RPGNow.com
Browse













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 23:27:11

SIMPLY REMARKABLE! Very well organized layout, and a near perfect "retro-clone."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2016 16:01:09

I already have OSRIC in the large format, but I needed a small copy for my phone. This has all the information, with a clean, easy to read typesetting.

OSRIC is a great retro-clone of D&D, all the info in a tight, well organized document.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gems of Fire
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2015 17:58:46

Pieces liberated from "Dark Tower". Get that in the original version for an AD&D classic module. Honest in its text - written by a 13 year old - and not in a good way. Don't waste your time unless you want to point and laugh at it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Gems of Fire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
by Ralph G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2014 13:12:03

Most of the text was in a cursive font, not real cursive. The maps are pretty much what I remembered from the "good old days." Personally, I would have done the text in the "A2like" font and used Print Shop images, so it would look like it was put together on an Apple //E in an attempt to make it seem more "professional" using the technology of the day.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A5 Player Character Reference Sheets
by Raul D. L. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2014 08:40:52

An excellent set of character sheet plus class summary tables sure to speed up your character generation. I would have given it a full five stars but for the loss of functionality for Linux users such as myself using Document Viewer for PDF reading.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A5 Player Character Reference Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
by Patrick V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2014 22:33:44

Good thing that this is for free, because it's not worth any amount of money, however small. Its only virtue is a little bit of nostaglia for old school gamers. With this--and the makers' other similar products--all you get are, literally, handwritten notes in ink and scanned from a notebook--including sentences with lines running through crossing out errors. The amateur maps are as crude as the kind old school gamers like myself used to draw--kids' maps.

I understand that's the point and style of these modules. But I've been playing since 1981 and so I remember those days. Had we kids then had access to today's tech, you'd probably never would've seen old school notes and maps for I doubt that little of them would've existed--if any at all. The reason? I'd say most Dungeon Masters prefer neat and organized over sloppy and crudely rendered.

I never want to go back to the days of scribbled notes and maps. Give me choices of type fonts; let me have maps colored and glossy; grant me beautifully-rendered table top terrain,upon which tread the metal and plastic feet of monsters and heroes.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Referring to the marketing copy on the product page, it should have been clear that all the HAMS products are reproduced and posted out of a sense of nostalgia for the young gamers we all were at the time of AD&D\'s heyday in the late 70\'s and early 80\'s period (but perhaps I should emphasize that point more strongly in the product description?). In particular, they are reflecting on how we as young teenagers fancied ourselves \'game designers\'. These HAMS (High-Adventure from Middle-School) games are unedited, undeveloped, and reproduced when possible, exactly as we created them \"back in the day.\" They are not meant to be taken as serious adventure writing. What they are meant to be is just reminiscent of our youthful gaming days. And I feel they achieve just exactly that. Here is hoping that someday you might take a second look at Usherwood Publishing\'s more \'serious\' adventuring options like the Bone-Hilt Sword Campaign, Arachnophobia!, The Rebel Faction, etc. Kramer
The Rebel Faction
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 20:45:21

Looks to be a re-write of D123. Or at least the hex maps and certain features of the wandering monster tables reminded me of that series. The module is a huge campaign of over 50 pages and looks like it will need a group of gamers that can meet regularly for several sessions to finish. It has some of the best adventure maps in full color I have ever seen, particularly the outdoor ones. It has 2 detractors though that need fixing in a future update. The boxed text (monster stats) is way too small and what little art there is - is mostly wasted on images of pregenerated characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Rebel Faction
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pyramid of Gorsh
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 20:09:13

Killer dungeon with too much treasure. Entertaining read and original presentation, but I would only recommend DMing this if you want to punish your friends for making you DM again :P



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pyramid of Gorsh
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 19:59:38

well its free, but I have to admit if it had cost me $1 or more, I would have 1- starred this module in a heartbeat. It definitely lives up to the hype. The treasure and rewards are too much and most DM's will be able to kill the party without much effort. Exactly the sort of thing I remember in my youth lol. Good for a quick read, but I'll pass on this one.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Introduction to InDesign
by Steven V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 14:10:42

Just got in to using Adobe In Design and wanted a basic book. Did want to spend a ton on a book in case it wasn't what I'd need. This is a great book for beginners. Very clearly written and helpful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Introduction to InDesign
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Usherwood Adventures Expansion for OSRIC (PDF)
by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:21:51

A fine edition to the OSRIC rules, not only does it give players that are fans of the Bard class a retro version to play with, but it also gives classic players a nice alternative to the overpowering Monk class that is in the original 1st edition Players Hand Book, and of course it has a lot of other Goodie's to play with in your game.

I recommended this book to any retro gamer wanting to add more to there game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Usherwood Adventures Expansion for OSRIC (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:11:41

Best... 1st Edition Clone...... EVER!!!!

Ever sense I bought an old 1st edition Starter set years ago I have been looking for 1st edition books for a LONG time, and that I have found THIS! I can finally start that retro game that I have always wanted to play/run!

I recommend this to all classic gamers everywhere for that Old School feeling that we all look for!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 18:41:45

Nice little expansion adds to the fun of the original.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Into the Halls of Mystery
by Patrice C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2013 03:41:12

I just love the idea you've had to reproduce what our 13-years old silly adventures have been. It's still a little too slick & neat for me but there's a lot of merit here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Halls of Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Foray into the Wilderness
by Todd D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 13:36:21

I was underwhelmed by this product offering. The presentation is fine, but the content is lacking in both detail and cohesiveness. The encounters are thrown together with no real thought, and they seem woefully out of balance. Using this resource for a random night of fun with characters that are not part of a regular campaign might be interesting, but even that fun would be dampened by the fact that you have to look up all the stats for the monsters elsewhere, creating a great a mount of extra work.

On the plus side, the publishers never claim this product is anything but what it is: an adventure that was created when the author was in junior high school. It does provide a feeling of nostalgia, but I can't say that would make me want to purchase a similar product if it weren't free.

2 of 5 stars. (Would have been 1 star based solely on content, but the fact they were so upfront about it gives the extra star.)



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Foray into the Wilderness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG