly magazine. Now this is not the fault of the adventure itself, but it doesn’t prevent most gamers from getting any use out of it.

Besides these issues, The Sensodrome is simply a generic dungeon crawl experience. It favors roll-playing over role-playing and is little more than a hack and slash affair. While this is not necessarily a bad thing, it’s not necessarily an experience a lot of gamers want. Granted, Pathfinder or D&D gamers are more apt to enjoy this sort of thing than say, World of Darkness or Call of Cthulhu players, but it does still mean that the audience for a piece like this is limited by the nature of the adventure style and doubly or even triply so by the release date of each level.

Now all of these negatives aside, The Sensodrome is a finely crafted sixteen room dungeon crawl designed for 3rd Level characters. It could use a bit of an introduction which would allow DMs to run this as a one-shot one level piece instead of waiting to combine all the Ruins Perlious levels, but that is true about any dungeon released in stages. You will also need several other books to run the wandering monster table as monsters are pulled from all sorts of other locations like The Tome of Horrors Complete, The Book of Monster Templates and so on, but the core adventure has all the stats you need to play the adventure without any additional purchases, which is a big plus. There are some fun and challenging encounters for PCs on this level and it’s pretty free with the experience so characters should level up AT LEAST once in this piece. I enjoyed the layout, the monsters and the obvious creativity in this one. It’s just too bad there are some many other negatives weighing this down. That said, I am really looking forward to Rite Publishing putting together a collected Ruins Perilous piece (if it ever gets finished) as that will be a top notch dungeon when all is said and done.

Our second adventure in this collection is The Legacy of the Fishermage, which is for four to five 9th Level characters or a party of six 8th Level characters. This is a really fun and long (for a magazine based release) adventure. It’s also a bit silly. I’ll admit the “Salmon of Wisdom” that is highlighted in the adventure made me think of “The Fur-Bearing Trout” from Earthworm Jim. I should also point out that this is almost the polar opposite from The Sensodrome, which is nice as you get two well-designed pieces that together highlight how diverse Pathfinder adventures can be.

The adventures revolves around a sage’s repeated misadventures in trying to catch the Salmon of Wisdom and his bad luck with apprentices. This time the sage is long dead, but the salmon has two new hunters in the form of an Ogre and a disgruntled changeling. The PCs become involves after saving a dwarven priest and learning about the legend (there are several other hooks to get the characters into the adventure). There are a lot of riddles to solve, locations to visit, monsters to vanquish and of course, a magic fish with the wisdom of the universe to find. I also really liked the subtle bits of humour in this adventure. The climactic encounter with the Salmon of Wisdom is quite amusing, for example. The end prize is a nice bonus to which ever character(s) get it and this is really one of the better Pathfinder adventures I’ve seen published in 2014 so far. It might not be a seller by itself, but it is the crown jewel of this issue.

The third adventure in Adventure Quarterly, Issue 5 is Paradox and it’s for 18th Level characters. It’s very combat intensive and it is designed to be a Campaign Ending Event. I’m really not a fan of some random adventure being the way a campaign ends. Something like that should really be cooked up by the DM to tie up loose ends and provide closure. Instead this adventure hits on all sorts of things that tend to be red flags, warning a DM and player that there is a bad adventure ahoy. It has time travel (which tends to do far more harm than good to a game unless you are playing a game specifically about time travel), a magical McGuffin that threatens all of reality, a really work story hook that sort of railroads the players into the adventure even if they don’t find it interesting, and monsters that seem to be thrown in simply for the sake of combat than any real story cohesion. It’s a pretty weak adventure in all respects, but then, writing any adventure for characters of this level is a pretty daunting task and while I found this to be very lackluster and trite with robotic lions armed with chainguns and the like, I’m sure someone will get a kick out of this. Unfortunately I’m the one reviewing it and this adventure was supersaturated with all of my personal Pathfinder pet peeves. How is that for alliteration?

Our fourth and final adventure is actually a short encounter segment entitled, Sleep, Interrupted. This is a fun really short piece that can be inserted into any adventure, published or homebrew, and it happens when the PCs are settling down for a much needed sleep. It’s a spooky little piece involving ghost orcs who died in the cavern the PCs are resting in. Sleep, Interrupted is nothing fancy but it’s a good battle and potentially provides some fine treasure. The encounter is scalable between CR 6 and 9 and so there is some flexibility to be had. Nice job for a short piece.

So those are our four adventure pieces, but wait –there’s more! We have a two and a half page article by the lord and master of Rite Publishing himself, Steven Russell. Like the first piece in AQ#5 this article, entitled, “Wide-Open Sandboxing Part II,” is a continuation from the previous issue. However unlike The Runes Perilous, this article works as a stand-alone. It’s basically advice on how to come up with memorable NPCs quickly. Steven suggested cribbing from various trusted sources like lists of names, stat a block similar to what you are looking for instead of designing it out yourself, and taking personalities from existing characters and modifying them slightly instead of doing copious amounts of work like pages of background text for a character LARP style. The advice is sound, especially if you are an inexperienced DM or adventure designer as it really does speed the process up. Long-time DMs may turn up their nose at the advice because they want to do all the work themselves, even for a character who might not even show up in the adventure based on the choices the PCs make. You know what? That’s okay. Steven isn’t presenting this advice as a way you SHOULD do things, but as an option to make your life easier. The article is worth reading even if you have no intention of taking it to heart.

So all in all, Adventure Quarterly isn’t too bad. There is one adventure I’d give a thumb’s up to, one I’d give a thumb’s down to, a decent encounter, an adventure segment that is well designed but falters by being a quarterly installment piece and an interesting article. While the price point is far too exorbitant for what you get, especially compared to other quarterly gaming magazines, devout Pathfinder fans will find one truly solid adventure in the mix and that might be worth the price tag. Everyone else though might as well hold out for the next issue or a price drop, if they get it at all. Adventure Quarterly has a lot of potential and it’s nicely done, but in the end, you just aren’t getting your money’s worth – at least with this issue.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Quarterly #5 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Frozen Wind (PFRPG)
by Carl C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2014 18:18:07
Small scenario in a tight situation, Interesting situation, but more ways to actually interact with the plot and background would have been nice. Yes, you can make those up, but scenario tips are very valuable. As it is, it is a little too straightforward, and investigating the situation isn't very rewarding. Its more do or die. The individual goals add an extra dimension, but the motivation to do them straight away is pretty weak - either you would do them before the main scenario begins (which there is scant support for) or after the scenario ends (when most of them become much easier to achieve. Overall, not very impressed. It it is a solid horror scenario, but the subgenre is action rather than investigation or intruige.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Frozen Wind (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pathways #35 (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/13/2014 18:13:37
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Rite free Pathways-e-zine is 40 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page ToC, 9 pages of advertisement and 1 page of SRD, leaving us with 28 pages of content, so let's take a look!



After David Paul's editorial gives us a run-down of the contents of this issue and the options contained herein, we are introduced to Steven D. Russell's template for this issue, the Chine creature at CR +3. Essentially, these beings hail from worlds where science (and intelligent constructs) have started assimilating everything. Studded with a massive hardness of 20 and fast healing - which is a bit odd, since usually construct creatures (apart from animated objects) get a DR - possibly even DR/-, but rather rarely hardness. Oh well, it's most an issue of nomenclature and does not impede functionality. Each Chine creature also gets an array of special abilities - a total of 16 ranging from blindsight to buzz saws and plasma tools are provided, adding more customization options. Worse, they come with electrical charges and wounds incurred from them can slowly turn you into a chine creature! On the downside, while they are highly resistant to energy, they lose all spellcasting prowess and supernatural aptitude and actually are rather susceptible to magic. The sample creature would be a mi-go at CR 9 - okay build. The artwork is okay, but nothing to write home about.



Liz Winters talks about using Realmswork and mastering in an interesting article and, as always, Raging Swan Press' Creighton Broadhurst has a new creature as well - one surprisingly far-out for a Raging Swan-character, and one better off for it: We are introduced to Klar, the GNOLL SAMURAI (Ronin) at CR 5. Yeah. Good Gnoll Samurai. Awesome.



Recently, some of the cool unique races by Rite have seen some support in Pathways. This time, we get favored class options for the half elf/half ogre-magi Wyrd: A total of 17 alternate racial traits for the wyrd are provided. Unfortunately, I'm honestly not sold on all of them - take greater spell resistance, which replaces one of their late level slas with SR 11+char level; Not being able to lower this one may be rather...interesting, but since the main sources of healing no longer need to be spells or SLAs, I think it may end up a bit on the strong side. On the other hand, better withdrawing (not provoking AoOs from two squares rather than one) makes for an interesting idea. As a nice option, the favored class options also cover gladiator, hellion, luckbringer, malefactor, Vanguard and War Master as well as the UC-classes - neat to see the support!



Steven D. Russell also has a new bard archetype for us, the Grifter - a con-man/spin-doctor who may conceal information from others, veil enchantments into casual conversation etc. - Grifter can cause even speak with dead result in lies! A smart, cool archetype that investigative players will loathe when used on an NPC... quite some story-telling potential here.



This issue's interview is all about Purple Duck Games, as Mark Gedak, mastermind of Purple Duck Games and 4 Winds Fantasy Gaming explains some recent cool projects they have on their hands as well as providing some insights into their Porphyra-setting - be sure to check this interview out!



Finally, we get some reviews of 5-star files by Mark K. and yours truly.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, though not as tight as some other Pathways -issues. I noticed a couple of obvious glitches that could have been prevented. Layout adheres to RuP's 2-column full color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Over all, this installment of the Pathways e-zine is a solid offering with some nice love for the cool Wyrd-race, a neat template and a nice archetype - my favorite this time around, though, would be Creighton's good gnoll samurai - far-out and cool, the character is sure to make an appearance in my game, also thanks to the nice full color illustration! This e-zine is free and hence, well worth your download, even if it's not 100% perfect - in the end, I'll settle on a final verdict of 4 stars with still a definite recommendation to download this asap.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #35 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
by Jay S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2014 12:12:46
This is an excellent book and RPG.

The setting material is well thought out and provides for exciting campaign ideas. The setting fixes some of the issues I had with the original Amber material from a roleplaying perspective by making all worlds equally real and opening up PCs to be anyone from anywhere.

I'd have liked to see more variety in powers; they're addressing that with supplements, and the powers given in the core rules are sufficient, but expect to need to use the examples provided to build your own versions of powers to match the wide range of character concepts your players will generate.

Overall, an excellent game and one I'm having a lot of fun with already.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
by Jay S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2014 12:06:01
This supplement to Lords of Gossamer and Shadow adds in a new power: Blessings & Curses. It uses a flexible system for constructing a blessing or curse that's similar to how artifacts and creatures are built using the core rules. You pick the severity of a blessing or curse, the effect, how long it'll last, how hard it is to dispel, etc, and pay the costs.

In this case the costs come from the points invested into the power itself. So to cast some truly world-class blessings and curses, you'd need to invest advancement points into the power over time to boost your pool of available points.

I like the concept, although the character point investment needed makes this a core character concept power, not an add-on.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (PFRPG)
by Seth C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2014 15:56:38
A great value for its price. This book has a lot of useful templates, most of which are pretty easy to apply. It is a great way to change up creatures to keep the players guessing or make an old monster seem new. I liked how not all of the templates were geared towards just making monsters tougher. Some, such as the blind seer, create a way to add new story elements. Not all of the templates increase CR. Some decrease it, which is a great way to let you use more powerful creatures at lower levels.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
by joe b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2014 00:43:57
This RPG is awesome! I've tried a lot of games and have always scurried back to D&D 3.5 or Pathfinder. Lords of Gossamer and Shadow is an amazing game that needs more exposure. I never played Amber and wouldn't be able to compare, but because of LoGS, I wish I had known about Amber in its hay day. The diceless rule set will be a hard sell for some that will think the game is completely arbitrary. If you/they can get over that mental hurtle, you'll find a RPG full of infinite possibilities that won't become a headache because of having the crunch rules and mechanisms.

Lords of Gossamer and Shadow is definitely a RPG that will flourish in play-by-post forums. I don't know how well I would a game like this in person, but I have been running a fairly interesting pbp group on RPGpost.com and I think I have 3 players that are just as hooked as I am on this game.

I look forward to supplementary books for the system, but I just don't know how they could improve it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Gossamer & Shadow (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 865 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG